Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. @ ROK .Speaking of Scavengers, one day one of my old teachers was on her way to the General Hospital when she collapsed, and the Sanitation Workers came to her assistance. Her next door neighbours and her family were not on speaking terms,and one day the boy from that family next door who was in her class, shouted out to her, “Dah is why ya fall down in Nelson Street and the scavengers had to pick you up.” Before nor after have I ever seen this nice lady so outraged. She raised her fist, stuck him in the back and sent him sprawling. She said, “Never let me hear you call those nice men scavengers again.”

2. Nowadays they are called Psychics. But I remember the time when many people were writing off to a man called Pundit Gabor, who would send back a whole lot of literature telling each individual how his /her life would progress.
    There were also some book that you heard of but never seen with lots of mystery surrounding them. They were passed on in secret
    The Macabee
    The Eight Book Of Moses.
    But just a few years ago some fellow had broken into a house in the country area and stole one of these mysterious books. Apparently the owner pleaded with him to bring back the book, he did not ,and is said to have committed suicide, so the story goes. The mystique still lives on

3. Are those the books used to “read up the dead”?. There was a man who lived near Christ Church Parish church who they said used to “read up the dead”. The old gravedigger at Ch.Ch was a man called Toots and they used to say he was in league with this man. Perhaps that was the “old people’ trying to put the fear of God into you. No one wanted to walk the area from the top of Oistins Hill going east past the church at night. It was a lonely, dark and scary and your imagination went wild at the shadows in the trees that dotted the road. I drove through there this year and there are still many trees but a lot more street lights.

4. What about the coffins dat would ‘move around’ in the Vault. Think it is in St.John cemetary. Not sure.

The Imitation to Life movie is just like these children who were ashamed of their parents for whatever reason.

Bradley432
    Yes, that is the said, same Triumph. Oh boy, memories don’t leave like people do.

Sargeant,
    Yes,my son went to Foundation and the area still has this spookie, eerie ambiance about it after school hours.

What was the popular colour of most chattel houses?
    Grey.

BAFBFP
    Oh lawdddddddd, I luv a man dat is gifted n well blesseddddddddd.
    What more cud a woman ask for?
    Lordy Lord.
    Does he have any sons?
    Find out fa mah.

‘cut-plate’. Memories come flooding back. Cut glass bottle was used too.
    And a bottle would be lil girls baby-doll.

Wah bout de tin cars n trucks dat de fellas use ta mek. Talk bout creative.

ROK
    Are you ‘gifted’? Can you perform tricks?
    Abraaaa, cadabraaaaaaaaaa, poofffffff.

5. @Bonny Peppa // November 3, 2009 at 7:10 AM

What about the coffins dat would ‘move around’ in the Vault. Think it is in St.John cemetary. Not sure.

You are speaking of the Chase’s Vault– i.e Ch Ch Parish Ch

6. Dr. Porgie,
    Thank you Sir. Was there any explanation for such ‘move around’?

Who can remember the poem,’Never Quit’.

BAFBFP
    Bram,brammmmmmmmm.

7. The words “Poor Great” was aptly applied to those who would deny their family or friends because they had moved on to more “prestigious” jobs. However, when these people moved to the USA, Canada etc. they would try to be friendly with all those whom they would avoid in Barbados. There were many marriages among Bajans living abroad that would never have taken place in Barbados since the couple wouldn’t be dating in Barbados as some parent would say “he/she is no class for my daughter/son”.

8. We all know of the Chase Vault and its mysteries in Christ Church grave yard, but Bonny you are not too far wrong, a similar thing happened in the Mayers Vault in St John between Easy Hall and Wilson Village,and which was the subject of a Nation Story recently. Apparently a girl was interred in the main family vault, and everytime it was opened her coffin would be in disarray. Eventually she was buried on her own in a corner of the enclosure.

9. @Sargeant this “Poor great ‘ thing like it was also evident in other Caribbean Islands. Many years ago I was at a West Indian do somewhere in in England. I was with this Vincie guy when a fellow came up to him, and boldly called his name and almost shook the guys hand off. My friend later said so me, I did nit know that he knew me fartherless my name, cause back in St Vincent his family was a bit better off than most,and he had passed me so many times without speaking.
    But in places like Canada ,the UK and USA, no body there cared if ya went to school at the Modern or Combermere,if ya father drove a donkey cart or a Mercedes. As far as they were concerned we were all the same ,just Immigrants.

