This weekly column of Tennyson Joseph, Associate Professor of Political Science at North Carolina Central University is of interest given the internal upheaval ongoing in the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) – an upheaval that has implication for the quality of government practiced.

Over to Yearwood

THE BLOWS AND COUNTER-BLOWS have been laid and the dust is settling.

The main individual casualty appears to be the general secretary Steve Blackett, now suspended, pending further internal investigations.

The larger victim is the entire Democratic Labour Party (DLP) which has become the laughing stock of the Caribbean, in a context where the DLP can ill afford to risk any further deterioration.

More importantly, the story could have been so very different.

What was required was so simple, logical and commonsensical, that having taken the opposite road, the DLP now appears dysfunctional, archaic and out of tune with Caribbean democratic development. No wonder the young people are shaking their heads in disbelief and are generally turned off by politics.

What needed to be done? Once Barbados Labour Party (BLP) backbencher Ralph Thorne had resigned from the BLP and had formally submitted his application to the DLP, and given the terms of the party’s constitution which automatically conferred political leader status upon the Leader of the Opposition, there should have immediately been a closed-door meeting between Dr Ronnie Yearwood, the sitting president, and Thorne, the newly emergent political leader.

The main objective of the meeting would have been to determine their respective roles, the duration of any agreed upon terms of engagement, and “what the final resolution” of the existing agreement would be.

The spirit of the meeting should have been guided by the fact that Yearwood does not have a seat in Parliament, the DLP has no representation in the House of Assembly and receives no subvention.

Finally, such a mature internal discussion would have set the next annual conference or general election (whichever is soonest) as the marker for fully settling the leadership question.

It is no fault of Thorne that neither Yearwood nor the DLP had any seats. There is an air of opportunistic hopelessness in the argument that “if Thorne had stayed in the BLP, then there would have been no problem”.

Much of the blame for the internal confusion can be placed at the feet of the pro-Yearwood circle who adopted a no-holdsbarred, scorched-earth response to Thorne’s reabsorption into the DLP. Was any or sufficient thought given to the party or mechanisms of democratic inclusion of party members in resolving the leadership question?

Even worse, the response was unsophisticated and smacked of political desperation. Locking doors, turning off lights, storming out of meetings and asserting a policy of “criticise from outside” is neither an effective nor a sustainable response.

To the extent that this tactic has not only been defeated internally, but has brought the DLP into serious question, a strong political case can be made for the resignation of Yearwood, for mishandling the Thorne crossover. This will resolve the current leadership crisis of the DLP and begin the rebuilding, post-Thorne.

Over to you now, Ronnie Yearwood.

Tennyson Joseph is Associate Professor of Political Science at North Carolina Central University. Email tjoe2008@live.com

232 responses to “University Professor points at Yearwood”

1. @Artax

All agree Thorne miscalculated but so did Blackett by making the statement after Yearwood stated at the branch meeting for Thorne to come back home before he applied to the DLP for membership. Both were facile positions.

2. David

It has been a long time since I’ve said anything on the blog. Hope all is well with you.

This DLP infighting shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone. I’ve noticed that most Bajans are party faithful instead of country focused, and they expect these power hungry politicians to be different.

Since being back in Barbados, I have come to accept that most are self-centred, ego driven and willing to showoff with a transactional mindset.

They speak about Singapore like they think they can model it in some way. Singapore has visionary leaders, and a one party state with a focus of making lives better. If they had politicians, civil servants and a people looking at each turn to see how they can get something for themselves, it would never have worked.

The idea of the big picture doesn’t come into the Bajan mindset.

Barbados is the land of pipe dreams.

Bushie calls them ‘Brass bowls’ and I find it very fitting.

The B/ DLP model of running a country is begging and taxing people. I find it amusing when I see comments talking about world class and punching above its weight. Not a good idea or vision in either camp.

If these people got into politics with the right intentions they would have been interested in working together to make this place great.

This country isn’t on a sustainable path and not one of these jokers will be around when the people are suffering.

Power and titles being the motivation is the drug.

3. @Lisa

Yes, have not seen this moniker in many moons. Your comment is unfortunately on point.

