Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. By the way, the original Coconut Grove was and still is in St. Joseph.

2. ROK
    Your answer does not suffice me ok? Hope sumting else will.
    You don’t have to be scared of me, I have no horns so I can’t ‘butt’ you. The most I will do is ‘bite’ you……….

You prefer sweet peppa or flava peppa? Just tell me Hun, and I will tone down de Bonny. Anything to ‘satisfy’ you, my dew-drop.

Nothing wrong with ‘having’ you in a corner as long as you’re facing me.
    “Position is the art of gunnery”. (tink I got dat one rite)
    What is your ‘hang-out’ spot?
    De predator on de loose.
    If de mountain can’t come to Mohammed, Mohammed will come to de mountain. (fighting talk)
    To be fore-warned is to be fore-armed.

Bradley432,
    Tell me ’bout Hurricane Janet man.She was two years my senior. You experience it?

BAFBFP
    Ya struction-mekka.
    But ya swoiteeeeeeee.

Kiki
    I love Ken Boothe’s ‘Everything I own’ wid a passion.
    When you play at me n ROK’s reception, you have to play all dese hits ya know. Along wid some slowwwwwwwwwww grooves.

3. I luvs you too ROK… you sweet sweet sweet. HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAA HAAAAAAAAAAAA… I deading HAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAA

4. BP

If you want ROK to pay attention to you, show up at the next rate hearing with a sign reading “Forget the rest ROK’s the best”.

Any way ROK’s girlfriend asked me to pass on this message , she said she has two songs for you, they are by an artist called Anthony Carter also known as the Mighty Gabby the songs are ” Needles and Pins” and the B side is “Licks like Fire”.

Do you know what she was talking about?

5. wait…

6. 8 hurn!!

loving this thread.

7. Sarge

You is a real trouble mekker doh. What girlfriend you talking ’bout? You want Bonny Peppa to block or wha? BP don’t mind he yuh hear! You would know that I can’t have no needles and pins with you or it would be lick like peas.

But Bonny, why you don’t like my answer? You is the okra in my coucou; the stew pun my Dry PR; the “S” in my “ex”. The posturpedic in my bed and song in my head.

8. Whatever became of Sing Out Barbados? They sang songs relating to Barbados and had a record “Barbados Ah come From”. There was also Yoruba dance group/theatre, I think it was the brainchild of Elton Mottley and the members used to practice in the Fontabelle area. Their specialty was African dance and theatre. I also remember a Barbados Dance Group, don’t know if it still exists but they either practiced or had performances at a building in Bishop’s Court Hill, that building was also the site of Alexandra’s night club

9. De trouble wid fellas den and now is dat when a woman say she ready, it ain’ time fah nah talk. Dis lotta long talk t’ing ain’t start de odda day. ROK tell Bonny where tah meet and den come an’ tell de res’ ah we how much shots yah put in…! Na mo’ long talk!

10. Sargeant,
    I was now beginnin to get real cruelllllll but my ROK a Gabralta allayed all my fears. You mekking sport bout a serius matta. I thought I had you ‘backings’ man. Ya struction-mekka.
    I was about ta tell ya dat nothin or noone can take me away from my boo. Dat is a decision only me n he can make. Yeahhhhhhhh, it dat serious.
    Sing out B/dos is still around but the others are now defunct. There are a few other dance groups round n about.

I want to dance de paso doble wid ya-kno-who? In a red lace ‘teddy’ wid matchin rose in my mout. murdaaaaaaaaa.

ROK,
    I get so dreamy-eyed when you call me Bonnyyyyyyy. My vision is blurredddd.
    The S in your ‘ex’? Huhhhhh, please don’t lead me into temptation if you’re not plannin to deliver me from evillllll.

BAFBFP,
    We gettin day boy, tanks ta you. I owe you one……………take ya pick.

Sargeant,
    Pull up dis one fa ma.
    Bobby Curtola’s Fortune teller.
    Ya trouble-mekka.

11. BAFBFP
    Ya got ma cryinnnnnnnn.
    Wah shots ya tawkin bout now? He coming wid a AK47?
    When not if, me n ROK do ‘meet’ dat will be a well guarded secret until……….

Lordddddddddddd a deadinnnnnnng.

12. BP

Done

ROK under pressure, he want’s to find Winston Hall hiding places.

