Solutions Barbados will be fielding one candidate this election season. Mr Robert Toussaint has been nominated to represent the constituency of Christ Church South.

I have known Robert for over 30 years and he is a founding member of Solutions Barbados.  For the past 30 years, Robert has owned and managed a profitable juice manufacturing company that employed several people. He learnt to exceed his customers’ expectations by managing his company’s resources to a high standard.

If Robert is elected, Solutions Barbados will likely be judged on his performance.  Therefore, he will have the party’s undivided support. The attached 4-page flyer outlines his: (i) management approach, (ii) plans for the constituency and (iii) national advocacy positions.

This will be a constituency-based campaign, not a national one.  We plan to be in the Christ Church South constituency trying to convince voters to consider Robert as their parliamentary representative one household at a time.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering, Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

22 responses to “Solutions Barbados in the Race”

1. This man is NOT a real candidate. He’s not in any race. He might have convinced himself that he’s running but is not in any race.

These pretenses by socalled third parties have only served certain purposes.

These might include a level of public, political masturbation.

They ignore the nature of an entrenched duopoly.

Such people are most certainly either Bees or Dees at heart.

Such are the politics that any real “Solutions” would have long been stolen by the duopoly. We are therefore left to conclude that the gap between these products of a certain brain space and the gravamen of the real problems the country faces is so wide that the socalled solutions were always nonesense.

2. No disrespect to the Solutions Barbados candidate but as stated this last minute disorganized approach to courting a constituency serves to reinforce public perception.

3. What negative and defeatist attitudes, …and from those of us who have ourselves offered nothing to address the malaise…

The business of ‘courting a constituency’ is needed for those who are looking for support to achieve their OWN PERSONAL materialistic ambitions…
    This defines our traditional politicians, …and explains why we are up shit street.

Those who have GENUINE talents to offer DO NOT GO AROUND BEGGING BRASS BOWLS to pull them out of the gutter and to allow them to help them to succeed.

Bushie CERTAINLY will not walk around in any slum – begging any bums or ‘parros’ to vote to allow him, so that he can share the blessings that he enjoys from his adopted parent…
    Not for shiirt!!
    If they ASKed, however….!

@ Pacha
    Your solution is what again…?
    Guillotines and mushrooms…?
    Come with a plan and Bushie will DEFINITELY vote for you – based on your level of intelligence alone – and despite your instinctively aggressive nature.

What a state!!!

4. Rule Dance Hall Avatar

Now is a good time for Independents and Third Parties to enter the arena as the duopoly (that was offering identical products) is becoming a monopoly with one firms domination. There should be more independents such as Tricia and Ralph in the race.

Types of Competition
    Politics should be an oligopoly with perfect competition (many firms offering identical products) or monopolistic competition (many firms offering differentiated products).

What is a Deathbed Mentality?
    It is a new way of looking at your life, a more empowering paradigm if you will, that reminds you that today could be your last, so savour it to the fullest.
    This may sound morbid thinking about death, but it is a philosophy about life.
    When you adopt a deathbed mentality you live every day as if it was your last. Think about how productive and excited you will be to live every moment to the maximum. The deathbed question has the power to change your life.

5. @Bush Tea

How is your approach practical?

6. “How is your approach practical?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Just look at ANY truly successful organization …and see how their leaders are recruited, prepared and regularly appraised…

One actually has to be quite dumb to select one’s leadership by a popularity competition taken among the clueless…
    …but brass bowls and brains can be mutually exclusive.

7. Will it be OK if 32 people come from Saint Vincent to help candidates to canvas in Barbados, buying breakfasts and pizzas for prospective voters? You did it to Saint Vincent, you sent a load of left-wing scumbags to interfere in our elections last November.

8. In the days of dumbed down propaganda slopaganda Beige Bajan Politicians should be copying the Septic TanKKKs of AmeriKKKa KAKKA

World Leaders memes Trolling Lesser World Leaders
    Is Mia like a Donald meme or is like Ralph a Donald meme when it comes to childish AI gibberish nonsense are Barbadian Citizens as stupid as the Yanks

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2026/jan/29/the-slopaganda-era-10-ai-images-posted-by-the-white-house-and-what-they-teach-us

9. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

“BETTER THE DEVIL YOU KNOW” HAS BEEN THE ASININE MAXIM OF MANY WHO HAVE HARDLY HAD ANY TRULY LIVED EXPERIENCE OUTSIDE THE FLATTENED OR PINOCCHIO NOSE ON THEIR FACES – BELIEVING THAT THROWING A CAT AMONGST THE #Yardfowls WOULD BE DANGEROUS & EVEN DISINGENUOUS

#ThankYouDrPhillips 4 “TESTING” the #BloodyWaters of the “NILE RIVER”!!!