4. William Skinner Avatar

The funny thing about the nonsense now enveloping George Street is that the DLP allowed the opposition forces to set the tone of often inaccurate public political discourse and it continues to pay the price.
    The DLP’s identical twin criticized the NSRL that the much maligned Sinckler brought to extract money from the merchants up front. The twin argued it would increase the cost of living and removing it would be a priority. The twin removed it and we now have the second highest cost of living in the world and the twin proceeded to write off millions in VAT and other monies owed to the government by the price gouchers.
    Now we are learning that under the IMF dictate, poor people are being harassed for taxes going back to ten to fifteen years. Furthermore , we are hearing that the BRA is owed over 1.5 billion in taxes. Now pray tell any jack ass who owed these taxes.
    We never took to Freundel Stuart because he wasn’t the flamboyant type and even Black calypsonians made fun of his nose . That revealed a remarkable self hate. While it is true that he refused to be on television every minute,an objective reading of his speeches reveals a level of substance not seen since the days of Tom Addams, Bree St. John and others.
    The political pundits ( Wickham especially, even suggested thatStuart was running the country so badly that suicides were increasing . The suicide rate has tripled since Stuart’s departure .
    The next foolishness the DLP allowed was nonsense about some Lost Decade. It was the same decade in which the DeSantos lab was built that saved hundreds of lives during COVID. About three months ago, we heard the Prime Minister say that the DLP government did some “ good things” but this is the same PM, who when in Opposition declared Mark Maloney Corporate Public Enemy Number One. About a year or so ago , she said she “admires” Maloney and then went into some clandestine sourcing of vaccine involving him.
    The man who we blamed for the destruction of the economy was propelled into international prominence with the blessings of Mottley. He even went so far to imply that the DLP , his party, had little chance of winning an election.
    We now have Ralph Thorne, who said he was undermined by the BLP money class when he and Mottley were battling for nomination of the constituency. He left the party and joined the DLP , encouraged by a pack of David Thompson haters. With electoral failure as a DLP, he followed the same David Thompson haters back into the BLP and chorused that they were not joining the BLP but they were joining Arthur.Thorn reaped great success because by then his professional and social acceptance had the required certification.Opportunists !
    Today Thorn in a remarkable political feat , has captured the leadership of the DLP. So, in real terms what do we as a country have to boast about other than a political identical twin that is ruthless and destructive.
    And we have apologists regurgitating a heap of diatribe pretending it’s balance discourse but when stripped of the pathetic semantics , is nothing more than an everlasting devotion to the TWIN.
    What we have is a horror political movie that is destroying the very fabric of our country. Those who believed that a bath at Bathsheba or a pleasant scenic drive on the East Coast Road would have remained after this horror movie are now realizing that those iconic and beautiful places are now under the bulldozer. The price that we are paying for wanting to deny our own brothers and sisters from being included , at all levels , in the development of their own country , is seeing our country being devoured by rich white foreigners and we are begging to at least leave a window to the sea. We are begging these invaders to don’t block our paths to the scenery that we once enjoyed.
    And if we don’t take off our blinkers and realize that our beloved country is disappearing before our very eyes, by a deadly evil TWIN that while getting our faces on magazines , in far off lands , we are engaged in selling the same rock we all collectively love so much. The disillusionment is real regardless of where we rest our heads and close our eyes at night.
    Who will slaughter this evil TWIN ?

5. The latest is that the palace coupe continues with President Yearwood now suspended to join General Secretary (GS) Blackett by what is referred to as the dissident element of the DLP. Pedro Shepherd is the replacement GS. You can’t make this up.

6. Yolande Grant Avatar

“This DLP infighting shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone. I’ve noticed that most Bajans are party faithful instead of country focused, and they expect these power hungry politicians to be different.

Since being back in Barbados, I have come to accept that most are self-centred, ego driven and willing to showoff with a transactional mindset.”

You got it, did not take long…they are ALL a waste of energy, time and space….therefore they ALL need to start packing their GEORGIE BUNDLES…those servants/employees

…the slave minds will have to either sink or swim, no one has the time.

The End

7. Yolande Grant Avatar

William….the popular sentiment…is THEY GOTTA GO….running in every magazine means nothing…..they dont know how to influence anything to bring about significant SHIFTS that leads to PROMINENT GLOBAL RESULTS …that connection is DENIED them….permanently.

….they had no clue what to do outside of their usual games, and that was from Day 1…they never wanted to include those WHO COULD….and now they are LOST….and cannot get what they need to get on track, will never get it from me or any real Pan Afrikan, weeee dont do stepdowns.

..anybody can be in a magazine…I OWN ONE…

8. It is so ludicrous that people should be fighting over a 2×3 island, not because they have a vision to go down in the history books as the person who made a natural resource free, former slave colony no bigger than a big rock great, but just to go down in the history books as present.