13. @David

Sorry to be off topic here but I just got a call from VOB inviting me to be on the phone during their call-in program after the news (11:40 am) tomorrow morning. The discussion is on the media and this time includes the blog.

Apparently Denis Jones will be in the studio along with Julius Gittens and Amanda.

If you are game, maybe we can set up a thread that will feedback as the program is in progress. Any BU Bloggers could make comments which I would refer to while on the phone. Not a problem with me.

14. Somebody got a wicked sense of humour; they have ROK and Dennis Jones in the same studio. I want ringside tickets

15. I grew up Anglican, but would look forward to Revival at Pentecost or Pilgrim Holiness churches where people would get “saved” or be in the “spirit”. Recently I was in the USA and attended my brother’s Baptist church where I saw people in the “spirit”.

This was a favourite at Revival with the tambourines and rhythmic hand clapping

16. ROK
    Stupseeeeeeeeeee, I don’t listen to VOB at all. Tomorrow will be an exception to the rule. I was a regular caller and was called Ms. Hooper (Carl Hooper).There was also another Ms. Hooper. I was the original.
    Admiral Nelson also nicknamed me Ms.Copyright many moons aback. He still calls me so.
    Don’t let them perplex your spirit tomorrow hear Babes?
    The time you’re wasting tomorrow with these Klowns, you could be spending quietlly……………………….with me.
    stuupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
    These are the things that make me ask:
    “you fa realllllllllllllllll”?

17. Sarge
    Dennis Jones in the studio and I on the phone.

18. Sargeant
    Who could faget dem Revivals? Or de “All day service”. And all back den ya would be hearing dat ‘He is coming SOON, repent n be saved’.
    Is this SOON the same one that we know?
    One night at one a dese Revivals, Pastor Who-evva-he -name -did, was preaching n saying: ‘if i had de rid a all de alcohol, cigarettes, bingo tickets and all de otha evils in dis world, I would tek all an throw dem in de river.’ Then he asked a ol boy at de back to raise a ‘chorus’. De ol boy start ta sing:
    Yes, we’ll gather at the riverrrrrrrrr, the beautiful, the beautiful riverrrrrrrrrrr.

19. ROK
    But why would you want to confuse yourself with the likes of Denis Jones, the irritant? You could’ve said no. I don’t want him confusing you with his nonsense man.
    Julius Gittens is a pleasant young man. He’s a friend of one of my nieces. I don’t know the young lady but why did David have to call you?
    I getting vexxxxxxxxxxxxx already.
    Denis better don’t rub you the wrong way tomorrow. He is a real show-pig.

20. Bradley432
    Before the introduction of radio, how did events, incidents, deaths etc get around in B/dos? Who would relay the ‘news’?

21. Bonny, If I say no they are going to say they invite somebody from BU and they declined. So then we can’t go saying that no bloggers were not invited. Actually, this is a BAJ event.

22. Bonny,

Don’t worry about Denis Jones. Worry about Julius because I am sure he will be asking the hard questions.

News used to get out by the Town Crier. They tell me that news used to circulate in town and then people in Town would take it in the country… but that was not when there were no newspapers, that was when people could not read.

23. @ROK

Man, I surprise at you. You dont usually do things in halves. The okra in your cou-cou? cheupse man. Now here is the real McCoy!

How Do I Love Thee – West Indian Style
    Let me count the ways ….

You are the essence in my mauby
    De fish in my fishcakes
    I love you love you dearly
    You are the lard-oil in my bakes.

You are the coconut in my sweetbread
    De pigtail in my rice
    Just like piece of curry goat head
    I will love you till I dead.

You are the sardine in my gravy
    The dumplings in my soup
    I love you more than gambling
    Yes I love you bad fah true

Like banana leaf around my conkie
    I’ll be always close to you
    Sweet like sugar in your green tea
    I’ll do anything for you.

You are the sauce around my Cou Cou
    Hot like sweetbread when it done
    In my arms I love to hold you
    Just like a glass a rum

I will stick to you like dandruff
    Like the corns upon your toes
    Like the fat around your belly
    I’ll be everywhere you go.

