Minister of Economic Affairs, Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry and Commerce
Deputy Opposition Leader and Former Attorney General Dale Marshall

The publicized incident which is alleged to have occurred on the parliament compound last Friday night has set tongues wagging near and far. It is not the norm for a fight or shall we refer to it as a disagreement to occur between our parliamentarians. What makes the report even more alarming is the realization that two of our most prominent members of parliament Minister David Estwick and Deputy Opposition Leader Dale Marshall are the actors involved.

BU understand that the rules of parliament forbids the Commissioner of Police to mount an investigation. Barbadians will have to await the action of the Speaker of the House Michael Carrington. Westminster conventions require the Speaker to investigate and act in a non-partisan manner. Any incident which involves the blandishing of a firearm in a threatening manner merits careful review.

There was a time when such an incident which we understand to have occurred between Marshall and Estwick would have been hushed-up and eventually forgotten. No such luck in a more enlightened age.

BU reserve comment for now to give the Speaker of the House a little time to consult and act.

479 responses to “Two Members Of Parliament David Estwick And Dale Marshall Go At It!”

1. I dont see how David ESTWICK can survive this. If he does decide not to fire him, Thompson will hold it over him forever and Thompson dont like he too pretty pretty neither so !———-

Take a break Doctor and see an appropriate namesake

2. Can someone really sit down before a computer and write the kind of crap that
    NEGROMAN has written above ?

Where such people live ?
    In Barbados ?

Why are such people so unfair in their comments ?

This is dangerous political posturing that could lead to a bad situation similar to that which existed in Jamaica during late 70’s.

The DLP and David Thompson must not encourage their supporters and sympathisers to go down this path.

I dont like it !

3. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

David Estwick stand yuh ground!

Resign for what!

The BLP Opposition office workers busy pon dis blog as Gadfly,Brent,Fire,Not slyvan,Royal Rumnle….. all the same people trying to make it seem like a lot of people in a big tizzy over this matter.

Waste of time,fuh real.

I notice they are not talking about dale marshall and acting as if he is purer than the driven snow.

What was his part in all of this pray tell.

Bare joke.

4. Negro Man
    You know on mopst things you and I are on the same wavelength, however on this one I think we differ. If the alleged incedent is true, i think David Estwick in decentcy, should offer his resignation and the P.M should accept it. What can happen is that he can be returned to an office after a period of suspension. Politians from both sides need to set an example to our youth; we now have a youth parliament is this how we expect them to behave? I agree Owen Arthur and the BLP did lots of foolishness both I expect better from the DLP. What mirror image do we have of ourselves? I’m patiently waiting to see how this would play out, I also guess many young people are doing the same. This modern day breed of politician need to cool their heads and I’m VERY disappointed in David Estwick if this really happened.

5. now is the time for WIV to drop some BLP bombshells…

6. I am not Estwick Avatar
    I am not Estwick

I had no sexual relations with that woman

7. There has to be limits to behaviour in Parliament

Pulling a gun ar threatening to kill or maim a person should
    result in a minister being fired.

The cussing,insults and vitriolic exchanges is part of a Democratic system of Government..

8. @Hants: “The cussing,insults and vitriolic exchanges is part of a Democratic system of Government..

What the fsck do you mean, you fscking stupid idiot?

I actually agree with you.

But there is a very clear difference between healthy heated debate, and vile condescending insults.

We exist on a *very* small sovereign island nation with a *very* small population and *very* few natural resources… In the grander scheme of things.

We should (IMHO) be trying to help each other.

But then again, I’m stupidly naive….

9. Are these the people who are supposed to make laws
    to regulate young people bad behaviour. Give me abreakkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!

10. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

PM:-Fire the man and dun wid dat!!! You wanted to do that for while!!! Show that you can cross party boundaries and hire one of the capable minds from the other side as Economic minister. It will be a first for Barbados.

