Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams

It was embarrassing to hear about a fire tender that was burnt to a cinder after answering a call to control a wild fire at Canefield, Locust Hall, St George. There should be a sense of confidence that the Barbados Fire Service always demonstrate the required competence in the service of “providing effective and efficient fire prevention, fire suppression, disaster management, emergency medical care and other essential services to save lives and protect “.

On cue, Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams advised yesterday he had requested a report on the unusual occurrence. By the way, the official explanation from BFS Henderson Patrick was, “in an attempt to bring the fire under control, met the conditions where the wind would have taken a lot of the trash and blew it in the direction of the fire truck which would have resulted in the situation that we have right now.”

A 1.5 million dollar fire tender gone up in smoke!

The unfortunate accident alarming though it was piqued the interest of the blogmaster when coupled with another tragic event that occurred at Wellington Street, Bridgetown on the 5 May 2024. Nearly 50 individuals were displaced because six houses were razed and others significantly damaged. Notwithstanding denials from BFS officials, eyewitness reports from onlookers ‘claim’ fire tenders arrived on the scene without an adequate supply of water. Compromising the response of the BFS the public was told of difficulty accessing fire hydrants by fire service personnel because the road was newly paved.

There is a lot to unpack, so much to speculate about, enough for Minister Abrahams to have commissioned a Wellington Report?

It is important to shore up public trust in essential agencies like the fire, police if serious accusations are levelled by members of the public. The government must promptly and thoroughly respond to citizen concerns. If trust in public institutions and agencies continue to slide chaos and conspiratorial notions will take root, they have already started.

Why would ordinary citizens narrate blatant untruths about fire tenders on the scene at Wellington Street not having water? Why would trained fire officials park a 1.5 million dollar fire appliance in a grass piece unaware of the potential hazard posed by change of wind direction?

The blogmaster will not elaborate on the other allegation making the rounds as it relates to the name of owner of the land where many of the houses destroyed are located and the connection.

164 responses to “Under fire!”

1. Picking up the pieces

Wellington Street fire victims readjusting

WELLINGTON STREET RESIDENTS, displaced by the night fire that swept through their neighbourhood on May 5, are gradually rebuilding their lives.

Minister with Responsibility for Crime Prevention and parliamentary representative for The City Corey Lane confirmed that the affected residents have been relocated to White Park Road, St Michael under a rent-to-own arrangement through the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Maintenance (MHLM).

Lane added that the residents will be given grace from the ministry.

Forty-nine-year-old Francesca Conibert-Daniels and her husband Ian Daniels are grateful for the support they received from the community and various organisations.

“We have been given vouchers for food, lots and lots of foodstuffs. We got stuff from Courts, they gave us a stove, fridge, bed and a dining set. So you know, you can be reasonably comfortable because you can cook, you can store your goods, you can sleep comfortably so that has been good,” she said.

Her husband, Ian, similarly expressed his gratitude.

“I don’t want to be ungrateful and truly the Prime Minister, and parliamentary representative Corey Lane, the Sandy Lane [Charitable Trust], they have gone above and beyond and, for that, I am thankful,” he said.

The Daniels escaped with only their phones, a purse and the clothes on their backs.

“I made some tea and my husband said he would like some. How the chattel houses are I could see some light through the back door and I thought, ‘at this time of the night they burning things?’ and then in a couple seconds my husband said, ‘no babe something is wrong, this is not normal, the flames are too high’,” she said.

Daniels explained that there was little space between her and the neighbour’s house and a galvanised sheet that stretched from their backyard onto the house caught fire and that was when they sounded the alarm.

“It was just going from then, trying to stop this thing that I couldn’t believe was happening. I really was trying to save the house. All the while the house was starting to burn I wasn’t leaving. I was really trying to save it but it came to a point where I could not breathe and I couldn’t see. By the time I got to the front my husband said to take up something and let go,” she added.

Flash of light

For Robert Gill he wonders what “could have been”.

