Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

But what is leadership? It seems to be one of those qualities that you know when you see it, but is difficult to describe. There are almost as many definitions as there are commentators

inFED

Reading some of the comments on Facebook and other media there is a view gaining currency that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart needs to become more visible in the public’s eye. The elevation of Prime Minister Stuart after the death of David Thompson some argue was the obvious choice at the time. He had been acting over several months through a difficult period for the party and country in the shadow of a popular David Thompson. He deserved his chance some believed and that view was obviously supported by his parliamentary colleagues when the time came to select who from among them should lead.  His publicly stated view  that he had an aversion to treachery would have endeared him to the conservative Barbadian.  The fact that the late David Thompson had devolved all authority to Stuart has sparked many hot political discussions.

BU suggests the leadership cupboard is bare on the Democratic Labour Party side of the fence. God forbid Stuart were not able to perform his current role as Prime Minister all kinds of ‘issues’ potentially could come to the fore. Should it be Estwick who has always made it known he is capable? What about the pretender Donville Inniss? Not to forget the anointed one Chris Sinckler. To the interested observer Prime Minister Stuart’s laid back – some would say aloof – style gives an opening for those on the other side to stoke the current discussion about whether he is an effective leader.

Barbadians seem to have an admiration for the charismatic, debonair, ruthless type Prime Minister. Tom Adams, Owen Arthur, Errol Barrow spring to mind. Those not in the same mould like Erskine Sandiford, Bree St. John and now Fruendel Stuart standout by the obvious difference in how their leadership styles are perceived. Acerbating the rising perception about Stuart not seen as a leader is the fact that he does not hold a high profile ministry. There was and still is the opportunity for him to shuffle the chairs on the deck, by doing so he would send a message that this is his cabinet and not one inherited. With the performance of the economy trending upwards the opposition will be pouncing on any weaknesses the government exposes, the leadership issue may well turn out to be one.

The argument by the pragmatist would be to point to the performance of the government credited with leading the country out of a protracted recessionary period caused by external pressures. Then they are those who believe in the power of speech (The King’s Speech) to mobilize a people. It seems ironic that Stuart a man gifted with superior oratory skill would have to bear the brunt of criticism concerning his unwillingness to speak.

Barbadians have been spoiled by a politics which says all roads should lead to the Prime Minister. If there is a labour dispute the Prime Minister should intervene, it does not matter that there is a substantive minister. If there is an opening of a company or the launch of a new product the Prime Minister must do it, and the list is replete with  examples where the Prime Minister is regarded as the one and only. In many respects Barbadiams have conferred the title of  primus inter pares on the person who occupies the role of Prime Minister of Barbados.

We can debate it all we want but at the end of the day a leader has to find a way to get others to follow. Can we say that Barbadians believe Prime Minister Stuart is the one to follow? BU would have been slightly embarrassed to learn that at the last conference of Caricom Heads in Grenada it has been stated by a source that Prime Minister Stuart did not unpick his teeth at the plenary session. Barbadian leaders have always been regarded as leaders who stood tall in the region. The reality we find ourselves where regional leaders are uncharitably taking pot shots at Barbados speaks to something which we once had which has become unravelled.

Prime Minister Stuart is known to be a lover of wisdom, a deep thinker and one schooled in the old ways of doing things, he will have to find a way to quell the rising perception that he is a sitting duck Prime Minister.

160 responses to “If Not Fruendel Stuart, Who?”

1. @Hants

It is a serious thing.

Don’t worry though, the government has promised to adjust the excise tax shortly so that Barbadians can continue to drive around their gas guzzlers.

it is a serious thing indeed.

2. As Owen said, Freundel Stuart is politically comatose. Owen may be alot of things, but he was also quite effective in getting the job done.

3. People who believe in this notion that Bajans don’t change a gov’t after one term are going to be in for a surprise. They need to realize that there’s a first time for everything.