11. @Christopher Halsall,

You have lived in Barbados long enough to know that we have an “incestuous” relationship between political parties.

We have parlimentarians on both sides who socialize away from the political arena.

We have cousins Owen BLP, Benn DLP.

Political party representatives “playing nice” leads to one party rule.
    Remember Owen’s “politics of inclusion” that almost gave RoyalRumble
    his wish.
    Remember Royal /Sylly G before the last election giving Owen the title
    “Father of first world Barbados and Prime Minister for LIFE”?

I like the fights in Parliament to be “nasty” but without guns and threats to kill or maim.

12. I just wish to commend those who have taken an objective view of the situation and not allow their political bias to override moral thinking. We only have to hope that the matter will be dealt with adequately and fairly by those in authority.

13. @Hants: “You have lived in Barbados long enough to know that we have an “incestuous” relationship between political parties.

Yes. But then the question becomes:

Why do we Consumers accept such bad service?

14. This too shall pass. Mr Speaker, there is no need for you to break tradition and be non-partisan as your position calls for. It has never happened. Not in the last parliament and it does not have to be now. lol!

Mr PM do not be guided by what the other sides wishes for. Be guided by the relationships you enjoy amongst your equals in parliament. You are the PM only as a result of them. Our parliament is a body focus on the concentraion of power. It is nothing more, and has been much less, often so during the last parliament. lol!

15. Negro man
    Your comments are spot on about the deceitfulness of the BLP politicians . All kinds of immoral behaviour were practiced by these politicians. A song was even written about one called wuk fa wuk. Maybe if we had some of those paparazzi journalists who exposed Tiger Woods, Barbados would be a better place today
    I think it is complete foolishness to be having a gun in parliament. I mean if you have a licence to carry a gun you cannot leave it in a car. I think you are given a gun licence if you are a responsible citizen. If you act irresponsibly then disciplinary actions have to be taken.

16. I am however disappointed that Estwick would pay any attention someone who barely won their seat.

17. Wow! I really hope there was not a gun involved. If there was and if it belongs to Dr Estwick or equally Mr Marshall why would he feel the need to walk around with a gun? It also brings into question security issues in Parliament. Can anyone walk in of the street carrying a weapon? Whoever the gun belongs to do they have a valid licence for it?

If this story is true to me its more a matter for the Police than Speaker of Assembly but I suspect it will all get hushed up. If it was the average Bajan they would be sent to Dodds on remand for the same action?

Regardless perhaps Dr. Estwick should sign up for some anger management classes or find away to calm himself down a bit. If he keeps carrying on shouting, shaking etc. he’s going to make himself ill.

Gun involved or not this type of altercation between two people, regardless of political persuasion, who are supposed to be setting an example for both adults and young people is not good. What happened to ‘Conflict Resolution’? Maybe CBC need to start airing the Conflict Resolution adverts again.

18. @Hants

I like the fights in Parliament to be “nasty” but without guns and threats to kill or maim.

the persons in that daycare centre (parliament) get on like pigs. so if they are the leaders of this country, who are we the young people to follow? i could careless about the BLP or the DLP. the fact is that Mr. Estwick’s general behavior have always been childish, and talking to others in my age group, they feel the same way. it is puzzling to see “BIG” people trying to defend or gain from what is said to have happen.

there has to be a line in the sand. if Mr. Estwick did what is say, not only should he be fired, he should be kick out from the house AND CHARGED. if Mr. Marshall is found to be telling lies, he should be kicked out from the house.

but i know, i know, i young and i’ll be told what i’ve been told before, “lil boy go in a corner” but from my corner, i’ll be watching and waiting for my time to come.

i wonder what Vybes and Movado would say to this?

19. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I have never seen a thing more desperate for power that this thing called Muttley.

What would she not do to try to screw this island again??

The first order of business if she wants to believe it is that she needs to clean up her Lesbian agenda to clean it up radically not just pretend as she does now by wearing dresses that look like bedspreads thrown over her.