Cause you are my black pudding
    And I know I am your souse
    When you call I will coming running
    Like when a boar cat see a mouse

Oh my pepper on my pork chop
    Sweet like sorrel when it mix
    When my hands caress your body
    You feel just like a couple-six

You are sweeter than a snowcone
    I will give you all I own
    You are sweeter than a hambone
    Soft and sweet like piece’o’pone

No one can take me from you
    Not in this life or death
    Gyal I love you bad fuh chu
    IS YUH MUDDA ME CYAAR TEK!

24. @Bonny Peppa
    “He coming soon “that phrase was intended for you and Rok .
    Don’t forget to meet at the Beautiful River .
    A sermon just for both of you.It’s Revival Time Hallejuah………………

25. @PAT
    Georgie good person dat.Never stole a freight train if you know what I mean , kinda slow / easy with the hands . gentle with the touch.Overall 3 stars.

@ Rok

Look out for them fast balls coming from Denise they meant to confuse yuh.

26. @Bonny , Marvin Gaye had a song, “Heard it through the grape vine.”
    Actually I recall the days even before Redifusion came on the scene. But you know that Bajans have always been gipsy and malicious . Ya tell one body something and before ya know it everybody knew. Messages and informing others about a death was done by people, mainly children ,walking miles to deliver that message.There used to be persons in the community called Parish Pumps, today they would be retitled Malicious Bastard,who would either call up the newspaper or get news to the mainly Advocate by using one of the very few telephones in the areas, sometimes they had to walk miles to get to one.I believe that they got a little fee for thier service. Well, there was no problems in announcing a wedding,as by law the wedding banns ,as they called it, had to be announced in the church at least three times before the actual wedding.
    Then there was the matter of knowing someone who knew someone from such and such a place,and he would get him/her to pass on the message.
    But the British Army in Barbados back in the 16/1700’s were able to get a message from Speightstown to the Garrison in almost the same time that it would take some land lines these days. From Fort Denmark(I think) in the Speighstown Area a flag signal would be relayed to Grenade Hall(Wild life Park) St Peter ,From there to Cotton Tower Hill,St Joseph, then onto Gun Hill St. George and from Gun Hill to the Garrison.

27. ac // November 7, 2009 at 7:49 PM

@PAT
    Georgie good person dat.Never stole a freight train if you know what I mean , kinda slow / easy with the hands . gentle with the touch.Overall 3 stars.

Thanks ac. Now BAFBFP is going to say, how do you know the modus operandi of GP? Oh, he will say, you must be a “pokey” too. lol.

Anyway, I could have surmised that. Low on dopomine and high on seratonin. It comes through in his blogs. Never loses his temper. Maybe low on testosterone too.

28. @Bonny, Oh I experienced and remember Janet well.
    I remembered the day before Janet struck,while playing around the school I lost my precious pencil, and decided that I would search for it early next morning.Never got back there till about 8/9 weeks later.
    The first we knew that a hurricane was approaching,is when a man from the village, heard the warning on the Redifusion box,when it came back on around 2 am in the morning. The Redifusion used to end its programme at 11 pm at night and nobody ever bother to switch the receiver off. Anyhow this fellow by the name of Kenny Taitt, firstly, woke up the two shopkeepers in the village and asked them to open up for business to allow people to purchase emergency supplies.Remember in those days we had nothing like CERO or DERO, every thing rested with the Police. Next Kenny organised the young fellows and send them off to neighbouring villages to warn them of the pending disaster.
    Sometime around 8 0r 9 am the strong winds began to blow.My father decided to move us to my uncle’s stronger wall house.Along the way with the winds now picking us, I recalled seeing a huge pear tree falling across the road seconds after we had passed it.It could have easily crushed the car and us. By about 4 pm the winds had subsided but almost everyone remained indoors until next day. All of the schools were used as Hurricane Shelters and packed to capacity. Next day many people returning from hurricane shelters saw the destruction to their homes and broke down. But the Government without hesitation had a recovery and relief operation up and running. Many of the homes did not have electricity in the country areas, so that was nothing to worry about.The Reddifusion service to many areas was down,as the utility poles that carry the Redifusion service wires were simple 2×4 pine that you will find in any lumber yard. But the men in the villages, took it upon themselves to rebuild the service.The water to many stand pipes were off,and we had to depend on the Water Works tanker truck, or walk miles to a functioning stand pipe.Andrew Factory also,supplied water in tanks fitted to some of its trucks to surrounding villages. Food relief,although I think it was not needed , was available a few days after the hurricane. Rice, sugar ,flour and evaporated milk,mainly. These were distributed fairly and orderly. Given that many trees had blown down, there was no shortage of Breadfruit, bananas and such. Many houses were flattened, mostly wooden ones, but things appeared to look worse than it really was .The government’s rebuilding programe was immediately put into effect. Master Carpenters in the community were given a team of carpenters and building material and off they went. Some of the carpenters it was said had never touch a hammer in their life but were engaged as carpenters, This is where the term “Stormy” ,referring to some less than capable carpenters originated,having learn the trade during the aftermath of the storm. But on the whole they did a wonderful job. One house that was completely flattened just to the back of us was rebuilt in about 3 days. Some prefab house were issued to those whose homes were beyond repair.Some of these pre-fab houses lasted the next 20/25 years.
    Meanwhile back in the hurricane shelters,schools,mainly ,the authorities had some problems getting people out of the shelters. Many believed that thier homes were destroyed and they had no place to go,and in fact some of those homes were intact.Some of the people were in a comfort zone and did not want to face the real world again.
    By the end of November the situation was back to normal.
    One of the things that was evident during the passage of Janet, is that not many of the houses, irrespective of age, with 4 -Hip Roofs were damaged .
    During all of this a lady in the next village gave birth to a baby,who is now a Captain of Industry if Barbados.

