Mara Thompson MP

The people of St. John in unprecedented fashion elected the wife of the late Prime Minister David Thompson to represent them in parliament. It was an expected result in a DLP safe seat which should encourage caution by Democratic Labour Party (DLP) supporters. To demonstrate the overwhelming support for Mara Thompson, she benefitted from a 5.5% swing in a recessionary economic climate by winning her seat 4,613 to Hudson Griffithโ€™s 553 votes.ย  Bear in mind she did this in a rural parish which is described as the poorest in Barbados.

Now that the final distraction of the by-election is over, independent Barbadians would urge the government to focus its full capacity to managing the economy of Barbados. Since the late Prime Minister announced his illness last year there is the belief by many that the country has lacked forthright management for the last six months.

Both parties have their internal fires flickering and we hope that as we turn the page the interest of Barbados is put first, at this time, above the petty political ambitions of a few. The dire economic situation confronting Barbados merits a level of sacrifice, patriotism and enterprise by all Barbadians. Managing the economy in a sluggish global environment will not be easy and it will call for extraordinary vision and leadership from our leaders. Given the adversarial nature of our Westminster-style politics one must expect the unexpected in the fickle political climate which currently exist in Barbados.

On behalf of the BU household we extend congratulations to Mara Thompson on her election. She has been given an overwhelming mandate by the people of St, John to represent them in the House of Assembly. Mara should remember that to whom much is given, much is expected.

180 responses to “Mara Thompson Succeeds Her Husband In St. John”

1. Wells said Slyvan Greenidge

1.How is it that the BLP could not hold to the support it had in the general election of a short three years ago?

2.With the present state of the economy, the replacement of the Leader of the Opposition with someone for whom the country is supposed to be clamoring and a success story of 14 years of growth, why has the BLP candidate performed so poorly?
    ============================

ha ha ha indeed the BLP sought to make this election a referendum on the DLP and lost big.โ€ LOL!

What political advice were they given? and by whom?

2. Thank freeman didn’t see that.

Humm yield would be higher for the ROR on bond is a higher percentage than dividend on shares plus the added value of higher amount of bonds being able to purchase given share price is higher than current net worth. As for risk there little to none since government instrument and they be repaid and the government use the money to offset some of the current account deficient and turn it to long term debt instead of short term and place some in sinking fund to cover bonds. The foreign exchange will come in to boost foreign reserves.

of course then we lose control over our lone power station. the retained earnings can be used to pay off share buyout cost.

3. David
    Your argument about the number of persons voting and the conclusion about the DLP not having any comfort in the marginal seats does not hold if you look at the voting pattern over the years. It was the BLP voters who did not vote and therefore the GREAT MAGICAN DID NOT ENERGISE HIS PEOPLE OR MIA PEOPLE.
    The evidence is shown below as was taken from the website provided by you.
    Year BLP DLP Total
    1966 2482 5479 8212
    1994 937 3485 4754
    2003 955 3703 4658
    2008 829 4300 5129
    2011 553 4613 5166

4. Well let look at it this way there are over 8400 voters in stjohn.
    the dlp where hopping for over 5000 votes for mara the blp according to kerie had there at least 500. The dlp gain 300 votes the blp lost 300 votes. The dlp votes could be attributes to sympathy, call for the dlp voters to come, good plan. The blp lost votes could be attributes to the wrong issue, the attack on mara/ david , the new candidate , political upheaval still with change of leadership. There was about 39% of the total voters who felt not to vote at all either due to not caring of or no belief in either candidate. with there being a 3% swing of total voters either way can the dlp say they really mobilized the people to their cause other than staunch supporters who didn’t vote before because of the belief they would just win or sympathy voters ?

What we can definitely say the blp didn’t mobilize the people to their cause.

5. Congrats Mara, We had no doubts that you would have done it, we look forward to your continual working with us now that you are our chief servant.We know that you will be an excellent representive of the good people of St John. Misha, Oya, Osa we loved you all and will always be there for all of you. Mara our duly elected MP heartiest congratulations once again.

