reparationsBarbados Underground (BU) is thankful for all the complaining we hear about our blog because it means we have freedom of speech. Thanks to Nancie .J Carmody who made the following quote famous: “I am thankful for all the complaining I hear about our government because it means we have freedom of speech.”

The evergreen race debate like immigration, homosexuality and topics of this tenor which BU is driven to blog about will always evoke passion. It is the nature of the beast. How can we debate the issue of race in a manner which is acceptable given the strong views likely to be provoked? The fact that we have people from different backgrounds whether influenced by race, education, socialization among other factors will make the race dialogue interesting.

BU finds it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist. It is our belief the word racist is often used interchangeable for ‘bigot’ or ‘prejudice’ by some. The BU household is always willing to learn from the BU family and welcomes feedback on our position.

We have demonstrated from our inception a strong commitment to freedom of speech. It is the reason why BU was given birth. As the world continues to follow the the furore over a black Harvard professor’s arrest here is what a contrite President Obama had to say “race is still a troubling aspect of our society.” Observers suggest Obama has had to retreat from his earlier condemnation of the Cambridge police officer concerning the stupid act of arresting a man who was understandably upset in the situation he found himself. If he did not USA may have become split down the middle on the matter of race. There was also the incident last month of White and Black groups clashing over how a young Black man was allegedly killed by two White men who had the charges dropped. The most embarrassing report of how race continues to boil in the USA is the portrayal of President Obama as a joker.

There we have it; it is one of the most liberal countries in the world which is often stated to be a melting pot. The issue of race remains topical. How can Barbados be immune from the issues associated with race?

Barbados Underground will not cower when we have to deal with the hard issues. Not too long ago BU was labeled xenophobic when we introduced concerns about the fallout from an open-door  immigration policy. Our concerns have now taken on a national, regional and global cry.

Black people were used as slaves by countries termed ‘developed’ to build out successful economies. In stark contrast most Black governed countries survive in a global realm which makes it difficult to achieve economic prosperity as a result of the geopolitical gymnastics at play.

How can it be changed? Will it ever be changed? Change is usually achieved through advocacy. History places Blacks at a disadvantage because of elaborate systems which have been created. It will take a long time for Blacks to penetrate the existing structures. In the meantime the 300 year plus emotional scares can only be soothed with verbal and monetary redress.

641 responses to “The Race Card”

1. You assert that you find it difficult for a black person to be accused of being racist. And then you go on to say that the word is interchangeable with bigot or prejudice (sic) by some.
    I have heard this argument before, though only from black men, and it is utterly ridiculous.

If you were to tell me that the majority of black people are powerless to exclude those of other races from benefits which they might seek, I may be prepared to accept that. But do not believe for one second that other races have a monoply on bigotry or prejudice, from which blacks are free.

If you need a monument (proof), with apologies to Sir Christopher Wren, you only have to look around you.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“BU finds it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist”

Amen.

3. @ CC, since you agree with that dictum, does this mean that you find it difficult for the accusation to be made or that you find it difficult that a Black person could ever be racist?

4. Indeed Carson. Thats why I am never moved when the label is thrown my way. What i believe is more important than the accusations thrown my way.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I find it difficult for the accusation to be made.

As a people who has suffered and continues to suffer at the hands of all races, I consider it comical when some people call black people racists. We are shut out of almost everything under the sun and as soon as we raise our voices in protest we are branded racists.

For example, in some countries you can not even deny that the “holocaust” took place. It is a criminal offence. that is something that happened once I think. Yet black people have been suffering for hundreds of years and are still suffering but you dare not say anything about it or you are racists.

6. “BU finds it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist”

@BU, CCC, AH

Please explain what you mean. How are you defining the term “racist”?

I think I know, but I want to be sure.

7. @ CCC

I just read you post.

So when the poster who calls him or herself “negroman” on this blog describes other races in ways that are obviously derogatory (mango-sellers, rat-catchers, stinking Europeans, white t[h]rash, etc etc), is he being racist in your opinion or not?

