Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. GREAT PIECE – thanks for the walk down memory lane…

2. Did you get the teetta right? Wasn’t it the Roxy Cinema in Eagle Hall reputed to be the largest resident of gigantic chinks?

3. @DAVID

That was good….ROFLMBO!!!

4. That is excellent Sir. May I suggest that you enable this to be distributed more widely, say the dailies?

Must say though that a few are quite unusual indeed, those I did not know.

Other things that IU am reminded of:

– bread carts, I remember the white ones with blue writing, guess they were Purity?
    – Easter and kite flying was much bigger and more important
    – DeFreitas icecream place on Bay Street, around where Honda is now, was a treat
    – Fireworks in November was a big deal, we used to get the sparklers and when older, the bandits and knockouts
    – The tuk band would come around various times, I was scared………(I was small, I would be in the gap and when I hear them would bolt)
    – Goddard’s was the big supermarket chain, Rendezvous and Fontabelle
    – cricket was played on practically every village road in Barbados during weekends
    – Rediffusion was in almost every household

5. @ Crusoe // October 11, 2009 at 11:21 AM — “Goddard’s was the big supermarket chain,”

Was initially known as Goddard Food Fair

I love reminiscing on past times. Btw, I forget a man in the neighborhood nicknamed, Dog Face

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

The teacher at Wesley Hall was “Four Head Smittty”- Mr Smith from Black Rock. There was also Mr Davis who promised to “rip out your balls wid a ripping-iron” – his strap; and Mr King with his strap “Joe Goat” which he claimed “would tear up your coat”.

7. @ Crusoe // October 11, 2009 at 11:21 AM … bread carts, I remember the white ones with blue writing, guess they were Purity?

AND, there was J&R, Zephyrin (sp). For some reason, Diamond Bakery seems to be ringing a bell in my ear.
    There was a small bakery shop in Dayrells Rd. run by “Skipper Neb.” The salt bread sold today by these sophisticated bakeries, no matter how hard they try can’t come close to Skippy Neb’s salt bread and the other small bakeries back then. Remember the green piece of straw on top of each loaf of salt bread? Don’t talk bout de body limes, the Russ, the lunch cakes.

8. How can we forget the homemade icecream and snowballs (from shaved ice) in containers pushed through the village in a box cart on bicycle wheels. On Sunday afternoons it was the dessert after lunch for those who could afford it.

9. Sapadillo,

Those salt breads!! Sometimes early am, my dad would bring a large brown paper bag with nicely browned salt breads (some was blackened a bit), that were supreme.

Yes, with the piece of leaf. When I see that on a bread now it is reminds me of the old time breads, but these new ones don’t taste the same. Now they are just cloggy white bread in the shape of a bun.

10. There used to be a half a idiot , can’t remember his name,who used to knock round Central Police Station running errands for cops. One day her turned up at this cops residence with a bundle of money, and told the cop’s wife, “If ya gimme a lil piece i’ll gih ya all this money.”
    She could not resist, and later when the cop got home,he asked the wife, “You got that money I sent to you by………”
    He wasn’t and idiot after all.

11. Then there were the Wharf Boys, and a Sh** house in Cowel street that was a real, WC ,it deposited directly into the sea.A thriving trade went on in Church Village, where the Central Bank is now located.Not exactly a million dollar affair,just $1.25 .
    And who can forget Jeffs and Dougies. McDonalds or Wendy’s ,when it comes to hamburgers could never come close to those made by Dougies. And in Bay Street and Fairchild Street were many clubs and all used to be jampacked when either British or American sailors were in town.
    And Mottley food kitchen in the park, where some able bodied and working persons used to go daily to get their skillet of food. And talking of Bridgetown characters , there was Pooshun that the same Mottley used to hit.
    At the corner of Westbury Road and Baxters Road, Big Guts James A Tudor had a big retail business there. There is a story that one day he was peeing long side a wall there,and this little boy shouted, “Hey!look dah man doggie.!” Tudor called the boy and gave him a shilling, and said,”tank ya son, I aint seen it my self fer years.”

12. Today Shuttles are Bridgetown are a common thing for customers. But who would believe that Lionel C Hill is who really introduced this convenient system for customers.All the way back around 1960 he had a Mercedes Benz bus.Other supermarkets and shops followed later with Lister trucks, and many may remember Uncle Look Up who used to drive one for ages.

