Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

But what is leadership? It seems to be one of those qualities that you know when you see it, but is difficult to describe. There are almost as many definitions as there are commentators…

inFED

Reading some of the comments on Facebook and other media there is a view gaining currency that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart needs to become more visible in the public’s eye. The elevation of Prime Minister Stuart after the death of David Thompson some argue was the obvious choice at the time. He had been acting over several months through a difficult period for the party and country in the shadow of a popular David Thompson. He deserved his chance some believed and that view was obviously supported by his parliamentary colleagues when the time came to select who from among them should lead.  His publicly stated view  that he had an aversion to treachery would have endeared him to the conservative Barbadian.  The fact that the late David Thompson had devolved all authority to Stuart has sparked many hot political discussions.

BU suggests the leadership cupboard is bare on the Democratic Labour Party side of the fence. God forbid Stuart were not able to perform his current role as Prime Minister all kinds of ‘issues’ potentially could come to the fore. Should it be Estwick who has always made it known he is capable? What about the pretender Donville Inniss? Not to forget the anointed one Chris Sinckler. To the interested observer Prime Minister Stuart’s laid back – some would say aloof – style gives an opening for those on the other side to stoke the current discussion about whether he is an effective leader.

Barbadians seem to have an admiration for the charismatic, debonair, ruthless type Prime Minister. Tom Adams, Owen Arthur, Errol Barrow spring to mind. Those not in the same mould like Erskine Sandiford, Bree St. John and now Fruendel Stuart standout by the obvious difference in how their leadership styles are perceived. Acerbating the rising perception about Stuart not seen as a leader is the fact that he does not hold a high profile ministry. There was and still is the opportunity for him to shuffle the chairs on the deck, by doing so he would send a message that this is his cabinet and not one inherited. With the performance of the economy trending upwards the opposition will be pouncing on any weaknesses the government exposes, the leadership issue may well turn out to be one.

The argument by the pragmatist would be to point to the performance of the government credited with leading the country out of a protracted recessionary period caused by external pressures. Then they are those who believe in the power of speech (The King’s Speech) to mobilize a people. It seems ironic that Stuart a man gifted with superior oratory skill would have to bear the brunt of criticism concerning his unwillingness to speak.

Barbadians have been spoiled by a politics which says all roads should lead to the Prime Minister. If there is a labour dispute the Prime Minister should intervene, it does not matter that there is a substantive minister. If there is an opening of a company or the launch of a new product the Prime Minister must do it, and the list is replete with  examples where the Prime Minister is regarded as the one and only. In many respects Barbadiams have conferred the title of  primus inter pares on the person who occupies the role of Prime Minister of Barbados.

We can debate it all we want but at the end of the day a leader has to find a way to get others to follow. Can we say that Barbadians believe Prime Minister Stuart is the one to follow? BU would have been slightly embarrassed to learn that at the last conference of Caricom Heads in Grenada it has been stated by a source that Prime Minister Stuart did not unpick his teeth at the plenary session. Barbadian leaders have always been regarded as leaders who stood tall in the region. The reality we find ourselves where regional leaders are uncharitably taking pot shots at Barbados speaks to something which we once had which has become unravelled.

Prime Minister Stuart is known to be a lover of wisdom, a deep thinker and one schooled in the old ways of doing things, he will have to find a way to quell the rising perception that he is a sitting duck Prime Minister.

160 responses to “If Not Fruendel Stuart, Who?”

1. @Ping Pong

BU applauds your research capability and wondered why you would not have pull up the blog under given its reference to the marina project. 

Minister Of Finance Chris Sinckler Warned In The Pierhead Halcrow Matter

Attention: The Minister of Finance, Christopher Sinckler

Your Budget presentation and wrap up session was keenly observed by many. When all hope seemed lost you then addressed the Pierhead Marina saga. This was under the guise of HMBS Pelican base at Spring Garden and the faults with that design and construction. You attempted to link the Pierhead Marina designers Halcrow to the minor construction problems with HMBS Pelican although you know that reports on the issue of liability have repeatedly indicated the problems rest squarely with the contractors and developers JADA CONSTRUCTION LIMITED and or abnormal sea conditions.

