Leslie Haynes appointed Chief Justice

New Chief Justice Leslie Haynes formalizing his appointment under the gaze of President Mason

The blogmaster is not thrilled with the appointment of Leslie Haynes as the Chief Justice of Barbados to replace Patterson Cheltenham. There are many reasons that can be cited – his most recent tenure as Chairman of the hobbled National Insurance Scheme cannot be described as stellar, his was an uneventful period as President of the Barbados Bar Association, as Chairman of the Electoral Boundaries Commission many questions can be asked about lack of timely reporting on election matters especially the fiasco that occurred during the COVID 19 general election and other snafus.

The biggest concern of the blogmaster is his close relationship with Prime Minister Mia Mottley. There is always an effort in our system of government to demarcate the judiciary from the executive. If memory serves Haynes’ private law practice operated from the same location as Mottley’s at the corner of James Street. Barbados is a small island which makes it difficult to select a candidate untouched by our incestuous nature. However, we could have done better.

How the blogmaster regrets Jeff Cumberbatch had to shuffle off this mortal coil. To compare the resumes of Cumberbatch and Haynes- not to include integrity- would have made him a slam dunk selection for the position of CJ.

Relevant LinkReport of Judicial Appointments Committee

61 responses to “Leslie Haynes appointed Chief Justice”

1. Justice must be seen to be done in Barbados

Barbadians may be a bit more than just curious about a recent decision of High Court Judge, Justice Shonna Griffith, which gave the Disciplinary Committee of the Barbados Bar Association and the Bar itself permission or “leave” to go ahead with proceedings against two attorneys who were convicted of misappropriating their clients’ funds.

The instruction from the court provides the crucial step in moving forward and it also sets the parameters for future disciplinary action.

By any standard, the offences by the two attorneys, Vonda Pile and Cheraine Parris, pierced the heart of the highest levels of ethics and the ideals of the profession.

The case in question in a nutshell was novel in that the matters were dealt with initially by the criminal court and not through the Disciplinary Committee of the Bar which is initiated by way of a complaint from an affected person. Here no complaints were made so the issue was how to proceed against them and whether they were fit to practise law following conviction and a term of imprisonment.

The Committee initially granted leave to the Bar Association to proceed but later withdrew it. The court held it was unreasonable but no prejudice was done to either attorney so the disciplinary matter could proceed as there is no dispute in terms of convictions.

Legal Profession Act

Recently, the Barbados Bar Association revealed some of the provisions it would like to see in the Legal Profession Act, admitting that: “findings of theft from clients and related misconduct destroy the reputation of not only the profession but also Barbados as a jurisdiction”.

The lawyers’ group was crystal clear that “the aim of the legislative provisions is to ensure each and every year that clients’ funds are safe and that clients’ accounts are in order before the issuance of a practising certificate to an attorney”.

“The requirement for financial probity among attorneys is essential within the legal profession and indeed a requirement for the due administration of justice.”

This speaks to the Bar Association attempting to take crucial steps to curb theft of clients’ funds entrusted to attorneys.

That explains why the Bar Association, in a non-adversarial and unprecedented move took the Disciplinary Committee to court to ensure that the matter of accountability for clients’ funds was handled appropriately; the procedures to get the job done were sound; and the protection of the rights of attorneys and their clients guaranteed justice for all parties.

The action deserves applause. Equally, the judge’s action has prepared the wicket, to use a sports metaphor, for the match to be played in earnest.

Trust

People in and out of Barbados and its diaspora are going to pay close attention to what happens in any case that pits the disciplinary forces – the Committee and the Bar Association – against attorneys in private practice. That is because such a situation will include the elements of trust in one’s lawyer being paramount, erasing lingering feeling that lawyers are going to protect their own.

This much is clear: the overwhelming majority of the nation’s legal practitioners are honest and there is little, if any evidence, that the Disciplinary Committee and the Bar are engaged in a process of circling the wagon, meaning protecting each other at their clients’ expense. We may be dealing here with a “few bad” apples in a large barrel, has always been the contention by the Bar.

This latest move comes at a time when the outgoing Chief Justice Sir Patterson Cheltenham also called for an amendment to the Act that would allow for swifter justice for clients whose funds were misappropriated.