He was waking from a light sleep and was hoping for the quiet comfort of home after a long day when he saw a flash of light at the window.

“I hear this boom! So I just rush and look up. I had on a boxers and I just walk downstairs. On my way out I just took out my ID and just walk out. When I look out and I looked over to my neighbour, their house was almost burned already,” he recalled.

Gill rushed outside with his shoes, boxers, and ID card.

“I thought the firemen would have gotten there on time because you weren’t hearing nothing, sirens or nothing. Then it came down and parked right in front my house, so from there I told one of the fire guys to come with me. When I make a step forward some smoke just come my way and he told me to turn back, so I say ‘okay’, and a couple of seconds the guy came back out and I never went back in the house since that. I had money all over the place that I got paid for that day.

“I just thought these guys would have really out that thing . . . but everybody want to save their house, everybody confusing the firemen, so there was a lot of confusion. Then the problems with the hydrants and the water, it was a lot of issues on that day,” Gill added.

He is thankful for the ray of hope from the various organisations and concerned citizens, and especially credited the St Ambrose Church as well as the Kingdom Hall of Jehovah’s Witness.

Seeta Greaves and her husband Ramnarine Singh opted against relocation to White Park Road, and the family of five is staying with a friend.

They said the rebuilding has been difficult.

It has been made more challenging as Singh sustained injuries on the job four months ago when he fell off a cliff. He only returned home from the hospital a few days before the blaze.

“My husband lost two storerooms full of tools because he’s a contractor and he was home for four months so his tools were home. Everything lost, and the washing machine, freezer, stove, fridge, lots and lots of things lost. I don’t know if anybody going to help us back with some tools, I don’t know what they are going to do,” she said.

Greaves appealed for help, noting that her husband was in dire need of a wheelchair and they wanted sheets, bedspreads, mattresses and school supplies.

In response to the pleas, Lane assured that the necessary aid would be given the family, including a wheelchair. (JRN)

2. From the minister’s mouth. There was a breach of protocol and something went wrong.

https://www.instagram.com/reel/C8K98gsNOre/?igsh=MnQyMG50MWgxMDFk

3. I don’t do instagram. What does it say?

4. ‘Protocol breach’ in tender fire

A breach of protocol is at the root of the destruction of a fire tender last month.

On May 13, a fire tender responding to a grass fire at Locust Hall, St George, caught afire when the wind changed, blowing burning trash onto the truck. In addition, a fire officer received minor burns.

Yesterday, after showcasing the arrival of three new fire tenders at the Bridgetown Port, Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams said the investigation into the destroyed tender was ongoing but preliminary results show the rules were not followed.

“It is clear that something went wrong. The mere fact a fire truck burned means that something went wrong. An investigation was done and it was determined that established protocols were not followed. There are more investigations still to be done, then the consideration of what we will do next with the information,” he said.

Abrahams said he was “comfortable” acknowledging there was a breach in protocol which led to an injury and also the loss of the appliance. However, he said it was still too early to speak of any sanctions.

“We are looking at it properly to take the proper action. It cannot be a knee-jerk reaction. We are talking about the reputation of an individual and the [fire] service but I want to assure the public . . . this will not be swept under the carpet. An investigation was made, certain recommendations were made and certain findings were had and I can tell you proper protocols were not followed,” he said.

The Home Affairs Minister said there were steps to any disciplinary process but the investigation was not yet at that stage, adding the public would be kept apprised.

Chief Fire Officer Errol Maynard, in giving an update on the progress of the investigations, said one of the considerations was insurance.

“The report revealed there were some high winds and the officers, in their strategy, took the vehicle offroad into the area where the fire was burning but the wind apparently changed and the tender got [caught].

“The report on the incident was submitted to the minister and we are just waiting on the settlement of the insurance. Once that is settled, we will move on from there. We still have some administrative things to do . . . and another investigation has been launched by our security officer to determine any negligence,” he said.