It was a crude mistake made by an immature politician who already on this ice for having tried his level best to leapfrog Freundel Stuart MP for the post of prime minister, has taken on additional political liability which he himself cannot imagine and the likes of which will severely damage is political ambitions including the position of Minister of Finance. Mr. Sinckler has shown his hand the result being he will have a brand seared into his palm for all to see.

This is a man that certain special interest factions sought to have elevated to Prime Minister, its a good thing his fellow MPs realized the problem that would create and back raised him when the vote was called on the morning of David Thompson’s death.

Having defamed the reputation of a company whose annual revenue is nearly that of the total annual budget of Barbados, the Minister of Finance can look forward to lawsuit for defamation from the same company. The privilege of parliament will not protect him, remember Don Blackman and COW Williams? The Privy Council ruled against parliamentary privilege, sure Mr. Sinckler is aware of this.

Halcrow delivers planning, design and management services for developing infrastructure and buildings worldwide. They contribute to the construction, operation and maintenance of the built environment, and the protection, enhancement and maintenance of the natural environment and operate in almost every country in the world. Halcrow has been working for the Government of Barbados for over 30 years.

Halcrow are the designers for the HMBS Pelican. The Government of Barbados has paid all of Halcrows invoices and have not attempted to call in the cash bond held by the GOB nor have they attempted to bring a case against Halcrow for breach of a duty of care owed by Halcrow to the Government of Barbados.

You see, the issue of the so-called problems with Halcrow at the HMBS Pelican are just that so-called problems, no proof whatsover yet the Minister of Finance would have us believe that the GOB Barbados would have to look for bajan 20M to fix the problems there. The Leader of the Opposition has the files which includes the estimates to fix the problems created at HMBS Pelican by JADA CONSTRUCTION LIMITED, they don’t exceed bajan 1.0 M.

Where the Minister of Finance is going with this is to the Pierhead Marina project, which co-incidentally is also designed by Halcrow. That project has been the subject of much debate primarily lead by the Leader of the Opposition and which centered out the DLP contention that bajan 48 M needs to be spent to redesign the Pierhead Marina notwithstanding that GOB Barbados had paid bajan 15 M for Halcrow to design that project. All of the Halcrow designs are conpleted, tested and all that remains is for the GOB thru the BTI to build the Marina.

The allusion of having to redesign the Pierhead Marina has its origins in the fact that when the BTI tendered the project in 2007, the tender of VECO/SMI/Glyne Bannister was twice the price of the lowest tender. Remember Glyne Bannister and VECO are of the Dodds Prison fame, Darcy Boyce was the CEO of BTI at the time the Pierhead Marina was tendered and Darcy Boyce was also on the tender evaluation commitee of the DODDS Prison, remember the Nation newspaper article? Darcy Boyce and Glyne Bannister are close friends and partners in business.

This nastiness at the Pierhead Marina, the attempt to waste 48 M has already cost Sen Darcy Boyce his position. In the last cabinet reshuffle before his death David Thompson removed BTI from his responsibility. Unfortunately the Minister of Finance appears to have taken up where Darcy Boyce left off and is almost certain that he will be demoted also.

What neither Darcy Boyce or Christopher Sinckler know is that former Prime Minister David Thompson had a peer review done on the design at the Pierhead Marina, ask the former chairman, he has a copy.