These people don’t realise how stupid they are making themselves look.

Wake me up when something of significance is said or done by someone significant! 😴😴😴😴

9. Where is the coalition ????
    They should be out there making use of this mess . Proportional representation may be coming to the senate with the new constitution
    Seem like they need a coup over there also.
    Caswell. They need a hand

10. @Donna

People will squabble over anything, it is human nature. It happens everywhere humans exist although some would make out Barbados has a patent on the behaviour. The challenge is to be able to efficiently resolve conflict as it presents because rest assured conflicts will never go away.

11. @John2

We are seeing pockets of protests which is expected in the prevailing environment with cost of living high. Missteps by government has added to public disenfranchisement. Importantly the there was high expectation held for this government to be at the vanguard of dramatic change. We continue to see an inefficient court management system. A moribund court registry. A undermanned police service. Obsolete processes and procedures in the public service although talk about transformation; digitalization. Cluttered roadways with illegal motorists. Zr culture flourishing etc. there is this DLP saga with its national implication.

Although there is a lot to be happy about, there is a lot to question.

12. Yolande Grant Avatar

The fraudulent popularity contest to vote in clowns, after decades has finally turned into a dog, cat, judas, rat FIGHT…

13. I saw that someone had the courage to write 90-0? That was like a dagger to my heart, to see someone wishing for continuation of bungling/mistakes/missteps, corruption and an extension of a Mugabe period.

Kool-aid like it damages the brain more than drugs do.

14. Yolande Grant Avatar

Pacha…dont know why weee always have to spoonfeed these…

A whole BYGONE ERA has ENDED……there is a brand NEW GUARD in place…

15. Skinner

Pacha was one who remained unconvinced that Stuart was not a waste on time, and still am.

Barrow had called him a coward back in the 70’s and in our mind cowardice never seems to abandon those it infects.

On the question of the cost of living being the second highest in the world. If so, what else is to be expected given this regime’s history of default, constant borrowing and the stark failure to build out anything else but tourism.

Again on Stuart. We trust you are not suffering from a short memory,

We well recall that under Stuart the regime was absolutely feckless. And unlike this regime it appeared not to have the political nous to take us anywhere even if that journey was like this one, to hell this Mottley regime has so well embarked.

With all of Mottley’s rechtorical excesses Barbados is very likely to be no better off after her.

16. @David
    Could you repeat your explanation why some Instagram videos are restricted?

17. @Sargeant

There are all kinds of reasons, in the case of CBC and VOB there should not be any problems viewing caused by regional access. Can you try using a different browser?

18. Are we seeing the demise of the DLP?

19. One last point that I am unable to fathom is how a man who couldn’t make the cut as a Minister in a 30 love Gov’t. with a cabinet full of nincompoops could be seen as a saviour in the DLP. Thorne’s departure from the BLP wasn’t seen as a major loss for the Party indeed it was viewed as good riddance and a time to celebrate, Thorne doesn’t have any coattails, I’ve yet to hear of any BLP members pledging their allegiance to him or switching parties because of Thorne. Thorne’s major asset is he has a seat in the H of A courtesy of the BLP which could be in danger if the PM calls a snap election as she has done in the past.

Thorne has aligned himself with the “old guard”, the same people who were roundly dismissed by the electorate but seem to be clamoring for more of the same.
    I am further amazed that the people intent on executing a palace coup think that it would be business as usual under their preferred leader and dissension within the ranks would be a thing of the past.

Those whom the gods would destroy they first make mad.

20. @Sargeant

The issue is really about Thorne being the political leader and the problems it has triggered. Your point is a secondary discussion to have.

21. @David
    Are we seeing the demise of the DLP?
    ++++++
    Cue Willie Nelson

22. Skinner

The evil TWIN can only slaughter itself!

Your reminiscing about the country that is no more is heartfelt but you yourself saw this coming before the time beach vendors were criminalized, your activism there about.

Before them, market women on Roebuck Street faced the same fate. Laws were passed in parliament to criminalize them. Yet there’s a regressive discourse, generally, about Blacks and business involvement. Without which, as foundational, it was always only a matter of time before the physical representation of the country matches the dominant cultural ethos.

Indeed, your dearly beloved country has always been defined principally by racism as the main organizing method. Still is!