4. David,

Yes, previous governments borrowed from the NIS funds but not like this DLP government. Trust me, I know! The previous government would borrow on a promissory note to repay in 30 or 60 or 90 days and they did. Not this one, they are not repaying and this is the big worry. Another worrying trend is that 91% of NIS funds are locally “invested” if you can call government paper investments.

5. @islandgal246 | April 17, 2011 at 5:26 PM | There is still a lot of projects here waiting for foreign investors to come buy, empty condos for sale with no buyers, another Marina IN THE NORTH being built with MORE CONDOS for the high end market, Apes hill project, Four seasons, the abandoned Black Bess project looking for a buyer and wunna want me to name some more. Bare shite to build another marina. WE NEED A HOSPITAL, PROPER DRAINAGE, ROADS, PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION, SEA FERRY SERVICE, ALTERNATIVE ENERGY, PROPER GARBAGE DISPOSAL AND A STRONG AGRICULTURE INFRASTRUCTURE.

Thanks to Mia we have a prison large enough to hold dem tiefs if they ever bring integrity legislation. Al Barrack can’t get his money but money gine go to pay the people dat suing de government. The DLP have their Priorities all wrong.
    ==============
    So true…so true.

6. David;

BU said ” It seems ironic that Stuart a man gifted with superior oratory skill would have to bear the brunt of criticism concerning his unwillingness to speak.”

Nothing ironic about that. Most people blessed with superior oratory skills have little substance, thought or originality in their discourse. They get by and thrive on perceptions rather than substance. There are of course a few exceptions to this general rule. David Thompson was one of them. Tom Adams was one of them also. Freundel Stuart is not. Just look for the substance in his interviews and original statements as acting or substantive PM. He might be unwilling to speak as he might not have anything earth shattering to say and prefers to say nothing.

Any of you ever saw the Peter Sellers movie “Being there”? Not that Stuart is reminiscent of the Peter Sellers’ character in every respect but there are some ominous parallels.

7. @Bush Tea | April 17, 2011 at 11:29 AM | @ Ping Pong
    THE PROBLEM lies deeper…. so rather than just simply dump this DLP lot to replace them with yet another set of idiots, Bushie is doing some research to try to identify what we need to look for in sensible successors….
    ============
    Bush Tea you full of crap. If the current gov’t are a set of idiots, and the BLP are a set of idiots, where are you going to find sensible successors? Are you going to hand pick them from among our citizens and force them to enter politics? Maybe you should offer up your pompous behind for elective politics by forming your own party with sensible members of your choosing. Until then we have to work with what is before us.

8. David,
    Lowering the excise tax is not enough other than for vote getting symbolism.

Barbadians need to use the anecdotal evidence on what is happening to oil and food prices on the world market.

Wunna doan have to believe me. Let google be your friend.

But I know Bajans good. Inside de kitchen duh gine be nuff stretchin. Nuff gravy but nuh lotta meat.

9. But what do Barbadians care about leadership? None of you have a say in who the leader will be or should be. Rather than waste time pontificating on Fruendel’s suitability wunnuh should be fighting for a say in who becomes the “Leader” of the country. As a citizen I want the popular right to vote for the person in whom I am well please to lead my country. Who with me? LOL!

Mia Mottley is the only one on the national stage with a stated vision of where she would like to see Barbados in the future. Anybody else?

10. You cannot have a 20th century government and a 20th century politics for a 21st century population. Mia Mottley.

11. “Mia Mottley is the only one on the national stage with a stated vision of where she would like to see Barbados in the future. Anybody else?”

Adrian I have also said this before and I endorse this again. Mia is the only one with true leadership qualities, others pale in comparison.

