Minister of Economic Affairs, Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry and Commerce
Deputy Opposition Leader and Former Attorney General Dale Marshall

The publicized incident which is alleged to have occurred on the parliament compound last Friday night has set tongues wagging near and far. It is not the norm for a fight or shall we refer to it as a disagreement to occur between our parliamentarians. What makes the report even more alarming is the realization that two of our most prominent members of parliament Minister David Estwick and Deputy Opposition Leader Dale Marshall are the actors involved.

BU understand that the rules of parliament forbids the Commissioner of Police to mount an investigation. Barbadians will have to await the action of the Speaker of the House Michael Carrington. Westminster conventions require the Speaker to investigate and act in a non-partisan manner. Any incident which involves the blandishing of a firearm in a threatening manner merits careful review.

There was a time when such an incident which we understand to have occurred between Marshall and Estwick would have been hushed-up and eventually forgotten. No such luck in a more enlightened age.

BU reserve comment for now to give the Speaker of the House a little time to consult and act.

479 responses to “Two Members Of Parliament David Estwick And Dale Marshall Go At It!”

1. Adrian wrote:

Don’t agree. Thompson himself will not in St.John. Estwick himself will not in St.Phillip. Where and how in an election will Thompson pay a price?

Did Mia pay a price at the polls for her views on condoms in our prison and the ensuing Homo debate? no she did not.

===============================================================

Adrian, you are so silly and naive sometimes that it is unbelievable. I’m not talking merely speaking constituency politics, I’m speaking of leading the country. Mia won her seat and Owen won his seat, but which party is leading the country right now Adrian? Thompson may never lose in St. John, but he sure as hell could lose the government and end back up as leader of the Opposition. Sometimes I really expect better of you Adrian, but then I to question myself as to why.

2. Hear hear Negroman. I would uh cuff Marshall in he big mout, but given Estwick stature compared to that of Marshall I can empthatise with his response. Still sad though that he allowed this near election loser to riled him so.

Inspite of how Marshall sees himself, his constituents were intent on not sending him back to parliament. Estwick well the election result speaks for itself. lol!

3. Say what you mean. You have a well develop habit of saying things that only has one meaning, which turns out not to be what you intended. lol!

You said what you said. I interpret it correctly. Was there another meaning?

I guess there was
    So you really believe that voters across Barbados in their various constituencies would singularly place their x for the BLP in sufficient numbers to record individual defeats for the DLP on this issue? If you do I have to ask “what worth is belief?”

Lets place bets, this issue will be dead by the end of April, AND certainly not viable political fodder in 2013. lol!

4. @Adrian

You all does cuss and carry on in the rumshops across the Island and now want to deny the poltical class from doing the same in the Island leading rumshop. lol!
    ==============================================================

As usual you have nothing positive and uplifting to say Barbados because you up there in Boston USA believing that you are residing in heaven. It’s just sad that a person like yourself who proclaim to be intelligent and well educated always display such a lame mentality.

5. @Adrian

Let me ask you a very simple question and see if you can handle it. If you are PM, and made some mistakes that caught national attention, and your party lost the next election even though you retained your constituency seat, wouldn’t you say that you have paid the price because of your mistakes??

When I say “pay the price”, it would have to be a very shortsighted person who would think I mean at the constituency level. I know yuh went school at Richmonds man, but this is ridiculous.

6. Let the record reflect that as the allegations suggest that Marshall trouble Estwick first, one Atman has troubled me first.

I am more of an asset to Barbados than any gutter rat of Guyanese extract can be. Such persons can never be more bajan than I. lol!

….I have never claimed to be intelligent or educated. Indeed I am not. All I know is that know very little.

No one on this blog can ever recall me making statements about intelligense or being educated. Such would be false. Ask GP and others. lol!

7. Atman // March 24, 2010 at 12:30 PM

@Adrian

Let me ask you a very simple question and see if you can handle it. If you are PM, and made some mistakes that caught national attention, and your party lost the next election even though you retained your constituency seat, wouldn’t you say that you have paid the price because of your mistakes??

