naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. We wonder what our Bajans in the UK orgs are thinking. So far their lack of a comment on the NABO issue is starting to grow loud by the their silence.

2. Knowzee hay agen. Uh late dis mournin but yuh know um is de weeken.

Uh see yuh still gout de lamp burning and de flame high. Doan lem um go out beef four wuhna finish cooking. Uh see to dat a puss n boots and johnie cum lately trying tuh put back a lid pun de pot but dey mite be too late. Doan leh nuh bodies tek wuhna off de beat.

I en name Knowzee fuh nuttun I did sum knowzeeing around. Licorish is a tax accountant in Boston. Uh gone fuh now.

3. OMG, this is getting bigger than a bread box. The pieces are so big that it is hard to keep the lid on. One of the pieces is the removal of the execs legality and the other piece is a MUCH BIGGER piece which is supposedly the misuse of funds.

No offense to Mr. Ashby or the people reading but in Mr. Ashby’s remarks it reminds me of Governor Rod Blagojevich.

With all the allegations put forth, this may eventually reach the Florida Government and the IRS. Could that be another nail in the coffin for NABO.

4. @Curious
    I am not sure what it is you said that could have cause someone to reach out to Earl Ashby. Could you point it out for me?
    Yes the financials have to be audited, do not forget that is a request of the members that was not met and that is partial to the decision to depose the Asby executive.

I have to ask, have we all be so long away from Barbados not to recall the near cultural pasttime of rumour and gossip about “money being thiefed” by the leaders of any number of social clubs, whether they be cricket, football, 4h, boyscouts etc. Rumours of stealings from groups has been common place amongst us for as long as i can recall. As no one sought to deal the potential for such? Don’t we think that a mechanism rooted in transperancy and openess would go a long way on combating this propensity for bajan to assume somebody helping themselves to money? Can any of us say that the way the finance has been handle of the collabrative chair lends to this transperancy and openess? With the apparency of differing financials, and apportioning accounting errors on an excel formula, and demanding secrecy from persons who recieved the report, how does any of this seek to combat what can be describe as a know cultural pasttime for Bajans to say “duh thiefing de money?”

5. I have been told the Barbados organizations in Boston are 1. BCCB 2.BUCF 3.CHA, and 4. NABO.

Not sure which organization spearheads the Barbados Independence Ball.

6. QUEASY STOMACH Avatar
    QUEASY STOMACH

Two critical issues are to be resolved (1) the leadership (2)The sloppy accounting.(stage 1)
    I would like the Presidents of all the financial organizations (you know who you are) to Cast one vote for or against with the permission of the general body to support the elected executive or the dissidents. This should determine the leadership. The next step select an external team, selected by the Embassy of Barbados which should include a certified auditor to be paid by NABO, without the cronies or dissentors.
    Lets take it from here the court is expensive, but then again lots of money is floating around. Lots of damage is also done but we all are in this stew as Barbadians.

7. they need jail time Avatar
    they need jail time

with the involvement of so many with no resolution, is it south Carolina or bust!

OR MAY BE

Florida in September.

8. @ Queasy Stomach
    Read the report from Cheryl Thompson that was already tried; it’s obvious it has failed. Now is the time for Earl Ashby, Michael Cummins, John Ellis, Martin Greenidge and Janice Bispham to acknowledge they have been ousted, they have abused their positions; turn over the property, allow the financials to be audited and deal with the circumstances that they have collectively caused. No more room left for negotiations for allowing them to stay. What you are saying here is that the group that took up the charge for transparency and accountability was all for nought? Don’t think so.

9. Sapidillo // April 4, 2009 at 12:06 pm

I have been told the Barbados organizations in Boston are 1. BCCB 2.BUCF 3.CHA, and 4. NABO.

Not sure which organization spearheads the Barbados Independence Ball.
    =====

Bccb: Barbados cultural commitee of Boston. This John W Licorish’s group I have no idea what this group has achieved, or what they do, Yet I have been told their existance predates my arrival in “93. If i find a website I shall post it, take a look , and be informed.

BUCF:
    Barbados Uh Come From: I think this group fancies themselves to be the Sing Out Barbados of Boston. Beyond singing at cultural events, I need to educated on their other activities. I have not found a website as yet.

