Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. @Bradley

You obviously older than I but even after Hi Fi Music started, the big bands at fetes were still a hit. Actually, a dance withg hi fi music was seen as less desireable.

I remember Wendy Alleyne and the dynamics, the troubadors, Sandpebbles, BRC, Go-Fluke Richards, the escorts, etc. used to be playing at dances with the hi fi music in between acts so the band could rest; but the real excitement and dancing happened when the band was playing. When Hi Fi Music start it was time to head for the bar or something to eat.

2. Hi Fi?

Who remember Wren Babb and what about Bill Black. The latter is still alive. Not sure about Wren but last time I saw him he was into car upholstery not too long ago… out Goodland side.

3. Bradlely432,
    Lorddddddddd, ya hurt ma wid dah kaiso man. I wuk up real to ‘Come leh we go’, but ‘Rememba when’ is a more tear-jerker.
    Thanks fa dem clips man.
    I also like ‘Maria’ by de King of Kaiso, the one n only Mighty Sparrow. He sweet.

Tech
    ‘one told me I should thank him for the cruise’.
    Dah deepppppppppppppppppppp.
    (phewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww)

BAFBFP
    ‘endorse de cou-cou’ mean stretch um howeva ya could cause ‘i in gettin enuff’

wah bout de restricted areas in B/dos in dem times? Strathclyde is one dat comes to mind. Bellville is anotha too, i tink.
    Bradley432 would kno a lot mo bout dem ‘forbidden’ grounds. He is a ‘walking data-base’. De man gooddd.

ROK
    Let’s danceeeeeeeeee.

4. But Sarge there is pickled meat in every island of the Caribbean is there not? Agreed that sweet potato sausage is uniquely Barbadian but sausage and pickles may not be…! Whey de hell is BIMBRO…! LOL

5. Another popular Guyanese singer was Johnny Braff remember his hit “It burns inside”.

6. Not sure if many know that one of the lead singers of the British group The Foundations was born in Barbados. Colin Young sang lead when they had the hit “Build me up Buttercup” . He also sang lead in their hit “In the Bad Bad Old days”

There may be better versions available but the 60’s ensemble is great.

7. Sargeant,
    Oh Lorddd, call 911. Ya killin ma. De palpatations, oh my Lord. Dis music sweettttttttttttttttttttttttt. Help ma Jesussssssssss.
    Sarge, Lord look downnnnnnnnn.
    Kill ma wid sum mo a dis music Sarge.
    Uh,uh,uh, uh, uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Even de lead singa outfit killinnnn ma. Check de sleeves n de bells. Mussy tek a whole bolt a clawt ta put dah togetha.

8. Sapadillo,
    De teacher n dentist woulda hah ketch me gine up Dalkeith Hill or furtha man.
    ——————————————–
    LOL! LOL! LOL ! LOL ! LOL !

9. somebogy help me on this one.around the xmas holiday they used to beaplaceacross from the cathedral church where they would either give away Swiss watches it was some kind of promotion by rediffusion.can’t remember the story clearly.i know i got a couple of dem watches ever year.

10. BP

This is for you, no dance/bram in the 60’s was complete without this song.

11. Sargeant,
    Lorddddddd hah mercyyyyyyyyyyy.
    I now pronounce ME dead. Ya kill ma wid de music. Lord help maaaaaaaa.

I want to send a tune fa you too. Pull it up and post on BU for ma pleezzeeeeee.
    Bobby Moore & The Rhythm Aces singing ‘Searching for my Love’.

I go now ta plan my funeralllllllllllll.

12. Ya ain’ dead yet..?

Ha ha

13. BAFBFP
    Oh christttttttttttttt, a dead fa real now. A hay sprawl out pun de floor, deadddd.

No viewing by special request.
    I will be lyin in a ‘state’. Doan know which yet.

You n Sargeant manslauta me wid dem tunes man. Wunna in had ta be sa cruellllllllllllllll.

Tanks wunna doe.

14. Bonny,

If you know the wickedness that I thinking. Anyhow, I see that you dead about four times already. I here wondering that if you dead another 5 times what to call you?