13. What about the infamous “Harry’s Nitery” and the Water Police on Bay Street. N.E Wilson, Barnes going across the bridge.

14. I feel soooooooo young…LOL!

All I have to contribute is the mobile cinema….this was the big thing for the community and family….sitting on a crocus bag watching Bud and Lou….no sound….until a centipede crawled across your legs.

15. Lord have mercy. De water runnin down my face. I soon get a laffin fit.
    Sapadillo n Bradley432, I tell wunna dis would be a good topic ta introduce.
    Jeff Cumberbatch , ya got ma pissing maself. ‘rip out ya balls wid a rippin-iron’. Lord help ma. De water runnin down ma leggggg.
    But how wunna could faget Mr. Power from Wesley Hall. He was a ‘licks- master’, I hear. He was also my neighbour and my gran was his cook. I tink he was a ‘she-she’ too.
    Bus fare – 4 cents, schoolchildren n adults paid 10 cents.
    Flying fish – 4 fa a quart (25cents)
    Rediffusion was the only means of entertainment for many. I remember going to a teenage party and the fellas dancing wid the girls to ‘Date-line International'(the 9 O’clock News). Anything ta hold a girl, man.And de girls did like it too.
    Mr. Roach was my snowball man. He was the darkest man I have ever seen in my lifetime and he had the reddest eyes I have ever seen.He was very quiet too but in the last stages, he snowball would got in moe donkey-hair than dye, so we stop buying dem. Taste real good too.
    Fireworks night was sometime in April at first man. Not November. April 5th I think. One night I ‘put-out’ a whole row a starlights wid my bare hands by slapping dem. I had 4th, 5th, 6th, probably 10 degree burns. My mother come out wid a bucket a water and pour in de box wid everybody in de gap fireworks in it when I run inside screaming.
    I went to Community High but it was near to Strathclyde. I was at school the same day Oliver Jordan had de ‘shoot-out’ wid Police. All I remember is dat I get ta go home early and that was all dat mattered.
    Wah bout de Dutch Parties?
    Wah bout de ‘surprise package’ fa 10 cents? When a fella gih ya a ring out dah package n pledge he luv fa ya, ya would feel real smart, hear. Like ya married or sumting ya.
    I still have some vinyl records n record player.
    Who ever play traunt? Not me. But one a my brothers was a traunt specialist. He would hide under de cella fa a whole day. And we cella did fairly low so you could imagine de torture.
    I entered a Queen Show at my Primary school, Deacon’s Primary. My name was Ms. East Coast Road. Came 2nd runner up or sumting so.
    My brothers say dat they should’ve named a prison after Deighton Griffith, not a school. He was one of the most cruel teachers to ever walk this earth.

Those were the days my friend………

16. Why food dat cook pun ‘wood-fiah’ is taste completely different from food dat cook pun de stove?

Wah ’bout de games like rounders, hiddy-biddy, ketcha. I know de boys did like ‘hiddy-biddy’ de best.

Why de Police use to run ya fa riding a scoota (not de motor-bike) or a trolley? One almost lick my brotha upside down fa riding a trolley.

De only time ya use ta see ham or english apples was at Christmas time. How come de ham dat keep in de larda nevva ptomaine nabody?

Ya use ta put de larda foot in a milk tot wid kerosine oil to keep out de ants.
    A man come home one night ta eat he food and it had in ants, my man blow out de lamp and eat in de dark.Ants included………………….. n he in dead yet.

Wah ’bout de stan-pipe fights?

And de ‘bad-johns’ in de village n environs? Na ‘bad-johns’ couldn’ mess wid we cause we did a ‘crowd’ weself.

Wah ’bout de ‘wakes’ after a funeral? Not like the ‘fetes’ today. It was more solemn.

Wah ’bout de village midwife? Ms. Shockness from Westbury Rd, I think was my mother’s. She died recently.

Ya had to respect the school master even if ya see he pun weekends or it would be licks like peas when ya went ta school de following week man. Because you home you tink you could disrespect he, no way man.
    ‘Cording to Jeff Cumberbatch,
    “I would rip out your balls wid a ripping-iron man”.
    Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, ma belly, ma backkkkkkkkkkkkkk.