20. Wishing In Vain Avatar

It seems like the BLP are in aggressive mode, I listened to Senate today where Liz Thompson said she knew nothing about awarding the contract to her husband for the removal of the Asbestos roofs but yet she still awarded it to him despite the protest from her manager at the NHC, only to have the Senator Irene Garner produce a document which according to her reading said, in it the person was writing on behalf of the Minister to instruct the manager to award the contract to her husband, what a compulsive liar this beast Liz Thompson is, she lies thru her teeth, no wonder the people relieved her of representing them with a quick farewell kick up her ass.

21. and one more thing, i just need to be clear about.

because someone did something wrong 10 years, 5 years, 15 mins ago and got away with it, does it mean if i do it 15 mins, 5 years, 10 years from now, and i would get away with it? also, and just for clarification, if that someone did something wrong, why the people who know and claim to have proof don’t do something about it so i would not think about 15 mins, 5 years, 10 years from now?

next thing i going to hear is up is down and down is up… wait a minute? i lost now…..

maybe Vybes or Movado got a sing on this… let me go listen.

22. None of the politicians in our parliament are saints and they are no role models either so let us not hold them too high.
    It is ironic that none of the governments will change the law which will allow civil servants to run for political office and retain their jobs if they are not successful. So we will be saddled with lawyers and doctors for the rest of our lives because these two professions allow them to open private practices and make a lot of money by ripping off people.
    Today Harry Husbands exposed another one of Owen Arthur’s lies in the Senate. That is he Arthur kicked the IMF out of Barbados. Harry Husbands said as part of the Barbados Employers Confederation he met with the IMF for fourteen years under Arthur at the Central to discuss the future and economic policy of Barbados.

23. Lix Thompson and the truth in one sentence is an oxymoron. How come she stop her noise about the big offshore oilfields David Thompson did not explore? Liz would make a terrific lawyer. Wait a minute she’s a lawyer. Steups! There should be a wing at Dodds jail reserved for lawyers.

24. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

YOU people can really distort and take things out of context. Harry Husbands should know that the kicking out referred to being kicked out of Government Headquarters where the IMF OFFICIAL had an office and you should know that too.

You people are something else !-so unfair !

cheese on bread
    how wunnuh does sleep at nite though !
    cheez !

25. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

I have seen a thing more desperate for power

Thumpson !
    Remember
    All he wanted , was to become PM if only for ONE (1) Term —

H H -yuh hear me
    ONE *1 TERM GOVERNMENT !
    ONE TERM !

26. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

WUK FA WUK WAS WRITTEN AND SUNG BY A DLP POLITICIAN

27. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

I AM NO BLP OFFICE WORKER
    It is amazing how some people would want to play that they are all knowing and all seeing !

I am making my comments independent of any political infkuence. I can see clearly what is going on. Barbados has how many electors that voted for the BLP in the last election ?

All of them are BLP office workers too ?

Those electors who voted BEES last election will vote BEES again and those angry DEMS that seem to be growing by the day will either stay at home or vote BEES ——–RESULT :

ONE TERM FOR THE DEES-DLP

28. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

one term for the DLP
    ONE TERM
    ONE TERM FOR THE DLP
    one term

one term
    one term
    ONE TERM
    ONE TERM
    ONE TERM FOR THE DLP
    ONE TERM

29. As a concerned citizen, I am wondering if the cause of the alleged altercation could be the massive difference between the cost of the prison as reported by the previous administration and the figure actually now attributed to the prison, construction of which was managed by Marshall???

How does one account for a difference of a few hundred million? Some ‘overrun’.

WIV said ‘what Dale Marshall and George Pain said to Dr Estwick ‘.

Unlikelt that George Payne said anything, a[[arently he has said little in Parliament for the last twelve or so years, why start now?

What a bunch of jokers.

