rihanna_pictmz_274449605

The recent incident which has attracted international coverage between international performing artistes Rihanna and Chris Brown has given a prominent face to the scourge of domestic violence (DV). While we agree that DV is endemic in all countries and carves across race, colour, creed and even sex, sometimes it helps when famous people fall victim because of the attention it attracts.

Reports we have read suggest that both Rihanna and Chris Brown were members of households where they witnessed domestic violence. Psychiatrists often share the view that DV begets DV and it requires a strong will and sometimes professional help for victims to break the cycle. Rumours have been rife since last year that this is not the first time Rihanna and Brown would have resorted to embarrassing displays of behaviour in public when attempting to reconcile disagreements.

Yesterday’s press has reported that Rihanna will be making a public statement soon. There was a hint in the report that Rihanna will be speaking directly to the issue of DV. If she does BU believes that this is a big positive that would have come out of the sordid episode. Rihanna as a poster girl or should we say spokesperson for DV would go a long way towards raising the awareness level to this malady which afflicts all communities.

To paint a picture of the current level of DV in Barbados we thought we would post statistics, unfortunately we have not been able to find an authoritative source on the Internet. Even so the recurring comment about DV in Barbados is that known statistics are grossly understated. Many women it seems endure DV in silence. Mr. Ralph Boyce who heads up the MESA (forum to highlight the concerns of men) suggests that we have men who endure in silence as well. There is agreement though that women carry the burden of DV.

Of note is the knowledge that many of our social and support services are ill-equipped to adequately deal with DV. The police especially often treats DV reports as nuisance calls or alternatively with a heavy hand. The parties caught up in the cycle of DV require professional help.

As people who are not perfect, we expect that as communities we will have to battle with our imperfections until the end of time. Until that time comes we have to continue to educate our people about the implications of DV to sustaining a wholesome society.

To BU family members, when ever you suspect DV is present please ACT!

1. Partly bajan girl; Avatar
    Partly bajan girl;

By the way: there are rumors in today, that the lovecouple will appear on Oprah:-)
    http://www.showbizspy.com/article/182829/rihanna-and-chris-brown-to-appear-on-oprah-winfrey

2. I saw rihanna’s Father on
    TV last night. It’s very Sad.
    http://www.insideedition.com/news.aspx?storyID=2700

I felt compassion for his plight.
    Those People in the USA
    handling her careerm= are not rihanna’s Parents. Chris Brown’s conniving Mother is also not her Parent.

She’s ignoring and isolating
    herself from her Parents and Family
    over an obsession with immature abusive boy?

if your Children’s minds
    are not strong and they
    go off to america? They will
    let outsiders and the love of money dictate their lives and separate them from their families back home.

That’s deplorable and disrespectful behavior.

3. I’m VERY disappointed in Rihanna, I thought very highly of her at one stage but she has lost my respect for her. How can she diss her parents for a abusive man and his family? Secondly, as Youth Ambassador, must she not make herself available to the Barbados government on request for information? If the answer is yes as I know it is, why is the government not stepping in to find out if one of their Ambassadors is under seage? Must we wait until something worse happens to that poor girl? If I was that girl’s Dad, I would have to find her, where-ever she is and talk to her face to face. If I’m convinced that that is the way she wants to go, I will wish her well and leave her to her own success or failure, she’s of age. In the mean time the Barbados Government needs to protect itself by relieving the young lady of her role as Youth Ambassador, until it is sure what direction she is going . It wouldn’t surprise me if she is also on drugs. Imagine the headlines in the news both print and electronic ” Barbadian Youth Ambassador, singer Rihanna, charged with illegal drugs.” What a stain that would put on this country. I’m hoping this would NEVER happen but right now anything can happen to that young lady; SHE NEEDS HELP

4. 199
    You got me puzzled as always. I never ask you if you is a christian. Not moi.I belong to de good ol’ Pentecost but I am not a church goer. I try to adhere to most of de commandments but I was not ‘born again’ so therefore I am not a christian but a believer. Like you, I keep promising to ‘go back’ but I keep procrastinating. De devil is a liar.

