Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Georgie Porgie

Dah one fah you

2. @BAFBFP…

Thank you for “The Mighty Sparrow — Congo Man”

I have not danced for quite some time.

I just danced now…

(Truthfully, and sincerely.)

3. “Girl you en know that this is a ladies wheel bike,wha ya tink ya sitting on!”

Bradley yah idiot. Ha HA HA A HA

4. The Small World , remember these guys who tried to cross the Atlantic in a balloon,but failed somewhere and after drifting for days were picked up by some St Philip fishermen .

5. @Bradley432…

Ah… Yeah… No… Sorry…

I just can’t dance to that…

I *am* however playing (and dancing to) for the forth time BAFBFP’s above….

6. ♪PATA PATA ROCKSTEADY♪
    by Queen Patsy
    & COUNT OSSIE

7. Ethiopians – Let Me Blow My Smoke

8. Remember this song when next the politicians come calling. BTW perhaps it could be applied to some who post on the blogs too.(I ain’t callin nuh names)

9. As the young would say;
    Come down selecta!

A big tune for the vintage reggae lover.
    [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGZ_lAd_L9k&hl=en&fs=1&]

10. More big people music.

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpRz4LThqMA&hl=en&fs=1&]

11. Nice ones General Lee. Think the BU will spin a couple.

12. Bonny, somebody reminded me today that Val got shot fatally in at Gwen. There was a robbery .

13. It is Friday nite at the social centre

14. The BCL produced some very good cricketers,but such was the social state of affairs,that very few made it past the League. There was this fellow from St Joseph, Chair Gittens,he was one of the best wicket keepers in the island,and living a stone throw away from one time Barbados Wicket Keeper Ossie Gill,this was easily judged. He used to be chuck under the stumps whether it was a spin bowler or a fast bowler. I have seen many a batsman ,not stumped ,but ran out by Gittens. Especially with a fast bowler ,Gittens would quickly collect the ball in his gloves,and just as fast look back behind him, giving the impression that he had missed the ball. Down the pitch the batsman would run, then with a smirk on his face Gittens would produce the ball and knock the bails off. He also bowled and bat quite impressively.

15. Its the 24 of May, the Kings Birthday. Remember what a big fuss that was all over the then British Empire? In Barbados we were treated to concerts held all over the island, in Plantation Yards, under the shade of an Evergreen tree, by the Barbados Police Band under the Baton of Captain Raison,whose favourite was Colonel Bogey

16. A familiar school song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBkP36dBhts

17. Ever been to a Dracula midnight movie at the Bridgetown Plaza and had to walk home afterwards?
    Here is Christopher Lee, the man who put the fear up many of us,receiving his Knighthood.
    http://static.panoramia.com/photos/original/28376640.jpg

18. Remember those times when the Corps of Drums of the Barbados Regiment would march through town or on the Garrison to the beat of the Regimental March, which Bajans had their own words to.
    Ya in the army now
    Ya right behind the cow
    Ya will never get rich
    ya son-of -a-bitch
    ya in the army now.

19. Bradley, they could only sing those songs on certain roads like Roebuck Street. Those were not official words.

I remember the Lodge School Cadet Band, when we were leaving trafalgar square we came through Roebuck street and on reaching Roebuck street, the band start up the carrot bounce. Instigator = Mac Fingall on the bugle.

20. Sorry Bradley. The colour sargeant on the maise = A youngster called Orville Senhouse from St. Philip with all the styles in the world.

Just imagine Roebuck Street lined with Bajans and Mac Fingall coming up with a company of cadets playing the carrot bounce and a spunky colour sargeant that got the maise flying and cadets marh-dancing. I tell you. That was a sight to behold. The first Crop-Over band, LOL!

21. @ ROK
    What was the surname of Val who was shot while working at Gwen Workman’s shop?

I know a chap, still alive, who was shot while working at Gwen Workman. He was crippled and has been wheelchair bound ever since (early 70’s ?) but drives his own car which was converted for hand operation. He also works a regular office job. He is a pleasant fellow, who is not bitter even after noting that the attacker(s) spent time in prison and have long since been released.

22. Does anyone remember Church Fairs? They were a staple in July and August when I was still in short pants. They used to have games like pin the tail on the donkey. Some villages also had local celebrations and I remember one where there was a merry-go-round or carousel as they are known for entertainment. This celebration also had a “greasy pole” where men would try to climb a grease covered pole to claim the hamper which was at the top. The hamper would contain among other things, ham and the ever present rum.

