Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. @Sargeant.Talking about bragging rights. Sugar Cane cross breeding started here in Barbados.The watchman of Highland Plantation,of course history would not have recorded his name, saw for the first time what he thought was canes growing from seed. His manager cordoned off the area,and the watchman was provened right. We had all variety of cane grown here, the 151, 161. 4098, and the very clear,soft and sweet one ,Bonny Peppa, the Frozen Joy or Juicy cane.
    @ROOK, there is also another fruit that you will only find in parts of St Thomas, St Joseph and St Andrew. The Bread Nut. The tree and fruit is commonly mistaked for that of the Breadfruit. The Breadnut has about 20/24 small nuts inside of it, which are taken out and boiled in salt water.

2. @Bonny P……..See ma hey now! I en got nuh fond memories. I had to go church and sundy skool too damn much. Fada was a madman!Wanna right bout dem fruit doh. I raze up pon dem. De only ting I kin rememba was hearing bout dis douncesta from Sin Andra wen de techa tell he to spell COW, he tell de teacha, No, he cayn spell cow, dat too BIG he ca only spell EGG. En dat waz looong befo my time!

3. @Bradley 432. I think another variety of sugar cane which was developed here and very hardy was the B119. The Barbados Black Belly Sheep is also known for its meat and hardiness. I remember they were exported to many other countries

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbados_Blackbelly_sheep

4. ROK
    I still cook with tumeric but in powder form.
    I think de ‘Opels’ sing A woman in jail.

Bradley432
    All you had to say is dat de Frozen joy just like me; soft, juicy n sweettttttttttt.
    (ROK, ya listenin?) murdahhhhhhhhh

I never heard of the Bread Nut tree. Have you ever tasted it?

Hopi,
    I know de same joke but anotha way:

When de teacha asked the youngsta ta spell COW, he start crying and saying,
    ‘Please Sir, COW

5. The last time I saw a bread nut tree was in Fitts Village, St. James.

6. Hopi,
    Sorry bout dat. Here’s goes:
    The youngsta said, “Please Sir, COW too big, you should gimme sumting small like MOSQUITO”.

7. Yeah Bonny, I listening.

The breadnut taste something like eddoe. The texture is like a good soft eddoe but it has its distinct taste. It look like a nut with a husk. You peel off the husk after t is cooked.

Many a day breadnut save my belly from the pangs of hunger. Same with roast breadfruit with cooking butter.

The hawkers in Nelson Street used to sell bread nut already cooked. We really used to get breadnut from places like Dominica, St. Lucia and St Vincent. Those p[eople used to bring it in in small amounts because Bajans did not know much about it and as a matter of fact, there was a tree in Nelson Street too which a Trini woman planted right besides Gwen Workman shop when she was at the corner of Nelson and Wellington Streets.

8. That should have read, “Looks like a walnut”.

9. Bradley
    how bout some ol time sayings:

Own-way ya wunt hear, hard-ears ya gun feel.

Who help ya buy a big foot horse doan help ya feed um.

When ya kno whay a dog does sleep ya in got ta run behing it.

Wait till ya trough put n bubble in it.

Evva sa welcome, wait fa ya call.

If ya playing ya is a man, tek a man share.

High wind know whay old house live.

De devil n he wife fightin fa de coucou stick.

She in de ‘family-way’.

Doan sen a boy ta do a man job.

Shoo fly doan botha me.

Po’ great.

Bradley, add yours now. I in kno na moe.

10. ROK
    Ok my plum-puddin. Nice to know dat you’re listening n paying attention. It will come in handy when…………………
    I frequented Gwen Workman when she was at that location ROK and I can’t rememba seeing a tree planted near there.
    I was addicted ta Gwen Workman pork-cuttas in de 70’s man. Hot as piss but taste real good. Not ta mention de lead-pipes.
    What ever became of Val that worked in that shop? Think he had a ‘eye’ fa me but he was sorta shy and so was I.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I can’t believe that I miss this thread. This is the time that I am reading it. It is great.

12. Lord Bonny
    Wha en ketch ya en pass ya
    the sea ent got nuh back door
    wha sweeten goat mout bun he tail
    a thief from a thief mek god laugh
    ever skin teet en a laugh

13. The bread nut tree was in the backyard of the house next to Gwen, if you come out of Nelson Street and keep straight across the road… but you could see it from the road. There was a little space between the two buildings that we used to go up between and sit down to eat we lead pipes and other wickedness that boys get up to.

One thing though, I never used to partake in the alcohol or cigarettes. I had the record for eating the most lead pipes at one go without a drink. LOL!