RN

8. Check the definition of racism.

Themis check what we wrote and compare it with what you wrote. Based on our premise that a Black person can hardly be labelled racist we don’t deny that same Black person may exhibit bigotry or prejudice persons.

9. @David

Yes, I know the Wiki definition.

But it might be helpful as the writer of this piece to clarify for us all exactly what you perceive to be the distinctions between bigotry, prejudice and racism.

Incidentally, what is your opinion of “negroman”‘s comments about other races that I cite above?

Would you call them bigoted? Prejudiced? Racist?

Or none of the above…?

10. Negroman is entitled to his view, if you disagree feel free to engage him, he always seems willing. The definitions of the words at question can be accessed with a Google.

11. David, now you confuse me. You did not say that a Black person could hardly be labelled racist, you wrote that you find it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist. There is a subtle difference. I am not even in agreement with the restated proposition, which seems to infer similarly that racism is an attribute only of certain races; itself a racist statement.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

RN

You would have to ask negroman.

13. Themis do you agree racism has its root in the belief that one race of people may feel superior to another and and exude such by establishing structures which lead to an institutionalization of said behaviours?

14. The establishment of institutional structures is merely ONE manifestation of racism, David. But it can also be made manifest by comments, behaviour, practices and expressions of beliefs.

I would say that the root of racism lies in the generalisation/belief that the colour of a persons skin is wholly indicative of his character. And that’s not peculiar to any one race.

15. @ David

1. Your definition (for Themis) of what you understand by the term “racism” is now clear, and in my opinion viable.

2. In your opinion “negroman” is entitled to his views.

Ok. Noted.

So if a white poster described black people as “niggers” on this blog would you also say that they were “entitled to their opinion”?

@CCC

“RN

You would have to ask negroman. ”

I should ask “negroman” about YOUR opinion?

Clearly you can’t mean that, so I’m noting that you are reluctant to speak your mind openly here.

RN

16. Dear David:

You, BU and Negroman are all certainly, racist, bigoted, prejudiced, xenophobic and very likely sexist, and ageist too.

And yes indeed black men (and black women) can be racist, prejudiced bigoted, sexist, ageist and xenophobic.

It just means that black people are fully human and like all races subject to human folly and are also possessed of all human virtues.

17. So, I wonder what makes a “black” person think that he has the unique status of having been enslaved. There are many instances of different races being enslaved. For example, the British people were at one time slaves to the Romans just as the Jewish people were at one time. I could go on to cite other examples but these would suffice for now.
    By the way, who can say for a surety that there are any pure black or, for that matter, pure white Bajans at present. Many so called “black”Bajans need only look a few generations back to find a “white” ancestor. Likewise the so-called “white” Bajan only need to do the same to find a “black” ancestor. Seems to me like this is just another case of “pot calling kettle……….” etc,etc.

18. On the surface the root of racism is skin deep. But we can’t be superficial when dealing with an issue that ensures the superficial superiority, existence and survival of a particular group of people to the detriment of another particular group of people.

The greatest fear of the victimiser is that he is recessive, whereas the victim is dominant and that he runs a high risk of being annihilated from this planet. Hence he employs any and all means necessary to propagate here in this realm.

The victimiser knows that he was not created equally with the victim and THAT, my frienenemies, has been the bane of his existence.

19. @J,

It is not true to state that BU is racist. We are both stalwart members of BU and we subscribe to no such thing!

20. I sympathise with Dave’s basic theory of why blacks can’t be racist, however, even he acknowledges the word has adopted an increased dimension including black on black hatred. For example, how would u describe the genocide in Rwanda, other than racism at its worst, so we ARE CAPABLE of racism!!

However, as most BLACK people are aware, racism is n’t an ogre which NORMALLY darkens a black man’s door whereas, it’s an EVER CONSTANT PRESENCE in the case of white and asian people!!

In relation to Ms Carmody, I’m unable to do better than to quote the lady herself:

“Thanks to Nancie .J Carmody who made the following quote famous: I am thankful for all the complaining I hear about our government because it means we have freedom of speech.”

a castigation which BFP would do well to learn from!!