23. Yolande Grant Avatar

Don’t know how MOST MISSED that this is a NEW era….and personally i would want to shed the OLD, CORRUPT employees/servants who are now a much major embarrassment..

24. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Yolande Grant: “… and personally i would want to shed the OLD, CORRUPT employees/servants who are now a much major embarrassment.

Are you familiar with the concept of “hire and fire?

Are you familiar with the concept of institutional knowledge?

Fred Brookes’ “The Mythical Man-Month” is required reading for anyone who works with me. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mythical_Man-Month

Sorry for speaking my mind. I am often punished for doing so.

25. Blackett just fired a shot across the bow of the DLP.

26. Yolande Grant Avatar

Join the club, i always get into trouble for speaking, hasn’t stopped me yet though..

The PEOPLE as PAYMASTERS of these employees/servants are responsible for FIRING THEM…for incompetence, lack of performance and as i would put it in bajan parlance….dey tiefing de money, not doing any wuk to benefit the Afrikan majority population WHOM THEY ALL WORK AGAINST, while selling out….they haven’t done anything impressive or worthwhile in 100 YEARS, can show NO PROOF… and DEM GOT TO GO…

Apparently they lost the pulse of the people and incapable of seeing themselves and what they have become.

27. Yearwood and Blackett suspension and them out of the way would give the Blp much open season to mill and pave Thorne behind
    DlP chances of winning any thing in coming election has been shot clean out of the political waters
    Thorne has not played his cards correctly
    He has allowed the old guard to make a pathway for his ultimate political demise

28. @ac

Thorne’s demise or DLP demise.

Thorne never had any political power/capital. His prominence is about the DLP not having a seat in parliament and he being accepted into the party. The divisions were there before Thorne’s crossing.

29. neutral independent outside observer Avatar
    neutral independent outside observer

“Blackett just fired a shot across the bow of the DLP.”
    it would be nice if you bu produced a thread along the same lines
    it it better to be impartial than partial with loaded “news” matters
    instead of giving gangster syndicates a voice and silencing push back
    but I wouldn’t hold my breath for days weeks or months expecting it
    that’s just the way it is with apologists for unacceptable behaviour
    juts saying as a neutral independent outside observer

30. It is so ludicrous that people should be fighting over a 2×3 island

xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I COULDN’T HAVE SAID IT ANY BETTER LOL.

@ LISA YOU ARE 1000 PERCENT CORRECT THE PEA BRAIN POLITIANS ON BOTH SIDES BLP AND DLP ARE IN IT FOR THEMSELVES ONLY AND THEIR CLOSEST ALLIES FOR EXAMPLE MARK MALONEY FOR MAJOR GRAFT AND KICKBACKS.

THE VOTERS ALMOST ALL BLACK PEOPLE ARE JUST THE PAWNS FOR PAYING TAXES AND VOTES WHEN THE TIME COMES.

MOST WHILE THEY ARE NO LONGER SLAVES PHYSICALLY IN CHAINS BUT STILL ARE MENTALLY.

THAT IS WHY THINGS WILL REMAIN THE SAME UNTIL DEVALUATION OR MORE AND MORE AND HIGHER AND HIGHER TAXES PUSH THEM OVER THE CLIFF.

MEANWHILE POLITICIANS BOTH BLP AND DLP WILL CONTINUE TO GET FATTER AND FATTER AS THEY KEEP MOVING THE REVOLVING CHAIRS.

HAPPY I LEFT THE CESSPOOL AGAIN OVER 7 YEARS AGO.

31. David
    May 17, 2024 at 12:16 pm

Thorne’s demise or DLP demise.

Thorne never had any political power/capital. His prominence is about the DLP not having a seat in parliament and he being accepted into the party. The divisions were there before Thorne’s crossing

But the problems became worse
    Worst most have ever seen
    Many who hailed Thorne crossing over as a benefit for the party must eat crow
    What about the subvention political pundits spoke of which would have helped the party
    The party now suffers the story of the dog and the bone
    Mia and blp gonna make sure that Thorne defeat goes down in the history books of politics as a man who run from pillar to post having nothing to offer

32. “Comrades, good morning,

I have taken note of the entire episode surrounding the apparent suspension of me as General Secretary by the General Council.

To date, there has not been a single PUBLIC WORD of support of me as General Secretary or even of me as a member of this party for close to forty years by any of the twenty of the twenty four members I was anticipating their support.

I have come to a point in my political career where I can do FAR better than this, I have a wife and family that love and respect me, and it is reciprocated one hundred per cent.

