naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. Adrian you seemed to know so much about this whole NABO disaster. Are you part of the problem or the solution? just a question. I am not that familiar with NABO,therefore I can’t really say too much. Are you a member of one of the organizations under the NABO umbrella? And at anytime did you attend one of their conferences that everyone is talking about in this blog?

2. The person asking Adrian if he is a member? Do you have a name, or are you just another person attempting to divert from the main issue.

3. BAOCF have pulled away from NABO now for the third time, we have left each time because of problems with transparency. They elections are never above board and always have problems with suppling a financial report

4. @ Don’t overthrow the Captain
    If the captain had a ship that was not full of holes maybe she could sail it. She is taking over a ship that the former captain has sunk and delared it as ‘dead”. Read the Nation and the following and see why it is dead. Early nor Mike can explain themselves out of this mess that they have been involved with for so long.

Date: Tue, 22 Apr 2008 11:35:54 -0700
    Subject: Re: Sponsorship money/registration money
    To: caribenter@aol.com
    CC: eashecs@hotmail.com; Rupert.Forde@leg.gov.mb.ca; bajan5425@yahoo.com; nppar23@googlemail.com; johnellis700@hotmail.com; SANDRA62@ROGERS.COM; hillypad@hotmail.com; jcarring@sympatico.ca; acrc-advice@tiscali.co.uk; Sandra_asgill@och.ca; blackrockboy@hotmail.com; j.perrystraker@btinternet.com

Hello Mike,
    Thanks for your response.
    I did mention to the people at our general meeting last night that NABO is not asking Canada or the UK to put up anything toward the conference. Also, that they are expenses which have to be paid up front and it would be easier to pay them from where you are than trying to pay them from Barbados.
    However, when it comes to money, our people here do ask questions.

So far, I have six names submitted to me of people who will be attending. Three more have hinted that they might be attending. The hint is because they have recently returned from Barbados and are trying to decide if to go back so soon. Cost of travel is a factor from the west coast. Two more have requested information on the packages.

Incidentally Mike, a couple of the people at the meeting said they have attended receptions at the Prime Minister’s residence. They spoke very highly of the receptions.

Now, having said all that, send me something in a separate e-mail I can forward. I am trying to do the best I can to sell the conference out here, but I have some tough people to face.

Thanks,
    Grafton

—– Original Message —–
    To: graftonrouse@shaw.ca
    Cc: eashecs@hotmail.com ; Rupert.Forde@leg.gov.mb.ca ; bajan5425@yahoo.com ; nppar23@googlemail.com ; johnellis700@hotmail.com ; SANDRA62@ROGERS.COM ; hillypad@hotmail.com ; jcarring@sympatico.ca ; graftonrouse@shaw.ca ; acrc-advice@tiscali.co.uk ; Sandra_asgill@och.ca ; blackrockboy@hotmail.com ; j.perrystraker@btinternet.com
    Sent: Tuesday, April 22, 2008 5:08 AM
    Subject: Re: Sponsorship money/registration money

Grafton,

I thought we as a committee agreed on the ground rule and arrangements in planning this conference. People attending this conference has no business to be concern with what happens to the registration money on this conference. Are they concerned about who is paying for all the arrangements in Barbados. Grafton while we are at it can you tell me how many of these concerned people are attending this conference to make an impact or to help defer the cost of this conference.
    In a nut shell tell them its not of there business. I am sure another members on this committee will back me on this.

Mike Cummins
    Committee chair

—–Original Message—–
    To: caribenter@aol.com
    Cc: Jessica Carrington
    Sent: Tue, 22 Apr 2008 2:18 am
    Subject: Sponsorship money/registration money
    Hello Mike,
    I was thrown a couple of questions tonight by people planning to attend the conference. Perhaps you could give me a response which I can forward to them.
    If sponsorship money is helping to pay for the cost of the conference in Barbados, what happens to the registration money collected in the US?
    If registration money collected in the US will remain in the US and perhaps Canada and the UK, shouldn’t people register in Barbados if they want, to ensure the money stays in Barbados?
    They say the process is not clear enough for their liking and I don’t want to muddy the waters even further by giving an incorrect answer. Thanks,
    Grafton

5. Rodney, you ought to be ashamed to give the reason why your organization pulled out of NABO, and for a third time. Remember that Dr. Grasshopper was treasurer, and we are still awaiting his first financial report. What’s up with that doc?