6. Anthony
    Since the double member constituency back in 1966 no more than 5100 persons voted in St.John. Your argument about convincing the other three thousand persons to vote does not rest with the DLP but the BLP who never got pass one thousand votes in St.John after 1966

7. @Anthony

The risk profile has to be affected if the NIS divest from BL&P, a monopoly on power generation/distribution and invest in domestic treasuries.

8. @Charlie

St. John is a special constituency and we should tread cautiously when attempting to extrapolate the results of last night.

9. Charlie

How does it rest solely with one party??? The idea is for either party to get the voters to vote for their party and to get as close to 100% turnout as possible to get the maximum amount of votes for you part. I have already said the blp didn’t mobilize their people for their party and didn’t motivate the voters. What is interesting is that neither party has really motive the other 39% to vote. For the blp that is the major work they must do to be consider viable in st.john failing mara not making issue if no work is done and the dlp bring the economy down more. For the dlp they represent an swing that they should command to ensure more sound and complete victories in st john.

As far as risk goes they go from a low risk with bl&p to an even lower risk with government instruments. as the government can simiply “will” the money made to ensure payback if it not available in the sinking fund. now by doing so it does reduce the currency worth and bring other issues but that a whole other topic in itself. So the final effect to the risk of nis will always be lowering if buying government instruments instead of investing in shares.

10. Lets face it.
    St.John is a little backward.

No put down of the people, I love them and the parish too but St.John is like 40 years behind time and what has been displayed in this election confirms that. The thinking is in keeping with the backwardnes: they will not analyse anything, they are about sentimentality and cult worship and this is akin to what would happen in the most remote parts of St. Lucia so Marra(who has marred Errol Barrow’s legacy should be comfortable

Of course somebody benefits from this situation and MARRA, who has marred Barrow’s memory and legacy has benefitted.

Instead of Barra (Barrow) day , it is now Marra day.
    Somebody got it wrong.

It has already started to cause serious fallout .
    I think it were better if Dr. Leroy was the victorious candidate. This Mara thing is BAD !!!!!

Everybody knows that she should not have been the candidate.

St.John people need educating and need to come into the light. Mr Griffith has to get in there to bring light to these people or they will remain just like some Haitians: backward and given to cult worship in a religious kind of way.

It is dangerous!!!!!!!!!!!
    St. John needs ‘LIGHT’

11. @KISSMYA | January 21, 2011 at 2:02 PM |
    Lets face it.
    St.John is a little backward.

No put down of the people, I love them and the parish too but St.John is like 40 years behind time and what has been displayed in this election confirms that. The thinking is in keeping with the backwardnes: they will not analyse anything, they are about sentimentality and cult worship and this is akin to what would happen in the most remote parts of St. Lucia so Marra(who has marred Errol Barrowโ€™s legacy should be comfortable
    ….
    St.John people need educating and need to come into the light. Mr Griffith has to get in there to bring light to these people or they will remain just like some Haitians: backward and given to cult worship in a religious kind of way.

It is dangerous!!!!!!!!!!!
    St. John needs โ€˜LIGHTโ€™”
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    This is the same kind of insulting, then “apologetic” comment, followed by more insulting behaviour that saw some turning away from Hudson. “Retards”, followed by “apology” to that segment of society …BUT NOT TO PEOPLE OF ST. JOHN, then the “wuuna mad” insult.

According to this post, St. John’s people are BACKWARDS, IN DARKNESS, CULT WORSHIPERS, BEHIND TIME, NON-ANALYTICAL, LACKING IN EDUCATION, REMOTE……
    Everyone??? If this is the case, why haven’t the ones who are aware of this, and have the “light”, seen it fit to come into St. John at community level and organise programmes for the backwards, darkened minds here?

Indeed, Hudson’s relatives, including his father who is a Minister of the Gospel, are also being classed as “BACKWARDS, IN DARKNESS, CULT WORSHIPERS, BEHIND TIME, NON-ANALYTICAL, LACKING IN EDUCATION, REMOTE…”

12. Hey above commenter,

You dealt with everything but the erasing of Barra ‘s (Barrow’s legacy) by this (Marra) Mara Thompson charade
    Lets face reality man !
    We can pretend to be nice and polite but the reality is evident.

