Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

But what is leadership? It seems to be one of those qualities that you know when you see it, but is difficult to describe. There are almost as many definitions as there are commentators

inFED

Reading some of the comments on Facebook and other media there is a view gaining currency that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart needs to become more visible in the public’s eye. The elevation of Prime Minister Stuart after the death of David Thompson some argue was the obvious choice at the time. He had been acting over several months through a difficult period for the party and country in the shadow of a popular David Thompson. He deserved his chance some believed and that view was obviously supported by his parliamentary colleagues when the time came to select who from among them should lead.  His publicly stated view  that he had an aversion to treachery would have endeared him to the conservative Barbadian.  The fact that the late David Thompson had devolved all authority to Stuart has sparked many hot political discussions.

BU suggests the leadership cupboard is bare on the Democratic Labour Party side of the fence. God forbid Stuart were not able to perform his current role as Prime Minister all kinds of ‘issues’ potentially could come to the fore. Should it be Estwick who has always made it known he is capable? What about the pretender Donville Inniss? Not to forget the anointed one Chris Sinckler. To the interested observer Prime Minister Stuart’s laid back – some would say aloof – style gives an opening for those on the other side to stoke the current discussion about whether he is an effective leader.

Barbadians seem to have an admiration for the charismatic, debonair, ruthless type Prime Minister. Tom Adams, Owen Arthur, Errol Barrow spring to mind. Those not in the same mould like Erskine Sandiford, Bree St. John and now Fruendel Stuart standout by the obvious difference in how their leadership styles are perceived. Acerbating the rising perception about Stuart not seen as a leader is the fact that he does not hold a high profile ministry. There was and still is the opportunity for him to shuffle the chairs on the deck, by doing so he would send a message that this is his cabinet and not one inherited. With the performance of the economy trending upwards the opposition will be pouncing on any weaknesses the government exposes, the leadership issue may well turn out to be one.

The argument by the pragmatist would be to point to the performance of the government credited with leading the country out of a protracted recessionary period caused by external pressures. Then they are those who believe in the power of speech (The King’s Speech) to mobilize a people. It seems ironic that Stuart a man gifted with superior oratory skill would have to bear the brunt of criticism concerning his unwillingness to speak.

Barbadians have been spoiled by a politics which says all roads should lead to the Prime Minister. If there is a labour dispute the Prime Minister should intervene, it does not matter that there is a substantive minister. If there is an opening of a company or the launch of a new product the Prime Minister must do it, and the list is replete with  examples where the Prime Minister is regarded as the one and only. In many respects Barbadiams have conferred the title of  primus inter pares on the person who occupies the role of Prime Minister of Barbados.

We can debate it all we want but at the end of the day a leader has to find a way to get others to follow. Can we say that Barbadians believe Prime Minister Stuart is the one to follow? BU would have been slightly embarrassed to learn that at the last conference of Caricom Heads in Grenada it has been stated by a source that Prime Minister Stuart did not unpick his teeth at the plenary session. Barbadian leaders have always been regarded as leaders who stood tall in the region. The reality we find ourselves where regional leaders are uncharitably taking pot shots at Barbados speaks to something which we once had which has become unravelled.

Prime Minister Stuart is known to be a lover of wisdom, a deep thinker and one schooled in the old ways of doing things, he will have to find a way to quell the rising perception that he is a sitting duck Prime Minister.

160 responses to “If Not Fruendel Stuart, Who?”

1. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

David, i think u loikes to provoke me! tuh put it succinctly, i doan c nuh leadership pun dis board eida, n den u have d nerve to go criticising d good man! lord! David, mek me laugh some more do!!

2. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

pot/kettle Dave, pot/kettle! I’m sure ur blue-eye-boy will explain to u what dat mene, if yuh doan know aready, which im sure u do!! LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!

3. What will they think of next Avatar
    What will they think of next

By miles a far better man that the DrunkardOwen and Con Artist Owen and Crook Owen and Womaniser Owen and The Fraudster Owen and don’t lets talk about Mottley.

4. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Dave, how do u like following a leader who’s only got one eye – a blue one! in udda words, who’s half-bline!! LOL! Dave, yuh wun get nuh way dat way!!

5. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

‘WWTHON’, lol! i hope he in too black fuh Dave!! LOL!!

6. @David

“Barbadian leaders have always been regarded as leaders who stood tall in the region.”

Obviously by Barbadians, victims of an extremely biased local Press. Chances are if you went to Jamaica you would have a similar sentiment expressed of Jamaican leaders; the same too in Antigua, Dominica, Trinidad, Tobago and so on …!

7. Fruendel Stuart cannot lead me. Nor can Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley nor Chris Sinkler; nor for that matter John Holder nor Holmes Williams nor Apostle Dr. Lucile Beard nor Peter Laurie nor Charles Othneil Williams nor Adrian Elcock, Sue Springer nor Roy Trotman, Dennis Clarke, Yvonne Walkes, Vic Fernandes, Vivian-Anne Gittens , Andy Armstrong nor Branford Taitt, Darwin Dottin ….

8. Is Freundel fit enough to lead?
    His diabetes, I fear, is a problem….rumour has it that he has had three toes amputated already. Hard to prove though unless he takes off his shoe.
    We have already lost one Prime Minister already perhaps one of the young bucks like Sinckler should take up the mantle.

9. I notice in today’s Sunday Sun that there is a possible lawsuit over the award of the Bridgetown Marina project to SMI Infrasrtucture Solutions Inc. I find it curious that the although the principals of SMI are Barbadians and reside here, SMI is registered in St. Lucia. Also one of the principals is a Glyne Bannister. Isn’t this the same Glyne Bannister who was one of the principals behind the much maligned Dodds Prison project? I also notice that the Marina project is to be built under the same arrangements as obtained in the Dodds and the flyover projects i.e. a BOLT arrangement !

Isn’t it amazing that the DLP and their apologists can be screaming “blue murder” about corruption etc and in particular about the role of Bannister in the Prison project and the flyover project under the BLP and now hand the same guy another multi million dollar project and under the same arrangements!

“You are very right Zulu they have promised heaven and earth and delivered nothing other than mega stealing take one look at the jail contract awarded to a company Bannister and Nicholls brought to Owing and he has awarded them the contact for the storage facility the Jail and I am investigating it now but there maybe a link with them and Owing with the Flyovers as well and talk about corruption.” – posted by Wishing in Vain in http://bajan.wordpress.com/2007/04/29/barbados-becoming-a-society-of-fat-cats-and-soft-corruption/

“BOLTs are the con man’s dream come true. the only losers are the public and the big institutions – something like the fancy titled SCAM that has devastated the housing sector in the USA and mortgage and banking institutions across the world.” posted Bush Tea in http://bajan.wordpress.com/2007/05/31/veco-and-the-barbados-connectionbarbados-free-press-is-on-your-scent/

10. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

‘Anonymous’, that’s a huge obstacle to his being Prime minister! Does he think with his toes, or only writes with dem! A, listen, if u gun come hay den come wid someting sensible! i in in d mood fuh it dis mahning!!

11. Originally, Stuart’s appointment was the most logical. An interim PM after the sudden demise of the former, had to be the seeming most stable and rationally clear individual in the team. Further, it was necessary to develop the youngsters in the team over time, to take the mantle.

However, interim PM’s also have a rather unfortunate record. When a crisis hits, or even significant issues, it remains the responsibility of the PM, even if interim, to take the mantle and assume leadership.

What the article is referring to, is the unfortunate and seeming lack of action on significant issues, including but not limited to Clico, agriculture and food security, which has merely received lip service (the head of the World Bank has just issued a dire warning re food prices and security, as we all knew, just yet another official source), transparency and integrity legislation (which again will come under scrutiny with the resignation of the Pierhead Marina project issue) and a needed framework for project management and accountability (as with the former issue, now under scrutiny for the Pierhead Marina).

The Pierhead Marina will now serve as the DLP’s ‘Kensington or Dodds’ and it is inconceivable that this administration would have made such a significant blunder after experiences in the recent past.

Learning is not only about experiencing, but about learning from mistakes and one who cannot learn from mistakes is destined for severe problems and not a group who should lead.