Mirna,
    I would like to see and hear LESS of Rihanna’s father. He seems to be looking for sympathy. I tired seeing and hearing he, dah is de trute. Stupseeeeeeeeeee, ‘stop airing ya mout so all de time at every opportunity do”. He saying de same ting all de time. He is a stick-record? Doan mek ma puke do.

Bro. Scout,
    You in gun rest easy til she get de-barred nah? It won’t bother she one way or de otha. Trust me. I kno.

Hopi
    Dis town-rat hay gine an dress up fa town. Lip stick an all ta boot. You comin? Ya sweet devil. (smooch)

5. Bonny, thanks for that info, dear. I’m simply trying to decide which church to join and, so far, neither you nor Scout (much to my surprise as I regarded him as the principal christian!!) have given me any guidance in that regard!! I don’t know much about the Pentecostals, the Seventh Day Adventists, etc. and was hoping for some guidance from people who do!! Is that too, much to hope for from Barbadians, perhaps the most church-going people in the world – or, were, when I was there?!!

Again, please don’t mention Rastafari!! 🙂

6. By d time Rihanna sort sheself out, I hope to b settle in my new faith!! Dat doan mene I gun stop listening tuh she music doagh!!

Lorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

7. Hello 199, If I had only known you were here I would have dropped by daily, but I thought this section was over. Well, Rihanna is no roll model for Guyanese girls at home and aboard and I am urging all Guyanese girls, not to buy Rihanna’s CD’s should she return to Chris Brown, and as Sister Oprah says, if he hit you once, he will do it again, and I too saying so, as I had similar experience, but I was strong, and said no to ABUSE. I hope 199 by the time you settle in you will have the Seventh Day Adventist message down in your heart, for it is the only message you will need to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Check out this website guyanaconference.org this is the website of Guyana Conference of Seventh Day Adventists and it will tell what we believe. My dear I have attended AME Zion and Chruch of God inChrist and Pentecostal Holiness and I have always returned to the SDA Church. Anyway have a great day. God Bless You 199

8. Brother Scout, I just heard that Mr. Ronald Fenty said he has not seen Rihanna since the thing happened, but he told one US magazine he saw her, and another he did not see her. What is going on here. I don’t understand, they are saying Chris and Rihanna are going on a 10 million US dollar apology tour to rehabiliate their careers. I don’t understand, but if Rihanna is with Chris her career finished as far as I am concerned, because I see how those people operate, the Americans. Noe Rihanna, I hope you are reading here, we have Typheon in Guyana who sings wonderfully, but she has not gotten a break like you, at least not yet, and here you throwning it away fuh a man, girl show us some repsect, show your womanhood, don’t mek me come here and start in on you. RIHANNA YOU BLEW IF YOU ARE WITH HIM, AND IF IT IS TRUE YOU WITH HIM, AND I AM GOING TO MAKE SURE THE BLACK RADIO STATION AROUND HERE NOT PLAY YOU, AND I AM SURE THE WHITE ONES WILL FOLLOW SUIT.

9. it’s not only the USA,
    The tide is turning in the UK too.
    They are urging Rihanna to
    dump the abuser they
    will be boycotting her
    music and concerts soon, if this
    continues.

They don’t like the message that
    Rihanna is sending to their
    offspring & they don’t want their daughters ending up like this!

10. Bonny peppa
    I know Rihanna don’t give a damn if it is removed or not. It is the Barbados government that will be pulled down in the gutter with her. Let her do her thing but not at the expense of the government.

11. The spin on it is already out there
    & circulating that
    Rihanna is going to take the fall
    for Chris Brown & confess to the
    courts “I hit him, I beat him up first!”

Falling on the sword to preserve his honor & music sales.
    It’s so Pathetic !!!!!!!!
    She needs to save her herself ! She is going to lose commercial endorsements, contracts & get dumped after the trial by Brown.

