Donald Trump (l) President Obama (r)

Along with all that is happening on the world scene minute to minute  two occurrences stood out for BU last week. There was the Royal Wedding and the challenge by Donald Trump to President Obama to produce his birth certificate to prove he is a bona fide American. The fact that both matters have hogged the media space confirm surely we live in times where news is greatly influenced by its celebrity nature, that is fluff over substance. News reports suggest 12,000 media workers were assigned to cover the royal wedding. Most of the USA Cable Networks gave the Donald Trump Obama birth certificate Obama story top billing this past week.

The UK Telegraph reported that the royal wedding will cost the UK economy the unconscionable sum of £5billion. Bear in mind the UK economy is still in the throes of a severe economic depression. The large expense possibly speaks volumes to the importance the English still regard he monarchy. What else could it be?

After the pomp and ceremony was done at Westminster Abbey on Friday, April 29, what resonated for the BU household was the compulsion to reflect on the institution of marriage between a man and a woman. It is a traditional institution which has seen its diminution in a world where cultural relativism has taken deep root. Perhaps the lesser role now played by the Church in modern day society and the bastardization of the institution of marriage has been a natural consequence. If there is one positive BU hopes prevails out of the royal wedding would be to reinforce the importance the institution of marriage plays in building strong family units.

To the other event:

As if Sarah Palin was not enough the US political system has conspired to suggest that US celebrity Donald Trump would be a worthy Republican presidential candidate, thus giving the possibility that he could potentially become president of the USA. A strategy the publicity seeking Donald attempted last week was to resurrect the birth issue which has dogged President Barack Obama since assuming the presidency. Surprisingly there is still a healthy number of Americans who do not believe that Obama is an American and therefore eligible to take up residence on Pennsylvania Avenue.

What was distasteful about what Donald Trump did was to insinuate that Obama benefited from affirmative action to gain entry to Ivy League Harvard. Bear in mind Obama graduated magna cum laude from what is regarded as the most prestigious law school in the USA and he was named editor of the Harvard Law Review, the institution’s highest student honour. The fact that the US media would give currency to this bout of stupidity by Trump speaks volumes to how minorities are regarded by the White elite in the USA. How the hell did Obama become president any way? No doubt Trump is hoping to piggyback on the rising sentiment fuelled by the Boston Tea Party et al coat tail.

Some in the USA have pulled the race card regarding how Trump has treated with Obama issues in his early foray to be the Republican nominee for president. BU believes though he has demonstrated a level of stupidity, which causes one to seriously question how he was able to accumulate the significant wealth he is reported to have.  Obama was able to have the last laugh at the Donald last night at the White House Correspondents’ Dinner.

The logic as to why why Donald got the airplay he did.  The logic as to why the British government would outlay such a significant sum at a time when people are being sent home. Both explain the illogic of many things currently wrong with the world we live in today.

236 responses to “Obama Trumps Donald, The Royal Wedding Gives Thumbs Up To The Institution Of Marriage – Add The Reported Death Of Osama bin Laden”

1. @BAFBFP

The comment was provoked by a recent news report critiquing the method used by the US.

2. @David: “The comment was provoked by a recent news report critiquing the method used by the US.

Just putting this out there for consideration.

Might you (and others) think for yourselves?

S9meday?

Or is it too much to ask today?

3. Here is another observation after listening to the reaction by the Pakistani Ambassador to the USA Geronimo mission yesterday. Why is it a sovereign country, in this case Pakistan, not demonstrating outrage at another country transgressing its national border?

4. @David | May 3, 2011 at 5:29 PM | Here is another observation after listening to the reaction by the Pakistani Ambassador to the USA Geronimo mission yesterday. Why is it a sovereign country, in this case Pakistan, not demonstrating outrage at another country transgressing its national border?
    ===================
    The Pakistani PM went as far as to say that entering Pakistan without authorization undermines the cooperation that exist between the two countries.
    Pakistan has been placed in a difficult situation because if they protest about it too much, it may be perceived as if they are unhappy with the outcome.

