Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. GP

I don’t know whether it was ignorance or the nature of the society but medical information was really lacking 30-40 years ago. It was common for many deaths to be labeled “bad feels”. I wonder if “bad feels’ ever made it to the death certificate

2. What electric panties what, I know at least two GT Panties, and both a dem had look real sweet.

I also knew a fella called “Ass”..!
    I spot he in Broad Street a few years back an’ shout he. Yah know ’bout ten men look ’round…? Ha ha ha

3. There was this woman call Shootmapussy,
    & a fellow known as How-de-do-my-lady.
    This fellow the first morning on the job as a Sanitary Inspector, knock on this house ,and said and the woman lokked out “How de do my lady, ah come to check ya shyte hole.”
    We all hear the expression every day, “kiss-my-ass”, but we had some women when they cussing out used to pull up their dresses,drop thier nickers and skin the meat at each other. One day this happened and this lil boy close up to the action started to run,his father shouted at him, ” Boy get back here and watch this!”

4. Man GP yah must tell de group if yah two sons are adopted… Man you so clinical I can’ imagine you perkin’ up tah get it on wid a woman. CuDear man…!

5. BAFBFP

Hah, ha, ha, that is the name that surpass the electric panties. Lol! GT Panties.

Ass? I know an ex combermerian we used to call “Ass Face”.

6. Haven’t heard this song for a long time “All Day All Night Mary Ann” another one of them song that was a no-no in my family .

7. And fellows after scratching away their balls would used kerosene oil to kill the crab lice they caught last Sarday night in some Bridgetown whore house.

8. @achttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hymVKzB9z5s

9. Then there was a time when an angry man turned up at the Drive in with a collins ,cause he suspect his wife was inside with another man. A warning was flashed on the screen that a man was outside armed with a collins looking for his wife.
    The Drive-In was emptied of cars in no time.

10. When someone died and was suspected of being poisoned , the Station Sergeant and the grave digger had the dirty task of digging up the body 9 days after it was buried for the PMO to examine. This was probably the only time that Bajans were not malicious.

11. Beside Electric Panties, some girls were knows as:
    Thermogene (a hot rubbing stuff)
    Blue Flame…..A brand of kerosene that heat things up quickly.
    Mentone…….A fast local race horse.

12. As a boy I hated pork that still had bristles in it,and refused to eat it
    One day my mother said to me, ” ah ha you don’t like it so now ,wait till ya get big”
    20/25 years later I understood what she meant. aaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh

13. @Bonny I aint marry na hawker, but a hawker granddaughter. Busby Alley is somewhere down there by Abeds. Amen Alley, I lost track of that one .But it was so called because it was near a church which at the time was out of bounds to slaves, so they used to congregate in this alley,and shouted Amen! frequently throughout the service.

14. ROK
    I tell you dat de lil girl was not me. Anyhow, yes Dr. Porgie, I was given Antepar and the problem was solved. Like Bill Clinton said, ‘It wasn’t me ROK. I swear.

Bradley432,
    Dat is de best nickname so far; Shootmapussy. I luv um badddddd.

ac,
    we couldn’t sing dat song eitha fa adults ta hear.
    There was also a verse dat went like dis:
    Pound, shillings and pence
    De monkey jump ova de fence
    He tek piece a grass
    And juck um in he ass
    Pound, shillins n pence.

Sargeant
    Dat is true. A lot of de ol folk were ignorant to a lot of ills.
    An epileptic was deemed a madman.
    A retard was also deemed a madman.
    And they were very ‘sheltered’ by their parents.
    For a good reason too because some children would tease dem to death man.

Bradley432,
    Talking bout crab lice, a girlfriend of mine gave a fella crab lice one time and he nearly kill she wid blows man.
    They both live in the States now. No, not togetha.

Dr. Porgie
    How is crab lice contracted? Is it still around today?

ROK
    No, de lil sucka-finga girl was not ME.