More than likely Chris Brown will move
    on to other females as soon as the trial is over.( if he hasn’t moved on to other females already)

http://www.radaronline.com/exclusives/2009/03/chris-brown-buys-rihianna-expensive-diamond.php

Diamonds can’t buy your
    respect, dignity or trust back.
    it’s sickening that Chris Brown
    thinks that He can buy Women’s
    silence after abusing and cheating them.

12. Where the heck is evans rogers her manager?

Who are the people creaming off her hard earned money and doing nothing for her?

I am very supportive of rhianna’s father for speaking out about the very secretive and frightening move by chris brown and his mother -shutting rhianna away from her parents so that she can’t even contact them nor they can contact her.

Shame,shame.

13. I wonder why wunna think that saying she hit him first would be taking the fall, couldn’t it be the truth? Think of this, you opened your man’s phone and see a text message from another woman, maybe about the sex they had or what she wants, wouldn’t you be mad? and if he answered you in a way that you didn’t appreciate, wouldn’t you get angry enough to hit him. I know I would! I also know I wouldn’t sit next to him and let him hit me without hitting back and therein lies the problem and the fact that NO-ONE has actually seen Rhianna.

Don’t you find her silence in all this strange and curious?

Also, something I could never quite understood was how her parents could let their girl-child go off to America to live with strangers to pursue a singing career, and now her father complaining her managers treating them like strangers!

The more this story unfolds the stranger it gets. I agree with scout, strip she of the title and now everybody get on with wunna lives and leave the girl alone. A lot of energy is being used on this case that the truth about may never be known.

199:

Go to the Pentecostal Church if you like an upbeat service, you will be refreshed

14. Hi Sister Baby and welcome back my darling. Yes, I’m always here for you and all the Barbadian lovlies!! As for the Seventh Day Adventists, I’ll look them up. Don’t know much about them, at the moment!! Thank you for the info/advise and best wishes!! The same to you, my dear!!

As for Rihanna, as much as I love her as a musician and a performer, like everybody else, I’m at a loss to comprehend her current behaviour!

15. One of the factors which my darling Rihanna should bear in mind is that a star’s life, at the top, is usually quite a short one. Although it is n’t impossible that she might break the mould and be around for a very long time (I certainly, hope that she will be) it’s a big risk to take of having your career disrupted and interferred with in this way. It’s not guaranteed that she’ll ever recover from the mess she’s in right now, and all for Chris Brown?!!

Come on, Rihanna!! Get a grip, babe!!

16. Anon, thanks for the advice about the Pentecostals. I was however, thinking, first and foremost, about just returning to church just to worship and once again, commune with god and my fellow worshippers! However, now that you’ve mentioned the music, I shall have to give that very serious consideration, too!!

As you know, as with Rihanna, I appreciate a good tune!! 🙂

17. anonymous wrote “Think of this, you opened your man’s phone and see a text message from another woman, maybe about the sex they had or what she wants, wouldn’t you be mad? and if he answered you in a way that you didn’t appreciate, wouldn’t you get angry enough to hit him.”

NO. I WOULD NOT HIT HIM.

I am almost a senior citizen and have NEVER hit a man yet, and have NEVER been hit by one.

Where has it come from that people seem to think that hitting among lovers is normal?

Violence among lovers is NOT NORMAL.

The beating that Rihanna received is NOT NORMAL.

It is highly, highly, aberrant behaviour.

18. Where has it come from that people seem to think that hitting among lovers is normal?

Violence among lovers is NOT NORMAL.

The beating that Rihanna received is NOT NORMAL.

It is highly, highly, aberrant behaviour.

J, I agree with you entirely, there, my friend. Could understand ‘anon’s’ reasoning at the time either!!

However, I have to wonder if this, is n’t the conclusive word on this subject, amazingly!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/usa/article2310514.ece

19. Is it possible that Rihanna could have grown up seeing her Mum being abused by her Dad and thus, think that it’s normal?!!

