Minister of Economic Affairs, Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry and Commerce
Deputy Opposition Leader and Former Attorney General Dale Marshall

The publicized incident which is alleged to have occurred on the parliament compound last Friday night has set tongues wagging near and far. It is not the norm for a fight or shall we refer to it as a disagreement to occur between our parliamentarians. What makes the report even more alarming is the realization that two of our most prominent members of parliament Minister David Estwick and Deputy Opposition Leader Dale Marshall are the actors involved.

BU understand that the rules of parliament forbids the Commissioner of Police to mount an investigation. Barbadians will have to await the action of the Speaker of the House Michael Carrington. Westminster conventions require the Speaker to investigate and act in a non-partisan manner. Any incident which involves the blandishing of a firearm in a threatening manner merits careful review.

There was a time when such an incident which we understand to have occurred between Marshall and Estwick would have been hushed-up and eventually forgotten. No such luck in a more enlightened age.

BU reserve comment for now to give the Speaker of the House a little time to consult and act.

479 responses to “Two Members Of Parliament David Estwick And Dale Marshall Go At It!”

1. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Minister Estwick must resign as MP.

2. I noticed that David Ellis,VOB and the Nation newspaper flaging this for all its worth.

Isn’t it amazing that david ellis and VOB under the Arthur administration would not DARE say one word of the numerous allegations against any member of the BLP party on air on in their newspaper,but once the DLP comes into power Starcom knows that they will not be paying out thousands of dollars in lawsuits because the DLP politicians are not as vindictive and thin skinned as the BLP,so Starcom has suddenly found its voice.

Damn hypocrites.

Dale Marshall met his match in David Eswick.

I hope the speaker treat it as what it is;parliamentary squabbles which happen all the time.

I noticed that some persons are not giving Estwick the benefit of the doubt in this because he is usually very boisterous and passionate when he speaks but it does take 2 to tango doesn’t it?

What role did dale marshall play in this whole affair?

3. stinking lies the BLP spreading. the bitches are desperate. they looking for anything to discredit the DLP. the truth going come out and it going look nasty, nasty for the BLP.

4. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

HH

Why don’t you tell us the truth!!!!

5. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Here we go making a mountain out of a mould hill, who knows what took place or what Dale Marshall and George Pain said to Dr Estwick or what Dr Estwick said to them ???

I am hearing that Marshall was heard to say that he would shoot Dr Estwick if this is indeed true he is lucky it was not taken as a serious threat and he dealt with accordingly.

Please remember where you heard and where you saw this story in the BLP rag The Nation and VOB, do I need to say more ?

I bet the Advocate has not reported on something that they can’t prove happened!!!

6. Its very suspicious when Wishing in Vain asks “who knows what took place” and claims not to have the details.

7. What matters here is what is right or wrong.

The DLP ran an election platform on change and FOI therefore if Estwick is at fault he needs to be jetisson and so too Marshall for that matter.

It doesn’t matter what the BLP did while in office. If as people we continue to support foolishness based on partisan political positions we deserve all that we get from our politicians.

@WIV

This morning on another blog BU asked you to clarify this matter of the gun in parliament and you denied knowing anything a short time later you seem willing to volunteer info. Hopefully the PM is back from Mexico and will deal with this matter the correct way. We are all watching!

8. Dear Wishing in Vain you wrote “Here we go making a mountain out of a mould hill”

It is mole-hill. A mole is a little creature which lives in the ground and when he burrows he makes little hills of dirt (or mould). When the mole-hills are compared with say Mount Everest they are tiny inconsequential things, hence the saying “do not make a mountain out of a mole-hill” or don’t make a big deal out of a tiny inconsequential thing.

Don’t thank me.

Thank my teacher.

Let us big up all the teacher men and teacher women today.

9. So wait!!! I didn’ hear all the news.

Wha’ happen?

One fella threaten to shoot de other fella?

And de other fella pull ‘e gun?

Wait!! MP’s allowed to take their pieces to the honourable House?”

Members of the public can take thiers there too?

10. David wrote “It doesn’t matter what the BLP did while in office. If as people we continue to support foolishness based on partisan political positions we deserve all that we get from our politicians.”

Dear David: I enjoy giving you a hard time, but this time I give you 100% for the sentence which I have just quoted above.

11. David, what this has to do with FOI? Just for my information? Are the two members to come to the public and give evidence? Would that be FOI?

What did they do when Owen Arthur threw a chair at Joseph Payne and hit Wes Hall’s shoulder? Just because Joseph Payne told the House that Arthur, in a drunken stupor, beat his father with a pig-tail bucket?

The most that made in the Nation was Pudding and Souse!

Should Mia confess to biting?

Or Owen to adultery?

