reparationsBarbados Underground (BU) is thankful for all the complaining we hear about our blog because it means we have freedom of speech. Thanks to Nancie .J Carmody who made the following quote famous: “I am thankful for all the complaining I hear about our government because it means we have freedom of speech.”

The evergreen race debate like immigration, homosexuality and topics of this tenor which BU is driven to blog about will always evoke passion. It is the nature of the beast. How can we debate the issue of race in a manner which is acceptable given the strong views likely to be provoked? The fact that we have people from different backgrounds whether influenced by race, education, socialization among other factors will make the race dialogue interesting.

BU finds it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist. It is our belief the word racist is often used interchangeable for ‘bigot’ or ‘prejudice’ by some. The BU household is always willing to learn from the BU family and welcomes feedback on our position.

We have demonstrated from our inception a strong commitment to freedom of speech. It is the reason why BU was given birth. As the world continues to follow the the furore over a black Harvard professor’s arrest here is what a contrite President Obama had to say “race is still a troubling aspect of our society.” Observers suggest Obama has had to retreat from his earlier condemnation of the Cambridge police officer concerning the stupid act of arresting a man who was understandably upset in the situation he found himself. If he did not USA may have become split down the middle on the matter of race. There was also the incident last month of White and Black groups clashing over how a young Black man was allegedly killed by two White men who had the charges dropped. The most embarrassing report of how race continues to boil in the USA is the portrayal of President Obama as a joker.

There we have it; it is one of the most liberal countries in the world which is often stated to be a melting pot. The issue of race remains topical. How can Barbados be immune from the issues associated with race?

Barbados Underground will not cower when we have to deal with the hard issues. Not too long ago BU was labeled xenophobic when we introduced concerns about the fallout from an open-door  immigration policy. Our concerns have now taken on a national, regional and global cry.

Black people were used as slaves by countries termed ‘developed’ to build out successful economies. In stark contrast most Black governed countries survive in a global realm which makes it difficult to achieve economic prosperity as a result of the geopolitical gymnastics at play.

How can it be changed? Will it ever be changed? Change is usually achieved through advocacy. History places Blacks at a disadvantage because of elaborate systems which have been created. It will take a long time for Blacks to penetrate the existing structures. In the meantime the 300 year plus emotional scares can only be soothed with verbal and monetary redress.

641 responses to “The Race Card”

1. // August 7, 2009 at 2:19 pm

@Art

Why don’t you submit a blog with your views? You can submit them as often as you wish, we will publish them.

————————————————
    Simply great David. One does not get to shut up or shut down a commentator. You only get to counter. Take up de offer Art.

2. @ Moongoose
    Jack Bowman repeatedly cut and paste Negroman’s quotes without context to make a point…was he devious or dishonest?

@Hi art

I am not of the DLP, neither is it my Party – I am not a party member – I supported the DLP at the last election because I thought it was the right choice to make.

I have no idea what the DLP does in terms of which blog it supports or depend on.

I recall a debate on this blog in which I was not involved and a blogger said I should condemn what was being said. Unless I was involved it was not my “duty” to constantly interject. I am not a policeman on this blog, posters are free to advance their “own” views.

I have never brought anything but facts to the immigration debate. In small close- knit societies like Barbados many favours are owed – and they must be repaid – often at inconvenient times.

I may not live to see it but Barbados will pay a “very” heavy price if they do not have a proper immigration policy…it can “never” be reversed.

3. Anonymous, if I was a customer in a restaurant and some white waiter suck his teeth or turn up his face at me, I would also be speaking with the supervisor. Was there a point you were trying to make Anon?

4. Some say the views about race being expressed on BU is a narrow reflection of our society.

If it is not Houston has a problem.

Barbados a few years back established a commission which spotlight race relations in Barbados, another report submitted to the UN cited crypto-racism existed in Barbados.

So where are we?

5. Davey Boy, permit a minor correction – the word actually is not “narrow” but rather “subterranean”…

The orchestra has been fine-tuned and the stage is being set for the “hellish” forces to unleash a primordial exhibition of apocalyptic proportions…

6. I now see a white woman in sheraton that look sooooooo good she was driving a black land rover.

I would link up wid she anytime.