CHA:
    Caribean Heritage Association. In existance since 1986. I don’t hear much anything about this organization. A sizable number of Bostonian Barbadians are affiliated with the predominantly Bajan Middlesex, UAA, Melbourne, and to a lesser extent Caricom cricket clubs and hardly any of these people mix with CHA people. As i have said I met Earl Ashby once, and Michael Cummins never. http://chaboston.org

From what i understand the Independence ball commitee and I believe the Independence church service commitee are often times refered too as organizations. lol!

NABO: cannot be concidered a Boston base organization

10. Intersting reading. I am surprised it took this long realize that NABO was just for show.

11. @David I hope you keep this page up for a while. I suspect that we may be visited by any number of Bajan Bostonians, who may feel compel,in light of what is occuring, to tell us their opinions of the Earl Ashby, Michael Cummins , and John Licorish run organizations.

12. @Adrian

We will for a while.

We are interested in the outcome of meeting which Rodney’s org will have today. We take this opportunity to urge all those other Bajan reading this blog from across US and Canada to place the required pressure on their leadership to help resolve the NABO conflict. We have to represent the yellow blue!!!

13. After some careful research we will have lots of eggs and politics watch out. Be able to support what you say with facts.

14. My analysis of what I conclude to be the major issue in all this is Trustworthiness. The issues that need to be dealt with are:
    1. Revision of discrepancies on revenue and expenses statements
    2. Misuse of certain funds without proper approval
    3. Annual reports filed with State and Federal governments
    4. Removing current officers.

The statements show some bills paid in $US and some paid in $BDS currency. Which currency was converted so that it was one currency? When these matters are sorted out, NABO maybe able to get back to the concerns of Barbados and Barbadians.

Earl as chairman will take the blame. But he should not be singled out in all this frenzy. From the documents shown Mike played a bigger role. His signature is on all the documents involving what monies should be paid and to whom. There was no second signature. As for the Treasurer itโ€™s still not clear what role he played in any of this. At the end of the day, there is enough blame to go around.

For accusations like these to reach the Prime Ministerโ€™s office, as reported in the Nation, is pathetic.

All good things must come to an end. The end maybe near. A house that is divided against it self could never stand.

15. Who is the Barbados Community Foundation. Where is it located?

I hope NABO requested a receipt since the donation was presented in cash.

16. TAKE HEED // April 5, 2009 at 8:49 am

After some careful research we will have lots of eggs and politics watch out. Be able to support what you say with facts.
    ==========================

@ Take Heed
    I’ll take heed if you agree to take a Hike. At this late stage with all the emails, records of minutes, and financial documents listed you find it prudent to tell us, take pause, to slow down etc. For what purpose?, or should i say for whose benefit? The Boston/Massachusetts Bajan community should have there say.

17. @Cardinal
    I have asked and stated the same with regards to Mike Cummins.

18. Here is a link to the Barbados Advocate which explains a little about Barbados Community Foundation (BCF) and the co-ordinator Colleen Inniss Gittens who performs a coordinator role for NABO in Barbados. You have to click on the link to see her picture) If this is a charitable entity it would make sense that BCF was required to donate monies to local charities. Was this the case?

Article pasted below:

BCF launches campaign

11/3/2008

By Alicia Dells

With the aim of offering assistance to the less fortunate children in Barbados, the Barbados Community Foundation (BCF) has rolled out their 2008 โ€œGive a dollar, get a smileโ€ fundraising campaign, geared at boosting their Childrenโ€™s Education Fund.

The fundraiser, which is now into its second year, commenced yesterday and will continue for the remainder of November, with collection containers being placed at schools and businesses across the island. Fundraising and Marketing Co-ordinator of the BCF, Colleen Inniss-Gittens, in an interview with the Barbados Advocate, noted that the foundation is hoping to exceed their

target of Bds$30 000 this year and would therefore like corporate Barbados and communities to come on board and support this worthy cause.

Noting that the eight-year-old charity was interested in ensuring that children are able to take advantage of edu-cational opportunities, the fundraising co-ordinator pointed out that their
    research has indicated many instances where students are unable to go to school and function well because of certain needs.

Inniss-Gittens further outlined that the BCF is generally concerned with lending assistance to other charities, but decided to undertake the โ€œGive a dollar, get a smileโ€ campaign as a means of doing some hands-on work.

โ€œWe wanted to do something that is hands-on, we do a lot of work but a lot of it is done by means of gifting, where we assist other charities by providing the funds that they need to achieve their objectives,โ€ she said.

