Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I was off the island, Bonnie. Give me some time to catch back up!

2. ROK
    I’ve seen you many times so the answer is yes, you caught my eye. You and those ‘cute’ suspenders. Then there’s the ‘snow’. Oh my Lord.If its not love its probably a fantasy. ROK,I think you’re simply irresistible. End a story.
    I would like to turn you into a magician not a selecta because we have some ‘tricks’ to perform…………togetha.
    poofffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff.

Jeff,
    Ok, but time is limited so hurry uppppp.
    I got my rippin-iron close to han. Doan lemme gotta use um pun ya.

3. @kiki…

This just for you…

4. Or, perhaps, this would have been more appropriate:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOl2DBIrBPs&hl=en&fs=1&]

5. space music.. can you guess which film
    the quotes are from

Ash: There is an explanation for this,
    you know.
    +
    Lambert: I can’t see a goddamn thing.
    Kane: Quit griping.
    Lambert: I like griping.

6. Just for the record…

I loved the original Alien film. It broke barriers — extremely dark; with a strong woman as a lead character.

I’m not sure the sequels did it justice (but, then, few do)….

7. In space no one can hear you scream…
    This Halloween in theatres, everyone will
    hear you scream (Re-Release).

8. ROK
    Correct it was an Elite bus. Man when de rain fall yah had tah pull the canvas blinds down..

Cris H
    Man you ain’ got nah Soul.. nex’ t’ing you gin be selectin’ de Carpenters or Bread and gun succeed in chasing ‘way de people from de street light…! Ha HA AHA…!

Who got dominoes, which ah wunna could play Tunk..LOL

9. Kiki
    Thanks Selecta.
    You feeling de vibe too wid me n ROK? He’s my honey-comb.

10. But Bonny if you saw ROK in person you would know that he look like a Penguin with straps. HA HA HA HAAAAAA… man I miss BIMBRO. No hard feeling Ronald…!

11. BAFBFP
    But if it was raining heavily, how did you know when you reached your destination? Probably get ‘cah-way’. Dah is all.
    You ever sat in de seat backing de driver? I see a ol lady dat ketch de Deacon’s Rd. bus and sat in dat same seat and when she got off de bus, her head was so ‘turned’, she walked all de way back to town. Doan laff. I serious.

12. not defendin crisy in any way shape or form but here’s the only tune from bread
    i like..

13. BAFBFP
    Wait, I never tell you dat I just LOVE penguins with straps?
    BAF, I serious doe, is it possible to feel so bout someone ya nevva met? I serious. All jokes aside. Wah you feel um is?

14. BAFBFP
    You know dis ol sayin?
    “Let sleeping dogs lie”?
    Well, why don’t-cha leave Bimbro?

He soon return wid a spiteful ‘bite’.

15. @BAFBFP: “Man you ain’ got nah Soul..

I ain’t got no soul? Man, my handlers are going to be pissed to hear that!!!

100 million years of history, collapsed (no joke intended) into one song:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvDHKZ2OEL0&hl=en&fs=1&]

16. Bonny, you like you know how to do this thing… but you got me at a disadvantage. I can’t fall in love with somebody that I never even see their picture. What kind of thing is that?

Not only that, you want to romance me in public; lordie! and you know how malicious Bajans are too. Lordie! and that BAFBFP is a old w***e. I hope never to butt up pun he at we Old Scholars monthly lime. He going mek me sh**e… or at the rum shop; lordie! Wosser!

17. @Bonny, my answer to your question is yes. Is ROOK going to Intervene or Interwhine his way out of this one.

18. Bradley432
    Thanks for your honest answer. But I don’t want ROK to intervene or interwhine his way OUT of this one but rather IN.

ROK
    No need to worry about my pic my rose-bud, we will meet if it’s the last thing I do.
    If I want to romance you in Public, don’t you shudder to think what it will be like in ‘private’?
    And I have the backing of a good man like Bradlely432. What more can a gal ask for?
    Don’t worry about BAFBFP, he will be part of de ‘bridal-party’. Maybe, Page-boy.
    I’m as serious as a heart-attack.
    Ours will be the first BU marriage, with David’s blessings.
    Pat will be a flower ‘girl’ and Kiki will be de Selecta.

Bradley,
    Ya in ansa ma ’bout de trains.

19. I only just come and see all dis ol talk from de good ol days. Anybody remember the Ol hore from de garrison back in de 60s, I tink she name was violet; one of the fellows, a school boy went one night pun he ‘three-speed’ Ralieght, to get piece from she, a $5.00 foop, well, she ben over in front the bycycle bar, and say, ‘come young fello, drive it, london can tek it’ de boys ask he how it was, he say, ‘man…she got a pokey like a horse collar….’

De was a old white man pun tudor street, name Hawkins, T.R. Hawkins, one day he stop a big fat women pun de side walk, ” I is T.R. Hawkins…..does you foops?