7. Yardbroom, now there is something we can actually agree on. Jack should have posted the entire rant by Negroman, the whole enchilada for all to see, including those “dirty diseased European white scum.” OH and especially the part about how they all want deading.

8. @livinginbarbados you think Mugabe is wrong for doing what he did?

Or do you think what he is trying to do is something for the betterment of all Africans?

9. Sometime ago I said in a comment that racism permeates Barbados society; I was taken to task for making such a comment. However, racism is so ingrained, that the abnormal is seen as normal and the last to see it are Barbadians.

If you ask awkward questions you are a trouble maker, the fact is, it is to some people’s advantage for the status-quo to remain, they do nicely out of it.

I have no desire to take up the mantle of a crusader; there is so much to see if people will only open their eyes.

To achieve anything you must deprive yourself in the short term, that is always the price for “real advancement.” If people are not prepared to pay that price no amount of talk will change things.

The key to unlocking it? having people who do not wish to become “very, very” rich.

10. Mongoose
    What was dishonest about Jack Bowman is that he took the words of one person and labeled the blog. He then repeated the words ad nauseam to goad some bloggers for a negative response, with intent in mind; he was therefore culpable for what ensued.

It was devious behaviour of the worst kind, what compounded his behaviour was that he is a “diplomat” a “senior one”…I expected better of him.

11. @Say What?
    “Start the war fuh tru Negroman and ROK. Let the revolution begin! Then the foreign investors can pull out, the tourists can stop coming, the “white companies” can shut down (I hope you don’t work for any of them) and where will that leave us?”

Is that the best you can do? So foreign investment is going to shut we up? Your greenbacks? Bajans don’t vote for foreign investors, neither do we eat them. You want my take on foreign investment? It is a waste of time and an imposition on the people of Barbados.

If a man came to invest US$1M in Barbados, you can be sure that he looking to take out US$10M. Now tell me, where that US$9M coming from? Only one answer to that question, out of we blood, sweat and tears. Does that make sense?

If we can make US$9M for him, we can make it for ourselves. What does foreign investment do to small businesses and those that seeking to increase their market and production?

It puts our own development on the back burner, because when John Browne should be getting some loans from the back to expand his business, the banks don’t need him when they have a foreign investor.

Second, the very land which the foreign investor takes means one less option for our businessman. So foreign investment is not doing us any favours and actually is helping to further enslave us.

12. Wrong yet again ROK. Your post only makes sense if the foreign investment is in real estate. Just so you know, there is far more foreign investment in Barbados in the technology and agriculture sectors. Hence, the big push to take the lagging sugar cane industry into bio-fuel. Foreign investment in the right sectors not only provides funds for the government coffers but also provides Bajans with jobs and if it is the right investment it can take some of our highly educated people and put them in DECENT jobs instead of mopping up floors and serving food or worse leaving Barbados so their education does not go to waste.

I am in complete agreement with most Bajans that this cement block condo crap has to stop. It caters to only one class of people and you would be right ROK that THESE people do not care one rass aboutr Bajans. Barbados built it’s tourism product on small, unique and that” ole time Caribbean” feel that tourists long for, a Caribbean that is rapidly disappearing. That now gone tru de eddoes. Tourism is not inherently bad but it has to be managed and it has to be managed by someone who has the people’s best interests in mind and not lining their own damn pockets.

13. David:

Thanks for the offer, which I would like to reflect upon. I have a strong feeling that I’ll be back here sometime soon, whichever way.

What I would like topersonally know in my heart is that this blog is not promoting racism any more. That way I can enjoy a “Perfect Day”.

You just keep me hanging on because of it.

I would also urge you…and others… to understand that one day you may discover… Bajan violent crime…. on people like…. an ex-immigration officer…. a Jewish philanthropist…. an innocent Guyanese possibly Hindu worker….a gay….. a white…. a black.
    All of these could end up being your responsibility.

Now sleep well, but remember what I’m telling you… and do please consider being guided.

