Mara Thompson MP

The people of St. John in unprecedented fashion elected the wife of the late Prime Minister David Thompson to represent them in parliament. It was an expected result in a DLP safe seat which should encourage caution by Democratic Labour Party (DLP) supporters. To demonstrate the overwhelming support for Mara Thompson, she benefitted from a 5.5% swing in a recessionary economic climate by winning her seat 4,613 to Hudson Griffithโ€™s 553 votes.ย  Bear in mind she did this in a rural parish which is described as the poorest in Barbados.

Now that the final distraction of the by-election is over, independent Barbadians would urge the government to focus its full capacity to managing the economy of Barbados. Since the late Prime Minister announced his illness last year there is the belief by many that the country has lacked forthright management for the last six months.

Both parties have their internal fires flickering and we hope that as we turn the page the interest of Barbados is put first, at this time, above the petty political ambitions of a few. The dire economic situation confronting Barbados merits a level of sacrifice, patriotism and enterprise by all Barbadians. Managing the economy in a sluggish global environment will not be easy and it will call for extraordinary vision and leadership from our leaders. Given the adversarial nature of our Westminster-style politics one must expect the unexpected in the fickle political climate which currently exist in Barbados.

On behalf of the BU household we extend congratulations to Mara Thompson on her election. She has been given an overwhelming mandate by the people of St, John to represent them in the House of Assembly. Mara should remember that to whom much is given, much is expected.

180 responses to “Mara Thompson Succeeds Her Husband In St. John”

1. Piss Poor Election Avatar
    Piss Poor Election

Negative campaigning cost both parties a chance to dominate these elections.
    Mara lost 1000 votes
    Hudson lost 500 votes
    Half of St. John didnโ€™t turn out because neither party appealed to them.
    This was not a coronation but an abdication by the electorate

2. Could not have said it better myself.
    Yes, the DLP needs now to return their focus in Managing this country’s economy & alleviating the fears & anxieties of Barbadians. They need to look for ways to create new jobs, boost Tourism, reduce the price of food, especially those basic food items, revive the sugar cane industry, cut the costs of running government departments, promote education, improve on Health Care, train more health care workers, lease some of their organizations such as the Transport Board to companies, review HMP Dodds & encourage Barbadians to open their own businesses, such as day care facilities for the elderly & nursing homes, extended hours for child day care & transportation.
    They have to look at the workers & wastage of time, resources, equipment. They need to look at buildings that house government workers, especially the police & repair them, with a view of consistency in doing so, as to avoid them becoming unsafe & dilapidated. This has an adversed effect on workers & their performance. They need to ensure staff have proper equipment & resources to do an adequate job. Workers in government are being paid weekly & monthly salaries for time wasted. Most government workers do not put in their contracted working hours & this has an adversed effect on the economy.
    Schools need to be repaired & proper equipment given to teachers to carry out their tasks of educating our youth. Vacation for teachers needs to be looked at. They need to focus on proper pro grammes for children & teachers need to come together & put action plans in place to service schools all year round.

Yes, the DLP needs to get cracking before they are caught napping like the BLP.

3. Voter turnout will also be low for the upcoming general election. It might be the lowest ever voter turnout in Barbados.

Why?

Many are still quietly waiting on evidence of corruption, from a financial forensic scientist who can past his findings to the police. Who the cap fit let them wear it.

As this is not going to happen, many will not leave their homes to in order to waste time voting.

4. congrats Mara your work has just started , but i am sure u can handke it .

5. Hey Checkit-out sometime last week I gave you three things to watch for . At this time I say to you , one down and one to go .

6. Congratulations to Mrs. Thompson. May God bless her and direct her actions as she endeavours to help meet the needs of His children in St. John and across Barbados…

7. @ Patois while it is true that Tyrone Power did better than H G in every box ,truth be told H G never stood a chance . This result reflects on the ineptitude of his campaign . In any and every election the government is on trial , so the burden of proof falls at the feet of the opposition . Their chief prosecutor once again failed ,and this time may be called upon to give account for the employment of a strategy that surely could reap no political gain . The issues raised in the waning moments of the battle should have taken precedence over the Chief’s personal vendetta with a dead man . Owen Arthur’s disdainful disregard for anything or anyone associated with the late David Thompson sealed the fate of his party . Leaders lead and underlings follow , hence the efforts of Barney Lynch and Lynette Eastmond . Oh if only those minutes were spent on the Issues Of The Day , perhaps the ignominy of such a crushing defeat would have been avoided . Distinct is the possibility that the vote of disapproval of Owen’s tactics out weighed that of sympathy ,all to the detriment of his party . Perhaps last night opened the eyes of those in charge so that they recognize that the act has worn thin . Negrocrat ,Indentured Servant and such insults were never questioned . They will be now . Should the illegitimate leader continue to lead the legitimate opposition , the most neglected parish might well be the new trend setter of Barbados.

8. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

We’ll b having a St Lucian PM nex!! LOL!!

9. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Now i know how to become PM of Bim!! i wonder if she’s in d market!! – fuh a husban!! ๐Ÿ™‚

I share some of your concerns, BUT how come ALL dem PMS marry wommen from OUTSIDE BARBADOS? The only exception was Bree St. John and Frundel who ent got nuh wifey and is an unwed father.
    Islan, i wonder the same thing!! wunna Bajan gals mus b doing something very wrong!! u r one, so, what is it!! tell muh!!

10. Poor Hutson, I do feel sorry for him in a kinda of way. A washpan of licks he receive. He going up in St.John picking a fight while the people still greiving for David? Dat for lick yah.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The corrupt Barbados Labour Party not seem to be learning a thing.
    The people took the money they were handing out yesterday but still voted for the Democratic Labour Party.

They did a similar thing in the last general election in the farm housing area and their candidate still lost his seat.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I remember saying on this blog that the Barbados Labour Party better watch what they are saying in St. John.

Owen”seethru”Arthur mounted the platform talking a lot of shaving cream.

The people cut his and Hudson ass as a result.

More is coming.

For his disrespect of women, the women of Barbados will cut Owen’s ass in the next general election.

Hudson, the next time you are facing the electorate, leave home the Salvation Army Thrift Shop wrinkled polyester suit and plaid shirts. They don’t look good. They turned off the voters.

13. Would be interested to have some discussion about the Nation newspaper headline yesterday. It mentioned 200 workers sent home from Todd Plantation and then there was the subsequent explanation from Leroy Parris which clarified that the 71 seasonal crop workers could not start work because the Barbados National Bank pull the plug on their overdraft limit.

14. Go on, celebrate Errol Barrow Day today. Tomorrow prepare the list of reasons why you will be unable to keep the promises made.

If the DEMs had to campaign so hard to win the safest seat in the country, imagine the work they will have to do to win the next general election.

From where I sit, when you add the sympathy votes to the those that they would have received regardless, anything less than 100% is nothing for the DLP to brag about.

Why did more people not go to the polls?

15. One of the saddest days in the history of Barbadian politics.

David Thompson has finally now managed to erase the memories and LEGACY OF THE GREAT ERROL WALTON BARROW in St.John and the rest of Barbados. Memories of Barrow have now been erased.

The people of St. John misled by Hartley Henry have committed a great sin and will pay for it. David Thompson always wanted to move away from Barrow’s legacy because the spotlight should have been on him Thompson. He has completed the mission.

This Errol Barrow day has been MARRED by this episode.

Politics in Barbados has been cheapen and turned into a circus with this result.

Meanwhile the country is being mismanged by Stuart and his goons.
    Not even appointing a Chief Justice is being done properly. You refused to extend Sir David’s tenure but come begging for cooperation on changing the law to bring Marston Gibson.

SHAME !!!!!!!!!

16. I LOVE
    OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR

17. The people of St. John have spoken loud and clear. The LADIES in particular!
    Psalm 30:11
    “Thou hast turned for me my mourning into dancing: thou hast put off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness”.
    Praise the name of the Lord!

18. Like a primary school child who has just pass for Harrison’s College, the new representative for St John must realise that the hard work has now begun. I don’t think the opposition is going to make it easy for her; this is when she has to show her true medal. I hope she doesn’t expect full support from her own party, right now everything looks rosy but the truth will be known later. Some of the matters she would have to deal with is to keep a close eye on Stuart and David Estwick, these two were no GREAT friends of her late husband. Then some see her as a threat to them because there is already rumblings of promoting her as the leader of the DLP hence the possible next P.M by the next general elections. The present P.M does not have a certain seat and the powers that be can do to Stuart what Tom Adams is alleged to have done to Bree St.John. This would put an end to the Stuart, Estwick, Kellman regime and would bring to the fore the Sinckler, Inniss, Boyce, Jones and others regime. It is among these that Mara Thompson will reside and would made her move through the “Queen Maker” to further succeed her husband; Barbados will become the first country to be ruled by a duppy, the Late David Thompson. Bumba in his calyso once called for Tom or Dippa duppy to rule we but reality is that David’s in well in line to become the first. It is ironic that the marriage vows said the two shall become one. Congrats Mara, you are the PERFECT wife. I hope more bajan woman can follow her example, maybe then the young future politicians would not have to venture out of barbados for such a wife.

19. David it just then leave the question why did they run the overdraft so high. We might be in for more of the same stories from various clico entities.