The guilt of the two attorneys has already been established by the law courts and they served time in prison.

Should there now be further punishment via the route of disbarment? That we are waiting to see.

Lord Hewart, a jurist of the House of Lords in London, advised a century ago: “Justice should not only be done, but should manifestly and undoubtedly be seen to be done.”

That maxim, often taught in classes at the University of the West Indies in Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica where Caribbean lawyers are trained, can be applied in the case of the Disciplinary Committee and the Bar Association.

Another consideration is the effort by the Law Reform Commission to upgrade and clarify the rules that govern the practice of law, including how to treat lawyers who run afoul of their profession’s guardrails and in the process may be helping to give the profession a bad name.

The current matter may be seen as a test case and it can turn out to be an opportunity that sends a powerful message to the public at large about the true meaning of making this abstract justice a reality for those who seek redress after reposing trust in their lawyers only to have it betrayed.

2. David,

Wonders never cease!

I have not come across many good lawyers in Barbados, so it’s no shock to my system that someone’s friend will now hold a position that allows him a good pay cheque and title.

What more does a friend of a friend need on this rock?

Very few good lawyers in this place and all of them get on the phone to each other.

Can’t even trust the one taking your money.

A legal clerk told me that I’m ‘marked’, so most lawyers will avoid working for me. Only in this 2×3 place things like this happen.

Years ago I went to the BAR’s disciplinary committee regarding an attorney who wouldn’t give me the interest from money that spent years in a client account. The judge had ordered all money and interest be paid, but she only paid the money and wouldn’t even answer me regarding the interest.

Would you believe me if I told you that the BAR here doesn’t want to discipline their buddies?

On the very day there was to be a response from the attorney, I got an email from the committee email address and opened it thinking it was a response from them. That email triggered someone trying to hack my account from Surrey England. I called and asked if their account was compromised and it seemed like all was in order. I left them, the over $40,000 and the attorney to the depths of hell.

There is no real justice on this rock.

I’ve met one person in Bim who has confidence in any lawyer or court system on this rock. They shouldn’t think about reputations they don’t have. If anything, people only have bad things to say about lawyers and the system they work in as a whole.

They make it very difficult to get things done here without using a lawyer because the parliament is filled with them. In a country with a get rich quick mindset, where everyone is on the make, you become a gangsta or a lawyer. I’ll be very curious to know if the BAR has tried to locate the lawyer who has a St.Ph address, but is no longer in Bim courtesy of her clients $480,000.

This happens all the time, and they only now talk about those two who spent time for their crimes.

What about the lawyers who use client funds to purchase property while dragging out your purchase or sale so they can use what is yours? Shouldn’t that be a crime?

I went to view a house that was shown to me by the husband of the same lawyer who kept my interest. They have a number of different properties here and overseas and he was boasting to me about their life, not knowing I was a former client. I knew who he was, so it was great to get all the information he was so boastful with.

I’m sick of this place that could be a lot better, but has fallen short and filled with bad practices and poor work ethic. I’ve noticed an attitude of do very little and let the money pour in.

@BAJE it really is hard to live here, my tolerance level is now very low.

@ Yolanda, I’m glad you continue to fight, but these people are beyond help.

3. Yolande Grant Avatar

I know they are beyond help, and no one should waste their time trying, that time has long passed. The global shift that RECENTLY took place unbalanced them, and showed up their insignificance and all they stand for, which is nothing more than what is seen and NOT NEEDED.

The corrupt are rotten to their core and will never change, they destroyed the reputation of the island and they themselves are known world-wide as gangstas and thieves, because of their wicked actions in other countries, extending their tentacles of THEFTS and SCAMS….. and assuming other people’s identities to RoB bank accounts…

….the fight now is to make sure the WORLD KNOWS and protects itself from these criminal types now that the dawn has broken on a new ERA….with new bloodlines in place….

….and the corrupt have these small island criminal ambitions for OUR world….that MUST BE STOPPED..

…..while they are pretending to be pan afrikanists in their ugliness…but are all out to sea…have no clue and are shut out from any meaningful connects…in other words, no one wants the bajan stench of disruption.

