reparationsBarbados Underground (BU) is thankful for all the complaining we hear about our blog because it means we have freedom of speech. Thanks to Nancie .J Carmody who made the following quote famous: “I am thankful for all the complaining I hear about our government because it means we have freedom of speech.”

The evergreen race debate like immigration, homosexuality and topics of this tenor which BU is driven to blog about will always evoke passion. It is the nature of the beast. How can we debate the issue of race in a manner which is acceptable given the strong views likely to be provoked? The fact that we have people from different backgrounds whether influenced by race, education, socialization among other factors will make the race dialogue interesting.

BU finds it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist. It is our belief the word racist is often used interchangeable for ‘bigot’ or ‘prejudice’ by some. The BU household is always willing to learn from the BU family and welcomes feedback on our position.

We have demonstrated from our inception a strong commitment to freedom of speech. It is the reason why BU was given birth. As the world continues to follow the the furore over a black Harvard professor’s arrest here is what a contrite President Obama had to say “race is still a troubling aspect of our society.” Observers suggest Obama has had to retreat from his earlier condemnation of the Cambridge police officer concerning the stupid act of arresting a man who was understandably upset in the situation he found himself. If he did not USA may have become split down the middle on the matter of race. There was also the incident last month of White and Black groups clashing over how a young Black man was allegedly killed by two White men who had the charges dropped. The most embarrassing report of how race continues to boil in the USA is the portrayal of President Obama as a joker.

There we have it; it is one of the most liberal countries in the world which is often stated to be a melting pot. The issue of race remains topical. How can Barbados be immune from the issues associated with race?

Barbados Underground will not cower when we have to deal with the hard issues. Not too long ago BU was labeled xenophobic when we introduced concerns about the fallout from an open-door  immigration policy. Our concerns have now taken on a national, regional and global cry.

Black people were used as slaves by countries termed ‘developed’ to build out successful economies. In stark contrast most Black governed countries survive in a global realm which makes it difficult to achieve economic prosperity as a result of the geopolitical gymnastics at play.

How can it be changed? Will it ever be changed? Change is usually achieved through advocacy. History places Blacks at a disadvantage because of elaborate systems which have been created. It will take a long time for Blacks to penetrate the existing structures. In the meantime the 300 year plus emotional scares can only be soothed with verbal and monetary redress.

641 responses to “The Race Card”

1. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

David, I am not inclined to favour the feedback/rating feature. It seems narcisstic, in the sense that one can vote for one’s self. I have not tried to see if that is something that can be done once only on several times. Unless you can filter out any or many votes cast by someone for themself then I would think it verges on useless.

2. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH/David
    “De darkest PM we had (Sandiford) did not last very long.”[I am not at all sure that the darkness of Sir Lloyd was relevant to his tenure. As he readies himself to be Ambassador to China, I take that as a sign that he has many good and useful qualities. However, if the general feeling amongst Barbadians is that darkness is a negative attribute, I wonder what that would give you as possible good representatives of the people, if not something that was racist.

On the wider matter of ethnicity, several commentators are well known for their antipathy to Jamaicans and sometimes have little hesitation to be profane. I think of Sir Lloyd and his Jamaican wife, and also Owen Arthur and his first wife, also Jamaican. I do not know how many Barbadians are related to either or even both sides of each family and I wonder whether they feel the same offence as I do to have their relatives treated like dirt.

3. ROK // August 8, 2009 at 9:22 am

1 Votes

@Bimbro
    “You do a little “houscleaning” David? Good thing I copy, pasted and saved the relevant ones?”

I see that you are bent on accusing BU of preventing free speech and now trying to prove it… but you went to great lengths to save posts. Each post comes directly to my inbox so I don’t have to cut and paste anything to save contributions to BU blog.

Hi ROK, that was n’t me bro!! In got d time or d inclination!!

4. Rump, u lef my Rihanna alone!! I done tell wunna many times dat it’s only d girl voice I intrestid in so I dunno bout offering any cows for her!! Of course, it’s much simpler just to buy her records!! mind u, if I had to, yes, yuh right, I would offer a whole lotta cows for her boa!! mind u, jus to hear her sing, dat’s all!!

laaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!!!

