Minister of Economic Affairs, Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry and Commerce
Deputy Opposition Leader and Former Attorney General Dale Marshall

The publicized incident which is alleged to have occurred on the parliament compound last Friday night has set tongues wagging near and far. It is not the norm for a fight or shall we refer to it as a disagreement to occur between our parliamentarians. What makes the report even more alarming is the realization that two of our most prominent members of parliament Minister David Estwick and Deputy Opposition Leader Dale Marshall are the actors involved.

BU understand that the rules of parliament forbids the Commissioner of Police to mount an investigation. Barbadians will have to await the action of the Speaker of the House Michael Carrington. Westminster conventions require the Speaker to investigate and act in a non-partisan manner. Any incident which involves the blandishing of a firearm in a threatening manner merits careful review.

There was a time when such an incident which we understand to have occurred between Marshall and Estwick would have been hushed-up and eventually forgotten. No such luck in a more enlightened age.

BU reserve comment for now to give the Speaker of the House a little time to consult and act.

479 responses to “Two Members Of Parliament David Estwick And Dale Marshall Go At It!”

1. Wishing In Vain Avatar

This is nothing more nothing less than a PR campaign to try to obtain sympathy for the disarrayed BLP, time will tell but I can confirm that never was a gun pulled or brandished as was reported,This is simply a PR campaign that has not worked because those who were there have all written accounts of what they saw and NONE report seeing a gun in play as reported by Marshall, he is setting up for a claim the he will burn in hell waiting on.

2. Oh how intelligent people can allow politics to blind them from moral standards!!!!!!!!. Am I to believe that if this matter is true and had the gun been fired and someone killed or maimed, we should trivialise it too? Irrespective of what political party an individual belongs to, disciplinary action should be made of that person. Am I now to believe that a precedent has been set in parliament where it is O.K to pull a gun if a fella gets hot under the collar? I am and will remain a strong supporter of the DLP and a friend of DavidEstwick but when you are wrong you are wrong. I would expect David Estwick to do the right thing and offer his resignation to the P.M and apologise to the people of Barbados. This would certainly prove him to be the MAN I expect him to be.

3. whats happening in the Police Force especially with DOTTIN and his DEPUTY ???

4. Observing // March 24, 2010 at 7:38 PM

Well said, well said!!!!

Either rightfully or wrongfully, we are complaining about an alleged incident, but what is certainly right is our own ‘right’ to ask what transpired.

Yet, over the last number of years economic and social wrongs have been committed and continue, in the management of the affairs of the country.

I have belief that PM Thompson has the country’s interest at heart and is capable of bringing meaningful change.

But we do need change in the economic and social status.

Transparency must first come. If we are to move forward we MUST have proper analysis and disclosure of all public project expenditures.

By ‘proper’ I mean full, no less.

The time has long passed when countries can get by on a whim and a prayer, we must have full understanding of our status, such that understanding of options and the way forward is also clear.

Do I hope for too much?

No, I am a citizen and have a right to ask for this. The legacy of our forebears give me the right. The legacy that we are mandated to protect for future generations gives me the right.

Time has changed, we are no longer going to accept verbiose rubbish, that constitutes little of substance, being spouted as standing for explanations.

The yardstick of political success can only be the evidence as it stands and that must be the yardstick going forward.

As it stands, we have multiple projects over the past ten years that have been financial disasters.

On a related point, where an argument is made that a financial consideration may fall to social considerations in specific cases, that would nevertheless be in a case where such is / was planned, unlike cases of over-spending / overruns, which are not planned. Thus, the distinguihsing factor being that social considerations within a financial context must be inherently part of the plan itself, not an afterthought or excuse for financial mess.

The future beckons. Can we rise?

5. Sir Benwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Benwood Dick

My dear, to hear that our Parliament has become the scence of an alleged altercation. But, contect being everything, I ask, was a weapon used?

If so, was it a gun or a truncheon? Was it a ‘Spice gun’ as in ‘it is then I goin use my ‘gun”?

Someone above has said that some are taking it lighltly, righty so, this is serious.

One must not shake and wave one’s gun everywhere or anywhere like Parliament for sure!

Context is everything. Was the ‘gun’ shown in anger, pride or lust?

Much can happen in heated moments. Of course I am not saying anything is untoward, but we must determine context.

Was it purely a matter of boasting, you know ‘loooka my gun, it bigger than yours’, which may indeed have given a ‘rise’ to a heated exchange.