When I say “pay the price”, it would have to be a very shortsighted person who would think I mean at the constituency level. I know yuh went school at Richmonds man, but this is ridiculous.
    ————————————————————————–
    And what real situation would you be seeking to apply this pie-in-the-sky I just pull this from hat scenario too? lol!

Anyways let me play along with you.
    No I would not say that. Elections are contest. You either win or lose (first past the post). If I won my seat, how could you say that I paid for my mistakes?

It would not even be accurate to say that I lost the PrimeMinistership on due to the elecotorates perception of my mistakes as PM.

The elecorate does not elect or select the PM. Only if the House conducted a successful no confidence vote in my stewardship as PM can it be accurately stated that I paid for my mistakes as PM. LOL!

Who send you to attack me today Atman? lol!

8. @Adrian

Let the record reflect that as the allegations suggest that Marshall trouble Estwick first, one Atman has troubled me first.

I am more of an asset to Barbados than any gutter rat of Guyanese extract can be. Such persons can never be more bajan than I. lol!

….I have never claimed to be intelligent or educated. Indeed I am not. All I know is that know very little.

No one on this blog can ever recall me making statements about intelligense or being educated. Such would be false. Ask GP and others. lol!
    ================================================================

Well I’m a born bajan, and my father was a born bajan, but guess what? I don’t think that blood lineage has a whole lot to do with true love of country. There’re probably people in Egypt who are more bajan at heart than you are..ha ha ha.

The folks at this blog probably don’t know you half as well as I do, and you know that. Long before I ever visited this blog I came into contact with you at your blog and observed you very well…and we have a history of heated debates in which you digress to name calling and nasty insults. It’s just part of your nature that I have become accustomed to.

9. @Adrian

Ok Adrian, voters decide who to vote on in their constituency representative by going “eenie, meenie, mynee, moe”. Let me educate you on something Adrian, there are hardcore BLP supporters who will do nothing else but support their BLP rep, and there are hardcore DLP supporters who will do nothing else but support their DLP rep, and then they are a growing number of intellectual people who are swing voters. It is this latter group that in these days decide which party will end up victorious in constituencies where there is no real stronghold by either party.

That fact of the matter is that poor decisions (mistakes, lack of action) by an incumbent government, can result in a shift in those constituencies that are not strongholds for either party.

You remind me of some rumshop friends of mine in St. John. They tell me that if I vote against Thompson I would be wasting my vote because he will always be a sure winner in St. John, but I say to them that if I vote against Thompson and the BLP wins the government, then I voted for a winner because I voted for the outcome that I wanted. They had nothing else to say on the subject.

10. As Barbadians “wait and see” how the PM and the Speaker of the House deal with the brandishing of a gun in our “Honourable” House of Assembly there is another matter, this time for the Police that, in my opinion begs consideration. It is the matter of the issuing of gun licences.

Clearly the incident in the House on Friday begs the question how do you recall gun licences from persons who have demonstrated irresponsible conduct in the use of such weapons. It is my view that the manner in which the firearm was used in the incident on Friday is grossly irresponsible and the licence should be revoked forthwith.

11. @ negroman
    Protecting his family ? u r truly an idiot, and a ripe one too. How de hell would dale marshall be threatening his family in parliment that he has to pull a gun, or repsition it or whatever, how adolescent , “lololol remember primary school? tell me sumtig bout my mudda” stupse, as someone here say already i cant beleive idgits like u still stirring,

Anyhew, how people gine talk bout de gully and de gaza, and how movado and cartel influence kids and dey in de parliment pulling guns pun each udda, furthermore tell me (i like estwick for the record) how can u say that estwick has any legs to stand on in this matter STPUSE DE MAN DED FACKIN RONG !

Question is not how daid gine react, ut how estwick gine react ow, man up and tender a resignation ?

Furthermore all de shit dat marshall say bout de man is ridiculous, he went toooooooo far, u see that is we problem bout here, dese men can stop i de house and cuss and shoot and chop at each udda, but as de 2 likkle children fight at de bus stop we gine kill dem, ban de zrs and movado/cartel show, tell dah ingrant unconnected man dat is de comisioner look into dat.