David Thompson got nuff work to do!

12. Cheeze on bread Carol. Joe dead. He father dead. Owen father near dead. Wuh you trying to raise de dead for? Let the old men rest in peace.

But beating ya daddy ain’t nice.

Drunk ain’t nice neither.

13. Update :

Dale Marshall has tendered his resignation.

He claimed Mia Mottley did not come to his aid while he was attacked.

Mia, retorted, that his jewels seemed intact.

What a BLP group !

14. Lol

What about Sylvan Greenidge cussing the waitress in the Dining Room because she wouldn’t serve Liz Thompson immediately?

The Nation didnt carry that story!

15. “Mia, retorted, that his jewels seemed intact.”

If Mia said this she is as funny as hell.

It got me
    ROFLOL

16. One thing with we Bajans. We can find a funny bone in the most dire situations. So, Dale done fuh trut? He in do nutting for St. Joseph but share out corn beef and biscuits. It is bout time dem people down dere change parties.

17. Was it a verbal dust up or a punch up? Were any weapons involved? Was any blood spilled? We all want to know. Not since the days when Liz threatened to chastise Thompson with a Collins over Greenland have we heard about any of our politicians close to any physical altercations.

I gotta say the Nation’s picture of Estwick was certainly unflattering, one certainly knows whose corner they are in.

Let’s hope cooler heads prevail or we may end up like this

18. All of these Dems that talking about lies the BLP telling should really take stock and deliver the 100 days promises and reducing the Cost Of Living!!!

Estwaick is a disgusting man and he needs to go!!!! No matter what was said, that is no reason to be brandishing a gun!

19. Let me set the record straight, Mr. Dale Marshall has not tendered his resignation from the Parliament or the Barbados Labour Party as was purported by ‘Anonymous.’

I think that these reckless statements should be striken from this page by the administrator.

20. All dese poiticians is friends and buddies but pun a serious, pulling a gun pun a man int nuttin funny.

I hear that Thompson coming back soon lol. and that he talk to Stuart…another reshuffle on de way.. wid some cuts…lol. Estwick gone!

Well well well looka what we parliament come to.

21. @ Anonymous // March 22, 2010 at 7:58 PM
    @ Wishing In Vain // March 22, 2010 at 8:50 PM

Well said!…. i don’t need to say anything now.

22. @ B-involved // March 22, 2010 at 11:47 PM

Who said the man had a gun?… you are here to start up trouble.

23. @ True Bajan:

I was in Parliament when the incident occrred!!!!

24. Seems like we have our locally raised Movado And Vybz Kartel in the House. Gun men as Ministers! WOW! An indication of the path this country is going down.

25. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Anyone see the speakers comments in the nation today on the incident?

26. Sylvan Greenidge Avatar
    Sylvan Greenidge

David and the BU family I ask that you hold a little while, the truth to this matter is coming and when this truth comes it will be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. So help me God.

The question is how will the DLP deal with it in light of all that they have benn saying about the school children, crime and violence, building society and economic structures?

We are in interesting times. The DLP is in serious trouble with the electorate and we are seeing the signs of their desparation.

27. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

We are in interesting times. The DLP is in serious trouble with the electorate and we are seeing the signs of their desparation.

Parro, you really mean the BLP are in most serious trouble indeed they are still trying to find out if they being led by a Man or a Woman.

28. Why should the speaker be surprise that the incident is being reported? For too long under the guise of sub judice bullshit prominent people in Barbados have played this card to their advantage; no more!

@WIV

You know that kind of politics will not wash in BU. Wheel and come again.

29. My Name Is Not Sylvan.... Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan….

WIV will do his usual tactic of trying to distract people….

Carol is a new one…..

So far she has manufactured stories of people being shot in cabinet meetings, chairs being thrown….. all to distract people from the great train wreck of the DLP.

Neither she nor WIV (co incidentally, their style of argument is almost identical) is dealing with facts, I suppose there is nothing new in that.

30. Thank God we, the ordinary folk, have blogs on which to air our concerns. The traditional Press is too timid and thinks only about maximising the profits to be gained from advertising. This is true of the Nation and especially the Barbados Advocate which is run by an unlettered individual.
    Why should be the Speaker of the House of Assembly be surprised that the incident has been reported in the Press albeit in a rather obscure manner. There was no mention of the brandishing of a gun by an honourable member of parliament. It has taken this blog to raise this aspect of the incident. Sorry, but you cannot hide anything in Barbados anymore. All credit to this blog.
    At a time when Freundel Stuart is claiming that the behaviour of school children on the PSVs is posing a threat to public security one of his senior members of the cabinet is threatening a member of the opposition with a gun. Poor boys from New Orleans is sent to prison for the mere possession of a gun and one bullet.
    Small wonder that the school children are in revolt. They are not stupid, they are aware that we the senior members of society are hypocrites.
    They notice that a government continues to appoint “religious buffoons” to our Upper Chamber of Parliament. These mercenaries continue to exploit the insecurities and frustrations of poor working class people. For example, while Senator David Durant lives in a mansion in Fortesque, St Philip, many of his church members do not even enjoy the comfort of indoor plumbing at their homes. He needs a productive job, but then he is the Attorney General’s friend.
    I am suggesting that members of the opposition stay away from parliament until either the speaker or Prime Minister David Thompson reins in David Estwick.