6. Thats ok Rodney. It is to be expected that at some point, some individuals may become intimidated but the amount of reading in this tread required to get a summary of what has been said. Some people are just not into reading, and informing themselves and are totally dependent on being “TOLD” most things. They tend to believe what they hear too. But I commend the individual for asking, and so i refer them to the very first comment under the initial article.

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/03/28/national-association-of-barbados-organizations-in-the-usa-accused-of-financial-impropriety/#comment-62992

7. Maybe Rodney’s group can’t stand bieng with a bunch of thiefing sheep. Everytime them sheep and the leaders promise honesty but still the same old stuff. Pity on poor Adrian Maynard and Martin Greenidge. They are victims bit deseringly so.

8. infamous Mike Cummins quote:

[quote]In a nut shell tell them its not of there business. I am sure another members on this committee will back me on this.[/quote]
    Mike Cummins

Other Infamous quotes “attributed” to Mike Cummins.
    [quote]”I am a leader, not a worker!”[endQuote]

potential proof that the Excel error is believable, de man is not a worker. ha ha ha ha

9. @ Grasshooper
    Why should I be ashamed, I never stole from any organization that I have been involved with. I am a giver, you can contact any organization in the Central Florida Caribbean community. They all know Rodney Marshall and Marshall Mortgage
    People can not supply a report when the books and bank statements are withheld. It is open knowledge that NABO treasurer`s do not see the bank statements or have the check book.

10. Grasshooper = J. Bispham (the Big Sheep in Melbourne) or one of her LAMBS (Bynoe and gang)

11. If I didn’t have a job I would be vex if them dissidents try to cut off my fundiing and Air travel.

12. @ Grasshopper

Another organization has jump ship because there are younger folks and have no patience to deal with the status quo.

From: Young Barbadian Professionals [mailto:youngbarbadianprofessionals@yahoo.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, March 17, 2009 2:25 PM

Cc: Linda Gadsby; Tony Soudatt; Jan P. Franklin; youngbarbadianprofessionals@yahoo.com; Maria Watson
    Subject: YBPS Withdrawal from NABO

Please see attached a letter advising the Executive Board of NABO that the Young Barbadian Professionals Society is officially withdrawing its membership from NABO.

Sincerely,

Maria Watson

Secretary

13. Ok Folks: It is clear to me that Earl Ashby and Mike Cummins do not intend to respond, issue a statement, or in anyway deal with the concerns of the NABO directors and remaining members. I think it is fair to say that they “could”be intending for NABO to crash and burn without them. What is left is for the remaining members to move ahead with litigation.

@Earl Ashby

this may very well be the hottest summer you will faced in Boston. It is intended to present the evidence of Tony Best article, your email and other comments to Bajans in Boston, and leave them to form their own opinions.

———————————–
    We know that since December of 08 the economy was getting worst. The US department of Labour jobs report issued on April 3rd showed and 600k Americans lost there Jobs for the month of March, representing 3 striaght months of Job loses of over 500k per month. Todate 5 million+ Americans are out of work.

CLOSURE TO HOME (BOSTON)

The Four Corners Main Street was co-hosting a series of breakfasts for local entrepreneurs in an effort to help local businesses weather the economic storm. AT ONE EVENT ON TUESDAY THIS WEEK BANKING PROFESSIONALS DISCUSSED THE NEEED FOR THOROUGH FINANCIAL AND MANAGEMENT AND DOCUMENTATION – both for keeping businesses healthy and to increase chances of getting loans in the tightening market.

YOU EARL ASHBY WAS QUOTED TO HAVE SAID THEN:

After the forum, Earl Ashby, owner of Eash Enterprises Computing Services, said he’s been taking a hit on computer sales. His repair jobs have increased, though not enough to cover his sales losses.

“With the economy they’re bringing out old systems from the closet to fix,” he said, “but it’s not even close to making up for the sales.”
    ———————————————–
    http://www.dotnews.com/Small%20biz%20owners.html

So it is likely not to matter what you decided to say going forward on this issue, people will put “two n’ two” together and conclude. See yah around town Sir!

