BU for sometime has featured many blogs on the obvious tension which continues to grip the world caused perhaps by the clash of the two dominant religions – Islam and Christianity. Our concern as a small island which is significantly dependant on tourism is the looming impact current tensions may have on our tourist industry.

On Christmas day we had the attempt by a Nigerian who attempted to explode a North Western flight as it was about to land in Detroit, USA. Today (27 December 2009) the world again tensed-up when a North Western flight from Amsterdam to Detroit alerted the authorities of a possible danger and emergency action was triggered as a result.

Our regional leaders need to anticipate that in a post-911 era the world will have to live in Code Orange mode edging to Red and global travel will become increasingly challenging. How will the security weary tourist react to security measures which are becoming more and more cumbersome? The video above exposes the challenge Western governments now face in battling a growing threat by people who are sympathetic to the Islamic view. While the focus of past terrorists incidents have been located in the USA and parts of Europe, the footprint of the threat is expanding.  It is not BU’s intention to stereotype one group of people but the obvious reality cannot be ignored in the aftermath of recent events.

Unfortunately this part of the world our media is reluctant to tackle issues which touches race and religion because of the sensitive nature of it all. At some point our leaders in this region, media et al will have to assess the impact of the unravelling issue of growing tensions between Islam and the rest of the world.

Of interest to the BU family is the following comment posted to an earlier blog which was posted to represent the Islam religion in a non-stereotypical view.

IS ISLAM A RELIGION OF CONQUEST?

Islam differs from other religious. Muslims should read and study Al-Qur’an because through this holy book people can learn about different things, and especially in the field of science. Al-Qur’an also organize human life in a variety of problems. Both Muslims and non-Muslims would not know much about Islam before they were studying in earnest Al-Qur’an and Prophet Muhammad’s (SAW) behavior. Islamic ordered peace among mankind.  Islam never teaches to do the act of terror or suicide to kill others. Those who conduct terror in the name of Islam, none other than the people who used to political interest, not the interest of Islam. For example Saudia Arabian businessman  Osama Bin Laden is C.I.A. lackey, also Al-Qaeda is a terrorist organization funded by C.I.A.

Islam is not a conqueror. It is unfortunate that Western societies now always equate Islam with terrorism. And instead of Western countries who did the conquest and terrorism in Muslim countries. Obvious example is the attack of NATO forces led by the United States to Iraq and Afghanistan.These countries occupied by NATO’s troops, their people oppressed, plundered state wealth-out, not up there, beside tortured  they  also raped Muslim women are not helpless. Even the people of Iraq and Afghanistan everyday have been killed. What for they occupied those countries? DEMOCRACY ? NO!! They are LIAR and KILLERS!!!  The number of Muslims who were killed by NATO forces increased and not counted. Are they not act as CONQUERORS OR TERRORISTS ? According to the West, they are terrorist! If they are brown and Muslim, they are TERRORISTS !!. If they are white and Jewish, then they are FREEDOM FIGHTERS. If they fight against enemy of Washington, of course they are Mujahidin.   How could I  have been that  ignorant???

Please open and read my Blog.

The Caribbean represents small nations and although we are often described as a zone of peace; that can easily change influenced by external events or some catastrophic terrorist event within the region. The time has come for our Fourth Estate and others from civil society to educated our people. The objective hopefully to galvanize a new thinking which is required to reposition Barbados to protect our society.

39 responses to “Increasing Terrorist Activity May Have Implications For The Caribbean”

1. You know, my query is more one of understanding the situation properly.

Yes, certainly every life is precious and we must secure global travel.

But in a comparative way, are we glorifying these attacks?

On average the same number of persons on board a large commercial airliner are killed every two days in traffic accidents in the USA.

Further, does securing air travel alone eliminate terrorist risks? No.

Train travel is virtually security free, has more passengers and is a sitting target.

And, if you can think about it, an attack on a train is far more disconcerting on a daily basis than an air attack.

Why? Because much more take the train to work every day.

Air travel is fairly remote to many, while the trains are the lifeblood of many developed countries.