5. Her Mum looks kinda nice too, but she so elusive, I’ve hardly ever seen a proper pic of her!!

6. @ ROK my friend to lay blame for what is happening to present day blacks on slavery is ok, but to blame present day whites is ludacris, pure madness! Present day whites working the same power structure that was handed down to them from the days of slavery, you trying to tell me that up to now Blacks can build their own “power structure”. We already got a template. When i say template i mean government, education system, media etc…. all that is necessary it to make these things effective to help blacks, and stick to it, even after they pull their money out and leave us to fend for ourselves.

Only ones i blame for the problems blacks find themselves in are the blacks themselves. Its about time we wake up and “hold our own”. we all ready know the whites not going to help us get better, we got to do it ourselves, like Cuba.

7. @Rump
    “You interpret my thoughts and writings to suit your own vision, not as I write these.”

Now tell me how you want me to interpret them? How did you interpret mine? To suit your own ends, right?

“But some here, wish to adjust the definition to suit their interpretation of the facts.”

Just like you doing? You just don’t like the truth. It sets off something in you? Well there is a reason for that. Race!

“You have placed boundaries on what you see as views, then fitting everbody ‘ neatly’ as you see them, into each parameter. Clearly this suits your interpretation of the world.”

Et tu Brute! So exactly what am I guilty of?

“This is the real enemy, hatred and bigotry, because it allows the elites to dominate, by just what you yourself have mentioned i.e. divide and rule. And yet, you yourself cannot or refuse to see this.”

I do? I am the first to admit that these were the inventions of the white man and he used them successfully on us. If there is a person committing a crime, what would you prefer? Treat each victim as they fall? Or deal with the criminal?

“As an example into how hatred and bigotry can lead to negative reinforcement, take September 11. That act, regardless of how one assesses the source, which is a separate discussion, created an environment for racial prfiling and targeting of the Arab race.”

Hold on skipper. These people think and do some things you would not believe. 911 was the work of the CIA, (that is how cruel they are) so that they could profile Arabs and invade them for their oil. What enforcement what? Come again.

“That type of thinking is incredibly dangerous, incredibly destructive. Indeed, everything you write, seems to attack individual thought and approach.”

All of that is your interpretation of it. That is how it comes across to you. The truth hurts. To me I am just repeating like a parrot all that I have heard, seen and know about relations between white and black. See who is penning whom in whose parameters and defining boundaries.

Let me tell you something man. It is you who can’t take it. It is you who feel that I walking about with anger in me. Look at my pic. That is what I do mostly, smile and laugh; and I am sure to some that smile is now nauseating.

I would walk out my door now and if I saw a white man getting rob by blacks I would stop them; may even get my tail lick-in.

If any stranger stopped me and asked a question I would answer, black, yellow, blue or green.

If God gave me a gun and told me to start shooting white people my hand would get instant arthritis and my fingers would straighten out, never to curl again.

You know nothing about me. I work alongside a white man for whom I have the greatest respect and who take pains to call me sir out of respect (not necessarily for me but for people) and don’t feel no way about speaking his mind or calling a spade a spade.

I am sure that if I had to stand in front of him and spout all I spouting here on this blog he would say to me, well you have your reasons, I can’t argue with you, and you know what? He knows me so well that he would never feel threatened or guilty about anything I say concerning the slave experience of my ancestors; although that may not hold true for all the blacks he meets.

I know they are genuine individuals but if you think that is going to stop me from addressing the perpetrators, you wrong. If anybody interprets me as saying kill them, kill them, it would only be those who for some reason, have the fear and really don’t care and will not even try to understand.

When it is said that the white man committed atrocities against my ancestors, whites are so guilty and insensitive that they would in the next breath say, you can’t expect to blame the whites who living for that. Yet they benefit and continue to benefit from it. What hypocrisy!

8. @reaady done
    “@ ROK my friend to lay blame for what is happening to present day blacks on slavery is ok, but to blame present day whites is ludacris, pure madness!”