WHAT CAN WE TELL A LITTLE BOY NOW ? IF SOMEBODY INSULT U AT SCHOOL, SHOOT HE ! AND SHOOT HE DED TOO !

This ain no blp /dlp ting dat dese asses on here trying o mek it into, dis is a direct representation of what our society has become, from de heights to de terraces to de ghetto to de house of assss embly.

ps. i wonder who estwick and marshall representing ? de gaza or de gully ? lolololol

Nuh gun nah pull pun de gaza !
    nuh sword nah pull pun de gaza !
    we nah tek nuh talk pun de gaza !
    oops, dis ain de gaza dis de house !

shame on u all ! de gunners de gunnees and de idiots that supporting dis foolishness

12. @Adrian

Now if you don’t think that the BLP lost the last election because of mistakes, mismanagement, and bad publicity, then you living on another planet. Owne and Mia did pay the price for those things even though they won their respective seats.

When you get and shoot off your mouth without thinking, you make yourself look really silly. You told somebody that you are not afraid to use your real name, but the fact of the matter is that your name means absoluetly nothing in the context of Barbados, and you have nothing to lose because you don’t even visit Barbados…far less live and work here.

13. Negroman are you saying that anytime someone verbally attacks you then you should draw your gun?

So when Thompson made those nasty remarks about Cynthia Forde in the Estimates debates she should have reached for her gun – I f she had one?

Look fellows stop the blasted foolishness of trying to justify ignorant, stupid irresponsible behaviour. Parliament is no place for a gun or for that kind of madman behaviour. If you can condone this then clearly our young people are not in crisis as the same Government is trying to portray.

Thompy says he building a society. For sake man what kind of society is he building?

Anyhow of am still holding an actual transcript of the incident.

14. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

The funny thing about it is that the economy was good when Mia allegedly did what you said she did.

Now the economy is bad and the DLP cant seem to handle it.

People will react differently to similar things based on their economic situation and the overall situation: if it is good people might overlook it but when people are looking for something to ‘pick’ at, they would pick on any such thing.

“We are not perfect” —-David Ellis –just now on the radio
    He is correct and correct is right !

15. @ Fire

agreed brotha, when de bees in power de dees saying dem cant handle it, when de dees in power, no everyting is dem fault…. i wonder if dey tink we stupid !

I agree nobody ain perfect and we got to rally together to weather these crisises we r facing globally not pull each other down.
    Yah know some idiot gine comment and say ” dis ain a perfect world” and to that i will say agreed. but idiots like u all mekkin it wuss !

the next ting i gine do is vote for dem men in de PEP see if dem could “change” tings lololololol..(may get a cheap pair of socks den lololol) dat was not nice lololol.

I SICK OF DIS PARTISAN POLI-NICKPICKING TRICKY DICKY SHITE

16. Atman! Why would want to give people the impression that we know each other? There isn’t anything to gain from doing such. Lol! I have never met you and never will. I have never seen you live and direct, or you I, and never will. You know nothing of me and I of you.

If the Guyanese extract ting fits you, it is by pure coincidence. lol!

All that you have said only proves my response to your “simple” question. Again more proof that you say thing that have one meaning that isn’t what you intended. lol!

The folks in St.John are still correct on your vote. It was wasted. Your BLP vote in a constituency that was won by the DLP were not added to those that were counted in other constituencies that were won by the BLP, even as they went on to win the most constituencies. lol!

Wherever I am, I am constantly working in the interest of my beloved Barbados, and while it pleases me that my efforts are to benefit of us all, it pains me that I cannot exclude you somehow. lol!

17. @Islander

==========================================================

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha…you is a riot. I sick of it too.

18. Atman // March 24, 2010 at 2:24 PM

@Islander

==========================================================

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha…you is a riot. I sick of it too.

————————————————————————-
    Both of you are liars or you have a morbid love of things that ails you.
    Why are you still here reading the “Poli-Nickpicking tricky dicky shite?”