W.W.D was de Water Works Department but for some more mischievous it stood for Woman Want D—y

Wuhlosssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

17. @ Bonny Peppa // October 11, 2009 at 5:37 PM
    “Those were the days my friend”…

… we taut wud nevva end…. I glad dey end doe. LOL

I nearly fuget the Washington High School on Strathclyde Drive

Was the name the “Godwill League” next to Queens College on Constitution Rd? How about the Housecraft Center on Bay Street

De Can-Can skirts; de baby-doll shoes, and the event I looked forward to every year was none other than the Exhibition.

18. and how abou bringing marl from the quarry at christmas time and spreading it around the house like snow

19. There were no wakes in my day. Usually, the viewing of the deceased used to be at his/her house on the day of the funeral. Burton Hinds on Crumpton St, next to YMCA. was a well known undertaker.

Before the days of injecting with chemicals when pronounced dead, you had another chance at life in case you were misdiagnosed. A woman, I think her name was either Beryl, Doris or maybe Dorothy from the back of Deighton, I think it was Rudder Pasture was being buried at Westbury cemetery. As we used to say bak then, Rollins de undertaker frum Dalkeith Hill had de turnout. While singing pun de graveside, there was a knocking & rumbling coming from de coffin (no caskets in dem days). De coffin was opened and the woman sat up straight. She went home in the family car. She lived a while after the mishap. This is a true story; hope someone visiting this blog can confirm this is no joke.

Back to our fun days – we played puss, puss catch a corner; bundle-o-bush; pick-ups; there was de yo-yo, de hula-hoop, hopscotch, cow boy and crook, pitching marbles-coolie and many others, not fugetting de goat races.

There were the Trumpeter and DuMaurier cigarettes. Shopkeepers used the empty Trumpeter box to put in 5 or 10 cents of Vaseline.

The gud ole Bata Shoe store.

I found the following (it’s unedited) on another forum.
    “A native of Liverpool in England pronounces the original 4-letter word that “Foop” represents, as “Fooke” (as in Luke). Probably that version was brought to Barbados by the many seamen who plied the Liverpool route, and later Bajanised. It is said that the original 4-letter word, probably German, is an engineering term, describing the action of the piston reciprocating in the cylinder of a steam engine.”

20. Before I shut off for the time being, we use to pull chain in de lavortory at skool. Anyway, uh hearing de Juke Box in muh ear.

21. @Sapidillo

man you now got far to go:
    Uncle look-up
    “Ang” from St. George
    the heart man from St. George; who he did name? Percy?
    Sugar foot, the bus driver.
    douche can the shit eater
    PIG the cat
    Sheriff

The got some names I can’t remember. There was a white man that used to carry home the women in exchange for doing the oral on them. They say the had syphilis; Alkins?

Then there was a woman on Nelson street that used to give sex to all the Kolij boys.

Then there was the fella that used to sell popsicles. He used to be saying, “come pop with me”. LOL!

Then there was another man who used to have a stick under he arm like an inspector. If a girl spit on the ground, he would put he fingers in it and then put them in he mouth and such off the spit. Lord! We really had some characters fuh truth.

They had another man from St. Joseph just like Ang. He used to beat policemen by the dozens. I remember the time he was a fugitive. The man was slippery. The story was that they had him cornered somewhere in St. Joseph one night but when they got into the house where he was supposed to be, the police even rip up the floor boards but the man disappear…

but then, one policeman said, “man I can’t understand, the only body that pass me was an old feebly looking woman that could barely walk.” It is then that they realise he escape by disguise. Like he teach Winston Hall a thing or two because he disappear completely.

Then there was Douggie although he is more modern, but he tear down he own house with his bare hands. He was a seaman and came back and found the woman compromised. The man do the dog. They call the police but the police could not do anything but watch. Later on in life, Douggie pelt bout bare police in Baxters Road one day and they call the fire brigade for him. They turned on the hose on the man to subdue him but you know that the man stand up to that water? The man fight with the water, LOL! That was about 25 years ago. He ended up in the mental.

I got to come back to this. Too much to remember.

22. @ ROK // October 11, 2009 at 9:06 PM
    There was a white man that used to carry home the women in exchange for doing the oral on them. They say the had syphilis; Alkins?