Maynard reported the injured officer was recovering well. (CA)

5. Not me boasie. I ain’t gonna mek a comment. I gun wate till dis ting die down, tek sum time to comprehen tit, and den si something. Wen you tink we gettin de repork? befo Savvy?

6. Enough of the bullshit! The investigations to date have led to an admission that protocol was not followed. Is this not a preliminary report?

This is not a case of corruption, nor is it a case of political shenanigans. This is a case of a mistake made by an employee or employees of the government.

As has been stated, a person’s livelihood and reputation is at stake. One must follow employment laws, rules and regulations as this has only yesterday been cited by the Employments Rights Tribunal as a major issue with employers, leading to many of the disputes coming before them, and also leading to judgments in the employee’s favour.

I have heard this personally from union representatives, “If employers would only follow procedures as agreed, many of our members would have no case!”

Let the investigations continue and procedure be followed!

Now, if you wish to play pitbull, here’s a juicy leg bone for you –

The Fire Chief stated elsewhere that having received three new appliances, and notwithstanding the upgraded models, we are still a few appliances short of requirements.

Now…….go!

7. Fire service ‘not up to capacity’

The head of the Barbados Fire Service (BFS) has pointed to a severe shortage of personnel.

Speaking with the Sunday Sun on Friday, Chief Fire Officer Errol Maynard admitted that at present the fire service “was not up to capacity”.

“On any given day, if we have ten to 15 fires it definitely will stretch our resources. Bear in mind we only have six stations and one is at the airport which is only there for the airport. The other five have to do the municipal fire fighting and therefore that would be a challenge for us,” Maynard said.

The service is short of “roughly 50 to 60 personnel and once we got those we will be comfortable . . . the more the merrier,” he added.

The BFS is aiming to boost their numbers via an auxiliary programme that would add volunteers to their ranks. They would be recruited during the Crop Over and Independence period.

Fire statistics

Maynard also revealed data on fire statistics for the year so far, showing a decrease of 200 fires for the period of January to July 14, compared to the same period in 2023.

There were 29 house fires compared to 38 for the corresponding period last year, while grass fires were still the most common with 527 recorded last year and 381 this year.

Maynard said despite the decrease, the number was still higher than satisfactory.

“That is still too many [grass] fires because some of these fires also damage people’s homes. So we are still appealing to persons not to indiscriminately light fires and to clean around their homes also if they have any bush close to their homes.

Rubbish

“We would have seen a rise in rubbish fires that means that people are keeping rubbish and trying to get rid of it by burning it. But that is not what we are advocating. You should package it properly and work with the Sanitation Services Authority to get the rubbish removed from your premises,” he advised.

The fire chief also urged the public to practise small fire prevention measures such as periodic inspection of appliances and to avoid overloading circuits in their homes, ensure that wiring is checked every ten years by a certified electrician and invest in a smoke detector for the home.

“You see most people will be putting in cameras. You have ten cameras in your house to look for that thief that might come along and take a piece of jewellery but you do not have a smoke detector. Fire comes along and he [fire] will take all. So we need really to spend a little bit more time protecting our home from the single thing that will get everything and that is fire,” Maynard said.

(JRN)

8. Me, I aint gun sih nuttin, but I gun axe crestions..
    Wunnah see de belly on those firemen? Wunnah tink dem could fight fire?
    De firemen now carrying dey own watuh?
    Dem get personal tanks.
    I dun

9. Now why would you need to ask questions about what you have seen with your own eyes?

That was never my position! I repeat, either you have comprehension skills deficit or you are being disingenuous.

This is obviously not the condition we would wish for our firefighters to be in. Hell, pot belly is not good for even a desk worker!

But what has that to do with turning up to a fire without water in the tank? And, were these the officers who lost the appliance in the fire?

I can tell you that those who came to my fires were not in that condition!

Swinging wildly as usual.