15. You remember dem white boys from over and away who used to go to school at Lodge ? Man the black driver would slow down the van and allow these boys to squirt you with water pistols and pelt things at you. That was not bullying,just the lads having some fun. And ya could not do a damn ting,as I’ve mentioned before everything was centered around the plantation,and if ya had bust one of these boys head with a big rock,not only ya run the risk of ending up in Dodds, but if ya family work at a plantation and live on plantation land, they would be skinned off and want a job.

16. Bradley432
    Oh what a nite, what a nite.
    You tryin ta kill me or wah?
    You in easy a’ tall. I tell ya.

You chan get enuff prickley pork now nah? Dah fa ya.
    Bradley, from now on you cud call me ‘Blue Flame’. OK?

Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

17. Bradley432,
    I would hope de water pistols had in only water and not piss. Dat would be anotha story.

If ya couldn bust de white boys head wah bout de black driva? Ya couldn bust his neitha?
    Dah badddddddddddddddddddd.

18. Bonny, yuh badddddd!

Bradley, Busby Alley was on of the best kept public secrets. It was a place where you could get any amount of eggs cheap, cheap. Even shopkeepers used to send down there to get eggs… but when you get there for the eggs, talk about seasoning, parsley and herbs? Can’t done. Down there was a mini market.

Amen Alley is by the St. Michael’s Cathedral. There used to be Jones Drug Store at the bottom of the alley on the Palmetto Square side. It is very small, I don’t think a car could get right through that alley nowadays.

19. Some more old vehicles of the past.
    Hey! Here is sex pervert Hawkins’ car
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28447721.jpg
    Brucevale Factory in St Andrew had some Austin trucks like these,for carrying sugar to Bridgetown.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28408050.jpg
    And the very popular “small mout” Bedford Truck
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28408031.jpg
    Then there was this type of Bedford van used to mostly deliver bread.Big Guts Silva had one.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28447724.jpg
    Remember these turnstiles where you used to put in 5 cents
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28447731.jpg

20. @ROK .You mean this little pokey (as in tiny) alley that I took a picture of last week. Was it Jones or E.C.Gill Drug Store?
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28448092.jpg
    @Bonny, a town umman like you should know Bridgetown good, better that we country bucks.

21. nobody mention “neighbour bowl” that is whenthe neighbour pass foodover the fence to each other. Another thing neighbour like to do was lic mouth alot. I guess because they were no phones in dem days.

22. Yeah Bradley. That’s it. Jones Drug Store was where then, on High Street?

So ac, what you trying to say? Now they got phones they don’t lick their mouths? Reminds me of Alfred Pragnell’s piece. I think Marvo Manning also did it; The Telephone Call. lol!

23. Hip Pip !!! The 5th of November
    Bombs, starlights, carboil in a cooca tin,ya light one end and Boom!!!! But worst was burning old tyres,as it was said that the smell of balata (another old word) would make the old men goadies roll.
    Although this was a night of literally playing with fire,I ‘ve never seen houses or cane fields burnt due to negligence. But by far the best part of celebrating Guy Fawkes Day,as it was officially known, was tearing through some Stew Dumplings or Conkies .

24. Wash Day:
    It is amusing when I see the wife get up on Saturday morning and decide to wash, and by 12:00pm it’s all over except for a few things she like to hang out on the line in the sun.

Back in the day washing was week long chore. Monday: over the juckin’ board with some blue soap, green bush, and grinding out the dirt. The clothes are the placed on the bleaching ground which was some stones on the ground, or if you were on another level you would have a rack made of chicken wire. If the young girl in the house had a Can-can skirt that was hung on a fence tree or some bush in order to stay in shape. Tuesday: Rinsing and putting down again for drying, Wednesday: Starching and hanging on the line. Thursday: Preparing for, Friday which was ironing day.
    Electric Iron?? You better think Coal Pot and Sad Irons on the coal fire, that’s when I looked forward to placing a potato in the coal pot arch and roasting it. This went well with a cup of Fry’s Cocoa-tea.