Shabbat Shalom

14. @robin hood
    “So just where does one have to look to find these “real” black men, ROK? Amongst the drug lords and pushers, the ZR/Minibus men, Dodds or on the block?”

Well! Well! Well! So what you telling me that the ZR men that make a contribution to the transport grid are what?

You notice how happy we are with the legacy of slavery? We got the drug lords, the men in dodds and the men on the block?

We got free speech that allow people like you so to come in we own country and insult we but we would get shut up if we go to yours and try the same.

But let me say this. The men in dodds, the drug lords and pushers and all that you would deem scum bags are a product of your white society and an indictment on your white society.

It is the effects of divide and rule, corruption and the sins of the white man that we have foolishly allowed to penetrate our own society and telling we-self that we developing.

Then people like you, after you done rape we resources could come and spit in we face. You wonder why we angry? You wonder why the white man is so hated by those who have the intelligence to understand the greed and the effects of the white man greed?

You wonder why Negroman call Ms. Schrawtsie white trash without remorse? Well when people like you so alive it will always happen. Don’t come back here talking about incitement or telling we about the hate on BU because you just bring out the white hate and show that you don’t deserve any respect whatsever.

but real black men don’t end up pushing drugs nor at dodds nor none of that, because real black men too conscious to get trap so.

15. @art

why you don’t carry your tail from whence it came. Leave this blog alone and go on your own blog. We don’t need monitors. We don’t be on the white hate blogs. I want Bonny to fix you fuh me.

GEAR BOX! Where are you?

16. And just so you don’t think I am going all soft on the race issue, ROK, it has been my personal experience that blacks are just as guilty of keeping blacks down. For many years, I was an active business partner with a black Bajan in a very popular restaurant/bar in Barbados. He treated the black employees like dirt, always talking down to them, never praising them, always telling them to know their place if they came to him with ideas on how to improve the restaurant and openly scolded them in front of the customers. It was a damn hard road I had to travel everyday just to keep good employees. I used to give these employees little bonuses behind his back and constantly try to raise their spirits and tell them not to pay him no mind.
    Before you tell me that I can not take one black Bajan and use him as an example of how some blacks covertly try to keep other blacks down, I saw many other examples of this type of behavior as a businessperson who dealt with advertisers, suppliers, banks, inspectors and utility providers.

17. @art
    “I would also urge you…and others… to understand that one day you may discover… Bajan violent crime…. on people like…. an ex-immigration officer…. a Jewish philanthropist…. an innocent Guyanese possibly Hindu worker….a gay….. a white…. a black.
    All of these could end up being your responsibility.”

You accepting the torture, rape, castration, lynching and genocide of your white ancestors? Who you trying to make feel guilty? When you accept those we will accept ours.

The crimes against humanity that were perpetrated by the white man is more than 1000 times the few you mentioned and you do it for 400 years without remorse. There is no remorse here for you. It is all your doings. It started with the cruel and devilish white man.

So blame your own for Bajan violent crime…. on people like…. an ex-immigration officer…. a Jewish philanthropist…. an innocent Guyanese possibly Hindu worker….a gay….. a white…. a black… because all of these are your white responsibility.

but how you know Bajans do these crimes? You from the CIA? Usually these does be CIA connected, I hear.

18. David, Discussion on race next wednesday? lol! Lets discuss the state being White in Barbados, Yuh know like CNN’s black in America. Art you want to drive this discussion? up to you we might be talking race next wednesday so why not start it of?

19. @Mongoose
    “a Caribbean that is rapidly disappearing.”

I wonder why? My guess, corruption… and I don’t have to tell you who that start with. The amount of white people I hear say, “You can get what you want in Barbados so long as you have the money” tells the tale… and they always aim to get what they want regardless of law. They only lucky not to be in dodds, but that is where they should be. Instead, Like Sir Allen Stanford, they are big boys in high circles with status.

20. @ROK
    Sorry to hear that you are so ill, ROKie.
    Just remember to make sure & take your medication carefully hear. Only recently I was reading a report that Barbados seems to be suffering an upsurge in degeneration of the mental health of its population, especially those in your age bracket. So take it easy now, my good friend.

