naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. Tired of people like you Avatar
    Tired of people like you

You set yourself up as the defender and protector of bajans in Boston and around the world and the keeper of the flag but all I see is aloud mouth destructive individual whose mouth are so full of word it is hard if not impossible to keep them from falling out all over the place here it is in a nutshell you don’t support anything Bajan because you don’t trust them you don’t mixed with bajans who are keeping himself out of the Boston gutters tell me why don’t you put all that energy and know how to some good for bajans for all to see spend some money to help the good but poor bhajans don’t worry about NABO accounts because not one penny come from you. you reminded me of crab lice professor saying a lot of nothing just to be heard it is clear to me that you knows nothing about any of the organizations anywhere so why are you so loud – please I am so tired of Bhajans like you

2. @Tired of people like you

We know Adrian can defend himself but we want to remind you that the government of Barbados donated USD/BDS40,000 to the conference held in Barbados. That makes it the business of Bajans everywhere.

3. Total of $50K. Invest Barbados gave another $10K

4. @ Adrian

Constitution is piss poor very archaic. Hear dah sheep in Melbourne organization is her family and in laws. Wayne Byneo has a one man show , he is de CEO if yuh please. No criteria to becoming a member. I sure they sorry dah let some of them well run organizations in that now speaking out against their wrong doings.

5. This is so sad. The only weapon they have is to cuss people with made up stories. Sorry I cannot “heed” the request.
    ha ha ha you should really seek a medical opinion, on the real cause of your tiredness. But i gine defend this strawman you just put up for the explicit purpose of knocking him down. He still standing by the way.

If you find the time after getting some rest, see if you can help us with answers to our queries about the operational status of the Boston base bajan organizations that Earl Ashby and Mike Cummins may have used to gain their access and subsequent control of NABO.

6. @BU.David: “the government of Barbados donated USD/BDS40,000 to the conference held in Barbados.

According to finance.yahoo.com, $40,000 US is equal to $79,000 Barbados.

So, which was it?

7. they need jail time Avatar
    they need jail time

nd you know who u are at the yes level.

8. they need jail time Avatar
    they need jail time

I am glad to see W.Palm beach surface because that where Bdos “08”grew and all the yes people who were elected to honor their yes mstr.We are known to be proud people why let a few bring it down. I would like to see some of those folks respond now their eyes are open.

9. Many years ago BCCB was the dominant bajan organization in Boston. They organized the annual independence ball, gave out scholarships, made charitable donations to organizations in Barbados etc.., for the most part they were very successful, for whatever reason members left the organization and activities stopped that is when CHA took the major Barbadian activities in Boston. CHA has a pretty good overall reputation in Boston.

It is totally unfair to negatively label or make fun look of the Boston organizations (big or small) because members of NABO has been โ€œaccusedโ€ but not found guilty of wrongdoing.

Before everyone rush to judge, let us see the independent auditorโ€™s report. I hope the auditor will not only look at the how the funds were spent but the internal controls or lack of controls in place that allowed activities to occur.

10. $40,000 is $40,000 be it BDS$ or US$ it is the Barbadian tax payors money that has been misappropriated. Time for the Barbadian government to pay heed and start asking some serious questions about the tax payors money. A letter has been sent to the Prime Minister. Mr. PM can the Barbadian Diaspora have a commission into how the funds have been misused.

11. Check out organizations registered with the State of MA

http://www.sec.state.ma.us/cor/corpweb/cornp/npfrm.htm

CARIBBEAN HERITAGE ASSOCIATION, INC. – 2003 – Most current annual report filed with the State. The questions- Is this organization legal?

12. Earl Ashby is president of CARIBBEAN HERITAGE ASSOCIATION, INC. (CHA)

Mike Cummins is a member of CHA

13. This is for Adrian Hinds – Barbados UH CUM FRUM is an organization registered with the State of MA, their annual fillings are current.

14. This is for Adrian Hinds – Barbados UH CUM FRUM is an organization registered with the State of MA, their annual fillings are current.

15. fuh de long haul Avatar
    fuh de long haul

Everybody ragging pun Earl an his peeps, he did pun a committee wid more people.

I want to know wha happen to Mike Cummins, de head man.