Same thing I just said. If it is madness, let them give up and refuse all the benefits that comes with being white.

“Only ones i blame for the problems blacks find themselves in are the blacks themselves.”

You see what I mean? The white man is now totally blameless. LOL!

9. I am unable to read any of the new comments on this thread. Anyone else? Or is it just me?

10. @Ready-Done

There is the other side.

Blacks may hold political power in Barbados but some may argue it is at the behest of the holders of the economic power i.e White and Others. The dichotomous situation may exist that in order to hold on to political power those who have the economic power and therefore control the lifeblood of our economy must be in agreement.

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Blacks may hold political power in Barbados but some may argue it is at the behest of the holders of the economic power i.e White and Others. The dichotomous situation may exist that in order to hold on to political power those who have the economic power and therefore control the lifeblood of our economy must be in agreement.//A good point to introduce/reintroduce Lowdown Hoad’s arguments from the Nation article?

12. LIB

Since you mentioned prominent Bajans males who married Jamaicans, I remember in my salad days I asked an old teacher who went to Mona (his name is a household name in Barbados today) why so many well known Bajans were married to Jamaicans and he responded “Because the Bajan girls think that there are in a nunnery”.

Not casting aspersions on anyone, just reporting what was said.

13. Sarge, do u mean d Jamaican gals had little education an doan know wha a nunnery is?

14. Here is what I wrote a while back about political and economic power in Barbados and the constructs of Black and White people.

Up to now I have not come up with a better explanation of the status quo.

I was responding to a comment LivinginBarbados (LIB) made in response to one Adrian Hinds had earlier made.

LIB had earlier said:

My take (and Adrian wants me to expand on it) is that key economic relations did not change much after independence, even though the political structure did. But political power without economic power is not very strong. (You see this more clearly when you consider the alliances that governments need to make with other agents, such as unions and business.)

I responded thusly.

This caught my eye and made me think about the oft repeated refrain to the effect that after independence, “”Blacks” got political power but “Whites” kept economic power.”

I think political power was shared among Bajans of all colours when Adult Suffrage was instituted in the early 1950’s long before Independence.

I think the politicians who appeared “Black” had been indoctrinating people into seeing the colour difference leading up to Adult Suffrage and used it to eliminate their competition and give themselves a clear advantage.

In my current way of thinking, (it can change, and it may by the end of the day), political power was taken by politicians who separated the “Blacks” from the “Whites” ….. in people’s minds.

The “Blacks” as “defined” by politicians, never got it … and are yet to get it!!

Economic power is completely different from political power and it is worth comparing the two.

It is not possible to imagine economic success like it is possible to imagine the “Black” “White” divide.

Economic success is real and tangible.

Agricultural output cannot be imagined, it has to be produced, and tourist arrivals and money spent either happen or don’t happen.

Here is an example of sharing economic power which in some ways is very similar to the sharing of political power.

C&W has economic power and it has it because of generations of profits in business which among other things led to the acquisition of assets like technology and knowledge and the institiution of a monopoly on the business of telecommunications in Barbados.

Deregulation is like Adult Suffrage.

So after deregulation, along comes Digicel and other companies which want to also develop Economic power and share in the spoils of war.

… and make no mistake, it is war, they all have to fight to get it, C&W is not going to just give it up.

The sides are clearly defined, however the combatants are neither “Black” nor “White”.

It will be a longterm struggle and only the fit will survive.

That is not to say that the combatants won’t use any advantage, real or imaginary, at their disposal, but there will always be a riposte.

In business, how would anyone set about changing “White” to “Black” or vice versa?

Why would anyone even want to?

These are imagined constructs.

Deregulation has in a sense levelled the playing field but the advantage must remain with C&W if only because of its extended experience in the business through which, whether we like it or not, it has built up its ability to hold on to that power and defend its position.

Economic power, unlike political power, belongs to those who have the ability and resources to do what those who do not have those abilities or resources (particularly resources) cannot do.