12. Island Girl 246
    Agriculture can bring some level of food security but tourism over the years was the driving force of the economy.
    So like it or lump it all governments will have to seek investments to improve the tourism product so as to make it appealing to tourists. As David said FDIs are derived from these projects so that bajans can be sixth in the world in cell phone use and there is an average of 1.5 cell phones per person(idiot consumers)
    The government on the other hand must show some transparency on this project. Why would the DLP government use the same person who was involved with DODDS bolt project? It makes you think.

13. @Adrian

You will not see that kind of political reform in our life time!

14. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Hi ac, i understand what ur saying but i prefer my leaders to b free and actually doing things to enable me to ascertain that they’re ‘a good leader’. if they were locked up, it’d be difficult to see how you could maintain that they’re ‘a good leader’ especially if, as in Mandela’s case, he was kept unable to communicate with his people in any way, shape or form! ‘leader’, in name ‘yes’ but ‘good leader’?!! i think that’s taking it too far!!

Adrian and Islandgal, the question is ‘is Motley’s vision for the country the right one’ not simply that ‘she has a vision for the country’!!

David, a week is a long time in politics!!

15. @Man Wiv no name
    If what you say is true. then the leaders who are dead like ghandi Mlk would not be relevant today and still remain a force to be reckoned with. That is good leadership and not to forget the one who christians so much love and adore and worships and his leaderships is a good example of though he is dead yet does he live. Go figure. !

16. @Adrian
    MIA Mottley is the only one with vision. Says Who! That ain’t what the OSA think. He didn’t spare havingher head handed to him on aplatter ! So then you think your leader OSA got it wrong! and are you saying that OSA has no vision when compared to MIA!

17. @david
    I ain’t worried about what I will see in my lifetime, I am busy doing what I can, now that I can, and all of us should too.

where is owens vision? the last time parliament was reformed was 1971. what relevance can it have today, since it never was people centered in the first place?

18. By his unwillingness to speak to his people is PM Stuart saying he disagreed with late PM Thompson’s willingness to make himself available to the public to the extent he did? History reflects that Thompson was the most people centric PM as a result of it.

Perhaps it also demonstrates the outpouring of affection by ordinary Barbadians at his death.

19. Freundel’s recent comments in parliament on the Clico matter should tell all, where is thinking lie. It is with a system that has outlived its usefullness. Thompson’s approach was one of a Leader who was popularly elected althought such was not the case. Stuart, accepts and probably is of the same thinking as Ezra Alleyne, Maurice King, Henry Forde et all who believe in Westminster and a system that allows elected representatives to pick the country’s leader. There is no obligation for a PM under the current system to speak to the people. The people have moved on, and if Stuart sticks to his approach he could take down the DLP with him.

20. What is this talk about Mia being a visionary? And besides, do visionaries make things happen? What has Mia ever completed successfully? Edutech? What was her track record at CBC? Did she act swiftly enough to avoid the uprising at the Prison? What about all the confusion she caused in the Ministry of Education and at the NCF. She could not even keep a few people loyal to her as an Opposition leader. She would talk nuff and do bare shi…. That bully is best kept where she now is, far from power. Power and bullies is not a good mix.

21. Brother Scout You are an eternal pessimist.
    There are always wild,unsubstantiated claims coming from your postings that I am sure many other bloggers find amusing.
    Brother Scout from the first day the Democratic Labour Party took office almost all of your postings suggested that Barbadians made a mistake and as a result doom & gloom will befall this country.
    Brother scout,this government is in power for three (3) years and in my opinion and I sure in the opinion of a vast majority of Barbadians, the government is doing a relative good job in keeping the country afloat. No massive layoff have occurred either in government or private sector.The economic outlook for the country is becoming better & better each time the Central Bank reports to the nation.Brother Scout, tell me when, & how and the reasons for the massive layoffs & economic upheaval that will befall Barbados.
    Brother Scout,I have grown very tired of reading your posting lambasting this Democratic Labour Party administration without empirical evidence or anything of substance to back up your reckless views on this Democratic Labour Party administration handling of the economy.

22. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

hi ac, ok, but i still prefer a live ‘leader’ to a dead or incarcerated one!
    i got one question bout Fruendal: is he doing his job and is he doing it well? if d answer is ‘yes’, den i could never c he face pun d telly, or hear e voice!!

23. Hi David et al,

I heard the news exercpt of Min Sinckler speaking on the excise tax issue.

While I was concerned that he would indicate a reduction, he then went on to explain, correctly, that such a reduction is not sustainable, in either the medium or long term.

Any reduction in the excise tax to enable or encourage more driving is a ridiculous suggestion.

People who push this suggestion seem to think that the money comes from nowehere,, but it is the middle class taxpayers who bear the burden of any shortfall and indeed, any encouragement to spend on fuel wastage is witless, as it literally burns foreign exchange and lost of it.

The methods to be used to assist in this matter are twofold.

Firstly, assistance to small business for those who drive or use diesel in agriculture, tourism or manufacturing.

Secondly, improvement of public transport, such that one is able to FULLY rely on a safe and effcient public transport system.

Without that, we are just talking ‘chalk’.

That said, any subsidy in petrol usage is NOT an option.

Further, I wonder what is going to happen when oil hits $200. barrel?

This is now a very real possibility, thanks to whatever forces are at work in the Middle East.

24. What vision does OSA have for Barbados ,Ichallenged any BLP stalwart to answer that Question.

25. “People who push this suggestion seem to think that the money comes from nowehere,, but it is the middle class taxpayers who bear the burden of any shortfall and indeed, any encouragement to spend on fuel wastage is witless, as it literally burns foreign exchange and lost of it.”
    ——————————————————
    Why should there be a shortfall when government’s budget is based on a lower price per barrel; hence less VAT and excise tax? An increase in the price of oil = an increase in VAT and excise tax for government. The fact that the gov’t cannot afford to ease the excise tax means that they need the increase take from oil to cover other areas of the budget that will not realise the projected levels of revenue. Seems like it was a ‘ccoked’ budget.

Btw the middle class bearing the burden all now.

26. @Enuff

Have you read this new study completed by the UWI, Cave Hill posted below? According to the study Barbados is thought to be hanging in there based on customer perception.

27. @ David

I have not a clue what that chart saying!!

28. @Alien,

Thanks for that, at least one other regional Government (aside from Guyana) in this area is getting ready for the increased world issues, particularly food.

Guyana does not have to worry, they are already a breadbasket for us.

29. Those farms were coming over 10 years ago.

30. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

ac | April 18, 2011 at 5:24 PM |
    What vision does OSA have for Barbados ,Ichallenged any BLP stalwart to answer that Question.

ac, probably only Arthur could answer that question. doubt whether even his closest ally knows precisely what’s going on in a person’s mind!

31. To add to the comment which indicates a focus and urgency on increasing agriculture output, all to do with food security, there is the report that agricultural land in the UK is on the rise. The indicators are there but Barbados finds itself with a legacy of building out a service economy with little interest in food security. Remember that food security does not mean planting up the whole of Barbados.

Rising food prices have pushed up the price of arable land in parts of the UK, but life is tougher for livestock farmers. Agricultural land prices in Britain have hit record levels following the surge in global food prices, according to figures from…

Click here to read the full story

On the subject of leadership, why is minister Sinckler speaking for the PM about whether he will speak soon or not? Why is minister Kellman speaking out about whether PM Stuart will speak to the issue of whether Lowe or Kellman will hold the ministry of drainage and environment?

32. David;

re your comment above;
    On the subject of leadership, why is minister Sinckler speaking for the PM about whether he will speak soon or not? Why is minister Kellman speaking out about whether PM Stuart will speak to the issue of whether Lowe or Kellman will hold the ministry of drainage and environment?

Either they both have little respect for the intelligence of the readers / listeners or they are clueless themselves and do not understand that they are further damaging the credibility of the PM or they are intentionally seeking to further damage that credibility.

