Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

But what is leadership? It seems to be one of those qualities that you know when you see it, but is difficult to describe. There are almost as many definitions as there are commentators

inFED

Reading some of the comments on Facebook and other media there is a view gaining currency that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart needs to become more visible in the public’s eye. The elevation of Prime Minister Stuart after the death of David Thompson some argue was the obvious choice at the time. He had been acting over several months through a difficult period for the party and country in the shadow of a popular David Thompson. He deserved his chance some believed and that view was obviously supported by his parliamentary colleagues when the time came to select who from among them should lead.  His publicly stated view  that he had an aversion to treachery would have endeared him to the conservative Barbadian.  The fact that the late David Thompson had devolved all authority to Stuart has sparked many hot political discussions.

BU suggests the leadership cupboard is bare on the Democratic Labour Party side of the fence. God forbid Stuart were not able to perform his current role as Prime Minister all kinds of ‘issues’ potentially could come to the fore. Should it be Estwick who has always made it known he is capable? What about the pretender Donville Inniss? Not to forget the anointed one Chris Sinckler. To the interested observer Prime Minister Stuart’s laid back – some would say aloof – style gives an opening for those on the other side to stoke the current discussion about whether he is an effective leader.

Barbadians seem to have an admiration for the charismatic, debonair, ruthless type Prime Minister. Tom Adams, Owen Arthur, Errol Barrow spring to mind. Those not in the same mould like Erskine Sandiford, Bree St. John and now Fruendel Stuart standout by the obvious difference in how their leadership styles are perceived. Acerbating the rising perception about Stuart not seen as a leader is the fact that he does not hold a high profile ministry. There was and still is the opportunity for him to shuffle the chairs on the deck, by doing so he would send a message that this is his cabinet and not one inherited. With the performance of the economy trending upwards the opposition will be pouncing on any weaknesses the government exposes, the leadership issue may well turn out to be one.

The argument by the pragmatist would be to point to the performance of the government credited with leading the country out of a protracted recessionary period caused by external pressures. Then they are those who believe in the power of speech (The King’s Speech) to mobilize a people. It seems ironic that Stuart a man gifted with superior oratory skill would have to bear the brunt of criticism concerning his unwillingness to speak.

Barbadians have been spoiled by a politics which says all roads should lead to the Prime Minister. If there is a labour dispute the Prime Minister should intervene, it does not matter that there is a substantive minister. If there is an opening of a company or the launch of a new product the Prime Minister must do it, and the list is replete with  examples where the Prime Minister is regarded as the one and only. In many respects Barbadiams have conferred the title of  primus inter pares on the person who occupies the role of Prime Minister of Barbados.

We can debate it all we want but at the end of the day a leader has to find a way to get others to follow. Can we say that Barbadians believe Prime Minister Stuart is the one to follow? BU would have been slightly embarrassed to learn that at the last conference of Caricom Heads in Grenada it has been stated by a source that Prime Minister Stuart did not unpick his teeth at the plenary session. Barbadian leaders have always been regarded as leaders who stood tall in the region. The reality we find ourselves where regional leaders are uncharitably taking pot shots at Barbados speaks to something which we once had which has become unravelled.

Prime Minister Stuart is known to be a lover of wisdom, a deep thinker and one schooled in the old ways of doing things, he will have to find a way to quell the rising perception that he is a sitting duck Prime Minister.

160 responses to “If Not Fruendel Stuart, Who?”

1. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

SILENCE Stuart is engaged in an exercise of “Touring” and “Photo Opportunities”.

Those are the only two responsibilities he has added to his portfolio, inherited from the late King, AFTER the late King had trimmed and diminished it to practically NOTHING!

2. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

I am taking another break. Happy Easter to all! See you next week my friends!

3. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Hi Truthman, possibly you’re even more knowledgable than me. I didn’t realise Putin wanted Iran’s oil. I thought that Russia had enough of its own but den i doan worry my head too much bout dese tings. Wha i catch on d news, i catch, n wha i don’t, i don’t – nothing we can do about it anyway! “Welcome back to the limelight Mr Fruendel”!! 🙂

Happy hols!!

4. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Hi “The man wiv no name”

I really meant IRAN’s GAS reserves, not oil. But the point is that I am aware of Putin’s potential for playing a big part in destabilising the world, and he has no unease in helping a terrorist state like Iran, so long as he can get from them what he wants in exchange.

I don’t see how you can welcome back Mr. Stuart to the “limelight”. Pray tell me when, and in what area of his Prime Ministerial tenure has he shone? Is this some kind of light that was dark?

He has been acting Prime Minister now for over a year, when you take into account the late P.M.’s illness stretching back to early 2010, and it does seem that he is STILL acting.

Is he still in his own words “keeping house” for David Thompson? Could it be that that unusually large photo of the DEAD KING, hanging outside the George Street Headquarters, in rather morbid fashion FOR SO LONG, overshadows Stuart and has rendered him moribund?

In another thread by YARDBROOM, there are comments related to his emerging refreshing quiet style, laced with philosophical speeches etc. ……… and I HAVE heard a nice phrase or two, and some latin.

The real truth though is that just as there was a super-human effort to build a false, a non-existent legacy for David Thompson, our so-called “greatest Prime Minister” who was only in office for a few months (hardly had time to sit down in Bay Street), another attempt is now being made to “legacify” Mr. Stuart as Barbados’ greatest philosopher, imbued with great wisdom and patience.

I give him the respect due to each and every Prime Minister, but to me, he doesn’t bring anything unique or special to politics. He is the only Prime Minister I know in Barbados who has ever described another Prime Minister as a rat.

5. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

And if you deem it necessary to “welcome him back to the limelight’ inherrent in that is your admission that he was hiding away in some darkhole, ducking the issues and making no decisions.

6. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

TO “Man Wiv No Name”
    Re: Your snobbish insulting comment as you referred to Barbados, and indeed Barbadians, still living on the tranquil, beautiful and blessed Isle of Barbados: “living in dat remote quadrant uh de globe, down day?!!!!”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    I don’t know who you are. It seems to me though, that you may be a Barbadian by birth, who has now taken up residence in the “big city”, and has now become so enamoured and fascinated with the big city lights and skyscraper buildings, that you consider us Barbadians remaining here to be living behind God’s back in ignorance.

Well, despite whatever circumstance, we feel real good to be here. You stay there up north wherever you are, and God bless you.

7. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Hi Trotman, I agree TOTALLY with your assessment of Putin. I can’t use the words here to describe him which I would love to. Suffice to say that I pray he won’t return to the presidency. We all know he’s power-hungry and desperate to get back but I pray that Medvedev will have the authority to prevent that from happening. Medvedev is bad enough but Putins’s a real disgrace!

LOL, Truth, re: Fruendal, I live in the UK and don’t really know anything about the man. It’s just that people obviously, have been complaining about his silence so I was just being polite on their behalf and welcoming him back. Frankly, I know just about nothing about him, except that he’s your new PM!! ‘Acting’ PM?! lol! So, when’s he gonna be confirmed the actual PM?!!!! I has tuh leave it tuh d Bajees bo!! 🙂

“another attempt is now being made to “legacify” Mr. Stuart as Barbados’ greatest philosopher, imbued with great wisdom and patience.”

All seem a lot uh foolishness to me, T, as we would say! Hope he governs the country well, though!

T, it would be interesting to know which PM he ‘honoured’ with the term, ‘a rat’!! LOL!!

“Re: Your snobbish insulting comment as you referred to Barbados, and indeed Barbadians, still living on the tranquil, beautiful and blessed Isle of Barbados: “living in dat remote quadrant uh de globe, down day?!!!!””

T, ur being too sensitive there, as Bajans tend to b! I’m well aware that you’re probably just as savvy about most things as I am in London! Just my sense of humour! Enjoy your hols, my friend!

8. One would have thought that in the absence of the Governor General who is on his way to the Royal Wedding in London, that the Prime Minister,would have been the one to act in his place. He appears to have been grooming himself for that role, as RHOSA so rightly put it, the Ceremonial Prime Minister.

9. With my white label search engine optimisation providers there are no contracts but the first month is paid
    upfront.

10. He has 25 minute intense sessions, so I was questioning if I may incorporate these into my workout routine (on off
    days).