29. Remember when Cable and Wireless was just that.Motor Cycle riders delivering Telgrams all over the island. If one of these riders turn up at your door it meant one of two things, either ya won the Pools or someone close has died overseas.
    Heard about the fellow that went to Amerika, join the Army and sent back the following telegram to his mother.
    “Mum I am now in the US Army, that’s a feather in my cap.”
    Six months later another telegram arrived. “Mum I am now a Corporal, that’s another feather in my cap.”
    A year later another telegram, ” Mum I am now an Officer, that’s another feather in my cap.
    Two years went by,and another telegram Came. “Mum things went bad, I was Court Martialed and kicked out of the Army.Could you send me the price of an air fare back home.”
    The mother returned the following telegram. “Son its like this, ya see all them feathers ya had in ya cap, well stick dem up ya ass and fly home.”

30. Off Topic

Todays Advocate picked up an article from a Jamaican newspaper which states that a Jamaican born officer has been appointed to the second highest rank of the Toronto Police Force.The article states that he is the second black in the history of the Toronto police Service to be made a Deputy Chief. I wish Peter Sloly the best in his new appointment but for all those who don’t read the Advocate perhaps they could have added that the first black to be appointed Deputy Chief is Barbadian born Keith Forde who was appointed in 2005.

http://www.torontopolice.on.ca/command.php

31. A little known fact. We all know that many Bajans went to Cuba and the Panama Canal. But Bajans also went to Costa Rica to help build the railway there. To this day many of their descendants live in Limon.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28649814.jpg

32. http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28650088.jpg

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
    Between the crosses row and row
    That mark our place and in the sky
    The lark still bravely singing fly
    Scarce heard amid the guns below

We are the dead.Short days ago
    we live ,felt dawn ,saw sunset glow
    loved and were loved and now we lie
    in Flanders fields

Take up our quarrel with the foe
    to you from failing hands we throw
    the torch, be yours to hold it high
    If ye break faith with us who die
    We shall not sleep,though poppies grow
    in Flanders fields.

*********Arte et Marte**********

33. Any body remember when Banks Breweries first opened? It had a fountain in front which Bajans from every parish used to stand up and stare at for hours when it was lit in the pretty colours at night. It was truly a spectacle in its time.

Also remember the one in Queens Park, shaped like the map of Barbados?

34. Pat, you are a real darling. Came to my rescue. Lord yuh crack me up. I sure you crack up Bonny too. LOL!

You are the lard-oil in my bakes. Laaarrrrddd

Like banana leaf around my conkie. Oh my ….. ohhhhhh!

ah deeeeeeaaaaaadddddddd!

35. The fountain in front of Banks had spotlights of different colours and the pattern of the water display would change every 30 seconds or so. It was new to Barbados and people would gravitate to the area at night just to see the changing patterns. Many schools and organizations would also tour the brewery and at the end you were rewarded with Malts (Schoolboys) or Beer (Adults). People who lived in the Flagstaff/Claphan area would hang out around the Brewery and join in the “tours”: to get free beer.