In any case they are showing very clearly that the PM seems incapable of recognizing that the the two of them are not doing him any favours but are reinforcing the impression that the public now has that he is weak and cannot think clearly.

Take your choice of the options above.

33. In the case of Kellman and Lowe, is Kellman now the Minister of Environment and Drainage or is he still acting? The reason I’m asking that question is , the worg ACTING has been drop when introducing him. My other question then is this ” can this country afford to have so many ministers, since Lowe is still a minister without portfolio? I know Min Lowe is not going to take his demotion easily and this can cause some friction in the party, especially since both of them is on the Stuart side within the party. It seems P.M Stuart is between a rock and a hard place in his dealing with Kellman and Lowe.

34. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Has anyone noticed the flurry of speeches and activity from Kellman recently? I never used to see this from Lowe, and one wondered if he was working, even when he seemed to be in good health.

Seems to me that Kellie is moving helter skelter to prove to everyone including Prime Minister Silence Stuart, that he is the better man! Look at the foolishness that Barbados reduced to, all at great cost to the taxpayers.

35. Kellman is a good man and he is capable

I hate to see this kind of snobbery from people

The same thing happened in Barrow’s time

36. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Tina, do not misunderstand me. I agree with you that Denis Kellman IS a good man. I also beleive that he has been the victim of DLP SNOBBERY.

E.g. Do you remember when he and The Late King were the only two (2) DLP parliamentarians left, after that unprecedented near wipe-out in the 1999 elections? The Late King snobbishly seemed to think of Kellman as being out of his (the late king’s) political league , and it was obvious that parliamentary cooperation between the two literally ended; the King even allegedly stopped speaking to Kellman!

Understand too, that the Caricom Ambassador thing was designed merely to keep him quiet. He was entirely unsuited for that position, and was out to sea!

Incidentally, is he still the Caricom Ambassador? If he is, he might yet achieve something noble, because the DLP’s recent performance with regards to CARICOM relations leaves much to be desired. Kellman can shine if he steps up to the plate and repairs Barbados’s thrashed image.

Over the past few weeks, Kellman has appeared to be a man in a big hurry, and he has been vigorously active and high-profile, with almost nightly appearances on CBC DLP TV, as well as front and page three reports in that journalistically shameless DLP rag, The Advocate.

You see, he has so long been unfairly denied promotion by the DLP, that he has been placed in the invidious position where he now has to struggle for political significance. His struggle has been completely opposite to the easier passages of far more junior and lesser neophytes like Michael Lashley, Stephen Lashley, George Hutson, Esther Sookoo, Steve Blackette etc. Kellman, in his desparation, is taking full advantage of the ministerial opportunity afforded him by the illness of the other DENIS, who is also a neophyte and an incompetent.

In the meantime, Prime Minister SILENCE Stuart, now confronted with YET ANOTHER POLITICAL OWN-GOAL, namely this Kellman/Lowe fiasco, continues the most remarkable activity so far, of this DLP Government’s near four-year tenure ….. Touring and Photo Opportunities! Saw him last night on CBC DLP TV, addressing the awards ceremony of a private company, and not saying much really. But, NOTHING, ZILCH, NADA, NUTTIN, NUTTIN, AT ALL ….. on important and pressing matters concerning this nation.

37. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

p.s. Please look again at Paragraph six (6) above. By no stretch of the imagination am I suggesting that Denis Kellman is a neophyte … he is actually ,I think, the most senior and seasoned DLP member in Parliament. He deserves better.

So, P.M. SILENCE Stuart, if as usual you find it hard to decide, may I decide for you? KEEP KELLMAN , DUMP LOWE!

38. Truthman Burton Avatar

In today’s Nation Newspaper report, Prime Minister Stuart, seemingly enticed and coerced out of that Saddam Hussain-like hiding hole in which the Americans found the battered Iraqui tyrant, has continued his gradual reappearance on the public scene, and utters as follows:
    QUOTE:

“I talk to Barbadians in a . . . varied range of circumstances and a varied range of things,” he said.