5. @ Techie
    Bin Laden did not only just destroy the Towers in the USA . the psychological damage to people was devastating. The images of those airplanes being used as missiles can not b overlooked. His intentions were to drive fear into the hearts of people those whom he preceived as having a hatred for Muslims one which he did accomplished however in doing so he destroyedthe credibiltyof his own people world wide. Yes i would agree with youthat they arepeople who have a deliberate bias agenda against Mslims. Howeverthat can be said just about any race. Bin Laden actions on 911 did not help the Muslims world morever it only cause to reignite more anger and hatred towards them. Is the Mslim world the better because of his actions on 911. I don’t think so.
    Did bin Laden actions help to further the cause for which he fought?and as a result Is the Muslim world seen more in a favourable light worldwide. With him gone the Muslim world have a chance of regrouping and finding leaders who areless radical thinking in their teachings. Hopefully a leader who would gain the respect of the world and recapture a peacful image one which is surely missing and was destroyed by Bin Laden on 911.

6. @Zack
    Pakistan receives 1.3billin dollars yearly from Amerika . As it is now Pakistan PM is not being seen in a favourable light with the revealtion that Bin Laden was living right under their noses. There is very litle The Pm can say .Now he is trying to save face with his people while amerika is planning on cutting his welfare.

7. @ac | May 3, 2011 at 6:25 PM | @Zack
    Pakistan receives 1.3billin dollars yearly from Amerika . As it is now Pakistan PM is not being seen in a favourable light with the revealtion that Bin Laden was living right under their noses. There is very litle The Pm can say .Now he is trying to save face with his people while amerika is planning on cutting his welfare.
    =================
    You call it “welfare”…very funny indeed. This is why in an interview with a Pakistan newspaper (Ummat), Bin Laden said, “We are against the [U.S. Government] system, which makes other nations slaves of the United States, or forces them to mortgage their political and economic freedom”.

8. @Ian

there is a subsequent video where Benazir Bhutto talks about Osama Bin Laden being alive.

There is a link to the other video on the Bhutto video.

9. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

@St.George’s Dragon, Bin Laden is not dead, he is actually living in YOUR basement!

You know that bump in the night…?….

10. @Zack
    It is the greed of these countriesthat lead to their downfall. Pawning its people and country for the almight american dollar while playing one sided against each other.On one hand saying to their people that amerika is the evil empire. While on the other hand finding it hard to resist the lure of what amerika has to offer them even if it causes dissent and friction and instabilty within their country. Governments like Pakistan are equaly culpabile in creating Bin Laden and they are just as guilty as amerika in whatever reactions that might have led to hs radicalism and his hatred of the West . Pakistan hands are bloodstained because of their covert actions and the disservice and disloyality they have served to their people. No man can serve two masters .

11. @Sir Bentwood Dick: “You know that bump in the night…?….

I love that.

Oh. Wait. You might be talking about something different….

12. @ac
    If you ask me I think they are right to take America’s money and then deceive America. The US is in the habit of offering aid (or welfare as you put it) to countries in exchange for diplomatic support of her foreign policies. The Pakistan gov’t “played” the US, while Mubarak in Egypt kept most of the money for himself while being a puppet for the US support of Israel. If the US stops giving aid to Pakistan, Pakistan will not starve to death as some would like to think.

13. @Zack.
    Taking the money . But the high price which the people pay isn’t worth it. The losers are the people and a country which is always on the brink of revolt and instabilty. people should not haveto life like that.

14. @ac | May 3, 2011 at 8:45 PM | @Zack.
    Taking the money . But the high price which the people pay isn’t worth it. The losers are the people and a country which is always on the brink of revolt and instabilty. people should not haveto life like that.
    ====================
    Like I said, they are not going to starve.