That is not to say that those without cannot enter the fray and learn the business and beat the established combatant, but it is a fight, and it is uneven, as level as the playing field may be.

Political power was given to and taken by politicians.

Before Adult Suffrage, that power was held by those who were qualified to vote by virtue of what they owned and it was exercised by those who they elected to exercise it, and it was exercised in their interest.

We are still to get a majority of politicians who qualify for their position on merit alone and really understand the physical processes which make this island tick.

There was no longterm struggle politically comparable to that which is required to change the balance economically.

The “Blacks”, if they really exist and are not just the creation of past politicians, are yet to get that power.

It is being held, “in trust” by the politicians.

Political power in Barbados belongs to no one colour if such a single colour really exists, it belongs to the people of Barbados and they exercise it through election of representatives who exercise that power on their behalf.

At the moment these are my first thoughts where Economic and Political Power are concerned.

15. @ Sargeant LOL

16. Rumplestilskin
    Ya got ma cryin’.
    If the Kenyan willing to sell 40 goats and 20 cows for Chelsea. I could imagine wha’ would happen if he evva meet Bonny. Boy, all he livestock gawn ta ‘rass. Trust me. Na joke.

wah you laffin at?

17. @ John very insiting views about economic power I would like to add my piece.

Money has no real value other than that assign to it by the general society, as untrue as that may sound, it isn’t, take for example, at the printing press the money it cost to print a $100 dollar bill cant be much different from the cost of printing a $2 bill, yet in society you can exchange 50 $2 bills for one single $100 bill.

Money is a tool the white man uses very effectively, simply put, the white man’s money works for him, in stark contrast the black man works for money.

That is a major difference in how economic power is gained/maintained or never achieved. Whites learn about the correct way to use money from very young it is instilled by the older generations into the younger ones.

Blacks on the other had are keep in the dark on how to use money effectively and consequently never gain true economic stability, I always suggest teaching best money practices to children as early a 13 years, effective money handling is the way forward for the black race. Who controls the money controls the society.

18. @ ROK keep up the good work.

Untold Stories about Somalia Pirates – European ships dump Nuclear Waste into Somalia Ocean.

The Western world have seen this as a great opportunity to steal the country’s food supply and dump our nuclear waste in their seas…..

Keep reading: http://www.audacityofhypocrisy.com/2009/04/12/untold-stories-about-somalia-pirates-european-ships-dump-nuclear-waste-into-somalia-ocean/

19. Ready Done
    Not good to generalize my friend. Same argument can be attributed to both parties.

ROK,
    Forgot to mention yesterday, that the ‘outin’ would’ve been a LOT gooder were you there. Ya teasa. mwahhhhhhh.

20. @Wow

All I can say is, Wow!

21. @ROK
    This extract is taken from a sister blog here in Barbados about the Archcot episode. I copied it just to show you an example of how one clique of your people is so “mindful”(?) of another one. Remember this is a “black” government, with “black” figures in authority in a predominantly “black” country. This is how that poor “black” family was treated by those in authority as compared with how the event would have been treated in other predominantly “white” countries with “white” (your terminology) authorities in place.

Have a good read of the extract now:-
    “Had these deaths occurred in New Jersey, London, Montreal, Paris or Tokyo – a Coroner’s inquest would have been conducted according to the Rule of Law.

Here in Barbados?

The rule of law is whatever the ruling government and elites say it is – and if five people died because of the actions or inactions of members of the political or business elites, their lives and deaths are worth nothing.” End of copy.

22. Bonny

What would you have done with that husband of yours? You planning a heart attack for that man?

23. The talk about the different ethnic groups in Barbados living in harmony is nothing but idle talk.

Since the time the Blue Box Cart Kadooment Band that has all white revellers started participating in our annual Kadooment Day Street Jump Up it had always occupied the first position until the Walk Holy Band came along and joined the parade.The Blue Box Cart Band mandated the National Cultural Foundation that if the Foundation wanted the band to participate in the parade it must occupy the first position.Robin Hood or any other white person who have connections with that band are welcome to come and dispute what I am posting.