Desperation in getting the economy kick-started could very well have driven this decision, but with the resignation of the Board, apparently due to significant disagreement with the status quo, can only lead to people questioning the ability of theis administration to lead.

The result of all of these issues, is that the current administration will be seen to be incompetent and the main person responsible i.e. the PM, will certainly be seen as not able to direct appropriately.

It is significant that the late PM Thompson campaigned a platform that included integrity legislation and also project management issues, yet now neither status quo have changed, either under his direct adminstration, or under the legacy administration.

This is critical to understanding that the next eleciton will certainly be very close.

I previously thought that it would be nigh impossible for this administration, being the incumbent team, to lose the 2013 election.

Shockingly, the pile up of errors and blatant blunders indicate that the 2013 election could see the re-entry of the Arthut administraiton to leadership.

I hold no brief for either party and indeed wished the Thompson and current administration well.

But, as a sorely disappointed citizen I will speak my views and anyone who takes such as less than given in the best of intentions, is mis-directed, mis-informed and mis-calculating.

In closing, up to now I gave kudos for the fiscal measures to bring the economy and deficit into check. Unfortunately, this latest fiasco is leaving me wondering about that too.

Whatever happens, I hope that one or the other administration finally gets some sense of balance, accountability and idea of the really relevant issues, including food security and bringing our economy back to a local focus.

12. On another issue, I am hearing from some that certain ‘generic’ drugs recently replacing the former dug service issue are not working as well, resulting in medical issues.

Are these isolated cases or is this going to be a problem?

Cheap is not always best.

13. On partially humorous note, supposing we get a split vote and something like:

15-15, who is the speaker? Can we have a co-alition Government?

Lol.

Arther PM, Freundel Deputy, Mia AG, Mascoll Finance, Sinckler Deputy Finance.

That would be entertaining to some degree…..

14. @William Skinner

It does not matter whether Stuart believes that he is in control, it is the public perception that will matter on E-day.

Regarding Sandiford and the Arthur appointment didn’t his decision betray is lack of leadership in that matter?

15. @ Crusoe

“Shockingly, the pile up of errors and blatant blunders …”

Do you honestly think these guys do not know what they are doing? Sorry, No Errors, No Blunders just doing what the current system allows for and hoping to get to hell away with it…!

16. Somebody has to lead the country so Mottley ???? Oh yeah!In time!

17. Sandra Husbands (“Barbados’ future is in Services …”) is canvassing to run against Donville Inniss (Liz Thompson having had her fill). 

18. 🙁 🙁 🙁

19. @Raymond

This blog focuses on the question of leadership in the DLP.

@BAFBFP

The economic model is broken but where is the leadership to fix it? One should assume if Husbands is advocating that services is the life line then Arthur is on board.

20. What is an “effective” leader, is he/she one that is always before the media, is he one that constantly addresses the nation on every issue, is he one that dabbles publicly in every ministry and thus undermines the authority of the appointed minister? is he one that plays to the gallery berating others or cussing those who are not in a position to defend themselves. I say no!

He is one who can be trusted to do the right thing on behalf of the country he leads. He is one who listens before he acts, he is one who does not strike fear in the people he leads.

If we think of effective leadership as being able to accomplish a purpose, and that purpose is to have a prosperous, stable Barbados, giving opportunities to those who are poor and not able to protect themselves in this harsh economic environment. Has our leader failed the test of effective leadership?

Perhaps and it is perhaps, we have become accustomed to a type of “rum shop” leadership, in which loud voices are revered, whilst saying different things to all men, when it is expedient to do so.

I make no claim as to know if Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is effective or not, but I do know when discord laps around our feet and there is a dysfunctional administration that is not effective leadership. Maybe we are thinking of “style” but style does not always undermine substance.

21. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

It does not matter whether Stuart believes that he is in control, it is the public perception that will matter on E-day.

Well said Dave, there’s probably a great deal of truth in that statement!

22. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

We’ve got the same problem here with some guy named Clegg, over something else altogether!

23. Sometime ago in a rather simplistic analysis Peter Wickham outlined why Stuart should not reshuffle his (Thompson) cabinet. In the corporate world it is par for the course that when the new CEO takes charge he invariably will appoint his or her own people in key positions.

