brotherskeptapartFellow blogger Weighed in the Balance has undertaken the ambitious and highly risky task of writing a book which as he terms it โ€œis a comparative analysis of the Bible and the Qur’an, and it assumes that both books are correct.ย  If God is the principal author of each book, as Christians and Muslims claim, then a comparative analysis should reveal harmony between the principal teachings of both.ย  This is what I have found.ย  Hence, Christians and Muslims have been kept apart by their religious leaders who have taught their adherents that God has rejected the other group.โ€ The topic matter was thought to be so contentious that he originally penned his book using a pseudonym.

Phillipโ€™s book is titled Brothers Kept Apart and can be purchased on Amazon.com at a reasonable price. Some members of the BU family have already demonstrated that they are students of the religions. Brother Phillips advises that the book represents 30 years of research and 7 years of critical review and he stands ready to defend his thesis.

It is no secret that the BU household has demonstrated a keen interest in the religions or what some people disparagingly refer to as dogmas. It is a fascinating subject and one which is shrouded in mystery, allegories, parables, fables and some theologyย  Religion has been used through the ages to edify and destroy manโ€™s existence. Of interest to all through the ages has been the cooption ofย  religion to pit Islam versus Christianity, East versus West by geo-political motivated groups.

For a synopsis of the book the BU family is welcomed to visit Phillips’s blog. We look forward to a fascinating discussion and take the opportunity to wish him every success.

What he has attempted demonstrates courage of conviction, a characteristic in scarce supply.

1,124 responses to “The Bible And The Qur'an, Brothers Kept Apart”

1. @ Rohan

Is it not about time that you and ROK drop this red herring about your “thousand Gods”?
    Surely you have flogged this ‘straw man’ enough – In both your cases it is largely a matter of hiding the obvious fact that neither of you have any clearly thought out beliefs of your own.

You believe in nothing, while ROK has assembled a complex hodge podge of beliefs that is MUCH more far fetched than you much maligned Christians.

Look Rohan,

Some complex entities (who are surely”Big Boss Engineers”), are responsible for the design and launch of the fantastic reality called Life.

Let us call this entity BBE, or ‘the creator’

The fact that different groups came along and ‘decided’ in their minds that 1000 Gods’ exist is not relevant to the substantive reality of our creator…. except of course to distract you and ROK.

Similarly, the fact that many Christians have not really thought through their beliefs and often have difficulty in defending their faith, may give you a feeling of intellectual superiority. However a careful analysis will show that while they may have some concepts wrong, you seemNOT to have attempted an answer of your own at all …
    – I therefore have to mark you zero. (the same score I gave MME for that attempted Calypso…..Ha ha )

What church of Busteaism what?!? LOL
    me and BAFBFP will start a little thing as soon as we can get Rohan on board…

2. Zoe

“Simple Rohan, because they DO NOT EXIST, they are Satan masquerading as these Pantheistic, Polytheistic, Animistic โ€˜falseโ€™ gods!”

So is your god. You don’t get it? Your God was one of those thousands of gods that sought to place himself above all of them and claim dominance.

“King of kings; Lord of Lords”; you understand the significance yet?

3. BT

If you don’t get into the gutter, you won’t get it clean… but I don’t know why you trying to disparage me and Rohan so. You believe the same as we so what you parading about? You want to parade in front of a thousand gods?

Don’t worry, your farm only got on one out of the 100 million farmer(Gods) on earth.

4. I ain’t too sure about a 1000 gods but I do know that this thread is now 1001 posts so far!! The record is 1083 by “What is the purpose of our existence”. So 82 to go to set the new record. Come on guys we can do it!!!

5. Hey BT!

I forgot to tell you that Obama is the “farmer of farmers”. No joke.

6. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Zero? man BT you duz mark real hard yuh.

I was just starting my next composition… a piece inspired by Rok called “Aliens from Niburu coming fuh you”, but I loss all my motivation now. LOL

De chorus woulda go something like disโ€ฆ

If you duz misquote de Talmud
    And Christians duz mek you blue
    If you does quote de Bible
    But doesnโ€™t have a clue
    If you spend your days and nights
    Talkin bare pup pun BUโ€ฆ
    Den aliens from Niburu
    Might be coming fuh you!

7. ROK
    On my farm, Obama is no more than a smooth talking Ram….admittedly he may well ‘fix up’ a large number of ewes (and mock rams but he ain’t nobody on my farm.

The ‘Farmer’ on my farm is the Big Boss Engineer who created the farm. He has a brilliant master plan that is executing exactly as planned…. even including the confusion created by Rohan’s 1000 Gods.