20. 199
    That sort of thinking is also abnormal. If you grew up seeing your father drunk everyday would you do the same? The girl is really disgracing bajan young ladies if she is prepared to reverse her statement to the LAPD and be the fallgal. That girl SICK, she is becoming a National disgrace. The american press is going to have a field day if she does that. The entire region will be tarnished as accepted ladies for abuse. Had that girl diss the young man and move on her popularity would rise even higher than it was before, she had the backing of most music fans. If she stays with him, she would become a NOBODY, get more licks and just become a breeding pig for him. Got to be careful that when she realises what she has done that she doesn’t commit suicide.

21. I t’eifing an man (woman?) words:

Anonymous // March 10, 2009 at 1:16 pm

Where the heck is evans rogers her manager?
    I WUD LIKE TUH KNOW!
    Who are the people creaming off her hard earned money and doing nothing for her?
    I WUD LIKE TUH KNOW SQUARED!
    I am very supportive of rhianna’s father for speaking out

I CANT SAY IT NUH BETTA.
    IF’N DAY WAS MY CHILE, I WOULD BE ON DE NEWS EVAH SINGLE DAY, TILL DAT SAME CHILE GET A PIECE O’ CONSCIENCE AND CHK IN….LOOKA DIS IGRANTS FUH MUH………

22. Rihanna should have gone out with a Guyanese Indian boy. He would never treat her so

23. […] recently, not only because Rihanna is Barbados-born and bred, but because the whole issue of domestic abuse hits really close to […]

24. I think Bajans and the rest of the world needs to mind their own business. Ronald Fenty needs to stop entertaining (or humbugging) the media, as it is clear he is not in constant contact with his daughter.

After all the bickering is said and done, DV is most prevalent in the Caribbean than in the USA; cause the man is usually thrown behind bars very quickly.

I sure every Bajan, whether black or white got or know somebody in their own family who have been getting regular cut ass for years. Why dem dont address their own issues and left the young people alone.

Instead of embracing every negative thing that happens to or is said about the young lady, we need to pray. Plenty young and old women, and even some men does by tekking the blows behind lock doors and not a word! Dem same people gine still be bout de place washing them mout on the girl.

And lastly, be role models for wunna children and do not expect that of a 21 year old girl!

25. L.Medford wrote “I think Bajans and the rest of the world needs to mind their own business.”

But if a human being is viciously assaulted IT IS MY BUSINESS.

26. Humans are viciously assaulted in Barbados daily.

Humans are viciously assaulted all over the world daily-especially in Africa.

They actually die! They have nothing to eat. And here you are making so much about some one who just get a few licks. You all make me laugh, as you go on, and on, and on, and on.

27. Medford incorrectly writes “I sure every Bajan, whether black or white got or know somebody in their own family who have been getting regular cut ass for years.” Looking at my black Bajan family with a wide representation of levels of education, incomes and even religious beliefs I can think of no one who has been a victim of domestic abuse. There are many, many other families just like mine where domestic abuse/violence does not occur. This is not to say that my family members are perfect but there is certain level of civil behavior that is the norm and this does not include abuse or violence.

28. Guyanese, I tuh am Guyanese , so she must date an Indian Guyanese boy, who you, yes she must date them, and in a rukus they would a set she on fire unlike Chris Brown who cuff she up.

You know I was praying that none of this would happen to Rihanna. I was praying that she would have a successful career, get rich, and maybe go into politics in Barbados. Rihanna actually rose my pressure, because of her music videos, for example the one of her with that group Maroon 5, appeared as if she was turning into white, it seemed different, just off, and then the one with her in the one where she is dressed like a domineatrix (sp) was very disturbing to me. I don’t know, maybe it is because I am accustomed to Shontelle, and Eddy Grant, Billy Ocean, Eddy Neblett, but I was concerned, now they are saying that everyone must boycott Rihanna, so I don’t know. We can only pray.