31. @David,

I too am concerned that the Speaker should express surprise that the incident was reported in the press. Why is this surprising to him? Is he suggesting that it should not have been reported?

Has anyone seen any mention of the incident in “Barbados Today”? They usually have more details than the print media.

32. I think that all politician both the DLP and BLP need to see that this constant strife, which they are taking to another level, as our “”leaders” is UNACCEPTABLE. If we are to be guided by their actions when mary, jane or Nancy come and tells me something offensive to me i will pull a weapon and retaliate and when the police come i will say BUT the politicians doing it so I figure it must be right…………. COME ON NOW!

33. @Concerned:
    Westminster supports and ecourage the “constant strife” parliamentary reform is needed.

34. BRAIN POWER (BP) Avatar
    BRAIN POWER (BP)

Well (BP) does not comment on matters
    political but there was a well circulated audio recording of Estwick’s shouting and barking sometime ago and one is concerned about the way this man has been acting. I believe he has a problem with David Thompson and the way he has been treated by Thompson. I think that is bothering David.

I expect him to be fired by Thompson because Thompson seems not to be in his corner

35. How can our children be any better when the leaders of this country act like this God help us all

36. Well I guess we will all have to think twice when we see statements like “honourable” member. Makes one wonder where the honour is to be found these days! Maybe it is high time we drop all this “honourable” crap and just say…..”the representative for such and such a constituency”.

37. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Any honourable member who did what the minister is “alleged” to have done would resign!!

38. Political strategy dictates that whichever side takes a hit an attempt will be made for the other side to take a hit as well. It is times like now the DLP may think there is advantage to having a political strategist on board.

39. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

If there was an altercation it means both were involved. If Estwick pull a gun then he should be fired as a Minister. Anyone who shows such a lack of judgment and control should have their ministerial responsibility removed. if Marshall said or did anything which provoked the response then he should be suspended from the house for an appropriate time. If both were involved then punishment for both.

40. ROM // March 23, 2010 at 11:56 AM

How can our children be any better when the leaders of this country act like this God help us all
    ————————————————————————
    Do as I say and not as I do is a best practice of us all. Children look at their parents first.

41. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

”””’FIRE””” DAVID ESTWICK NOW !

”””’FIRE””” DAVID THOMPSON AFTER !

”””FIRE””” THE DLP EVENTUALLY

42. I am not surprised that the Speaker is surprised that the gun – play in the House last Friday has made it to the press.

He did not express surprise when the press received information out of the same House when Sylvan Greenidge was sent out. On that occasion the intention was to embarrass Mr. Greenidge and for what? Lashley is convinced that it is Mr. Greenidge that put the information on this blog that he stole the Credit Union’s money. But that matter was in the newspaper – Mr. Greenidge did not have to put that on the blog for the public to find out.

Every dog has his day and now it is Estwick’s day and so the Speaker steps in an attempt to save him but the electorate will have none of this. In the same way that the Prime Minister has opened, according to him, ILaro Court for the people to traverse then why not open Parliament for public scrutiny. After all is it not this Prime Minister who told the electorate that he would be running a Government base on freedom of information and accountability?

This Government now has a prime opportunity to tell the people the truth on the matter between Estwick and Marshall.

43. Something(s) Happening Avatar
    Something(s) Happening

Donald Duck, Esq // March 23, 2010 at 12:38 PM

Any honourable member who did what the minister is “alleged” to have done would resign!!

Donald…only a big gut BLP pimp like you would say that !

Why you did not advocate the same when Liz Thompson brandish a new brand collins/cutlass in a public place on a public road while on a BLP political platform.

You really think you BLP yardfowls can spin this one ?

44. “””FIRE”””””” fire

45. I now have in my possession, verbatim, the matter that occurred in the House on Friday. I am making one final check on a small matter before I put my post on the blog. Stay tune BU family.

46. Royalrumble // March 23, 2010 at 2:04 PM

I now have in my possession, verbatim, the matter that occurred in the House on Friday. I am making one final check on a small matter before I put my post on the blog. Stay tune BU family
    While you are on it…..get the one for the Liz Thompson brandishing of a collins so we can really tell if our politicians do the things they are accused of.