14. Adrian Hinds // April 8, 2009 at 5:36 pm
    Ok Folks: It is clear to me that Earl Ashby and Mike Cummins do not intend to respond, issue a statement, or in anyway deal with the concerns of the NABO directors and remaining members.
    ———————————————————————————————————————–
    In fairness to Earl, it could be that he has been advised by his attorney not to make any statements publicly or privately related to this matter. As for Mike, what he doesnโ€™t say would be more believable than what he would say.

15. Thanks for the update on NABO. I do read when it’s necessary. @Rodney I was told about this website today by a co-worker was just asking a question. So please do not link me up with this web of confusion that seems to be going nowhere. Hopefully, everything will work out. Have a great day all of you. My name is Rodney also.

16. Things are only going to get worse,
    now that Standard & Poor’s Ratings
    have just been lowered from positive
    to negative.
    We may be heading the way of
    Turks & Caicos soon!

17. Usually we don’t leave the blog sticky up for so long but the hits keep climbing so we will leave it up for a while longer.

18. Well, rumor has it that the Brits have not received their cut of the money yet in this win/win situation with NABO. I wonder if the people in Canada got their money yet. The conference in Babados happened last July/August and people still waiting…

Wah de ras!

19. Wise men speak because they have something to say. Fools, because they have to say something.

20. We had promised to edit the credit card report and post, we are sorry for the delay. Here is the report to add to documents made available.

21. Subject: Re: Sponsorship money/registration money

Grafton,

I thought we as a committee agreed on the ground rule and arrangements in planning this conference. People attending this conference has no business to be concern with what happens to the registration money on this conference. Are they concerned about who is paying for all the arrangements in Barbados. Grafton while we are at it can you tell me how many of these concerned people are attending this conference to make an impact or to help defer the cost of this conference.
    In a nut shell tell them its not of there business. I am sure another members on this committee will back me on this.

Mike Cummins
    Committee chair

Grafton ,Jessica,Sandra and Rupert,

How wunna could keep dis information from NCBAC, we coulda pull outta dis last year wid this kinda information. wunna should be shame to be still pun de NCBAC executive.

@ Bajan,
    ask Grafton, if de money dey yet, he is de treasurer, but look like he does kept secrets from NCBAC so BU and we may neva get an answer.

22. My wife would divorce me if I had all them late payments on we credit cards. My eyes open wide when I see how NABO paying monthly financial fees of $300.00 every month. Dem seriously running an organization? This is bear foolishness. Why give $5017.00 to charity when you catching your ass meking your own payments?

23. That’s why they need to just go. Can we get a toll going for how many bloggers here are going to this confrence in South Carolina? Let’s see the yeas and the nays.

NAY!

24. sick of it all Avatar
    sick of it all

Nay have better things to do with my money; like feed my family and school fees. What good is this organisation anyway.

25. WHAT CONFERENCE? Is there a conference being held in SC to benefit the Bajan diaspora for a worthy cause ? I already know the answer is no and since NABO is dead; the only conference I would be attending is the FUNERAL to bury NABO with the deposed members, Earl Ashby, Mike Cummins, Martin Greenidge, John Ellis and dah black sheep in Melbourne.

26. It seems to be very clear that Mike Cummins took FULL advantage of using the credit card for air travel. But was his travel primarily for NABO business or solely for the purpose of his business selling Bajan products at the expense of using NABO and tax payersโ€™ dollars.

Although this has not been covered in the by-laws, it would be interesting to know if there will be any accountability for the outstanding credit card debt if NABO collapses and the KNOWN bank account is depleted? These questions still remain:
    – Who is and should be keeping track of the finances to ensure that all transactions are posted, bills are paid on time, and to avoid if possible having to pay late fees, etc?
    – What are the excuses made for the late fees incurred month after month?
    – What was the main purpose of getting the credit card and what was it slated to be used for?
    – Whose name(s) are on the credit card?

In all this, NABO may have been formed with great intentions but there were apparently some unscrupulous people waiting in the winds with other thoughts in mind for NABO when they got control.

The more I read into this, there seems to be a clear indication that Mike Cummins have left Earl and whoever else holding a bag that is now empty. What a slick guy. Can he be branded the master of this trade? The mo’ the monkey climbs, the mo’ he shows his tail.

27. @Adrian // April 8, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Thanks for the update on NABO. I do read when itโ€™s necessary. @Rodney I was told about this website today by a co-worker was just asking a question. So please do not link me up with this web of confusion that seems to be going nowhere. Hopefully, everything will work out. Have a great day all of you. My name is Rodney also.
    ————————————————–
    Is this Rodney Alleyne who went to Combermere and Northeastern Uni?