15. What was the cost of living like in those days?
    Give the baker shop a dollar, and he will give you 33 turnovers and 1 cent back. Salt bread 3 cents. Bus fare 5cents. A good second hand car $300 ,a friend of mine bought a Sunbeam Talbot sports car for $900 ,and that was considered extravagant. If you wanted a plantation, like the calypso said, it would have cost you$100,000. A bus driver was paid $25-30 per week, a conductor $18-25 per week. A police constable $160 per month. Beef 12 cents a pound. Pork,Nelson or Suttle Street,$1.25 to pound.Every body had a tailor or needle worker to make his /her clothes,for 60 cents or a $1,a suit cost a bit more. The only ready made suits around was when a woman put a chile on ya.

16. The plantations had some animals called Kentucky Mules, even the biggest horse these days pales in comparison with the Kentucky Mule. It had one big broad backside, and were known to pull out trucks stuck in the muddy cane fields. Many were used to pull trailers of canes weighing some 3 to 4 tons.These were the same trailers which were later converted for the Massey Harris tractor. These mules also used to pull some massive iron wheel trailers laden with mud from the factory.It was a sight to watch two of these mules yoked together in a loaded cart,and pushing against each other until they were both catspradled on the ground, and no matter how much the driver lash them, they would not go forward and inch.

17. @ac, that is probably the same Tide Watch I mentioned earlier.
    Remember those school pens?,not the guvment ones with a nib stuck in a piece of wood,but the Esterbrook, Platignum, Parker and Waterman

18. Another classic from the 60’s popular in B’dos.

19. i wunt eat the coo coo unless it was in the callabash bowl. wuh happen to shark oil um; um; real good for cold

20. What am I?
    (a) “Home Sweet Home”
    (b) Three Plumes
    (c) Red Spot
    (e) Oranjeboom DB
    (f) Four Cows.
    (g) Sun Rise
    (h) Wilson
    (i) John Whites

21. Bradley somebody tief yah videa..

22. ROK
    ‘if you know de wickedness dat i tinking’
    At lastttttttt, we’re thinking alike.Finally
    I waiting fa you ta kill me fa de last time. Ready n willin? Hope so.

Bradley
    Though prices were low, money was hard to come by, I guess.

‘The only ready made suit around was when a woman put a chile pun a man’.
    Bradley, dem suits still wearing up to dis day hear? Ya betta believe it.

you keep you shark oil n lemme keep my cold, bosey. (cough, coughhhhhhh)

Bradley:
    Home sweet home —-Lamp chimney
    Three plumes ———–Matches
    Red spot —————–I don’t know
    Oranjeboom DB ——-I don’t know
    Four cows —————Tin milk
    Sunrise ——————Cooking butter
    Wilson ——————-Gentleman’s hat
    John Whites ————I don’t know

Wah happen to de video man?

Bradley, a ol lady tell me today dat de country people use ta call de village-shop, de ‘what-next’ shop. You kno bout dah?
    Come to think of it de shopkeeper use ta always ask ya, ‘what next’ after dispatching each item.

23. @Bonny, But you know those “What-next”shopkeepers used to rob ya blind in front of ya own eyes. He would put some flour or sugar in the scale pan, and then drive he hand in the scale pan to make it go over balance, robbing you out of a few ounces of the stuff.And people were so hooked on this that if the shop keeper did not hit the pan,they would accuse him of tiefing from them.
    Don’t know what happened there to the video.
    Ya got mast of them right, but Red Spot was a sweet drink similar to J-uc in a clear bottle with a red spot in the bottle neck.
    Orangeboom DB, was a Dutch beer, that used to sell alongside of Tennants Milk Stout and Amstel.
    Sunrise was a hard hard round biscuit that people mostly used to cook.
    John Whites was fancy black and white shoe that the fashionable men used to wear especially to dances.

24. The Crocus (crook-khus) bag was a real universal piece of recyled material.These bags were used mainly for shipping and the distribution of sugar. It was used as a rain coat by the plantation workers in the field,only the Ging leader or Driver(supervisor) could afford an umbrella. Most homes used the crocus bags as door mats,but not in the front house. They were also used as curtains, partitions, ironing beds, bedding, aprons,fire blankets when wet, stuck under skidding trucks in wet mud to give the wheels some traction. Today this material can be found under the name of Burlap or Hessian.