10. @Bonny. One of those fellows that used to make those Tin Trucks down to the last detail,ended up to be one of the best Autobody Repairmen in Barbados.
    Grey was the most popular colour of chattel house because grey was cheaper ,not in terms of quality,and more readilly available as it was also the colour used mainly to paint sugar factories,bond houses and plantation buildings and equipment.So it wasn’t too hard really to get a little left over bit from one of these places in a skillet .
    Remember those women who used to go at the back of Roberts Manufacturing, catch the waste from the Soap Factory, carry it home and boil it down, then come around selling the cream or blue soap to wash clothes.

11. Bonny

I is a St. John…
    Abraaaa, cadabraaaaaaaaaa!

12. Wunna bajans betta stop telling de tourises lies. Dis mawning I at de gym an dis fella was telling me bout de las time he was in buhbadus bout 35 years ago and ask me if I know de cemetery wey dey bury people standin up. Seems dat someone tol him de island so crowded dat dey gotta bury people standin up…. An he beleve it. I was so shocked dat I din botha to ask if know de place wey de volcano come up (de pot) or if he hear bout mahogany birds.

13. BAFBFP
    A wonda why my mout waterin so when I read dat you is a St.John?

We gots ta meet.
    End a story.

Pooffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff.

Bradley432
    Is dis body repairman still alive?

Nobody ain’t mention how ‘pictures’ were taken back then.

14. Bonny,
    Like you say…Maam!

15. @Bonny, that body repairman is still very much alive.
    Pictures were taken mainly with a Brownie Box Camera, actually I have one right in front of me,I ‘ll take a picture of it later and post it.Only a few places in the City developed films. But on the whole people were not into photography,as we always thought that these things and people around us would always be here,and its a pity,it would have save me storing all these pictures in my head.

Back in the mid 60’s the young fellers had a thing about smoking a pipe,probably because of some brands of aromatic tobacco that were on the market. One was Hollandia and the other Amphora. Then there was the Toms that the older people including women used to smoke,a cheap cigar they they used to buy by the bundle like wood.And if that was not enough they would finish off with a pinch of Snuff. These Toms would have given them a high cause one time we ran out of tabacco for our pipes ,bought some Toms, shredded them and stuff them into a pipe, we were just a drunk as if we had down a pint na half bottle of Stades Refined Rum

16. I remember vaguely as a child that a photographer would come to the house on special occasions to take p
    ictures.The camera was somewhat big and the flash had a some kind of bulb and after every picture he would turn some gadget attached to the camerafor another picture.
    I would really love to see a picture ot those old time camera.
    How about the Taxis with the wheel on the back.It was a treat for me when I got to drive in them.

17. Bush Tea is beginning to resent the manner in which some of wanna youngsters are referring to my youth of just yesterday, – as though it was just after the period of the dinosaurs….

…just because I used to drive a Morris minor with pop-out indicators and then later a Vauxhaul Velox ??!!

…..was a piece of photographer too … dark room and all…

..and yes ac, after every flash you had to turn for another bulb….

18. I love to go to Bajan Bandstand on monday nites in the esplanade.
    I also love to play Hopscotch, Jacks and Pickups .Jacks and Pickups was played with small pebbles and a small by hand
    Nobody mentioned outdoor bathing in a galvanised oversized basin.I also rememberwhenwe had our first shower built in the backyard you had to scrub it constantly so that the moss would not build up on the cement which would cause you to fall.I love dem moonlite nights lots of fun ,but kept parents nervous because the boys wereon the prowl and we love to play outdoors to abou eight or 9 o’clock at night.
    Nobody wanted to talk about sex .The parents refer to it as “The birds and the Bees’,Those were the days my friend.
    I also remember the men sweeping the gutters early morning or late evenings with a big broom.Proud people we were back then and lots of class Neighbour helping neighbour..

19. Peoples, if you want to see some old time things, go to C&A Tools near the Belle, there is a shelf with all kinds of old things like irons, cameras etc.

20. Anybody mention that yuh could leave open the windows when yuh go out for a few hours and nobody would come in.

That is as ‘recent’ as the late 1960’s.

No burglar proofing pun de windows.

I remember that Harrison’s had a staircase, no elevator, it was wooden slat staircase.

But I was a young’un, used to look forward to going in Cave Shepherd that had an escalator.

Small things….

Remember the mother talking bout Fogarty but cannot remember what it looked like.

When Grand Barbados was Holiday Inn.

21. Bradley432
    Tappin/Toppin was a popular photo studio in de early days. Am I right?
    Mek haste n put up de pic of de camera.

Bradlely,we talk bout cars, buses, hearses even bicycles but nabody in rememba ta mention de trains dat went to Bellplaine. Before my time.