21. Random Name Generator Avatar
    Random Name Generator

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/racism

1. a belief or doctrine that inherent differences among the various human races determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one’s own race is superior and has the right to rule others.

2. a policy, system of government, etc., based upon or fostering such a doctrine; discrimination.

3. hatred or intolerance of another race or other races.

I believe that is a good definition of racism. and I agree with all three uses, David and others may cherry pick 1 and 2 so that views of black racists can be seen as something else, but I work with all three definitions.

22. I am amazed that “some” intelligent men/women have allowed themselves to be drawn into a “personal spat” at whose root is the “ego” of an individual.

Let us start at the beginning and follow the sequence of events: Negroman referred to someone as “white trash”. That person responded by saying if you call me or my family “white trash” there will be trouble. As the debate between them progressed and insults flew. Negroman referred to the Canadian lady as white trash… an injudicious remark.

This individual saw his opportunity and broadened the debate, blaming David, Barbados Underground and other bloggers for Negroman’s remarks – even those who decided not to massage his ego and comment – and said most of us were subliterate and lacking in basic grammar skills.

“One” individual because of his ego and inability to withstand the robust cut and thrust of a blog; has pegged his hat on a cause and in so doing has done no good to the memory a decent Canadian lady, for whom most Barbadians have great sympathy.

What I find particularly interesting is that someone he deemed subliterate and lacking in basic grammar was able to communicate so effectively that they could wound him to the “core”…to my mind that is “effective Communication”.

Did it prove anything? yes, you do not have to be a Phd in the English language to be effective. A lesson I hope he has learned.

I will not give the other issues legs – at this time – perhaps on another day, as I will not dance to his tune.

PS: This incident is part of a “broader agenda” and it is to do with the success of Barbados Underground, whenever a group of people particularly if some of them are black – or express certain views – make a success of anything, there are those who think it should not happen…I will leave the issue at that.

23. What wrong with believing that one’s race is the “best in the world in everything” or that other races may be the “worst in the world in everything”?

Racism becomes problematic when race is used as a filter to systematically deny or permit a person or a group what is their human rights particularly at the expense of other races. It is not a “problem” if one only believes that Black people cannot be successful in business but it is a problem when a Black person is denied access to loans and other resources needed to start or maintain a business operation based on nothing other than that person’s race.

Who cares what Negroman thinks about the Canadian lady (notably that he has never met)? It is more important that Barbadians (including Negroman) believe (and ensure) that all persons be able to move about safely and not be harassed nor threatened nor abused; that the Police respond equally and effectively to any threat to anyone and where an unfortunate act has occurred that the full weight of the law be brought equally to the perpetrators.

24. PS: This incident is part of a “broader agenda” and it is to do with the success of Barbados Underground, whenever a group of people particularly if some of them are black – or express certain views – make a success of anything, there are those who think it should not happen…I will leave the issue at that.

The above quote delivered by Yardbroom maybe more at the crux of the prevailing issue. It coincides with email requests to us in the last week soliciting our website stats and other superficial reasons to engage us. We have already stated that BU will not discuss our website traffic at this time suffice to say that we continue to grow especially by referrals i.e. BU family members emailing our blogs to friends.

BU encourages those who have a problem with Negroman’s comments to engage him, we have read apologies from Negroman before when he felt he understood he had crushed the sensibilities of fellow commenters. The fixation with pulling down BU by a few must be seen as an agenda being unraveled in certain quarters.

25. Rumplestilskin Avatar

Editor states’BU finds it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist. It is our belief the word racist is often used interchangeable for ‘bigot’ or ‘prejudice’ by some.’

The definition we are referred to states ‘Although the term racism usually denotes race-based prejudice, violence, discrimination, or oppression, the term can also have varying and hotly contested definitions’

Thus, I am at a loss to understand how the definition can lead to the assertion per the article.

The issue is one of a person presenting an argument of prejudice against another person, based on their ethnicity alone.