Congrats again to St. John new MP Mara . Her hard work has now began

20. Mara for Prime Minister ????!!!!!!!
    Please dont MAR Errol Barrow’s day anymore than has been done already.

I said it is a sad day and it is true. This is going to lead to some ramifications that will not be good for Barbados.
    I see serious political violence down the road because of this dynastic forced and contrived Mara Thompson candidacy.

WHY >
    I make some pronouncements that only some people with the ‘gift’can see

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Raw Bake

“Why did more people not go to the polls?”

How many voters went to polls in 2008?

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

KISSMYA

“The people of St. John misled by Hartley Henry have committed a great sin and will pay for it.”

Pay more than what happen to them over the fourteen years Barbados Labour Party rule?

23. The resurrection has begun! I am now waiting for a David Thompson Week to be proclaimed. OSA has lost his potency and KISSMYA you cannot flog a dead horse but you seem to like loving one! MIA clean up your act and you will be fine.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I just had to revisit this comment over at BARBADOS FREE PRESS:-

“Skinning Cuffins
    January 7, 2011 at 9:59 pm
    This idiot Griffith is pure cannon fodder. I guest the BLP had to get some jackass to do the suicide mission. The suit is really horrible but not as horrible as that foolish look on his face and that huge mouth full of canine chompers.

Is it true he was adopted from Australia by his parents and that he is Aboriginal? If yes, what part of Australia is he from, is he part of the stolen generation?”

Real hilarious.

25. NEWS FLASH……………….NEWS FLASH…………………NEWS FLASH

Reacting to this information, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart says its an unfortunate turn of events put clearly he has lost touch with the national electorate. Mr. Stuart also announce that when Mr. Arthur confirms his resignation a Public Holiday in Barbados will be given.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Cepia Bulldog | January 21, 2011 at 9:27 AM

Nice one.

27. Skinning Cuffins Avatar
    Skinning Cuffins

@ Carson C. Cadogan

Thanks for the reference. Someone had the gall to call me yesterday and say this by-election will be closer than people think. I said ” which people exactly cause Hutson can’t even get 600 votes, he is a nothing, a nobody and political lightweight picking a fight with a 800 pound gorilla in a phone booth”

I was told this morning that the BLP candidate Griffith was crying last evening at the constit office. If that is true then he is in the wrong business although the remark which drew the tears came from a senior BLP member who suggested that if he stuck in St. John he could win the seat in 25 years time and he was still a young man.

28. David Thompson, the king of St. John, died in 2010. This election was to elect his queen so that she may finish his good work. The BLP disrespected his memory and supposedly insulted and outraged his loyal subjects by questioning the suitability of his beloved queen

Given the above, why would 500 vote for the BLP and more than 3000 stay home?
    Why were you not able to convince significantly more people than in 2008 when the king was alive, to leave their homes and send a message to Owen Arthur and his gang that they were not welcome in the kingdom of St. John?

29. The victory of Mara Thompson in the St.John parish of Barbados is not only a victory for the party which she represents but a victory for women in general.The Caribbean people should be proud.The next few months should see the emergence of true grit!Had Hudson Griffith won would not it had been a victory for the Caribbean as well?I think it is time for people to wake up and place principles before principalities!
    I cannot but raise my flag on ths historic occasion.My mother would have been proud although she was convinced that opposition member Mia Mottley is destained to revolutionize political history in Bim.Today would have been my mother’s birthday and if she was here she would have debated Mara’s win in its enterity.
    Seems to me that with a woman in front, one will eventually rule the country!! One Love! One Draw!

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Islandgal246

“David Thompson Week to be proclaimed”

That is the best thing you ever wrote on this blog.

31. @Raw Bake

St.John is part of Barbados and the world which is still gripped in the vice of a recession. No doubt many people in St.john have been affected by the recession but their loyalty to the DLP did not allow them to vote BLP so they disengaged from the process. If this is a true position it does not augur well for the DLP in the marginal and semi-marginal constituencies.

32. @ Raw Bake do yourself a favour and check your facts before you go to print . In 2008 five thousand one hundred and twenty nine people had their ballots counted . You do the math and then rethink your angle of approach .

33. I, too, have a “gift”, but it is one of discernment from Jesus Christ. So, to all naysayers, gloom and doom predictors, “This is the day that the Lord has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it!” Furthermore, “He crowns the year with His goodness, and the clouds drop their fatness!”

I proclaim the blessings of God on the people of St. John and its new M.P., the P.M., Cabinet and people of Barbados. Let every thought of “violence down the road” be turned back on the head of those who are consulting their charts … and good governance, recovery, integrity and newness of life be the blessings of the people of Barbados.

34. Statistical Factor! Avatar
    Statistical Factor!

Congratulations to Mrs Thompson!
    A good effort to the energetic Mr. Griffith!
    I want to also raise the point about the voting population in the parish and actual turnout.
    It would be a useful exercise to examine the past, the outcome last night and implications for the general elections.
    From observation, it appears as though many persons did not go to the polling stations to register their vote. This is one aspect of the St John by election which requires further analysis.