Was the gun, big caliber or small? Was he angry or crying, or merely happy, running around singing the old favourite ‘I have got a lov’ly bunch a coconuts?’

We can imagine the words flying, along with anything else.

Estwick pull he gun
    Marshall gone an run
    Mia looked on in awe
    At what she saw

Stuart called to stop
    Liz felt hot, hot, hot
    Owen fired a rum
    And said, ‘whu loss, looka dat gun!’

Irene blushed in shock
    As she looked at the Parliament clock
    Arm firmly raised
    Showing that sunset had already been phased

Thompson said that he will wait
    To listen and hear what transpired
    Then we will know Estwick’s fate
    I gone, I tired!

Sir Benwood

6. There has always been agro between the Hinds and Dottin. In this instance here is another example of mal-behaviour by high public officials which adds to the pile. Thompson needs to watch it indeed because things on starting to unravel a little. This is a case how isolated events can combine to create a problem if the climate is right. Bear in mind also the government is managing in an austere environment.

Now how can a Deputy Commissioner overrule his boss in this instance given the high profile of this case.

ANGRY CHIEF

Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin

Published on: 3/25/2010.

by TIM SLINGER

THE DECISION yesterday to give the green light for this weekend’s controversial Vybz Kartel and Mavado show has opened a potential row between Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin and his deputy Bertie Hinds.

In an exclusive interview, a visibly upset Dottin told THE NATION yesterday that he first learnt of the decision to grant licences for the show through a radio news flash while on his way to Grantley Adams International Airport.

“It sends a very bad image and message that the Commissioner of Police has been having discussions on these issues and nobody had the decency to consult him.

“It reflects very poorly on the administration of the force,” he added.

Confirmed reports indicated that Hinds, who acts as commissioner while Dottin is on leave, made the decision to grant the promoters requested licences for the show during a meeting yesterday.

When contacted for comment that he acted contrary to the force’s protocol, Hinds would only say: “I have nothing to say, full-stop.”

However, Dottin, who was interviewed while awaiting a flight to St Kitts to attend a security chiefs’ meeting of the Regional Security System, said he was dismayed about the situation, and would meet with the relevant authorities upon his return.

He is due back tomorrow night.

“I am dismayed that there was no consultation and I have not even left the country yet.

“And even if I was out of the country, given all the discussions that we would have had, there should have been some consultation on the issue,”he said.

The commissioner, who reiterated an earlier comment that he still was not in support of the show, said Hinds and the other senior officers were aware of the several reasons for denying permission.

He disclosed that a conclusion had been reached based on dialogue with their police counterparts in Jamaica and the results of other local investigations.

“There is also some intelligence that we cannot share with the public that would be forming our opinion,” he added.

Queried whether he would rescind the directive granted by Hinds when he returned to the island tomorrow night, the police chief said such a decision would not now be fair to the promoters of the show.

Dottin, along with some Government ministers joined several other stakeholders including religious leaders, who have voiced their displeasure about the hosting of the show featuring the two controversial Jamaican dancehall artistes.

Yesterday, Prime Minister David Thompson, speaking in an interview with STARCOM Network, said that given the outcry from Barbadians, the Government would have to put stringent guidelines in place when it came to the staging of dancehall shows.

7. David,

Based on that report, you do realise that if the show goes awry, Bertie Hinds has stuck his neck out and will be the one to answer?

8. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I think Bertie Hinds’ action is disrespectful and will have severe implications for the coutry.

When the police in the future is shown disrespect they should look back to today when they planted the seeds.

9. I don’t know anything about the competencies or merits of Dottin or Hinds. However, based on the report, if Hinds acted against the wishes of the Chief, that action amounts to insubordination.

And for that he should be fired.

10. There was a story circulating about a rift between the COP and his deputy every since. Before somebody shoot somebody the Attorney General should get involved to bring some discipline to this disciplinary force.
    While he is at it, can he inform us how far the investigation into the killing of the innocent bystander by a police officer in the River van stand has reached?

11. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

This has been a most interesting discussion if one can call it that. To indicate that a member of the other side did it at some time in the past is not only irrelevant but it is puerile. And I will re-iterate that when one supports a political party, it seems common sense is replaced with stupidity.