The race of the perpetrator is irrelevant in ascribing qualification for the definition, it is the act itself that qualifies whether the person fits within the definition.

Any statement that a person of particular ethnicity is ‘exempt’ is itself judging the situation before definition or qualifying the definition itself.

This is illogical and in making an onjective decision cannot be a reasoned approach.

By reasoned approach, each case is judged on its merits and the facts presented, then an assessment of whether the situation fits the definition, will determine the outcome.

That is to me the ‘inherent’ quality of the definition.

That part now addressed, I now move to the practical.

How can we argue, that either the conflict between the Hutu and Tootsie was not based in racism? The strife and butchering was based pourely on ethnicity.

Secondly, how can we argue that di Amin’s actions against the Indian community in Uganda, was not racially based i.e. not racist?

Again, the stripping of businesses and deportation was purely racially based.

As an example, of white on white racism, we have the Bosnian War, based on ethnic friction between the Bosnian and Serbian communities of the former Yugoslavia.

These are but examples of racist actions and authorities and must be taken as such.

The history of the actions, is another matter. Certainly, on racist regime may replace another, we merely go from the dominance of one ethnic group, to that of another.

But the reality does not determine the definition, the definition merely describes the reality.

Certainly, the African race, along with other races through time, suffered under the evil of slavery, based on their ethnicity.

This was a racist action and a racist regime.

Nevertheless, it does not determine that a black person, leader or administration cannot have racist policies.

The same way, Jewish people suffered based on their ethnicity, this does not mean that they themselves are absolved from acting in a proper manner with regard to the Palestinian population?

To state that one is absolved from judgement in committing acts that could be interpreted as based on ethnicity i.e. racist is extremely dangerous and leads to an excuse for oneself not acting in a manner suitable for advancement of the individual or group, regardless of race.

The argument is preposterous.

Now, regarding the current United States situation, it is clear that there are remaining pockets and certainly those areas with strong views based on ethnicity.

To deny this would be blind and foolhardy.

I would suggest that the cosmopolitan areas i.e. cities are the most ‘civilised’ parts of North America, due to the melting pot and due to substantially higher education levels, notwithstanding that even some educated persons can nevertheless be biased and racist anyway.

Ignorance and poverty are the most fertile grounds for breeding discontent, hatred and ethnic jealousy.

In any country, in any war, this has been the leverage that sick despots used and still use to further their own agendas.

Rot lies in the use of the racist argument as a method for the advancement of select individuals and groups, using ethnic jealousy as a vehicle for manipulation and control i.e. power.

The only approach that can be ‘right’ and lead to ‘success’ is an altruistic approach based on interacting with others on their personal merits and own outlook.

There is also an inherent danger in not focusing on an altruistic approach, that the negative is introduced, which creates a forever spiralling descent into hatred.

Nevertheless, this is not the only reason for an approach to others based purely on personal attributes.

Surely, if we indeed are altruistic in nature, this should be a natural action, otherwise it indicates our own pre-judgement of others, based on personal prejudice?

If our inner selves are true and clear, we, of whatever and all ethnicities, can overcome, the evil that persists outwardly.

Peace

26. If because I believe that the black race is the best race in the world, I’m considered racist, then I accept that. While there are many areas where blacks need to improve, I know that what our ancestors endured and still the black race has not been broken, scares many other races including whites and indian. My hope is that one day, these two races just mentioned will accept blacks as equal to them and help in bringing peace to this world. Maybe I’m asking too much.

27. I will note that Rumpi is never around to introduce one of his borrowed responses as an intervention when some bajan whites decides they must throw around the racist label in here and on BFP. I will stick to my opinion that Blacks cannot be racist, certainly not in the sense and actions of those in our past and current history who it can be said to define what a racist is.

28. @Rumplestilskin

Using your reasoned approach can we suggest the issue of reparations would be a non issue?

29. Rumplestilskin Avatar

AH says ‘I will note that Rumpi is never around to introduce one of his borrowed responses ‘

? What do you mean ‘borrowed responses’?