14. A woman in jail.
    A woman in jail.
    Could someone tell me wah it is dah she had fah sale?

If yah light a match ..
    Wha it is that yah was suppose tah see?

My brain did too under developed to grasp the song at de time. Help mah..!

15. THERE IS ONLY ONE BAOBAB TREE LEFT IN BA’BABDOS… anybody know where it is?

16. “Who help ya buy a big foot horse doan help ya feed um.”

HAHA HAAAAAAAAAA… ROK you mek dah one up….! HAAAAAAAAHA

17. Bradley you get tah meet King Ja Ja? You did runnin’ ’bout den?

18. Boabab tree queens park

19. @BAFBFP

That was Bonny Peppa, man.

20. Everyone should be aware of that Baobab tree. I make sure I see it whenever I am in Barbados. The area is not very well kept but it would be the oldest living thing in Barbados. Incidentally there is supposed to another one in the Warren’s area. Those trees are found mainly in Africa so why are there two in Barbados?.

21. BP

Unfortunately I couldn’t source the songs you requested, however I have another song that will get you off the floor as a matter of fact any Caribbean resident could appreciate this song although it is not from Barbados or the Caribbean. It is from Africa ( South Africa to be exact) and the singer’s name is Brenda Fassie who was described as “The Madonna of the Townships” in part because of her scandalous life. Ms Fassie died of the ills that affect entertainers drugs and hard living.

Here is Vulindela

22. I stand corrected, there are in fact two Boabab trees. About three years ago de third one get chop down by some white man…!

23. One smart dead at too smart door.

Sorry kill a man pun a lorry.

When blackbird cut teet.

If yuh see a man fishing in a dry pond, leh he lone.

Air cakes and wind pipes.

Yuh en worth wuh Paddy shot at.

Bank holiday bear.

Cat piss and pepper.

Dog bite yuh.

She pushing pram cart.

Behind God back,

Cooking 1 2 3

You like a lamp lighter, as you hear wick.

You won’t leh me get fat.

24. Well Go’ Blin’ Ma all you got is Boveston special?

25. @Sarge, here is a pic of the Baoboab Tree in Queens Park
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28346766.jpg
    Old Vauxhall Velox car
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28346746.jpg
    Down on the Pier Head,in that area where the Coast Guard was located, there is probably the last remaining Screw Dock in the world.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/1751365.jpg
    And how often do we pass old Slave Huts, and do not give a thought to them.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28346792.jpg
    Remember those Transport Board Tiger Cub buses with the fancy gear lever
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28346769.jpg
    This Caterpillar is probably over 60 years old,and only just went out of service
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28346771.jpg

26. Sorry but that is not the type of Screw Dock I was referring to.Here is the correct pic.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28346803.jpg

27. @sargeant
    tanks; tanks; for de music da wun is a real oldie never will forget thesocial hop ma grannie take me on sunday .one of my favourite songs.any body remember themidnight Draculla movies.sacred to sleep if my grannie talk about them,she go see dem alot.

28. And that old 60 year Caterpillar
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28346784.jpg
    The other pic was taken at Richmond Gap in 1962 with St Leonards girls in background.

29. here you are Bonny Peppa
    Rat poison don’t kill mice
    Once don’t go over the hill and say farewell.
    Ya aint piss when de gully out
    She pushing a bread cart
    he got a sow pig under the counter
    He does work at Walkers and get paid at Idle Hall
    Man she in know who build the Ark
    He does put all he money in the hairy purse
    He is a two pot man
    He wukking land feh monkey to run on
    Ya could hide and buy land,but ya cant hide and wuk it.
    She like she stepping on hot ashes.
    Wah she en cut na shine.
    Wunnah does eat and wipe wunnah mout in de grass.
    Fart free wherever ya be, in church or chapel, let it rackle.
    He hang he had higher than he can reach it.

30. That last one should read:
    He hang he hat higher that he can reach it.

31. @BAFBP, meet King jah Jah? man I am only a war baby,world war 2, that is.A baby boomer.
    As a boy I had a very lovely old lady for a neighbour. Her mother was an actual slave, and in those days when the only entertainment was the occasional Mobile Cinema,and the usual drunks on Saturday nights,this old lady would entertain us with genuine stories of her experiences ,as well as those of her mother.
    Many of the plantations 40/50 years ago had some huge barns where they kept there mules and cattle,which were tied to some rings on the wall. According to this old lady the original use of those rings were to secure slaves.