35. HAMILTON HILL | January 21, 2011 at 9:53 AM |

@ Raw Bake do yourself a favour and check your facts before you go to print . In 2008 five thousand one hundred and twenty nine people had their ballots counted . You do the math and then rethink your angle of approach .
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Raw Bake | January 21, 2011 at 9:35 AM |

Why were you not able to convince significantly more people than in 2008 when the king was alive, to leave their homes and send a message to Owen Arthur and his gang that they were not welcome in the kingdom of St. John?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

HH,
    What math?

36. @
    David | January 21, 2011 at 9:51 AM |
    You have put it better than I could.

Yet the DEMs will have us believe that all is well and they are not on shaky ground.

37. The non-election is finally over. A political neophyte (would have been such no matter the winner) heads to parliament to be bored out of her mind having to make meaningless speeches, while following the dictates of centralize power.
    The BLP stupidly sought to make this election a referendum on the DLP and lost big. The DLP will be equally as stupid to think that Mara’s results means that Barbadians are on board with their handling of the economy. I expect no clear winner in the next general election.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“If this is a true position it does not augur well for the DLP in the marginal and semi-marginal constituencies.”

Don’t count your chickens before they are hatched .
    We will continue to take the fight to the corrupt Barbados Labour Party. With Owen”seethru”Athur’s help that will be easy. I hope that he keeps true to form as in St. John. He is proving to be a great asset to the Democratic Labour Party.

Continue putting your foot in your mouth “seethru”.

The first person we will be unseating will be, George”roastbreadfruit”Pain. I am told that he had to put braces on his dentures to eat the breadfruit.

39. So carson what going to be your reaction if chris decides to sell the shares of bl&p

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

“So carson what going to be your reaction if chris decides to sell the shares of bl&p”

Don’t even say that as a joke.

41. How can one say that less people voted this time around when the facts show that more voters cast votes this time around than in 2008?

In addition, the DLP has increased their percentage points in this constituency. This does not augur well for the BLP, as this shows that more people voted in favour of the DLP – even in this period of recession!

If this is a reflective mood of the people across the island (Mr. Arthur seems to think differently), the immediate future does not look too well for the BLP.

42. @ Adrian Hinds

“The BLP stupidly sought to make this election a referendum on the DLP and lost big.”

Pure drivel!!! Some people really ought to keep quiet instead of putting fancy words together that make no sense.

43. Will the mood change if BL&P rates increase over the next two years to allow Emera to export more money to Canada?

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A. FREEMAN

“Will the mood change if BL&P rates increase over the next two years to allow Emera to export more money to Canada?”

You and anthony begining to give me HEART BURN.

45. Sylvan Greenidge Avatar

As this is my first public comment since the uncouth and despicable display of male chauvinism that led to the removal of Ms. Mottley as Leader of the Opposition I would want to begin with the dignity for which the occasion demands. I wish to begin by extending congratulation to Mara Thompson on her well deserved victory in the St. John by-election. Her victory has not only demonstrated where the DLP stands in terms of its respect for women and their contribution to our national development but also their ability to listen and observe the national mood amongst our largest voting group.

Had the DLP adopted the backward attitude that a โ€œwoman canโ€™t lead them anywhereโ€ then Mrs. Thompson would not now be leading the people of the constituency of St. John.

Mrs. Thompsonโ€™s victory in St. John posses some very serious questions for me as it should for the new leadership of the BLP and I hasten to add that I did not expect the BLPโ€™s candidate to win the seat but certainly I expected that with two years to go before the next general election some indications of a swing in favour of the BLP would have emerged.

1.How is it that the BLP could not hold to the support it had in the general election of a short three years ago?

2.With the present state of the economy, the replacement of the Leader of the Opposition with someone for whom the country is supposed to be clamoring and a success story of 14 years of growth, why has the BLP candidate performed so poorly?

3.The BLPโ€™s support in St. John in this by-election has fallen off. What percentage of them are women?

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sylvan Greenidge

Welcome back.

47. Well there is real possibility of him doing it. Since there has been no announcement that they are not going to sell the shares.

48. I never said that more people did not vote this time? If you all consider 37 votes as being significanly more, then I don’t.
    My question stands.

49. David | January 20, 2011 at 7:54 AM | According to VOB this morning NIS made the decision yesterday to sellout to Emera. The logic is greater yield estimated if the NIS sells and invest proceeds in Govโ€™t treasury bills compared to a BL&P yield.

There was no mention of how the decision would affect the risk profile of the NIS Fund. No doubt the NIS source will tell the public more when he is on radio today.