I see the picture in the paper, of Arthur greeting Mottley with a kiss. I suppose the BLP seniors and backers asked him to make up with her, otherwise they have zero chance of much in the next election.

As for the next election, they still have little chance, as it is the same old same old group.

Payne, who said nothing for twelve years, is that representation. marshall, who built a prison and did not klnow the cost. Liz Thompson, who pumped money into a new garbage site, that can only now be used as a national park.

And some moron above wants THAT LOT to represent us again???????

30. Spotting-Prejudice Avatar
    Spotting-Prejudice

@Crusoe and any others that want to think.

Big difference between price and costs. Price is a one time thing, the costs go on and on. So the PM may be right; unfortunately he is throwing the wool over the eyes of persons who would want to take him at his word without first uncovering political flak from fact. $700 million, please? Do you think it would wait 2 years after the DLP are in office or a longer period since the prison has been opened? Sometimes I wonder, why do we bury our heads in the sand and throw our asses in the air? Perhaps Reudon Eversley or Hartley Henry may provide the answer.

31. Spotting,

Fair enough on the semantics, which is why TRANSPARENT governance including published accounting of all projects is necessary.

To tell you the truth, I am at a position that as a citizen I DEMAND a forensic of all projects for the last fifteen years, conducted by the FBI, as a fully independent body, not by these local firms with affiliations.

You might think this extreme, but enough is enough. We know nothing of costs of ANY recent major projects that have the debt situation where it is.

Does that not call for a forensic analysis, with publication of the results, not just to the PM, but cc’d to every international news body in the US, UK and Canada, our three main trading partners, simultaneously when available?

Do we have the guts to do it?

Do we have the will to do it?

Or will we hear the same ‘it is not necessary’???

B…..t!

Everything may be hun-dory, I am not alleging misdemeanour, but let us at least know the cost and get happy with how monies have been spent so that we can move forward!

Yes or no?

Have the guts?

32. Imagine Ms.Mottley, as Opposition leader, explaining to the Speaker on the alleged incident.

‘Mr.Speaker, my colleague representing St.Andrew, said nothing to Mr.Estwick. To support this, I submit that he has said nothing in these precints for the last twelve years, why would he start now?’

Loud drumming from the Opposition bench!!!

33. BU reiterates:

Any person who would pull a gun anywhere without a reason suported by the gun license merits discipline.
    When that person is a minister or deputy opposition leader they should be held to a higher account. BU will NOT back away from this position and may the chips fall whereever. Of course such a stupid action will provide political fodder for the other party but that part of it is irrelevant is it not?

It is time we stop being yardfowls and hold these people to a standard.

34. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

On another note I see a list of approved travel agents listed in today’s Advocate Newspaper and as hard as I searched it I could not find Mr Indar Weir’s Travel agency listed at the top. middle or bottom of this list of approved and legally setup and operating travel agents in Barbados.

Does this mean then that if he is not listed in this list of Government approved travel agents he can be deemed to be opearting ILLEGALLY IN BARBADOS ??

Only asking the obvious !!!

Also is it legal for a member of the Opposition to carry out a legal office and charge and collect VAT but is NOT VAT REGISTERED ???

Only asking the obvious !!!

Both of these conditions do exist and need to be rectified.

35. Arthur should be the last to talk. I was in Speightstown when he threatened a former DLP candidfate in the esplanade.But the man promised to beat the hell out of him and…”leff yuh in the gutter where yuh belong…”
    Ask Glyne Murray or Bernie Weatherhead; they were present.

36. Spotting-Prejudice Avatar
    Spotting-Prejudice

So Mr. Big littleboy, are you suggesting to all of BU that you condone wrong. Are you saying to Barbados, that as long as one entity does something and it is wrong, it automatically means that the other side has a licence to pull the trigger? Do you stand for anything based on principle? Do you stand for anything that appears right and just? Can’t you say to all and sundry, ‘look you are heading the wrong way, I cannot support wrong!’ or do you say, well yesterday was yours and today is mine to do as much wrong as I think I can get away with? Who do we want to blame, the young people? the government? our parents? Littleboy take a stand and take responsibility for what you either choose to scold and condemn, or encourage and defend. In other words, it is time to grow up Mr. Big littleboy.