Sandra Asgill, Jessica Carrington, Grafton Rouse & Rupert Forde. NCBAC)

de UK Bajans, Hilly Padmore et al , all ah dem was pun de Collaborative Committee wid Earl so why we aint hearing nuttin bout or from dem?

duh was all happy to be skinny duh teets up in Illaro court and rubbing shoulders wid de PM an de different ministers, now all ah dem lef poor Earl to tek de licks by he self?

De Canadians and the Britts from de Collaborative committee should tek some blame. Speak up fuh Earl unless wunna get some “win win” money too.

16. NABO represents the organizations in the USA and the USA folks want answers and a few took on the responsibility. Earl is very capable of representing he self. He is the pit bull for Mike Cummins. Sandra Asgill is Earl’s spoke piece up in Canada. There having a 25th anniversary coming up. Think Earl gine or he frighten?

17. I think the Boston bajan Organizations need to be focus on, they are pertinent I believe to understanding why we have the issues in NABO today. It is the same set of leadership and often is the tradition, that when a CEO or any worker for the matter, seeks new employment they bring with them past best practices to bear on why they should be considered for the new job. As well, when issues arise in the new job often time patterns for those issues were evident in their old organizations. The record of accomplishment or lack thereof should speak for itself. I think in this case, where we are looking at problems within the NABO leadership, their style, they errors in judgment, their problems with excel spreadsheets etc, and we have to in the least ask if there are similarities to be found in their past. Why did BCCB stop operating, why did CHA formed since 1986 only acquired state and federal 501c recognition something in 2000โ€™s, this is public information. What does the membership of CHA look like today? In spite of your claims about CHAโ€™s reputation in Boston, within the Bajan community in Boston, there is a significant disconnect with CHA. I am not going to use attendance to their upcoming wine and style event as proof; equally, I will not look to the failure to put on the 2008 Independence ball as indicative of anything, but proof my comments to be wrong.
    My issue here is not a case of possible malfeasance. I am not as concern about the accusations of possible impropriety, the issue with Microsoft Excel is believable. I am not concern with that as much as I am concern with the autocratic style of leadership that is evident in the many email exchanges, the secrecy and the refusal to abide by the same set of Laws that elected them. The depose executive team, please donโ€™t forget that, is fighting this decision on the grounds that a number of the voting organizations could not have so voted due to their financial status. If it is ok for the now depose executive to fight for their already expired lives with such a flimsy argument. I do not think it is a bad thing to call into question the very Organizations that afforded them the bases of an entry to ascend the heights of Executive committee chair and the โ€œcollaborative committee chairโ€of NABO. The questions I have pose about the health of these three Boston base NABO affiliated organization are very pertinent if I may say so myself. They have been languishing for a long time, as if they were the personal playthings of the Leaders/Owners. If BCCB has such a rich and storied history, why is not being told? Why do I have to โ€œbelieveโ€ you? Yes! The financial audit must be done, but it cannot be for the purposes of reinstating the now depose executive team once led by Earl Ashby. There should be no attempt allowed to reverse the decision made.

18. Here is some background info which gives an insight into the planning for the 2008 conference in Barbados.

As always we thank our sources.

19. @Concerned: “$40,000 is $40,000 be it BDS$ or US$

Actually, no…

$40,000 could be (approximately) $20,000, $40,000 or $80,000, depending on what currency was being quoted, and what currency is your nominal point of view….

20. @Chris

There seems to be some confusion about whether some of the numbers on the Excel Spreadsheet detailing the P&L are quoted in USD or BDS. Our use of BDS/USD to prefix the 40,000.00 number is meant to reflect the confusion.

21. @David…

And this is *exactly* my point.

Considering there’s a two to one (or, actually, 1.98 to 1) conversion rate, there should be *no* confusion, and yet there is….

22. @Adrian

Unlike you we are not so quick to ignore the gravity and implication of the spreadsheet with the many errors which is masquerading as a financial statement recording transactions for the Collaborative conference in Barbados 2008. BU continues to sieve through the many documents in our possession and we will attempt in this comment to clarify a few issues raised based on what we know:

The report that began this whole discussion appears to be the initial Canadian version of the Collaborative Report โ€“ (see report). Points to note in the report: i) The format is different. ii) Income excluded from the Canadian report miraculously is included on the NABO US report: a) Medford Creations $720.00 b) Transport Board Reimbursement $987.00 c) Anirbas Table Top $500.00 d) Chatterbox APN Trade Expo Advertiser $1,000.00 e) Xango Advertiser $500 reported to NABO, $750 reported to the Collaborative (Canada) f) $40,000.00 of In-kind gift was awarded to the Collaborative by the National Cultural Foundation (NCF), but not shown on either financial report.