Oh by the way Bradley, speaking of wash day. what were those funky square dark pieces of flour bags doing on the bleachin’ ground at a certain time of the month, LOL LOL LOL. Remember that guy named “John…” I tell you the women have come a long way. But it’s good to make these folk understand the past.

That was Barbados back then<

25. There has been a great change in the dispensing of medication, I remember when you would take the prescription to the “Doctor shop”( that’s what we called them)/ Drug Store. and the druggist would take the prescription to the back, then you would hear the pestle beating the hell out of the mortar. he would then bring you a mixture in a bottle, somehow it was always brown and tasting like poison, and tell you how much to take. What a mess. These same medications are now being produced by the billion dollar pharmaceutical companies in pill form.

Who remember lining up on Sunday morning for a dose of Castor oil and a piece of orange to take the taste from your mouth. If that wasn’t child abuse I don’t know what was, but we had our systems cleaned out.

26. @ Bimbro

Where you been hiding? Setting up your own blog again? What’s it called this time? Are we allowed on, or is it only for British West Indians like last time?

27. Re CaptainAl // November 1, 2009 at 11:32 PM

There has indeed been a great change in the dispensing of medication, BUT it is definitely NOT TRUE that “These same medications are now being produced by the billion dollar pharmaceutical companies in pill form “

Many of the drugs I studied for my Pharmacology exam in 1976 are no longer used.(even though students of Pharmacology) must still know about them. LOL. So much of the stuff used in the 50’s and 60’s were by then long gone.

One of the old things that I liked to use in the 80’s & 90’s was Lin Meth Sal. It’s a greenish solution of salicylic acid- the precursor to aspirin.

When we were final year students, a few of us went up to Gall Hill Clinic. We would see the patients, and when Dr Brathwaite come, we would show him what we did and when he saw our fancy prescriptions for the new pain killers of that day , he would say “Don’t care what you give the old people for pain , you have to give them something to rub with!” I found that to be a psychological truth, that I observed faithfully.

Apparently Collins caught on to the fact that lots of it was being used , and they jacked up the price so high they took it of the formulary in the mid 90’s . Not sure what happens now.

@Bradley 432
    The race horse Mentone was a champion horse in Bdos and T & T in the late 50’s. Owned by M E R Bourne and ridden by Byron Clarke……

M E R Bourne also owned Question Mark & Dry Spell which were quick also. These horses were contempories of Volare and Bois Vita etc

@Bonny Peppa
    I am sure that crab lice infestation is still around, but I have never actually seen a case in my time practicing.

Pubic lice is directly caused by an infestation with a small parasitic insect called Phthirus pubis. While not direct pubic lice “causes,” certain risk factors can increase a person’s chances of becoming infested. For example, having multiple sex partners or sharing clothing or bedding with an infested person puts one at a higher risk for infestation.

Re I would hope de water pistols had in only water and not piss. Dat would be anotha story.

Actually at Mona Campus in the early 70’s, the men in Chancellor were alleged to store their urine in bottles and fire extinguishers .

They were called “pisstinguishers.” And alledgedly used for feuding with Irvine and Taylor Hall invaders. I never really saw one or see one used….only heard about them.

28. @ Bonny
    Pisstinguishers were allegedly used as revenge when the Taylorites or Irvinites conducted panty raids in Seacole Hall.

In my first year there was a very large girl. One of her panties was secured from such a raid and hoisted on a flag poll. It was not hard to ascertain whose they were.

Thats not Bajan of course…..but a fairly natural memory following your comment .

29. The BIMBRO comment above BU suspects is NOT the Bimbro we know.

30. @Bradley

By the time I met Hawkins, he was driving one of these:

http://www.aronline.co.uk/press/ado16_176113.jpg

31. Terry Callier – What Color Is Love

32. I know David. Yah din’ have tah let de res ‘ know. I just wanted tah stir up a lil’ som’ting. Sorry. I humbly apologise. Profusely, prostrate and humiliated.