“It [the charge] has no validity about it, and the persons who are promoting [it] are well known to me.

“I am not deceived about anything that I hear from them. It is not without significance that the radio station that promotes it and the newspaper that promotes it all use the same spoon to drink their soup from the same pot. . . . I am not at all affected by any of that.”

“They will soon learn that they are talking to themselves and there is nothing wrong with a soliloquy from time to time. It is just that this a fairly protracted soliloquy. They can continue to talk to themselves,” Stuart said.

END OF QUOTE

Well, on this Blog, I have been anonymously criticising his extended silence on pressing issues in this country. His comments seem ominous, and it slightly disturbs me, that as an ordinary citizen, thankful for an avenue to air my concerns, but like so many others, careful about disclosing my identity for fear of victimisation, would be “well known to me (The Prime Minister)”.

How important is it that these persons be “well known to him?” And I wonder what lesson it is really that “They will soon learn”.

This …. from a “leader’ and gentleman who undoubtedly is expert at the art of soliloquy judging from his Prime Ministerial performance, yet by a clever turn of phrase, appears to be issuing veiled threats to persons who democratically question his actions! Shades of tyranny?

Beware ……. Bloggers, (not Carson Cadogan, AC, WIV, etc), certain Radio Stations (not CBC), and certain Newspapers (not The Advocate). Be careful about taking him at his word when he says: “I am not at all affected by any of that”

39. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

These DLP people too love a fete, especially that Michael Lashley. As I have noted before, everything got to be JAMMING, JAMMING, JAMMING all the time. Yesterday they had a small JAM in Country Road, and I note they were drinking Heineken Beer. (I saw a Heineken Bottle in SILENCE Stuart’s hand. Go to Barbados Today online)

But look out for the real BIG fete when they hand over the few keys for the official opening of Country Park Towers. Many thousands of dollars in drinks and eats nuff nuff wukup, Mike Lashley style.
    What a big shame. Sinckler might not be there, unless they serving champagne.

40. all i could think of when i saw the picture of Al Barrack and the PM in the newspaper was Stuart saying to Al “Whats your problem.”

41. @David et al,

Anyone interested in world affaris would do well to follow the progress of Russia and Putin, its strong leader. Here is the latest news.

Note Russia’s current deficit, rather small compared to USA. Is it not ironic that roughly twenty years after ‘perestroika’, Russia is now in better financial state than USA, which is is deep financial doo-doo?

….

Putin drops strongest hint yet of bid for presidency

By Shaun Walker in Moscow

Thursday, 21 April 2011

In his strongest hint yet that he wants to return to the presidency next year, Prime Minister Vladimir Putin yesterday told Russian MPs that the country needs a “strong and calm” decade to ensure economic growth. He cautioned against “unnecessary liberalism”, in what many will see as a swipe against the current President Dmitry Medvedev.

Both men have refused to rule out standing in presidential elections due next March, and in recent weeks the pair have started to disagree publicly for the first time since Mr Medvedev was shoehorned into the Kremlin by Mr Putin in 2008. Previously, the men have said they will make a decision between themselves about which one will stand. It is unlikely they would stand against each other in an open contest.

Mr Putin, a former KGB agent who is known for his tough talk and macho stunts, used his speech to the Russian parliament yesterday to call for political stability and wheel out Soviet-style rhetoric about unspecified foreign foes.

“In the modern world, if you are weak, there is always someone who will come in and unequivocally recommend which way to go, what policy to conduct, what path to choose,” Mr Putin said. “The nation needs decades of stable and calm development without any sharp movements and ill-conceived experiments based on unjustified liberalism or social demagoguery.”

Mr Medvedev has portrayed himself as more modern, technologically savvy and interested in limited democratic reform, although there has been little real change during his rule.