21. ROK:
    “Your greenbacks? Bajans don’t vote for foreign investors, neither do we eat them.”

You sure about this?

Do we all exist on locally grown ground provisions?

Do we shun the B’s, Emerald City, KFC, Chefette and the fancy restaurants.

If you really want the revolution to start you have to be food and water independent.

This may take some time in our US fixated society, but you go for it now you visionaries you.

Blaze that trail.

I just can’t see it happening until there is no food imported….period.

Then basic priorities will determine who eats ..and who starves, could be money, party, status or colour.

That’s when the SHTF and we know exactly where we are as a nation.

Will we fragment into petty feuding groupings or tackle the issues as a united nation state with pride and industry?

This is the coming test of our character.

22. @Mongoose

cyah you tail with them arguments man. What sugar industry what? We don’t need foreign investment to develop. We only have to wisely employ the skills that we turn out of schools and universities.

We have competent businessmen and scholars that could drive that development but the white banks don’t want to lend we the money, they would prefer lend to white investors… it can’t be so forever, except by the time we gain the wealth Barbados may have already be sold out.

23. @Straight Talk

I agree with you 100%. I know what we up against. They will never allow us to be independent, we have to consciously become independent.

I also understand the feuding but if in the revolution we throw off the slave legacy, that feuding by-product will not arise because we will be aware of it. The goal would be to toss out all that the white man brought; greed, etc. and the effects of these.

24. @ robin hood
    “Sorry to hear that you are so ill, ROKie.
    Just remember to make sure & take your medication carefully hear. ”

Yes, another one of your myths. I don’t take medication. I want to point you to a book by one of your own. A white medical researcher who wrote the book, “Death by Medicine”, showing how the medical system is killing our people under the control of the big drug companies.

Well talk about mental problems? I remember when a lot of our people were coming back here from Britain mad as hell. They doing a bit better now… but that was the effect of the white country on them. You are therefore perfectly in your right to make mock sport at Barbados and if I was you, I would do the same too. After all, you know how stupid black people look in all this? When you sneeze we does catch pneumonia.

25. @Mongoose

“And just so you don’t think I am going all soft on the race issue, ROK, it has been my personal experience that blacks are just as guilty of keeping blacks down.”

Where you really come from? When you see a black man behaving so, you seeing your ancestors man. That is how they treated us and made us behave towards one another. Something that will take a few more generations to get rid of. That is why we have to face up to the legacy of slavery. Nothing the white man will help us with anyhow because the white man struggles real hard to keep us down and in slavery.

26. Scene @ the QEH:-

Patient with snow white beard lying very still on guerney in A&E.

Doc turns to next of kin and says….”I’m sorry but this man is brain dead.Let the records show that this man, ROK, refused to take his medication for his poor mental state”.
    QED.

27. Furthermore, the Doc says, he will need a blood transfusion from a “white” person to recover

28. @David

“Some say the views about race being expressed on BU is a narrow reflection of our society.”

I suppose the views of Clement Payne were narrow too and that when Errol Barrow called Reagan a cowboy that was narrow too.

TM Blackette has a good point there about subterranean. You see, the narrow leads to the subterranean.

29. @robin hood

Is that an active imagination or derangement you have there. I notice you signed the note QED, what does that mean? Quite Exceptionally Deranged? Heard that name before. Nice to meet you.

30. @robin hood

“Furthermore, the Doc says, he will need a blood transfusion from a “white” person to recover..”

ROK from spirit to earth: Let me die please. Heaven is a bliss. No blood necessary here.

31. AH

Man you like bare sport. You know Bonny warn you about dem train stations. Be careful. I want to see you in them not under them; you don’t have a degree in maintenance.

32. ROK, tell me something…….who will provide the massive amount of money to bring the sugar cane industry into the 21st century? Our government? Think again. The coffers nearly empty despite what Marion says. It will come from foreign investment or it won’t happen at all. You live in some kind of dreamworld.