IF MOSES COULD PART THE RED SEA WITH A “rod” THAT WOULD EVENTUALLY BUD – YOUR FAITH IS SAYING – “NOTHING BEATS A TRIAL BUT FAILURE OR SUCCESS” – EITHER WAY, IF #Solutions GETS AN “E”, IT WILL NOT* BE 4 A LACK OF EFFORT*!!!

#HeresMySocialTheoryArgument

(IF) is a presupposition which suggest that the “BIG PICTURE” in Bajan “POLYTRICKS” of either “DEMOCRACY” or “DUOPOLY” is where a “2-PARTY-SYSTEM” is often defended as providing stability & clear accountability, as (VOTERS KNOW WHO 2 BLAME).

However, critics argue it creates an “ELECTORAL CARTEL” that “STIFLES INNOVATION”, “SUPPRESSES DISSENT”, & reduces politics to a “BINARY CHOICE” that fails to reflect the complexity of any modern society!!!

In many democracies, the “2-PARTY-SYSTEM” is not an “ORGANIC” outcome of voter preference, but a “STRUCTURAL” inevitability of the electoral “RULES”…

Applying the duopoly concept 2 politics highlights how “COMPETITION can be restricted even in democratic systems, leading to outcomes that may favor institutional stability at the expense of “REPRESENTATION”, “INNOVATION”, & “PUBLIC TRUST”…

For genuine multi-party democracy to flourish, the rules of competition must change – otherwise, the duopoly will remain a self-perpetuating feature of the political marketplace!!!

In short, 3rd parties aren’t difficult to penetrate because they’re unpopular; they’re difficult to penetrate because the rules of the game, written by the [2] major parties, are designed to keep them out. Changing this requires electoral system reform, not just charismatic 3d-party candidates, as was the case with “DR RICHIE HAYNES’ NDP!!!

The difference was that Dr. Richie Haynes, served as the “LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION” from 1989 – 1991, after forming the “NATIONAL DEMOCRATIC PARTY” (NDP). He had previously held the role of Minister of Finance from 1986 – 1987. Dr. Haynes was instrumental in advocating for the “OFFICIAL PARDON” of individuals convicted in connection with the “1937 RIOTS”, a resolution he introduced in the House of Assembly in the mid-1990s. The “PARDON” was later enacted by the ruling BLP GOV*!!!

The difficulty for 3rd parties in a 2-party “so-called democracy” (often called a 2-party system or #DuvergerianEquilibrium) is not an “ACCIDENT”, but the result of deeply embedded structural, psychological, & institutional factors that reinforce the dominance of the [2] major parties…

This phenomenon is explained by Duverger’s Law in political science, which states that single-member district plurality (FIRST-PAST-THE-POST) electoral systems tend to favour a 2-party system…

This #DuvergerianEquilibrium refers to this concept which stems from Duverger’s Law, proposed by French political scientist #MauriceDuverger, who posits that plurality voting systems structurally favour a 2-party system due to strategic voting behaviour…

The structural & institutional barriers in an electoral system suggest that First-Past-the-Post (FPTP), means that #SwedishPopBandAbba is “CORRECT” in the “Winner-Takes-It-All”!!!

In most elections (like in the U.S., UK, & many Caribbean nations, like Barbados), the candidate with the most votes in a district wins everything; all other votes count for nothing!!!

SPOLIER ALERT: Voting for a 3rd party can “SPLIT” the vote of the major party closest to it ideologically, thereby helping the opposing major party win. This creates a strategic disincentive for voters…

Strategic (TACTICAL) voting means “VOTERS” often “VOTE AGAINST” rather than “VOTE FOR.” They choose the “LESSER EVIL” among the [2] viable contenders to prevent their least-favorite major party from winning!!!

Many believe a vote for a 3rd party is symbolic at best, useless at worst!!!

The 2-party system becomes self-reinforcing through generations of political “SOCIALIZATION” where people grow up identifying as “B” or “D”, “Democrat” or “Republican” (or “Labour” vs. “Conservative” in the UK), making 3rd parties feel unnatural, as the “ALPHABET AGENCIES” in cahoots with the MSM have done a number on the “MASSES” in brainwashing them into believing falsehoods!!!

These are some of the reasons why 3rd parties are seen as unable to win, they struggle to attract top-tier candidates, donors, & volunteers, creating a self-fulfilling prophecy…

The UK Liberal Democrats in 2010, #CoalitionBuilding with the Conservative Party formed an alliance with one of the major parties in exchange for policy concessions…

Today, after[16] years in the political public square, the “LIBDEMS” are making great strides along with the “GREENS” in breaking the stranglehold of the “DUOPOLY” consensus of the #PoLIEticalNarrative!!!