2. I have often found Barbadians preoccupation with flamboyance and arrogance a difficult pill to swallow given the nature of our conservative way of doing most things. This debate on the silence of Steward brings into focus that same confusion over talking, action, doing and leadership. The leader on this blog cited earlier leaders pointing out the popular ones and the not too popular ones and while the lottta talk was central to the adams, arthur and barrow images their service at the top was for well over 15 years. All three of them had touches of arrogance bordering on conceit for the people who throughout their (leaders) lifetimes worshipped them. With bree, sandi and now stuarte the word contempt never came into mind Thompson was rather special and suffered more than any other leader and it was unbelievable the response that followed his death after the wollowing he got as leader of opposition. BUt he was a;ways close to the ground and built his connections very early with a clear view of where he was going.
    Stuarte must not allow the barrage of calls for him to speak to force him to be reactive. The major concern has been the econmy and Chris Sinckler has been doing a good job. Another challenge has been housing and Lashley has been doing a good job there as well. labour legislation has been made ready for debate under Suckoo, Youth policy being discussed under Steven Lashley and Estwick has started to make positive in roads into the agriculture challenge. Sealy has a grip on tourism and Mclean is capable wherever she goes.The man Donville innioss has clearly taken charge of health and has not allowed the distractions to interfere with his policy initiatives. All in all the ministers have been performing and taking responsibility for their portfolios. What they do not need is a Prime Minister who is insecure and wanting to stamp an image taking credit for whatever is happening. I am aware that you will make whatever adjustments are necessary when you feel you have to. In the meantime let this young team build their confidence and keep the wheel on course. Speaking is for the gaallery, talking is for the rum shop action is for the country and all hands are on deck. Let them tralk if they want to.

3. I listened to the entire program of Brass tacks Sunday and must say that the educational system keep putting out bright young men and women.
    Chris Sinckler has shown in that program that he has a command of the financial matters in the Ministry of Finance.
    If all of us put our hands to the plough we will get out of this crisis a stronger people.
    My only call is for this government to introduce integrity legislation and freedom of information legislation that they promised before the BLP gets back in power.
    If they do not then I would believe that they also want to be involved in these corruption acts as can be achieved through these bolt projects.

4. David

After a bit of checking, I note that around November, 2009 cabinet revoked Lagan Construction’s preferred bidder status. The then Minister of Finance was …David Thompson! Thompson was in apparent good health (he did not start complaining of stomach pains until March, 2010) and he must have approved this decision of cabinet. I do not know when SMI was awarded the marina contract so it is possible that Stuart may have been saddled with this decision and I may be unfairly apportioning too much responsibility to him for the mess. However he (as well as Sinckler and Boyce) was a member of cabinet and so must take collective responsibility for the decision. Now that we can see that the “fingerprints” of Thompson all over this project as well as Clico, would this explain Stuart’s coyness in speaking out publicly as he quietly tries to undo the damage without tarnishing the much vaunted “legacy” of his predecessor? Would the role of Minister Boyce be the reason for Minister Estwick’s reputed antipathy towards him (Boyce).

5. Another thing, the silence of the opposition BLP is deafening. I am told that one who seeks to come into equity must come with clean hands.

6. @Ping Pong

You should note, if you are not already aware, Minister Boyce was the CEO at the BTII when it awarded VECO the tender to do work in the Bridgetown Redevelopment project, possibly the very marina was involved. Soon after all hell broke lose in Arkansas and the process was revoked. Oh for freedom of information legislation!

Will PM Stuart be able to roll this out before next election?

7. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Anonymous, i was only kidding man. for god’s sake, have a laugh! relax!! 🙂

8. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

I must say he looks an utter bore. Still, I guess that doesn’t matter as long as he can do his job properly!

9. Before the last election when the BLP was in Government, a charge was made by many, that the DLP team lacked experience, and were not capable of governing Barbados. I suggested then, people gain experience in office and regardless of how clever they become later, there must be a time when you have your first portfolio.

If one considers a Government loosing a relatively young Prime Minister in office; the state of the world economy and the major issues this government inherited, they have done, and are doing a good job.

Mistakes have been made it is true, and some promises have not been fulfilled, which is most regrettably but a Government must be judged on its full term in office. This allows ideas to take root after “selected” seeds have been sown.

Considering the above, I challenge anyone of a fair mind, to say the DLP have not done a reasonable job; not perfect it is true, but few administrations are without fault.

10. Islandgal246 wrote, “Why waste precious money on crap like this when we need a new hospital, proper roads, proper drainage, new garbage disposal centres, new buses, new agriculture facilities, like processing houses, new alternative fuel for the island.”