I love St. John. I would live there now but St. John’s under-development is a reality. I love the rustic nature of the parish and hope that any development takes this into consideration.
    Bath is one of the sweetest places on earth.

A St. John resident is perhaps not different from the un-informed ZR driver from St. Michael but the fact remains that St. John people need LIGHT on certain matters

I agree with me on this issue

13. sick ass BLP jokers like KISSMYA. U know why wunna gine beat even more in the general election. wunna in the blp continue to insult bajans because the sick likes of u believe bajans are idiots. the thinking of the BLP is sick.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

KISSMYA

Let me take this opportunity to invite you to Mara’s motorcade when it is organised.

15. I am an independent
    I called it as I see it
    I have been called BLP this and BLP that by people such as you.
    My beef is that the 2008 election result was influenced by LIES from the DLP and that in my perspective there was absolutely no need to change Government.

You dont change a Government because Harold has a personal vendetta against Owen Arthur or that Peter Wickham hates Owen Arthur and not because of the other people who felt that Owen Arthur is not greater than Errol Barrow so he should not have gotten 4 terms.

This is grudgeful minded and it is the same thing that Stedson Babb was talking about today on Brass Tacks when somebody questioned if Mara Thompson will still receive her husband’s Pension along with her Minister’s salary ( because it is believed that she will get Suckoo’s ministry after the Cabinet reshuffle)

So cut out the above talk SYLvan . I am no BLP ANYTHING—–Nobody in the BLP cares about me or knows who I am.

I do this of my own accord,
    So I dont want you blaming the BLP for my views. I am one of those floating voters and will remain so until I join the BLP ,DLP, PEP, OR PDC

16. On a more concerned note:

I want to know what has happened to Bonny Peppa

It is not like Bonny to just vanish.

I miss the Peppa
    She is my mudda, She trained me, She inspires me
    even though she cusses me
    if I step out o line in her opinion.

I love mi mudda
    so bring back Bonny Peppa
    or rather ‘come back Bonny Peppa.
    I am serious. I want to know if something has happened to Bonny.

17. I keep reading the comment, “St. John is the poorest Parish.”

In analyses, the results usually show someone/thing in top/#1 position and in bottom/last position. So if it isn’t St. John then it would be one of the other 11 parishes.

Btw, does anyone have the criteria and list of Parishes showing from the wealthiest

18. @KISSMYA: “I want to know what has happened to Bonny Peppa

I regret to have to inform you that BP has passed away. She passed peacefully in her sleep, surrounded by her family…

As BP would say: “murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

That’s meant as humour. Hopefully it will taken that way.

(As they disclaim one of the Canadian CBC’s weekly political commentary shows “22 Minutes”: “Some may not appreciate this sense of humour.”)

19. Christopher Halsall re. your post of Jan. 21, 2011 at 6:04 PM;

What humour what !!!!!?????

Many of the BU family are concerned about the uncharacteristic silence of Bonny Peppa at a time when one would expect her to be pompasetting and you pen a thoroughly disgusting attempt at humour.

Canadian humour is not like that. You’ve got it wrong.

20. How many female voters are there in St. John? And, how many of these female voters, actually voted for Mara Thompson?

It would be interesting to know?

21. @Zoe

The CADRES representative was asked that question last night on VOB but he did not have the stats.

ST JOHN BOX BY BOX

User Rating: / 4
    PoorBest Friday, 21 January 2011 02:19
    Griffith Thompson
    JA1 23 347
    JA2 39 527
    JA3 18 166
    JA4 A-J 14 155
    JA4 K-Z 25 151
    JB1 A-H 24 191
    JB1 I-Z 12 193
    JB2 A-H 53 179
    JB2 I-Z 43 184
    JC1 6 219
    JC2 A-H 19 253
    JC2 I-Z 13 263
    JC3 21 134
    JC4 88 213
    JD1 35 263
    JD2 11 163
    JE1 A-G 25 213
    JE1 H-Z 27 274
    JE2 A-Z 16 222
    JE3 A-G 22 143
    JE3 H-Z 19 160
    553 4613

22. @Checkit-out…

Please forgive me.