20. @Bonny,about the trains,they stop running in 1937, a bit before my time.Some of the main reasons for the demise of the railway,was its maintenance cost. As it railways lines were so near to the sea ,as you would have seen in my photo,the rails had to be changed often. But the major factor,would be the emergence of the lorry or truck.
    There is a book which I obtained from the UK,about the Barbados train, can’t put my hand on it now. But the train was used mainly to transport sugar and molasses to Bridgetown.
    Somewhere in St Philip/St John at a place I think was called My Lady’s Cuttings, which had a slight incline,and when loaded would give problems to get over.At this point First Class passengers would remain on board. Second class passengers would dismount and walk ahead until the train catches up with them. But , as expected Third class passengers, would also dismount, but were expected to help push the train over the incline.
    When I find that book I give you a bit more……information that is.

21. @Rok & Bonny
    Love Gone Wild.

Don’t forget the night watchman .He carried the nightstick and flashlight for protection. To protect him from the rain he would carry the macintosh raincoat.

22. There are several instances of children disappearing here in Florida and are killed or never found. Most recently a 7yr old girl was abducted on her way from school and found in a land fill in Georgia.
    When I hear about these incidents, I remember sometime in the late fifties or there about, this young guy from St. Lucy was “messin’ wid de devil”, When yuh “messin wid de devil” you have to make a sacrifice of some sort and I heard it can be a young lamb or calf as was done in biblical times. This guy decided that, to make the sacrifice he would take a child. He kidnapped this child took it to some gully had his altar set up and killed the child. Needles to say, you knew where he ended up, or down. One of the strange cases.

Another strange one was what someone alluded to, the bank robbery by Percy Bushell. The long and short of this was that it was an inside job, by him and the teller because it seem like they had something going on, but the police couldn’t prove that. I remember the cool dude he was, always dressed to kill driving around his Opel. But he was some slick dude.

“HARRY’S NITERY” on Bay St. that was one iconic site for entertainment in Barbados. I remember there was a US war ship called the USS Boxer which had over 2000 crew on board when it visited Barbados. It was amazing to see how the sailors lined Bay St from the club all the way to where the Harbour Police Station was. The MP’s form the ship had to keep them in line.
    Harry’s was well known world wide, and it was the first club of call to most male visitors.

23. Rhiana broke her silence this morning on WABC TV and will be on 20/20 tomorrow/ Fri night at 10:00pm. I guess she was awaiting the arrival of her new album to do the interviews. To quote her it was about 8 or 9 time that she got she azz buss.
    To you women in abusive situations, DON”T STAND FOR IT!!! if any man hit you give him the “boiling water treatment”

24. Big Chris is not racist like most white people..
    But he’s still stuck up!
    p.s. a response is not required

25. Fuh Tru
    Lord mek peace. Ya got de lil black green-tea comin thru ma nostrils. I like you. Ya wicked. But a wonda if de ‘big woman did gih Hawkins de ‘works’.
    Oh Lorddddddd, come back again befoe de close a play, hear? Ya 2 swoite.

Bradley432
    ‘when I find that book i will give you a bit more……information that is’.
    Ya got ma cryinnnn Brad. Ya wickeddd.

ac,
    No, the love is just MILD now, not WILD yet. It will get wild when………….

ac, I too love my ROK but he don’t want me to proclaim it for evryone to know. But I will do it anyway:

ROK, I love you sooooooo much.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

26. Bonny

“BAF, I serious doe, is it possible to feel so bout someone ya nevva met? I serious. All jokes aside. Wah you feel um is?”

Dah is how I felt ’bout my ex…! Den I discover de recipe… Sweat Rice. SO I STOP EATING RICE PERIOD! (Pun) HA HA HA HA….

Chris

I discovered Bare Naked Ladies two years ago when I was surfing fah some gooooooood porn. Dey had me PISSED…!

Bradley 432

“But , as expected Third class passengers, would also dismount, but were expected to help push the train over the incline”

J”‘sus Chr’s Bradley… ha ha ha, you mek dah one up…haha

ROK

Don’ cus me, I only trying to save you by red caping Bonny like a matador…! Dis kind obsession is unhealthy but I could use li’l piece, after al’ I younga dan you, so I could handle…Ha HA

I keepin’ track ah all de pokies pun dis site.. Tell me you got one, like Bonny, Pat and Hopi? Georgie Porgie would love to know too…!

Captain Al

You notice that When Robyn Fenty lef ’bout hey she did speakin’ proper English… but now allofa sudden she got lil’ problems wid tenses? Man de woman din go Cawmere? Rihanna at least admit dat she cause de boy ta lose he cool (he ain’ younger dan she do?)