32. BAFPFP: I think you mean a “Bowmanston Special”, meaning a glass of water (Bowmanston Pumping Station).

33. @Bradley 432 – St. Leonard’s
    Note the ‘Ban-Lon’ shirt and Continental pants worn by the main subject. The donkey cart driver is drinking out of a ‘tot’ (tin can to which a tinsmith riveted a handle). Drinks somehow tasted better in them.

34. Re: St. Leonard’s photo.

Also note the mandatory “muff” at the front of the young man’s head. Many a boy would cry if his muff was cut off.

35. I vaguely remember as a boy seeing milk carts doing the home delivery rounds in the City/St Michael Area. I believed the Dairy,owned by the Dowdings, was somewhere in the Belle or Lower Estate are, and had a fleet of blue Austin Gypsy’s pickups, like those shown in link.Up until a few years ago a fellow in Map Hill had one of these old Gypsys using as a wrecker.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28347517.jpg

36. @Al Zymer . You are so right about that muff. The day I got confirmed, my mother told the “barber”, one of the older boys in the village under the tree, to take off all my hair around the back and sides. I cried all day and if I was not scared of some lashes with the Dog Hunter I would have given the Bishop a miss. And to think that today hair cuts like those are all the rage.
    BTW that rascal is yours truly.

37. Have a good look at the length of those St Leonards girls skirts. The girls from the Modern High School used to pull up the uniform (not the skirt & bodice) and tuck it over the belt.

38. Like it or not.Admit it or not ,but life in the country especially, centered around the plantation or sugar factory.And that was so because , some one or more persons in almost every home was employed at either a Plantation,Sugar Factory or one of the Bond Houses in Bridgetown. When the crop started, Sugar was so much of a King, that the majority of those workers employed by the H&T (MTW) to weed and maintain the roads were suspended in order to help reap the canes. Men with jobs in Bridgetown,mainly drivers were allowed keep the town job on hold while they work in the crop.Some children had to stop school , to either help their parents in the cane fields, or mind the younger children at home.Many children were also allowed to leave school at 11 am instead of Noon to go home collect food and carry it to thier parents in the field.
    Each field in the plantation had a name , and if a child knew that the parent was working in Pasture field or Litland, they would know precisely where to go as If equipped with a GPS.
    However there was a shameful period in the plantation,where children 3 years and older were prevented from going to school, in preference to earning a few cents weeding and picking pond grass in the fields. This was known as the Third Class, mostly supervised by an old stern woman, who had a long whip and was not afraid to use it. I still have a picture in my mind , going home to lunch about 1215 on very hot day, and seeing these young children in the canefields weeding and crying from the beatings.
    Young mothers and pregnant women in those days drank a lot of fresh milk to build up theirs and the babies health. They generally got the milk from the plantation,that they or their parents or whole family work at. I remember once a plantation owner refusing to give young mothers and pregnant women milk because as he so nicely put it, “My dogs are breeding too!”

39. Bradley

You sure it was 1962? As I recall muffs came a little later. I thought in 1962 all the boys wanted “Harry Belafonte” haircuts. Hair cuts with the two receding areas at the top of the head similar to Belafonte’s hairline

40. Bradley

Correct about the names of cane fields. I also remember that during the Crop Season, we would wait until the trucks were moving through the district with a load on the way to the factory and would “pull” canes from the trucks. Sometimes the owners would have someone sitting on top of the load who would throw “butts’ i.e small pieces of cane at you to stop you from taking the canes. If the canes were being taken by tractor and trailer it was easier to take canes because the trailers were very slow. If you were unable to get canes that way you could always “mash trash” to get the canes left behind in the field.

Cane Fires were also very frequent during the Crop Season, sometimes fields from several plantations would be destroyed during one fire. The speculation at the time was that fires were stared by cane cutters who would be able to cut more canes if there was no trash to clean off and earn more money as a result. At the time we were told that if the canes were not harvested within three days of a fire that the juice would be unfit for making sugar.

The overseer at a Plantation had a lot of power and some of them were very tyrannical about it. I remember hearing about overseers who would have a dispute with labourers and would send them home about an hour prior to work stoppage which meant that the workers would not be paid for the day.

41. Now that you mention the tractors hauling the trailers loaded with canes it remind us how many a bicycle rider look forward to the crop season because many of them would hang on the the back trailer to save the energy of peddling long distances. The most daring use to draft the buses, especially the ones who has Racer bikes. Bicyles was a very popular mode of transport. The hardback men had the horse (Raleigh), the ladies had the smaller version which had no bar. In the 70s many a boy as a present for passing the screaming test got a Chopper bike.