The proceeds from the campaign will go towards the Foundationโ€™s Childrenโ€™s Education Fund, which is used to provide uniforms and school supplies for youngsters and offers assistance to existing school breakfast programmes in addition to those in the start up phase. With the assistance of the Child Care Board, the BCF is hoping to identify those children who are needy and provide them with the required school supplies.

Pointing out that the campaign has been endorsed by the Ministry of Education, Inniss-Gittens admitted that last yearโ€™s drive was not as successful as anticipated, especially within the schools, since the campaign date presented some degree of challenge.
    โ€œโ€ฆwe collected about $13 000, but it was not as successful as we had hoped.

We had the campaign last May to coincide with Child Month, however once we got started in the schools, we
    learnt that the third term was a bad time since the kids were caught up with exams. Even though the schools responded, many of theย  principals suggested that they could do more if it was in the first term, so we have adjusted the date,โ€ she explained.

In an effort to motivate the children into giving generously, each child that donates during the fundraiser will receive one of the stickers specially designed for the campaign. Moreover, a first and
    second prize will be awarded to the students that create the best

stickers, which would be used for next yearโ€™s campaign. There willย  also be a special prize for the school that collects the most funds.

Persons interested in giving to this cause can contact the BCF or visit the primary and secondary schools across Barbados as well as FirstCaribbean International Bank, Butterfield Bank, Barbados
    National Bank, Super Centre Supermarkets, Barbados Yacht Club, Guardian General Insurance Limited and the Barbados Public Workers’ Co-operative Credit Union Limited.

According to the marketing coordinator, the BCF has donated over $ 2.5 million dollars to date and continues to work closely with charitable organisations in Barbados addressing the needs of the less fortunate.

19. Ms. Inniss-Gittens dropped NABO like a hot plate as soon as she heard of their current troubles.

20. @Bajan

Please explain, are you talking about the current impasse? If so how would she have known and why would she drop given that the next conference will not be held in Barbados?

21. Can somebody explain if “Colleen Inniss-Gittens further outlined that the BCF is generally concerned with lending assistance to other charities”; the marketing coordinator of BCF and a hired paid , consultant for NABO why would she be taking a $5,017 donation from another charitable organizaton (NABO) when really she should be helping them do in the USA (for Barbadians) what her organization is doing in Barbados. Based on the reports and invoices that her company’s name is attached to, should she be held liable for for not preparing a audited report as consultant for the Collaborative? If there should be any litigation should she be subpoenaed as an accomplice?

22. Yes, it was rumored that Ms. Gittens was also hired for the South Carolina conference. The NABO people could answer the question regards to why she dropped them.

23. @Adrian & company
    When all of you are tired and weary in the totally dark underground, wandering around aimlessly, running into each other, babbling along to each other mindlessly about things that are viled, rumored and slanderous, perhaps a little tiny light will shine in the far corner, where all of you will dash for, falling over each other, scratching and crawling in your pitiful states. No wonder you cannot make any meaningful, intelligent or worthwhile suggestions to this situation because you are just being a product of your environment and do not know any better. May the almighty some time soon pay you a visit and bring you and company from the dark underground. I will pray for that day.

24. @ummmmm

Whether you want to admit it or not this matter has been mismanaged by NABO and it has resulted in the Nation correspondent in the USA filing a report to the Nation newspaper. Your dirty linen is now in the public domain.

Secondly Cheryl Thompson the former head of the Houston org and Interim Chair of NABO has expressed concerns as well as Rodney Marshall who heads a Florida org. Reading Cheryl’s report it seems that quite a few other orgs believe the same thing.

You need to address those people who have declared their positions under their names, You remain a nameless coward in the wing taking pot shots at people who are trying to get you guys to manage your shit and keep the yellow blue out of the mud.

25. @ummmmm

The God that I fear and serve, isn’t the same one that you seem to have in your pocket, and that you can call on to do your wicked deeds.

…I am on the internet posting using my real name, what about you? Who is in the dark and needs to be brought to light?

Bajan Bostonians should be talking about this for some time to come.

26. Ava Foster (Chairman of BACA) Avatar
    Ava Foster (Chairman of BACA)

@ Cheryl Thompson

Thanks for making a statement and stating the facts as they had unfolded.

Earl Ashby and his executive on March 8, 2009 had the opportunity to attend the telemeeting collectively to save NABO; with his Executive Council of 10 members and his 4 or 5 members in New England he could have easily had the majority of votes to keep them in power,and would have been democratic and accepted; but because of his arrogance he instructed his committee not to participate and is now refusing to demit office.