The Blue Box Cart Band stated that it wanted to get to Spring Garden early so that its revellers would not have to mix with the local Black population.

It is also a noted fact the the local rat catcher/mango seller Indian community in Barbados does not participate in any social events in Barbados in any meaningful way.

Recently the last administration tried to have an all inclusive ecumenical Independence Church Service to celebrate our Independence.That initiative was only partially successful in the first year but subsequent years it fell apart.The local Hindus did not want to associate with the Muslims and the Muslims did not want to associate with the Christians and the Christians did not want to associate with the African Based religions.

Robin Hood that is that integration you are talking about in Barbados?

Robin Hood,Themis,Monngoose,Jack the human rat Bowman and the rest could talk all the nonsense about Blacks practising racism because some of us have the courage to stand and challenge the system.

Black People must recognize the political,economic,financial & religious systems of this world are not operating in our best interest and it is going to to our benefit that we seek to destroy those systems and create other systems that would benefit us.

24. @negroman

“Black People must recognize the political,economic,financial & religious systems of this world are not operating in our best interest and it is going to to our benefit that we seek to destroy those systems and create other systems that would benefit us.”

Going by your quote copied above, how do you suggest that we make the system work for everyone in Barbados.
    Remember we all have to exist and share this 166 sq.ml. rock.

25. @ negroman

As regards the blue box band or any other band you would be seeking information from the wrong person by asking me anything about them.
    I don”t associate with such.

26. Ready Done

Many people make the mistake of thinking that slaves only became free because of emancipation in 1834/8.

This is simply not true.

A male slave who I believe was one of my ancestors was given freedom in 1721, more than century before emancipation.

Another slave who I know was an ancestor got hers around 1802, a generation before emancipation.

This was true of many slaves who were routinely being given their freedom as early as the 1600’s.

Think for a moment of the position in which they found themselves.

After years of being provided for, suddenly they had to provide for themselves ….. and in a society in which they are yet to integrate.

I think it can take generations for that integration to happen so it is absolutely logical, and natural, that a freed slave is going to start at a severe disadvantage in the “race” to integrate into the society of the day.

But like anything else a human puts his/her mind to, it can be done.

To constantly harp on the “black man’s way” and the “white man’s way” is to ignore the strides at integration so many of our ancestors have made.

Some, like that ancestor of mine, freed in 1721 had a huge headstart.

One outward sign of that integration is becoming a member of the church and appearing in the church records as being baptised and married.

Another is taking a surname and appearing in the secular records as doing deeds and making wills.

I think that the “black” “white” issue has little to do with skin colour and more to do with how people think and it is linked to the extent to which that integration has occurred.

That is why some apparently “black” people will be labelled by other apparently “black” people as “thinking they are white”.

They learnt the ways of the “white” man and have long since integrated into the society setup by the “white” man.

… but the society is no longer “white”…. at least in colour!!!

The few people who could vote just prior to adult suffrage were of all colours because by then, all colours owned the required acreage of land or had a rental income above a certain value.

They met the criteria to be voters.

That criteria had nothing to do with skin colour, only to do with land ownership and rental income.

Adult suffrage removed those criteria and made it so that one man/woman had one vote, based only on age, … and of course nationality.

……. and remember once upon a time women could not vote, …. regardless of colour …… but that is a whole nedda story!!

27. @Themis-12:28pm

I think your problem has to do with not using the “comments” feature at the bottom of the page.

If you wish to see older/newer comments as the csae may be you will have to make the appropriate selection there at the bottom of page. 🙂

28. Bimbro // August 8, 2009 at 11:27 am

ROK // August 8, 2009 at 9:22 am

1 Votes

@Bimbro
    “You do a little “houscleaning” David? Good thing I copy, pasted and saved the relevant ones?”

I see that you are bent on accusing BU of preventing free speech and now trying to prove it… but you went to great lengths to save posts. Each post comes directly to my inbox so I don’t have to cut and paste anything to save contributions to BU blog.

It wus n’t me!!

29. Thanks, RH. I see that there has been a change.

30. @Themis

🙂 Cool, bro.