199, Well thank you and remember the Seventh Day Adventist church is worldwide, we are in 225 nations and territories, and we operate schools and hospitals, so you see we take a holistic approach in preparation of the second coming, spirtual, physical, and intellectual. God Bless

29. L Medford,
    Ya tite as usual. Rite on my friend. Yes, we need to mind our own business.

J
    “if a human is viciously assaulted’
    I trying to figure out how it get your business. If the person is related to you, I can see your argument. Other than that, it is a no-case submission.

Sistser BAby,
    Your church should pray that life returns to normalcy in GT so that all dese GTbanna could stop invading my 166sq. mls. like flies pun shit. You ever draw that to your church’s attention? I doubt. Dat is another holistic approach.

30. Oprah: “If a man hit you once, he will hit you again.

Really? If a man hits you once and you like it, you will let him hit you again.

What about this one: by the time a man hits you once, he would have shown signs of hitting you before and you would have stayed to let it happen; then the above paragraph would apply.

Just thinking aloud.

31. Anonmous,

I hope you right. But from my experience, I was in a house when a man was beating his wife and we only knew because she got knock to hell out. She passed out and he got frighten. Only knew when the ambulance actually got there.

Some women dont unpick their teeth, cause at the end of the day – bills still gotta get paid and some women get accustomed to the cushioned life and take the good with the bad!

32. Bonny. Welcome to de CLUB girl, tek a glass ah mauby and draw up a chair.

33. Bonny Peppa wrote “J
    “if a human is viciously assaulted’
    I trying to figure out how it get your business. If the person is related to you, I can see your argument. Other than that, it is a no-case submission”

All right Bonny. I hope that I am there one of these days when you get run over by a big blue bus. I’ll be happy to step over you, ’cause you ain’t no family to me so your pain is none of my business.

34. Dear Bonny Peppa:

A man was going from Jerusalem to Jerico, when he fell among thieves, who beat him and stripped him and left him to die.

Several people passed before a man from Samaria stopped to help him.

Who Bonny Peppa was the neighbour?

Rihanna has gone from the holy city of her innocent youth to a Jerico and she has fallen among thieves, who have beat her and are stripping her of her dignity, her family, her friends, her country, her sense of self and her money., and maybe if Chris Brown chokes her again her voice.

And you Bonny Peppa want us to pretend that it is none of our business.

We are Rihanna’s neighbours.

We have to be.

Do you think that if her voice (such as it is) is taken from her that her “handlers” will want her?

We have to be good neighbours Bonny Peppa, because at some time we too will need a good neighbour.

Has anybody who is not your family even done you a kindness?

35. All we need for evil to prosper is for good men (and women) to do nothing.

36. At the end of the day Avatar
    At the end of the day

Despite the sad tragic saga with our Bajan girl it is stunning to see the coverage Rihanna and the incident is garnering.

Larry King has covered it on at least three shows. Oprah and Trump weighed in. Only person yet to comment is Obama. The world it seems is hanging on to every word, twist and clue of the case. It doesnt get much bigger.

The Yanks say there is no such thing as bad publicity.

Rihanna is daft to reunite with that cowardly bully Brown but this case has pushed her name awareness into the stratosphere. Surely her handlers can exploit this massive global publicity to the fullest.

Now if we can just get her to dump her despicable attacker.

37. Hi Scout, I agree with virtually everything you said yesterday at 2:55. However, the human brain is an amazing yet, strange organ and learnt-behaviour is normal for us. I don’t think I’ll need to enter into too much detail but here’s a small example of what I mean: when I was a child I once observed my Dad take a swipe at my Mum. I can’t recall now whether he actually succeeded in hitting her or not – I suspect, not!! However, the next time my Mum and I had an argument I found my hand folding into a fist and contemplating striking her too, until I caught myself and asked what the **** I was doing. Fortunately, the thought never entered my mind again, in relation to her. So, the human being learning from what he sees others do is perfectly normal for us both in respect of BAD as well as good, behaviour! I understand what you’re saying but what I’m saying is also true, and obviously needs to be countered! Rihanna possibly does n’t know this and has n’t yet found a way of combating her learnt, bad-ways!! It could also explain why she, too, appears to have a violent streak!! I’m afraid that if you do, grow up within a violent environment you instinctively, do tend to regard violence as being normal, unless you’re trained out of it or can exercise sufficient intelligence and/or self discipline to know that it is wrong!! These attributes may not have occured for Rihanna, yet!!