Since 2018 when our party suffered an embarrassing defeat thanks to some who are now re-emerging as relevant political forces, I was sometimes the boy on the burning deck who raised my hand and said to the membership, give me something to do to help resuscitate our beloved party.

Over the next seven days, I will be seriously considering not only relinquishing my position as General Secretary but also tendering my resignation from Barrow’s sixty nine year old party and speaking to Barbados about my decision.

That is all I will say at this time.

Steven Decourcey Blackett”

33. The word is Dr. Yearwood will have a press conference later today.

34. Easier To Dub Avatar

“They” Got Ronnie like Malcolm X (Born 19 May 1925 – Assassinated 21 Feb 1965)

Malcolm X, Easier To Love, Easier To Dub

35. The posting at 2:09 looks suspicious.
    Seems unclear that Blackett authored such.

Assuming that he did and that Yearwood is coming later, today would have been a good day for the DLP.

Clearing the way for Thorne was always the thing to do. Throwing out a political leadership of failure.

Though both persons listed above intended to be the double-tail which wagged the proverbial Thorne dog from Thornbury Hill..

Good riddance, both.

Now Thorne should have a clear path to a give semblance of life to a DLP long made comatose by ineffectual personalities, archaic political management.

We are however less than optimistic. However, nothing beats a failure but a try. Both Blackett and Yearwood must smell the stench of electoral failure which they have avoided thus far.

If Thorne prevails, at least the next elections are likely to be more, of a party!

36. Thanks
    Matter settled!
    Must say that George Bell and the lady political scientist, Christina Hinds, seem to have views similar to this writer.
    Whereas, Hartley seems a bit too committed to the idea that this current imbroglio constitutes a net negative.
    To this weee say, all media is good! For nobody would have known the DLP existed without this situation. Now they must capture that interest generated.
    That Blackett is demanding that members of the GC openly show support is a bit childish, considered one way. And another as dictatorial. It portends that members have no right to determine the nature of their votes within a continually changing battle. They might have voted for him last week and somebody else next week. Good riddance you both!

37. It is official, Leslie Haynes is CJ. We can’t make this up.

https://www.instagram.com/p/C7FOAtXxzsO/?igsh=MTZwZjZic2gzZXdmYw==

38. What happened to P. Cheltenham?

39. Cheltenham is retired. Age 71, everybody getting old. Except Bushie!

40. Bu Straw Poll Avatar

Bu Straw Poll

The presiding officer or chair of the assembly will put the question to the assembly,
    Who will vote for the DLP now?
    affirmative say Aye or Yea
    negative say Nay or No

I say Nay

Let Ralph stand as an Independent Leader of the Opposition and leave the DLP as he has irrecoverably damaged “his new party” in the space of 12 weeks and helped “his old party” for another sure shot next term.

Devil Song

When the devil comes blowing through your door
    You’ll know there’s trouble, and he’s coming back for more
    You better keep what is precious hidden under the floor
    Or you better treat it so good it will never want for more

But looking back in retrospect
    Did you ever really get what you’d expect?
    Trying to rectify
    Got lost a little further
    You’ve been trying to justify
    Find out how and where it came

Devil was your angel, but it’s not no more
    The devil was your angel, when you weren’t sure

The devil was my angel, now I’m just not sure.
    To travel as my angel there’s always my whore

41. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You are correct. These jokers are not interested in progressive politics or get the Black masses like them therefore both you and @Yolande Grant have been proven more than right in many ways. They like the colonial masters, believe that crumbs are good enough for people who look like them.
    The guillotine is easily the only solution. The BLPDLP, must be tried for economic crimes against the people and removed permanently . The apologists are now in retreat, in many cases they are duplicit and complicit in the atrocities that have visited the people. May they all burn in the political hell along with their hypocritical apologists.

42. May they join the NDP

43. Progressive politics? The petite-bourgeois systems which purport to be ‘democratic’ is officially gone fascist everywhere.

With fascists like Hilary Clinton seeing themselves as progressives. We’ll have some contradictions there.

It’s always been! We’re seeing clearly that there are no differences between capitalism, colonialism, Zionism, petit-bourgeois democracy, racism, Christianity.

All fascist now

At

44. Are

45. @David
    It is official, Leslie Haynes is CJ. We can’t make this up.
    +++++++
    That’s interesting, he has had his fingers in almost every commission or conceivable legal action in Barbados.