@ Bajan

Can confirm that Colleen Inniss-Gittens was retained for the conference in South Carolina. Contract was signed on July 21, 2008, copy of document in my possession. No approval from the BOD. See Article X1V (Board of Directors) Section 3. The Board of Directors may appoint such agents and engage such employees as it shall deem necessary from time to time and such persons shall have such authority and shall perform such duties as shall be prescribed by the Board of Directors at the time of such appointment. The remuneration of all officers, agents, employees, and committee members shall be fixed by the Board of Directors.

Background:

I have been following all the breaking news; some malicious and some that people hide behind the anonymity of a blog. I give a lot of gratitude to those anonymous fans that have acknowledge my leadership qualities; I am humble.

To those persons who asked what I have done for NABO? In the short time that BACA has been a member of NABO. My organization BACA prepared the Disaster Recovery Proposal that was presented to the Prime Minister at the Collaborative Conference in Barbados even thought BACA was NEVER acknowledged as the author of that said document.

I am one of those members (director) behind the charge for NABOโ€™s former executive to do the โ€˜right thingโ€™. I am torn between if it is fortunate or unfortunate that I am the person whose questions have been the source of this current impasse. I must admit that I am the author of those documents on behalf of my organization; a financial member of NABO and by extension a Director. Let me state emphatically that the questions were all based on facts from documents that were presented by the former Executive committee.

After being a director for ONLY 2 meetings. I believe that we the organizations exist as members in name ONLY, to help NABO make money and attend conferences. We are not considered partners and have never been allow to actively participate in the management of NABO. Article 1V (Powers) Section 1. States the legislative powers shall be vested in the Board of Directors. This has manifested itself in the way they are acting at his time because members in the past have never challenged their unconstitutional activities. And by not doing so has created NABOโ€™s demise.

Why should the Board of Directors have to wait until South Carolina to get answers to questions that are critical to the day to day operation of NABO? Is this a way of getting around having to answer the questions when the constitution doesnโ€™t make provisions for a BOD meeting in July? Article V11 (Board of Directors) Section 5. โ€œMeeting of the Board of Directors may be held at any time and place to be determined by the directors providing (10) clear days notice of such meeting shall be sent in writing of each director, provided that there shall be at least one (1) meeting per year of the Board of Directors.โ€

Was this meeting to be held in SC sanctioned by 10 or more members or was the decision of the former Chairman?

I have asked for the minutes of all meetings held in 2008 since I was new to the directorship and wanted to be fully informed and could ask intelligent questions. Article V111 (National Executive Council) Section 5. Action may be taken by the Chairman of the Corporation at any time by informal meeting, by letter, fax or by telephone consultation. All decisions made, and action taken, by the national Executive Council shall be recorded in writing and reported to all of the Board of Directors within two (2) weeks. Article XX (Minutes of the Board of Directors and Executive Council) Section 1. The minutes and records of the Board of Directors also the minutes and records of the National Executive Council shall not be available to the general membership of the corporation but shall be available to the Board of Director each of whom shall receive a copy of such minutes and records.

Have requested copies of the sponsorship packages and relative documents and to date have not received any.

The violations of the following articles are the MAIN reasons for the meeting being called on March 8, 2008 that ousted those officers of NABO.

Article XX111 (Fiscal Matters)

Section 2.All funds of the corporation shall be deposited on month after receipt to a financial institution approved by the Board of Directors.

Section 4. All monetary transactions shall be made in the name of the Corporation. All checks or withdrawals pertaining to the outgoing funds shall be signed jointly by the Treasurer with either the Chairman, Vice Chairman or Secretary.

Article XXV (Auditors)

The Directors shall receive from the Treasurer financial reports at least 10 days prior to each meeting and shall make provisions for an annual audit (more frequently if required) of the books and accounts. Said audit(s) shall be made by a competent accountant. Who shall have a current permit to practice accounting and shall show all receipts and disbursements made by the Corporation during the fiscal year. A copy of the said audit(s) shall be furnished to all Directors.

Article XXV1 (Books and Records)

Section 1. The Directors shall see that all necessary books and records of the Corporation required by the By-Laws of the Corporation by any applicable statute or law are regular and properly kept.

The following is email showing the arrogance of the former chairman that continues to exist. He is telling the Barbadian Diaspora that a group of insurgents are destructive to NABO. You have now gotten most of the facts from a few of us that are leading the charge. Whatโ€™s next?