Dont know why they bother running around the world stage putting on a false show when they are so famous in the most negative of ways and no one trusts them…..but that’s the SHAMELESS in a nutshell.

4. Yolande Grant Avatar

Hopefully they are noticing that Afrika is taking a STRONG stance against THEFTS of resources on our continent….with UN staff being arrested and charged, hopefully that will cool their passions thinking Afrika is their new playground for thefts and a pushover.

Afrika AND Afrikans sees them for who and what they are…..no hiding.

5. ‘Make it, make sense’.
    I used to comment on the legal system in Barbados, but I came to the realization that I was participating in a fantasy game or some sick figment of some madmen imagination.

Respectfully, I have stopped participating.

6. I have argued many times that lawyers should be banned from becoming MPs in Barbados. In the same manner that a fox should never be given permission to become the gatekeeper of a hen house.

It’s always good to contrast and compare our nation with other nations to see where we rest on a sliding scale.

I look at Mia and am amazed at how a Sandy Lane girl could so enchant the world with her unique style and I’m not talking about her penchant for wearing extravagant scarves.

This lady did not arise from out of nowhere. She is very much the product of the roaring twenties era where personal enterprise and a dash of vearth was enough to catapult the hungry in to a position of wealth. And with that the forming of a dynasty. America was the beacon for the poor black Bajan man particularly after the riots during the 1930’s. The British sent out a team to investigate the motivation for these riots and the social conditions of the island and were appalled with the poverty that they had witnessed.

Those who made it to the States were grateful for the opportunity. As immigrants, they would probably have had to adopted a lifestyle which some would now call risky. Which Bajan in their right mind would have wanted to return to a Barbados which was a virtual plantation and offered them nothing but misery. Yet, miraculously, some found themselves back on the rock having learnt every trick in the book.

Take a look at the number of Barbadian criminals who are being repatriated back to Barbados from the USA and Canada. We know that this is having an impact on the security of our country.

This is how our parliament has become a platoon of lawyers. It should be evident to all Barbadians that crime pays. Will our prime minister take a page from the Kuwaitis and commence the much needed sanitisation of Parliament and her band of legal buddies.

As she juggles like a clown in a circus, I would urge her to stop procrastinating. Those of us who are members of the diaspora are aware of the shenanigans being carried out on the island.

Our message to Mia is brief: “Time to clean the house!”. We may be fast approaching the time when only a Dessaline or a Barbecue can rescue this country from this bloated and parasitic lawyer class.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/world-
    news/2024/05/11/kuwait-parliament-dissolved-over-widespread-corruption/

7. By the blogmaster’s reckoning there are 7 or 8 lawyers out of the 30 sitting in the lower house.

8. AG Marshall likened to a boy crying rh wolf.

“Lawsuits against Govt rise due to case backlog
    The high backlog of civil cases within the judicial system has led to a stark increase in lawsuits being brought against the State, Attorney General Dale Marshall has disclosed.
    He made the revelation after Senior Counsel Leslie Haynes was sworn in Friday as the 15th Chief Justice of Barbados, the sixth as an independent nation, and expressed confidence that he would be able to tackle the backlog, similar to his predecessor Sir Patterson Cheltenham.
    The AG told reporters: “The backlog, it is huge, but it is not beyond us. For my part, I have to say that we are seeing more and more cases being filed against the State alleging breach of constitutional rights on the basis that justice has been delayed. It’s an undeniable right and it’s also an undeniable truth.
    “We can’t keep paying compensation to litigants who make those claims, while at the same time funding the judicial system as it is needed. What we would expect is that the more we fund the judicial system, the fewer of those things we should get. I am sure that Chief Justice Haynes is up to the task.”
    Marshall noted that the government had taken steps over the years to increase resources for dealing with the backlog, including hiring new judges. He said additional staff would be employed later this year to handle court transcription.
    “Certainly in relation to the criminal backlog, we have seen tremendous results in that regard,” he said. “In relation to the civil side of things, though, I think we now have to redouble our efforts to make sure we can get that [down]. The chief will now have to determine what kind of resources he needs, but I can tell you for example that for court transcription, we have hired an additional 12 people to be able to take verbatim evidence. They are undergoing special training now [and] that training is expected to be completed by September so that at the start of the new court year, they will be in place.” (SB)”

Source: BT

9. “To compare the resumes of Cumberbatch and Haynes- not to include integrity- would have made him a slam dunk selection for the position of CJ.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Ha ha ha ha
    Murda!!!
    Surely you jest @David

The VERY opposite is true Boss!!!