37. There nttin illegal bout sticking to ya guns.

38. I heard that Mr Estwick did not brandish his gun. He moved the gun (in its holster) from being strapped to his leg, to the waistband of his trousers and opened his jacket which allowed the gun to be seen. This was done following a verbal threat from Mr Marshall.

39. Must we define ‘brandish’ now?

Do we live in the wild west that an MP would feel the need to reposition a concealed weapon from its place on the ankle to the waistline?

40. David // March 24, 2010 at 7:03 AM

BU reiterates:

Any person who would pull a gun anywhere without a reason suported by the gun license merits discipline.
    When that person is a minister or deputy opposition leader they should be held to a higher account. BU will NOT back away from this position and may the chips fall whereever. Of course such a stupid action will provide political fodder for the other party but that part of it is irrelevant is it not?

It is time we stop being yardfowls and hold these people to a standard.
    =========================================

This is all meaningless. You are asking politicians to play nice in a system that awards those who don’t.

There is no way that you or anyone could encourage me within the confines of our current system to perform an act of righteousness, which clearly benefits my advisories; no way!

I can clearly recall Owen Arthur in a drunken stupor taking credit for causing the successful no confidence vote in Sandiford and the subsequent DLP election loss, and there was laughter all around. What Yardfowlism what?

PM tell Owen Arthur to carry is a2s and his opinions on what you should do on this petty issue.

41. mash up & buy back // March 23, 2010 at 6:09 PM

David Estwick stand yuh ground!

Resign for what!

The BLP Opposition office workers busy pon dis blog as Gadfly,Brent,Fire,Not slyvan,Royal Rumnle….. all the same people trying to make it seem like a lot of people in a big tizzy over this matter.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Are we really dealing with the issues that are affecting our island Barbados; or we engaging in a battle of words and getting personal.

You mentioned five BLP operatives, but how about WIV being Carol, Sylvan, Anonymous, Something(s) Happening and other fictitious names all in one. How about known operatives like Hants, Adrian Hinds, Mash Up and Buy Back and a host of writers who shift from the issues.

Come on all. We are talking about the wayward behaviour of our kids, but do we look in the mirror and ask yourself this question….Is my behaviour a reflection of the same youth I am accusing?

All politicians need to set a positive example for ALL PEOPLE to follow, we need to talk and stop the shouting, we need to start performing and stop the acting and shifting blame, we need to be real men and women and show the outside word that our parliamentary system and democratic rights are of the highest standards or just like my friend in the PDC keeps preaching…..
    “Down with the damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!”

42. @Tell me why
    Is it not unfair that you can call my name and I can’t call yours?

What is an operative? how do you define it? Do I meet the defines of the word operative? Where is your proof?

It is clear why you cannot use your real name.

“WE” do not need to do anything “I” as “you” need to take care of your sphere of control. The collective “WE” would theN manifest itself.

43. Prime Minister Thompson has commented on the matter in a telephone interview with VOB and promised to address the issue after the Cabinet meeting on Thursday.

44. David // March 24, 2010 at 9:42 AM

Prime Minister Thompson has commented on the matter in a telephone interview with VOB and promised to address the issue after the Cabinet meeting on Thursday.
    ————————————————————————-

Mr PM here is what can occur if you seek to be righteous in your exaltations to the apeasment of amoral drunks and the perverse.

http://www.youtube.com/user/Rumshoplime?feature=mhw4#p/u/9/uwbIJ-ZE06E

45. David // March 24, 2010 at 9:18 AM

Must we define ‘brandish’ now?