I am not plagiarising, those are my thoughts and my words.

Bit miffed that I responded in a clear and reasoned approach, leading to a valid conclusion,rather than a vitriolic diatribe as is the norm by some here, are you?

So, you go to that age-old non-reply of ‘attack the messenger, rather than address the message’?

The usual.

My words apply to all, none preferred or excluded.

Peace

30. Rumplestilskin Avatar

AH: Accusing someone of plagiarising is very serious.

I have never resorted to personal inferences nor insults on this or any other blog.

I have always ignored comments in the negative, but an accusation of plagiarisation, requires an aplogy.

Peace

31. We must talk about reparations some day, David, especially their nature, those entitled, the payors and the manner of distribution.

32. Barbados Underground (BU) is thankful for all the complaining we hear about our blog because it means we have freedom of speech. Thanks to Nancie .J Carmody who made the following quote famous: I am thankful for all the complaining I hear about our government because it means we have freedom of speech.

…. but the complaining is on a blog, “in secret”, with identities in most cases withheld …. including my own!!

I hear nothing like what is discussed on these blogs in the general day to day interaction with people.

…. and I stopped reading the papers altogether so don’t know if they are any different from when I used to read them.

Maybe I just don’t get around enough.

To generalise about colours/races seems in itself inherently racist.

It is, however, really easy to do yourself when looking at people’s actions and use of words in life.

If you see 10 people of a particular skin colour do something, chances are you will expect the 11th to do the same.

I think generalisation is a sign of weakness because generalisation often leads to under estimation and inhibits you from enjoying the beauty of the individuality of life.

Life is kind of like cricket, play every ball on its merit.

A premeditated shot quite often gets you dismissed.

… prejudice will do the same for you in life.

I would rather compete in life against somebody who has been dumb enough to lump me with a group than somebody who recognises that I am capable of individual thought and action and treats to that individuality.

It is harder, … but far more fun.

33. Random Name Generator Avatar
    Random Name Generator

From Yardbroom
    “I am amazed that “some” intelligent men/women have allowed themselves to be drawn into a “personal spat” at whose root is the “ego” of an individual.”

That is not what I see this is about, this is about the “hatred or intolerance of another race or other races.” and calling a spade a spade, or a racist a racist.

I will challenge any racist views where ever I feel able to do so, regardless of if they are racist about white, brown black or yellow people.

That is what this issues is about, it is about combating racism to make this world a better place.

34. So I would wish my handsome Black son to marry a beautiful Black woman (like his mother) would make me a racist?

That I try where possible to give my custom to Black owned and operated businesses and professionals would make me a racist?

That all my friends are Black, that my sporting heroes are Black, that the singers, writers and other artists whose work I collect are Black would make me racist?

That I find the work and words of Marcus Garvey, Malcolm X, Errol Barrow, Aime Cesaire, Martin Luther King, Kwame Nkrumah, Nelson Mandela, Walter Rodney, Julius Nyerere, George Washington Carver particularly impressive, inspiring and , educational would make me racist?

That I feel safe and comfortable to be living next to and around Black people would make me racist?

That I celebrate the successes and triumphs of Black people the world over would make me a racist?

How can I not be a racist?

35. The american senate apologize for slavery recently. (like that means anything.)

I really think that the people that enslave blacks were afraid of the blacks hence used force and chains and cages to protect them selfs out of fear of the psychically superior black race.

But no one ever focuses on the benefits of slavery, this gets me vex every time, if we continue to focus on the bad we will stay where we are. Up to now all of these black folk with money here in Barbados calming to be African yet ent even raising a finger to help Africa.

Invest some money or something.
    Wanna is Africans or not?

36. Race, racism, racist all ugly words.
    Let us learn to love our neighbour as we love ourselves and put away these ugly words.
    It would be wrong to paint one people with the same brush. We’re all guilty of racism at some point and time.
    No one is superior to me regardless of colour, class or creed. Slavery was abolished in 1600 something and replaced with exploitation. Again both races are guilty of this too.