The annual Exhibition in Queens Park was also very popular among us teenagers because that was one of the places where you could meet your girl friend or any girl for that matter without adult supervision.

I also remember some women’s styles of that era first the “Peddle Pusher” also known as the Capri; the “hobble” which was a very tight skirt and something called the “Tent”; if you were seen with a girl who was wearing a “Tent” someone may say “yuh like yuh goin camping”.In addition to the “banlon” shirts already mentioned men also wore tight pants with pointed toed shoes. Dress shirts were likely to be “Terylene” shirts.

23. ROK
    You know Orville Senhouse? Boy, I was so in luv wid him when I was at school. He taught me for a while. Talk about a crushhhhhhhhhhh? He knew it too. He’s from Kirton’s. Now living in England. He was ummmmmmmm.

I know that Val was shot but is still alive. De bitches dat shot him should be deaddddddddddddddddddddd or crippledddddddddddd too.

Bradley432
    My 31yr. old son is crazy about these photos man. He is laffin at de ol bus. Dat is in the Lower Green bus stand? De fella standing at de corner look real cool boy.
    I luv de ol time sayings but what is a hairy purse? Ya bad.

Talking bout fellas pushing their girlfriend through hills, one of my sister’s boyfriend was pushing her through Spooners Hill, huffin n puffin, and when they get to this group of fellas, one a de fellas holla out,’Cah dear, feel fa de beast nah’. It is still a big joke at family gatherings.
    ‘Feel fa de beast nah”.

BAFBFP,
    What about Miriam Makeba? She had a popular song but can’t rememba de name now. Sweet song man.

A woman in jail is by Troubadours Int. Not sure if it is their original.

Anotha ol time saying:
    Crab-mash

24. Sargeant
    Yes, de hobble was a big hit back then. Sometimes the bottom was so tight, you could hardly walk. It made you walk ‘great’ man. Wid bare styles dat is.

25. Yes Bonny, the same Orville Senhouse. We used to call him “Snouse”. Well if you pronounce Senhouse fast enough… you would not hear the ‘e’ and the ‘h’.

The man was a master on the maise. He could get it to spin around his back and around his head. He had a move where he would do that spinning and then the maise would end up in the air. While the maise spinning in the air the man would do bad and catch it on the way down in any position and keep it spinning too; to the amazement of onlookers.

He used to use the throw up to bring the platoon to a halt. So that when it comes down, he catches it in the upright position in time with that last stamping of the boots to halt in the position of attention to show that the platoon has halted… Bram!

26. ROK
    He had some well built arms and a goodddddddddddd chest. And those lil cute eyessssssssssssssssss. Uh,uh, uhhh.
    He was my Lit teacher. Three quarters of de time, I didn’t have a clue what he was teaching. My mind was otha places. If he asked me a question on ‘As you like it’, I would probably answer him on ‘Taming of the Shrew’ or some other Shakespears story. I would be so farrrrrrrrrrrrrr away in dreamland.(teehee) (if the boy only knew) Sue Thompson.

Kiki/BAFBFP
    Pull up dat one by Sue Thompson for me Selecta.

27. bonny
    I know bob’s version..

here’s a land that I have heard about

So far across the sea (repeat)

To have you all, my dreamland

Would be like heaven to me (repeat)

We’ll get our breakfast from the tree

We’ll get our honey from the bees

We’ll take a ride on the waterfalls

And all the glories, we’ll have them all

Bob Marley – Dreamland

28. whoops sorry bonny I misread your instructions

Sue Thompson – Have a good time

29. Nowadays there are all these lotteries Mega 6 and Mega that but before there was Bingo. One could buy a bingo card and the numbers would be called on Reddifusion. I knew a man who won $600.00 on this game and spent the $600.00 buying more Bingo cards. As someone said “e like e tryin to brek bingo”, none of the cards won, he lost every cent.

There were also popular request programs on Reddifusion where people could requests songs for others. Sometimes it was used by lovers to confirm the relationship but it was also used to terminate relationships. The announcer would say something like this “this song is dedicated to “Owen Thompson of Hopewell St. Thomas from your sweetheart Maria it is by Engelbert Humperdinck and the song is Please release me let me go”. Imagine being dropped on the radio.

30. @
    bradley432

i was checking the music was pleastantly surprised to hear linsteadt market.i always thought it was kingston market,i knew something about ‘feelup’ was mentioned but it was thinking it was about people. never thought it was about ackee.the history of the song very interesting.thanks. have a ackee in my backyard.