27. It’s Friday and time for the announcements: A Grand Social Hop will be given by XXXX better known as YYYY driver of X 1234 at Club Randall, Gall Hill, Christ Church, music by Bill Black Hi Fi and admission 50 cents.

You couldn’t have a Social Hop without this song:

28. Sargeant,
    Ya sweet. Good tune man. But ya leff out part a de announcement:
    C & B There. Rememba now?
    I trying ta organize a party fa me n ROK too but all we will have on is de radio. Wanna come? Nooooooooooooo.

BAFBFP
    You mekkin sport bout me n ROK but I serious. Na joke. I like de man real bad. From the first time I saw him on TV at de FTC hearing, I had dis ‘feeling’. Then along came BU and a blogger mentioned something about him pertaining to FTC.I didn’t realise it was him before. Whether it is a fatal attraction or not, I’m willing to die. Plain n simple. I would die as a martyr.
    You tink dat because you younga dan ROK dat you gun just ‘cat-spraddle’ he n tek ova but ya lie ‘pass ya grave’. I wunt do nutton ta hurt my ROK. He hurt, I cry. He cut, I bleed. He sick, I die.

But wait, you is a pokies-tracker? You is a real demon. But I luv ya demonosity.(new word). You trying ta spoil de good doc Porgie?

Stuupseeeeeeeeeeee, Robyn Fenty is a knuckle-head. She probably went thru de ‘backdoor’ at Cawmere.Whenevva she start ta talk, I is get frighten. Fake as a 3 dolla bill.

29. Hey ROK

BP wants to spice up the romance and requested this song by the Godfather of Soul

30. BP

ROK requested this song for you

31. @CaptainAl . “Boiling water treatment?” Remember the time a woman in the village threw boiling water on her man. Another woman passed by an shouted to the woman, “Next time put some sugar in it.” Like the Irish who used to put sugar in petrol bombs in Belfast, the sticky sugar would stick to the skin and any attempt to brush it off , will take the skin off .

32. Did we touch on “Service and Song”. This is when the village Choirs , like the one we had at the YMUC (Young Mens United Club) competing on Sunday aftern00ns against Choirs from other clubs like Club Randal.The Chairman was a fellow,called a Speechifier who would used a lot of big fancy words, or just make up his own.Those Choirs were good and had some Choir Masters that were even better. And the beauty of these choirs was that they were not accompanied by any musical instrument, just sweet voices singing.

33. Sargeant,
    This is the first time that I have listened to the lyrics to this song. Only because my Sweet ‘P’ requested it, ya know?
    My imagination went wildddddddddd:
    We’re embraced and just swaying to this song. He’s singing to me softly in my ears and I’m meltinggggggggggg. The lights are on ‘dim’ and the goblets are in the chiller. The song has finished and we haven’t even noticed…………….I wake up next to him. (Act 2, Scene 4)

Bradley432
    Boiling water n sugar?
    Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

I always associated ‘service n song’ with dances on Sundays.Not choirs.

You rememba de Independence shirts? I hear Larry Mayers saying that a fella in St.Lucy still has one. I would luv ta see um. Not you?

I don’t remember de YMUC but I was in de CGB, Church Girls Brigade. There was also the CLB, Church Lads Brigade. We practised at Westbury Primary. This is back in the 60’s. Don’t rememba anyting bout de group except a lotta marching.
    There was a fella in the group who was way older than me, but I had a ‘eye’ fa he still. His surname was Gasheck or Gacheck. Sumting so. He was so cute.
    (None can compare wid my ROK doe).

34. @Bonny , only CaptainAl and Pat would remember the YMUC ,it was in the heart of St.Joseph and was a victim of that vicious lady, Janet, in 1955.

35. Sargeant:
    I was one of those top DJ’s in Barbados back in the 60′ and also held many dances at The Edmonton Sports Club in Dayrells Rd, The DLP headquarters in Roebuck St. and in Queen’s Park House. I had two systems and with my assistants played in almost every dance hall in the island.
    All of the artist and songs you posted I still have the 45s and Lp’s.
    When referring to hurricane Janet I always remember the YMUC that we used to watch dances and Service of Song, we used to “watch” because we were too young to attend, but the love of music and the fun kept us very interested.
    The best part of the “Service of Songs” was the “Chairman” who kept the audience on the edge of the seat with their oratory splendor, suspense stories and humor.
    What ever became of “The Bammuh” from Airy Hill or “The Hungry man From Clapham” to name the two most well known. Not forgetting the ladies and gentlemen all decked out in their “Sunday evening wear” those were the days.
    That’s enough for now, another chapter in my upcoming book. 🙂

36. Bajans of old had a funny way of naming some places,ie
    Sweet Bottom.
    Penny Hole
    Dark Hole
    Mount Gay
    Mount All
    Bullens
    LessBe Holden
    Balls

37. I often wonder why people kill each other without thinking these days, and carry around the hate from a simple discussion or receiving a punch during an argument or misunderstanding.
    Back in the day there were heated discussions which escalated into fights, when it ended the guy who got his ass whipped would but a bottle of rum or for that matter a bottle of rum would be placed on the counter, and everyone have a drink. Next day everything would be back to normal. Not so these days I have found out, if you want to live PLEASE stay out of arguments and avoid stupid and crazy people.
    What went wrong?