It appears based on the report presented, those expenses that were paid for by the NCF were apparently charged out against other funds stated/collected. Begs the question where did the $40,000.00 go? At the Directors Meeting in Houston, Mike Cummins stated that NCF made promises, gave NABO nothing. Cash was withdrawn and they did not provide NABO with any assistance whatsoever. The NABO Bank Account shows that a total of US$39,986 was collected in online registration. This translates to Barbados $$79, 971.78. Only US$30,000.00 was actually transferred from the NABO Bank Account to an account in Barbados BDS$ 60,000, leaving US$9,986. This remaining amount was not equally divided with Canada and the UK as promised. It appears that some of the registration money may not have been deposited into the NABO account. Please see Ken Knightโ€™s (Chairman of NCF)  note detailing the $40,000.00 in-kind contribution that was omitted from all reports.

Ava Foster sent an official letter to the Prime Minister from the Barbados American Cancer Association. NABO Checking Account Report NABO Credit Card Report (with astounding late fees showing outrageously poor financial management) NABO Income Statement

BU has the credit card report but we have to spend dome time to edit the card number before posting. We will do so later. It would be good if the previous executive could jump in and to clarify any of the issues raised.

23. @David

Even the amended Collaborative report has errors. I got a hold of the souvenir journal and that organization BACA took out an advertisement for a full page that is not accounted for. Should that be another US$500/BDS$1,000. Should the balance not be BDS$9,426? Has a real reconciliation of the bank accounts been done. How come that not even a so called certified accountant could pick up basic bookkeeping? I am not an accountant and I readily saw an error.

I agree with you that the financial situation is of paramount importance. Is it yet not clear that this is not about Earl Ashby, Mike Cummins and Janice Bispham (since those are the one trying to blame the dissidents) but that knowledge about the facts, transparency and accountability are fundamental to a healthy demorarcy. Maybe, NABO is not healthy since Earl Ashby is quoted as saying it is dead. A ploy to make the issue go away.
    However, the Barbadians that have the interest of Barbados and the value of the tax payors money in these economic times should continue pressing for answers.

24. @ Chris

Referring to the $40,000. What I meant was as it pertains to the fianacial report; an item of $40, 000 is just that. I didn’t get into conversion and that type of rhetoric.

25. Of the three Boston organizations in NABO, BCCB has just started rebuilding within the past year; most of the old members are gone. It would be interesting to see what role if any they have played in NABO. Some of CHA members are also members of BUCF.

Other Boston Groups – no affiliation with NABO

Earl Ashby is the president of the Barbados Independence Dance Committee; its sole purpose is to put on the dance. That committee is not well liked due to perceive financial problems (aka what is the money used for besides the dance) and high prices of tickets.

Church Committee – sole purpose is the annual church service celebrating Barbados independence.

About four Bajan cricket teams are under Massachusetts State Cricket League (MSCL). MSCL is made up of about 12-15 teams, all from different islands, including India and Pakistan.

26. @Boston:
    Creditability must be earned around here, and one way to that is to bring documentary proof to substantiate your claims. No more โ€œBelieve you me when I sayโ€ or โ€œTrust me on thisโ€ Need I ask for you to โ€œshow me where the beef isโ€?

I am Happy to say that I can agree with you on Barbados Uh Cum Frum
    http://corp.sec.state.ma.us/corp/corpsearch/CorpSearchSummary.asp?ReadFromDB=True&UpdateAllowed=&FEIN=043329288
    GO all the way down, click on all filings.

NOW:
    Give us some specifics on BCCB. When was it started? By whom? When did it โ€œgo downโ€ What is the date of itโ€™s current resurrection? Who are itโ€™s principlas? Is it registered with the state and with the IRS? Who paid the NABO membership fee on BCCB behalf?
    Check here for Entities with the name Barbados as listed with the State.
    http://corp.sec.state.ma.us/corp/corpsearch/CorpSearchInput.asp

Type Barbados in the name field, scroll to the bottom and click search

What I found listed
    Barbados American Cultural Society Inc.
    Barbados Ex Police Association Of Boston Inc.
    Barbados Mutual society of New England, Inc
    Barbados Reality trust
    Barbados tacos llp
    Barbados Uh Cum Frum Inc.
    Barbados Union, Incorporated
    Caribbean Heritage Association

CRICKET TEAMS LISTED
    Middlesex sport club
    Caricom
    UAA
    Cavaliers : defunct; best bunch of guys i have ever played cricket with.
    Melbourne

Which one is the BCCB???? Barbados Mutual society????