Yet, every newspaper glorifies in these potential attacks, missing the overall issue.

I think by putting attention on the underlying issue, that BU is coming much closer to addressing the real point and looking towards a solution.

2. As an aside, I would like to ask Dr.Georgie Porgie a question, which may seem crass to some, but is relevant when one considers the opportunity costs of limited resources.

Q: Do you consider the world’s population more at risk from terrorist attacks or at risk from mutating infectious diseases?

3. Had another ‘scare’ today.

Same airline and flight #, another Nigerian apparently took too long in the bathroom. He then, according to reports became irrational which led to security taking him off the plane.

4. If you listen to the video it is clear the world has to brace for many more of these terrorist acts. Minority elements of the Islamic faith believe they will glorify Allah when they shed blood.
    Future attacks may not be on the scale of 911 but by creating fear within the travel industry it will have foreboding consequences for the world and that includes the Caribbean. We have to reduce the risk and vulnerability to our economies by looking to diversify.

Our leaders must start to step up to the plate.

5. Estimates of the “minority” of muslims who approve of violence to further the expansion of their religion and political system are from 5% to 10% of Muslims.

I think it is much greater than that. There are 500,000 suspected terrorists on the no-fly lists. But say it is only 5% of muslims who agree with violence.

That is 5 million people who want to kill you.

Time to stop muslim immigration to the west.

6. F’ck off Minority???…!

7. Here we go again, being duped. What I am seeing is attacks on white supremacy and we taking on their fire rage.

There was a terrorist called Hernando Cortez, who went to the land of the Aztecs. He enjoyed their hospitality and then he plotted against them, killed them out and stole all their wealth.

There was another terrorist named Cecil Rhodes who ordered the slaughter of South Africans so he could steal their gold and diamonds.

There is now another terrorist in the middle east wanting to steal all the oil. Who is the real terrorists?

This is a terrible joke. I will not stop saying that we are simple targets for white supremacy. Actually consumers, and our range of consumer items have now gone heavily into security and detection personnel and equipment (not to mention the millions on swine flu). Oh how we have been duped!

Let’s talk security. Going out of Barbados, I travelled with a tin of spray starch which I sent through in my baggage.

I got out of Barbados with it, but intransit through Trinidad to Costa Rica, I was summoned to the cargo section of Piarco Airport to open my bag and take out the spray starch otherwise it could not go on Copa Airlines.

On leaving T&T, in front of me was an elderly caucasian lady who had five lighters in her bag, as detected by security and those were confiscated. All the woman did was shake her head because (as she explained under her breath) she had bought them in the airport as souvenirs for friends.

Now here is the difference. Coming out of Brussels going through security to board the plane with a lighter in my pocket, which I had forgotten to send through with my luggage, as I took it out and realised it was there, I handed it to the security and he said, “Oh no, you can keep that.”

No wonder that white woman had five lighters. The amount of things I see confiscated at airports. Like me, I had to throw a new brand tin of spray starch in the garbage.

We are not a throw away society by accident. We are being programmed for it. It suits the manufacturers.

8. @ROK

Even if we buy in to the position you have taken how can we ignore the reality as a small country dependent on tourism? Shouldn’t we be pragmatic here?

9. @David

There is nothing to be pragmatic about. We need to stop getting drawn into the agendas that do not serve our purpose. We are not targets of any terrorism attacks and more than likely, never will be. They are not after us but after those who hurt them.

For the longest time, we have been urging our governments to declare the Caribbean a zone of peace. It started with Errol Barrow and his statement, “Friends of all and satellites of none.”

Plain and simple. If you walk behind a cow, you sure that sooner or later you will step into its droppings.

10. @ROK

However you twist it the issue remains: a security weary traveler who maybe come turned off to international travel zone of peace not with standing.

11. Really David, what we pass through out here is quite different other places. We do not differentiate between domestic and international flights out here. There is no universal application of the sames rules at airports.

Travel throughout Europe is a breeze. Many airports don’t even have customs; only the international gateways.