Please ask your readership to encourage Earl to stop abusing the authority that he was afford to represent us under the umbrella of NABO.

—– Forwarded Message —-
    To: Ava Foster
    Sent: Monday, March 30, 2009 9:09:13 PM
    Subject: Re: PRO !!!!

NO.

—–Original Message—–
    Date: Monday, March 30, 2009 8:55:49 pm
    To: eashecs@hotmail.com
    Cc: cherylxthompson@;dbulbulia@;cmayers@
    Subject: Re: PRO !!!!

Earl,

I only wished that I could decipher what you are trying to get across here. If you didn’t fully understand the statement that I made; there was a lot of sarcasm used to expose and discredit vice or folly; and show that it is your arrogance that have brought about such a scandal during a time when you are trying to promote a conference in South Carolina.

You continue to amaze me that you can easily respond to emails that really don’t address the issues regarding the finances of NABO and the BOD concerns; and blatantly refuse to address factual email.

This is not about you; rather about what is right and what is wrong. At this juncture you have “self destruct” the organization, it was done when you refuse to sit with the BOD that elected you as chairman; to discuss critical issues regarding NABO’s finances and protocol.

Earl, there is still time for you avoid further self embarrassment and come to the table and be accountable and transparent; we collectively can save NABO.

Regards,

Ava

Sent: Monday, March 30, 2009 4:57:31 PM
    Subject: PRO !!!!

As was stated before, you will finish what you have started. Baring statements and NABO’s confidential information to a Bajan Underground paper and now concern of the type of PR to move the SC conference forward.
    NOW, you MUST finish what you have started; the destruction of NABO. After the dust has cleared, we would have gone our separate ways. Thank you very much.

— On Mon, 3/30/09, Ava Foster wrote:

Subject: Fw: Emailing: National Association Of Barbados Organizations (NABO) In The USA Accused Of Financial Impropriety ยซ Barbados Underground.htm
    To: bajan5425@yahoo.com
    Cc: cmayers@, “Cheryl Cherrie , dbulbulia@, easchecs@
    Date: Monday, March 30, 2009, 9:51 AM

This is the type of PRO that is needed to move forward with a conference in South

27. @David
    When Cheryl Thompson spoke of harassing phone calls she wasn’t joking. This sort of petty childish intimidatory behaviour, is common occurrence around here. It is one of the principle reason the same tired faces are running these organizations. Honest smart Bajans with a desire to SERVE their fellow BARBADIANS and not themselves, have been forced to stay away. But once in a while a cadre of persons come along who seek neither office or membership with any group, does not seek friendship or access to the inner circle of select individuals , and that carries a fearlessness, and confidence to ask the tough questions of anyone. I can fight as dirty or be as civil as any potential adversary wants. I will not back down.

28. Ignore ummmmm. His or her goal is to change topic and take people off message. No need to respond to his weak attacks.

29. @David
    These people probably left Barbados at a time when this kind of behavior may have been commonplace, and bajans would have only whispered about it. Speaking out about it and calling for reforms rooted in transparency and openness, may very well present a watershed event to them, and the only response they probably know is to attempt to silence those asking the questions. To them we must know our place. It would not be a surprise to me if Earl Ashby were furious with Tony Best for writing that article. His line of thinking could have led him to think that after wine-ing and dining Tony at a few of these collaborative conferences, how could he now turn on us?? The idea of someone being mature and professional and can easily separate their personal feeling and associations from their professional duties, could very well be impossibility to these people.

30. TAKE HEED

Take heed , take pause are two different things I Will take a hike. Referring to Boston Community should be THEIR .

31. TAKE HEED // April 5, 2009 at 10:30 pm

TAKE HEED

Take heed , take pause are two different things I Will take a hike. Referring to Boston Community should be THEIR
    =========================
    Not vastly different, but Thanks! Have a great hike. chuspe!

Their???? i have never seen that word before what could it ever mean? lol! But how do you know this to be the correct word that i should have used? Is it possible that you understood what i said inspite of the error?

32. Bajan // April 5, 2009 at 2:33 pm

Ms. Inniss-Gittens dropped NABO like a hot plate as soon as she heard of their current troubles
    ————————————————————————————————————————
    Having read the Advocate article, I would not be surprise if Colleen disconnected herself from NABO in fear of what could be about to explode even further.