For the past few weeks we were vigorously debating whether Movado and Vybz Kartel were welcomed in Barbados because of all the negative connotations their visit sends to our young people and the society on the whole. Now an alleged incident of 2 gentlemen in an altercation in Parliament and it has been intimated that firearm(s) was/were involved and I have supposed intelligent people blogging about all sort of what can only be termed crap.

Why would any MP think that he/she has to carry his/her firearm to Parliament. Surely this cannot be where our government (opposition and ruling) want us to go? What message is this sending to our youth? I contend this is why we are losing our young people because we talk the talk but our actions don’t correspond to our speech and this is not only in this particular situation. I am not suggesting that our politicians should be saints but this has passed the line of coherence, decency, common sense and civility.

BC

12. And I will re-iterate that when one supports a political party, it seems common sense is replaced with stupidity
    —————————————————————————
    – all that is being “re-iterated” is but your opinion. You really don’t know. Who could?

– What is “crap” to you could be quality manure for me.

-I contend that we are losing our young children via poor parenting.

– Our politicians are a product of the society, and not the other way around.

– Why a politician needs a gun is the same reason that any other citizen would needs one.

– Unless the politician lives in our parliament, he or she needs to travel to and from the chamber to thier home.

13. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

A quick note, If Hinds is the Acting Commisioner then the decision is solely his. He does not have to consult with Mr. Dottin because he, Hinds, is THE COMMISSIONER while Dottin is on duty leave. Dottin cannot issue any orders to the acting Commissioner. What should be called into question is the basis for Hinds’ decision in light of all the negative evidence which Dottin claims was made available to senior officers. Is it a philosophical difference over how these shows are to be handled? Or is it just a disregard of the negative evidence? Whatever the case it shows that a policy decision has to be made as to how these shows are to be evaluated and criteria should be set as to what is allowable.

14. David // March 24, 2010 at 10:11 PM

Discussing how this incident can/will impact our society in the context of social engineering; not sure anybody can speak in absolutes. Lets us agree to disagree Adrian.
    ————————————————————————–
    What impact what! I wonder how many people know about this incident when it occured. How many commented on it after hearing and reading about it? Are the same number of persons still discussing it today?

Now I listen to Thompson’s speech during the estimates, and it will be difficult for him to remain consistent if he does not dicipline Estwick. However what action he takes is another matter. He must not give political mileage to the opposition. After all our parliament still operates under the advisarial Westminster system.

If it did not happened then Marshall is under threat of being labeled a liar; hope he has proof. lol!

15. Fair Play // March 25, 2010 at 8:55 AM

There was a story circulating about a rift between the COP and his deputy every since. Before somebody shoot somebody the Attorney General should get involved to bring some discipline to this disciplinary force.
    While he is at it, can he inform us how far the investigation into the killing of the innocent bystander by a police officer in the River van stand has reached?
    —————————————————————————
    Under what protocal, law, policy, and or tradition, should the AG get involved?

Uh just asking cause uh don’t know.

16. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

@AH

I am not one for name calling but……..DO YOU really think that a parliamentarian needs a firearm in parliament. Is that what you are suggesting? If that is it then we are in more trouble than indicated. Forget our youth….we in trouble…..and you also confirmed my argument…..stupidity

BC

17. UPDATE : Press meeting RE: Cabinet meeting of 25th March , 2010.

PM David Thompson has just announced that the Hon. Dr. David Estwick has been assigned an additional portfolio.

Dr. Estwick, in addition to his other porfolios , has been assigned as Minister responsible for Parliamentary Affairs.

The PM has indicated that he has sound knowledge in this area and there is no one better qualified to handle this portfolio.

Congrats, Dr. David Estwick on you new appointment.

We in St. Philip West adore you.

18. Barnabas Collins // March 25, 2010 at 11:39 AM

@AH

I am not one for name calling but……..DO YOU really think that a parliamentarian needs a firearm in parliament. Is that what you are suggesting? If that is it then we are in more trouble than indicated. Forget our youth….we in trouble…..and you also confirmed my argument…..stupidity

BC
    —————————————————————————-
    I did not confirm anything.

Why reach for the ‘name calling” as quickly as several of you do, in response to a opposing view point? Such emotion? such anger. Do you feel threathened? There seems to a be little Dr. Estwick in you. The insult your gun. lol!

I am not saying that the parliamentarian needs to have a gun in parliament. I am saying that he travels to and from there. If he feels he needs a gun when on the streets from his house to parliament, where should he leave it on his arrival to work?