Let me ask a question out loud. Given that travel through Europe is such a breeze, why would a tax be placed on passengers travelling from UK to the Caribbean?

12. Sorry David but I was to end that last post by saying that a European passenger will only get security weary when it comes to travelling to the Caribbean.

13. I was trying to read the last few posts and make some sense of them but I am still confused. So the rules on cigarette lighters are not applied consistently at all Airports, I read recently that the ban on cigarette lighters in your carry on had been lifted, perhaps the folks at Piarco didn’t get the memo. However if I was an employee checking luggage and someone came through with five lighters I would confiscate them too, did the Gift Shop run out of key chains?.

As for the idea of declaring the Caribbean “ a zone of peace”, that would have as much currency as placing a “no trespassing” sign on your property. The people who want to do you harm won’t pay any attention to any sign or declaration. In any event if our trade and tourism flows through North America the USA will set the rules whether we like it or not. If Airlines and countries decide to ignore their regulations then any flights originating from those countries will be banned from US airspace.

I suppose we don’t have to fly anywhere, if we want to travel to North America or Europe we can always use the Federal Palm or the Federal Maple

14. @ROK. I usually agree with you, but not this time. You like you beginning to dote.

Before 9/11, you could not take any pressure spray or lighter on a plane. That it sometimes happened that a blind eye was turned was because you were given a break.

After 9/11, no incendary OF ANY KIND could be taken on board – including matches. Now, if you get away with it, that is because of either luck or inferior training of personel or you got a friend in security.

But spray cans of any kind were always banned. So it is not manufacturers who have targeted your spray starch to get you to buy more, but security. They don’t want it to go off in the plane. “Sorry, sir/madam. This seat was taken before by a Mr R.O.K. whose can of spray starch exploded/ruptured/was released and went all over this area. Due to the enormous expense of keeping the plane on the ground to have the area properly cleaned for you, we decided to just give it a quick wipe. Otherwise it would mean (a) incoveniencing other passengers (colour irrelevant) with deadlines to meet, (b) putting up the cost to the consumer because of added expenses of many thousands of dollars occasioned by Mr R.O.K.’s brand new can of spray starch (purchase price about $20) and (c) installing special security equipment to ensure that Mr R.O.K.’s can of starch was not a can of something like Mace or Pepper Spray with which he (and his cohorts) could overpower the crew and hijack the plane…….what was that, sir? You know Mr R.O.K. and you are sure that he would never do that? So, in that case you will be happy to put up with Mr R.O.K.’s spray starch for the duration of your flight. But, sir, what about the other passengers and security people and crew who do NOT know Mr R.O.K?”

Come on, R.O.K., have a hair from the Christmas dog and start talking sense again.

15. I agree with rok that muslim extremists terrorists are probably outside of the barbados universe although there are some nutty christian fruitcakes within the subset

16. Here is an article explaining one case of a virulent strain of TB. I am no doctor, so if GP wishes to comment and clarify, he is welcome.

The first link shows a case of extremely drug-resistant TB. This shows that even where huge medical resources are available, there is a treatment issue.

This is the rarest, but ‘regular’ MDR TB (Multi-drug resistant) is much more frequent.

We, the developing world, have much more to concern ourselves with such as this, particularly with limited resources.

While larger countries can draw on much greater resources, surely we are left hamstrung, due to testing necessary to determine which drugs are usable in specific cases, availability of drugs etc, possibly with poor outcome for those with any form of MDR TB?

Unfortunately, as has been rightly said, now we are being forced to spend on security etc instead.

Who benefits?

My point here is showing that the overall issue may not only be one of satisfying international security standards for travel etc, but balancing our resources to ensure real threats to our own population are addressed.

http://www.sphere.com/nation/article/first-case-of-highly-drug-resistant-tuberculosis-in-us/19294836

http://www.cdc.gov/eid/content/13/3/pdfs/380.pdf

17. @Crusoe // December 28, 2009 at 5:36 AM.