33. i am really sorry for the persons that add sick comment on this website, as it’s suppose to be a learning page for the young ones. What if Mr Hawkin/Hawker that drove the austin’s grandkids were to get hold of these lies. are you bastards being fair? Maybe you all are spinless but gosh, have a heart & get a life.

34. As far as I am concerned we are speaking about Barbados. When Mr. Hawkins was alive these things were said about him and he did not seem to have a problem with it. He rather liked his reputation and he was always soliciting women. He cared nothing about the stories and told some too.

By the way, I just remember the man they used to call the “man with the hearse” or was it a heartman? Coursey Pilgrim that used to run the shop at the corner of Newbury and the turn off to go to Greens. The story was that he used to sell people to the devil, cut out their heart.

I happened to know Coursey well and he used to revel in his reputation. It used to stop the children and others from coming around his shop to do wickedness. If there is one shop you should prefer not to rob, or go in there giving trouble, it was Coursey’s shop. LOL!

35. @Anonymous we like we hit a nerve there. History is history and cannot be changed. Mr Hawkin’s story is genuine. Many of us have witnessed his invitations to young girls. I’ve seen him on Blackmans Road just down from West St Joseph/Grantley Adams, so don’t come in here appointing yourself as some Third Umpire.There are lots more that can be said of the dirty habits of the planter class in those days.

36. matthew walker decourcey Avatar
    matthew walker decourcey

i would just like to say i am very proud to have bajan blood flowing through my body my granparents live in st james but are oringally from the whim st peters and rock dunda st andrews i feel that barbados is to english to white i really think u should help da bajan people more the people that have worked hard for this island need help and direction for barbados and da bajan people please dont forget us or sell us out for white tourist and a few dollors we should remember where we come from and respect r island some more before we lose this to the white man tourists for ever tourism is not every thing love for your own is we are alright compared to africa

37. Bradley’s Picture is much closer, just shows how the manufacturers back then were cutting deals with cars.
    Ever noticed that Morris and Austin were similar cars the same way Chrysler and Dodge operates.

38. BAFBFP // November 2, 2009 at 11:58 AM

I know David. Yah din’ have tah let de res ‘ know. I just wanted tah stir up a lil’ som’ting. Sorry. I humbly apologise. Profusely, prostrate and humiliated.
    Bimbro would never come on here, on a blog about ole Bahbadus and use only four (words). I have known the man for years on different blogs.
    Besides, I dont remember him ever using caps.

See how easy it is to out people?

39. Anonymous,
    Who you calling bastards, ya son-of-a-bitch. You get a life. Ya klown.

Bradley432
    My sista’s husband had a car like dat in de late 60’s early 70’s and it was called a Triumph.
    Bradley, I ask you if Da Silva lived at the bottom of Fairfield?
    I is a town umman dat know very little bout town is right. I is also a cuntry buck dat know even less ’bout de cuntry. I know Black Rock n de environs doe. Wanna test meh?

Dese ol time photos look so sweettttttttt.

BAFBFP,
    Ya instigata.

matthew walker decourcey
    WELCOME.

40. @ROK

That picture is the car I remember Hawkins with. But I am sure it had a black soft top.

By the way, we knew Coursey Pilgrim. Even down in St. Joseph they used to call him the “heart man”.

He was a family friend and we used to cook a special dish for him which he took home in one of those old fashioned carriers. His wife loved it. He always brought a pint and a half bottle of rum to put in it. But we required only about a cup for the dish and we would keep the rest.

I asked him once about the heart man business and he laughed until his stomach (which was not small) jiggled!
    We all liked him and he always brought something at Christmas. Now that you mentioned the shop explains the groceries.

He also drove taxi and whenever he had the tourists at Bathsheba, would leave them beside the road or on the beach and come up the hill for a chat, to eat or have a drink.

Wondering what we cooked for Coursey and his wife?

TURTLE STEW!

Whenever a turtle was caught, we would engage some and send a message to Coursey and he would come down as soon as he got the message. Turtles were kept for 4-5 days to purge them before slaughter and he would make sure enough was engaged for him and us.

