The Late Prime Minister David Thompson (L), Leroy Parris (R), former Chairman CLICO Holdings (B'dos) Ltd

The CLICO fiasco continues to hog the news. It is a story which has tainted the government of Barbados for almost the duration of its tenure. BU remains sympathetic to the ‘sufferation’ of thousands of Executive Flexible Premium Annuity (EFPA) CLICO investors and the others. Many were lured by the greed of high interest rates, some appeared to be ignorant to the benefit of diversifying personal investment portfolios. What makes the CLICO fiasco one with a difference is the extent regional governments and regulators are to be held accountable for CLICO’s ‘failure’. In the case of Barbados a very close relationship between the late Prime Minister David Thompson and former Chairman of CLICO Holdings Leroy Parris added to the intrigue.

In his wrapup to the this year’s budget Minister Chris Sinckler promised CLICO policyholders that there is light at the end of the tunnel. Despite the snippets here and there CLICO investors continue to stumble in the dark. The word on the street is that the judicial managers have recommended an injection of capital into CLICO to fund the shortfall in assets of 152 million dollars that will see CLICO morphing to a new company. BU believes if this is true it is laced with uncertainty.

The insurance business requires confidence from the market to be successful. Is there a precedent in the region where an insurance company was restructured successfully? Given the controversy which has enveloped CLICO most if not all of CLICO policyholders want their money. Given the harsh economic times the desire to withdraw the maturing EFPA’s will be strong. Such a sentiment does not bode well for a rebranded company funded with CLICO assets plus tax dollars. What are the alternatives? To liquidate the assets of CLICO will take years.

The claim by Neal Bisnath during the Commission of Enquiry into the collapse of CL Financial and the Hindu Credit Union (HCU) – an attorney from CLICO – that “LAWRENCE DUPREY was paid $1.1 billion from the deposits of CLICO policyholders in the five years prior to CL Financial seeking a billion dollar bailout from the Government” has caused many to sit up. The revelation, if true, is not only an indictment on Duprey but also on current and former CLICO executives, Central Bank of Trinidad, Government of Trinidad and CLICO Auditors. In the CLICO debate we have tended to personalized the arguments and in the process many who should already be fired or incarcerated are operating as if nothing has transpired.

BU’s position regarding CLICO is known. Both political parties have contributed to where we find ourselves. Our regulators have been weak and fell asleep on the job. To be expected the Barbados Labour Party has sought to make political mileage from the fiasco although it must be stated that under Owen Arthur the noise has become muffled.

Some may not appreciate the remark but somewhere in the great beyond the late Prime Minister David Thompson is wearing a smile. When he died he took many secrets with him about CLICO. Let us not forget he was Leroy Parris’ lawyer and also represented CLICO at times. Time will tell if his wife who succeeded him in Parliament will be forced to defend his legacy.

On the sideline Al Barrack owed 65 million plus interest is observing how the CLICO fiasco plays out.

1. Looks like the CLICO policy owners are not happy with the government settlement and will challenge:

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,147752.html

Everyone is looking forward to Gita Sakal’s testimony at the Inquiry. She is the one who paid herself 9 million.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,147695.html

2. Owen your hands are dirty Avatar
    Owen your hands are dirty

Prime Minister Owen Arthur “invested” YOUR money in Nigeria. A predictable result.
    Millions stolen with not one solar water heater made

by RLL

The short story: In 2006, your BLP Owen Arthur government “invested” $2.4 million dollars into a Nigerian solar water heater project. The Nigerian factory was never finished, not one water heater was made and your money is gone.

Question #1: Nigeria? What was Arthur thinking?

Question #2: For all the BLP “joint business ventures”, name one that was truly successful as a business.

There is the BLP hype about Owen Arthur being a brilliant economist, and then there is the reality. Owen Arthur borrowed 2.4 million dollars in your name, loaned it threw it away in Nigeria on a project that any drunk (except our drunk) knew would fail – and now you and your children have to pay.

Not one job was created in Barbados or Nigeria, and your money is not only gone – it is untraceably gone. There was no accountability built into the project to ensure that the money “invested” on behalf of Barbados taxpayers was used as intended.

Your government “invested” $2.4 million dollars of your money in Nigeria, one of the most corrupt countries in the world. What did they think would happen?

Who took the money?