What about when de Pick-ups were first introduced in the 70’s? Can’t rememba de exact name they were called but there is a gentleman in St.Andrew who still owns one if he’s still alive. You had to step up and enter from the back. He drives slow,slow, slowwwwwwwwwwww. We call them minivans/buses/zr’s now.

Crusoe,
    Thanks for the info. I will go and check out C&A tools for de antiques.
    I can still leave home and leave my windows and doors open and just tell my neighbours to ‘have an eye’. Good ol country life still exist in my ‘hood’.

When the escalator was first installed in Cave Shepherd one of my neighbours would call it de ‘alligator’,nothing more, nothing less and she would be serious too.
    murdaaaaaaaaaaa

22. Sorry BAFBFP
    bit of a soul boy
    had to out do you

23. Bonny Peppa, the old pickup was called a jitney. I fell outa one once, but en brek nuttin.

24. more tune

25. Wait, a Jipney ain’ one ah de pickups that dey got in de Phillipeans? ROK could tell you ’bout de days de Lodge Boys had tah pack into de Evelyn bus in de morning, all ‘long de side board den, and hope that de rain don’ fall when de canvas had tah be pulled down. Some idiot would choose de time tah pass lil’ win…my God. Dah school use tah start at 10:00 tah accomodate late comers…LOL!

Fogarty had a blue and white stripe shopping bag (din have plastic back den). I still got my doubts as to why it burn down (and Cave Shepherd and Geddes Grant and Modern Living BICO…hmmm)

Bonny din’ like my selection so I can’ invite she tah meet me at C&A hardware taday….!

26. BAFBFP
    Ya got ma cryinggggggggggggggggg.
    How you know dat I doan like you tune?
    You tell me areddy dat you is a St. John so I like evryting bout you. Especiallyyy

BAF, dah din had na arsonist in Fogarty time man. In fact, I wonda if da had matches or ya had ta rub two sticks togetha ta get a ‘flame’.
    Murdaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, ya tu wicked.

Jitney
    A wonda how you fall outta one a dem pickups?
    I wonda if de ol man from St. Andrew, Bellplaine side, still driving de hawkas ta town. He is drive like a snail cross wid a slugggggggggggg.slowwwwwww
    Anotha ting, dem pickups did real highhhhhhhhhhh man. Da shoulda install a elevator in dem ta get from ground to first floor.
    Murdaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Kiki,
    YOu like de soul music it seems. Well enjoy yaself child.

27. Bonny, I was not one of those lovers of what we call oldie goldies. There were so few of those songs that I liked as a little boy and when soul music came along, it was like a revolution.

The one singer that I really liked was Sam Cooke. Even Nat King Cole did not move me much… but here is one by Sam Cooke. My favourite from him was
    A Change Gonna Come but I am not finding it sung by him, so I substitute this one for you, cause you keep sending me…

28. To show how long Baje and Trini been ‘at it’…

29. Bush Tea, de fam’bly almost buy onna dem Morris Minors with the side indicators.

I was disappointed when the deal did not go thru, though I was a boy.

Those were hard vehicles, real tough.

I remember too seeing the following real good cars,

Vauxhall Vivas, the Hillman Hunter which I think was the equivalent of today’s Corolla, tried and trusted, no?

The Austin Cambridges, the Mini Clubman, the Bedford trucks and vans.

Those were all proper vehicles.

30. In case any Jackie Opel fansa have not yet found on Youtube.

31. Lets not forget this international star who could sing! Before she went to Germany, when her local videos were shown on CBC, as a young fellow, I was quite captivated. She had a quality to her that was special.

32. ROK
    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, that was so swoiteeeeeeeeeeeeee.
    You send me too Sweetie.
    You don’t like oldies but you know what? Love changes everything. Agree?
    Now I want you to look for ‘Love changes Everything’ sung by Sarah Brightman.
    And that is from me to you.
    I hereby pledge my love.

33. ROK
    When you source it, please post on BU.

34. Bonny, you want to turn me into a selecta?

To you too Bonny:

35. This next selection is dedicated to Bonny Peppa of the BU Family from ROK with all his love and affection:

36. Bonny, I did had up muh likkers. (Not fuh true!) I miss muh step and tumble over backwards and fall pun muh botsie right dey in Lower Broad Street, outside what was K.R. Hunte store.