Do we live in the wild west that an MP would feel the need to reposition a concealed weapon from its place on the ankle to the waistline?
    —————————————————————————-
    Really! You should yourself ponder the very question you asked. We do live in the wild west. Maybe you meant to ask if we live in the wild wild west. lol! They had guns back then we have guns today. Why? Maybe the world for all that we have heard, is still a very dangerous place.

46. @Adrian

If Thompson deals with this situation in the wrong way, he will pay the price for it at the next polls…and as it stands right now he doesn’t have a whole lot going in his favour.

You seem to be advising that Thompson should get into some silly verbal confrontation with Arthur over the issue of whether Estwick should go or not. What Thompson needs to concern himself with is how the Barbadian people are viewing this situation, and what do they expect from him as the leader of this country. It is in his best interest, and the interest of his party, that he portray an image of integrity, decency, and trustworthiness. In other words he needs to do what is right, even if it coincides with what the opposition is asking for.

The Opposition also needs to do what is right if Dale Marshall did make threats that can be considered inappropriate, but that responsibility lies with the BLP, and they will also be judged on that by the voters. Regardless of what wrongs may have been done in years past by members of the BLP, as David(BU) said, it is now high time that we (the people) hold them all politicians to high standards. It is time for a change.

I’m 100% in agreement with you that we need to hold our political leaders to higher standards. We complain about the bad behaviour among the youth today, and it is time that those at the top are asked to lead the way.

I’m one who enjoys a good hot debate on real issues, but much too often in Parliament things start to get ugly and personal. And human nature is such that when one person gets nasty, the other tends to go even further.

47. Atman // March 24, 2010 at 11:14 AM

@Adrian

If Thompson deals with this situation in the wrong way, he will pay the price for it at the next polls…and as it stands right now he doesn’t have a whole lot going in his favour.

————————————————————————–
    Don’t agree. Thompson himself will not in St.John. Estwick himself will not in St.Phillip. Where and how in an election will Thompson pay a price?

Did Mia pay a price at the polls for her views on condoms in our prison and the ensuing Homo debate? no she did not.

You really think that this issue will be foremost in the minds of Barbadians by the end of April 2010? Not me.

Come 2013 jobs, the economy, and to a lesser extent immigration, and FOI will be the tools with which the majority Ba jan electors are likely to use to judge the Governing party.

48. “Down with the damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!”

49. You all does cuss and carry on in the rumshops across the Island and now want to deny the poltical class from doing the same in the Island leading rumshop. lol!

50. Brother Scout
    Nice to hear from you,I hope everything is well with you & your family.I stated Minister Estwick alleged action if true is reprehensible and action ought to be taken against him by the Prime Minister.I do not think,however our Prime Minister must take cues from our discredited former Prime Minister Owen Arthur or the present opposition leader Mia Mottley who is equally as discredited as Owen Arthur on how to discipline Dr. Estwick.

It is amazing this issue is being look at from one angle and no one is seeking to find out the part that little,cocky,pompous wimp Dale Marshall played in the incident. I agreed with Mash Up & Buy Back. that no one is questioning Dale Marshall involvement in the damn incident.My very reliable sources indicated that Dale Marshall got very personal and and delve into the private life of Dr Estwick.and made some very disparaging remarks about him & his family.Tell me when any of us or our families are under attack,all of us would respond in manner to protect our love ones and ourselves.I am not supporting the view that because some one might be a public figure that personal attacks on them or their families must go unchallenged.Everyone has the right to defend their dignity and integrity.I would state it here very clearly.If anyone had to attack my family or me personally,I would defend my family & myself with last drop of my blood.Public officers are human beings too with real feelings and if those feelings are crushed,the individual has all rights to defend himself in any manner he deems appropriate.

Those without sins cast the first stone.

Dr Estwick stay strong,stay focus and be prepared to accept whatever action is taken against you.I am not ashamed of your alleged actions and maybe if I was in a similar position I might have reacted the same way.

There are times when a person must walk away and there are times when a person must stand up & fight.