That was an attempt at bringing BP out of her box.

Or, perhaps, her contract has simply expired….

23. All BU family members;

I was a bit surprised at the extent of the slaughter and can really add little to the analyses in this thread except that;

The huge loss may stimulate a backlash in a delayed general elections if DT’s instructions re. his dynasty are carried out to the T as Freundal seems to be doing .

If Freundel was a shrewd leader he would take back his decision not to call an election until the current term is ended and crack the whip for one in about 3 months time. With Tourism seemingly looking up and some money coming into the coffers from the NIS BL&P shares sale and the possibility of further stalling on definitive CLICO decisions for a few months and the wave of sympathy for David and Mara possibly still being there, it would be a tide in the DLP affairs which taken at the flood might lead on to fortune, omitted …..

24. @checkit-out

Prime Minister Stuart has painted himself into a corner by going public at the first political meeting in St. John on the matter of calling an early general election.

25. Christopher Halsall.

No need for forgiveness. As I was typing I thought that perhaps that was what you were trying to do. So I am the one to be forgiven for spoiling your strategy.

26. David; If he is really a politician that would not be a problem.

27. I think the dlp know just as well as everyone else that what happens in st john doesn’t necessarily happen everywhere else.

28. Dr.George Belle is Owen Arthurโ€™s greatest fan when it came to political spin.
    Imagine George saying that Owen said what he said about Mara to cause a shock effect. Mr. political scientist why would a man who has these great political acumens that you preach alienate a people in a political campaign?
    George if you did wear a slip it would surely show with your political leanings for your university partner.

29. @Charlie

Despite the responses by those to clarify that Arthur did not attack Mara on nationality, what is beyond doubt is that his platform facilitated the perception of such attacks. Why would he encourage such given his CSME legacy?

30. This election result is no different to the previous ones. The people of St.John vote for the Barrow party.

He laid the foundation, built the house and gave the key to the people of St.John. For that they are eternally pleased and have continued to let a DLP representative live in their house. and represent them in parliament.

Hants is not a political scientist.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All Barbados Labour Party male candidates who come up against Democratic Labour Party female candidates in the upcoming general elections will suffer crushing defeats just like Hudson. Take note George.

The others will not fare any better either.

The women are waiting on them

32. @KISSMYA
    I have refrained from joining this blog and ignored all of your simple minded comments before, but your “St. John backward” comment was the breaking point. My ancestral roots lie deep deep in St. John, and because I know the reality of life in St. John, I take serious umbrage to your sordid characterization of good people.

For your information and edification, St. John has produced some of the most educated persons in Barbados (Sir Keith Hunte, Earl Glasglow, Horatio Cooke, Arch Bishop of the West Indies, Dr. John Holder and Vere Browne) to name a few.
    Physical infrastructure is not the only criterion to measure development. Human and social development must also be used .
    I am always amazed by people who make comments such as yours from proclaimed positions of enlightenment; not realizing that true enlightenment would preclude such thoughts in the first place. What is even more amusing is the majority of them are no more than two generations removed from a hoe and dung basket. Yet they go around looking down their noses forgetting from whence they came, only because they may have attained some kind of University “education”

Which brings me to another comment you made earlier in reference to Bajans being ungrateful because they are not supporting Owen Arthur.
    I know for persons who started following local politics in 1994 he might be a Genius, but really there is nothing spectacular about the man or any thing he did in his 14 years at the helm. From 1961 to 1976 the social and physical development that took place in Barbados was staggering, there is nothing in the Arthur years that is comparable to it; yet Errol Barrow lost the ’76 elections. In England Winston Churchill led England to victory over Germany in the second world war, and lost the elections immediately after the war ended. So tell me again, what’s so special about Owen Arthur.
    You BLP operatives and supporters seem to think that the only party capable of running this country is the BLP, and that is unfortunate.

I don’t know what is your particular grouse with Mara but from your rantings it seems personal. I have never heard any claims of David Thompson having any illegitimate children or outside women so you will have to face that on your own. Suffice to say, Mrs. Thompson seems oblivious of your pain.