So do you ALSO think that Mandela’s resume would have made him a ‘slam dunk’ for election as a Mafia boss…?

Sometimes your optimism (and failure to face reality) evokes fits of mirth from the Bushman….

If ONLY you were correct……

10. Make it, make sense!
    Do you realize that as time passes, nothing really changes or it changes for the worse.

The good guys become the bad guys,
    the bad guys become the good guys,
    30-0, 60-0 or 90-0 and nothing really changes for the better,
    we become a republic and lose our constitution,
    we rewrite the CMA and lose our freedom, we talk of reparation and rush with a big check to the king of slavers,
    politicians receiving checks and instead of legal action we hear case closed,
    fellows buying vaccines that are not being sold
    lawyers stealing money and the cases drag on until the victims die or the ink fades on the paper
    Fire trucks turning up empty of water
    Hydrants paved over
    And yet they proclaim themselves as the smartest men in the world who are punching above their weight.

I am fearful of the day they truly see themselves as they are..

Make it, make sense!

11. Yolande Grant Avatar

They dont have to clean their filthy corrupt house, they could leave it just like that…..that’s THEIR LEGACY…..and should be preserved for history and posterity, as a museum of the corrupt… an example of the destructive nature of lawyers and thieves..

….no one except slave minds need them for anything.

12. @ Bush Tea

Do you deny we need optimists in this world if we aspire to make better? The blogmaster will never be part of the doom and gloom crew.

13. @ David,
    There was, recently, a case where a young Bajan family was wiped out by South American hitmen. I believe their house was set ablaze. The wife was a lawyer. Do we know how this case is progressing. There appears to be a new’s blackout on this story.

14. Yolande Grant Avatar

More like part of NOT LIVING in REALTY crew..

Some never get tired of the fantasies and delusions prepared by OTHERS just for THEM..

Maybe it’s time they learn to operate within that reality, to BUILD, GROW, PROGRESS and DEVELOP from a position of ANCESTRAL POWER…

…but first you have to recognize and RESPECT your ancestors to do so….a challenge when indoctrinated NOT TO…and wear that disrespect as a badge of honor.

Pacha…FULL circle..

That they have to find on their own, if choose to, no hepp will be given in that period..

15. Yolande Grant Avatar

No help will be given…

Hope they int thinking i care if they do or not, like seeing them in that fixed position, proves what weee have said for many years…..wait until the manifestations start..

TLSN…that case is sure to have blowback…ya can only be involved in these types of things for so long, while pretending otherwjse, before they blow up in ya face, as we keep witnessing on a LOOP these days….for EVERYTHING…..till they got frightened for their own safety and security .

16. Yolande Grant Avatar

That dude John, the young girl’s father… has since died, and he was no lawyer.

TLSN is speaking about the young Trinidad lawyer her husband and two young children who were allegedly blown up in Barbados, it was called a suicide, they were black people….over some alleged theft of money where it’s alleged other lawyers stole the money and she and her family paid the price…how quickly we forget the wrongs done to BLACK PEOPLE…

Hence the reason not one of them can get away with any wrongs toward me and mine.

17. Where are the optimists on BU? By now Barbados was supposed to be non-existent.

18. @ David
    “Do you deny we need optimists in this world if we aspire to make better? The blogmaster will never be part of the doom and gloom crew.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Yes we do need optimists.
    But your stamina in the face of total hopelessness evokes Bushie’s mirth…. sorry.

@ Enuff
    Surely you know that there is a state of disfunction that may well be MUCH worse than ‘non-existence’. (a fate worse than death so to speak)
    …unless of course …one has such low standards that just ‘being not dead’ is a major achievement.

Have you ANY idea of the HEIGHTS of possibilities and potentialities that exist for God’s chosen Brass Bowls??? …clearly you do not!!

Think of Royalty – living like Parros – in TOTAL ignorance of their lineage and heritage.

Shiiiiite…
    If it was not so TRAGIC, it would be comedic….