15. Right now I am caught up with a video of a Chomslki speach that was posted on an earlier thread that I missed when I was away on business. This man is so good … pity he is jewish. “90% of all people in the Middle East see America and Isreal as the biggest threat to the region ” … 90% !!! My God, where is Democracy when you need it …!

16. @BAF
    I noticed you call all who disagree wid you “Pussies”
    Hey you dickhead”Pity he is jewish”and to think you believe what he is saying.LOL!

17. ah yes Chomsky better known as Chumsky the anti American anti israel who lives- well whayya know in the Us of A.Where its safe to live and utter words of wisdom from behind the walls of a university.
    the mans is an attention seeking charlatan

18. This video is so great (Thanks Greenie) that I gotta post it again …

19. wonderful for insomniacs

20. ru4real;

Are you for real?

Have you ever truly read and understood anything written by Chomsky? If you study his works carefully you would realise that he is one of those rare americans who can look at their country without using rose coloured blinkers and can and has realistically dissected and discussed all its warts without fear. He is also one of the few jews, outside of Israel, that is, who has fearlessly told the truth about that country’s brutal historical and current role in the middle east and the world.

Are you really for real?

21. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

David, you should know from what selfish bastards some Barbadians are, that we’re supposed to wait until they (Saddam and Co.) do it to US (Barbadians) before we condone Uncle Sam taking any interest and trying to help the less fortunate.

22. Can people honestly be this stupid …?

23. US president’s sagging approval ratings improve by nine points following al-Qaeda chief’s killing, surveys show.

Click here to read the full story

24. All them Bin Laden sympathisers didn’t lose a son or a daughter or a baby or a pregnant woman on 911. They love of Bin landentakes predence over the lives loss on that fateful day.
    Hasta La Vista Bin Laden

25. TO ALL YOU DOUBTERS that Bin Ladin is dead; please consider that USA CIA have DNA to prove that Osama Bin Laden is Dead. Don’t you think that it is, just, possible that someone sold Bin Ladin’s DEAD body to the US-Authorities for the fat random?

Sound like DOUBLE WAHOLLA FA DEAD BODY!
    (‘Dead bodie had accident’ By Nigerian musician Fela (Anakulapo) Kuti is a song about a dead man’s body that was being transported to the burial-ground and was seriously dismembered in a motor accident) DOUBLE WAHOLLA FO DEAD BODY!

You don’t have to be medically trained to observe that the man (Osama Bin Ladin) was unwell (With reported kidney failure?) that possibly took his life; possibly in the last two – three years more or less.

26. @ru4real | May 3, 2011 at 10:32 PM | ah yes Chomsky better known as Chumsky the anti American anti israel who lives- well whayya know in the Us of A.Where its safe to live and utter words of wisdom from behind the walls of a university.
    the mans is an attention seeking charlatan
    ==================
    So you are of the opinion that because a person lives in the USA, he or she should never find fault with US foreign policy? You’re another typical example of someone who does not think and reason for himself, and lack the balls to challenge the establishment.

27. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Zack, have u ever heard the term patriotism, even to Bim , nevermind the USA, and have u any notion of its meaning?

28. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

or is your purpose only to suck America dry, but not contribute anything towards it!

29. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

BAFBFP | May 4, 2011 at 3:53 AM |
    Can people honestly be this stupid …?

Is that an argument – oh, a Barbadian one!

30. BIMBO

Lef’ I, right ‘aigh …!?

31. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Yeh, cos PRESIDENT Obama has nothing betta to do dan set up a mock assassination n den preten it was sumting else!! LOL!! Bajans!! – a lil lurning!!

32. HAVE YOU WONDERED WHY the “killing of Osama bin Laden” killed the news of the killing of Ghadaffi’s Grand-children and the killings of nine USA military personals in Afghanistan (who were helping the Afghans “re”-build their country?)

Apparently is seem that the two mega news stories were two great for the ‘World Nation’ to consume…not to mention ‘decent North Americans’ who are wondering WHY their young soldiers are ‘constantly’ dying at the hands of people they are HELPING?