27. @David:
    I would like to correct the following, comment I made earlier

“My issue here is not a case of possible malfeasance. I am not as concern about the accusations of possible impropriety, the issue with Microsoft Excel is believable.”

WITH THIS:

“My issue here is not a case of possible malfeasance. I am not as concern about the accusations of possible impropriety, the issue with Microsoft Excel is believable.” ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL!

Honestly I didn’t think it necessary to for me to dive into the finance aspect since you are doing a fantastic job bringing light to the dark recesses of Mike Cummins actions. But I honestly believe that persons can be challenged by MS Excel, I am, and so I will offer Mr. Cummins my copy of the Video professor’s Learning MS Excel dvd. He got tuh promise to give it back though. lol!

28. @ Adrian
    Check the name BARBADIAN CULTURAL COMMITTEE OF BOSTON
    For information on BCCB

Annual filings 1999 -2007 was done on 12/30/08
    2008 filings was done on 2/5/09

The article of organization was 12/20/85

See below

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
    William Francis Galvin
    Secretary of the Commonwealth, Corporations Division
    One Ashburton Place, 17th floor
    Boston, MA 02108-1512
    Telephone: (617) 727-9640

Entity Name: BARBADIAN CULTURAL COMMITTEE OF BOSTON, INCORPORATED, THE
    Annual Report
    2008 2/5/2009
    2006 12/30/2008
    2005 12/30/2008
    2001 12/30/2008
    2007 12/30/2008
    2003 12/30/2008
    2000 12/30/2008
    2004 12/30/2008
    2002 12/30/2008
    1998 12/30/2008
    1999 12/30/2008
    1994 6/8/1998
    1995 6/8/1998
    1997 6/8/1998
    1992 6/8/1998
    1993 6/8/1998
    1996 6/8/1998
    1986 1/14/1991
    1987 1/14/1991
    1988 1/14/1991
    1985 1/14/1991
    1990 1/14/1991
    1989 1/14/1991
    Articles of Amendment – 7/11/1986
    Articles of Organization – 12/20/1985

There are numerous gaps in the annual filings, this just make you ask more questions, who was running the organization when it was non-operational, how could they join NABO when they were non-operational, who was paying the NABO fees etcโ€ฆ?

Adrian, I am behind you will all of the questions, but please let us not rush to judgment and brush all the Boston groups with the same brush, even if they are well organized or not, liked or not.

29. This sad episode (and I don’t really care who’s right here) reminds me of the petty politics that permeates every aspect of our island. Anyone who’s ever been involved with sport at whatever level will know what I’m talking about. If only we could all focus our energies into real issues like, I don’t know, crime prevention and the environment, imagine what we could achieve. It’s a small island but we and our diaspora don’t need to be small minded.

30. sick of it all Avatar
    sick of it all

after reading and hearing about the going ons and misappropriation of funds, I now realize that the reasons I got out of BCCB a long time ago was a good thing to do. From way back when there have always been questions about the whereabouts of funds. Too much time was spent fussing about trivial things to make the organisation a success. an investigation should be launched to determine what happened to the monies. In any organisation there should always be 2 signatures on any money transactions. Soooooo my question is WHERE IS THE 2nd SIGNATURE on all the money transaction documentations that only Mike Cummins signed? Who gave him that power? Where was the chairman, the treasurer etc.?

31. @sink of it all
    What year did you get out of bccb? who were the leaders then?

I believe Earl and Mike are taking the postion that this will die soon, at which time they will emerge and pick up the pieces. ha ha ha h I gine laugh fuh now.

32. Non-profit, Charity and Other types of Annual Reports
    When most people think of Annual Reports they usually think of the corporate variety. Many non-profit organizations, foundations and charities produce annual reports. These reports can be useful for assessing the performance of an organization. These “non-corporate” reports will often consist of 4 sections:

Chairman of the Board letter
    Description of the charity, causes, actions, accomplishments, etc. of the organization
    Financial statement
    Directors and Officers
    A useful place to start in evaluating an organization is the description section. This section should describe the activities of the organization. It should be clear what the organization has accomplished and who it supports.