Girl you mekkin sport. Dah is tummuch work. 1 big contrac, 1 big commission. Uh wunda who gine buy a yacht or plane outta de peerhead!

11. @ Tina Roach ———-One question I ask of you . Do you think that Dr. Byer-Suckoo has come close to the exposure ,tv and radio time included, of that monumental failure Noel Barney Lynch?

12. @islandgirl
    As a business person.you should be aware you have to spend money to make money. A country that depends on toursim must explore and invest in buisness that would attract tourist to its countrybeing mediocre is not enough. It is a good investmnt and it is one that would eventually pay for itself.

13. @man wiv no name . Even when he was locked up his influence was still continual and influential in helping the people continue to fight for their freedom as his words anddeeds remained as a catalyst for the people . A good leader is one who is not only internally sound but also externally as wel.l not forgettin it is not what we do but how we are preceived as doing it .

14. THE DLP DAYS IN OFFICE ARE NUMBERED

Here are the facts:
    * Sen. Darcy Boyce was CEO of BTI and a member of the Technical Evaluation Committee, it appears the purpose of that committee was to get a verdict that the Government design of the marina (by Halcrow) was flawed.
    * The BTI and or the GOB paid over $12 million on the design by Halcrow.

Comment removed and will be updated to a separate blog shortly

15. Yardbroom’s loyalty is admirable . He asks for the Gov’t of the day to be given a chance. This marina idea is one “plant” that I am not sure I want to take root. The DLP and the Governor of the Central Bank strongly deprecated not only the BOLT idea but the individuals associated with the Dodds prison. They then turn around and enter into a BOLT contract with the same persons that they excoriated and Yardbroom says give them a chance (at a reputed price of an EXTRA $48 million). What next – wait for the Gov’t to hire 3S to build flyovers?!!

“The Democratic Labour Party has selected a team of clean, caring, competent and committed politicians who have signed on to a code of conduct that promises Good Governance. ….. Good Governance assures that corruption is minimized, the views of the people are taken into account…” – Pg 46 “Pathways to progress – Manifesto of the Democratic Labour Party 2008.”

I am not asking for perfection or even a solution to every problem. All I ask is that the DLP show some consistency and integrity and live up to its own stated claims of providing Good Governance which has its characteristics (according to the DLP) transparency in all its decision making, responsiveness to the needs of voters, effective and efficient administration and following the rule of law.

16. Hi Ping Pong
    If it was not you, I would have said you are being dishonest when you state: “Yardbroom’s loyalty is admirable. He asks for the Gov’t of the day to be given a chance. This marina idea is one “plant” that I am not sure I want to take root.”

I made no mention of the marina project, my remarks were about the Government’s general discharge of their affairs to date. It is true the Government is engaged in this marina project….but my remarks were not “specific” to it.

If I am allowed to burst that bubble of “loyalty” in which you have enveloped me…..I too believe something will have to be done about Integrity Legislation before the next election.

17. “A country that depends on toursim must explore and invest in buisness that would attract tourist to its countrybeing mediocre is not enough. It is a good investmnt and it is one that would eventually pay for itself.”

Fools go where angels fear to tread!

18. @AC

what a load of crap you have stated! We can’t even fill out hotel rooms where de ass we are going to get these Billionaires? From yuh pooch?

19. BT

If a dog could speak English and I caught it chasing its tail, as they often do, I too would say to it “Sir, you are on the right track …!!”

20. @ Tina Roach ———-One question I ask of you . Do you think that Dr. Byer-Suckoo has come close to the exposure ,tv and radio time included, of that monumental failure Noel Barney Lynch?
    ——–*******************>>>>…
    ANSWER : NO
    I DONT THINK SHE HAS COME CLOSE————————

i think she has surpassed Noel Lynch by leaps and bounds – hair plaits and all

You ran into that Hamilton Hill(not your real name)
    you asked for it LOL !

