Submitted by Dr. Roland R. Clarke, Energy Policy and Utility Advisor

The Fair Trading Commission (FTC) of Barbados appears to be returning to best practice in economic regulation of the electric utility sector. In this instance, the return is by requiring the Barbados Light and Power (BLPC) to give a full assessment of the benefits (and costs) of the grid impacts of utility applied short term (4-hour) battery energy storage systems (BESS). Typically, such systems are used for operational purposes rather than energy purposes.

In particular, the FTC is requiring that the BLPC consider the benefits of the avoided costs of any deferrals in the installation of transmission and distribution assets precipitated by the installation of the BESS systems. 

Notwithstanding, the FTC has failed to require consideration of avoided operations and maintenance costs, as well as avoided losses. It is presumed that the FTC has considered the obvious avoided energy cost.

This decision of the FTC would therefore requires in part a comprehensive benefit cost analysis in support of a least cost decision in respect to utility applied BESS.

This recent requirement by the FTC for best practice by the BLPC has been sorely lacking in recent years. For example, it seems to me that in the recent past, the FTC required the BLPC to implement renewable energy “at any cost”. During that period, I did not detected any consideration of a comprehensive benefit cost analysis with subsequent least cost decision making. That omission has been plain imprudent in my professional opinion.

In fact, it would be interesting to see if the current trajectory of Barbados in relying on distributed energy resources (DER), e.g. roof top solar photovoltaics (PV) is indeed the least cost option. As far as I am aware, the current trajectory has never been subject to a comprehensive benefit cost analysis of the type now being considered in part by the FTC. 

Further, it is not obvious to me that the recent decision by the FTC would include a revisit and analysis of the current trajectory. My recommendation is that it should!

Benefits and costs matter! 

Trade offs matter immensely! 

Trade-offs must be considered when considering competing claims on scarce foreign exchange resources by other societal needs. The electric sector is not the only claimant on foreign exchange in Barbados. 

Other countries like the USA can simply print hard currency. Barbados can’t. Barbados has to “earn” every penny!

On a “technical” matter, the article by Energy-Storage News forwarded below speaks about “cost benefit” analysis. That type of analysis is technically incorrect. 

It should be “benefit cost” analysis. Why? That’s how the rigourous analyst (myself included) would avoid “divide by zero” errors. While benefits may be zero, by definition costs are always non-zero. QED.

See Relevant Link

FTC WebsiteDecisions and Orders

76 responses to “FTC decision on battery storage systems”

1. @Chris

You should remind the blog about your opinion of the FTC. You have been an intervenor and can address from that intimate perspective.

2. @Chris

On a more sober note, whenever your name appears on BU it resurfaces the memory of your soul mate ROK.

May he rest in peace.

3. Well, We see Burkino Faso and Ivory Coast as nearer to the equator. And accept solar as part of an energy mix but not the main source.

The problem with storing up to 600MW as the PM said cannot be easily overcomed, you are right about that.

The people who design such systems tend to suggest sources other than solar, as recently found out.

And even if storage capacity is overcomed the costs of so doing is another problem.

We are no engineers. But saw a report in another language, recently which suggested that all electricity is not the same.

Meaning therefore that electricity from sun power cannot be used in heavy industrial settings.

We are to varify such!

Don’t be further distracted by this writer. Feel free to continue with the deadended line of enquiry of the plantation overseer here.

4. Yolande Grant Avatar

Pacha…i saw the local minority parasites on FB pretending they have first hand knowledge about welfare, of course they do, they have been welfare rats/parasites in Afrikan people’s lives on the island since the 1600s….

Since no one seemed to want to comment, i did with a… STEUPPS…it was too early and am too exhausted to tell them about their welfare off black people ways..

5. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Donna et al… Sigh…

I thought you had accepted my apology for offending you. For a joke made on this forum several years ago.

Apparently not…

No problem. I am used to being attacked. It becomes boring after a while…

6. Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David…

Yes… I often channel ROK in my work. The guy died at his desk, continuing to do excellent work.

I miss ROK. He was a serious mentor. To many.

7. Stinking liar! It was not a joke. You told me that being a police officer is a difficult job, one that I could never do and that was offered up as a reason I should not criticise the police! How is that a joke?