47. My Name Is Not Sylvan.... Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan….

here they go again…..

Liz and the collins…

“The Blade” speech….

There is a vast difference between someone using a collins as a prop in a speech and someone brandishing a gun in a heated argument in what is the highest decision making forum in the land.

Yes Liz displayed poor judgment in the collins incident (which she apologised for), but she never threatened anybody. She never brandished the collins at an individual who might have felt that they were in immediate peril from it. She wasn’t in parliament when she made the speech. There are no points for comparison between that incident and the one being discussed on the blogs.

It is yet another irrelevant comparison to try to distract people from the facts.

48. @All…

If I may please share…

I currently have guests here from Trinidad. One of them would like to drive while here. Legally.

So we spent 20 minutes driving to the Oistins Licensing Department Office so he could get a Visitor’s Permit, since you can no longer get them from Police Stations.

Teller: “Oh, sorry… You usually can get the short-term permits [two months] here, but we’re out of the books. You’ll have to go up to our head office at the Pine.

Customer: “What are the options?

Teller: “Well, a short-term is $10, but we can only currently provide a one year. That’s $100.

Customer: “It doesn’t make much sense for me to pay $100 for a week, when I can do it for $10.

This actually happened.

Now, for the record, the teller was very professional, and we were in-and-out in five minutes. I hold nothing against him.

But now the two of us have to spend another hour tomorrow driving up to the Pine.

So from this, then, may I please ask:

While the politicians play these (alleged) games, who’s looking after (and accountable for) the proper running of the “house”?

49. Does it matter any, where a gun is brandish in the manner that it is alleged to have been done? It is wrong no matter the location.

This Speaker is no different than the last one in the last parliament regarding activities within the chamber making their way to newspapers. It is the tradition that such not take place.

Now I am not going to lift a finger to help him nor the parliament in the regard. lol!

Also let me add that if Eswick’s axing as a minister is to the political benefit of the opposition and nothing more, were I the speaker I would do as the previous Speaker in the previous parliament and rule in favour of my party. Westminster bajan style is such a joke. lol!

50. If what I am hearing actually occurred,I believe Minister Estwick acted stupidly and ought to be discipline for it.However,the call from the discredited Barbados Labour Party for his removal from cabinet is totally irrelevant .

The Barbados Labour Party and former Prime Minister Owen Arthur are in no position whatsoever to talk about discipline,morality,decency and things of that nature.When I hear Owen Arthur speaks about discipline,morality or decency,I get nauseous.I cannot believe that the same Owen Arthur who slept with his secretary who is now his wife and made her pregnant while still being married to his former wife Beverley could come and try to chastise David Estwick.I cannot believe this is the same Owen Arthur when he was Prime Minister got into his office almost daily and cussed worst than a pirate.I cannot believe this is the same Owen Arthur who wanted to fire an accountant in the Prime Minister Office a couple years ago because that individual was a bit tardy in dealing with the paper work regarding the Lexus jeep Arthur bought at that period time.Owen Arthur asked for that particular gentleman to be dismissed immediately from the government service and that was not done because the same individual had many years in the service and was an appointed officer.Owen Arthur & the Barbados Labour Party cannot talk anything about indiscipline because that party was the most indiscipline ,corrupt bunch of bandits that was ever an elected government of Barbados.

I cannot understand the point of trying to link Estwick’s behavior to the behavior of our young people today by the same discredited Barbados labour Party The young people behavior did not started after January 15,2008.The behavior of our young people was a problem for many years The deceit & hypocrisy in this society is so deep rooted that it has become endemic in this society.Owen Arthur,Mia Motley & members of the Barbados Labour Party crying out at the behavior of our young people.Give me a damn break

Owen Arthur & company were the government of Barbados for fourteen years and what did his government do to curtail the negative behavior of our young people nothing,nothing at all.Under his reign Minibuses & ZR vans ran afoul of the traffic laws in Barbados.All types of immoral acts took place on mini buses & ZR vans and the government at that time refused to clamp down on the nonsense the mini buses & ZR vans were doing.Owen Arthur & his government never implement one piece of legislation to curtail the nonsense.Owen Arthur never passed one piece of legislation to help assist the young people of Barbados.His government never inspire hope in our young people.Owen Arthur show me one piece of legislation your government introduced to assist the young people of Barbados.The linkage between Estwick behavior and the behavior of our young people is hogwash.

If Minister Estwick actually behaved in that manner,the most decent thing for him to do is to apologize & offer his resignation to the Prime Minister.His behavior is reprehensible and he should be disciplined for it.The degree of discipline should be determined by the Prime Minister.