Nigeria. Joint business venture with our tax dollars. Everybody knew what was going to happen.

Owen Arthur is truly an idiot… or… did he or anyone else in government have a piece of the action as a shareholder, supplier or consultant?

Somebody in your government probably made a quick five or ten percent on your lost $2.4 million.

Without transparency and accountability laws, we’ll never know. In any event, conflicts of interest like that are not illegal in Barbados. Your government officials are free to take kickbacks consultancy and supplier positions with companies that benefit from government grants, loans and contracts.

Compared to some of the past hits, the Nigerian solar water heater scam was a relatively small loss, but it perfectly illustrates why our country is on a downward slope without integrity, transparency and accountability laws. Once in power, the politician piggies have a field day and there is nothing that can be done.

Further Reading

You should read the news article at Barbados Today: Water heater write-off, but we’ll reprint the entire article here because the Bajan news media often removes or modifies news stories to change history and the BT gang did that when they worked at The Nation.
    Gov’t loses $2.4 million in failed solar power project.

by Shawn Cumberbatch, Barbados Today

Government has lost almost $2.5 million on a Barbados/Nigeria solar venture that was launched with great fanfare and promise, but ended up being “a terrible failure”.

Barbados TODAY investigations revealed that the Freundel Stuart Administration decided to cut its losses worth more than $2.4 million, loaned to local company Aqua Sol Components Limited five years ago.

This was after the company teamed up with Barbadian interests and partners in the African nation to establish a solar water heating plant there.

Well-informed sources said Aqua Sol, which was recently renamed Solaris Global Energy Limited after being acquired by Solaris Energy Limited, a subsidiary of Mora Ven Holdings Limited, had found it difficult to repay the funds after the venture failed.

The money was borrowed from the Industrial, Investment and Employment Fund operated by the Enterprise Growth Fund Limited, and officials revealed that the Ministry of Finance, Investment, Telecommunications and Energy had agreed to write off the amount owed by Aqua Sol.

This, they said, was except for $150,000, which the said company had previously owed “another financial institution”. In so doing EGFL was able to reversed this substantial amount in loan losses.

Efforts to reach EGFL CEO Timothy Simmons up to time of writing were unsuccessful, but another official, speaking anonymously because he was not authorised to speak on the matter, told Barbados TODAY a write-off of the loan was the best option in the circumstances because it was clear the institution would be unable to recover the substantial loan.

“The joint venture between Aqua Sol, other Barbadian investors and their Nigerian counterparts was an utter failure, so it stands to reason that there would have been some type of write-off of the investment,” the official noted.

“Aqua Sol was in a joint venture arrangement with a Nigerian company to manufacture and develop solar water heating units in Nigeria. That venture was a terrible failure, which did not materialise in the way expected for several reasons.”

“Subsequent to that fiasco, Aqua Sol has entered this new arrangement with a Trinidad company, but I doubt that arrangement will see it venturing into Nigeria anytime soon,” the official added.

The provisions under which EGFL operates gives it the leeway to write-off loans under certain conditions, this newspaper was informed.

“The fund writes off a loan/security balance, and any related allowances for impairment, when it determines that the loans/securities are uncollectable,” the specific policy stated.

“This determination is reached after considering information such as the occurrence of significant changes in the borrower’s/issuer’s financial position such that the borrower/issuer can no longer pay the obligation, or that proceeds from collateral will not be sufficient to pay back the entire exposure,” it added.

It was in late May 2006 when the announcement came that a consortium of Barbadian investors led by CEO of then named Aqua Sol, Vincent McClean, announced they would be partnering with public and private sector interests in Akwa Ibom, Nigeria to establish a $4.2 million solar water heating plant.

The expectation then was that by September of that year much of the structural work at the plant, to be run by a company called Akwa Sol Nigeria Limited would have been finished.

Plans at the time were for the production of 10,000 solar water heating units per year, but the venture soon ran into major difficulty, primarily of a financial nature. The fund from which the money now written-off was borrowed was “created to encourage development within the manufacturing sector, through the provision of concessionary financing to facilitate retooling and expansion of the industrial base”. It was started with an injection of $25 million in 2002.

At the end of last year the Industrial, Investment and Employment Fund had total assets of $8.2 million and total liabilities of more than $108,000.