31. @ John August 8, 2009 at 4:09pm

“This was true of many slaves who were routinely being given their freedom as early as the 1600’s”.

I am not sure I can completely agree with you on the above, are you speaking of Barbados? The word “routinely” bothers me a bit.

“In 1636, officials passed a law declaring all slaves brought into Barbados, whether African or Amerindian were to be enslaved for life. It was later extended to include their off springs. At this time they were only 22 free coloured persons on the island”.

32. livinginbarbados // August 8, 2009 at 11:20 am

@AH/David
    “De darkest PM we had (Sandiford) did not last very long.”[I am not at all sure that the darkness of Sir Lloyd was relevant to his tenure. As he readies himself to be Ambassador to China, I take that as a sign that he has many good and useful qualities. However, if the general feeling amongst Barbadians is that darkness is a negative attribute, I wonder what that would give you as possible good representatives of the people, if not something that was racist.

————————————————-

I do not fully understand what you mean? But here goes:

I did not intend to suggest that Sandi’s skin color and his lost had anything to do with each other. I was merely stating facts base on your earlier statements. However who becomes PM has nothing to do with Bajan electors.

33. John wrote “Many people make the mistake of thinking that slaves only became free because of emancipation in 1834/8.

This is simply not true.”

What an inane observation. John has been trying ever so long to “whitewash” (pun intended) the condition of Black people and the behavior of Whites in Barbados of long ago. Without knowing anything about him, my speculation is that he is tortured soul who does not know which side of the fence he should be on.

34. @ John, two things, in Barbados working class, white is synonymous with rich so i use the two interchangeably sorry if i caused any misunderstandings.

Freedom for a few slaves is not freedom, when we speak of freedom we means the point when no one is in chains or subject to another persons will and have to do what ‘massa’says or be severely punished.

Slavery is an atrocity, that is why we use the date of emancipation because it was a time when no one was locked up in chains

35. this thing posting before i finish what i was doing, either that or i real sleepy, i going to bed now doe.

36. ROK
    It was just me and de grans at River Bay my honey-comb. (and you on my mind)

Robin Hood,
    You seem like a new person today. No more hostility and ready to sit and discuss matters in a civilized way. I getting scared now. Somebody ‘clip you wings’? Anyway, all is well.

Negroman,
    Ya got me cryin’ as usual. You in easy a’ tall.

Dah Blue Cart band all seem to be half drunk before they reach de Stadium anyway. And who in half drunk, pissin’ drunk. Boy, Kadooment day is when every sight thought to be impossible, is exposed. De good, bad, ugly and rediculous but all in good spirit or ‘spirits’.
    Me an ROK jumpin nex year wid Thursday 4000 not Wednesday 2000, so you cud look fa we. Aightttttttttt?

37. Negroman wrote at 3:50 p.m. o August 8th “Since the time the Blue Box Cart Kadooment Band that has all white revellers started participating in our annual Kadooment Day Street Jump Up it had always occupied the first position until the Walk Holy Band came along and joined the parade.The Blue Box Cart Band mandated the National Cultural Foundation that if the Foundation wanted the band to participate in the parade it must occupy the first position.”

Can you explain to us how the Walk Holy Band was able to oust the Blue Boxcart Band from 1st place?

38. J,
    You hear the name? Walk Holy. Christ related hence that position. Christ must be first and foremost in everything we do, or should be. For the Believers, that is.
    Can I get an ‘Amen’? Hallelujah.

39. @ bonny peppa
    Ah, sweets, If I had wings then I would be an “angel”. Ha, ha. Somehow, I just don’t think I’m ready for that yet! Still got nuf repenting to do!
    your friend,
    Bruno. 🙂

40. Yardbroom // August 8, 2009 at 5:27 pm

“In 1636, officials passed a law declaring all slaves brought into Barbados, whether African or Amerindian were to be enslaved for life. It was later extended to include their off springs. At this time they were only 22 free coloured persons on the island”.

I find this utterly amazing.

Barbados was settled in 1626/7 depending on which calendar you use.