Instead of getting bored, you should examine yourself for the reason why somebody always has to cuss yuh rass. Keep your mouth shut on racial matters and do not presume to lecture!

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

“We know nuclear power is not an option for Barbados”….so change is now limited to “garnering public support”?
    The largest single impediment to development, outside of corruption and laziness, is the cost of electricity.
    Get the fecking cost down.

9. @NO

All agree we need to get energy cost down.

Yes you would need public support to pursue a nuclear power option the island for obvious reasons.

10. T.R.O.Y. They Reminisce Over You Avatar
    T.R.O.Y. They Reminisce Over You

In memory of R.O.K.
    R.I.P.

T.R.O.Y. They Reminisce Over You

11. Global Warming E.F.F.E.C.T. Avatar
    Global Warming E.F.F.E.C.T.

Does Barbados experience any Global Warming E.F.F.E.C.T. as in the temperatures are rising or and there are more frequent hurricanes etc in their neck of the woods, like some other countries in the tropics near the equator who dwell closer to the Sun.

“The Sun come down
    And the Earth get hot
    Hot like a melting pot
    The world is hot like a melting pot
    Hot like a melting pot
    A melting pot”
    — Dillinger

Memories of the old Bu format
    https://bajan.wordpress.com/

12. @ NO
    FYI
    ‘Getting the cost of electricity down’ in Barbados is the EXACT same challenge as getting the cost of housing down, getting the cost of transport down, getting the cost of Health care down, and getting the cost of government down.

It is a challenge of competent management, integrity, and transparency.
    So we are doomed.

Nuclear options are more suitable for VERY large scale deployment – where the extra cost of security, safety procedures, building standards, and management overview can be spread widely.

Besides, when ‘nuclear options’ are imposed on incompetent management, lack of integrity and zero transparency, we are doomed ….tomorrow!!

13. Quotes About Learning From Failure

1. “The secret of life is to fall seven times and to get up eight times.” — Paulo Coelho

2. “It is impossible to live without failing at something unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all, in which case you have failed by default.” ― J.K. Rowling

3. “When you take risks, you learn that there will be times when you succeed, and there will be times when you fail, and both are equally important.” ― Ellen DeGeneres
    quotes about learning from failure: ellen degeneres

4. “Failure is another stepping stone to greatness.” ― Oprah Winfrey

5. “I can accept failure. Everyone fails at something. But I can’t accept not trying.” ― Michael Jordan

6. “Failure is a part of the process. You just learn to pick yourself back up.” ― Michelle Obama

7. “Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising every time we fail.” ― Confucius

8. “Children have a lesson adults should learn, to not be ashamed of failing, but to get up and try again. Most of us adults are so afraid, so cautious, so ‘safe,’ and therefore so shrinking and rigid and afraid that it is why so many humans fail. Most middle-aged adults have resigned themselves to failure.” ― Malcolm X

9. “We need to accept that we won’t always make the right decisions, that we’ll screw up royally sometimes – understanding that failure is not the opposite of success, it’s part of success.” ― Arianna Huffington

10. “When we give ourselves permission to fail, we, at the same time, give ourselves permission to excel.” ― Eloise Ristad

11. “Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.” ― Thomas Edison

12. “It’s only when you risk failure that you discover things. When you play it safe, you’re not expressing the utmost of your human experience.” ― Lupita Nyong’o
    quotes about learning from failure: lupita nyong’o

13. “It’s fine to celebrate success but it is more important to heed the lessons of failure.” ― Bill Gates

14. “Those who dare to fail miserably can achieve greatly.” ― John F. Kennedy

15. “The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.” ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

16. “There is no innovation and creativity without failure. Period.” ― Brene Brown

17. “There are no failures–just experiences and your reactions to them.” ― Tom Krause

18. “It’s fine to celebrate success but it is more important to heed the lessons of failure.” ― Bill Gates

Quotes About Fear of Failure

19. “Don’t fear failure — not failure, but low aim is the crime. In great attempts, it is glorious even to fail.” ― Bruce Lee

20. “The one who falls and gets up is stronger than the one who never tried. Do not fear failure but rather fear not trying.” ― Roy T. Bennett
    quotes about learning from failure: roy bennett

21. “Do not fear mistakes. You will know failure. Continue to reach out.” ― Benjamin Franklin