3. @David

If they challenge, the court can decide what benfits they would get.

They aought to be glad that there is a settlement. Did the investors in tradeconfimers get anything? Did the policyowners of that insurnace company that was run by shrma or whatever his name was got anything when it folded, i cant remenbdr the name of the company.

It seems that clico was akin to a ponzi scheme and all those directors and managers who acquire ill gotten wealth shou;d forfeit it, and that goes for duprey, parris and the gang of thugs . Thank god i had the wisdom to cash in my insurance policies when i was constructing my house.

To make matters worse, we look up to those crooks who exploit companies for their personal gains, some of them need to experience what allan stanford is experiencing. Both govts are responsible for the lapse regulation of clico.

4. ISNT it time that people realize and admit that CLICO financed the Governing party during the election campaign ?????
    DID this happen or not ???
    WILL you please answer the questiona ?
    DIDN’T the Governing Party spend money like they had a large bottomles well full of ca$h to draw from

5. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

Remember that it was Owen Arthur that David Thompson exposed as a stark and naked crook when he put on display the cheques that Mariano Browne paid to Owen Arthur.

Am I not correct was Owen Arthur not with the BLp at that time as he will not be with the BLP for very much longer after the meeting of the Elders of the party next week he may well be history, as the Elders will not finance an Owen bitter war campaign and as you know the elders control the campaing funding and financing, they make the calls of the Nation and VOB and the money flows into the election kitty, he does not have that control nor will he ever again. he has been moved to the rubbish heap by his masters.

6. “Owen your hands are dirty | September 24, 2011 at 9:42 PM |
    Prime Minister Owen Arthur “invested” YOUR money in Nigeria. A predictable result. Millions stolen with not one solar water heater made”

The company was not doomed to failure. Nigeria has a certain reputation for corruption so therefore very, very tight controls should have been put in place. Thousands of foreign companies successfully invest hundreds of billions of dollars in Nigeria. Isn’t Virgin Nigeria a successful company? What is it that Richard Branson with only a secondary school education knows that we don’t know.

There is still room for a company to manufacture and distribute solar water heaters in Nigeria and in all of the tropical world. If we don’t do it somebody else surely will. The truth is people like nice warm baths, and the hundreds of millions on middle class people in the tropical world can afford the solar water heaters needed for warm baths.

Who will manufacture and sell to this market?

The Bajans?

The tough Chinese business people?

7. The truth is if you want to get through in Nigeria you have to be prepared to “dash” (bribe) the right people. It stinks, but in business…

8. Questions for Deloitte Avatar
    Questions for Deloitte

5 options and no farther forward.

1. Did Deloitte find enough evidence of mismanagement for the DPP to launch criminal prosecutions against Parris at al? NOW. Surely YES.

2. Who’s paying for the forensic audit? Do we have a commitment it will lead to prosecutions?

3. A spin-off company would be undercapitalised and toxic – it cannot work. Nobody in their right minds is going to pay premiums into this company. It is dead before it is born. These are not viable options.

4. How are Caribbean TAXPAYERS supposed to come up with hundreds of millions of dollars to capitalise the new company and service the existing policies with their enormous rates of interest when they can’t pay their own light bills? Policyholders licking their chops at OUR expense.

5. How have the remaining assets been valued? Has the real estate been marked to market? They stated that a large amount of the assets belonged to counterparties – have they verified they are still realisable? What about the assets they have stated are unverified – are they included in the total? Assets matching 60% of liabilities is horrendous and it probably worse.

It seems to me the only workable way forward would be a sale of the “good assets” and related liabilities to an existing insurance company and let the bad stay bad.

9. investing in Africa ent a bad thing, 2mill ent a lot of money either.

10. @Questions for Deloitte

Your suggestion would mean a very low haircut for CLICO investors.

11. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

David of BU,

Do you know what is the position with British American ?

Policy holders with that company still cannot access their cash surrender values.

Does a possible CLICO solution means that the situation at British American will be resolved also ?

12. If one understands what has been stated in the public the two are being treated as separate transactions.

This is interesting because one would have thought CLICO Holdings had legal responsibility for British American.

13. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

Thanks David.

Quite interesting.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Forensic Audit my foot! We all know what such an audit will reveal. But the questions that need to be answered are:

Can we really rely on any local or regional audit firm to carry this audit in an unbiased fashion? If such an audit is to be conducted it should be performed by an independent entity from outside the region with no local ties to the existing cartel.