19. @Adrian Who ? ohhh Adrian Hinds , esquire, MP , QC , BC ( dat stand for Big C–t) damn know it all johnny come lately.

unluckily for u (lucky for me) I can recognize an imbecile when i see one and thus as u would do with a silly child or a dumb ass(thats’s basicly u) i can ignore u ! what a dumb statement.

its people like u that stand in the way of change and perpetuate the foolishness, however enuff said to u, “if u was a manger , u wud be bird pick” u is a bajan rite ? hope u understand dat.

20. @ Atman

Why are you bothering with that obsessive Adrian Hinds? I see him all over Prime Minister Thompson facebook page playing intellectual.

21. ah ha morbidity for things that ails you it is.

Yes I am a bajan so noted by lineage as far back as record keeping in Buhbados goes, and in addition to what appears on various documents I have.

How am i standing in the way of change?
    what exactly are you pointing out as foolishness on my part?
    Hardly enuff said.

Lets see, “If I were a Mango I would be bird pick.” Wuh I glad you realize that I am offering food for thought. Are you de black bird? then “pick” sense from dah.

If you were a real man and not a black-bird you would say out right what you have to say rather than hide behind proverbial saying. lol!

22. @ Enuff

Yuh meaning ta say dat Thompie know how ta use a computer and even got uh Facebook page!! Buh eh, eh, looka dis ting doe nah!!

23. Enuff // March 24, 2010 at 3:40 PM

@ Atman

Why are you bothering with that obsessive Adrian Hinds? I see him all over Prime Minister Thompson facebook page playing intellectual.
    I see one post by a Adrian Hinds on the PM “sanctioned” Facebook profile run by his personal sec. Would you prefer that persons request persmission to become a Mia Mottley FACEBOOK FAN?

24. @enuff
    In fact the same Adrian Hinds person is also a fan of the Mia Mottley page. Your point again???? lol!

25. The thing that scares me about what happened in the house the other day is that some actually thinks that it is funny, it is actually a serious stain on the level of debate that is going on in the house anddddd it also leads one to think that these people are governed not by the laws of the land, but by the rules that govern the rich and who is in charge at the time…something MUST BE done about a minister who shows off/pulls/brandishes a gun in the house of parliment, i mean that is completelt out of hand now, i repeat how can we lead and teach kids and our youth and we cant even control ourselves.

26. Someone told me that Thompson was posting on the internet since 1994 to listgroups then.

27. islander // March 24, 2010 at 3:56 PM

The thing that scares me about what happened in the house the other day is that some actually thinks that it is funny, it is actually a serious stain on the level of debate that is going on in the house anddddd it also leads one to think that these people are governed not by the laws of the land, but by the rules that govern the rich and who is in charge at the time…something MUST BE done about a minister who shows off/pulls/brandishes a gun in the house of parliment, i mean that is completelt out of hand now, i repeat how can we lead and teach kids and our youth and we cant even control ourselves.
    —————————————————————————

What happened?
    Where you there? if not how could it have “scared” you?

I didn’t know that one could consciously trigger it. lol!

Arthur called the parliament poor-rakey, poor-rickey according to Rawdon Adams, long before this incident. Where were you then with your gift to call up an autonomic response at will. lol!

Does it matter where a gun is brandish? I saw Lammie Graig brandish one at a political meeting in St. Thomas in full view of hundreds of people including policemen.

28. You all are killing me with this gun crap, look am Bajan always vote and will continue to vote for who I want to vote for gun or no gun. Band the bad show, Band TV, and them all from Parliament what the fuck BU this is Barbados nothing will happen but talk, look how easy this incident has all the attention as the real ROME is BURNING DOWN.

29. yes in full view of police agents and officers of the law and nothing was done about it. Clearly they had jurisdiction.

The real hypocracy is wanting to address THIS clearly
    egregious incident via partisan political positions.

30. @Adrian

As usual you are an incorrigible jackass. We never met in person, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t know enough about to draw the reasonable conclusion that you are a blithering idiot.

I believe it may be beyond your comprehension (like some of my rumshop friends) to understand that in principal when you’re voting for a party, it doesn’t matter if person that you voted for loses in your constituency, what matters is that your vote was casted in support of the party you wish to win. In other words Adri, there is no such thing as a wasted vote as long as you voted with purpose and reason.