If so I know you to be a man who will speak his mind no matter the ordiance. But I do understand that the two gentlemen at the center of this public inquest may be your good friends. I really do understand. Initially I did not want to believe what was being said, and stood ready to deal harshly with Cheryl T, Ava F, Rodney M and others, but the reports, the emails, and more importantly the Bylaws, are at odds with the actions thus far of Earl Ashby, and Mike Cummins. I can’t ignore such evidence.

28. David,

Too many of these overseas organisations display tendencies of arrogance. They play to Governments and do not seek to interact with Barbadian NGOs. They give us the snobbery attitude and bring all their gifts to Government, QEH, DLP, BLP, etc. So when these same members want to relocate back to Barbados they are given a hard time; why? They do nothing for people so why should people welcome them? They think that by sending all their resources to Government they helping Barbadians and would want to talk about their contribution to Barbados; what contribution what?

Yes they are Bajans and I don’t have a problem with that… but they feel they somehow better than us so they don’t want to give their money to small groups because they frighten it would get thief; What a disaster! Only yesterday I passed through Brittons Hill and the fellas out there in Valerie pavilion crying out for gear to play in the football tournament already started. Poor Sealy, they tell me they waiting on he, that he only went out there twice since he get in in 2008, but used to see he everyday leading up to the campaign.

For the longest time BANGO has been reaching out to these organisations. First they hard to find and when you find them they hardly respond. They too busy to send an e-mail.

In all the time I have been outreaching, I have only managed to keep in touch with one organisation in Canada but so far it is all talk about how they could get Government recognition. They feel they should come down here and meet with the PM and the GG.

There is so much that the Bajan Diaspora can do for Barbados but they seek Government approval to do things. I am not sure of the motive but it looks like they think they gain recognition by dealing with Government, but let me tell them that Government’s come and Governments go.

I remember being one of the lobbyers for that desk for returning nationals that is now set up in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. That went sour because the returning national working with me at the time, felt we had to go to government with it.

The long and short of the story is that Government, rather than help us set it up, thief the idea. A man named Hunte who worked with Foreign Affairs took us for a ride, had several meetings with us and even said that once we get it set up he would come and work with us; leave Foreign Affairs!

Would you believe that all along he was just sucking our blood. We gave him all the structures and how it would work; every detail. Now it is a Government Department.

Same thing I asked the Canadians, “Why are you seeking Government approval to do things in Barbados and channel the resources to Government?” I can only tell you what I have seen with these barrels, money and other things they send down here. They surely don’t get to poor people.

I really cannot join in the pulling down of any organisation. Ithink that organisations should use these occasions to buckle up, amend their constitution and give the organisation a positive direction. It is a pity that members are withdrawing, rather than coming together and taking hold of the organisation. They should elect an interim leader , investigate the out-going executive and put measures in place to make sure that it never happens again.

When we throw away or organisations like what is happening here, we do not learn anything. The institution does not correct itself, provide examples for other groups, etc., the long and short is that we never improve on our institutions because we don’t learn anything from the lesson. We are therefore destined to repeat the same mistakes over and over again.

29. @ take heed:
    Ordiance was meant to be Audience. ha ha ha ha you I almost type audiance. lol!

30. ROK you are mixing up things, and it is sad.

Oraganizations yes individual Bajans in the diaspora no.

Organizations do not move back to Barbados, people do, and the arrogance of which you apportion to returning Bajans, isn’t theirs alone. We Bajans on the whole can be very arrogant and it matters little where we are living or located. The financial benefit to Barbadian economy from Bajans in the North and European diasporas, is undisputed, you can ignore all you want. What you have highlighted with regards to your interaction with overseas bajan organizations is more of the same “LACK OF TRUST”. Often times person seeking funds have not done anything to satisfy concerns of trustworthiness, and please don’t tell there isn’t any need to so concern when dealign with current Bajan NGO’s. Stealing and rumors of stealing is endemic amongst us Bajans on and off the rock, and this is why TRANSPERENCY AND OPENESS is of paramount importance if we are to move forward. Most of your comments when directed at the overseas organization for the most part is correct but if you would take the time to look at there structures, you cannot come away with the view that they represent anywhere near the majority of bajans over in away.