Yardbroom , Anonymous,
    An excellente contribution as usual. Yardbroom, you make such sound remarks on everything. I’m always impressed. Yardie, I was taught at school that there are only two races, black and white. How true is this? Because I notice Bro.Scout is referring to Indians as another race. I was never a good History student.

37. Rumplestilskin // August 6, 2009 at 8:09 am

I have never resorted to personal inferences nor insults on this or any other blog.

I have always ignored comments in the negative, but an accusation of plagiarisation, requires an aplogy.

Peace
    ————————————————–

Who the f**k are you to make demands of me?????

Did you wait for my response to your Question of what I meant by borrowed????

38. Rumplestilskin // August 6, 2009 at 8:09 am

Peace

————————————————-

none given, I said borrowed.

39. Anonymous,
    This would make you patriotic not racist in my understanding of the words. But I feel that should your son marry a beautiful white girl and they’re both happy that you would be happy also. Tell ma dah is de trute Anonymous.

40. @John

To use your cricket analogy there are times in a game when the run rate becomes almost out of reach and it calls for premeditated hitting to avoid defeat. Sometimes the approach fails, sometimes there is victory but to ignore the state of the game and play safe guarantees failure.

41. Ready Done // August 6, 2009 at 9:24 am

I really think that the people that enslave blacks were afraid of the blacks hence used force and chains and cages to protect them selfs out of fear of the psychically superior black race.

++++++++++++++++++++++

At emancipation in Barbados there were over 80,000 slaves and about 6000 slave owners.

I can’t see fear and force as the only means through which the status quo was maintained until that time.

This is plain illogical given the numbers.

There has to have been something else ….. and I think it was love, respect, tolerance, integration, miscegenation … etc. etc. …. take your pick !!

I admit that the British Army was garrisoned here from 1780 to combat the threat of the french and could have been used to instill fear and employ force.

I very much doubt it as by the 1790’s slaves were routinely being incorporated into the defence of the island in what became known as the British West Indian Regiment.

In fact, when Guadeloupe was invaded from Barbados in 1794, Barbadian slaves were part of the military resources deployed.

42. David // August 6, 2009 at 10:51 am

To use your cricket analogy there are times in a game when the run rate becomes almost out of reach and it calls for premeditated hitting to avoid defeat. Sometimes the approach fails, sometimes there is victory but to ignore the state of the game and play safe guarantees failure.

… for the majority of the time, playing each ball on its merits usually guarantees that you/your team are in a position with wickets in hand, to take risks when the stae of play demands it.

… and if your opponent has made the mistake of pigeonholing you with those who don’t take risks, …. more fool he, …. and the sweeter the victory!!

Like life, the outcome of a cricket match is determined by how you use the resources you have at your disposal …….. over the long haul ….. particularly if it is test (real) cricket (life)!!

43. Ready Done // August 6, 2009 at 9:24 am

Re: Invest in Africa..

Maybe you should read the news about what happened to our last black brother that invested in Nigeria. (Sun Power).

The reason most people avoid investing in Africa is because the social, political and judicial sectors are not stable.

It makes even the hardiest investor think twice.

Most investors prefer to invest at home, where they know the turf.

Regarding racism… if you continue reading that Wiki definition, you would see that recent studies say that there is no real “race” dividing people.

To Quote:

“The concept that discrimination can be based on “race” presupposes the existence of “race” itself. However, the US Government’s Human Genome Project has announced that the most complete mapping of human DNA to date indicates that there is no distinct genetic basis to racial types.[2] Based on this evidence, “racial characteristics” logically cannot exist either.

According to the Human Genome Project, skin color does exist as a matter of science.[2] So, that which is commonly referred to as “racism” could be more scientifically referred to as “skin color-aroused discrimination”. The term “skin color aroused discrimination” has the benefit that it is based on verifiable science, is not based on disproved notions of science, and does not perpetuate a false belief in the disproved concept of biological “race”.