As for the killing of Ghadaffi’s children – ‘killing children are not the thing that civilise Europeans/Westerners do – that what other races/cultures do’ -. The pictures of those (dead) children – even tho’ Ghadiffi children – before the cameras and the world would have been too devastating a stain on the ‘good-old-civilise’ image of the European character. ‘That’s just not the thing that civilise Europeans do’. Better to get a giga-bite story (For the world to bite into) and bounce the ‘real’ story off the pages of the news or at least eclipse it?

33. @ ac…

I have a hard time even attempting to reply to you without lmao.

Let’s just say that if you have no questions whatsoever of the authorities stating that a passport of one of the terrorists was found in the rubble, after the heat melted steel (passports are paper), then what more can anyone say to get you to think otherwise (not that I am trying).
    It is funny, that when GP, Zoe et al bring up religion, some here have no issue with alternative views but the US could bring the most outrageous insults to your intellect and you all just gulp down the coolaid….shame.
    Do you think the world is any safer?

34. Well let me tell wunna dis… I enjoyed the Royal Wedding it made me feel happy for the day. It gave me hope that love still exists in this modern day. I wish this couple a happy life.

With the death of Bin Laden, this will not make the world a safer place. Let us not fool ourselves, his message has taken root and will be very hard to eradicate. What I don’t understand is why the US would say that they buried him according to the Islamic faith. If it were me I would blow him up like all the other suicide bombers who have maimed and killed innocent people. Did these suicide bombers get an Islamic burial? Did they care for one before they committed their brutal acts? Did it matter to them that they would not get one?

Yes Bin Laden brought the Islamic faith to a low no other has done before. Those of you who are defending that faith, how many Muslims do you know or have as friends? Do you know how they hate black people even though there are black Muslims? It is the same as with Christianity, many hate the black Christians. Poor Black man, he cannot find his own religion so he has to take others and try and make it his own.

I really don’t care who is lying and who is telling the truth I will read and come up with my own opinion( sounds like another famous book?) Before we accuse anyone of spin take a good look at the media. They will print and say anything to get ratings even if it is not true. We as readers will have to decipher the truth from the garbage that is out there. It will take some time for sure but it will come out.

35. Skeptics Question Osama Bin Laden Death, Asking for Proof
    May 2, 2011, ABC News/Associated Press

http://abcnews.go.com/Politics/WorldNews/conspiracy-theories-proof-bin-ladens-death/story?id=13508746

Now people are asking to see the evidence proving bin Laden is dead. From Pakistan to the U.S. people expressed their skepticism about the death of the man who is perhaps the most infamous terrorist ever known. Officials said today they are “99.9 percent” certain that bin Laden was shot dead in Pakistan.

They also cited CIA photo analysis matching physical features such as bin Laden’s height. Rep. Mike Roger, chairman of the House Intelligence Committee, told the Associated Press that more than one DNA sample was used to identify Osama bin Laden.

After Adolf Hitler’s suicide in April 1945, conspiracy theories for years suggested Hitler was alive and in hiding.

The Russian secret services came forward with a skull and jawbones. DNA results eventually showed the skull was that of a female.

36. Other than for the obvious difference is swell (girth), wanna don’ see the stark resemblance between Adolf Hittler and Fat Arse, or is it just me ..?! Fat Arse I need you to submit a DNA sample to the nearest police station for verification … ASAP!

37. @ islandgal246
    I have read other of your ‘postings’ and consider yours to be a voice of reason. I must, however, question your present points on the Royals ‘love’ and on Osama bin Ladin

It seem to me that Henry The V111 and the annulment of many of his eight marriages and the beheading of 1 left a legacy that have plagued British royal Marriages.

It is clear to the public that the only Royal (of recent times) whom marry for love (Edward V111) had to abdicate for that love, Possibly Charles too who put-aside the people’s favourite’ (Lady Diana) for his long-time ‘squeeze’ Camilla (his present wife) it is a bit presumptuous to assume you knows what is in their hearts. It is evident however, that of Her Majesty’s four (total) children marries; three divorced and one rumoured to be ‘homosexual declared at the time of marriage that (they) his wife and him would spend some days of the week together and some apart.