I agree that the member organizations should not move away at this time but regroup under the new executive and use this opportunity to cleanup and grow what can a great idea to bring the diaspora together.

31. Adrian,

I did not say that organisations do. I though I was clear about the invididuals. Look, I have sat and listened to some of these returning nationals and when they start to tell you about the things they do and contributed, you would be surprised, but the point I am making is just that.

Since they do not interact with us as people, ordinary Bajans do not hear or know about them or their contributions and they do not benefit the poor in the main. They feel smug with Government recognition alone. I have seen these packages and barrels being used at election time to gain party popularity. So they go as token gifts to those who can afford.

Take for example that football team. You don’t think outfitting teams is something the Diaspora can easily do? I never asked them for money, but how transparent is what they giving to Government and political parties?

I was looking for things that could help us with our meals-on-wheels programme which calls for items to be donated, not money. We want the items because the meals-on-wheels programme is not only about meals, it is about clothing for those who want to get to church or go out looking a bit more decent; furniture for people who don’t have; appliances for the elderly especially those who need a small fridge for keeping medication or stove. We act as a line of communication and a point of reference for genuinely poor people.

I remember that we asked them for computers, even if used. They ship them to Government and if not for Hammie La, none of the poor students who asked for the computers would not have gotten any. Another one was a container of Football gear and equipment which the National Sports Council huffed because the container were sent in their name and the poor teams who they were for did not get any.

Adrian, I know what I talking about. I can call names, institutions and returning nationals; so what transparency what! You see, when you dealing with the poor you cannot stick out for money. Our experience tells us that it is better to steer clear of money and ask for donations, otherwise the poor would starve. The focus is relief from poverty and we could not care less how it comes, so long as people get items.

Ask the community nurses if they don’t have to pull their pockets to go and buy food for many of our elderly abandoned before they could give them their medication? We have never asked them for money, but the political parties have and they have received the money; so don’t pull that.

I am glad that we can agree that we need to improve and preserve institutional knowledge and memory and that NABO members are making a mistake to withdraw.

32. @Adrian

I also want you to know that there are not many NGOs that find themselves wrapped up in confusion or corruption. I will state categorically that all the talk about stealing and corruption are with members of Government not the NGO community. I want you to point out one NGO.

I also want you to know that with every general election accusations of corruption in Government get into the air. Yet these same people give to Government and parties, so again, this is not about corruption in NGOs. The Diaspora have their motives for why they do what they do. As I said. They interested in coming down here and meeting with the PM and all the Government big-ups. They hope to find favour in Barbados that cheap political way.

You said, “Stealing and rumors of stealing is endemic amongst us Bajans on and off the rock”

Don’t let us shoot ourselves in the foot. The damned white people does do more of that in bigger quantities than we ever could… but we frighten to talk about them… so like idiots we ready to pull down we own and the white man smiling and feeling privileged that he does it all and get away clean.

33. ROK, i gine tek leave of your comments.
    1: prefer this thread for the few days it may remain as a “sticky” to Focus on the epicenter of the NABO controversy.

2: I think you are mixing things up, changing and introducing data points to address arguments not made.

Maybe at some point David our yourself, since you seem to have a grouse with Overseas Bajans or Bajan overseas organizations, Can start a thread addressing the relationship between Bajan NGO’s and either the Bajan diaspora (individuals) or Organizations. I think you should seperate out the two. To link them together will lead to a lot “licks” from me, cause I am a bajan living in the diaspora, but I am not nor have i ever been a member of any organization that could remotely fit the definition of one that you may have interacted with. lol!

34. @”Face to Face….”… LOL…

@A.Hinds…

Obviously you’re having an effect. Getting close to things which some don’t want known.

Keep it up!

35. Again, we have those who are trying to stray from the issues. This is not about a person… this is about NABO!

It is a shame that Ashby and company keep introducing information directed towards changing the focus. We know what you folks in Boston did, and you must be held accountable to ALL Bajans.

36. @
    Face to Face
    This is a blog about NABO I do not think that Mr. Hinds is the centre of this blog. I see no reason for an attack on someone who is trying to get the truth, except you are one of the people indicated in this blog and this is your only way to take the pressure off, pay him no mind kept on trucking Adrian.

37. @David is ROK and Face to Face the same? lol!