Who were the auditors that signed off on the balance sheets for CLICO Holdings Barbados and its subsidiaries? How could they certify that the balance sheets represented a true and fair view of the financial status of the businesses when so much money worth of assets is unaccounted for? Can’t the policyholders bring a class action suit against the Auditors for negligence and incompetence? Remember Arthur Andersen?

Since the CLICO operations in Barbados are in such a financial mess can anyone explain why the Chief Financial Officer (CFO) Mr. TT is still on the job? It should be obvious to the JMs that if so many assets are unaccounted for there is a high possibility that the “books have been cooked” and the CFO should be asked to explain this state of affairs. We don’t want a similar occurrence at the EGFL where taxpayers’ money is involved.

A forensic audit would result only in a waste of policyholders’ ongoing premium payments. This could be a very expensive exercise and should be undertaken only if policyholders can be given the assurance that something productive would come of it.

When the evidence is established, do we really expect the main political parties to be supportive of any move to prosecute any officer or director of CLICO for fraud or misuse of policyholders’ funds? A forensic audit will certainly reveal that millions of dollars were used to finance political campaigns, some of which ended up in individual politicians’ pockets.

15. Who were the auditors that signed off on the balance sheets for CLICO Holdings Barbados and its subsidiaries? How could they certify that the balance sheets represented a true and fair view of the financial status of the businesses when so much money worth of assets is unaccounted for? Can’t the policyholders bring a class action suit against the Auditors for negligence and incompetence? Remember Arthur Andersen?

This is a good point because part of an auditor’s role in certifying the balance sheet is to review the ‘Fixed Asset Register’.

PWC were the auditors in the 2000s?

16. Disgusted Investor Avatar
    Disgusted Investor

BU you are mistaken about investors being lured into EFPA’s through greed, at least those investors who started years ago. At that time, CLICO’s interest rates were higher than those at the commercial banks, but not that much higher, and in any event, CLICO’s rates came down over time. It is important for everyone to know this, because CLICO’s rates were nowhere near as high (in Barbados) at those offered by Trade Confirmers or by CLICO in Trinidad. The adverse publicity aimed at “greedy”” investors has resulted in many of them refusing to come forward and join BIPA. Those of us who invested in CLICO have nothing to be ashamed about. The company was supposed to be monitored by the Supervisor of Insurance – it wasn’t. The books of CLICO were also audited with no mention of problems. So far no fingers have been pointed at the auditors, but they should be, and they may be liable for future lawsuits. All investing involves risk. A calculated risk taken on the mistaken impression that companies like CLICO are being monitored and “kept in line” cannot be the fault of the investor. The anecdotal evidence of serious wrongdoing at CLICO by persons who were formally employed there cannot be brushed under the carpet. After a forensic audit, I would expect charges to be brought, and some people trying out for orange jumpsuits. It won’t happen, of course. What we will see is a bale-out by government just in time for the next election, and the hope by them that at least someone will remain to help finance it.

17. @David

I always believe that auditors should be held reponsible, but the qualifying statement might be away out. Do u know there is something call off balance sheet fincaning where the libailites of companies are not brought into the picture to make a company look better than it really is. I think the owen arthur administration used this technique where he did not have to seek approval from parliament for some money matters, Correct me if i am wrong as i dont seem to understand fincnacial matters very good.

I believe that shareholders should rotate auditors, familiarity breed complacency and we know what can be the result.

if the foresnic auditors dont find people to lock up for stealing, then it would be a waste of time. let me say that i dont have any investment in clico, but i emphatise with those, i can remember retirees of the foundry being impacted upon. I believe those who have an interest in clico should not allow deloite to be involved in the forensic audit, bring a comppany from outside to find those vagabons responsible for this dilenma. By the way, it would appera that clico support both political parties, like most businesses about here. No wonder why we are at this stage in our development, who has the money calls the shots. It will continue until we have elction or campaign or whatever you want to call it reform.

18. @Disgusted Investor

We can agree to disagree. CLICO’s rates offered have always been high based on BU checks. The rates skyrocketed it is true in the last 8 years with many agents who peddle the EFAs driving high priced luxury cars.