19. Brent
    If what you are reporting is true, that means either that the Estwick/Marshall issue was not true or , if true, Estwick has been rewarded for what he did. This matter needs to be cleaned up so that the public can know what really went down. Right now it looks really bad. I remember during the BLP time in office owen fired Liz for being insubordinate to the then leader of the opposition David Thompson. Maybe, Dale Marshall and the BLP has blown this matter completely out of proportion. Whichever, the public needs an explanation. Either David Estwick is disciplined or Dale Marshall and Co. are made out to be liars.

20. This week has been an excited one for this Government. It followed on from last week’s Estimates Debate where the Government was floored by the Opposition on its extremely weak political and economic policies. Barbadians witnessed the glaring incompetence of our Prime Minister to deal with the country’s economic crisis.

We then had the unpleasant spectacle of a Minister pulling a gun on an Opposition member. We then had the decision of the Police Commissioner not to allow the show of the controversial dub artistes Mavado and Vybz Kartel being overturned by his Deputy. How interesting.

Where is the Church in all this? Sound asleep. As society burns, our youth search in vain for guidance and where moral and ethical standards in the society continues to plummet there is a deafening silence from persons who should be blasting the Government on the current state of our country.

On the matter of the controversial dancehall show a number of questions remain unanswered.

1. On whose authority did the Deputy Commissioner override the decision of the Commissioner?
    2. Why was Stephen Lashley meeting with organizers of the show even after the Commissioner had publicly stated his refusal for the show?
    3. The Commissioner said that he has intelligence concerning the show. Should Barbadians be hurt as result of the violence promoted in the lyrics of these songs who will be responsible – the Commissioner or his Deputy?

21. Whose position will Thompson take on the hosting of the show – that of the Commissioner of Police or that of his Deputy?

Barbadians must watch this matter carefully since it will demonstrate where the Commissioner stands in relation to his Deputy within this DLP Government.

I am aware that attempts are being made to force the Commissioner to resign but my advice is that he should stay put.

22. The Scout // March 25, 2010 at 1:49 PM

Brent
    If what you are reporting is true, that means either that the Estwick/Marshall issue was not true or , if true, Estwick has been rewarded for what he did. This matter needs to be cleaned up so that the public can know what really went down. Right now it looks really bad. I remember during the BLP time in office owen fired Liz for being insubordinate to the then leader of the opposition David Thompson. Maybe, Dale Marshall and the BLP has blown this matter completely out of proportion. Whichever, the public needs an explanation. Either David Estwick is disciplined or Dale Marshall and Co. are made out to be liars.

Scout has it been substantiated by anything Owen Arthur himself might have said that validates your saying that Liz was fired by him for being “insubordinate” to Thompson? I must admit I totally missed this report. Could you fill me in on this?

How does a PM “dicipline” his parliamentary equal?

23. No greater power
    “The Prime Minister doesn’t have any greater power, or responsibility than a Member in Parliament [or] any other member when it comes to their privileges. There is a way in which these matters have been dealt with in the past. I assume it will be dealt with in the same way,” Thompson told Starcom’s David Ellis in the radio interview.
    “On Thursday, after Cabinet, I will set out what my position is in that regard.”

24. Royalrumble // March 25, 2010 at 2:31 PM

Whose position will Thompson take on the hosting of the show – that of the Commissioner of Police or that of his Deputy?

In yesterday’s interview, the Prime Minister also said Government would be soon sending a clear message to those people interested in attracting reggae artistes to Barbados in the future.

“It has to be done and Government is the overarching entity that can bring those stakeholders together,” Thompson said regarding his administration getting involved in the debate surrounding the probability of Vybz Kartel and Mavado performing in Barbados, or speaking to this country’s young people as role models.

Issue of concept

“The reaction of Barbadians to it is not the show itself, as much as it is the concept behind the show, that dancehall artistes are role models. There are activities like this which take place all the time in Barbados,” the PM said.

He noted the situation needed to be managed, and on previous occasions the Royal Barbados Police Force had properly done so by dealing strongly with artistes who use profanity or sing subversive lyrics. “It’s a big concern to us,” the PM added. “The people who bring these artistes in are going to have to get a strong message from Government about the kinds of things that are considered acceptable,” Thompson said. (BA)

25. @Adrian Hinds: “In yesterday’s interview, the Prime Minister also said Government would be soon sending a clear message to those people interested in attracting reggae artistes to Barbados in the future.