38. Thyme Bottom
    Jack in de box gully
    Fruitful Hill
    Condemn Gully
    Russia Gully

Wow Seems like I know nuttun but all gullies, don’t fret, I went into all of them, not as a kid roaming the country
    not “Jack in de box” though else I wouldn’t be here now 🙂

39. Some of the old Dance Halls were.
    In ST John.
    The Ark.

St Joseph.
    The Baker Shop in Horse Hill.
    One night I played there , when I finished these was dust all over my equipment because the dance floor was dirt.

St. Michael.
    The Trade Winds
    Casa Nova.
    The Liberty.
    Queen’s Park House.
    The BLP and DLP hqtrs, then in Roebuck St.
    I am trying to remember the name of the Club that was in Brandon’s beach.
    ????????
    Club Randall in Gall Hill, CH CH

Ellerton Social Center in St George .

The Plum Tree in Hindsbury Rd I think that was the name, A funeral home now occupy the space.

River Bank in St. Lucy

Trents Playing field Pavilion in St.James.
    KGVMP and St. Catherine Pavilion in St. Philip.
    Oh what fun we had and Oh how many people we made happy with the music.

40. Jack Ma Nanny Gap

You ever notice how narrow Broad Street is and that High Street at the same level?

You know why there is no market in Market Hill? No swans in Swan Street? No cattle in Cattle Wash? No milk in Milk Market?

41. @BAFBFP
    seriously are you for real.Anyhow can you pull up a picture of one of dem things for me to see (pokie).I know Georgie Porgie from school days and he ain’t no cassanova.

42. @ac

I malicious. wuh else yuh kin tell we bout ‘e? I mean Dr. Porgie.

43. Oh shoot ac, if you could associate pokie wid cassanova surly yah could tek a stab at answering de question befo yah see a picture…

Now like Pat I wants ta hey li’l more ’bout de Prof’ too. Dis man is as academic as they come..! He some kind ah B’bados Scholar?

Bradley

Wha’ ’bout Arthur’s Seat
    You could explain how dah name come ’bout?

44. ROK

BP don’ need nah picture man, she nosey, got alotta lotta lip, smarts purin’ out both ears and eyes dat don’ miss a shite. De best’ing is dat she got real sex appeal an’ know how tah use em… She causin’ bare problems fah some ah dese ol’ men ’bout hey like Robin Hood and 199… Man tek care ah business nah!

45. Does the undertaker still give the family of the dead the silver breast plate? Traditionally it would be pinned to a partition in the house for years after.

46. BAFBFP
    Ya got de lil black green-tea stranglin ma. Not sa early dis blessed Satda morning.
    But tanks fa de promo. Hope ROK can read betwix de lines. I openly declare my love for him and he is asking for a pic of me. He can at least start by liking my personality man. Oh Goddddddddd. He is in de public domain, I am not. He ‘poo-sharkin’ yah.I soon get real vex n deadlyyyyyyy. If you were in his shoes, what would you do? Advance or retreat? Knowing you, I would risk a guess.
    Ya conjure up my persona real good doe, ya instigata.

Who rememba penpals? I had nuff. All male. (as expected)

Bradley432
    Licorish Village.
    Free Hill.
    Black Rock.
    Waterford Bottom

Captain Al
    Coconut Grove was in Brandons and also Riverside Inn. My brothers held dances at both. Riverside came a lil later.
    Do you still collect vinyl? I had a lil collection. But cd’s are the ‘in-ting’ now. DJ’s are even using cd’s now at dances as opposed to vinly.
    The Liberty was synonymous with ‘fights’ in dem days boy.

Yes, undertakers still use de silver ‘brease-plates’.
    My fatha died in ’75 and I still have his. I was dry-cleaning it one day and erased most of the writing. (idiot). I am just a real clean-freak, among other tings.

ROK
    How come you ‘notice’ that Broad Street is narrow, Swan street has no swans, Milk Market no milk etc. but you CAN’T notice Me?
    Answer that for me please. Good.
    I await your ansa wid ‘bated breff’.

47. Bonny what you saying at all? Unlike all of them Bonny Peppa hot. LOL! You got milk in Milk Market, a market in Market Hill, swans in Swan Street and a wide Broad Street. LOL! You even got ROKs in Rock Hall and honey in Sweet Bottom, LOL!

How can you not notice Bonny Peppa? Man you always got me in a corner. Nobody else on this thread don’t got me in a corner keeping myself quiet.