You remain true to form Adrian. If there’s one thing I can’t accuse you of is a lack of consistency. Ha ha ha ha ha.

31. @ enuff

Ha ha ha…you know him well…he’s always trying to play intellectual. Actually is just trying to get some undue attention. He wouldn’t last a day as a politician, but as we bajans would say “he barely like de habit”.

32. @ATMAN
    ….and we will never meet in person.

once again you have not and cannot defend your original contention of “he will pay the price for it at the next polls”

“He” is singular as is “the price”

A vote for the loser in a constituency does NOT count towards the victory for the loser’s party comrade in another consituency. Therefore as far as the core reason for voting for that person is concern it did not bear fruit and can be construed as wasted, if was clear from the get go that your Loser had absolutely no chance of winning.

33. Atman // March 24, 2010 at 4:43 PM

@ enuff

Ha ha ha…you know him well…he’s always trying to play intellectual. Actually is just trying to get some undue attention. He wouldn’t last a day as a politician, but as we bajans would say “he barely like de habit”.
    Clearly winning the argument is not a best practice of either of you. lol! simple truths escape you both.

34. The Barbados Labour Party is clutching at straws in its desperate attempt to win over the vast majority of Barbadian electors.It is trying to create issues out of non-issues.

The people of Barbados are not going to be impressed with the attitude & behavior of the miscreants in the Barbados Labour Party posing as morally,upright law abiding politicians & leaders given that party recent history as a former government of Barbados.

Royal Rumble & the political misfits & parasites in the Barbados Labour Party ,the people of St Philip South will not vote Estwick out because of this incident.Likewise the people of Barbados will not change this government because of this isolated incident.This incident is a nothing incident in the eyes of a vast majority of Barbadians and it will have no impact whatsoever of the outcome of the next general elections.

Last year Trevor Prescod a former minister of government in the last Barbados Labour Party government headed by the disgrace Owen Arthur allegedly assaulted government employees at the Ministry of Family,Youth & Sports last year.His girlfriend Cheryl Hunte was also allegedly involved in that incident and was subsequently charged.Trevor Prescod is now the selected candidate for the Barbados Labour Party in the St Michael East constituency.Will that incident have a negative impact on his chances?I do not think so.The people of Barbados have forgotten about that incident and Trevor Prescod chances will depend upon his ability to convince the people of St Michael that he is the better person to represent their interest in parliament.Similarly,Kerrie Symmonds was recently handed a restraining order from the courts of Barbados against visiting or going within a specified distance of his wife Andrea —- a sweet looking, sexy & beautiful Black Barbadian lady.Kerrie Symmonds seems interested in being a candidate again in the next elections.Is that incident going to have a profound impact on his chances? I do not think so.

The people of Barbados are going to vote based on the performance or lack of performance of this government and not on any isolated personal incidents involving parliamentarians. .

35. Ditto Negroman.

36. @Adrian

Adri, I don’t have anymore time to waste with you. I’d much rather have discussions with persons who have an IQ above 65.

37. and…NEGROMAN IS TALKING A HEAP OF CRAP !

38. @Negroman

You are obviously over looking the fact that the young electorate (age 20 – 40) today are more sophisticated and intelligent. It’s not the same old crowd with short memories who are tied to a political party because their parents and grandparents were tied to that party. Come election time they take all things into consideration…and that’s the reason the BLP lost the last election. The DLP has to thread very carefully if they want to earn a second term.

39. @Dolphin Mout

and…NEGROMAN IS TALKING A HEAP OF CRAP !
    ================================================

I agree!

40. All i would say based on what I saw with my own two eyes is that parliament has been brought into disrepute and I hope the PM addresses the matter swiftly and decisively

41. @ Tell me Why ,

Pulling a gun or threatening to kill or maim a person should
    result in a minister being fired.

That is what I wrote.

I remain a DLP operative, supporter,yardfowl or whatever you ,Tell me Why ,chose to call me behind my back or on this blog.

42. The point which is being trivialized by some is that our parliament is the highest law making entity in Barbados. The act as reported on this blog of two MPs engaging in an altercation which culminated in the brandishing of a weapon by one of the parties is unacceptable however it is sliced or diced.