Unfortunately, although your point is well made, it isn’t valid because of the expectations of Bajans and Barbados these days. You see, you have to do both! Agriculture is a thing of the past and no amount of rhetoric or wishful thinking is going to change that. Therefore, you do not have that (formerly traditional) source of income.

So, for the meds and the treatments to be provided, they have to be imported using foreign currency. To get that, we need tourist and off-shore dollars and to get those, we have to have the best medical facilities and the most efficient anti-terrorism measures in place in Barbados.

18. @amused
    I hope you understood the difference between carry on and sending through with baggage. I really don’t know what you telling me about overpowering crew with a tin of spray starch. Like is you that doting; be careful.

That was the first time that an aerosol can was removed from my baggage (not carry-on bags or hand bags) I have been travelling with aerosol cans in my luggage consistently since 2001 (not just spray starch).

One question though, do you know of any occasion where an aerosol tin exploded on an aircraft just like that? Whether in the passenger section or the cargo? If that is so, why do the crew have aerosol cans of disinfectant with which they spray the entire passenger section before reaching the next airport?

I would therefore deduce that if spray cans were banned, it certainly was not because they would automatically explode in the air. Did I get you right?

19. @Sargeant

From what I have experienced so far, it would seem that airlines travelling to and from international airports have fairly standard practices; although there are still some differences.

However, there is a difference with what may be termed domestic flights where security is much more lapse. I experienced this in Europe and also in Canada.

@Crusoe, I agree with you five hundred percent. We take on these myths and these fears which are basically the tools of manipulation. We are so bright that we react based on what sounds possible or reasonable and not what is fact.

We thrive on fearmongering… and I see that somebody saying that agriculture is a thing of the past. Well the day that happens when not a Bajan lift a finger to grow any food, we will be more than doomed, because if we don’t do it, somebody will do it for us. We seeing the results of this dependency today. As we Bajans say, “what sweeten goat mouth burn he tail”.

20. H’mm:

A breath of fresh thought a la Steyn, for the educated of our region.

And, before lightly or angrily dismissing — why the hostility, friend? — think again about what is going on.

G’day:

D

21. ROK, I do understand. I do not know of any such instance. I buy my airline ticket under the terms, conditions and warranties of the airline. If banned by the airline (or the country I am visiting) I does done tek duh.

I obey and defer to the laws of the land that I am in, including security arrangement.

I mean, go figure that the airlines, Barbados customs and immigration and the RBPF will not let you in Barbados or on a plane to Barbados or wear in Barbados anything that might even vaguely be considered camoflage. The reason for this ban escapes most other nations, but not our government or those neighbouring. In fact, it escapes most Bajans. What is a fashion statement in most countries, in Barbados is illegal.

Starch, like camoflage clothing, is a fashion statement today – and you know something else – it is obtainable cheaper in Brussels – in fact it is cheaper in most countries. Man, you should be IMPORTING it, not EXPORTING it. It probably imported in the first place anyway.

If Barbados won’t allow designer camoflage clothing (even pon the plane bringing duh day) and Barbados’ laws are enforced at international airports worldwide, why not give up your starch, bro? (and save money!!!)

You mean to tell me that Barbados has fallen prey to some clothing manufacturer who stands to make a killing if camoflage is banned – in Barbados – and he is the body responsible. Man, it like the same thing as your manufacturers of spray starch using customs in other countries to boost their sales.

Man, leh we go and drink a rum and talk nuff sh***.

22. People don’t be fooled by all this phony terrorist activity. This is all controlled. That poor Nigerian young boy didn’t seem to have a clue what the hell was going on because he was being controlled by his handler. Why the hell does the #1 terrorists on this planet have control over security at European ports and the US ports as well. The same criminal gang who were responsible for the felling of the twin towers on 9/11. Why was this young man allowed to pass thru Amsterdam with this ‘shit’ attached to his body, when you can’t even get a water bottle thru their scanning machines. And why was he accompanied? This is all a hoax, all a scam! Don’t be fooled! They want to control our every move. And as ROK alluded to earlier, people aren’t now experiencing terrorism, our foreparents experienced it long ago.. the only difference is that they didn’t have FOX, CNN and BBC to tell them what , when and how to think. Ever since the beast landed on this planet, the planet has been terrorized. Just another LIE. Another damnable heresy! Stay vigilant people or we will be giving them full control of our very being.