Supposedly the first ship brought 80 persons from England and 10 slaves taken from a Portuguese (?) ship on the way.

It was my understanding that Slaves from Africa started to be brought here from the late 1640’s onwards after tobacco and cotton had failed as export crops.

What is your source?

I am amazed that in 1636 there would have been 22 free coloured persons in Barbados.

This would be a huge number given the small population at the time.

I was using the records of baptism, marriage and wills of Saunders and found it was in the late 1600’s when Slaves, Free Negroes and Free Mulattoes start appearing in small but not insignificant (in my estimation) numbers.

My recollection of these records is that Wills and deeds start from about 1641 and the earliest Baptisms on record are for Ch.Ch. from March 1637.

The parishes for which Baptisms exist prior to 1700 are only Ch. Ch., St. Philip, St. Michael and St. James and I know of only two early censuses, one in 1679 and the other in 1715.

With regards to the passage of a law in 1636 I would point out that this predates what is the recognised date for the first appearance of Parliament (1639) in Barbados by 3 years.

Maybe it was the Governor who passed this law but I would ask for your source as when I read Dunn … “Sugar and Slaves”, he says that:

“the big problem with the island slave laws is that the earliest ones are mostly missing. Tantalisingly, the Barbados Slave Act of 1661 speaks of the “many good lawes and ordinances” already issued by the Barbadians on this suject. We do not know what these good laws said”

Dunn wrote his book in 1972 so may be these laws were found. If so, please let me know of the source.

41. ROK // August 8, 2009 at 9:22 am

1 Votes

@Bimbro

ROK, that was n’t me!! I’m still waiting – nearly 24 hours later!!

42. Yardbroom // August 8, 2009 at 5:27 pm

@ John August 8, 2009 at 4:09pm

“This was true of many slaves who were routinely being given their freedom as early as the 1600’s”.

I am not sure I can completely agree with you on the above, are you speaking of Barbados? The word “routinely” bothers me a bit.

I will change routinely to occasionally so as not to bother you.

Here is what Dunn has to say about the St. Michael’s Parish Register …… and I add that I don’t agree with everything I see in his book!!

“In Bridgetown the community of Christian Negroes was tiny. During an 18 year span from 1670 to 1687 only thirty four mulattoes and Negroes were baptised, married or buried in St. Michael’s Church, Bridgetown. Twelve of these blacks belonged to two families of free Negroes.”

He goes on with a specific case:

“John Cornsoe was a free Negro who entered the church when already an adult in 1676. Nine years later he married a free Negro woman, Anne Williams and baptised his two daughters, aged about nine and four, who were probably not Anne’s children. Seven months after their nuptials, John and Anne presented a new infant daughter for baptism.”

He goes on:

“The most intriguing early entry in the St. Michael parish register is a marriage celebrated on December 4 1685, between “Peter Perkins, a negro and Jane Long, a white woman””.

He goes on:

“I have seen no other evidence that the island colonists tolerated mixed marriages, especially between black men and white women”

My comment is … check the 1715 census for St. Philip!!

43. John, having said that, for all the relevance it has, can I guh back tuh saying my prayers now?!!

44. I bored!!

45. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Matthew Farley’s foray into matters racial in today’s Sunday Sun Candid Corner (“Settling the race question”). It’s ironic that the radio call-in discussion was triggered by a caller’s suggestion to learn Chinese. It’s interesting too that one point of rebuttal was a counter call to learn an African language–not even that may dominate in west Africa (the birth place of many ancestors), but one that is dominant in East Africa. A bit too much TV drove that suggestion? I did not hear all the program but I venture that no one suggested Esperanto.

Given world size and economic power, Chinese in addition to English would cover a lot.

My preference would have been to simply commit to teaching well at least one foreign language of a neighbouring country with who the country has imporant interests (French or Spanish, probably). That can often offer good enough basis to learn another language, especially from the same group.

Some languages, though useful are very difficult for English speakers to learn (Chinese, Russian, Arabic, for example) not least because of their different alphabets, but also because of the different though structure that goes with the languages.