8. @MME
    ….Now you smoking!!! (something.. LOL)

9. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL…

BT… de sequel to that last Kaiso is called โ€œ2012โ€โ€ฆ sung to the tune of Rudderโ€™s โ€œ1990โ€, but David gine have to sign me on de BU Label before I release that one. ๐Ÿ™‚

10. If you duz hear tโ€™ings at night
    Anโ€™ still have trouble believing
    Yah canโ€™t find time tah shite
    Cauโ€™ BU got yah trapped anโ€™ sneezinโ€™
    If yah decide yah might
    But know yah should be relieving
    Dem Aliens from Niburu
    Busy out dey achieving

11. What is it about you people who are into religion and the fixation with making money!

12. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Man David… who say anyting bout money… I only want you to sign me on de BU label to protect my intellectual property from people like BAFBFP… you en see wha he gone an do wid my last song?

13. @MME

lol…sure BAFBFP would suggests that he applied some much needed artistic license.

14. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Man Asiba… I dun wid dis kaiso ting… bare stress an no appreciation (or money) LOL

15. Walass I gun dead inside hey tanight..Ha HAAAA…!

16. It is not the money David, the guys just want to avoid the same mistake that ru4real made with 3S….no contract, no start….
    …next thing you know Asiba suing somebody (along with BU David)…

17. Anonymous, In answer to your question;

“Are you sure that there are no other gods? If so why does the God of the Bible explicitly command His followers to put no other god before Him” ( Exo. 20: 1-17) if they did not exist?”

First, Exodus 20: 1-17, is the specific historic reference to Almighty God giving the Ten Commandments to Moses on Mount Sinai, and verses 3 and 4 states, “You shall have no other gods before me. You shall not make for yourself a ‘carved’ image – any likeness of anything that is in heaven, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them.”

Because Israel was surrounded by peoples who ‘worshipped’ many images, also called gods, false gods, who were all very much a part of the gross religious idolatry, that was rampant, and these ‘demonic’ entities
    masquerading as these ‘gods’ which the Jews were exposed to in Egypt before their deliverance, it is only in this context that Almighty God states:

“You shall have no other gods (as the other nations do) before Me” (v. 3) as they simply DO NOT exist, so don’t even be so stupid to worship ‘carved’ images as these other people do.

All of this crass idolatry that these ancient civilizations were involved in, the worship of utter ‘false’ gods, brought each and every one of them to total ruination, not one of them were spared from the judgment of the One True, and Only living Omnipotent God!!!

I see that Rok is true to form, he still got the demonic ‘Apes’ god ‘Bull’ sitting pun his head, confirmed by the crass ‘Bull’ he is so capable of speaking!!!

18. @Zoe….. How could the Ancients have been civilized when they were idolaters because they did not worship your ‘God’ of the Bible. You know nothing of the Ancient Egyptians but what is written in that Bible. The only ‘God’ that brought total ruination on them were your Gods, the Greco-Roman invaders. So you can thank your Pope! FYI there was NO Moses of the christian bible. Moses was a king in Ancient Egypt….. his name was TutMoses but the invaders removed Tut and gave you Moses. And this story about the jews and israel being held captive in Egypt is one of the biggest lies visited upon us. And your title of the One True God also came out of Ancient Egypt. It was the One True Neter which manifested itself in all its creation.

Amen Ra!

19. @ROK……French astronaut Claudie Haignere is apparently ‘dead’ today because she tried to warn planet earth about Planet X i.e Nibiru. So don’t mind that good christian bro.MME trying to get rich at your ‘xpense’ he’ll soon be singing a different tune.

20. Hopi:

Don’t despair about Claudie.
    Another pasty faced oppressor bites the dust.
    This is her third attempt to voluntarily escape the effects of Nibiru and at last she has succeeded.

Let’s all wish her well on her final voyage

21. @ST…..Are you sure she took herself out? Why did they burn down her lab?

22. OK Hopi.

Let the chips fall where they may.

I only have reservations because of her two previous suicide attempts.

Peace,

23. @ST…

Hotep!

24. ST

Hopi lick you out before you start and you ain’t even understand a thing. You still pun the floor. The referee get to 10 seconds every since so wake up. You lost the fight already. You can’t smell a CIA plot when you see it? You need to watch Zeitgeist.

25. Zoe

I would not like to tell you what you have sitting on your head… but it sure is smelly though.

26. ROK:

My tinfoil hat is way bigger than you could ever imagine.

But I base everything on facts….not evidence y’understand facts.

The lady in question was a suicide risk, twice attempted, third time lucky.

So, ROK, you really buy into this Nibiru stuff?

This too much like Bush Tea country for me.

Tell me if it’s only three years away, why can’t we see it?