I would argue that a Prime Minister should try to avoid using the word “soon”.

It comes across a bit like “Come soon. Come soon…

A PM (like a GM or a CEO) should know *exactly* when something will be done.

26. I heard a press conference a little while ago this afternoon where the P.M said after a meeting with the promoters, the show is OFF. This Is the type of leadership I’m looking for from my P.M, stop this off today off tomorrow foolishness, be assurtive. He also said that he is not getting into the “miscommunications” between the police chief and his deputy, they are big men and they should sort themselves out. I’m proud of my P.M for putting an ends to this matter, I hope this trend continues.

27. Adrian Hinds
    I understand you don’t live in Barbados but I’m sure you are aware of the going-ons in this country. For your information in the early days of Owen’s tenure when he was more humane, Liz, then Min of Health, was rude to David Thompson who had ask permission to tour Greenland. The then P.M Owen Arthur FIRED Liz for her insubordination to the then leader of the opposition. Maybe he had other reasons to fire her but he used that opportunity to do it. I will not be clouded by partisan politics, I’m too matured for that. As I’ve stated, if what was reported is true David Estwick, regretably should go and from what the P.M indicated today in his press conference, this matter will be dealt with. It makes no sense dwelling in the pass, we elected this government to set a new path for this country and we will not settle for a continuation of the antiquated foolishness that happened before. Unfortunately, this govenment’s task is to clean up the mess left behind but they have accepted the position and we the citizens expect it from them.

28. Man Scout wuh you choose to do, to be and to see is your business. I did not ask you about your political affiliations. I honestly don’t care who or what you are politically.

I hear a lot of things, and I hear them repeated often. Some of these things when you ask for specifics, and or you get details and context, it leads to a totally different understanding all together.

I have heard you repeat this “Liz firing by Arthur scenario” a couple of times and wanting more information on it thought you had more details that I could feel certain, points to the truth.

I honestly do not know and want too. However given the adversial nature of westminister, Arthurs own practice of denigrating persons in the chamber, I cannot bring myself to believe that He asked the GG to revoke Liz’s ministerial appointment on the account of her being rude to Thompson.

29. Prime Minister David Thompson in my opinion is going to be one of the best Prime Ministers Barbados will produced..I have some problems with his non-performance in many areas such as his luke warm & incoherent approach to immigration and other social issues.However,his handling of the Estwick/Marshall issue & the Movado/VBYZ Cartel Show was a master stroke.

He defuse the Estwick/Marshall issue by simply stating the two key spokespersons on the Barbados Labour Party side in Owen Arthur & Mia Mottley are in no position whatsoever to denounce the behavior of fellow parliamentarians because their record in that department is poor.

Owen Arthur cannot talk about fellow parliamentarians behavior because his behavior was horrible and he was a national disgrace as Prime Minister of Barbados.Owen Arthur as the Chief Law Maker in Barbados got up in the House of Assembly and stated that he conspired to break the laws of Barbados by hiring illegal Guyanese to build cupboards for him at his home at West Terrace,St James. The Chief Law Maker became the Chief Law Breaker and now that national disgrace wants to come talk about what message politicians are sending our young people.Owen Arthur is the worst thing that happened to Barbados for the last 15 years.I will repeat he is a national disgrace.

It is apparent that the despots in Barbados Labour Party in they desperate attempt to get political mileage from issues affecting Barbados is resorting to create mischief where there is none.We heard only one side of this issue and why even up to this present moment Dale Marshall nor the Barbados Labour Party have come to the people of Barbados and put their case.Why are facts of the matter not being put to the people of Barbados ?I remembered during the Budget debate last year Mia Mottley & her gang staged a walk out of parliament over a trivial matter of Owen Arthur not being given the opportunity of not speaking at the time slotted for him to speak even though he was not in his seat at time allocated.Mia Mottley then held a press conference and I remembered quite clearly the reasons she put forward were so petty & trivial that it did not even reached the headlines of any of the 2 major newspapers in Barbados.This alleged incident is of a much more severe nature and I thought the Barbados Labour Party would have come to us the people of Barbados and give us the facts of the case.

I am happy that our astute Prime Minister has not taken any advise from the discredited,corrupt,morally paralyze operatives in the Barbados Labour Party and discipline Dr Estwick.

Prime Minister David Thompson,your press conference was excellent and you did a fantastic job in putting forward your government’s position on the Movado/VBYZ Cartel Show & the Estwick/Marshall issue.This is one of the few times this Negroman applaud you.