44. It is amazing when Black People lose their lives tragically there is no great outpouring of grief or concern.However when it is an individual of other ethnic group particularly if that person is white the opposite is true and the whole world must stop & grief for the lost of that life.

Mrs Swarczfeld death almost shutdown Barbados.The authorities were forced to solve that crime as quickly as possible so as to satisfy the white world that the death of one of their “sacred ones” would not go unpunished.However,many Black persons were murdered in Barbados and that same compassion was not shown to their families.It seems that the authorities in Barbados are not keen on solving the murders of Black Barbadians.In that context I refer to Mrs Schwarzfeld as white trash.

White People believe that the torture and beatings along with the killing of our Black ancestors during slavery that resulted in the fear many Blacks have of the white killing beasts is still with us today.

I could be label a racist,or a bigot I am not bother.This is a racist world where Black People are at the receiving end of the racism.The sooner we accept the realities of this world and stand up as a proud race of people with a glorious history and seek to reclaim our dominant position in this world we will always be dictated by the likes of Jack the human rat Bowman,Living in Barbados and the likes of those two human scums.

45. Note: The section dealing with Racism was meant for all.

46. Quoting David: “BU finds it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist.”

Quoting Mr. Negroman: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.

Quoting David: “We have read apologies from Negroman before when he felt he understood he had crushed the sensibilities of fellow commenters.”

Quoting Mr. Negroman: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I MAKE NO APOLOGIES FOR CALLING HER THAT.”

Quoting David: “Negroman is entitled to his view.”

@ David: you can argue semantics all day about definitions that “can be accessed with a Google.” You can Google all day if need be. Nothing changes the fact that Mr. Negroman is a racist bigot, and that you are giving him a platform for his racist bigotry.

All best wishes.

47. @ Bonny Peppa August 6,2009 at
    9:28am

Thanks for your kind remarks.

“The term race or racial group refers to the categorization of human into populations or groups on the basis of various sets of heritable chracteristics. The most widely used human racial categories are based on salient visual traits ( especially ) skin colour, cranial or facial features and hair texture, and self identification.”
    Wikipedia

The broad term black or white in not always useful. The Japanese and Chinese in many cases have the same skin colour but they are eager to tell you they are not the same race.

However, many scientists ” contend that while racial categorizations may be marked by phenotypic or genotypic traits, the idea of race itself and actual divisions of persons into races or racial groups, are social constructs.”
    Wikipedia
    In essence some scientists believe all of us are just of the human race , period.

48. Quoting Mr. Negorman: “White People are afraid when some Black people have the courage & desire to challenge them.”

@ Negroman:

Bullshit. The melanin content of my epidermis precludes me from being labeled “white”. If your “challenge” is to label an elderly Canadian lady, brutally murdered in Barbados, as “white trash”, then bring it on, brother. Is that your best shot? Calling an old dead person “white trash”? That’s all you’ve got?

49. Negroman // August 6, 2009 at 11:18 am

Mrs Swarczfeld death almost shutdown Barbados.The authorities were forced to solve that crime as quickly as possible so as to satisfy the white world that the death of one of their “sacred ones” would not go unpunished.However,many Black persons were murdered in Barbados and that same compassion was not shown to their families.It seems that the authorities in Barbados are not keen on solving the murders of Black Barbadians.In that context I refer to Mrs Schwarzfeld as white trash.

++++++++++++++++++

…. of course she was also recognised as a philanthropist and our PM was on record as wanting to attract philanthropists to our shores to invest …

…. as part of our national development and all that.

I would imagine the PM would have been all over the Commissioner of Police.

… but to an extent you are right,

…. Barbadians get killed in Barbados and there is not the vigour you would expect in a society where to be your brother’s keeper was part of the agenda of the DLP in 2008.

I notice I don’t hear it said as much as I used to ….. but still it crops up now and again.

50. What about calling a black man who is 62 BOY OR NIGGER Bowman and then sell he children and he family whilst the killed his wife!

You vex!!!! Stu[se not you you aint vex for trut stupes!

It is NM’s opinion but dont make it seem as if you all did great things for us!

STUPES!