27. Zoe wrote “โ€œAre you sure that there are no other gods? If so why does the God of the Bible explicitly command His followers to put no other god before Himโ€ ( Exo. 20: 1-17) if they did not exist?โ€

I don’t normally read or respond to the religious threads, but you have asked a good question. I never though of it myself? I don’t know the answer.

28. Hopi wrote:
    Didnโ€™t the Christian โ€˜Godโ€™ speak to George Bush and told him to wage the Mother of all Wars against Iraq and Afghanistan wasting more that 1 mil human lives?
    Yessir. Look at the actual DAILY images distributed by Rumsfeld in this daily Iraq war briefings.

WAR IMAGES AND BIBLE QUOTES IN DAILY IRAQ WAR BRIEFINGS.

http://men.style.com/gq/features/topsecret

These are the actual images distributed by Donald Rumsfeld with his Iraq war briefings.

Despicable. And yes, you christians are complicit. Go ahead, defend this.

29. Hopi wrote “Planet X i.e Nibiru”

Dear Hopi:

Is there any chance that Zecharia Sitchin with his Nibiru thesis is just another European who has difficulty accepting that all humanity came out of Africa?

Maybe he has difficulty accepting that Mother Africa is Mother to all humanity?

Maybe he things that Africa is not good enough to be Europe’s mother?

30. ST

So a report that a person tried to commit suicide twice is a fact? Thought that would be evidence too. Is that not hearsay; most times worse deceivers than evidence?

Facts provided by the international media:
    1. HIV/AIDS came from a monkey in Africa;
    2. Swine flu came from pigs but yet pigs don’t transmit it to humans, but pigs can get it from human beings.

Give me a break!

31. ST or Hopi, can you point me to a report of Claudie Haignere’s death. Everything I’ve found so far suggests that she is still alive.

32. Hopi, You still got the demon god ‘Ra’ pun ya right shoulder! Who pun ya left shoulder, Pa or Ma? Cause Hotep sitting pun ya head!!!

33. @Hear Ye, Year Ye, Hear Ye……All Good Christian Men & Women, Bro Rohan has just put you on full blast to come and defend the atrocities that were done in the honour of your biblical God. Can I get a witness?

@ST……’But I base everything on factsโ€ฆ.not evidence yโ€™understand facts.’ Isn’t evidence the foundation of fact? You beginning to sound like those bible-thomping believers.

@J……I don’t use Zecharia Sitchin as a credible source of my info. He is one of the great liars who spew that shit that humanity were seeded by aliens. Maybe him and his jewish people were, but not us the BLACKS. He also pushes that shite that BLACKS did not build the Pyramids. His people, the jews tried to claim that they built them when they were captives in Egypt….But this is one lie that was put to rest. Today the white man and the Japanese have tried to reconstruct those Pyramids, but they don’t have a clue. The only thing he might be right on is that Mother Africa is not their mother. I find it hard to accept that She could have given birth to his race.

@Anonymous…… I don’t give out my sources to anons…. So full disclosure. Who are you? Come on!

@Zoe….. You are getting sleepy Zoe! Zou zaaarrreee zgetttting zzzleeepy.

Amen Ra,Ptah, One True Neter… Anedj Herack

34. @ROK……I think I’m gonna have to agree with you because I see some reincarnation on going on here. CARLOS might have returned to us in the form of ZOE.

35. But I t’ought Zoe was a woman…!

36. Hopi, How many of these ‘DEMONIC’ filthy, false ‘gods’ you got residing in you, pun you, all round you, ‘Ptah’ another one, ‘One ‘false’ Neter’ “Anedj’ ‘Herrack’ or should it be, ‘HISRACK’ who racking your stupified, ‘fried’ brain!!! Tell us Hops!!!

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re But I tโ€™ought Zoe was a womanโ€ฆ!

Since the word zoe means life a Zoe can either be male or female.

38. But Georgie Porgie

Men have secrets. It is from womanhood that life springs (or is it from a stalk?)

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yea life springs from womanhood but there are few species on earth that reproduce without a contribution from some male’s secrets.

Thats the real secret! LOL Now you know! LOL

40. Not this Zoe though. This one is a MAN! Testosterone is constantly off the charts for his Jesus. See how he coming after me for paying Homage the ‘Great Ones of my Forefathers.’ The One that give Light & Life to this planet so that he can breathe, eat and sleep and marry his wife in an Anglican Church! Talk about Ungrateful!

41. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Back to the Olivet Discourse and its relevance for today

4And Jesus answered and said unto them, Take heed that no man deceive you.

5For many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; and shall deceive many.

6And ye shall hear of wars and rumours of wars: see that ye be not troubled: for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet.

7For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in divers places.

8All these are the beginning of sorrows.

9Then shall they deliver you up to be afflicted, and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all nations for my name’s sake.