22. “Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.” ― Robert F. Kennedy

23. “One who fears failure limits his activities.” ― Henry Ford

24. “Let the fear of failure be the background noise of your success.” ― Giovanni Dienstmann

25. “A fear of weakness only strengthens weakness.” ― Criss Jami

26. “The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.” ― Elbert Hubbard

27. “Giving up is the only sure way to fail.” ― Gena Showalter

28. “The difference between average people and achieving people is their perception of and response to failure.” ― John C. Maxwell

29. “I have not failed. I have found 10,000 ways that don’t work.” ― Thomas Edison

30. “Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” ― Samuel Beckett

31. “The master has failed more times than the beginner has tried.” ― Stephen McCranie

32. “You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.” ― Beverly Sills

33. “Fear kills more dreams than failure ever will.” ― Suzy Kassem

34. “Failure is delay, not defeat. It is a temporary detour, not a dead end.” ― Denis Waitley

35. “You have to be able to accept failure to get better.” ― Lebron James

36. “You build on failure. You use it as a stepping stone.” ― Johnny Cash

37. “Failure after long perseverance is much grander than never to have a striving good enough to be called a failure.” ― George Eliot

38. “You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.” ― Maya Angelou

39. “Success is most often achieved by those who don’t know that failure is inevitable.” ― Coco Chanel

40. “We’re born with success. It is only others who point out our failures, and what they attribute to us as failure.” ― Whoopi Goldberg

41. “Develop success from failures. Discouragement and failure are two of the surest stepping stones to success.” ― Dale Carnegie

42. “Do not judge me by my successes; judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.” ― Nelson Mandela

43. “My grandmother once told me, ‘Don’t let failure go to your heart and don’t let success go to your head.’” ― Will Smith

44. “I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game-winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.” ― Michael Jordan

45. “Failure is success in progress.” ― Albert Einstein

46. “Every failure brings with it the seed of an equivalent success.” ― Napoleon Hill
    Quotes About Learning From Mistakes

47. “Failure happens all the time. It happens every day in practice. What makes you better is how you react to it.” ― Mia Hamm

48. “Failure is only the opportunity more intelligently to begin again.” ― Henry Ford

49. “Courage allows the successful woman to fail and learn powerful lessons from the failure. So that in the end, she didn’t fail at all.” ― Maya Angelou
    quotes about learning from failure: maya angelou

50. “You can’t let your failures define you. You have to let your failures teach you.” ― Barack Obama

51. “The past can hurt. But the way I see it, you can either run from it, or learn from it.” ― Rafiki (The Lion King)

52. “It is the true nature of mankind to learn from mistakes, not from example.” ― Fred Hoyle

53. “Making mistakes simply means you are learning faster. ” ― Weston H. Agor

54. “A man must be big enough to admit his mistakes, smart enough to profit from them, and strong enough to correct them.” ― John C. Maxwell

55. “A man of genius makes no mistakes. His errors are volitional and are the portals of discovery.” ―James Joyce
    Take

14. crop failures Avatar

“We are 13.2 degrees above the equator.”

does BBD experience crop failures like in South America due to Global Warming leading to starvation for farmers and all locals?

Ring the Alarm (Stalag riddim)

15. Great post, Dub! We need a reminder sometimes.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT
    I cannot refute your similarities in decreasing costs.
    But your opinion on nuclear=large scale, may not be accurate.
    You rarely see Pacha and I lining up on the same team?
    Technology, and safety, in this area have improved dramatically. It is worthy of a fair look.
    The benefits could be substantial. Almost every manufacturing opportunity gets axed when the cost of power is factored in.

17. @NO

You would trust our government and supporting personnel to manage a nuclear installation and infrastructure in Barbados? Forget the pros of the option for a moment. There is a cultural nuance of incompetence to factor here. Read AG repots; NIS financials

18. We will wonder if the overseer would trust Netanyahu, a man and wife awaiting jail sentences, but a man with up to 400 nuclear weapons under his control and intent to continue a war instead of going to jail.

Would you trust Joe Biden, a man whose mental faculties have abandoned him, but yet he has the nuclear codes, titularly.

And we know this man is not in charge. Then who are the unelected officials who are calling the nuclear shots?

Well, these are vastly more dangerous, where are the outcries? You must trust them!