If not
    @Face to Face:

The tactic of hitting out with untruths is a well establish past time, when the facts hurt and you would wish for them to stop without having to plead.

Those of you are interested in the other side, and in this case the truth follow the set of articles.

The comments where writting by Kim J Belgrave
    http://caribbeanmediasphere.blogspot.com/2009/01/open-note-to-barbados-free-press.html

THIS IS WHAT ANGERED HER:
    http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/found-a-nice-ditty-on-youtube/#comment-16546

She did not issue her libel threat to these commentators:
    http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/found-a-nice-ditty-on-youtube/#comment-18132

OR THIS COMMENTATOR:
    http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/found-a-nice-ditty-on-youtube/#comment-18131

THE REASON I WAS TARGETED WAS BECAUSE I HAD PROOF OF HER STUPIDITY:
    http://rumshoplime.shutterfly.com/36

If that copy is not clear try this one:
    http://www.facebook.com/p.php?i=733380748&k=4WGY5Z6RWYXM51BCWD5UTV

I made one contribution to her blog back in March of 2008, and she responded on January 2009. Read it for yourself and decide if my actions fit the profile of a stalker, or whatever else she said.

https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=5183157773396868811&postID=3667028867093725896

I have never met this person.

38. @David
    ROK and Face to Face are not the same nuh?
    If not
    @Face to Face
    THIS IS WHAT TICKED HER OFF
    http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/found-a-nice-ditty-on-youtube/#comment-16546
    THIS IS WHAT SHE POINTED TO BUT COULD NOT HIGHLIGHT AS STALKING, YOU BE THE JUDGE:
    I made one contribution to her blog back in March of 2008, and she responded on January 2009. Read it for yourself and decide if my actions fit the profile of a stalker, or whatever else she said.
    https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=5183157773396868811&postID=3667028867093725896
    FUNNY HOW SHE HAS NOT THREATENED TO SUE THIS PERSON:
    http://laourparty.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/found-a-nice-ditty-on-youtube/#comment-18132
    OR THIS COMMENTATOR
    http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/found-a-nice-ditty-on-youtube/#comment-18131

THIS ALL STARTED IT; SHE AND A GUY MADE A BOLD PREDICTION AND I HELD UP PROOF AFTER THE FACT TO MAKE THEM LOOK STUPID
    http://www.facebook.com/p.php?i=733380748&k=4WGY5Z6RWYXM51BCWD5UTV
    http://rumshoplime.shutterfly.com/36

FOLLOW IT ALL HERE IF YOU WISH:
    http://bajan.wordpress.com/2008/12/29/barbados-association-of-journalists-baj-media/#comment-48816

39. Adrian Hinds

I ain’t mixing up a thing. You want to talk about NABO only and bare gossip. I trying to talk about the NGO movement and you telling me I mixing up things and now I got some grouse with the Diaspora.

Where exactly is your discussion heading? Anything positive about the future of NABO? No. What then? Anyhting suggesting reform of groups so they would be more effective?

I see all the crap about who do this and who do that, which you think is so much the business of Bajans. What does NABO have to account to the Barbadian public about? Or you mean the Bajans out there?

I ain’t mixing up a thing and don’t expect the rules to change because of your partiality about something. You does jump in and say what you want to say and don’t care who offended, so let me have my turn too. I was out for a long time and you had the village to ram ’bout in.

40. @ ROK

You are getting your say , do you have anything positive about the future of NABO. Should the deposed executives be held accountable to the bajan diaspora for the financial improprieties. Do you feel that they should go to jail? Would you be willing to bail them out?

41. I have read some of the articles on the NABO fiasco it is quite clear the most of the comments were from writers who did no appear to know much or anything about NABO but had their comments to make anyway. The credit card management was poor, the financial accounting sloppy, and no one has come up with what was stolen as alleged, although so much information is out there, can these same people use the documentation to prove that some thing has been stolen. In light of this I have not seen any real constructive comment or solution to fix the problem. Who will be responsible for paying the debt, I hardly think that any person will steal from themselves or put themselves in a compromising positio. When the diesel for the demolition vehicle runs out the builders will rebuild on a new foundation. But the Bajan community will be the tarnished because of a group of people who believe that it is time for them to come out of obscurity and into the lime light show me the facts.