Do you mean Hawkins or sumting so; dat use to drive O-??. I cant remember the last 2 digits 0f he ole puma, if dis is de same person

I cud not rite bout all de characters, events and bizznesses at wun gine down. I wud be scratching muh head and riting fuh days.

23. Hawkins is the name. He used to drive a car marked G, but yes a short number. An old morris, I think.

24. Many years ago an old man told me the word “foop” was used in old English, with the same meaning. If this is true I guess it just remained in use here in Barbados.

I remember as a boy seeing King Dyal in the park often, wearing a different coloured suit each day. He even painted his bicycle the same colours as his suit. He would blister us boys in cuss if we commented on how he dressed.

25. Anybody remember Reverend Fairweather who was at St. George or St. Lukes Parish Church (subject to correction) who had to read a hanna bananas from a man’s back who was stealing from the rectory grounds? Foklore has it the man could not get the bannanas move from his back.

26. I am surprised that no one mentioned “Let’s go somewhere with Joe Tudor” on Reddifusion. Saturday matinees at the Olympic, Empire or Bridgetown Plaza. How about old nicknames, Fry Soup, Stew Pot, Potato mout, Salt Soup. What about “Grand Social Hops at places like Club Randal, Horse Hill Casino? The Liberty, Ellerton (not sure if that was the name) but the guys who frequented that place also worked at Bulkely and used to make guns so you were a brave man to go there and start a commotion. The main dish at the Social Hops were Pork chops and Rice and Stew. The fancy dancers would put meal on the floor so they could dance “pretty” on the floor. No dance was complete without the song “Mocking Bird”.

I hear about the “Heart Man” but no “Steel Donkey”, how about the “Baccoo” and no village was complete without the “obeah man” or obeah woman”.

It was said that a certain woman went to the obeah man to remove a curse that she felt was placed on her and after she had handed over her hard earned cash he told her to “go home and pee in your yard until you meet rock”

27. Did anyone know “Herbert” with his fiddle? Herbert could play the fiddle behind his back, on top of his head or in between his legs. Another character was Douche Can, and there was of course Ta La Lala, and little short “Reverend” who was mostly seen in St. Lawrence Gap.

28. A man went ta buy a pack a Camel cigarettes one day but he couldn rememba de name, so he tell de shopkeeper, ‘Am, gimme a pack a dem hump back sheep day’.
    Green Lynch was another private secondary school too, I tink.

Sapadilla,
    A girl’s frock was not complete widout she ‘can-can’ and dat time de starch sticking ya like lil pins but ya walking n stylin.

Sargeant,
    And when ya hear ‘Goodbye’ by Skeeta Davis ya know dat de dance done.
    Who rememba de Coconut Grove, Riverside Inn,Millies.
    My brothers had some a de biggest dances at dem places man. People like sand.
    I know ’bout sprinkling sand on de dance floor but never hear ’bout meal.
    The Liberty was famous fa ‘fights’ and my first night at a dance in day, brugga-dongggggggg, big fight brek down and it only got one exit. I see people fly, jump, sail through windows like flies man. I was nevva sa frighten in my lifetime. A woman gih she man ’bout seven stabs fa dancing wid he outside ting. She living in de States now and he still bout de place. She had a rep fa stabbing up she men.

Sargeant,
    Wait , she did peeing acid or wah?

Cat Scan,
    I see King Dyal in town one night an as soon as I get pass he, I holla fa PIG Food. He holla, ‘I dress n you naked doe’. I laff till I cry.

Who rememba Bob de bearded sweet-man. He use ta keep one a de biggest dances in Queens Park on Christmas night, I tink.
    P-I-G de Cat was anotha famous dance-keepa. Also Bite Muh n Boo, Darnley Crow, Pingo de postman. When dese men holding a dance, people like sand use ta be day man.
    De famous ‘hi-fi’ men did Carl Brewster n Gittens Hi-Fi.
    And de bar was always, “Solid as a rock’. Admission was $2.00.

Wah bout de ‘juckin-board? Not ta mention de ‘blue-soap. And de bleach. Not chlorine bleach. De one wid rocks pack up pretty to ‘sun’ de white clothes.
    And de arrow-root starch to mek de khaki stan up stiff n de seams cutting.

My favourite songs on de juke-box was, ‘My boy lollipop and Try my love again’.

We danced de ‘booga-loo and de twist.