42. Coupla things,

Joyce truck used to be blue open back from what I remember. Same sort of flat front min-truck that PHD used to deliver milk, but her’s was open back pickup style, from what I remember.

The grapefruit did not originate in Jamaica but in Barbados, cross between a shaddock and some sort of orange.

David, yeah about the Chopper’s. I get that promise too, but never get the bike.

Was fairly upset about it too.

But, that’s how the cookie crumbles.

43. not to change the manly subjectvery interesting.but does anybody remember the song/poem “who KILLED COCK ROBIN”.
    i think some of the words went like this
    who killed cock robin.
    i said the sparrow
    with my bow and arrow
    i killed cock robin.
    then the birds of the air
    went a flying and a sobbing
    when they heard of the death of
    poor cock robin;
    when they heard of the death of poor————-cock robin;

i know their are other verses .i learned it in primary school.and i got alot of lashes if i didn’t know

44. Here’s a lil’ bit ah history Bradley and David

King Jah Jah lived opposite The Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre in the building occupied by the old people’s home. The rebels involved in the uprising with Bussa including Washington Franklin were hanged at the building below Purity Bakeries (The building in the corner by the round-about.

45. With compliments..

“Who killed Cock Robin?” “I,” said the Sparrow,
    “With my bow and arrow, I killed Cock Robin.”

Chorus

All the birds of the air came a-sighing and a-sobbing,
    When they heard of the death of poor Cock Robin,
    When they heard of the death of poor Cock Robin

“Who saw him die?” “I,” said the Fly,
    “With my little eye, I saw him die.”

Chorus

“Who caught his blood?” “I,” said the Fish,
    “With my little dish, I caught his blood.”

Chorus

“Who’ll make the shroud?” “I,” said the Beetle,
    “With my thread and needle, I’ll make the shroud.”

Chorus

“Who’ll dig his grave?” “I,” said the Owl,
    “With my pick and shovel, I’ll dig his grave.”

Chorus

“Who’ll be the parson?” “I,” said the Rook,
    “With my little book, I’ll be the parson.”

Chorus

“Who’ll be the clerk?” “I,” said the Lark,
    “If it’s not in the dark, I’ll be the clerk.”

Chorus

“Who’ll carry the link?” “I,” said the Linnet,
    “I’ll fetch it in a minute, I’ll carry the link.”

Chorus

“Who’ll be chief mourner?” “I,” said the Dove,
    “I mourn for my love, I’ll be chief mourner.”

Chorus

“Who’ll carry the coffin?” “I,” said the Kite,
    “If it’s not through the night, I’ll carry the coffin.”

Chorus

“Who’ll bear the pall? “We,” said the Wren,
    “Both the cock and the hen, we’ll bear the pall.”

Chorus

“Who’ll sing a psalm?” “I,” said the Thrush,
    “As she sat on a bush, I’ll sing a psalm.”

Chorus

“Who’ll toll the bell?” “I,” said the bull,
    “Because I can pull, I’ll toll the bell.”

Chorus

All the birds of the air fell a-sighing and a-sobbing,
    When they heard the bell toll for poor Cock Robin.

……………………….

This was a real marathon song and those who could remember all the verses were were regarded as geniuses

46. @inkwell
    walaa……………………job.

There was a song called What a saturday night” .the words in the song by yesterday standards were not moral

47. @David men used to put their girls in the bicycle bar, and when they got to a hill the girl remained sitting on the bar while the man huff and puff pushing her over the hill.Clever, cause by the time he got her home ,that was the only huffing and puffing he was able to do.
    But have you heard the one about the girl who each morning men would line up to drop her to work on their bicycle bars. She told a fellow one morning, ” You are different, every morning these fellows give be a ride , I can feel them hard up against my back.” The fellow replied, “Girl you en know that this is a ladies wheel bike,wha ya tink ya sitting on!”

48. In the Fairchild Street area, there was Cardy Trotman’s bar, when we joined the work force we could get a beer there before boarding the bus. Next to it was Rick’s Supermarket owned by the Miller family .Around the corner was the Empire theatre now a dilapidated building and opposite the Empire was the Bridgetown Plaza. Many a Saturday I would go to a matinee at one of the two. It depended on which one had the better Western. I attended two documentaries with the rest of the school at the Bridgetown Plaza. I believe these were shown to the schools at the behest of the Ministry of Education.

The first documentary was a film called “Devil in the Flesh” which was about the evils of venereal disease. I wonder how many people tested the truth of the claims by venturing to Nelson Street which was just behind the Plaza. The other film was the funeral of Sir Winston Churchill. Barbados wasn’t called “Little England” for nothing