25. Then there was the bubble gum days when the bubble gum came in a square packet and inside were 2″x” pictures of famous movie stars. Owning these bubble gum pictures was a big thing and you would do a lot of swapping .
    Doris Day. Yvonne de Carlo. Olivia Dehaviland .Maureen O’hara .Elizabeth Taylor . Gina Lolobrigidia.

26. Remember when the police used to do the vehicle driving tests from Central. A friend of mine, the first time he really drove on the road was the day he took his driving test. At Eagle Hall , he ran into the gutter, the police examiner, gave him hell, “Suppose someone was standing there ,you would have killed them.”said the policeman. ” Dah en tru”,said my friend,” if some one was standing there he woulda run hard as ass .”
    Then there was a colleague who took this fellow in for his driving test. After the fellow passed, my colleague asked the Police examiner, ” could you try me out now too?” ”Try you out? ” asked the policeman,” ya en know you want locking to france up.”

27. Some golden oldies.
    Mercedes Benz 0321H bus,similar to those the Transport Board had in the 60″s
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28318446.jpg
    The National Bus company, which I believed was owned by the Tudors or Stuarts had the first enclosened buses in the island .Similar to these.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28318450.jpg
    This is one of the first wheel tractors, a Massey Harris, which came to Barbados when there was a change over from the horse drawn cane cart. It can be seen at Nicolas Abbey on open days.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28318436.jpg.
    General Bus Company’s bus to HorseHill before the take over by Transport Board in 1955.General was owned by the Dowdings of Detco Motors
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28318433.jpg
    And here is what the Wurlitzer Jukebox looked like in 1957
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28318459.jpg
    And how could we forget the Austin 3/Litre truck, which the British had nicknamed the Birmingham Bedford.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28318830.jpg

28. Bradley432
    Boy,knowledge is power so dat makes you one powerful man.
    I luv de photos especially the General Bus. Memories come flooding back man.

De wurlitzer jukebox born the same year as me. Na wonda i luv music so.

If dem shopkeepers use ta rob ya blind n na mo? And you notice how dem use to always ‘average’ right? or play dat dem dusting in a lil moe flour, sugar etc. in de scale. Dah time it out by bout 8 ounces to de pound.

Ya faget ta mention dat de crocus bag was used ta mek rag-mats too. Ya faget dem? Talk bout pretty.

An wah ’bout de patch-work sheets? Even more colourful.

Try posting de videa again.

29. I heard that some shopkeepers would stick a magnet to the bottom of the scale pan to make it heavier or use a lighter weight stone.

I remember when old clothes were not burnt, but were laid out under the mattress to cover the springs of those iron bedsteads.

When the boys were pitching for buttons, you would sneak in and raid those clothes.

30. GeneralLee
    Any part of your anatomy ever made contact with any part of said iron-bedsteads? Lord, look down, ya wish ya did dead man.

31. General Lee
    You notice how many of the ol time fruit trees seem to have disappeared?

Mammy-apple (never tasted)
    Custard apple (never tasted)
    Gooseberries
    Sugar apple
    Soursop
    Pomegranate,
    Cherries

Bradley432, you can add to the list.

32. Star apples
    gauvas
    cashews
    shaddocks
    good old bajan bananas.(people now prefer the tastless foreign or chemical ripened bananas)
    Caroline lee potatoes (was she related to you General Lee?)
    Bonny, mammy apples are sweet for so. The last time I was in Dominica I bought some as big as footballs,for a couple of dollars(some call them apricot there)
    Frozen joy canes. (guarantee to make you a praedial larcenist)
    Turpentine Mangoes,mostly found in St Andrew.

33. One more try.

34. And another

35. Bradley432
    Paul Anka wrote that piece for me because i was born that year and Diana is one of my names. I feel so. You feel so too? Aw-rite den. Case closed.

Bradley, I have never seen a mammy apple, star apple, custard apple, or caroline lee potatoes. What is dat? Frozen joy canes? A mystery to me too.I know turpentine mangoes but don’ fancy dem too much. I like mango-longs.

Another fruit that you hardly see now is pa-paw. I love dem bad. I bought one in St. Vincent a few years ago and it was as big as a pumpkin. I had it for breakfast,lunch, dinner, supper and a night-cap. Talk ’bout sweetttttttttttt. Lord, look down in mercyyyyyyyyyyy.

36. Another popular singer from the 60’s was Sam Cooke. This song is probably his most important but it was only performed in public once, sadly about two weeks before he was killed.