You have not been following the sophistication which attends nuclear power plants but yet are insisting on an outright denial in favor of older power sources because of familiarity.

Your kind of mindset a developed and successful country does not make.

Northern has spoken truths, on all points!

Our predisposition is to trust nobody at all. Trust?
    What’s that? That kind of talk is like a child talking to a parent. Talk, which has disappointed you several times before and seemingly always will.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

A significant portion of the nuclear plant operations are automated today. Bajans aren’t stupid.
    The NIS had the checks and balances, weee just allowed the elected to abuse the checks and balances. And we continue to permit similar abuse with a multitude of state run entities. It is OUR fault. We allow it.
    If fear of potential incompetence is the driving force, then…..we need help.

20. Chris Halsall Avatar

@NorthernObserver: “A significant portion of the nuclear plant operations are automated today.

Please support your argument with evidence.

To the best of my knowledge, fission nuclear plants cost billions of dollars to build and are run by serious people. Sucks when the core melts down…

Once again, we have a fusion reactor within our line of site for approximately 12 hours a day. No maintenance is required.

P.S. Yes… I know I am being played. But this is actually fun to me.

21. @NO

How does the process being automated obviate the need for a fit for purpose structure and oversight? Anyway these matters are above the pay grade of a lowly blogmaster and will be guided by the SMEs.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am told a 1Gw plant costs +/- bds$12B, and that 15 years ago such a plant required 700 employees, but today it is down to 400 (automation is the primary source of reduction). Info via a neighbour who worked in NGPs his entire career.

Solar has many advantages. Other than it consumes a lot of land.

Whatever the electricity is generated by/from, the challenge is reducing prices. Once the producer knows they call sell it for X, even if they can reduce costs, they naturally will seek to pocket the ‘windfall’ from their ‘sound management’.

23. @ NorthernObserver May 13, 2024 at 5:41 pm
    “Whatever the electricity is generated by/from, the challenge is reducing prices. Once the producer knows they call sell it for X, even if they can reduce costs, they naturally will seek to pocket the ‘windfall’ from their ‘sound management’.”

A rather interesting piece of ‘insider knowledge’ there, “NO”!

Isn’t that exactly what Emera (or to use John A’s more applicable name, “Enema”) has been doing to Barbadian consumers since the arrival of’ alternative energy sources’ on scene to replace fossil fuels as the main source of electricity generation?

Wouldn’t the move to battery-stored electricity put the nail in the coffin of that fossil-fuel-eating dinosaur at Spring Garden?

What will happen to that ‘black-smoking elephant’?

Is Emera seeking to recover its investment (plus super profits) in a much shorter time horizon than initially forecast?

Are the savings from the reduced importation of fuel oil/diesel/gasoline for power generation being passed on to the consumers?

Will the savings from the disappearance of FCA be passed on to the average consumer since energy from the Sun does have to be imported like fossil fuels?

What will become of that large slice of gross profit that the oil importing company receives from the importation of fossil fuels?

Would the FTC be ‘smart’ enough to insist that any savings arising from the reduction in the generation of electricity from the use of fossil fuels be set-off against the inevitable cost of battery storage of electricity generated from solar and wind?

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@MTA
    I cannot answer.
    You add BNOCL to the mix.
    One @HA always claimed regulation was a great weakness in Bim.

25. Copper cannot be mined FAST ENOUGH for EVs and Net Zero Transition
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=as9vrPas-vg

Man madem, CO2 global warming is just more bollocks. They get scientific consensus that cow farts and ICE cars are causing global warmng by increasing methane and driving up to disastros levels the miniscule levels of CO2 (0.04%) in the atmosphere the same way they got “scientific consensus” in the recent plandemic terror campaign.

In the plandemic they censored, blacklisted, fired and had the mainstream media demonize any scientists or doctors, no matter their experience and credentials, who stuck their head above the parapet and dared to suggest the authorities were on the wrong track.

Now we can see the WEF/Globalists along with Bill from the Gates of hell taking the same approach with the global warming panic to force us to net zero while feeding ourselves on crickets and insect larvae while we own nothing but live happy contented lives inside our designated 15min city.
    Global Boiling is Upon Us! OR IS IT?
    youtubeDOTcom/watch?v=sSjXNBfOi40