19. Was there an announcement that he got the job prior to the swearing in? I looked for some kind of report and couldn’t locate any ………

20. Yolande Grant Avatar

It is nonexistent…my son recently realized that despite all the running around and faking it….99% of the world has no clue where Barbados is…people are BUSY surviving and have no reason to obsess over a big rock in the ocean.

“Think of Royalty – living like Parros – in TOTAL ignorance of their lineage and heritage.”

Dah iz dem…i CLAIMED MINE…and evating attached…..let them FRET…..if they only knew, but i int de body to tell them, leh dem ax de politicians.

Dem look good as nobodies, not knowing who they are, hooked on useless politicians..who do, and just awaiting the right opportunity.

21. @Sargeant

Social media leaked the story that Haynes was favoured a couple months ago.

22. Struggling and want others to struggle.
    Please note that the Barbados Barr Association has provided a 16 page report on the cybercrime bill.

23. I am an optimist and ignore the pessimists

and saying unto you
    on this day
    this minute
    this precise second
    you must move

Why?
    This rhythm is the vibe
    Bylaws Article 8 Section C Paragraph 2
    that you must move
    move
    groove
    all the ladies out there

24. Was there an announcement that he got the job prior to the swearing in?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Come on Sarge….
    Don’t you think that the people LEARN from previous mistakes?

Had this been announced, you can be ASSURED that there would have been questions raised about certain previous ‘connections’ – and possibly YET another ‘walk-back’….

This is what you call a ‘fait accompli’…. ZERO OPTIONS to object.

After all, it is not as though we were seeking the BEST candidate for the position…. else there would have been the ESTABLISHED competitive process…

25. Keep your eye on CLICO and its assets!!

26. re How the blogmaster regrets Jeff Cumberbatch had to shuffle off this mortal coil. To compare the resumes of Cumberbatch and Haynes- not to include integrity- would have made him a slam dunk selection for the position of CJ.

POOR YOU
    LOL LOL DWL
    A HIGHER AUTHORITY THAN YOU DID NOT THINK SO. DID HE. LOL LOL
    WHEREAS Jeff Cumberbatch WAS A GOD TO YOU—- HE WAS OBVIOUSLY NOT A GOD TO GOD.

AND THANKFULLY THE ONLY PLACE YOU HAVE CONTROL OF ANYTHING IS HERE ON BU WHERE BETZPAENIC BRIMBLERS ABOUND. UH LIE?

@ LISA
    YOUR POST WAS ACCURATE BUT WHY DID YOU HAVE TO SPOIL IT WITH THE LAST LINE?
    @ Yolanda, I’m glad you continue to fight, but these people are beyond help.

SHE CANT FIGHT FOR ANYTHING OR ANYONE ANYWHERE SHE JUST EFFLUXES BOVINE EXCREMENT HERE PERPETUALLY AND PERENNIALLY

OFF NOW TO WATCH CRICKET
    AT LEAST ONE CAN OBSERVE SOME EXCELLENCE IN MANY OF THE PLAYERS THERE

BUT I DID GET MY MORNING MIRTH

27. JOHN
    WERE YOU AT HC IN THE DAYS OF VICTOR BLANCHETTE?
    SAW A NOTICE IN BARBADOS OBITS YESTERDAY
    AFTER CAMBRIDGE HE ENDED UP IN CANADA AS AN EXCEPTIONAL HAEMATOLOGIST & PAEDATRICIAN

28. Yolande Grant Avatar

She HAS NO INTENTION of fighting for anyone or anything except for family and FUTURE ….BLOODLINES……that’s the only thing that really matters as ascendants of our ROYAL ancestors.

She even redirected the activist energies to other areas more useful….

She has much more to offer than the pathetic slave mind…..wrapped in other people’s lies, fantasies and delusions now a barrel of laughs for everyone…. as a major talking point everywhere on videos….just imagine the movies will be made on that topic, pure comedy.

29. Yolande Grant Avatar

Just for the record, it’s the best feeling the world to CLAIM what is rightfully YOURS and CAPSIZE local identity THIEVES in WAITING…

Dem still waiting but got NUTTEN to get except fuh HANDCUFFS…..😁

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

@GP May 18, 2024 at 10:10 am
    Yes passed Victor passed in early May. My first born had blood issues and fortunately ended up in his care for several weeks. So didn’t my third.
    He hadn’t been well for a while. One son is a pediatrician, and another is an eye surgeon.