The list of directors and officers gives some idea who is associated with this organization. Are the directors respected in the community? What association do they have with other organizations and businesses in the community? The size of the board may be worth considering as anything over 15 can make board meetings difficult and unproductive.

The financial statement is one of the most important areas to carefully evaluate. This is often broken into:

CPA Opinion letter
    Income statement
    Balance sheet
    Footnotes
    The CPA opinion letter is especially important if there are qualifications. If there are no qualifications, the letter will be short and simply state that the organization has followed standard GAAP rules. If there are qualifications, these should be considered carefully.

The income statement is critical. It shows what money came in and where it went. The percentage of revenues going to salaries, G&A, management services and fund-raising expenses are important to consider. The NCIB (National Charities Information Bureau) recommendations that organizations spend at least 60% of annual expenses for program activities.

The Balance Sheet shows where funds have been placed over the years. The NCIB recommends that organizations

have net assets available for the following fiscal year of not more than twice the current year’s expenses or the next year’s budget, whichever is higher;
    not have a persistent and/or increasing deficit in unrestricted net assets.
    Footnotes are important to read as they can alert the reader to lawsuits, litigation, IRS problems, loans to directors or officers, loans for other purposes and “extraordinary charges”.

Most reputable charitable organizations will provide copies of their annual reports for the asking. It is wise to refrain from making significant donations to organizations who are not willing to provide financial information.

Links …

give.org – BBB Wise Giving Alliance
    Opening closed doors – A citizens guide to investigating nonprofit organizations. By Jean Field (March 12, 1997, SF Bay Guardian)
    Index of Philanthropic Advisory Service Reports – from the Better Business Bureau

33. @BU Family…

God I love the Internet!!!

@Boston…

Thanks, and LOL…

@A.Hinds…

Keep up the pressure… You’re having an effect….

34. Caribbean Heritage Association filed its annual report for 2004 yesterday.

Here are additional documents surrounding the 2008 Conference – Preliminary Budget, NABO Minutes October 21, 2007, NABO Minutes August 29, 2007

35. sick of it all Avatar
    sick of it all

@A. Hinds
    Was a member for about 2-3 years. John was the leader then, there was Mike and his wife, Earl, Anita, Naomi and some others who ruled the organisation. This stuff is nothing new, I recall an independence dinner and dance where large amounts of tickets were sold before and at the door, everyone was expected a big profit from that event and was jaw-dropping surprised when we told that the event made no money. So you see this is nothing new, just more smarter people asking the harder questions and dare to get up in the so-call leaders’ faces.So my question still remains how is it that Mike Cummins was allowed to sign and dole out all that cash independently. All organisations I am aware of always have 2 signatures on any monies that have to be donated, paid out or in any way removed from the organisation’s account. I have friends who are members of several organisations and not a penny goes out without accounting for the who where and when. Every penny has to be accounted for. So…. tell me how did he get away with it.

36. Just go! Have you no shame? Mike, Earl, Janice, Pauline, Martin, John Ellis, John Noel, Dana Lewis-Ambrose, Cora Rawlins, Marcia, Atley Clinton, I am begging you all to just go quietly. NOW!

You all failed to represent Barbados, and we no longer trust you. If you really care about your country, GO!!!!

37. So you all saying that litigation, IRS, government involvement? Give the Board of Directors some direction to get Earl Ashby, Mike Cummins, John Ellis , Martin Greenidge and Janice Bispham to give up the NABO organization’s property and demit office.

38. @Boston
    Thanks for the listing. No one i spoke to referred to BCCB as Barbadian, all said Barbados,but the blame goes to me for lack of thoroughness in pursuing my search.