31. ac
    de song is what we would call bouble entendre.A two sided sword. Why you would wanna feel up feel up ackee? A chick pass by you a Satda nite n you gine feel up feel up de ackees in you back yard? She should hit ya wid a bunch a ackee. murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Sargeant,
    Or you could imagine a girl requesting a song like, ‘First quarrel’ by Paul n Paula?
    Bring tears to a fella eyes man. Dat is providing he is a real romantic.

Now listen to dis, I gone back in time to de same request programme. Dis is de tune I would request for my ROK:
    ‘Guilty of Loving You’ by Jerry Fuller.
    Pull up dah tune fa my Rok, Sarge.

A too wicked. Lawddddddddddddddd.

32. @Alzymer

You are correct. I just thought he had died.

33. BP

Done

34. Sarge, what you encouraging BP in at all though?

Bonny, Love yah!

35. ROK

One lesson that one of my mentors taught me. If you want to make someone happy give them what they want (LOL)

36. @ac, but Linstead Market is all about feeling up people,the girls of the night.
    In Barbados we would have said, “Carry me sweet Peas to Nelson Street Market,or Bush Hil, etc etc.

37. ROK
    Ya feelin meh?
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Sargeant,
    Tanks a million. You want to be de ‘best-man’?

Bradlely432
    What were the other names for the ‘ladies of the night’?
    Wob-beans
    Ba-nockeys
    Touts

Another name for girlfriend was; chossel.

38. LOL Mr Know it all Avatar
    LOL Mr Know it all

@ac, but Linstead Market is all about feeling up people,the girls of the night.

This is of couse nonsense.

Linstead Market is a place in St Mary Jamaica.

The song has to do with feeling up ackees (a staple in the Jamaican diet) withput buying any. (hence the line …not a quotie wont sell.)

It has absolutely NOTHING AT ALL to to do with feeling up people. And there is no double entendre either.

It is a simple Jamaican folk song..not a calypso as it sounds when performed speded up.

If you should hear the Jamaica Folk Singers sing it as it ought to be sung the pathos would bring matter to your eyes.

Bonny Peppa asks Why you would wanna feel up feel up ackee?

Dont you feel up people produce in the market?

Bradley certainly does know a lot about Barbados of the 50’s to 60’s etc but he certainly DOES NOT KNOW IT ALL ABOUT JAMAICAN CULTURE OR THIER FOLK LURE.

39. @lol
    i udrestand what yuh saying but back in the day words like dat did like bonny pepa said had two meaning and when yuh small uh beta think before yuh sing because uh culda have a cut a..s.. . i did like the song alot. and still do.good memories.

40. LOL Bonny! Got to feel yuh up now like the ackees.

41. lol mr know it all
    You interpret how you feel and we would likewise. who cares if it is about ackees or feeling up girls? No one really. We mekkin we lil joke n you gettin all hysterical. No need for it. To tell de trute, de line which you say is: ‘not a quotie won’t sell’ I thought was ‘not a pokey won’t sell’. what is a quotie? J’can slang I guess. No neeed to get all cranky. Enjoy de posts man not criticise my man Bradley432. He knows de folklore that he is ta know. HIS.Good
    And no, I doan feel up nabody produce in de market. De produce dat I feel up doan be in de Public market. You crazy?

ROK
    ‘LOL Bonny! Got to feel yuh up now like the ackees”.
    But why are you laughing?
    Dat is fighting talk ROK.
    Somebody gun get ‘lick’.

But wait, any a wunna evva gih a hawker a ‘lift-down’ wid she tray or basket dat she balancin pun she head? Cud Christ.
    Dem does be heavy like 15 bags a cement man.
    Nuff ta fracture a man hand, man.

Sapadilla,
    Ain’t hearing you. Ya retire hurt?

And what was de ol time name fa calypso?
    Banja, of course.
    And on Sundays it was against all rules to sing banja pun a Sunday or whistle pun a Sunday.

‘you tink you is a man in hay, stop singing dah banja in hay fa me dis blessed Sundee’.
    Sounds familiar?