I also read the minutes of the teleconference, and after the elected body was removed I found it very disturbing that no one wanted to step up to the plate everyone had an excuse for not taking the leadeship role at least that should have been dicussed off line or a head of time. Think on these things. BLP or DLP.

42. ROK/Face to Face, I’m just acknowledging your comments. lol!

Take Heed, Here is the solutions that was attempted.

A meeting was called to get answers to questions regarding the credit card, the poor credit card management, the sloppy financial reports etc. Those that had the answers refuse to attend. Prior to this comments to the effect was that monies and or collection of monies were not the business of others, and it woud now seem “Others” included the NABO membership organizations.

Another solution saught was to move ahead, by replacing the unresponsive executive and they refuse to demit. They have instead use words to the effect that NABO is dead or virtualy dead. It would seem that they themselves are NABO

You are hardly being honest with your ascertions and questions

Who will pay the debt? Who is the question being pointed at, and to what end?
    That the Bajan community reputation would be tarnished. Hardly so by honest persons. This is all centered on the action of two men. That hardly makes a community.

Constructive comments:
    I don’t think you hold the monopoly on what defines a constructive comment, and I think plenty were made.

43. @
    Take Heed
    How can you come up with a number without the bank statements and the invoices for what was spent.
    You really do not know anything about NABO base on your comments.

44. @Rodney:
    Take heed said the following:
    ” I hardly think that any person will steal from themselves or put themselves in a compromising position”
    ————————————————–
    Tune in to Reality cannot be one of his strong points. lol!

45. Rodney how was all the other information acquired, presumably the persons that came up with all the other pertinent information could get it and do s0me constructive investigation to see if we have to visit some people in prison.It seem as if you know what is needed. Start to work Rodney I will help you.

46. ROK the truth is you and Adrian may not be that far apart. What is clear to BU is that NABO has access to human and financial resources in the Diaspora which can be helpful to Barbados. What we may have is a leadership of NABO which has used the organization as their own fiefdom for personal aggrandizement. The new management challenging seems to have been left with no choice but to remove the gloves to resolve the issue. Bare in mind if this challenge fails by Cheryl Thompson and her group the Courts maybe the next step. This will call for MONEY which could be better spent helping people.

47. @ Bajan 2

My name is not Bush or Obama and I don’t have no bail out money. I already stated my position that the members can call a meeting; the members can vote in a trouble shooting executive; they can investigate the problems and bring the perpetrators to their knees. It don’t call for no big hullaballoo.

Those people who don’t want to give up and saying it is the end of NABO really don’t have a leg to stand on once the membership comes together and make those kinds of decisions. It is their constitutional right.

Next thing they already seem to have damaging evidence against the perpetrators but it would be good to ascertain whether or not there was any wrongdoing because it makes no sense going to court if there was none.

48. Bajan2 leave ROK alone, or he will not leave you alone. lol! ha ha ha ha um is joke uh mekking.

The interim executive simply wanted the depose leaders to demit the chair and other positions and move on. They have decided not to, and therefore the specter of litigation has been raised. I have told Early that he does not want to do that, as much more than he has bargain for can come out of a court case. I think it is possible that the reasons they are holding out is staring them in the face if this goes to court.
    …..Is it possible for the Interim executive to agree to no future litigation in exchange for the depose group to demit office?

49. @ROK
    It is obvious that you have not been following this but joined the thread late in the game and don’t have the facts. If you go back to Cheryl Thompson’s response all the things that you are suggesting have been tried. Ava Foster response highlighted the violations to the constitution. $40,000 in kind is not accounted for. Mike Cummins was signing withdrawals when not authorized to do so. IRS forms not file possibility of losing their exempt status. A undisclosed bank account, Earl Ashby hotel stay to the tune of $3,000 charging it to the collaborative conference. Donation $5,017 paid out in cash to a consultant organization. Vote of no confidence brought against 5 executive members refuse to demit. The next step is litigation I would think. You seem to be drawing conclusions and then asking questions. Continue toEarl Ashby is stating that NABO is dead but continue tomove ahead with a conference in SC. Is this with the intent to further misappropriate the funds of the community?
    We are supposedly all Barbadians and are looking out for what is in the best interest of the Barbadian Diaspora and also to save the good reputation of Barbados.

50. Cheryl, I agree with Adrian. Ask them to GO, and promise not to press legal charges.