I am not suggesting that the Royal family of England is any less successful at marriage than any other family but I am questioning your suggestion that the recent royal couple represents love. For the business of the ‘royals’ are to ‘reign’ and the purposes of royal marriage is to produce heirs to the monarchy…heirs that would be raised through the rigorous system of ‘Royal protocols regardless to whether they were born of love or laws

NOW TO THE MATTER OF BIN LADIN
    It is irresponsible that some people will presume to know about Muslims and Islam when they do not know the difference between the two.

I do not share your view that: “Bin Laden brought the Islamic faith to a low no other has done before” For it is not a view that can be reliably assessed. However I notice that since the event commonly referred to as: “9/11” and the “War on terror” Masjids (mosques) are, more, greatly attended…a phenomena (Ironically) akin to the revolution of the Ayatollah Khomeini (1979) I cannot say that the increased attendance is due to Osama bin Ladin’s philosophy or whether it is due to the perceived hostility associated with “The War on Terror but it is very evident that there is a markedly increased attendance at Masjids and Madrasah classes for Muslims Children.

Tell me island-sis, how have you arrived at the conclusion that “Bin Laden brought the Islamic faith to a low no other has done before”? I respectfully admit that I can learn from you ‘something’ I do not know.

38. True true, Islangirl how you could jus come so an’ say de man guilty of anything … after all the intelligent things that you have been saying over the past few months …? Wah Bimbro and the others finally get to you? Tek my word, and I never lie ’bout anyt’ing, including WMD’s, the War on Terror is the second biggest lie that has ever been foisted on the disciples of Western philosophy (the biggest course is that Yeshua bin Yusuf is the son of deity)

39. @ BAFBFP

You very “acid” dese days. How yuh cutting peeps so, doe? I like I is prefer you wid de “chinee” persona. Man, even yuh gyul ac yuh brassing up. Wuh do you in trute?

40. Robin I ain’ brassin’ up nah body, I just doin’ my lil’ bit to stop allotta shite from happenin’ … this blog is only one of many many avenues and I pursuing as many of them before my time is up. (Somebody up dey might wake up one day and put me on Amer’ca Most’ Wanted and wah I gu do …? Which ah wunna would step forward and say/do something ..? Look at Stanford, half of Antigua are convinced that as an ex-US Special agent he will not ever be brought to trial with the information that he has in his head. And yet not one of those fcuks that got money through him would step forward and offer something, money, an article in the news, something in his defence )

41. islandgal246 Avatar

Kracker This is just my opinion…. I enjoyed the Royal wedding so what? I am not saying that other weddings are not based on love but hell it was fun being a watcher.

Bin Laden……Many of the Muslims in Pakistan agree that he has shamed their religion. Perhaps he exposed the religion for what it really is.

Bin Laden’s ideology made many become fanatical . It made many of them believe that was Islamic and that was in the Q’uran to despise non Muslims and murder them. This radical ideology appealed to the semi illiterate Immans to have more control over those attending the mosques. Many terrorists are Muslims and many are affiliated with AlQueda the brainchild of Bin Laden. Many Muslims believe in suicide bombings including some of those living in Western countries. Now they have school children carrying out these horrific acts agains’t their own in Pakistan. How can we live in a society where someone’s faith makes them take pleasure in killing their own and non believers? They have misled many by telling them that the Q’uran allows that.

Since Sept ’11 happened it has changed our way of life. We have been made aware how some Muslims feel about the West. Some have silently left their faith but cannot outwardly say so because of the fear of death.

I am not saying that Islam is the only religion that has bloody hands, Christianity is also guilty.

42. islandgal246 Avatar

I apologize….. I meant Frank Talk and not Kracker please forgive me for my slip of the tongue. BAFBFP we will not always be on the same page at times.