21. Everthing is politics some of us aresuch political animals we can’t see the forest for the trees. IF the BLP isn’t doing it it is not right. When the BLP built the dodds that was a problem. No matter what party is in power the political yard fowls would keep crowing “IT ain’t going to work Wuna makeme laugh ou Lould! Why wuna don’t make wunna self avilable in the political arena and stop crowing fom top of de pailing…….STeupse……………

22. When Port Charles was built, were we not told that it was to draw the rich and famous to our shores after the loss of the ARC to St Lucia?

Was a study done to see if this is a worthwhile venture? How much revenue will this marina bring in? Is Port St Charles profitable? Seeing most ships/vessels approach Barbados from the northern tip, will this marina be necessary? Is this only to put money in certain people’s pockets at the taxpayers expense?

Why is government getting into building such an expensive marina at this stage when they say they cannot afford a new hospital which is really needed? A prison was absolutely needed and it was criticised to the hilt by this same government edged on by this same Sinckler and the dead king. This dead king has a lot to answer for.

One really has to concur that given the outcry over the BOLT arrangement by this DLP when in opposition and then in government supported by ET the CBB governor, something is really smelling FISHY for them to be using the same very persons and BOLT agreement in 2011.

Something is not smelling right. Something is wrong. You cannot criticise the former administration just a short while ago and come back and do the same thing. NO, if it was not right under the BLP, it cannot be right under the DLP.

No wonder people have lost faith in politicians! Bold faced liars and deceivers are the Dems. They only knew how to tell lies and spread inunendo to win an election.

Let FUMBLE keep silent. The electorate will speak though, when they are ready!

23. @Prodigal Son

The response from government probably is that the marina is supported by a businesscase which s projected to generate revenue and diversify the tourist product.

Additionally in a recession especially in a public sector led economy the government is obligated to generate economic activity.

The building of a hospital, roads etc is good infrastructural development but does not generate revenue i.e. build capacity.

What we need are transformational strategies.

24. Are we not over extending ourselves? We have a number of large payment commitments to make and now we’re starting another. The prisons, ABC Highway, the penalty payments to 4S, the penalty payments to Al Barrack, these amount to millions and millions of dollars. Back in the 70’s, I heard Mr Barrow say that the borrowing of money for Barbados’ improvements will have to be repaid by our children’s children, I wonder who will be paying back these loans now , maybe our great great great grand children.
    There was much talk about the BOLT loan for the prisons, which was necessary at the time, now we’re having another BOLT loan from the party who was so critical about the other parties loan. This time this burden is to entertain the rich and famous while our hospital is in dire need of renovations or replacement. This DLP administration got me scared, the problem is if/when our fiscal slide starts, we’re going to hit hard, we can be worse off than Guyana.

25. @The Scout et al

What some of you don’t get is that there must be continuous loan rescheduling and or taking on of loans to meet current debt obligations.

It is a harpy repayment cycle which successive governments have been very comfortable.

26. All these objectors to the marina are small minded and does not understand the Barbadians alone cannot support the country we need much foreign investment . That ishow our schools and infracture is built on FOREIGN INVESTMENT. A bunch of as..hole can’t comprehend basic maths just getting these people to our shores is a step in the right direction.

27. As far as I’m concerned P.M Stuart believes he is still Acting Prime Minister. I remember when the late P.M was ill, he gave the FULL reins to Stuart, and he did little or nothing because he was only holding on for David until he returns, either Stuart knows something we don’t of he’s just not able to lead this country. Many years ago in St Lucia there was a similar problem where Louisy and Odlum were fighting for pwer in the same party and the citizens were suffering, cost of living drastically increased, the people of St Lucia stopped work, brought the country to a stand still until the matter was quickly resolved. The results are that now St. Lucia has come from a fairly depressed country with many people still using coals to cook with, to a country that is rivalling Barbados

28. The present Prime Minister has sealed his fate, and by extension that of the DLP ,when he uttered statements about (a) not being in politics to make friends and (b) that ClICO did not hold a gun to any of its policyholders head.

29. @David who wrote,”What we need are transformational strategies.”

Fact.
    People who visit Barbados and park their yachts in a Marina will take a taxi to various places on the Island.