Want to guess why?

24. “He is one who listens before he acts, he is one who does not strike fear in the people he leads.”

You cut and paste this opinion? Clearly you have not defined good leadership within the context of the Barbadian government/public sector structure or from a historic perspective as David did in his article.

25. Can anyone tell me what is the point of the marina?? As i cannot see any benefits to this country at all; more of a loss actually to tax payers twice, in wasted money and declining tourism as more concrete and stress impacts the tourists’ “relaxing vacations” here. But don’t take my word for it, ask them yourselves and see how they feel about the traffic we complain about as well as the loss of “natural environment’ to concrete and asphalt.
    Politicians and their avid followers really need to have a rethink about the projects they undertake and give permission for. What will this marina bring to Barbados that the one in St. Peter has not already, and it’s new neighbour to be soon completed doesn’t. By the way have you noticed that their have not been that many ships to speak of anyway.
    Start considering other sectors of development and promotion, some sectors are extremely overwhelmed. Wonder if two $200 million hospitals could have been a better investment of that $505 million associated with this marina. With the benefits of health care getting a needed upgrade, distributed service and potential medical tourism to international and regional clientele.
    Just my Young Bajan thoughts.

26. The marina would attract those wealthy billionaires who owns yachts and pleasure boats and prefer to use them for travel. THis is a good idea and would indeed generate much needed income along with boosting the tourism industry.

27. @ David
    “Sometime ago in a rather simplistic analysis Peter Wickham outlined….”
    You are being superfluous here Sir. Does Wickham make any other kind of analyzes…? LOL

@ Ping Pong
    “BOLTs are the con man’s dream come true. the only losers are the public and the big institutions – something like the fancy titled SCAM that has devastated the housing sector in the USA and mortgage and banking institutions across the world.”
    The Bush man was highly impressed with the quote…. until you gave the source….. LOL

This is not a BAJAN thing. It is a GLOBAL issue.
    “If not Stuart”… then it will be some other joker with a different set of weaknesses who will destroy us in some slightly different style.

HERE IS THE ISSUE
    Despite what anyone of us may think, REAL LEADERSHIP can come from ONLY ONE source.
    TRUE LEADERSHIP, (like a number of other critical human attributes) can come ONLY from God, as a BBE- given talent/gift.

Talk all wanna like, but True Leadership requires a level of righteousness that is a model of the kind of character that we were all intended to develop as a fundamental purpose of our existence.

But we have chosen instead, to define completely different goals and objectives for our existence; and have moved away from the path that would have led us to focus on the true characteristics of true leadership.

In today’s world, a TRUE LEADER, unless he is an absolute GIANT,AND is actually POWERED by BBE, would be destroyed in short order.
    ….so where would we get real leadership from…..

If Suart or not Stuart …. same difference.

28. Sad ! but i have to agree with the submission! a leader is one who stays connected with its people. There is a bond that kind of join them together. We the people look to this person as a voice of reason and consolation especially at this time when our country is going through such negativity. If we can’t look to our LEADER.for such. Then beside God who then should we look to. People are asking question and getting no answers.

29. @ Bush Tea
    Every thing you say up there might ring true if you are a pessimist. However they have been true Leader throughout the world in my lifetime. I have seen Leaders like Martin Luther King . Nelson Mandella people who have let there voices be heard and have made positive changes for their countrymen. Pessimism gets us no where. we have to be Optimist and continue to fight and let our voices be heard as silence is not always golden.

30. @Bush Tea

Have to side with ac’s view. Until we find a way out of the morass we find ourselves what should we do?

Throw our hands in the air?

What about our obligation, moral duty to our offspring?