The Nation has this story over its pages today.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/in-or-out/

19. It is Government’s responsibility to make whole the persons who invested in CLICO. The Government had a responsibility to ensure that the operations of the company were above board. The regulators failed to do their duty but the investors had no way of knowing this, as a result, they felt the company was safe. They relied on the fact that Government found no fault in the company and now are in danger of losing their investment.

Government should recognize their responsibility and pay the people. I wonder if Government recognised its responsibility and now is careful and, as a result, they indemnify the Financial Services Commission from suit for damages. Section 38 of the Financial Services Commission Act states:

“No action or other proceedings for damages shall be instituted against a member of the Commission or an employee or agent of the Commission in the discharge or purported discharge of his respective functions under this Act, unless it is shown that the act or omissiom was in bad faith.”

The FSC has a license to do bad work.

20. Was the judical manager not chairman of the BTI after the last general elections, a position approved by the Cabinet of Barbados. Did Faye Parris aka LeRoy Wife not on the same board of directors?

What is the nature of the relationship between LeRoy and Oliver?

21. Perhaps a better question is to ask if Patrick Toppin, before his partnership with Deloitte’s – did work for any of the companies under the CLICO Holdings umbrella.

22. it seems like a lot of wool is being pulled over the faces of the policyholders, so much overhand deals were done in T&T that both parties seem unwilling to have a full investigation into the Clico collapse. No wonder neither party wants the transparentcy act passed!!!!! Time we the taxpayers demand more from our government, maybe it is a pity the DLP is in government, because all of this started in the BLP regime, true most of the sweets went to the DLP, let’s not forget the late P.M Thompson was Clico’s attorney and Leroy Parris’ best friend. Let’s also not forget that the said Leroy Parris is to get the first 10 million dollars dispursed, a deal sign by himself and the late David Thompson. This is in addition to the many millions that were alleged withdrawn by the same individuals.

23. It appears that now Clico is not financially able to fund the DLP campaign, the taxpayers are being used to fill that role. The monument of David Thompson,( cost unknown), a political gimmick, the David Thompson Classic football tournament to cost around $ 336,000.00 of taxpayers money, at a time while the public is catching their ROYAL to survive with rising cost of living, now with the contributions of part of the $ 152 million needed to save face of some crooked politicians and others from both sides of the fence. THE PUBLIC MUST DEMAND THE TRUTH>

24. Did CLICO lay-off (a better word would be fire) employees who refused to handle the Executive Flexible Premium Annuities?

Will the oversight committee call these laid off employees to testify under oath?

And if so why not?

Is it that we do not want to hear the truth?

Is it that we would rather squander taxpayers money, rather that hear the truth and deal with the criminals?

Is Leroy Parris still Freudel Stuart’s friend?

Din’t Mr. Stuart’s mother teach him to choose his friends carefully?

Is Mr. Parris a carefully chosen friend?

Has a Prime Ministerial friend ever been locked up in all of Barbados’s history?

And if so why not?

Has David Thompson’s dealings been scrubbed from CLIOC’s records?

And if so why?

And who scrubbed these records?

Was the $10 million letter of comfort that David Thompson provided to CLICO really $10 million of our tax money provided to CLICO so that the family of the then dying and subsequently dead David Thompson could get his insured death benefits?

While other taxpayers orphans and widows wait, and wait and wait?

And the PM is still telling us that Leroy is his friend?

And asking us to vote DLP when the election is called?

My question to the DLP is why should I vote for you?

25. To clarify the 152 million is to be funded by Barbados and the affected EC countries IF they agree.

26. Quoting Caswell Franklyn | September 25, 2011 at 12:40 PM |
    “It is Government’s responsibility to make whole the persons who invested in CLICO”

No Caswell. It is not.

I do not want the government to take up MY tax money to pay CLICO investors nor to build a tomb for David Thompson.

If it is felt that David meeds a tomb (and I really don’t see why he needs a tomb. He is DEAD, DEED, DEAD. He won’t be coming back to life anytime soon) he has a mother, wife and 3 children alive who can and should pay for it.

Politicians never seem to tire of using the taxpayers money for damn nonsense.

27. The last time I was at the QEH, the furniture is so bad, that all the stuffing leaking out of the chairs, and this is supposed to be a place that must be kept clean.