NOTHING VENTURED – NOTHING GAINED

#HereEndsTodaysEngagement

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

Empriss
    Send them up. One good turn deserves another!!
    The Bajan economy can only benefit from an influx of Vincee dollars?
    Though if you plan to promote other than “left wing” causes, you may face a challenge. Would have to be “third party candidates”. But they’ll appreciate any help they can get.
    Remember, corn beef and sodabix is passe.

11. Weeee hope the DLP does not win. To hear this shiiite preaching by bible reading assholes for five years would be too much.

Every meeting is too laced with shiiite Christianity.

Politics and religion never converge unless a supreme wickedness is afoot.

This is the same supine DLP when last in office was clueless, cowardice. Would have preferred to see the country go to hell instead of dealing with the IMF loan sharks.

Of course, when they fail again this time, god forbid and they get, they will be preaching some shiiiite that it was the will of some foolish god in the sky somewhere to explain their inevitable failures. We can see failure in their very viscera.

Foolish people like these, including Bushie, are well worthy of the hottest fires within the hell that they have been threatening mankind with for millennia.

Christians like Bushie are just like the racist albinos. For his bible can justify all manner war, murder, Armageddon and so on but nobody else can use science to show that humans have created the means and circumstances to achieve said ends.

Ends, absent of any airy fairy interventions by somebody from in the clouds.

12. The secret essence of humour is…

… timing

@ David there is a glitch in the wordpress
    where comments disappear like time is reversed
    and then reappear again 30-60 mins later

@ Pacha A comment flashed past and disappeared where you were bemoaning DLP’s Bible Bashing politics

I generated a random biblical text for you*

what shall I tell Pacha about the Bible
    The excerpt represents the core issue or deciding factor on which you must meditate, and is drawn from King James Bible:

loud instruments unto the LORD.

CH2 30:22 And Hezekiah spake comfortably unto all the Levites that taught the good knowledge of the LORD: and they did eat throughout the feast seven days, offering peace offerings, and making confession to the LORD God of their fathers.

CH2 30:23 And the whole assembly took counsel to keep other seven days: and they kept other seven days with gladness.

CH2 30:24 For Hezekiah king of Judah did give to the congregation a thousand bullocks and seven thousand sheep; and the princes gave to the congregation a thousand bullocks and ten thousand sheep: and a great number of priests sanctified themselves.

(*) bible readings for fun @facade.com

https://www.facade.com/bibliomancy/personal/?UID=98639&Name=Anonymous&Query=what+shall+I+tell+Pacha+about+the+Bible&Deck=bible&Reading=single

13. The DLP seems to have had an encouraging meeting last night, for them.

As supporters of the present leader for his present job, we remain unconvinced that their proposals are viable or would change anything on the ground.

Improvements in measures of social well being can never come about in the absence of positive underlying drivers. For which economy might be the most important.

Indeed, their proposals seem to be constructed within an environment absent of what’s happening in the wider world. Barbados has been deemed to be a small, open economy when it suits certain narratives, not as a given for all narratives.

It’s all well and good to deify Barrow, local customs and poetically wax about cultural norms. But keeping the hospital well- supplied, public officers satisfied, debt burdens declining, VAT reduced etc, do not make contact with the decay which has been festering at the centre over many administrations.

These would include the deepening inability to earn enough foreign currencies, the reluctance to reduce importation, the absence of additional industries, etc.

In this regards the conclusion that the DLP’s manifesto proposals, at best, border at the margins and will fail to make essential contact with structural maladies appears clear.

14. Political parties rarely offer ‘relevant’ policies because they are unshackled from the realities of the government. That said there is a body of work post independence to suggest that neither party has an appetite for instituting deep changes to fiscal, monetary and social policy. In the meantime there is a rush to precious metals as large players continue to dump the greenback and US treasuries.

15. Fully agreed!

Personally, this writer is getting tired of a lifetime of more of the same kinds of rechtorical tendencies.

We should have expected that Mottley would have been more agitated by the externalities you mentioned.

Coupled with known attempts to open Thorne’s way of thinking to these forces, being ignored.

So with a monster at thecountry’s gate, both leaders have determined that this current national conversation should be a local food fight that willfully ignores all else to the country’s detriment.

Personally, this represents a great sadness.

16. LOL @ Pacha
    Boss, you going feel like such a BB when you are forced to eat all the jobby that you are disgorging on BU about the bible, christians, …and about stinking Bushie…

You may have a weak case against Bushie however, since he is just a lucky BB who happened to be in the right place at the right time……but you had better have a lotta orange juice or salt to help yuh wash down the rest of jobby…

Start collecting…
    Yuh ain’t got much time hear..?

17. Bushie

And within those circumstances, Pacha shall bow to the majesty of a Bush man and seek forgiveness.

Even though the reverse has never been true!