The expect an “infrastructure” that will make their visit enjoyable and safe.

Good roads,clean beaches, nice restaurants and a very good modern hospital should they have an accident or fall ill.

Billionaires have the internet and will likely read about the destinations they intend to visit.

30. @Hants

Correct but you left out the part of weighting the projects/priorities based on case of need.

31. ac
    The tourist industry is the most fickle industry any government can rely on. It only takes some little disturbance within the region and tourists will stop coming, be it a hurricane to hit Barbados, some virus, earthquake or even an international disturbance. Will we be able to replace these many tourists attractions with food to feed the nation? Relying on tourists to sustain us is like relying on winning the Super Lotto or even the Mega 6 to sustain our families.
    Politicians whether B or D are gambling out Barbados and by extention bajans, Mr Barrow once said one day we will wake up and realise that we no longer own Barbados, that day is coming ssoon

32. There is still a lot of projects here waiting for foreign investors to come buy, empty condos for sale with no buyers, another Marina IN THE NORTH being built with MORE CONDOS for the high end market, Apes hill project, Four seasons, the abandoned Black Bess project looking for a buyer and wunna want me to name some more. Bare shite to build another marina. WE NEED A HOSPITAL, PROPER DRAINAGE, ROADS, PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION, SEA FERRY SERVICE, ALTERNATIVE ENERGY, PROPER GARBAGE DISPOSAL AND A STRONG AGRICULTURE INFRASTRUCTURE.

Thanks to Mia we have a prison large enough to hold dem tiefs if they ever bring integrity legislation. Al Barrack can’t get his money but money gine go to pay the people dat suing de government. The DLP have their Priorities all wrong.

LISTEN, LISTEN, WUNNA GOT TO DO TINGS BETTER THAN THROW WAY MONEY.

33. @David,
    You need to make Barbados a good place to visit.
    Decent roads,clean beaches and a good modern hospital.

A Marina is a great idea but the infrastructure is more important.

Visitors have an expectation of a pleasant safe holiday and that includes a modern hospital should they become ill.

34. @Hants

Don’t know if you got the point. The marina probably has investors and or it is expected to generate foreign dollars to pay its loan commitment.

In the case of local infrastructure i.e hospitals etc the government will have to generate domestic debt which it currently is not able to do given its debt ratio.

If it turns to capital market to finance (local) infrastructure it has to generate US dollars to repay, not good given that the hospital hardly generates revenue and when it does it is mainly in local dollars.

We are talking different funding arrangements, different priorities.

We can’t lump all together. In other words the FDI to build the marina may not be available to build the hospital at this time.

35. Stuart must not allow the barrage of calls for him to speak to force him to be reactive. The major concern has been the economy and Chris Sinckler has been doing a good job.

Donald White you made that submission along with the praising of other ministers doing a wonderful job according to the situation. However, I must remind you that the “finger sex” issue with the Jamaican is an Immigration issue and a National Security issue. So Donald tell us who is the person heading those ministries? Think my friend.

36. David
    If that is your argument, then the DLP was playing on the ignorance of bajans in raising a stink about the BOLT loan to build Dodds, when they themselves are doing the same thing. Tell me which project was more vital, Dodds or a New marina. Incedentally, this would be the third mirina in Barbados. This one is a Government project and I hear no provisions being made for POOR fishermen to “harbour” their vessels in case of a hrricane or even just bad weather, maybe these are below the vision of the aloof modern day politicians

37. AC
    It is not the building of the marina per se that is the problem for me. It is who is being given the contract and the project financing arrangement that should be scrutinized especially given that both the person awarded the contract and the financing method (i.e.BOLT) were so severely criticised by this administration. Construction hasn’t even started and lawsuits are being threatened and members of the board of the executing agency have resigned. Barbados does need to make investments in our tourism infrastructure but we cannot afford to waste money due to either poor project management and/or corruption. I would hate to see the Pierhead and surrounding area put in state like the Four Seasons project, or the Conference Center with the Recital Hall or even the St. John polyclinic, or the St.Joseph Hospital, or the Greenland Landfill all still to be completed years after the initial projected completion date.