43. islandgal246 Avatar

Interesting reading

http://www.apostatesofislam.com/apostates.htm

http://www.apostatesofislam.com/apostates/g1/ahmed_benkerishan_index.htm

“Probably 9/11 opened my eyes. I realized that Islam at its best couldnt re-invent itself or adapt to the changing world. I realized also its the reason for all failures of Arabs and Muslims. Yet Islam is apologetic to every medieval notion, the way it treats women, other non-believers and religions, solving simple problems of life other than Halal/Haram and just branding others as blasphemous. This religion goes against my mind and values, that way I left it “

44. @The man wiv no name!! | May 4, 2011 at 9:02 AM | Zack, have u ever heard the term patriotism, even to Bim , nevermind the USA, and have u any notion of its meaning?
    The man wiv no name!! | May 4, 2011 at 9:05 AM | or is your purpose only to suck America dry, but not contribute anything towards it!
    =================
    Patriotism is one thing, but turning a blind eye(or supporting) unfair and injust policies is something totally different. A man must first be true to his own conscience(if he has one).

45. About the royal wedding, while I didn’t watch it constantly, I did see a bit of it when I was moving around at home. What is interesting is that it is reported that William’s brother Harry is in a relationship with Kate’s younger sister Pippa, wonder if the Queen would allow that, but then they are Dianna’s children and they too would cause some concern to the Queen.

46. Islandgirl

I don’ want us always to be on the same page, I just want you on this one. If America’s PR people could fool somebody like you, then I am guilty of underestimating them. ISLAM AND ARABS HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH 9-11 … what is it going to take for any of you to understand this..? Your constant clinging to the official story only continues to make things difficult for other forward thinking leaders in the world … I am no fan of Islam, but I would rather accuse them of something that they have actually done, not this sham …!

47. The americans are soooooo dumb, I can’t believe, three or four years after the talk of Obama’s birthplace started and the proof of his birth in Hawaii, that again it could be the main talking point. It seems Trump is showing his racist side to the whole of the USAand I thought Obama handled him well by belittling him. The newest Trump talk is that Obama smuggled his way into Harvard because he was too dunb to qualify, what a racist remak? What qualifications does Trump have? Some of the matters that get so much public attention in the USA is very immature.

48. On the Bin Ladan issue, President Obama will be accredited with killing him, but this will only start new problems for USA. There are many cells of the Al Qada movement all over the world and also all over the USA and I believe they will revenge Bin Ladan’s death by doing something stupid, like blowing up bridges connecting Manhattan of even the subway, security in USA MUST be very tight. The next presidential elections in the USA is going to be very exciting.

49. Another quote….

IG246 says…..Bin Laden……Many of the Muslims in Pakistan agree that he has shamed their religion. Perhaps he exposed the religion for what it really is.

What is the religion really about , pray (no pun) tell?
    What is Judaism about?What is Christianity about?
    Didn’t the Crusades, Ku Klux Klan, Segregation, Slavery and Apartheid to some extent, show us what Christians are capable of?
    Don’t we see how peaceful and loving Judaism is as the Israelis continue to humiliate the Palestinians under the guise of self defence?
    I will state this again as I have on BU….IMHO…Religion is the cause of most of the problems in the world.
    …..and before Zoe chimes in with the Sin reason…..without religion, what would sin be?

ac asked if any one have Muslin friends…well , seeing that I don’t use the word friend loosely, I do have and quite a few. I also have Buddist, Rastafari, Christian, Atheist and Agnostic.
    One of my closest friends is Muslim and their father is an Iman. I don’t see much difference in either religions, we all respect each other.
    We have fanatics and liars in all, that have brought shame to their individual beliefs, not just Muslims.
    Zoe sounds very fanatical at times on BU, what does this make him?
    A lot of us speak of love of each other but deep down inside some of us have a lot of hatred for others. It just takes an incident for us to show these qualities.