….I want to correct you on your opinion regarding my efforts here. Never have i intended to paint all the groups with one brush, and further to this I have long seperated out the so called leaders of these groups from their rank and file members. When i came to the US back in ’93 at the age of 27, and the excitement of my first plane ride ever had worn off, as i settle in a chair in my relative’s dorchester home, I immediately told them, I wanted to return home, and I wasn’t kidding. Someone said wait, I know wuh you want. That evening they took me to a field where some bajans were practicing cricket, and as they say the rest is history. I moved out of Boston about 5 yrs ago (it was the cheapest tway to own a home) found a couple of Bajans near by and “we does hang”, but it isn’t the same as the crew in Boston. So I have decided that my summers will be spent doing what i like doing best, playing cricket, and talking politics in Boston. Till this day I does still walk up to people and ask them if duh is a bajan. All duh got to do is look familiar. So the groups that i am investigating are not the rank file Bajans who by and large are even more fed than i could ever be about stagnant affairs of THEIR CLUBS. I am investigating individuals who held these organizations to ransom, and as if these entities were their personal belongings.

@James
    you seem confused. First you tell us to put our energies towards something worthwhile and then you disappoint by the casual reference to a few things.

Politics is everything, and it is the abundance of thinking like yours that allows for the unchecked and runaway growth of situations like what is occuring with Boston base and Boston manage Bajan Organizations. Think about it and if you disagree, come back and i will detail for you, how so, it is.

39. @Concerned
    The first thing to be done is to gather all the financial reports, hand them over to a reputable CPA, from which they will issue a CPA opinion letter. From their you will need to get a Lawyer, preferably one that specializes in tax law, with a focus on non-profits which NABO is. With this approach you can present a two pronge Judicial relief action. One to bring lawfull accountibility bare on anyone, should there be proven fraud and or theft, and two, to have the depose executive, demit office by court order. I am willing to put a few dollar towards a fund to hire a CPA with a law degree and an a license.

40. they need jail time Avatar
    they need jail time

With all the neog. that went on in West Palm beach look what happen.How about those who drop out before they got started where are you! Iread the article from the Nation News and i do agree with a writer (lets give them a chance to prove themselves ) or go to jail. It happen before and here we go again what a disguss disgusting set of events.
    the tres. was the cook and the vice chair was the banker as usual so he should be able to answer alot of questions when the I.R.S come calling.

41. Yvette Christopher Avatar
    Yvette Christopher

@ sick of it all-

It is elementary how Mike Cummins -if he did- can ‘get away with it.’ It is the mentality of us bajans. One side of us let those who we think are our ‘friends’ do this sort of stuff to us, the other side are those of us who think it is all about us. Mike is not and will not be the first to get away with this, there are those much worst than he is. This does not let anyone of the hook, who has wronged the institution. With the ‘buck stops here’ attitude and the ‘so what’ they can get away with it. Those of us who would want to stand up and fight are the ones majority of the time, called the trouble makers and are something being ‘kick down’ with attempts to ‘sue’. We need to get rid of the colonial collar and face the facts, it is not about friends it is about a level of integrity and trust put in these organizations who carry a ‘guise to help de poor people.’ These attempts to help are at cost levels beyond any of our imaginations. What should happen is that NABO needs to be disbanded, but then again when you start wrong you got to end wrong. I think Rodney (correct me if I am wrong) did touch a bit on the history of NABO, (remember how Ken Knight got the leadership of the Melbourne Club) but that was only the tip of the iceberg, those of us who live in the US and are interested in how the Barbadian organizations operate will have some idea of it origins. Remember Clyde Griffith and his dealings with NABO, did they pay his wife what was due her yet? Tony Best wrote that story too! We will never rid ourselves of such scams, until we respect each other. But we cannot stop looking for justice, (that’s the reason it was created) we will continue to fight wrong and those who wrong us and our brothers. The funds of NABO belongs to the Barbadian people and their families and friends. Where government funding is concern, our govenmental agancis have to begin to do as some US charitable orgs. do, screen those asking for monetary assistance, we might not get all, but we won’t be scam as much as we see happening here. We must keep in mind there is alway one out there who think he has the anwer to the greatest scam.
    @Adrian,
    Whoever you are, I salute you, someone must stand up for the undergod.
    @Ava,
    NABO is fortunate that you have exposed this, it might be hard but sometimes you have to ‘breakdown de chicken coop to get rid of the mangoose’

To all interested in seeing the best of this situation, do not be dishearten by the UUUUUUUUUUUmmmmms, ride the wave!

42. sick of it all Avatar
    sick of it all

@ Yvonne Christopher
    hope it gets cleared up soon and the truth comes. I know that there are honest people out there, but Barbadian organisations here in USA seem to be always plagued with scams and dishonesty going all the way back to the beginning of NABO and Ken Knight. Several of the players in both fractions of NABO have themselves been involved with some kind of shady business, no names necessary, they know who they are. it’s nothing new, but it needs to stop.