The act itself cannot be divorced from the growing indiscipline in Barbados. A society is a living breathing organism which is affected ultimately by the sum of the behaviours manifested within the organ. Importantly people who occupy high offices and naturally command more visibility will impact the organ even more.

43. @All…

Just to finish to empirical experience of a visitor trying to get a Visitor’s Permit here in Barbados.

So, my girlfriend picks up our guest from his training location during his allotted lunch (1300-1330), and delivers him to the “Pine”.

I then drive up to the Pine to pick up our guest, to deliver him back to his training.

The following is what I heard from my guest. I did not witness it directly, but I trust his observational skills and honesty.

Guest: “You won’t believe it. There were thirty people in line — and only one teller. I asked twice if this was the only place I could get a Visitor’s Permit. Yes, I was told.

Guest: “I noticed another line which was much shorter, so I went there and explained my situation — I’m terribly sorry, I know I’m probably in the wrong line, but I’m here on a medical training course, and I only have 30 minutes for lunch and I need to get back. I just want a short-term visitor’s permit.

The teller appreciated the situation, and asked another to “Get the book” from the single teller dealing (slowly) with thirty people.

Twice.

No book.

Finally, the teller who my guest was interacting with knew where the new books in stock were kept, so she instructed him to fetch one from there.

At the end of the day, if my guest had not been assertive, he would have been in line for (probably) two hours. Only to get to that teller who didn’t “have the book”.

The upside is my guest did finally manage to get a Visitor’s Permit, and can now drive here in Barbados legally (he only needed it for the next five days).

And he only missed a total of two hours of his training (and two lunches) doing so. And, of course, an aggregate of three hours of local Bajan’s productivity.

44. Chickens always come home to roost. Hypocrisy, stealing, adultery, double standards, greed, selfishness, arrogance, sexual “immorality” (based on our supposed Christian principles), prejudice and power hungriness… our young people have watched our public officials and leaders blantanty, openly and happily exhibit these traits in recent times. This incident if true is wrong and should be dealt with to suit, but really and truly it is also insignificant in the grander scheme of things. At the end of the day apathy will reign except among those seeking political mileage. and we’ll continue to reap what we have sown.

45. Again I do not care who had gun or no gun, I still going to vote and that’s correct.

46. Atman // March 24, 2010 at 5:41 PM

@Adrian

Adri, I don’t have anymore time to waste with you. I’d much rather have discussions with persons who have an IQ above 65.
    Never sent and called you. Never initiate a response to any post you have started. Don’t frequent were you are known to hang out. Simply don’t see the need to engage you on anything. I merely respond when you come calling my name. No hard feelings, if you have grown tired of wasting your time, you did it of your own free will. lol!

47. David // March 24, 2010 at 7:12 PM

The point which is being trivialized by some is that our parliament is the highest law making entity in Barbados. The act as reported on this blog of two MPs engaging in an altercation which culminated in the brandishing of a weapon by one of the parties is unacceptable however it is sliced or diced.
    ————————————————————————-

You have no say in the day to day operation of parliament. You carrying on as if the current parliamentary procedures were constructed to give a hoot what the people say. Unacceptable to whom? chupse.

Parliamentarians have progress from attacking private citizens, an Owen Arthur specialty, to attacking each other. Let them continue on their path to self distruction. From its ashes a new set of parliamentary rules and proceedure mindful of the citizens they serve could be the genesis we all can be proud off.

Anything that I can see giving us a window to parliamentary reform I will take. So shoot up and shoot down and Thompson do not let the Opposition gain an inch from this minor issue. lol!

48. Chris H, was it a hired car your guest was driving? Hire Car companies also issue Visitors Driving Permits.Less hassle.

49. @Neptune: “…was it a hired car your guest was driving?

No.

@Neptune: “Car companies also issue Visitors Driving Permits.Less hassle.

So then the question becomes: Why are private car companies less hassle than the “Barbados Licensing Authority”?

50. Discussing how this incident can/will impact our society in the context of social engineering; not sure anybody can speak in absolutes. Lets us agree to disagree Adrian.