And we talking nonsense about making investors whole, when we can’t even repair or replace the 1960’s furniture in the Queen Elizabeth Hospital?

Damn nonsense.

And the next time a bunch of criminals and their high priced political lawyers decide to run a ponzi scheme we will expect to use taxpayers money again and again. If we keep on bailing out crooks why would we expect croookery to stop?

It is long past time that we lock up some of the crooks and their high priced political lawyers.

28. David there is now and has always been nepotistic incestuous relationships in every aspect of business and politics in Barbados.

Nobody complained when there was a very fat calf to slaughter and distribute.
    Now there are only bones left to make soup.

29. Sorry. High priced political lackeys.

30. Hants you can stay up there in Canada and talk.

But not one cent of my tax money.

Damn taxes in Barbados giving we goadies and the politicians can’t seem to get tired of giving away our tax money to their friends and other silly people.

And Hants both you and I know that there was never any fatted calf. When I heard David Thompson talking that nonsense about “the fatted calf will be slaughtered and shared” I knew that something was wrong”

I thought to my self, what fatted calf what?

I say to myself that I bet he is looking for a way to screw the taxpayers to his benefit and the benefit of his family, friends and yard fowls.

No I wasn’t fooled then and I am not fooled now.

Not that I think the BLP is much better, but in the upcoming election there is no way any DLP candidate can get my vote.

NOT ONE ON THEM.

31. The reason why politicians are allowed to get away with their dirty games, is because we, the people, are willing to turn our eyes from the truth because of party allegiance. It is time “so-called ” sensible people start thinking for themselves and stop allowing politicians to think for them, because the very politician is only thinking for him/herself while using their lackies. There is too much tic-for-tac going on with prty supporters instead of sensible reasoning. The minute one has to say something about the other party, he/she is labelled a supporter. Both parties are accountable to the public for some shady deals and we must bring them to account, forget the partisanship and think for yourself and your offspring, failing this things will only get worse..

32. It is scary how the Supervisor could have been allowed to fall asleep on the job reaching back beyond this adminstration.

It makes one wonder to what extent is the Registrar of Cooperatives on top of the job as well.

This is another regulator who has been criticised by the IADB.

We now have the FSC and await their initial assessment, Jeff Cumberbatch hope you and your other Commissioners are on the job!

33. David
    The whole thing is just a tangled web of dishonesty by both parties and their affiliates, that’s why the people of this country needs to forget political party support and bring this country to a halt until the truth be told. The millions of dollars spent on advertising in the last general elections had to backfire at some point

34. There was a time when Barbados was like Manhattan for Politicians Lawyers and other professionals.

The construction boom also made a lot of people “rich.”

Every time I was invited to “expensive restaurants” half the diners were black. That was the “Owen” era prior to 2008.

Now there is no solution to bring back that level of prosperity so I gine tek Random Thoughts statement literally. “Hants you can stay up there in Canada and talk (on BU).

35. Hants
    You’re doing the right thing, the economic atmosphere in Barbados is so cloudy that I would not encourage anyone to return at this stage. Even the “bajan whites” are scared now, since there is some multi-million foreign white who are threatening to take over this country and many of our politicians are falling for the trap because of greed. If Tranparantcy and accountability legislation was ever passed in this country, we could take the amount of money retrieved from the politicians and build a special prison for them for cash.

36. Government had a duty of care to all of CLICO’s policy holders and investors. They failed to do their duty and as a direct result those policy holders and investors suffered loss. I am sure that those individuals would not have invested in CLICO if Government had done its duty. The loss that those people suffered is a direct result of a total failure of the Government to regulate the company.

I would not like to see taxpayers money go to reimburse those policy holders and investors but it is the right thing to do. Maybe we can prosecute those who failed to do their duty because they were getting kickbacks from CLICO. The charge is misfeasance in public office.

37. @Randon

That is because u have never voted for any of them as your political layalty is to the BLP.

38. @Caswell

What precedent does this set for Barrack?