The Brewmaster (Ian Clarke) also had two large Irish mastiffs that would wonder across the cricket ground. Despite their size they were said to be docile, I don’t know if anyone ever tried to prove the veracity of that claim

36. s/b wander across…

37. http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28650530.jpg.

file:///F:/A Soldiers Lament.htm

38. file:///F:/A%20Soldiers%20Lament.htm

39. Bradley, who is this Arte et Marte?

The Canadians are very proud of Dr. John McCrae and his famous poem.
    Every Canadian kid in elementary school learns it and all recite it on Remembrance Day, which is November 11th up here.

40. ROK
    Lemme tell you sumting see, doan leh me see or hear you refer to nabody, not a soul as ‘darling’, you hear me? You doan call me dem names a’ tall. I hay beggin like a dog fa any sorta attention from you an you hay calling Pat darlin.You tryin my faif. You gun get sum serius ‘licks’ from me.

Pat,
    How ya doin Sweets? A luv de poem especially de las line.
    Ya had ma cryinnnnnn.
    I woulda luv fa ROK ta be holin my hands an reciting dah poem ta me girl. I would brek down n cry real bad.
    Ya kno how it is when ya love somebody? Ya cud get real emotional at de lillest ting.

Bradley432
    ‘well stick dem up ya ass n fly home’.
    Brad, ya had ma down pun de groun ketchin ‘bad -feels’ wid dah whun. You is one crazy soul. I in able wid you.
    Thanks fa de run-down bout Hurricane Janet.

ROK
    I rememba de pretty fountain at Banks. Niagara Falls at night comes to mind. Would love to stroll down that boardwalk with you hand in hand, gently resting my head on your arm.
    my,my, my.

What about de famous ‘clock’ in Queens Park that was de meeting point for all n sundry on Exhibition Day?
    I never attended. Was probably too young.

ROK
    Can we meet unda de ‘clock’ dis weekend? Please say ‘yes’.

41. ac
    ‘he’s coming soon’
    I love um.
    Can I get an ‘Amennnnnnnnnnnnn’?
    Halle,halle-lujahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

42. @Pat , Thought y0u were versed on latin?
    Arte et Marte . By Skill and by Fighting.

43. Bradley,

I do know some Latin, but thought they were peoples names – Arte Johnson and Marte Robins.

44. Pat
    Marte Robins?

Dah baddddddddddddddddd. Luv um.

45. I was told that the catholic church services was all latin in those days. My mother used to attend the catholic church and I rememberseeing a hymn book with what i was told was latin

46. @ac

In my day, we all had to learn Latin at school. I studied it for 6 long years. It provided a good basis for the sciences and English as well.

47. I know one Anglican priest who at certain times of the year used to conduct the service in Latin. Those of us on the Confirmation class were given some basic instructions in Latin.

48. You remembered those school hymns which you had to learn by heart even before you were able to read and write. And even so there were not hymns sheets or Hymn books given out. You had to listen and learn. And even to this day those hymns ,and school songs are still remembered word for word .
    572: Lord I would own thy tender care
    281 :Lead us Heavenly father lead us
    4 : New every Morning is the love

698:O thou who camest from above
    166: All people that on earth do dwell
    ????: Dear Lord and Father of Mankind

49. Bonny, I did not call Pat darling, I said she was a darling to come to my rescue. Now that is different from saying “My Darling”. Do you agree?

The old school is steeped in Latin & Greek. The Classics. There was a whole culture behind the classics. Lots of mystery and myth. Learned a whole lot about the Romans and it seemed that every discipline/subject stretched back to the Greeks and the Romans.

I often wondered why there was no reference to Christ when we were reading about the Romans. After all, it was during the same time as Christ.

The one thing that bothered me about geography as a child was understanding where these places were. I thought that Egypt and Bethlehem were part of Barbados. In those days, the first time you would probably see a map was in secondary school. It was hard to visualise.

Then the old people had a phrase about Timbuktu. There seemed to be something bad about a person coming from Timbuktu; apart from it being far away.

50. Pat

Did you learn the ditty

Its a fact! Dick”s Duck has no fir on its back?

Do you remember its significance? LOL