18. Why it is necessary for Barbadian Politicians to Preach Bible stuff..

Black / African / Slaves used to pray to their ancestors and enlightened masters,
    but this practiced was not allowed and they had to pray to Jesus and Holy Spirit

Allegedly them black folks practiced dark arts and the Vampires of the West had to be invited into a home in order to prey and devour peoples souls (like Trump and Trindad)

19. @ Pacha
    “Bushie …And within those circumstances, Pacha shall bow to the majesty of a Bush man and seek forgiveness.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Actually you won’t!
    1 – You will be MUCH too busy weeping, wailing, and gnashing your ‘chompers’..
    2 – There will be no need to seek Bushie’s forgiveness – as no offense has been taken.
    3 – Karma is relentless…
    So much so, that the CREATOR HIMSELF was subjected to its dictates – that “the wages of brassbowlery is DEATH”.

With such a precedent, what is the likelihood of there being ANY OTHER WAY to salvation?

What a project!

20. We will probably see some tweaks after the budget later this year. Might explain timing of the election.

MONEY EASE

Mottley outlines cost of living relief package

By Antoinette Connell antoinetteconnell@nationnews. com

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley last night unleashed a rash of money policies affecting from the elderly to the unborn.

Among them is that Barbadians earning less than $50 000 will not pay any income tax and, in addition, her Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is promising a cost of living cash credit of $100 a month to pensioners, those on welfare and others receiving the special needs grant, while the eligibility for the reverse tax credit will be increased to people earning between $25 000 and $35 000 ($2 916 a month). They have been promised $750.

For Barbadians earning up to $25 000 a year ($2 080 a month) the reverse tax credit will go to $1 700, which is $400 more.

“And that is to help make up for all of the cost of living,” Mottley told a cheering crowd of supporters who packed into the Golden Square Freedom Park in Bridgetown from as early as 7 p.m. for the Manifesto Launch meeting.

Those earning $4 000 a month and paying a calculated $2 875 in taxes will now get back all that money at the end of year, Mottley said, while saying that those who earned more than $50 000 would be dealt with in the Budget should the BLP form the Government after the February 11 poll.

The Prime Minister said that Government would establish the Barbados Republic Child Wealth Fund giving, a one-time birthright investment of $5 000 to every child born on or after November 30, 2021, the date the country became a republic. The money will be held in a trust for them until they reach between 18 and 25 years and will be compounded over time, with Mottley noting that anyone could top up the investment to be used for education, housing and health.

Mottley made that and other promises to the cheers of thousands of red-clad supporters wearing from hats to T-shirts covering the still relatively new but symbolic park.

Her power point presentation ahead of the handing out of hard copies of the much-clamored for manifesto revealed that for the pensioners, the taxable allowance for pensions will move from $50 000 to $75 000.

Mottley also announced a $5 million annual fund to be established to support churches and faith-based organisations delivering impactful programmes to keep the youth from the streets as she conceded they needed help to fight crime in the country.

“The police have been doing a good job fighting crime but we need to avoid and avert the crime and for that I need not just the police, I need the whole nation of Barbados to work together,” she said.

Mottley made her appearance on the stage around 10:15 p.m. to a rejig of last year’s Tune of the Crop Tek Charge, remade to pay tribute to Mottley who, along with her team, spent five minutes soaking in the adoration of the supporters in an electrictrifying atmosphere.

In the way of physical projects, Mottley spoke of plans for a desalination plant in St Lucy that would provide ready access to water for residents and businesses in the north. Consumers, she said, would pay their bills but the Barbados Water Authority and Barbadians would have a chance to invest in the project.

“We have costed out the proposals and we have put them here in the manifesto because that is what a responsible government does,” Mottley stated.

She said the proposals announced last night would cost just over $142.2 million, a year with the highest cost going to the cost of living cash credit and the returns to the pensioners.

The reverse cash credit would be due in November/ December she said.

“This is not an idle promise or reckless behaviour,” Mottley told those on hand during her more than 75-minute speech.

“We will continue to do a review. Not a pensioner, not a welfare recipient will walk away without something from the Labour Party victory” Mottley said, ending with the promise that the manifesto was a contract with the people of this country.

21. Wait!
    Should NOT a party who has been in power for the last eight years be talking about their ACCOMPLISHMENTS, and then sharing SPECIFIC plans for continued development in the next 5 years?

Promises shiite!
    – A promised desal plant for St Lucy? – Is the water no longer ’safe’ to drink?
    – Now we will ALL work WITH the police against crime? – no more phone calls then…?
    – $5 million to ‘keep Bajan youths off the streets’ – BUT $230 Million fund for FOREIGN businesses?
    -Promises of alms for Bajans to cover basics, while MILLIONS are gifted to foreigners and LOCAL Airbnb operators are crushed?

Steupsss!

What a place!
    But then again, …Americans voted for Trump too…

22. @Bush Tea

You don’t get it. There is a formula for success for a political party to win. It does not necessarily mean it is driven by what is best for the people. Go figure.