31. QUESTION : If Not Fruendel Stuart, Who?
    ANSWER:
    (1) RIGHT HON. OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR
    ANSWER(2)HON. MIA ARMOR MOTTLEY
    ANSWER(3)HON. CHRISTOPHER SINCKLER
    ANSWER(4) HON.DONVILLE INNISS

32. What will they think of next | April 17, 2011 at 2:21 AM | By miles a far better man that the DrunkardOwen and Con Artist Owen and Crook Owen and Womaniser Owen and The Fraudster Owen and don’t lets talk about Mottley.
    ————————–
    EVEN IF THE ABOVE WERE TRUE
    WHAT DE FRANCE IT GOT TO DO WITH RUNNING A COUNTRY.
    PAST POLITICIANS OF RENOWN WERE WOMANISERS AND THEY BROUGHT THIS ISLAND FROM A VILLAGE TO WHAT IT IS NOW-

33. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

ac, I can agree with u on Dr ML King having been a leader of his people. However, Nelson Mandela, having been locked up for 27 years? how do u figure that one? unless ur referring to the period before n after his incarceration. otherwise, please let me/us know how u calculate that analysis!

34. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Well said Tina. Point is, he/she must have an APTITUDE for d position AND the ABILITY to do the job! nutten else doan much matter! if u can b some sort of heroic-figure, then so much the better but, what people really require, is peace n prosperity. everything else is secondary!

35. “The marina would attract those wealthy billionaires who owns yachts and pleasure boats and prefer to use them for travel. THis is a good idea and would indeed generate much needed income along with boosting the tourism industry.”

Where are these Billionaires? Why would they come here to spend their money when they can get more bang for their bucks elsewhere? Please let us be realistic. We are flogging a dead horse. This is the problem when stupid people put all their eggs in one basket, and a basket with holes in it.

Why waste precious money on crap like this when we need a new hospital, proper roads, proper drainage, new garbage disposal centres, new buses, new agriculture facilities, like processing houses, new alternative fuel for the island.

I wish people would take dem heads outta de frigging sky.

36. @ac…..

On this bright Sunday morning……please… DNFTT!!!

37. Very fcuking well said islandgirl.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The problem is that most of you became accustomed to the overexposure of Owen “seethru” Arthur and his goons.

So you wrongly believe that unless you are seen twenty four seven then you are not working on the behalf of the people.

Ridiculous, to say the least.

39. @ David
    Sometimes you amaze me David……
    The Bush Man explains the very real problem that we face, and you, like your fore-parent Adam, chooses to side with a woman instead…. LOL
    This has nothing to do with wishful thinking. Do you think that it is coincidental that this problem is GLOBAL in nature? Do you think that problems are solved because we “cant afford to throw our hands in the air…” or because our children’s future depends on success…?
    Problems are solved when we come to understand the underlying ROOT cause of the problem and we take steps to reconcile those root causes.
    If wanna feel that MLK and NM were examples of outstanding leadership wanna got really low standards indeed…. either that or wanna need to read more widely beyond the contemporary publications….
    A True leader is one who advances his followers towards the true cause. Hitler therefore, despite his unquestioned charisma, would have been a poor leader. There have been many outstanding military, political sporting and other leaders who have advanced those specific areas of life, however a TRUE and complete leader of people would be someone who could advance the cause of human development.
    ….but if wanna talking bout someone to help wanna accumulate a few coppers maybe we should go with Allan Fields or Bizzy…..

40. BT

The last thing I wan’ to see ’bout hey is a “leader” that believes in something that can neither be seen nor proven … a borderline fruitcake with a cause …!

41. Bush Tea,
    I wish you would not seek to cynically deflect accountability away from Stuart and the present administration. To quote the words like sounding brass of Yardbroom, a leader ” is one who can be trusted to do the right thing on behalf of the country he leads”. Well it is neither my opinion nor speculation that the Gov’t has awarded a BOLT contract to SMI headed by Glyne Bannister to build the Bridgetown marina. That is a matter of public record. You as far back as 2007 criticised the BOLT model (and you made reference in that post to the marina too). It is a fact that the DLP, the present Governor of the Central Bank and others were extremely critical of the BOLT agreement and of the persons involved in the Dodds prison project. Now the Gov’t plans to go into an even larger project with the same person, with the same type of project implementation and like Einstein’s depiction of the insane ” doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”.

So has the philosopher-prince Stuart done the right thing on behalf of the country he leads? It is indisputable that Stuart has done the very thing that his colleagues accused others of doing which was to the detriment of the country.

A poster, Trained Economist, wrote almost exactly a year ago on 19 April, 2010 – “My view is that the bolt was an expensive financial arrangement but it fit the arthur strategy of hiding the true level of government spending and debt but keeping things off budget.