23. Amused,

I disagree that it is not valid. Firstly, we do not provide first rate medical care, certainly not first rate emergency care, on an easily available basis.

Yet tourists still come.

Secondly, whatever we install such as scanners will be to fulfill international security requirements, not to provide comfort to tourists re security.

Without these scanners, tourists will still come.

These people who are tourists travel on, as noted above, dangerous roads daily.

They suffer heart attacks and strokes from stress, some travel hours per day to work and back.

They will travel on planes regardless of security or not.

I also agree with ROK. Agriculture is our lifeblood in an emergency and certainly supplements our food bill.

To ignore it would be insane.

On Hopi, well to be blunt Hopi comes across as rather extreme.

Nevertheless, Hopi raises an issue that is boggling many minds.

How did this youngster get so far, past security checks?

There was a time we would have scoffed at conspiracy, but more and more we realise that, as someone once said ‘These Days are Funny Nights’.

24. Those who watched Larry King last night would have listened in amazement to a passenger who boarded the flight in Amsterdam narrating he overheard an Indian man who accompanied the would be bomber telling the gate officials he had no passport. The bomber still was able to travel. Many question…

25. No passport? It is actually so far-fetched, to be hilarious, sorry.

Question…who guards the guards?

I see the Pres has announced that it is systemic, human error.

Yeah, let’s call it that.

Ummmm…..

26. Is the right-wing trying to discredit the democrat handling of seecurity issues?

This reeks of ‘involvement’, if you know what I mean.

27. Yes, he was allowed to travel without a passport. His handler i.e. the well-dressed man told the agent that he was a refugee from the Sudan and that explains his lack of travel documents and guess whom he is linked back to…..yea, you got it …. Al-Qaeda who just happens to be hanging out in Yemen where BaRat Obama recently signed an order for the military to carry out bombings and I’m just wondering aloud why they would be bombing Yemen……….got it, that BIG 3 letter word that renders anyone who resists the blood suckers attempts to remove it from their ground. YES your guess is as good as mine.

OOOOOIIIILLLL!

28. @Crusoe

What is hilarious is the fact the boy’s father reported him to the CIA and the report went nowhere in the USA system. According to Hopi this hold mess stinks.

29. Yes, what I meant was all of the events leading to his entry to the plane are so far-fetched as to be hilarious, not that your opinion of it is hilarious.

Certainly, if it looks like a duck ….

Hopi raises another interesting issue, that also crossed my mind.

Both Nigeria (that is his origin, correct?) and Yemen are oil producers.

Coincidence? Hopi thinks not, as you say.

Incidentally, maybe it is time to revisit the ‘peak oil’ issue and really ask what will be the supply and demand for oil in the near and medium term future.

Are we possibly in a greater production and availability decline than the public is allowed to believe?

That would certainly have serious implications, enough to (even if we argue morality) warrant those with power to grab control.

My own opinion is that yes, the oil availability is looking quite desperate, but the issue is under wraps, as much as possible.

30. @David

BBC: “Airport body scanners on way – PM”

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8438355.stm

31. @ROK

It is what it is…ONE WORLD???

Seriously the expense of running developing countries in a world where the developed countries are at the root. Sometimes when one thinks about it, just does not make sense.

32. @David

It is so funny that a Nigerian is caught smuggling a so-called bomb and now the west is ready to roll out body scans. Does this not sound similar to swine flu.

All I would say is that they secured the market first by using that poor Nigerian, who more than likely is employed covertly by the CIA. They then create a fear and everybody is ready to agree with them.

Meanwhile we spending millions more at a time when we are about to feel the worst of the economic crunch, thereby depleting more of our resources, making it harder to address the economic crisis.

That is why it is getting more expensive. The hammer is coming down and we are falling for it lock stock and barrel.

So they hit we twice in less than 12 months. Swine flu and now this.