31. @David
    Social media leaked the story that Haynes was favoured a couple months ago
    ++++++

Saw that, but you would think that a Gov’t which claimed to be transparent would make a formal announcement about one of the most important positions in the country.

32. @Sargeant

It was posted to BGIS website yesterday. You should have heard Haynes referred to learning law in Elliot Mottley’s chambers. It is called getting ahead of the narrative.

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/ag-marshall-government-working-to-reduce-backlog/

33. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Sargent…

To resonate with your argument…

Were we not also promised a Freedom of Information Act?

Doing a quick search, I found this: http://www.oas.org/es/sap/dgpe/acceso/docs/Barbados2008.PDF

How’s that working out?

34. Stanley Blanchette’s children were older than I am. I remember one older Blanchettte boy at HC but he stayed in Barbados and took over his father’s hardware business, moving it to Haggatt Hall before selling out.

I looked him up in the little white book HC used to issue and see an R.A. Blanchette in Upper Math VI the year I entered.

I remembered his name was Richard.

35. Yolande Grant Avatar

Listening now to an audio on Haynes, never thought it possible things could look and sound any uglier than they are….

….everything should be written off, just like they wrote off this and that for alleged THEFTS….just like they all should be written off as lifelong embarrassments, failures and removed.

There is no saving anything…no recovering…..it’s all so shameful.

36. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Y. Grant et al…

It is easy to “heir and fire”, so long as the talent pool is large. If the pool isn’t large, things get a bit more complicated…

Fred Brooks, in his seminal book “The Mythical Man-Month” taught us that when things are behind schedule, the worst thing to do is to bring in more people.

Exponential network effects…

Having to bring the new people up to speed on what is the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPS) already implemented.

37. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHEN JUSTICE IS NOT ARBITRATED OR DONE BY THOSE WHO HOLD THE SCALES IN THEIR HANDS – THE HOBBESIAN LAW OF THE JUNGLE WILL KICK IN VIOLENTLY & (YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE A SOCIOLOGIST TO UNDERSTAND THIS)

Since 2016, it’s been reported that #3Judges, #7Prosecutors & an estimated #34Lawyers have been “MURDERED” in the Philippines according to the “UK LAW SOCIETY”!!!

From Trinidad to Cape Town to Mozambique to Sydney, OZ – officers of the court have been subject to the “WRATH” of “GANGS” & “ASSASSINS” for a pluribus of reasons and what’s so tragic is the nomenclature of these individual lives places no ethical burden on the current crop of sentinels of justice in “DODGE CITY” aka “BULLBADOS” to make changes in their spurious orthodoxy & to do what is the right thing!!!

There are many who walk around on that “LIL ISLAND” and somehow feel that they are hermetically sealed-off in a lead balloon – impervious to anything including the “SHORT ARM” of the said law they are suppose to honour & uphold – believing their titanium-laced rib cages will deflect a high velocity round of bullets…

It is only a matter of time before what has transpired in the Philippines et al satiates a “VIOLENTLY REVOLUTIONARY WAKE UP CALL” to these #DirtyBasterds who feel empowered through some genetically-induced cerebral psychosis to “PILFER” the monies of “CLIENTS” who entrust (SOMETIMES) their very life savings into the hands of these #StinkingSoulessSlugs!!!

Many on this “BLOG” live in #LALALand & it is only when the “SHYTE” hits the fan that folks are suddenly incensed by what is tragically “HUMAN BEHAVIOUR” run amuck after all else fails when “REDRESS” in the “COURTS OF LAWLESSNESS” exacts a high price from those who hold “MORAL VALUES” in high esteem!!!

Again, the “PROPHETS” warned – “NO ONE TOOK HEED” – #Until…

38. @TB

Barbados is not there yet although one cannot rule out the possibility we are on a path.

39. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

“…we are on a path…”

Let’s hope not!!!