Earlier a commenter wrote, โ€œA donation of $5,017 was given to help fatten the bottom line of an already profitable organization in Barbados, who by the way Colleen Inniss-Gittens is on the Fundraising committee.โ€ And in one of the emails a NABO member raised this question, โ€œIs it that the consulting company, Innovative Business Solutions WROTE THEIR OWN CHECKS hence the reasons for them PAYING THEMSELVES approximately $60, 000 (assuming it BD$)?โ€
    Invoices show Colleen is the consultant at the above company. If she gets 20% commission from non-profit organizations, I dare not ask what her commission is working with a profitable organization.

We may never know if Colleen received $10,000 or $5,017 for her charity BCF.

Isnโ€™t it a coincidence that “the 6 ads where the funds are not accounted for includes pages, 90 (Caribbean Heritage).” Isnโ€™t Mr. Ashby the current President of that org, CHA? Hmmnnn

Who will be added to the list next.

33. Desmond // March 30, 2009 at 4:35 pm

There is a tiny group of NABO dissendents made up of Cheryl Thompson, Ava Foster, Dale Husbands and Roslyn Sealy who engineered and executed these totally untrue statements about NABO and itsโ€™ execs. They called it a โ€œtakeoverโ€, declaring themselves the new Executive, but a closer look show that there is a political motivator in Florida behind the plan. This whole thing is going to be reveal real soon.
    ——————————–

@ Desmond:
    Real soon Desmond? We still waiting.

34. Can’t you see that Desmond is an IDIOT.

35. The Barbados Association of Central Florida
    P.O. Box 680688
    Orlando, Fl 32818

6 April 2009

Dear Sir/Madam:
    On Sunday, April 5, 2009, the Board of Directors of the Barbados Association of Central Florida (BAOCF), held a Directors meeting as part of our normal calendar of events. At this meeting the Board of Directors voted to resign membership from the National Association of Barbados Organizations Inc., effective immediately. Several reasons were cited for the decision to permanently leave NABO after only less than 3 months of rejoining this national body. Some of the main reasons identified were:
    1. The Executive Board profound acts of disrespect by ignoring continued requests for information and clarification of issues
    2. Lack of transparency regarding NABOโ€™s finances
    3. Liabilities that the BAOCF could incur if our membership in NABO is continued
    4. Poor stewardship by the Executive Board
    5. Extremely poor accounting practices by NABOโ€™s leadership
    The Barbados Association of Central Florida is requesting that NABO immediately remove the BAOCF logo or name from any NABO related documents. Please accept this document as our formal request of resignation from the National Association of Barbados Organizations, Inc.

Dr. Dale Husbands (President)
    Barbados Association of Central Florida

36. Typical Dr. Grasshopper – are you gone for good this time? Won’t you stay and help them rebuild? Come on Doc – they need you, and all the one like you who have all the answers. What a shame!

37. In Boston
    CHA – Earl Ashby – President

Barbados Independenc Ball – Earl Ashby – President

John Licorish – Honorary Counsul – Founder Barbados Independence Ball.

Note: The 2008 indepedence ball cancelled less than a week before event due to POOR PLANNING/double booking

Barbados UH CUM FROM – no affiliation with either men

Independence Church Committee – John Licorish member only

38. @Concern
    If Earl Ashby refuses to demit the executive chair of NABO, then i can understand why a member org. would demit it’s membership of NABO.

Under which organization’s banner, did Earl Ashby and before him Mike Cummins, use to become affiliated with NABO?

How many Boston base, Massachusetts base, and New England base organizations are members of NABO?

39. CHA Boston
    President Earl Ashby
    Vice-President Atley Clinton

NABO – Boston Organization Members
    CHA
    BCCB
    BUCF

Atley Clinton – NABO – Regional Director North

The question is which Boston Organization is Mike Cummins a member of CHA?

40. which boston group is mike cummins a member of?

NABO Boston members
    CHA
    BCCB
    BUCF

41. I see the Big Black Sheep in Florida had her Little Radio lambs from Atlanta doing her dirty work! Bah Bah Big Black Sheep. Shame, shame again.