38. I read Mr Sincklar in today’s Sunday Sun saying the government ministers are feeling the pinch too. It is a good thing because not only the cabinet but many of the top brass in the party are now sporting TOP of the LINE Executive vehicles like Jags, Merc’s and BMW’s, I wonder what they would have been driving if things were going great.

39. OK David you win. Build the Marina and hopefully it will generate enough revenue to help build or repair the Hospital and fix the potholes in the roads.

40. For those who believe that there are still so many billionaires out there just waiting to tie up their yachts at the Bridgetown Mariana had better wise up.

Where are these billionaires, certainly not in the US as it seems that the recession has hit the rich Americans very hard.

Or maybe, oh, just maybe, are they going to come from China? That reminds me this was the justification for sending Sandi up there to live high off the taxpayers… that’s right, the dead king and Maxine said that there are a lot of rich Chinese who wanted to come here. (I would laugh loud but this is not funny)

I think this government does not know what it is doing and is just throwing up things hoping for the best as evidenced by going into this deal with the very man connected with the much maligned Todds’ prison and using a BOLT arrangement. This smells to low hell.

41. David
    We heard the same thing about 4 Seasons. Barbados is borrowing themselves into a serious hole and it is the poor bajans who will suffer. Unlike other regionalists rushing to live here when the going was good, bajans will not be welcomed in any other region’s country because simplt, they were praying for the day Barbados falls.

42. @Hants

Not about winning anything. Just making the point that strategic development must be pinned to national priories.

Barbados is a model which ravenously consumes foreign exchange.

Projects that will generate foreign exchange will always be priotized.

43. With all these marinas pending, do we have the manpower to secure Barbados from the drug lords? Look out Barbados the next thing you will hear is the introdution of Casinos; this is where the Late The Rt Exec. Errol Walton Barrow will reassemble himself and put an end to the foolishness that happening around here.

44. Scout,

I know of one party faithful who got a job in government after being unemployed for a while and when he got the pick, he went straight to Simpson’s Motors and got a double cab truck costing well over BDS$100,000.00 and he does very little traveling. He said he always wanted one but not afford one!

They feel our pain, like hell they are!

45. If the economy keeps trending in the right direction and the government over the next 12 months can reduce the deficit, the government will have alot to shout about going into the next general election.

Unfortunately issues like foreign policy and legislation waiting to be enacted may detract from what many thought would have been the big issue.

46. David
    let’s face it, in 12 months there will have to be a drastic turn around in public easing of the cost of living for this country to have any confidence in the DLP. right now, instead of improving things are getting worse and bajans can’t take much more. Just now massive layoffs will start, just one company has to start and there will be a domino effect. Already companys are scaling down and this will escalate, bajans will remember what happened in the Sandiford regime and this will sink the DLP.

47. Reading Albert Brandford’s column today sent chills up my spine.

Using up NIS funds is how this government is surviving.

Can you imagine that the Central Bank denied the NIS from investing the money from the sale of its BL&P shares overseas where it could accumulate more foreign exchange? And that this government is using up TWO BILLION DOLLARS of NIS funds. They used NIS funds to on loan to the Credit Union to buy CMFC….helping out CLICO all the time for Leroy Parris to get his hands on it.

Albert Brandford’s column, recommended reading!

48. @Prodigal Son

Borrowing NIS funds is a government pastime, now and in the past.

49. David the economy is not likely to improve unless there oil and food prices in the rest of the world stop rising.

People were fuming at the pumps as gas prices hit a three-year high in the GTA.
    Motorists were paying as much as $1.38 for a litre of regular gas.

I paid $1.52 for 94octane and two weeks ago it was $1.39.

Rising food prices are becoming a concern for many consumers in the Greater Toronto Area.
    Higher transportation costs and rising commodity prices are being blamed.”

Barbados in deep doo doo.

50. @ David
    The economy went so far south, that though it appears on its way back up it aint even reach the equator yet. It will require more than ‘trending north’.