I must admit that I, too, have been astonised by Rihanna’s recent behaviour prior to which she gave me the impression of being such an intelligent and impressive, young lady!!

Re: your final sentence Scout, we’re all too afraid to even contemplate the ‘s’ word!! It would be too great a shame and I, for one, would feel like murdering Chris, myself!!

This is not to say that my family members are perfect but there is certain level of civil behavior that is the norm and this does not include abuse or violence.

‘Anonymous’, you tell e!!

Lord!!

But look at dis ting nuh!! Wunna have me worry my poor head bout Rihanna first ting dis morning!!

Lord!!

You know I was praying that none of this would happen to Rihanna. I was praying that she would have a successful career, get rich, and maybe go into politics in Barbados.

I had the same thoughts and ambitions for her, Sister Baby, or that she might become a diplomat at some point in the future. We can’t believe she’s now placing all of that in jeopardy and all because of some idiot-guy!!

Hi again, Sister Baby thanks for info about the SDAs. However, how would you say that the SDA DIFFER from the other churches! Don’t they too, take a ‘holistic-approach’?!!

Bonny, is dat how you speak to a guest ‘in your house’?!! You know wha I mean!!

Some women dont unpick their teeth, cause at the end of the day – bills still gotta get paid and some women get accustomed to the cushioned life and take the good with the bad!

Medford, SOME men do stupid things as do SOME women!! However, that still does n’t mean that it’s right!! Now, please, stop regurgitating this bollocks and ****-OFF!!

Bro, Rihanna’s name was in the stratosphere even before ‘Brown-incident’, in fact, I had n’t heard of Brown until then! On the point of dropping Brown, I’m fully with you!!

38. Look, I gun have to charge wunna fuh my writing suh much!!

Lord!!

39. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

At the end of the day said;”Now if we can just get her to dump her despicable attacker.”

Again, give her some time.
    She will dump Chris Brown by time.
    But she is young, she has had a very violent attack by her boyfriend, and she is probably still in a kind of shockstate.
    Because a shock is what this is.

But its nothing sexy about being beaten the shit out of, and then being bought to silence and “sence”with diamonds and stuff.
    She is a wonderful girl and a wonderful singer, and its lots more of fish in the pond.
    But it is hard and can take some time, to find out that a dream is broken, and that we have to loose grip of it.
    But eventually….
    Sing on….

40. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

After a while I also think this; maybe we put too much pressure on our national and black rolemodels?
    A young girl going for world stardom, representing a hoping and united “who-knows-better-than” lilliput-state like Barbados?
    Its important with good rolemodels of course, but maybe the pressure gets too much?
    Like for instance with President Obama in U.S. ….
    A woman in this forum,wrote that he was a black man sent from God to save the world.
    But really, he is just another democratic politician who happens to be black, and thats FINE and POSITIVE!
    But what if he fails?
    What if he does a “Clinton” or a “Nixon”?
    Poor guy…

41. Hello Hello 199, This is Sister Baby coming to you directly with the Seventh Day Adventist message, which is that we accept the Bible as God’s word, and obey the Commandments, so we remember the Sabbath Day (Saturday) and keep it Holy, unlike the other religions who disobey God’s word by attending church on Sunday, and placing their books such as the Book Of Mormon and the Cathecism alongside the Holy Scriptures.
    We beleive in the Trinity , God our Father, the Son, who is God the eternal Son who became incarnate in Jesus Christ, and through him, all things are possible, and the Holy Spirit, you see God the eternal Spirit was active with the Father and Son in creation,
    incarnation and redemption. We also believe in the Second Comming, anyway, the holistic approach, we follow a strick diet of vegetarism, we read the Holy Book which prepares us to me our Heavenly Father, plus we have our schools and colleges. Have a nice day 199. God Bless You.