43. @Adrain

No Problem. Please keep the pressure on.

44. A shame to be bajan right now Avatar
    A shame to be bajan right now

Does this need to be all over internet in this manner !!!!!! It is rather childish and not professional !!!!!

sad bajan

45. I have known Earl for many years. I was truly taken by surprise after learning that he is a party to this situation of which he has been accused. I was even more taken back when I read the way in which he chose to deal with the accusations.

In case Earl peeps at this site, please take these comments as constructive criticism. I would like to say publicly to him if you have made a mistake which you truly regret, don’t be afraid to own up to it. We are human; mistakes will happen from time to time and there is something called “second chances.”

I can’t tell people what I think they want to hear, so, I am putting it like this. If it is one of your assistants who may have unknowingly and unintentionally place himself, herself, you and other members in this situation not realizing that it could eventually come back to discredit and haunt you and/or NABO, take appropriate action be it friend or foe.

Earl, Mike and to all other involved parties, I also want to say that being defensive and arrogant when there is documentation to suggest wrong doing is not in your favor. The time has come to bite the bullet, accept your failure and ask for a new beginning.

To all of you who led the conference which has resulted in this ruckus that is taking NABO, or about to take NABO in another direction, I ask that each of you take a deep breath, reflect on yourself, your family, your organization and do the right thing; either step down or step out.

Earl, I can only image how you feel. You have to be strong. Face whatever consequences there maybe and with that learn from whatever mistakes you made in that leadership role.

I wish you, your cohorts and the entire NABO the very best in whatever the final outcome is.

46. A shame to be bajan right now // April 8, 2009 at 9:02 am

Does this need to be all over internet in this manner !!!!!! It is rather childish and not professional !!!!!

sad bajan
    ===========================
    Either you are a practitioner of “Socratic Irony” by which I MEAN, you know the answer, but want to educate those of us who donโ€™t. Or you are blissfully unaware that private discussions seeking a resolutions and answers failed miserably, before being brought to the peopleโ€™s court. People have an uncanny way of doing the right thing when their actions are brought to public. Ask any of those AIG employees who got millions for literally failing the company. Yuh think duh would have given it back without the public disclosure?

There is nothing to be ashamed of. The world has moved on from the days when people were held to such high and at times unrealistic standards, that it was expected of one to defend and deny mistakes at all cost, as the true statement โ€œto err is humanโ€ was ignored. Todayโ€™s World looks eagerly at the reaction to incidents of wrong doing, and the action to prevent similar occurrences in the future. Transparency and openness are the new approaches to our relationships; people want to know whatโ€™s going on. Get on the train, the hush-up society you left in Barbados many years ago, no longer exist. Professionalism cannot superceed Transparency and openness. It could be argued that if Professionalism was exercise with the delivery of the financial reports, with the attendance to meetings, with communication from the Executive Chair and the Collaborative Chair (silence from Mike Cummins) NABO may have been in different place today.

But we โ€œgineโ€ deal with what IS, and do so in the open. Such will protect the principals of our clubs, and organizations from rumor and gossip, and would make it difficult for rumor and gossip to take-hold in the first place.

47. Tuh tell yuh the truth if yuh know anything about philosophy, you would know that it is believe that a child’s curiosity, and propensity to blurt out the truth as they see it, is a requirement for developing your own mirror image of reality.

A Child and truth go well with each other.

48. Well-Wisher // April 8, 2009 at 9:25 am

I have known Earl for many years. I was truly taken by surprise after learning that he is a party to this situation of which he has been accused. I was even more taken back when I read the way in which he chose to deal with the accusations.
    ===========================

The focus of the problems is the action of the Chairman of the collaborative chair one Mike Cummins. He was the one person central to the 2008 conference, he has or should have the answers but he is not talking, and Earl is not calling on him to speak up, so this is how Earl is implicated in this. It is also the way for Earl to untangle himself from it. Will he? Can he?

49. Interesting article, very good post.

50. Don't overthrow the Captain Avatar
    Don’t overthrow the Captain

If you don’t know how to sail a ship. Where is the new captain and the crew members.?What is the new captain doing about the rough seas and the ship?. Are you planning on going down with the ship? or will you step off and leave the passengers. Ship Ahoy