33. YOU ARE TALKING

SHITE !!!!!!!!

34. Christopher
    Please do not make that kind of sport. I thought you were serious and my body felt a chill, my heart nearly missed a beat.
    Dont do that to people.
    even though what you say might be true, dont make that kind of sport dude !!!

35. F**K YOU ! HUGH

Crawl back into the flea infested hole from which you came you son of a itch according to Mighty Gabby.
    I am simplistic
    The truth is SIMPLE
    Wicked people and liars are sophisticated , diplomatic and deceitful as hell==go figure===you !!! Imbecile !

I am no BLP operative.
    I call things as I see them and when I see foolishness and unfair criticism especially in politics I comment.

OWEN ARTHUR rescued Barbados at its darkest hour and I am eternally grateful to him. He deserved a 4th term. But there were people who ‘conspired’ to prevent this. People like Harold Hoyte and Peter Wickham.

I heard David Ellis implying that Owen gave them hell or something to that effect so Ellis and his gang got in on the act too . Every single moderator on VOB was and is a DEM.

Somebody said that Owen used to call people at 2 am and cuss them for whatever reason. If this is true, this was no reason to change a Government that had unemployment down even in the face of imported Guyanese labor and foreign reserves up. The cost of living was lower than it is now. These are facts. I do not have to be a BLP operative to know this and talk about it.

I suspect that certain people who were aspiring to leadership in the BLP conspired to cause the BLP to lose the last election and together with LIES from David Thompson and his goons , the Goverment changed hands. I am VEXXED about this.

The DLP TOOK US TO THE PRECIPE OF DISASTER AND DOWN A HOLE

To add insult to injury you bring Mara Thompson -a St. Lucian to erase the memory of a great Barbadian-=
    Errol Walton Barrow. By the time Mara Thompson hands over to her daughter Barrow’s legacy and memory in St. John would be erased by the Thompson dynasty.
    IT IS A BAD THING IT MUST NOT HAPPEN and those in the DLP who feel like me should make sure it does not happen.
    BRING SOME LIGHT TO ST.JOHN

36. islandgal246 | January 20, 2011 at 12:32 PM | Ou est Bonny Peppa? Ca ou ca fait mon ami? Tout monde bagaie demandont de vous . Vous etait malade? Jโ€™espere cโ€™est pas vrai. Bamwe unti mot dou dou.
    ————

Islandgirl, where did you learn your Creole? Mon dou dou!

37. Kissmya,

You are seriously ill….

38. KISSMYA
    Go to the Barbados Today website and read the back page and see what Rommel Marshall said of your overrated Leader Owen Arthur.
    He also said he is running against Dale Marshall in St.Joseph next election. Talk about unity.
    I have copied and saved all your hate filled illiterate comments of the people of St.John and will make sure that it is circulated among the young people of St.John via face book for the next election.
    As a BLP operative who continue to insult the intelligence of Barbadians as regards us being ungrateful to a man who took $75000 from a donor and put it in his personal account. How much more did he put there that we do not know about. If we speculate we can see why politicians get so rich in such a short space of time.
    I can see Mara bringing a different politics to the DLP.I think we are under estimating her political animal instincts. She for twenty two years sat, laid and stood next to a political astute person, she knows his politics donโ€™t be fooled. So KISSMYA you have stress from her for a long time to come
    Integrity legislation and FOI will kill off the BLP under Owen Arthur. Integrity legislation must be passed by this DLP government or they will not get my vote.

39. @KISSMYA
    Your cussing and ranting is a clear indication of where the light really needs to shine.Or perhaps your little mind is so full of conspiracy theories there is no room for the light to shine through.

40. Bonny est malade
    Tout monde bagaie demandont Bonny ????
    huh !
    J’taime Bonny
    Bonny est femme et malade

41. @KISSMYA: “Dont do that to people.

I have reason to believe that Bonny would have approved.

Qua es vos?

42. cussing people like you is part of we culture.

dont try to look down yuh nose at people and then try to tell me about St. John people–
    Yuh HYPOCRITE !