42. @ Adrian Hinds

Barbados American Cultural Society of Springfield (Not Financial)
    Barbados American Sociaty Hartford (Financial)
    Barbados Committee of Boston (Financial)
    Barbados Uh Cum Frum (not financial)
    Caribbean Heritage (financial)

43. Thanks for the responses all.

I made mention of the existing Boston base Bajan Organization to develop the point that I believe they are for the most part barely functioning (CHA the exception). I believe that there is little attempt to grow them (CHA included). I also believe, that most Barbadians in Boston seems to distance themselves from these groups and that the Cricket teams combined seem to have the largest interest, of any grouping in Boston. Another distinct point I want to bring attention too, is the Boston Based NABO member organizations. Who joined them to NABO? Who are the Principles of these organizations? Are they current?

BCCB: Barbados cultural committee of Boston. I have not been able to find any website or any listings that suggest it is a functioning, let alone a vibrant organization. Who joined BCCB to NABO? Is their membership valid and current per the bylaws of NABO? Here is what I have found about BCCB

BCCB: Barbados Cultural Committee of Boston
    According to http://www.caribbeanvoice.com/org.htm , this has not been updated since March 2000
    Naomi Griffith (President)
    P.O.Box 288
    Boston, MA 02136
    (508)-584-1556
    If yuh know Massachusetts, area code 508 is for the Cape and Islands.

BUCF: Barbados Uh Cum Frum: Again, I cannot find any listing online or otherwise that lends to an organization of worth, and I am not saying or suggesting that they are not, I simply donโ€™t know. Yet BUCF is listed as a member organization of NABO. Who joined them to NABO? Is their membership current and valid per the bylaws of NABO? Here is what I have found about A BUCF, which I do not think is the same.

Barbados Uh Cum Frum Inc
    According to this google cached webpage, is/was a clothing store?
    http://74.125.47.132/search?q=cache:PdwuTR0Dz14J:www.allbusiness.com/companyprofile/Barbados_Uh_Cum_Frum_Inc/26D79FE89463A6A64CE4BC293C3E1274-1.html+Barbados+Uh+Cum+Frum&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us
    52 Hallowell ST.
    Boston, Massachusetts 02126-1738
    (617)296-3299, if yuh know Massachusetts 617-296 Is in Milton Massachusetts. It is not in service

Can anyone shed any light on any part of the above?

44. Thanks for the info.

45. As you can see from the above letter written by the President of the Central Florida Organization the excutive board voted to withdraw from NABO.

46. @ Adrian Hinds

You have opened a whole nudder issue. Somebody mentioned previously that the elections in West Palm were rigged. Those Boston organizations are part and parcel why. They exist on paper only. The election committee was headed by a Atley Clinton from Boston a member of one of those non-existence organizations. When the former secretary Jackie Jordan questioned the absentee votes she was black listed and not allowed to see the votes. It was stated that 22 member organization voted in West Palm; where did they come from. The 2007 financial report didn’t show any funds collected for dues close to $2,200 and wouldn’t have because the dues would have been for 2008. The 2008 financial report shows $900 collected for dues. The financial members as of 3 weeks ago were as follows – BACA, CA, Melbourne South Florida, Orlando, USVI, Texas, Jacksonville, Boston (not sure with one), Atley’s organization (not sure which one), Hartford, Washington, Philadelphia, NY, Bermuda.
    Earl Ashby and his cronies really think that some people are backward johnnies. Sorry story they are being attacked by a small group. Hope the NABO criminals are eventually brought to justice.

47. BCCB has recently resurrected after being off the scene for many years.
    It held its first annual spring ball on March 21. It has new faces running the organization.

48. BUCF has been low keyed for quite some time.
    Some of the members of BCCB, BUCF and CHA are affiliated with all 3.

49. Whilst monitoring VOB news today we heard Cheryl news giving her perspective on the role NABO SHOULD be playing to help develop Barbados because most Barbadians in the Diaspora aspire to return home in their retirement years. She used the QEH as an example where NABO can help to ensure that when they retire they can expect a good healthcare to what they are accustomed in the USA.

Seems she has been school in PR as well as law.

50. Sapidillo // April 6, 2009 at 7:14 pm

BCCB has recently resurrected after being off the scene for many years.
    It held its first annual spring ball on March 21. It has new faces running the organization.
    ————————————————
    Tell us more,who are they?

…..These NABO people from Boston do not represent many people. Verbal comments on the ground thus far has not been favourable to them

@Concern
    Does the bylaws seek to define what constitutes a legitimate bajan organization fit for membership? i.e is there a requirement, for size, state/federal registration etc? Lets say I am part of a 8 family group that alternates traveling to each other houses on most weekends to have fun celebrate birthdays and other special occasions, could this group pay the usd 100 fee and become a member of NABO?