I dont think he had any children. I asked him once if he could bring his kids down to spend the day and go in the sea with us and he said he had none. I was so sorry. He was such a nice man.

He was also in the brotherhood – hence the heart man story. The very high level, it is rumoured, requires a human sacrifice.

41. @Pat

I am glad that at least one person could verify Coursey and the fact that the story meant nothing to him…

I was still at school when I lived in Newbury about 100 yds from Coursey’s Shop. True, he had no children around and he never used to let any hang around either. He would not run them but he did not encourage too much play around the shop.

I found that he was a good man as you said and he had a lot of big-up friends that used to come from all over the island to that corner shop. Sometimes all around the shop and on the road cars would come and park. You could see it was after a funeral.

But you know the old folk liked a lot of mystery and intrigue. Stories upon stories that were bordering on fantasy, captured the imagination of children. Of course, they were about real people, but the way the story was told there was a moral to learn.

Like my father used to tell a story of a newspaper vendor, who was by then an old man selling papers on the bridge. He went to Harrison College and his father was a scavenger as we called them in those days; now the Sanitation Department.

His father apparently would stop by the school while working, feeling proud he has a son at HC to give his son money. His son would spot him early and rush out to meet him before he actually got in the school… but one day he asked his father why he keep coming to the school because it embarrasses him.

Of course you know his father stopped coming and refused to pay the school fees anymore so he had to stop school. That is how he became a newspaper vendor for the rest of his life.

42. @Bonny, we never knew exactly where Big Guts Silva arrived from, he just turned up in the village and could cuss just as good as any Bajan. He is got to be the same person,can’t be two like him. Your sister husband’s car was probably a Triumph Herald,
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28479111.jpg
    @ Captain Al,never knew that the Metropolitan was a copy of a Nash product, I believe the ones here was made by Austin of England .

43. I had a friend who owned a Rambler but she could only drive in it at nightbecause the owner was married.
    Remember when we had to scrub the floors on hands and knees with scrubbing brush and some kinda of baking soda. Don’t forget pine floor we had to polish them until they shine with o’cedar polish. Also as children we play shop and used cut plate as money.

44. Which a wanna from St. Lucy and know bout de Wards. Wha ’bout de St. Johns. Hear one ah dem was very gifted, many ol’ women still talk ’bout he today…!

If yah had a perty daughter yah would sen’ she tah Ward and he would buy she a house an’ put she up fah life. Now da is livin’.

45. So Pat wah happen tah de Englishman…! Hope he ain’ talking tah Michael or Elvis….

46. @ BAFBFP

He probably sick.
    He probably nursing someone sick.
    He probably blogging on the Forum.
    He probably trying to revive his old blog.
    He probably lurking.

I bin reading these threads carefully looking for his writing traits. Aint seen dem lately. When he comes on, I will spot him. If I spotted Bradley under all his handles, I can spot Bimbro aka 199.

He’ll be back.

47. Rok

That story of the boy who was ashamed of his father because he was at HC and his father was a scavenger was very common in Barbados. Usually happened later when the individual finished school and started to work because by then they were independent of the parents. I know a woman who is still bitter towards her sister many years after the fact because her sister refused to speak to her when they met on the streets of Bridgetown.. The sister work at one of the Banks and didn’t want to acknowledge her when she was with her work friends.

That is only one example but there are many more

48. @ Sargeant,ROK. The constant campaign to move hawkers off the street of Bridgetown may be as a direct result of those now at the top echelons of society are ashamed of a parent who may be selling on the same streets. There was an old man who bought a new car for his son,and one day he met the son while he was with his friend and called at him. When the son got home, he in no uncertain terms told his father not to call at him when he is with his friends. The father contacted the garage which sold him the car. Next morning he told the son that he must leave the car home ,as the garage was coming for it to carry out a service.He had made arrangement for the garage to sell the car, irrespective of how much he stood to loose on it.
    Then there was another girl who told her school friends after this woman called at her, “Oh she is a woman from up by we.”