We’re #2Small2Fail

40. William Skinner Avatar

The last three Chief Justices , were obviously chosen on friendship and loyalty to the Prime Ministers. We were not availed of any significant
    contribution to jurisprudence , locally , regionally or internationally, by these goodly
    gentleman. We note that three legal luminaries, were recently honored for their contribution to the profession. All three were former BLP ministers !
    The super elite Black political class is in full swing and have successfully used free education, provided by the masses , to further marginalise them economically and socially.
    We note that the so-called Cyber Bill , has been parked . This is at least the sixth time that under the current Attorney General, legislation or some decision under his portfolio has been easily proven to be rubbish. In any other country, he would have been fired or sent to another ministry , where his glaring incompetence could be hidden. We really thought that after trade union leader , Caswell Franklyn completely devoured the Attorney General and the Prime Minister regarding the legality of what they were doing, there would have been some action against the current aberration who calls himself the Attorney General.
    We are now at least 85 per cent on our way to becoming a sophisticated banana republic. We are reaping what we sowed. Those who are now crying out for positivity and putting Barbados first, forget how they behaved a few short years ago. They seem to forget the venom and personal attacks when they ganged together and went so far as to instruct the others how to literally destroy anybody who dared to suggest that the only difference between Mottley and Stuart was their gender. Ask Mark Maloney, if you have any doubt.
    As asked by Honorable Nesta Marley : ” Now you get what you want do you want more…..
    May you rot in the political hell where you belong. Barbados will survive but not until you confessed die hards stop defending corruption. At least, we got the confession that you all don’t give a damn about that !

41. @William

We do not operate using a system of meritocracy. We have very few instances of ministers being fired for incompetence. We have few instances of Chairs of statutory corporations being fired. Usually we ignore of shuffle the person under spotlight to another position.

42. Yolande Grant Avatar

Enabling corruption…there is no justification…no matter HOW it’s framed.

43. William Skinner Avatar

There is no transparency and no accountability.
    Imagine a Minister of Housing and a Senior Minister, took up the taxpayers money and bought steel houses on the grounds that they could have been quickly assembled thereby saving the country time and money.
    Imagine that when the stupidity was revealed the Prime Minister pretended that she was completely oblivious to the nonsense that was going on and will proceed to take some action.
    Apparently, our distinguished Prime Minister ; a person recognised as one of the most influential citizens in the world, did not have the time, to ask her two ministers what was going on but every day on Brasstacks , ordinary citizens were telling the country that the steel houses were keeping the grass company , near her or within her constituency.
    Imagine that the two ministers involved acted as if squandering the taxpayers money on the ill-conceived plan was no big thing. To this date no apology was made to the public.
    Imagine that the same minister went on television and casually announced that at the end of the day the venture will cost the taxpayers nearly two hundred million more.
    And these die hard supporters are the ones who want their Twin to apologise to the country for ruining the economy. Now they are calling for optimism. Really. Shameless. Six and half dozen, we say.

44. Yolande Grant Avatar

That’s the whole problem in a nutshell….the delusion that those running around FAKING IT are somehow a world influencer, some need to ask themselves, if true, how come everything they touch goes COCKUP….nothing has worked out yet….and NOT LIKELY TO…because….once NOT CONNECTED to our ancestral power …nutten is happening..

Even Afrika is on to the slick games and sleight of hand loonnggg talking….TRICK….ton of Afrikans can see this as what it really is….

..maybe they need to stop forcing a fake influencer performance and then MAYBE something will work….or pop or not..

..weee need that SACRED source for any RIGHTEOUS ACTIONS to succeed…

if the actions are all evil, corrupt self hating and terminal…then ya got what ya will ever get …NUTTEN…

45. Yolande Grant Avatar

Pacha…others might have a different opinion, but i believe the ICC is being fair in dishing out arrest warrants for the whole crowd who are such good buddies when it suits their collective purpose.

https://youtu.be/kPpo0vVZR-Y?si=Mq5-1gfCRWBkG8wj

46. Yolande Grant Avatar

I saw a clip where they issued arrest warrants for the Hamas dudes too.

47. Yolande Grant Avatar

Congo cant catch a break, another attempted coup, messy, death and a young man lured into the middle by his now dead father.

False power of the physical type will end them all…look how they all make fools of themselves, yet NEVER learn.