37. ROK
    You neva had tah ketch a Evelyn bus tah school?

38. @Bonny , those Pickups that used to bring town country people were up long before the 70″s ,and I should know, cause I drop off one while hopping it one night and ended up with cuts scratches and bruises all over. Had to go to the General hospital,but that did not stop me from hopping.
    I think the Toppin place was called Art Toppin.
    Here is the Brownie Hawkeye Flash Camera (the back is missing)
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28552196.jpg
    http://static.panaramio.com/photos/original/28552192.jpg.
    http://www.brownie-camera/27.shtml
    @ac The taxis with the wheel behind is most likely the Citroen Traction Avant, Green Line Taxi Cabs used to operate these, Subject to correction,the Green Line Taxi cab was by the old gas station next to Harbour Lights on Bay Street.
    Captain Hill of the Transport Board, the only GM to ever realise a profit there, was connected to the Citroens. He went to the UK immediately after the World War 2 to celebrate Victory Day ,and then went over to France to do a mechanics course with Citroen.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28552172.jpg

39. @Bonny , I do not think that any one of us in here was around when the train was running. I’ve seen one of the old train cabs in the bushes across the old railway bridge by Edge Water Hotel. The last pieces of the train line are still visible from Beachmont,the hill by the Community Center in Bathsheba. Under the same hill used to be a Social Centre , which originally was the Bathsheba Train Station.These are places well know to Pat.
    This is all that remains of the Barbados Railway.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28552854.jpg
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28552852.jpg

40. Evelyn Bus? I can’t remember. I remember a man named Herbert used to drive and eventually owned one of those buses. But was it not the elite bus. A man named Coward used to run some large wooden buses.

41. Soul / Ska (caribbean soul) versions

http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/11/05/you-send-me/

42. whoops sorry Rok just played Sam Cooke
    if it sounded familiar

43. Think too it was Elite. That was a smaller company than Rocklyn, no?

Used to see the Rocklyn everywhere, was it bogger than the ‘then’ Transport Board?

Was Rocklyn green and Elite yellow with a red stripe, or is my memory just playing tricks?

44. Elite was green. Rocklyn was yellow and I think it also had a red stripe. Actually Elite was the largest company. Rocklyn only served the west and north of the Island. Elite had most of the short routes and the long hall routes to St George, St Philip, etc. I think Christ Church had another bus company that was there in Top Rock or was it Rendezvous?

I can’t remember a lot of that because those buses were going out when I was still a lad but elite and rocklyn were the two I remember fairly well.

The4 Progressive Bus Company I think used to serve the Bush Hall, Grazettes, Jackson, etc. That was probably the one that used to be at Yonkers Gas Station. I think they were yellow and green.

I was here trying to remember the route numbers. I think the Mini buses and ZRs still use the same numbers. Not sure but I remember that route 13 was Silver Sands, 12 Sam Lords Castle, 11 I think was Rendezvous… Route 7 was My Lords Hill, 6 was greens and St. Judes and 9 was College Savannah… wow, my mind playing tricks on me too. They had routes like 11A and 7A, etc.

45. ROK
    I have a thing about you too honey so it shant be long.
    You made my morning, my coffee-mate.
    I pledge my love to you and only you with this one. Post it for all of BU to see how much I care. I really do.
    “You caught my eye” by Judy Boucher.

ROK,
    I love you soooooooooo much.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Bradley432,
    Is it possible to love someone you’ve never met?
    Please say yes, cause I’m in love with ROK.

46. Jitney,
    ya got ma cryinnnnnnnnn. You is a comedian. Nutton wrong wid ‘ gottin in ya likkers’. Ya got ma cryinnnnnnnnn.
    K.R Hunte was a records store, I tink.
    You rememba de song-sheets ta popula songs fa 10cent?I had bout 100 sheets man.

Bradley432,
    De brownie-camera got a real powerful flash ya. Nuff ta blind a boy when it go off. Murdaaaaaaaaaaaa.
    As usual, you are a real ‘source’.
    When did the train stop running and why did it stop running? Trains would come in handy now with all these cars on the road.Wah you tink?

Hopping on or off vehicles was a norm in dem days man. Especially fa de men. I nevva see a woman ‘hoppin’ yet. I could never understand if they were running backward or forward when hopping off.
    I hear dat a fella hop off a bus one day and stan up. He almost bus he face fallin.
    One a my sistas would hop but not me, I was always frighten fa evryting. She try hoppin de Merry -go-round one nite at Coney Island and almost brek she neck. Dah din stop she from hoppin doe.

47. Jeff Cumberbatch
    You hidin or wah? I like I gun got ta:
    ‘rip out ya balls wid a rippin-iron’.

Sapadillo,
    Ya gone way?

48. Bonny, you turn me into a selecta, LOL!

Can somebody you never see catch your eye?