What does all this mean?
    To whom is Jesus referring?
    What time period?
    Who will be hated for his names sake of all the nations?
    Do these warnings point to a soon coming of Christ?

42. Bush Tea wrote:
    The fact that different groups came along and โ€˜decidedโ€™ in their minds that 1000 Godsโ€™ exist is not relevant to the substantive reality of our creatorโ€ฆ. except of course to distract you and ROK.
    It couldnโ€™t be MORE relevant. You agree that different groups (cultures) created over 1,000 Gods in their minds.

Isnโ€™t that relevant information when trying to determine the source of God number 1,001?

Especially given the fact that you have ZERO EVIDENCE that God # 1,001 was not created from the same source as God 1 through 1,000?

Cโ€™mon Bush Tea.

43. Say you woke up in an art studio and you didnโ€™t know where you were or how you got there.

There are 1,001 paintings in the gallery. You walk around and determined that the first 1,000 were Picassos.

You have to guess at what the last painting is before you can get close enough to see the signature.

Bush Tea would have us believe that the fact that the first 1,000 are Picassos is irrelevant information.

Well while Bush Tea is guessing that the last painting was created by a tooth fairy, the rest of us have already figured out who painted it.

44. Ah hah GP
    African snails ain’ no secret ’bout here and they don’ have secrets either. Ha ha

Hopi if Zoe is male then it could be true that Carlos and Zoe are but one and the same. A duality huh…

45. Ahh…to know or not to know, that’s the question!!!

Aseity, (from the Latin ‘a se’ “by itself” refers to God’s self-existence or independence. God does not merely exist in every possible world, as great as that is, BUT, even more greatly, He exist in every world wholly independent of anything else!

The Scriptures affirm the preexistence of the divine Word, Jesus Christ.

“All things came into being through Him, and without Him not one thing came into being” (John 1:3).

God is absolutely unique in His ‘aseity’; all other things exist ‘ab alio’ (through another) the Word, that became flesh and dwelt among us. (Jn. 1:14).

46. Incorporeality, “God is spirit” (Jn 4:24), that is to say, a living, immaterial substance. God’s ‘immateriality’ entails the divine attribute of ‘incorporeality’ that is, that God in neither a body nor embodied!

As a personal being, God is therefore of the order of unembodied Mind!

The Scriptures present God as having the attribute of ‘Omnipresence’ He is everywhere present in His creation in virtue of His incorporeality. This BTW, must not be confused with ‘Pantheism’ as Almighty God, through very much present in His Omnipresence, transends in His transendence, all that He Created.

“Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your Presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there. If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there, If I take the wings of the morning, and settle at the farthest limits of the sea, even though Your hand shall lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me fast.” (Psa. 139: 7-10).

47. Zoe, from now on, whenever you post your lovey dovey versus from the bible, I’m going to post a sample of the sick and degrading versus that you always seem to skim over.

Here’s one I especially love. Isn’t God an awesome loving God? Awww.

(Deuteronomy 20:10-14)

As you approach a town to attack it, first offer its people terms for peace. If they accept your terms and open the gates to you, then all the people inside will serve you in forced labor. But if they refuse to make peace and prepare to fight, you must attack the town. When the LORD your God hands it over to you, kill every man in the town. But you may keep for yourselves all the women, children, livestock, and other plunder. You may enjoy the spoils of your enemies that the LORD your God has given you.
    So as far as God is concerned, the soldiers in Iraq should keep the Iraqi women for themselves and enslaved any of the men they don’t kill. Oh God, you’re so merciful, just, and loving.

Love
    Zoe, Bush Tea, and the rest of your loving servants.

48. @Rohan
    It is no wonder that I thought that you were a school child. You have potential, but your logic skill needs to mature a bit.

Your art studio analogy is weak and inappropriate to the situation…..

How about this:
    ……say you found yourself in the studio with 1000 photos on the wall.
    Studio visitors speculate on which photo is that of the builder of the studio.
    At least 999 of these will be wrong – (…and possibly all 1000).

HOWEVER!!!
    We know that there IS a builder of the studio SOMEWHERE – even if his photo is not even on display there.

…your whole line of argument is based on critiquing these photos on the wall and the visitors’ poor analytical skills.

Meanwhile, you are missing the opportunity to pursue the ACTUAL studio builder.

….OH wait, sorry. You were saying that the art studio just happened to evolve out of nothing over billions of years….

….that the photos are all just example of natural selection.

…. that in our world (where everything, left to itself tends to degenerate into chaos and simple states) we had a period where simple things became complex without intelligent inputs…where studios, full of photos just evolved.

Serious Rohan. How old are you? Really?

49. Well BAFBFP is the 1050 comment. Eight more for the record. I will personnally pay $1.00 to that person…!