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Ready Done // August 7, 2009 at 4:17 pm
    1. Yes: it takes a lot of effort to destroy an economy. 2. No way: I can’t see how you help by starving your population.

34. To suggest that a black person has no control over their own behavior and that they are mirroring the worst of white behavior is to insult your own people, ROK. I have to ask where in hell you come from that you would belittle and insult all black people by saying they are mere robots with no ability to think for themselves and learn from from the mistakes of history. Do you just make it up as you go along?

35. @ Mongoose-6:33pm

Fantastic observation. I was thinking the same thing of him myself.

36. @art
    “Yes, I do: if you search through my postings on this site you’ll see that I have spent some time trying to show BU up for racist ways, and to try to stop it.”

How brave! Sorry you were not around 400 years ago to do the same with the white men who enslaved us. Then you would not be having to do it among black people today.

However, you trying to stop the discussion on race will only keep it pent up and I think we past the stage of keeping things pent up.

So who send you? Who you working for? You upholding the status quo that allows your white people to keep corrupting our people and you there doing damage control?

Well! Well! Well! You see the kind of conspiracy these people coming with? You here on this blog trying to make people feel that you is a white do-gooder while all the time you got another agenda to keep we in slavery?

37. @Mongoose

“To suggest that a black person has no control over their own behavior and that they are mirroring the worst of white behavior is to insult your own people, ROK.”

Yes you would want me to consider it an insult to suit your own ends. To me it is a reality. You is who calling them foolish and yes all that is the effect.

I can stand up to it because our people know not what they do and that bible that you concoct in Italy is a good lot to do with it. We are 280,000 people. Hitler did it to millions of his own and he was one man; what to say about the millions of white men doing it to blacks.

You provide a constant bombardment and you have an interest in defending the white man, that is the only reason you could so interpret and turn around what I said. That is also part of the ploy; to discredit those who are bold enough to speak out. You teach we how to hate discredited people and ostracise them from their own society for speaking the truth that you don’t want to hear.

Why you so interested in whether or not I insult my own? I am free to do that. What is your problem? You ain’t done sufficient persecution for the day? Greed! With this kind of bombardment the blows to the head keeps our people giddy. How can I blame them? Everybody is not a Mohammed Ali.

38. @robin hood
    “Fantastic observation. I was thinking the same thing of him myself.”

You would! It comes with your character.

39. ROK, you do a huge disservice to your own people by preaching this never ending negativity. You are forming a psychological cement ceiling in the minds of your own people by constantly telling them that they will never achieve, never know the fruits of their labour, crushing their hopes and dreams, telling them that no matter how hard they try and no matter how much they educate themselves that they will never achieve success. It is almost like a Stockholm Syndrome thing that you are doing. If you drill it into peoples heads often enough that they are blighted from birth and that no opportunity exists for them, they will come to believe it, whether it is true or not. I will admit that opportunities are limited on a small island that has 280,000 people and I will admit that there are those who have been entrenched for a while. There is nothing that is insurmountable once you cast off the ghosts that you allow to haunt you. Barbados gained it’s independence 43 yrs. ago and you have an all black government. Why, in 43 years, have they not empowered their people? Why do characters like you continue to put up barriers for the empowerment of black people?

40. @mongoose
    “who will provide the massive amount of money to bring the sugar cane industry into the 21st century?”

You mean the money that you print? I tell you already that we will soon be printing our own. US$100 for one of ours when we print. For us, that would only be a couple of dollars.

What sugar cane industry? We too small for that now. We need to pursue self sufficiency. What we will do is produce a few tons and sell at the highest price on the market to get foreign exchange.

41. Well ROK, you send that idea over to Thompie and see how far it goes. Your brain is addled fuh truth.

42. @ Mongoose

“ROK, you do a huge disservice to your own people by preaching this never ending negativity.”

You don’t have anything better to do? Did the white man do a disservice to his own by perpetrating the cruelty of slavery? You feel any shame about it?

You calling it negativity don’t make it negative. That is your interpretation that suits your own ends. Again, another ploy to discredit. You doing your best to stop the vent but the pressure coming through that vent is beyond you.