42. @Bonny Peppa, ya handled Know- it- all damn good there.This is about things Bajans, and that is how every Bajan interpret Linstead Market in those days.
    Speaking of Hawkers, my old man warned me never to marry a hawker, she does treat ya like a pack mule.Early on Saturday mornings,from around 4 ‘0 clock ,the country buses ,before Transport Board took them over, used to run a special service for the hawkers coming to town. The hawker would pack the big baskets and trays the night before and while she turning around the house,she would put the tray and other stuff on she man head and send him out longside the road to ketch a seat in the bus for her.When the husband or man died or left she fer another woman, she had to but a pickup truck to replace him. Joking aside ,these hawkers were very strong women, certainly much stronger than many of our so call strapping men of today.I used to see these women travel all the way to the heart of St John from St Joseph to buy bananas. Then walk back to St Joseph loaded down, and after that when they get back home they still have the energy to stand up in the road balancing the heavy basket on their heads, finish licking their mouts.They also knew how to save a penny.
    But before we had the Fairchild and Cheapside Markets these hawkers from the country used to sell all over Bridgetown. Busby Alley,and Amen Alley were favourite spots.

43. LOL Mr Know it all Avatar
    LOL Mr Know it all

I grew up in Barbados in the same era as Bradley and I never thought that the song had anything to do with feeling up any body.

I also had the privilidge of seeing Linstead Market twice, and also hearing the song performed in the correct time in which it was written, and experiencing the dissapointment of a woman (hawker) who did not sell any akee all day (Saturday) to buy foor for a children for the next week.

There is nothing wrong in asking for, or expecting accuracy and authenticity?
    With out accuracy and authenticity this whole thread would lack credibility.

44. Everyone had a nickname so much so that you only knew someone’s real name when they died. Some nicknames were flattering e.g “sweetboy”, others were descriptive or told a story; e.g Shortman; Salt Soup; Toxm- Tom; we only knew a pertson’s real name when someone died. Even “real” names were not real I don’t think anyone outside my immediate family knows my mother’s real first name. Sometimes this came about because the Priest who was christening the baby did not like the name chosen by the family and would substitute a name that he liked. When the family returned home they would continue to call the child by the original name they chose.

Some nicknames came from some stupid acts which some could never live down, others would embrace their nickname and be proud of it. The afore mentioned Tom was challenged to spell his name and came up with “Toxm” but no one would dare call him that to his face.

45. The above Anonymous was my post

46. The most important man in the village was the shopkeeper. You tried to keep on the shopkeeper’s good side. After all he was the person responsible for extending credit (trust) to the household during the week if you run short of food items. He would record the items that were “trusted” from him in an exercise book and repayment day was Friday or Saturday. Typically people would shop on Friday evening or Saturday morning with a list consisting of rice;sugar;salt;split peas/black eyed peas, butter (Palm Tree sold by the ounce); English potatoes; macaroni; lard oil;corn meal;flour;salt fish; salt meat (pig tails or neck bones or flat ribs), green tea and condensed milk.. Canned food included corn beef, pilchards and sardines. Ground provisions (sweet potatoes, yams etc) were bought separately. Soft drinks included a red Juc which could be mixed with milk or coconut water to accompany the Sunday meal. A variation would be to buy a tin of Trinidad Orange or Grapefruit juice which you could mix with water and sugar to accompany the meal.

Its amazing how little we needed to get by

47. Sarge,

The shopkeeper’s credit went longer than week to week in some cases. It was from crop to crop for those who worked in the crop. Out of season you would trust and pay when the season set in.

Remember that the shopkeeper used to trust goods from the merchants too and there was a whole understanding there, but unfortunately, that is how some shopkeepers lost their shops to the merchants. People that went to England and the USA without paying or people that move house and don’t return to pay the shopkeeper.

Zephrins had control of a lot of shops through bad debts but he used to turn them into outlets and rent them out. They could only sell Zephrins bread though.

48. One thing that we have learned from this thread, although Barbados is a relatively small island there are lots that we did not and to some extend does not know about people who lived just a few miles away. I met a guy from St George somewhere overseas,we got talking and I discovered that he had never seen a live monkey in Barbados, but had seen many “hare rabbits”. I on the other hand still up to now have never seen a “hare rabbit”in Barbados, but grew up next door to a gully full of monkeys.
    @Sargeant, you are so right about priest changing the given names of babies and substituting what he thought was appropriate. There was a Scotsman at St Anns. Rev JT Adams -Cooper who was noted for this. Parents were only aware of the name change when the child started school and a Baptismal Certificate,which was a legal document then, showed a different name. Some children at 5 years had to be rechristened ,by another Priest of course. But up to this day people still used both the official and unofficial names,hence the surprise when someone dies.

49. Who remember that we had a bird we used to call a Dr. Boobie? The yellow breast??? The humming bird?

I must admit that the monkeys were more in St. Joseph, St. Andrew, St. Thomas and parts of St. James. You would hardly find monkeys in St. George, St. Michael, St. Philip and Christ Church; especially not in the coastal dry or areas with few trees. Should add St Lucy to that.