30. Negro Man
    You’re right, I was walking around with my chest held high. Like you I hope when this Estwick/Marshall matter is resolved that it was really a storm in a teapot and that it goes to show the immaturity of the BLP leadership. However, if it is true, two wrongs don’t make it right and Estwick WILL be dealt with by the P.M

31. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Any news on if Mr Estwick got fired!!!

32. Owen Arthur is a national disgrace ? and you are a national humbug

-you
    NEGROMAN !

An ungrateful one at that.
    Yuh can never do any thing too good for your kind.

Ingratitude is your legacy.

33. Dolphin Mout
    I feel honour thanks you.You have made my day.
    NB Are you going to Solidarity to hear our prime Minister talk about his immigration policy.I be there and I am looking forward to meet you

Have a good day.

34. @Negroman

The PM is nowhere close to defusing the EstwickMarshall issue, all he did was take a shot at Owen and Mia reminding them that they too have screwed up in the past. That is all well and good, but he still has the situation to deal with because the people who put him in office expects him to handle it properly…and I’m not talking about the hardcore DLP supporters such as yourself, I’m talking about the intellectual swing voters that I mentioned earlier.

35. I heard the Prime Minister today and I applaud his fair-mindedness and astuteness. He is definitely clear about where he is taking Barbados. And I am with him.

36. The PM’s reference to other incidents which have occurred in the parliament precincts over the years to perhaps give context to the Marshall/Estwick altercation does not wash with BU. The DLP ran a campaign to bring change to Barbados. We expect him to set the bar at the higher mark and forget what has gone before. BU applauds his intervention with the Kartel Movada nonsense but wonder why he could not have instructed people on the ground to take a position instead of waiting for his return.

37. Does anyone think that it will make any difference to Negroman if someone told him that he is misrepresenting what Owen Arthur actually said in Parliament about the Guyanese working at his house?

Negroman says “Owen Arthur as the Chief Law Maker in Barbados got up in the House of Assembly and stated that he conspired to break the laws of Barbados by hiring illegal Guyanese to build cupboards for him at his home at West Terrace,St James. The Chief Law Maker became the Chief Law Breaker and now that national disgrace wants to come talk about what message politicians are sending our young people.”

What Owen Arthur actually said was that after the job was finished, he discovered that the contractor whom he hired to do the job had employed illegal Guyanese labourers WITHOUT HIS KNOWLEDGE.

How that can be translated into Negroman’s condemnation is beyond rationality, but rationality is not what I have come to expect from Negoman.

Arthur was no saint, but I suppose that none of the other BU contributors who are willing to smear Arthur with any calumny imaginable would want to correct such an unjust accusation.

38. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Just watched the PM on the news trying to equate the quoting of correspondence from two former MPs with the alleged confrontation between Minister Estwick and Mr Dale Marshall. I had to ask, is he real!!!!

39. Uh tell yuh tings really brown when we now have to contend with half-baked bajans wanting to speak on behalf of other Bajans regarding their views on this petty political affair. lol!

Inspite of what one thinks “BU” got only one vote.

The inkwell hasn’t dried up after all. Fear not Negroman, you are not alone in your interpretation of Arthur’s original statement made in Trinidad. It is assume that it was made after a “drinking session” so um is likely to be the true version. lol!

http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=2516&dat=20030225&id=Ao01AAAAIBAJ&sjid=9iYMAAAAIBAJ&pg=1651,2987370

40. @ Inkwell
    Are you then suggesting that in the case of Prime Ministers, ignorance is a valid excuse for breaking the law?

41. The salient point, BT is that Arthur didn’t break the law, the contractor did.

42. Arthur celebrated the incident on learning about it. That much can be extracted from his sober parliamentary comments on the matter made after hisTrinidad exposition.

So, if I were so privilage as to build upond Negroman’s comments — Shouldn’t the Top Lawmaker feel a sense of duty to report the contractor to the appropiate authorities?

43. I see what you are saying Inkwell, but it sounds somewhat like the ‘innocent’ citizen who buys farm produce at a bargain price from praedial ‘contractors’.

44. Only if you can show that Arthur had prior knowledge, BT. If in fact there was a “bargain price” as you seem to be suggesting, might Arthur not have assumed that the contractor was laying the groundwork for some possible future Government contracts?