43. @mongoose

You think Thompie foolish? our waters run subterranean.

44. @ mongoose
    “If you drill it into peoples heads often enough that they are blighted from birth and that no opportunity exists for them, they will come to believe it, whether it is true or not.”

You understand what you said there? That is what the white man has been doing to us all this time. Telling we how bad black is like blackmail and black friday and black magic; as apposed to how good white is like white house, white jesus, white magic and white lie. All lie is lie.

That is why as you say, we so foolish because we believe it. That is why we don’t have the capacity to think as you say because the basis of the logic start on the wrong facts.

You are keeping up the tradition with your patronising and now that I saying what you have been saying for so long you would seek to divide by tying to twist your mouth to discredit me… but mine is an observation, not even a criticism.

45. @mongoose

“by constantly telling them that they will never achieve, never know the fruits of their labour, crushing their hopes and dreams, telling them that no matter how hard they try and no matter how much they educate themselves that they will never achieve success.”

Your white people have been telling them that for years skipper; before I was a lad. I come along and find it. You know how many white teachers I hear tell black students that they going to cut cane for the rest of their lives? And you know how many black teachers I hear repeat it to their own?

One thing for sure, I never said that so you are misrepresenting me, which I wish you would not. I have actually been saying the opposite and telling our people that we can be independent and that we can print our own currency; and that we have sufficient brilliant people coming out of schools and university that all we have to do is employ them to develop Barbados.

How come you miss all of that and you focussed on something I never said? That was a product of your own imagination? Dangerous and wicked fella you are.

46. @mongoose
    “I will admit that opportunities are limited on a small island that has 280,000 people and I will admit that there are those who have been entrenched for a while.”

See how you coming down? Yes, there are opportunities for all but not under the system you spouting so you are perfectly correct.

The decisive nature of your tone; “I will admit that opportunities are limited on a small island.” So who will be left out? Who is preaching that there is no hope for some? And does that not throw everything and everybody in a scramble to be among the fortunate?

47. Terence Blackett-Always refreshing to read your response and I am hoping to update myself on some of those bedtimes readings you recommend.

48. @ mongoose
    “Why do characters like you continue to put up barriers for the empowerment of black people?”

Why do you keep stating untruths about me? What would it take to empower black people? You understand empowerment? I cannot stop the empowerment of people that is a myth.

Well let me say that when people become empowered they get up and take their lives and their nation under their control and don’t wait for foreign investment.

An empowered people would have thrown off the yoke of their past by coming face to face with it. They would not allow people like you to succeed with divisive tactics like this; you trying to make people feel that I am a barrier to their development.

You would like to make an example of me so that others would not follow in my path. You would like to keep us in bondage and not think for ourselves.

You would like to believe that you could so misrepresent what I said so as to discredit me by putting forward what I did not say and leaving out everything I have said.

I put forward a positive outlook for Black people and you pull out all that you could to make it negative and say I said that.

You need mental medical attention because only a madman could get it so wrong.

49. @ROK

Seems to me that you are mostly a one-man band blowing your own trumpet and not truly representative of the other “blacks” in Barbados. For that I am sincerely grateful. I would not like to believe that there are many other “black” people in Barbados who truly share your beliefs. You seem to be a very disturbed person mentally and I would hope that your Creator would have mercy on your tormented soul.

You seem, for whatever reasons best know to yourself, along with a few others on this blog to have a fixation about treatment meted out to your ancestors hundreds of years ago. Now, there are other “races” or rather cultures that suffered perhaps worse than what they suffered and yet these other people seem to have consolidated their strengths rebuilt their bases and moved on and progressed. Why, as you seem to believe, but not necessarily true, have your people not done the same?

50. ROK
    Boy I spent de entire day down River Bay wid de fam’lee ya. Very picturesque.

JackAss Bowman, Mongoose, J, Art and Robin HOod why de ra^*hole wunna don’t stop humbuggin’ dis blog an return to Sherwood Forest an’ continue wid wunna bullistic ways? Who sen an call wunna doe?F*^king trailer trash.