29. Sargeant,
    Sorry, not Goodbye by Skeeta Davis. It was Have a good time, by Sue Thompson.
    What was I thinking?

30. Wuh Bonnie, Bush Tea does still dance the twist…. and will continue to do so until a better dance comes along LOL

….if only I still had my terelene shirt an crimpolene bell bottoms…

31. Did anyone ever remember the Xrated joke that Vic Brewster told on live radio at a Carnival Queen show? I can’t remember the joke but the punch line was “man yuh sitting on yuh “b…s”. How about Auntie Olga badgering a man about what he did for a living at one of those “Bridge House Parties” put on by Reddifusion? When she persisted he told her “maam I does cut rose bud”. Someone explained that it meant he cleaned pit toilets

32. BP – Why food dat cook pun ‘wood-fiah’ is taste completely different from food dat cook pun de stove?

Same reason the salt breads tasted better I guess.

ROK – They had another man from St. Joseph just like Ang. He used to beat policemen by the dozens. I remember the time he was a fugitive. The man was slippery. The story was that they had him cornered somewhere in St. Joseph one night but when they got into the house where he was supposed to be, the police even rip up the floor boards but the man disappear…

Do you mean Buddy Brathwaite, or was the person you speak about much earlier. I do remember Buddy used to escape and use disguises. I remember once he escaped, there was an empty house next to us and a fella in a broadbrimmed hat used to come in and out at certain times, could never see his face.

Of course, Buddy used to pelt dynamite at the Police.

33. Ang was most famously known for the size of his feet which were HUGE. He was never seen in shows according to reports.

34. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Remember when the people in the country who couldn’t get to town would ask the bus driver to buy some fish for them and bring it back on the next route,or if they had relatives living on the bus route they would send a message to them by the bus driver.

Life was sweet,sweet fa days.

Remember dem buses without the sides – with the canvas dat yuh had to roll down?

35. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Buddy brathwaite lived in st george.

Near ellerton way.

36. @ Crusoe

Nah, this man is way before Buddy Brathwaite time. This is at least 40 years ago or more. I was barely a teenager and this man was about 50 years old; a seasoned man.

True that; He never wore shoes. Many a new conductor found out the hard way that you don’t go to Ang to collect bus fare when he get on the bus… and many a bus driver too learned the hard way that you don’t left Ang; at the bus stop or not.

37. Ang was wah we would call a ‘ring-neck vagabon’.

Sargeant,
    I think de joke was dat a man was gambling and de police rush in and evrybody tek off but howevva he try, he couldn’ get up. So de Police tell he, ‘ya steppin pun ya balls’. OR a man went in a cane field ta s*^t and howevva he try he couldn’ get up and he call he partner who had ta tell he, ‘man ya stannin up pun ya balls’.

Mash Up,
    We use ta call dem buses ‘Board Dickies’. One or two conductors lose da life crossin pun de ‘runnin-board’ or wha evva ya call um.
    De bell was a long rope runnin down de middle a de bus and the conductor also had to count de passangers by pulling a string too. And ya would hear, ‘ching-ching’. Doan evva mek de mistake n pull de wrong string.

My gran muddah was ‘bajan’ white n she use ta sell coals. You could imagine de colour a she hands? She also had a horse n buggy.

I was real frighten fa a hearse.

Wah bout de ‘carrier-bike? My faddah had one. Never could get it ride.

Wah bout when ya get a cut unda ya foot? Ya muddah would put cockroach guts or cockroach legs or sumting so n ban it up pun de cut.

Wah bout a stone -bruise? Nabody doan get dem now. Nor a nail juck or stump-toe.

I still like ta sprinkle J’s fluid in my yard.

Bush Tea,
    ya fagetting de big chunky heel shoes de fellas use ta wear. Bout 6″ high n de bell bottoms covering de whole shoe.

38. Jeff Cumberbatch,
    ‘rip out ya balls wid a rippin-iron’.

Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    I still cryinggggggggggg.

Dah baddddddddddddddddddddd

39. Nuff dances were held at the Drill Hall; music by Blue Rhythm Combo, the Trubadours (sp) to name a few

40. @ mash up & buy back // October 12, 2009 at 7:21 AM Remember dem buses without the sides – with the canvas dat yuh had to roll down?