43. TIME WILL TELL !
    Lets wait and see

I predicted what would happen to David Thompson and it happen. (It is recorded here on this Blog- )
    Nobody took it serious then.
    They could not see it happening. I dont expect the blind to see and accept anything so carry on merrily.

This Mara Thompson thing STINKS—It smells BAD !!!!
    and it will be BAD for Barbados if it continues.
    I am not worried because I know what I see.

44. simply anonymous Avatar

@”KISSMYA | January 19, 2011 at 10:53 PM |
    ST. JOHN IS NOT A DLP SAFE SEAT.
    They are many dissatisfied voters in that parish who intend to show their dissatisfaction in a very significant way.
    the DLP will no longer take the St.John people for granted.
    Griff is onto something in St. John and Griff will do well…I will name my dog mara thompson”

now that the Queen is sitting on her throne, surrounded by her loyal subjects, what have u got to say? clown u are…u got to be a retard, what does naming ur dog mara thompson got to do with mara thompson. do u think she will wake up and cry, suffer and eventually go mad like u are doing now, because u will name ur dog MT. r u really serious or are u stupid? u can name ur dog the Queen of Sheba and it won’t bring her back from the dead, u idiot.

45. simply anonymous Avatar

@KISSYMA
    “IT IS A BAD THING IT MUST NOT HAPPEN and those in the DLP who feel like me should make sure it does not happen.
    BRING SOME LIGHT TO ST.JOHN”

Light is already in St. John, u cant see the colour of the Thompson’s family? lol yes, I’ve condescended to ur level of debate, and don’t even think I will respond to whatever silly, backward statement that u might make – i won’t

46. I was talking to a St. John man today and he was obviously celebrating, however, he made a statement that made me ponder;he said if the DLP bring a DOG in St. John as their candidate St. John people would vote for it. That sounded soooo pathetic, I didn’t know in this century, we still have people so dumb.

47. I think that is the general consensus most people have of st. john. The dlp could bring anybody and win.

48. @KISSMYA | January 21, 2011 at 11:15 PM |
    I predicted what would happen to David Thompson and it happen. (It is recorded here on this Blog- )
    ………………………………………..
    This Mara Thompson thing STINKSโ€”It smells BAD !!!!
    and it will be BAD for Barbados if it continues.
    I am not worried because I know what I see.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    It is so sad that no one could “see” that Hudson was not going to get 1/6 of the votes cast. Couldn’t an attempt have been made to “show him the light” the people of St. John needed to get out of their “darkness”? If so, and you “saw” the “light”, but did nothing about it to guide Owen nor Hudson, you are a traitor and false prophet. According to Jer. 48:10, cursed is the man/woman who does the Lord’s work deceitfully!
    To post messages/comments on this site and not to share your “sightings” with Owen and his crew is despicable and render your “love” for him as false. If you are indeed sharing what you “see” with him, yet he is not hearkening to you, then HE is a fool, or he believes YOU are.

Furthermore, you lie about having a “gift”. No one having a “gift” uses the language you do to respond to persons whose opinions differ. Stop the chart reading and consulting of those from the infernal place!
    …………………..
    No “gift” was needed to “see” the 11 year old Primary School student who was listed as a delegate during the last BLP Conference. No “gift” to see the Northern Alliance taking over the reins of the Party; it was posted alongside of my comments before it took place. (Check the past blogs and “see”.) Before Hartley Henry stated in St. John that Clyde Mascoll was going after Cynthia Forde’s seat in St. Thomas, it was stated here first. Before George, Owen, Athur, Walton Payne came out during the budget and talked …for the first time…..of a development from Orange Hill to East Coast Road, it was already raised here as the “Walton Payne Boulevard”. These are things you should have seen.

However, there is something false about one who only sees darkness, death, sickness or smells things which are bad/stink. Such a one needs to look within the self to “see” from where such is arising. Your “name” alone just needs the two s’s to complete your personality. In fact, if read backwards as in dialect, your name states “Aym Ssik”…/ I AM SICK.

GET HELP IMMEDIATELY !!!

49. anthony | January 22, 2011 at 12:13 AM |
    The dlp could bring anybody and win.

Some, including me, would say apparently not.

50. Don’t blame culture for your ignorance!!