37. love de music.another poular one was jeanand dina.might be hard to find

38. Jean & Dinah

39. I am not familiar with the custard or star apples, but all of the others are still available in country areas, although they are not as prevalent as they were back in the old times.

I remember three types of guavas, red meat, white meat and salty.

I think there was some kind of disease that wiped out local paw paws in the early eighties. The top of the tree would die off just so.

Five fingers, oranges and mandarin are also scarce.
    The scent of local mandarin was so strong that from the time you picked it from off the tree and break the skin, the owner would smell it and come outside to try and catch the culprit.

The “lady in the night” was popular in gardens back then, but you hardly smell or find one now.

Savour the flavour of the remaining local fruits for soon we will only have memories. We will continue to burn money importing fruits from over n away instead of developing the local ones.

The powers that be do not seem to think that Bajan is worth preserving.

40. So wunnu en noh bout nuh ole time bajan music.

Sach Moore had a song that went;
    She telling me she don’t want de house
    all she want is de key. I can’t find um nuh way and de radio station doan play um nuh more.

Duh had a nex one that went;
    Everything ah do the monkey does do.

Who does sing dat?

Rememba;
    A woman in jail

Who does sing dah one?

Yuh come here to drink milk?

41. Growing up I remember hearing that the Grapefruit (Shaddock) was first cultivated in Barbados. I believe it was somewhere in the environs of Welchman Hall Gully.

According to Wikpedia it was first bred in Jamaica but doesn’t state the year. However later in the article it states that it was described in 1750 based on specimens from Barbados.

Do we have bragging rights?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grapefruit

42. @Sarge
    Grapefruit and Shaddock are two different fruits of the same family. Sivel Sweet is another one that used to make a good juice.

Also, If I am not mistaken, star apple and mammie apple are the same; or maybe they just looked the same. I am trying to remember star apple and what I am visualising is a biggish round yellow fruit with a large core and fleshy somewhat like a musk melon.

43. Oh Sarge, the shaddock, grapefruit, lemon and other citrus mixes used to be plentiful in the scotland district; St. Josepeh (especially) St. John, St. Andrew, St Peter and then they start to get scarce when you get to the boundary of St. Thomas and St George.

Did you know that Christophene is only found in the Scotland District. Most prolific in St Andrew and St. Thomas

44. General Lee

I have the 45 by Sach Moore, the B side has a song titled “Back Row Ah De Pit”. He is backed by the Sandpebbles on both of those songs. De Key was a bit risqué for the time.

The song “A woman in Jail” is actually from Trinidad

45. Sargeant,
    I would like you to soure two songs by Sparrow fa me:
    Sandra
    The Governor’s Ball.
    Source dem and I will repay you.

General Lee
    ‘Everyting a do de monkey do too’, was sung by the group Flatbush.

Can’t rememba who sang ‘A woman in jail’.

‘Drink milk’ is the Draytons 2.

General Lee
    I did like Gaflook Richards real bad man.
    ‘I want some one just to love me, I want someone just to love me, to love me when I’m right, to love me when I’m wrong, I want a love that’s oh so strong,
    Faith can move a mountain, faith can move the sea, faith can stop a hurricane, and send it back to the seaaa.

46. Bonny

How you could leave out fat porks, hog plums, guavas, cashews and golden apples?

You know that these are probably the only fruits in Barbados that are not corrupted? They have not messed with these genes yet (I should say) because they are not popular. You notice how they kill off all a we pawpaws?

One thing we really got to do is go back to the old time foods. From the time they learned that pawpaws good for cancer they kill off ours. Next thing is that they now find out that tumeric is a very potent anti-cancer agent among other medicinal value. These are the things we used to use a lot of in cooking in the past. I used to hate to grater the tumeric; left you fingers with a yellow stain for days.

No wonder nowadays we suffering from all kinds of things; the onions, seasoning, thyme, parsely, marjoram. Real medicinal value. My father once had a book called, “Food is the Best Medicine”. That was like a bible to him.

47. A woman in jail ent Sach Moore?

48. @ROK, Star Apple was/is a fruit then when it was cut in half, you also sliced through the ring of seeds, which formed a star in the half segment. Never tasted it, only saw it grow at Lammings House and West St Joseph School.