Oh yes, when it rained. Sum conductors waited til de driver pull off to jump/hop de run-board (i tink dat is what yuh call it). I saw one o dem get left cau he dint get a grip. The passengers keep shouting, hold it, hold, they kept pulling the cord, and the driver picked up speed. It was not until someone shouted de conductor that the driver stopped. The conductor had to run a distance; wen he got to the bus he was outta breath.

Cud it be Swine you referring to. he use to give de policemen a run for their $$. He was a bad seed. Anyway, I understand he changed his life around and eventually was a churchgoer? (some verification is needed on this)

41. Heh,Heh Heh We have a columnist in the Nation writing that “Pond Grass” is good for us. As a child (under 10) part of my job was taking care of the few sheep that we had ( some of those sheep were later sold to “coolie men” who didn’t eat pork or beef). After school before I could play “bat and ball” it meant “picking meat” for the sheep and a few rabbits that we also kept. I would always pick “Pond Grass” for the sheep, little did I know that I should be eating some myself. That explains why one day when I turned my back on the ram he gave me a hard “butt” in my backside which “catspraddle” me. He was telling me in his own way “you better have some pond grass for me tonight, I have a couple of ewes to take care of”.

Now that the secret of “Pond Grass” is out especially the helping with “male enhancement “ part, will there be any left for the sheep of Barbados? I gotta make a phone call now and tell one of my buddies to keep some for me, I’ll be there come next February/March, hope there is still some around.

http://www.nationnews.com/comments/guestcolumnists/healing-herbs-Oct-12-copy-for-web

42. @ Bonny Peppa // October 12, 2009 at 8:28 AM …Wah bout de ‘carrier-bike? My faddah had one. Never could get it ride.

Talking bout Carrier. Yuh remember the white enamel carrier that woman use tuh cah de men food in at lunch time

43. The “Anonymous” at 10.04 am is my submission

44. @ ROK, just came to me… I think the digits on Hawkins vehicle was 52.

45. Let us not forget the “The Truth” our infamous Saturday Newspaper by Burton Hinds. It would normally start with “I am minding my own business but would like to know.”

Does anyone remember Percy Bushell plight?

46. Sapadillo
    Of course I rememba de food carrier only too well. Ya see, my ol next door neighbour’s son would bring her food in one and whenevva I see dah Hilman Hunter turning de corna to come down my gap, I use ta be out dah by she like lightning. I would play I asking she, ‘you call me? you want sumting do?” I did just lickrish. Want sumting do wah. As soon as de food gone, I did gone too, till de next day of course.

Wah ’bout de root a de cuss-cuss grass dat use to be put in de clothes cabinet or trunk to mek dem smell sweet? We in had na wardrobe back den.

Not ta mention moth-balls. Now I hear dat dem same moth-balls gih ya cancer.

Wah ’bout de grass-beds? Dem beds use ta be sa high ya had ta get a ladda to get up pun dem man.

Wait, nabody doan get coal-biles na moe? Or watson kernels?

Wah ’bout when TV first come to B/dos? Ya had ta pay 5cent to watch it by a neighbour who was, fortunate/rich by we standards, ta own such a luxury. And ya had ta watch it in de verandah or in de body ‘front-house’. Sometimes a fella would get wicked an leggo a stinkin poop and dah would end de show fa de nite doan k how early it did. Fa just one pooppppppppppppppp.

Sargeant,
    I gun keep sum pon-grass fa you, ya pon-fly.
    I rememba eating duck pollard as a child. Me n my lil brotha.Not ta mention dirt.
    An we in dead yet.

47. Was Percy Bushell charged with robbing a bank? I think that at the time B’dos had never had a bank robbery and would not have another for several years.

48. Sapadilla,
    No, tell we bout Percy Bushell.

Wait, I in hearing from Bradley432 enuff, nor Scout.

Scout
    Wah happen man? I in hearing you side a dis story a ‘tall. Hope ya aw-rite.

49. What about Chigoes? If someone called you “Chigoe foot” that was a real insult. By the time I was growing up they had disappeared as a result of better sanitary conditions and improved roads ( they lived in sandy soil which was the road make up for many minor roads) plus more people were wearing shoes.

Years later I was watching a TV program and someone from the US said she had them as a child growing up in Texas.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chigoe_flea