39. Why blame the Nigerian solar hot water debacle solely on Owen Arthur? According to the article, the money was lent to a private company Aquasol by Enterprise Growth Fund. I don’t understand why EGF has to write off the loan, and can’t recoup from that company. Surely some form of security had to be put in place by Aquasol?
    I understand that the company has been bought by a Trinidadian company, owned by George Nicholas, who is also chairman of Caribbean Airways. Same George Nicholas whose family contributed heavily to Kamla Persaud’s campaign in the last presidetial election in T&T.
    Interestingly enough when Aquasol got the loan from EGF, Mariano Browne was chairman of EGF

40. This is most likely the most stupid question asked about this matter on this blog, but, Is there a possibility that one of the JM options could be implemented, Barbados could cough up the majority of the moneys needed (courtesy of NIS) and the CLICO brand and its successor still fail to survive in a recognizable form as a too-big-to fail company? Would the Government have achieved anything more or different in such an eventuality to a decision that would allow CLICO to be liquidated to pay out its creditors would have achieved?

Also, what about having the monies to be invested in the new company treated formally as a loan and not as the Governments providing a gift to Clico debtors. The Barbados Government would in that case be in line to eventually recover some of its 60 or so Million dollar contribution if the new company prospered as well as in the eventuality that it goes under. The Policy holders would still get most of their moneys up front and Government would have an incentive to ensure that there would be minimal similarity to a fire sale.

41. @ David
    George Nicholas III indeed resigned,but his resignation was not accepted.He was back as chairman within a couple of days. Unless he resigned for a second time, he’s still the chairman.

42. @checkit-out

It is not a stupid question at all.

Perhaps this one classified: Will the government’s actions about CLICO be guided/clouded by the political implications at play?

43. @Independent

Thanks, missed it!

44. caswell i have a couple of policies with clico and i would like to get back what i put in so much so that i continur to pay the premiums under duress out of an abundance of caution. however, i cannot subscribe to the view that taxpayers money must be used to settle the issue.after all government does not earn a salary.i would not be surprised if an enquiry here reveal similar methodologies by mr parris as those used by his mentor mr duprey to extract ill-gotten gains from clicobarbados.

45. @Caswell

What about trade confirmers investors, what about the policyholder of narwan insurance that was headed by sharma, what about those pensioners from the foundry etc. I have difficulty with my money being used to bail out investors in clico. Sell off the property of the parris, the duprey and others. And those who ripped off the comany by paying themselves large salaries, go after their property as I consider that action to be money laundering..

What about the auditing firm, should it be asked to PAY AS WELL.

The auditing frim is the biggest culprit in all of this. Did they express any concerns in their audit.

Investment is about risk and those who invest should be prepared to hit our miss. I have an investment and it value less than what i bought it for after 5 years. i KNEW i was taking as chance.

46. @Obediant

The point which you don’t want to take onboard is that thee EFAs were approved by the Supervisor of Insurance one and two the company was allowed to run statutory reserve deficit from as far back as the previous administration.

47. Balance

Would you had put your money in CLICO if the Government agencies responsible for regulating CLICO had published information to the efect that the company was not complying with the law and was therefore unsafe for investment. Well that information was available to Government but they kept it hidden and received campaign funding.

I am saying that those responsible for protecting policy holders and investors and refused and or neglected to do so should be made to pay for their actions. They were agents of the state and the state should be held vicariously liable for the wrongful acts of its agents and should be responsible for making those who suffered a loss whole. By the way, I do not have a single cent in CLICO. As a matter of fact, before the failure, I saw the writing on the wall and suggested to two friends to take their money out of CLICO. One did, and I received a small financial benefit for my advice.

Since the CLICO debacle, Government has passed legislation to protect the Financial Services Commission and the Registrar of Co-operatives from suit for negligence. I feel that is shameful and no right-thinking Government should be so treacherous to its people.

48. shouldn’t the party which is in government pay at the polls for their treacherous nature, and not the taxpayer?

Shouldn’t taxpayers dollars go towards patching pot-holes, buying buses, and ambulances, paying our security forces etc. and not a few individuals who of their own free will decided to invest in a company for their own gains?

Why should I work and pay taxes for someone who decided to risk their money?

49. Since we are down the road of bad business practice. Is Mucovado sugar labelled made in Barbados really Guyanese sugar?

It might not be significant that as Guyanese sugar has disappeared from the shelves, so has any signs of Mucovado sugar.

When Mucovado was first produce the distinction between that and Guyanese sugar was the size of the crystals. Today, there are quite similar in appearance.

Are we buying specially packaged Guyanese sugar at a higher price?