Mr Putin detailed a long list of past achievements and future promises in his two-hour address, which often sounded like an electoral-campaign pitch. He took credit for steering Russia out of the financial crisis quickly and announced measures to help solve the country’s “demographic crisis”. Russia’s population has been in decline since the fall of the Soviet Union due to low life expectancy and falling birth rates. Mr Putin said over £30bn would be spent on projects to help boost the birth rate by 25-30 per cent from 2006 levels over the next decade, and to increase average life expectancy to 71 years. Current life expectancy for Russian men is about 60 years.

Mr Putin also denied that the government was planning to increase regulation for the internet. Earlier this month, a top official of the FSB security service said services such as Skype and gmail should be banned because they could not be properly monitored, causing a flurry of speculation and criticism in the Russian blogosphere – the last place where discussion is free of government control.

Mr Putin said there were worries about the internet because it is controlled from “over the ocean”, but added that it was impossible to ban it: “My personal opinion is that I don’t think it is possible to limit anything.”

Mr Putin was frequently interrupted by applause from MPs in a parliament that is heavily dominated by his United Russia party, which has said it wants him to stand rather than Mr Medvedev. If Mr Putin returns to office he could be in charge until 2024, as he will be allowed two further presidential terms, the length of which has recently been raised from four to six years.

42. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Crusoe, what are you? A DLP dipsey doodler and obstructionist? Here we are discussing Freundel Silence Stuart, and you come on with this irrelevant verbosity about Putin! Look here man …. wrong place and wrong time.

43. @Truthman Burton,

I said my piece on the PM above. You have said your peice and there is little more to say at this time.

‘Dipsy-doodler’? Insults and name-calling are the first resort of the witless.

If you think that anything about Russia and Putin are irrelevant here and now, even for Barbados, that explains why our politics and economics are in such serious decay.

Russia and Putin are a critical pillar of the medium and lon term global political and economic balance.

That tranlsates to having serious repercussions for us here, particularly with the economic issues that the western economies, including western Europe, are having at this time.

Ireelevant, if you have no clue and cannot see the big picture.

Quite true.

44. @Crusoe

Thanks actually want to write something about what’s happening across the globe economic wise. Will try to do so over the holidays.

45. @Truthman Burton

The Late King snobbishly seemed to think of Kellman as being out of his (the late king’s) political league , and it was obvious that parliamentary cooperation between the two literally ended; the King even allegedly stopped speaking to Kellman!
    Well you really think that Bajans have short memories. Was this the same Kellman who refused to canvass for the DLP when the Party was contesting the by election which was won Cynthia Forde? The same Kellman who in the midst of the campaign flew off to Australia to attend a conference for Parliamentarians? And when he returned rode around with your King aka OSA in the midst of the campaign saying that they were cousins?

And if you think that Thompson did not think much of Kellman what kind of respect did OSA have for Hammie La? I know he thought that he was in his own words “an idiot” and you can take that to the Bank.

Truthman Burton….. as real as a three dollar bill.

46. Did David Thompson canvas for Clyde Mascoll or the same Denis Kellman? During the 2008 campaign, there was lot of talk about if Thompson would go to St Lucy. Because the Dems wanted to win so badly, the dead king went to save face.

During that St Thomas by election, the DLP was falling to pieces and Thompson was not speaking to Kellman. Even in Parliament, they sat a seat apart. So huge and bitter was was the rift that when Thompson brought a motion to Parliament, Kellman refused to second it, Mia had to second it to save the dead king’s face!

The dead king disrespected Kellman all those years when it was only the two of them, so what you expect Kellman to do, he is only human. And just to show how spiteful the dead king was, he refused to give Kellman a ministry in 2008, treated him like a dog, the most senior man in the party but could give people like Maxine McClean, Darcy Boyce and Arnie Walters ministries.