10. City safety fears

Workers worry about lack of fire drills

By Josué Ramiréz Nelson josuenelson@nationnews.com

Some employees of stores in Bridgetown fear if an emergency comes their way, they will be forced to run for their lives.

Several store clerks along Tudor Street yesterday revealed to the Saturday Sun that they have not been properly briefed on the correct fire evacuation procedures in the event of an emergency, like a fire.

While all of the stores were equipped with fire extinguishers, some store attendants were not comfortable with the standard of fire and safety protocols.

At one store, a clerk revealed that they were unsure of the precise location of their fire extinguishers. There were mixed responses from the rest of the staff on where to find the appliances.

It was eventually discovered that the fire extinguisher was kept in a garage at the back of the store. This garage also houses a secondary door for escape, but this room is locked at all times and can only be accessed with a key. Not all clerks have access to that key.

Additionally, they revealed that formal fire drills were not held by managers.

Paula Layne, a store clerk at City Woman clothing store, said they were not given a formal fire drill training or how to respond in case of a fire. That store also has a hidden back-door access which can sometimes be difficult to reach in times of crisis.

Extinguisher location

“We were discussing what if a fire happened the same day as the fire this week. I will try to help myself first and then help the workers but if it’s happening at the front of the store, it’s difficult to get to the back,” she said.

Christine, a food vendor in the same area, admitted that she too did not know where the fire extinguisher was in her store, neither was she given formal fire drill training.

“I don’t know if they have one [fire extinguisher] here, I’m just working. If there is a fire I start running and gone so,” she declared.

At another store, Christopher, a clerk, said his building has a fire extinguisher but no smoke detector. There is one back door in case of emergency but he ruled this out as an option since it was often blocked by a stack of boxes.

“I uncomfortable with it but the owners won’t do nothing else, if you understand me. A lot of these stores don’t have fire extinguishers or insurance. Small businesses are struggling and they don’t have time for any of that.

“The majority of them have bad wiring and they aren’t updated. If they updating it, they just updating the sides for you to see. It’s like make-up on a woman – once you take it off, you see the true colours,” he said.

However, at the No. 1 Beauty supply store also on Tudor Street, a worker who asked to remain anonymous said they knew what to do from past experience. “I am briefed because I did first aid, so basically some of those things I would know. My girls are briefed that if they see fire, they going straight to the door, they ain’t even sticking up,” she said. “Management make sure that they are checked and they try to make sure they are safe as possible. If there are any other problems they usually speak to us. “I know for sure that the fire extinguishers were checked just last month to see if anything is operating. There are more than one and they are set up in different areas, probably about eight or nine on the floor and different places,” she added.

When contacted, Chief Fire Officer Errol Maynard said fire drills were not as frequent in smaller shops as in larger businesses.

“Generally you try to hold a fire drill every quarter, so at least three or four times a year. The employer is to ensure that all of his staff understands what to do in case of emergency and that at least one person on duty, at any given time, can use the fire extinguisher.

“It can’t be one person, because even if that person goes to Chefette and left the others there, somebody there should be able to use the extinguisher once the store is open. So you’ve got to train more than one. You’ve got to have people here who are trained to do that. It’s law that they do these things,” he explained.

In cases where stores are not practising correct measures for fire and safety, Maynard said the employees can bring these issues to the attention of the Barbados Fire Service via anonymous tips.

Earlier this week, he spoke of the prevalence of one-door shops which lack a secondary exit in the event of a fire.

Tuesday marked the 14th anniversary of the Campuz Trendz tragedy, where two robbers firebombed the shop in Tudor Street claiming the lives of six women who were trapped inside.

The incident continues to spark discussion on the need for the installation of fire/emergency escapes in one-door buildings.

Maynard said while this was a necessary part of the building code, several stores in The City lacked the physical space for an emergency exit.

He said the Barbados Fire Service consulted owners on other mitigating factors such as early warning detectors and fire extinguishers to safeguard staff and customers.