33. @David

Consider how these sales are going to boost their economies. Wanna bet that there is more to come to force us to spend more big money?

USA is a creature of terrorism. All I can say is that in this scenario they decided that people should not die. That may have psychologically grounded may people and turn them away from air travel. It is on that precipice now. I would put my neck on the block that many will be contemplating not travelling unless compelled.

The implications for our tourist product will be great, but in the end, all that is happening is that these people are demonstrating that they hold the strings and at anytime, our economy could completely crash with one CIA operation to create total fear of travel. They will not suffer, we will.

Most important is to understand that while it may not happen, the threat of it happening which they hold over the heads of our leaders, is more deadly than if it happens. Swine flu? body scans?

I note how you resolve merely that it is becoming more expensive but I disagree and I wish you did not have that resolve, because when you think of it, we are spending because on a daily basis, it is the USA who is creating the enemies and creating the unstable atmosphere; by their greed.

meanwhile, we, that can’t afford it, paying through our noses for the sins of the USA.

34. @David

It would be good to find out why the Belizian army or police would have grenades in its arsenal?

http://www.channel5belize.com/archive_detail_story.php?story_id=26242

35. State sponsored and approved terrorism.
    On many an occasion I’ve traveled from the USA to Barbados, only to find when I got home that the US Homeland Security had been into my baggage and left a note saying so. Look what happened to this chap. If this was not Ireland ,but Iran or Israel it might have turned out differently
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100106/ap_on_bi_ge/eu_hidden_explosives

36. @Ten4
    That is not only crazy, but I think it proves that this so-called terrorism is a mere sham.

Now if they could do this, are you telling me that terrorists with real determination to terrorise can’t do it too? Plant on several passenger in the same plane too.

This is also saying to me that with all the security in the world, we are still very vulnerable. So what is the point of the exercise?

One thing for sure, the USA will never admit that the scenario with the Nigerian was their ploy, if it is. I strongly believe that it is. The whole story is too far-fetched.

37. @David
    Nigerian being labelled as a terrorist and is now blacklisted by the USA. Commentators are linking the US blacklisting of Nigeria to an oil deal it is apparently negotiating with the Chinese that could have implications for supplies to USA.

The plot thickens.

From the Nigerian Tribune:
    US blacklisted Nigeria over oil

THE frosty relationship between the United States and Nigeria as a result of Chinese interest in Nigeria’s oil business may be the reason for Tuesday’s blacklisting of Nigeria and placing it on the global terror watch list, Nigerian Tribune investigations have revealed.

China’s interest in Nigeria’s oil became more glaring mid last year when one of China’s three major energy companies, China’s state-owned National Offshore Oil Corporation (CNOOC), began talks with senior Nigerian officials to buy large stakes of oil blocks in Nigeria, most importantly knowing that Nigeria has some of the world’s richest oil blocks.

What the US saw as the vulnerability of Nigeria’s oil business, due to the country’s recent negotiations with China on oil business, may have, however, posed a threat to the United States (US), Nigeria being its fifth largest supplier of petroleum.
    … more
    http://www.tribune.com.ng/07012010/news/news1.html

38. @ROK

Interesting perspective, there is suppose to be a report dropped by the US government shortly on the Nigerian bomber.

On another note, we listened yesterday to the naive Stetson “the tuesday edition” Babb blaming the increase hassle in airports on that Nigerian boy and his failed attempt to bomb the plane.

39. @David
    I am not surprised at Babb. We have this way of putting down our own in favour of the blue-eyed, blonde haired white man (imperialism). Well it seems obvious that Obama (for reasons known) is or has become a brown-eyed, kinky haired, black skinned white man.

However, Babb should be advised that the increased hassles in airports are due to the covert operations of the CIA and the greed of USA to steal oil so that they can live sumptiously at the expense of all others. There is no care at all for the rest of the world so long as they are living on top, and woe betides anyone who would threaten their sumptious living.

We in Barbados are fighting this same beast in many forms. The medicine, the food, disease, crime, and all that is bad for this society. This beast has a lot more than six heads.