The prison project is one of the best examples of the problem with owen and mia, and now hilary beckles as well. Everything has to be world class, no expense spared. its all about flash and panache. Absent from these folk is the old bajan value of a functional facility that you can well afford

With leaders those those you are bound to end up with expensive white elephants and high and unsustainable levels of debt.”

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/governor-delisle-worrells-first-quarter-performance-unprofessional/

Where is the outcry now? I can only conclude that the behaviour of Stuart and the the rest of this present administration in this matter (and as in the Clico matter) exemplify the “integrity of the deceitful”.

42. @ Ping Pong

Sir, we are on the same identical boat here. Everything that you have said, the bushman endorses (except of course where, in your fancy language, you cuss Bushie for alleged deceitfulness..LOL).

It is clear that having sought the mantle of leadership, this present lot is only distinguishable from the past lot in their lack of on- the-job experience.

They do not have any real solutions! That is a given.

Casual research in other jurisdictions would suggest a similar phenomenon. The US of Obama; England; France; EVERYWHERE!!! LOL …even before they could dump Mubarak, the Egyptians looking to get rid of his successor…

THE PROBLEM lies deeper…. so rather than just simply dump this DLP lot to replace them with yet another set of idiots, Bushie is doing some research to try to identify what we need to look for in sensible successors….

Bushmen play chess too you know…. we can think many moves ahead….

@ BAFBFP
    Maybe you can give some thought to what you would like to see in terms of leadership. Your dislikes are well documented (and generally supported by the Bushman), what would be very useful now would be your solutions….
    When you grow to reach the bushman’s age, you will be surprised to find out that true reality consists of many things “that can neither be seen nor proven” and that many of those things that CAN be seen and proven are mere incidentals…. but you are on the right track…

43. Big LOL @BAFBFPBAFBFP

| April 17, 2011 at 10:48 AM | BT

The last thing I wan’ to see ’bout hey is a “leader” that believes in something that can neither be seen nor proven … a borderline fruitcake with a cause …!

–BOY you are an idiot LOL
    LOL OH MY GOSH !

44. Carson C. Cadogan | April 17, 2011 at 10:25 AM | The problem is that most of you became accustomed to the overexposure of Owen “seethru” Arthur and his goons.

So you wrongly believe that unless you are seen twenty four seven then you are not working on the behalf of the people.

Ridiculous, to say the least.

NOT TRUE AT ALL
    Your past Prime Ministers had a big Media Profile–all of them
    Stop telling lies on Owen
    Byer Suckoo has had more television exposure in 3 years that all the Prime Ministers put together
    Stop telling lies Carson CA–DOG–AN

45. Somewhere in the Good Book it is written “What does it profit a man to gain the world and lose his soul?” In paragraph three you speak to the upward swing of the economy, and in that same section you call for a reshuffle of the very organ that would have set that trend. Should he accede to your wish at the off chance of bringing stagnation where there can be continued growth , or do you not see that there are interdependent? In other words he needs to please the bloggers and piss off the rest of us . Smart . Speak all you want about empty cupboards the question is still to where do we turn? Before you proffer an answer remember this. A house devided amongst its self cannot stand.

46. well i guess government want to compete with port ferdinand now. Though there is only one mega yatch (normally up to 300ft ) berths. I don’t think A, Eclipse, Akira, kitara, octupus , Al Mirqab. will fit in it. They still use the deep water harbour as they do now.

47. People were annoyed when I called Carson a dog (pit bull), Tina thank you for pointing it out so graphically. Now wunna doubt me now?

48. And phonetically CA-DOG-AN . Tina you are a genius!

49. @HAMILTON HILL

Have a reread of the blog.

50. @ The man WIV

Why are you worrying about the toes thing?…
    The real issue is the Diabetes, the lost toes I merely mentioned to illustrate how far advanced his condition is.

I am worried that his advance diabetes will limit his energy and ability to lead the country through increasingly difficult times.
    remember his collapse in the St. john by-election. If he cannot cope with one by-election I am concerned that a close general election will kill the man.
    I hope this is clearer and you don’t continue to get muddled up by the 3 missing toes.