A Dem told me in 2008 when I told him that Thompson treated Kellman badly in not giving him a ministry that when Kellman learns to behave himself, he would get something and that Kellman aint no team player. The Dems, eh, a rare breed of people.

No man, we dont have short memories, we remember the DLP under the dead king! I am happy for Kellman. Let’s hope to gets into reading and delivering his speeches better. He comes over like a 5 or 6 year old now learning to read!

47. @Prodigal Son

Are you and Truthman one and the same? I’ve thought so for some time but now you’ve confirmed it as both of you are always around to buttress each other’s arguments.

Well you know that politics breed strange bedfellows, when did OSA and George “gree back”? Didn’t they stop speaking to each other? Now they are “friends for life”, and Mia is still trying to remove the shiv from her back.

I do agree with the “Dem’, Kellman is not a team player and if we were at war I wouldn’t want him in my foxhole..

48. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Thanks for the article, Crusoe which I probably wouldn’t have seen otherwise. In an age where limits on presidential terms (a la USA) is more becoming the norm, Putin again wants to be a Czar. I wun swear this morning except to wonder if the Russians aren’t ****ed!! 🙂

Dont’ agree with you Truthman. Unfortunately, we can’t create our own discussion threads on this blog but, it doesn’t mean that one thing isn’t linked to another! It’s all about political leadership and who knows if who’s the president of Russia mightn’t have implications for Bim, in some remote way. It almost certainly will have implications for us here in the UK so, it IS, relevant! The leader of the second super-power nation on the planet must have relevance for everybody on Earth so, ‘Well done Crusoe”!

“If you think that anything about Russia and Putin are irrelevant here and now, even for Barbados, that explains why our politics and economics are in such serious decay.

Russia and Putin are a critical pillar of the medium and lon term global political and economic balance.

That tranlsates to having serious repercussions for us here, particularly with the economic issues that the western economies, including western Europe, are having at this time.”

Again, “well said Crusoe”, dese Bajans does mek me wunda at times!! Is it a consequence of living in dat remote quadrant uh de globe, down day?!!!!

49. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

MAN WIV NO NAME
    CRUSOE
    SARGEANT
    DAVID
    Even CARSON CADOGAN

Don’t for one minute think that I am some cocooned dumbhead, as “MAN WIV NO NAME” puts it, “living in dat remote quadrant uh de globe, down day?!!!!”, completely oblivious to the manner in which international occurences can affect our way of life. It would be absurd of a person like me, who is an active BU blogger to come here at that level of unpreparedness in my awareness of geo-political thought.

Don’t think either that I am not interested in Putin. He is similar to many other world leaders, presently in a geriactric condition, possesssing severe kleptomaniac tendencies, and very rapidly loosing their political legitimacy. World leaders like that cannot be taken lightly, especially in Putin’s case, where, because he desparately wants Iran’s oil, he insists on strengthening that rogue state IRAN with the development of its nuclear capabilities. I am monitoring that assistance against Iran’s declared determination to WIPE Israel off the world map.

Of important note as well, MR. CRUSOE, is the fact that we have to keep monitoring the profile of many of these oil producing countries. In addition to my above description of their leaders, the configuration of these countries is dubious at best, what with the constantly increasing public expectations of their quickly growing young populations, and the anomalous distribution of income, despite being oil rich.

My assessment of the discussion regarding PRIME MINISTER SILENCE STUART was that it was essentially a localised issue. Geo-politics would take up a whole new thread, and I have not even yet mentioned the religious component of such a discussion.

David, I would welcome your introduction of the discussion on the board, and I would be ready and willing to participate. In the meantime, as I said earlier, SILENCE Stuart HAS BEEN EFFECTED by the calls for him to come out of slumber, despite his contrary comments that he is NOT affected. JUST LIKE KELLMAN, now seeking political significance with his temporary ministerial position, SILENCE Stuart is gradually reappearing in public, don’t mind he still ain’t saying NUTTIN!!