As for Mr. Farley’s contention that “We co-exist peacefully, and social harmony…is still based on our unexplained understanding of some ground rules” I would say that this may be true on the surface. But, like with many marriages that are on the rocks, we often do not see the real turbulence and disagreement until there is some catastrophe or some rupture. There are often visible warning signs that all is not well but they are often ignored in the mistaken belief that all is indeed well.

46. LIB

As for Mr. Farley’s contention that “We co-exist peacefully, and social harmony…is still based on our unexplained understanding of some ground rules” I would say that this may be true on the surface. But, like with many marriages that are on the rocks, we often do not see the real turbulence and disagreement until there is some catastrophe or some rupture. There are often visible warning signs that all is not well but they are often ignored in the mistaken belief that all is indeed well.

I’ll check out Matthew Farley but would say that I think a catastrophe would do the opposite and drive people together.

If a child in an unhappy marriage goes astray or gets seriously ill the likely effect it will have on the parents is they will come together for the good of the child because the child is bigger than the marriage.

A hurricane hitting Barbados (God forbid) would produce a cameraderie and make people work together because Barbados is bigger than any imagined grievances based on colour.

… and that’s what make life so interesting.

People drift apart when life is too easy and a combined response to a threat is not needed.

47. @Bimbro

Sorry if I accsued you wrongfully.

@ Bimbro // August 9, 2009 at 2:20 am

I bored!!

hahahahahahahahaha, you belligerent Bruno you. All the time you there enjoying the licks. Man you is a sadist; hahahahahahahah. LOL!

You are a good sport though. I was watching some old fights; Ali vs Frazer, George Foremen vs Frazer and then Ali vs Foreman. Most amazing.

Frazer knocked down Ali and then Ali pulverise he but could not get him knocked down. Then Foreman beat Frazer, knocking him down seven times in the fight and then knocking him out. At one time the licks was so hot that Frazer hoppped, skipped and run out of the corner onto the mat, lol.

Another cuff raised Frazer off the ground and on to the floor… But then Ali came back and knocked out Foreman in the 5th round. Well! Well! Well! If you like boxing you will love this. Everything in this one video. Hope it reduces your boredom:

48. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“I’ll check out Matthew Farley but would say that I think a catastrophe would do the opposite and drive people together.”[I said “some catastrophe or some rupture” and should have amplified “…within the relationship” after “catastrophe”.

Your child of a broken marriage analogy is interesting. We may have to discuss who are the parents and who are the children in the race issue. Children of broken marriages are often used as pawns by one side or other. You can look at recent reports of murders/assaults that revolve around things like custody/visiting rights. Some parents will abrogate responsibilities, which might well be the source of dissatisfaction in a relatioship.

Catastrophes outside the relationship usually expose the competition for resources and some raw human emotions. Taking Hollywood renditions with a pinch of salt we do not see only the best of human behaviour after catastrophes (looting, raping, etc., sit alongside stories of good neighbourliness). Dog eat dog? Man eat dog? Dog eat man? Even man eat man?

49. LIB

I would say that this may be true on the surface. But, like with many marriages that are on the rocks, we often do not see the real turbulence and disagreement until there is some catastrophe or some rupture. There are often visible warning signs that all is not well but they are often ignored in the mistaken belief that all is indeed well.
    Spoken like someone who is having a conversion a la Saul on the Road to Damascus.

50. I remember from the radio commentary ” a left and a right to Frazier, ….. a left and a right to Frazier and Frazier’s down”.

I think it was the first round.

Foreman was unstoppable in his day and it was only Ali’s Rope a Dope tactics that won the day.

He exhausted Foreman by avoiding him and then moved in for the kill on a spent Foreman.

This delaying tactic is also known as Fabian after the Roman General Quintus Fabius Maximus who defeated the great Carthaginian general, Hannibal.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fabian_strategy

Watching Ali’s employment of the strategy brings home the point that sometimes a strength is a weakness and no task is hopeless unless you give up …. or don’t use your brain.

In the end however, the cost on Ali was high, but back in the 70’s he was a hero, which is what he lived for.