45. Thanks to David Ellis for asking the PM if he thinks an MP should be entering parliament with a gun. The PM answered that the issue is more about the parliament providing the facility to store the gun in safekeeping respecting that a gun license requires the owner to carry the gun on person at all times.

46. David wrote:

The PM’s reference to other incidents which have occurred in the parliament precincts over the years to perhaps give context to the Marshall/Estwick altercation does not wash with BU. The DLP ran a campaign to bring change to Barbados. We expect him to set the bar at the higher mark and forget what has gone before. BU applauds his intervention with the Kartel Movada nonsense but wonder why he could not have instructed people on the ground to take a position.
    ================================================================

I’m in full agreement with you on all counts.

47. @David: “The PM answered that the issue is more about the parliament providing the facility to store the gun in safekeeping respecting that a gun license requires the owner to carry the gun on person at all times.

I don’t actually know what the laws are here in Barbados, but I suspect they do *not* require the gun owner to carry their gun at all times.

I do have some experience with hand guns in another soverign domain. (For the record, projectile weapons scare the shit out of me.)

Perhaps someone could educate everyone about the actual rules about hand guns here in Barbados.

48. Alex Fergusson Avatar

Statement by Hon Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P.
    Leader of the Opposition &
    Political Leader, Barbados Labour Party
    Thursday 25 March, 2010

Reacting to Prime Minister David Thompson’s Press Conference this afternoon, Opposition Leader, Mia Mottley said she was disappointed in both the tone and approach adopted by the Prime Minister in response to questions raised by the Press on an incident that occurred last Friday between Dr. David Estwick and Barbados Labour M.P. Dale Marshall.

“It is clear that the Prime Minister has closed ranks on the question of Dr. Estwick’s conduct,” she said, “and sought to distract public attention by making the matter a partisan issue.”

“While we did not expect the Prime Minister to go into the details, since the matter is now before the Committee of Privileges, the gravity of the situation called for a mature approach, devoid of the political tit-for-tat to which the Prime Minister so readily descends when under pressure,” she said.

“It is ironic that in one breath he wants to be seen as protecting our children from negative influences by banning Vybz Kartel and Mavado, but could not give the public the assurance that he would not tolerate far more egregious behaviour from a member of his own Cabinet.”

Miss Mottley said she would be calling a Press Conference on Saturday to ventilate the incivility and intimidation that has come to characterize the Democratic Labour Party Government tenure among other issues relating to the society. She also gave notice of a Barbados Labour Party public meeting in the City on Sunday to address a wide range of issues affecting the country. – ENDS –

The above Statement to the Media – was released by the Leader of the Opposition of Barbados – The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley Q.C., M.P., late this afternoon.

49. Adrian Hinds // March 23, 2010 at 10:07 PM
    Be guided by the relationships you enjoy amongst your equals in parliament. You are the PM only as a result of them.
    ——————-
    Adrian Hinds // March 25, 2010 at 2:55 PM

Thompson speaking to David Ellis by phone
    “The Prime Minister doesn’t have any greater power, or responsibility than a Member in Parliament [or] any other member when it comes to their privileges. There is a way in which these matters have been dealt with in the past.

====================================================================================

Adrian Hinds // March 25, 2010 at 12:49 PM
    If he feels he needs a gun when on the streets from his house to parliament, where should he leave it on his arrival to work?
    —————-
    David // March 25, 2010 at 9:00 PM
    The PM answered that the issue is more about the parliament providing the facility to store the gun in safekeeping respecting that a gun license requires the owner to carry the gun on person at all times.

50. @David

Thanks to David Ellis for asking the PM if he thinks an MP should be entering parliament with a gun. The PM answered that the issue is more about the parliament providing the facility to store the gun in safekeeping respecting that a gun license requires the owner to carry the gun on person at all times.
    ===============================================================

But his first response to that question was that he didn’t know that guns are taken into parliament by MPs. I’m not sure if to believe that or not.

I would also say thanks to David Ellis for asking the PM if he doesn’t think that a member of his cabinet is under more pressure to conduct himself properly in parliament, than an MP from the Opposition would be. This was after the PM cleverly side-stepped an earlier question by saying he expected proper behaviour for ALL MPs. Ellis’ question put him on the spot to give a more direct answer as it relates to Estwick. I believe his response was that proper action has to be taken, but at this point the Speaker of the House has to carry his duties. From that question, the PM should understand that people are watching this situation closely.