Wonder whether conflict of interest will be an issue?

46. @Sargeant

One suspects recusals will be the order of the day. Time will tell.

47. Latest?

Dems going with Yearwood, Blackett

By Barry Alleyne

barryalleyne@nationnews.com

President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Dr Ronnie Yearwood and General Secretary Steve Blackett were last night given a vote of confidence by the Executive Council of the 69-year-old political organisation to continue in their respective positions.

After a near three-hour meeting at the party’s George Street, St Michael headquarters, a weary-looking Yearwood called on the party to finally unite, stop airing its dirty linen in public and get on with the business of rebuilding the party.

The meeting was held hours after the party claimed Yearwood had been suspended from duties and placed on the sidelines of the DLP to join Blackett, who was suspended last week.

“The last couple of weeks have been particularly difficult and I want to say to all Barbadians and party members to let peace prevail. We have a job to do on behalf of the people and I want everyone to come together in a sense of solidarity and together as the Democratic Labour Party family that we know we are and have been and will continue to be. In difficult times families come together in peace and love. Let peace reign and let us go forward and do the best for this country,” Yearwood urged party members.

“I want to thank the executive council for reposing their confidence in myself and the general secretary for the work that we’ve done on behalf of this party, on behalf of the people of Barbados. All the councils of this party have worked tremendously hard over the last two years in trying to rebuild the Democratic Labour Party,” the president said outside the auditorium.

The party’s second vice-president Walter Maloney said they were still waiting to hear the charges against Yearwood and Blackett.

No charges

“You’re suspending someone with no charges. Anyone who understands labour matters would tell you you can’t do that. You must know what you are being charged with. The right of natural justice is for everybody and you need the right to defend yourself,” he said.

In a statement to the media yesterday, interim general secretary of the DLP, Pedro Shepherd revealed Yearwood’s suspension came after a meeting of the general council Thursday evening.

“The general council of the Democratic Labour Party wishes to advise that at a meeting of its membership held at its headquarters on May 16, 2024, members present voted overwhelmingly on a motion to suspend president Dr Ronnie Yearwood with immediate effect,” Shepherd said.

“This decision was taken regarding several complaints against the president. The matter will be formally referred to the disciplinary committee of the party for its deliberation,” Shepherd added.

Maloney said the party would now attempt to move forward as one, while sticking to its constitution.

“The meeting was called because of what has been happening over the last couple weeks. The DLP is an institution built on a constitution and on rules. What we have seen over the last couple of days is a movement away from what is the norm in this institution. Last night (Thursday night) any person who is a member of the party or who lives in this country, what we saw with the police here, . . . that type of behaviour is unacceptable.”

Differences of opinion

Maloney said it was the norm to have differences of opinion in the party, but noted that things must be done in a particular way to settle such matters. “What we saw last night (Thursday night) is a signal we don’t want to be sending to our young people. We cannot on one hand say we want to see more discipline in our society, and then we have members within this organsiation displaying that level of indiscipline.”

He said what message was being sent out by the DLP, was one of the main issues discussed at last night’s Executive Council meeting.

“We need to first establish we are a party of rules, a party governed by a constitution that we must follow. We’ve decided there are some things we need to put in place, but these are ongoing discussions. Sooner rather than later, the public will hear the story. We need to try our best to recover confidence of the people of this country. There are rules we must follow. We have seen some things that have happened, that are questionable. These (Yearwood and Blackett) are individuals who were voted in by the membership. What we are seeing is a group of persons making decisions without the general body being part of it. There is a process. Let the process work.”

Yesterday’s development is the latest during a tumultuous three-and-a-half months for the DLP.

There were also unconfirmed reports yesterday that Blackett had tendered his resignation from the party but those rumours were rubbished by the former minister. “No, not yet,” he told this newspaper when asked yesterday if he had quit the party.

On Thursday evening, Blackett informed the media that the DLP had called in the Barbados Police Service to investigate a reported burglary at the George Street Auditorium headquarters.

According to Blackett, who insisted he was still the party’s general secretary although he had been “suspended” recently, the locks and chains at the gate of the facility, as well as its office door, had been broken off.

That night, police were on the scene investigating, as voices could be heard emanating from within the auditorium, indicating a meeting was going on.

Yesterday, Blackett said there was no other development in the alleged burglary.

“The matter is still being investigated,” Inspector Rodney Inniss, the Police Service’s Communications and Public Affairs Officer told the Saturday Sun yesterday.