42. 199 my dear, Sister Baby here, I am in shock myself that she would place this 19teen (Chris) before her fans, afterall, it is the fans that made Rihanna. Everyday this Rihanna and Chris story is on the radio and TV news, and most of it are lies, one minute she is in Babados, and another her father is saying this and that and only the Lord knows where all this is all going, now the latest is that Chris Brown is having an affair with his 40 year old manager, one Miss Gibson, If my memory serves me well that is the name, well he has been in relation with this woman since he was 16 years old, so what happend this 40 year old texted Chris Brown’s pager, and Rihanna got a hold of the pager and read it, and of course she got upset, the text message was praising Chris for his sexual prowness towards the 40 year old woman. Now that sounds like a story that the devil is orchestrating, and if Rihanna knows what is good for her, she would leave Chris Brown once and for all. I knew she was heading down the wrong path when I saw the Disturbia video, oh and that video distubed me, for she Rihanna needed some cooling down there.

43. Oh Honey he will not fail, for President Obama is the hardest working leader in the world, just like James Brown was the hardest working man in show business. from Sister Baby

44. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Anonymous:

James Brown?
    Are you mad?
    He was a kind of “hardworking” in his brutality against women..
    http://www.womensenews.org/article.cfm/dyn/aid/1706/

45. Beware of the Browns ; James Brown, Bobby Brown and now Chris Brown. I bet O.J.Simpson is related to them too.

46. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Discussing what church to go join over, I want to add a comment about pentecoastalism that states that it is maybe not much” good old” about it, especially not how it is worshipped in Africa, our spiritual cradle, theese days.
    A mix of old, western pentecoastalism mixed with traditional indigenous beliefs makes here an new type, with tragical potencial for african children.
    Discuss this matter in your pentecoastal churches in Barbados and support Africa`s children!

http://www.melbourne.catholic.org.au/ccjdp/documents/NIGERIA-childwitchhuntNOV2008.PDF

47. 199
    I kept out of this “which church to attend” issue. Most of these churches/denominations are behaving like political parties fighting for seats in parliament. Which denomination or even church you attend is not the primary issue here, it is your relationship with your God. When you seek that relationship, the denomination will follow, visit a variety of them and choose the one that is most comfortable to you. We’re all trying to make it to be in the presence of God in our next sphere of life. Incedentally, I’m Methodist.

48. Hello Scout, This is Sister Baby, Please allow me to inform you that finding the true and right church is not about comfort, but truth, seeking entry into the Kingdom of God is not like calling Hilton or Sam Lord’s to see who has the comfortable bed, but joining the church that can help you get to heaven, and I have presented the SDA Church to 199, now the choice is his to make, but 199 you can’t say that I did not stear you in the right direction, I did, so now it is up to you to get out the telephone book and find the closest SDA Church in your area. We are in 225 territories, around the world, from Argentina to Zimbabwe, and every where in between, Guyana, Suriname, Barbados, Trinidad, Cayenne and so on. You can view our services at 11:00 AM Pacific Time this Saturday on the WWW from the White Memorial Seventh Day Adventist Church in Los Angeles, please go to White Memorial SDA on the WWW. I believe the Nassau Central SDA Church does like wise, check the Bahamas Conference SDA website.

49. Hi Scout et al, Scout please inform me of, in your opinion, the merits of being a Methodist. I don’t know much about that church either. There must be merits which you consider it has above the others to make you choose them!! As you know, I’m not in Bim so the political aspect does n’t apply here, in the UK!!

Baby Sister, thank you also, for the advice and info re: the SDAs. However, as a meat lover myself, I could n’t therefore envisage my joining them. However, thank you anyway!

Back soon!!

50. ‘Party Girl’, I think the pentecostalists might be good for a good sing-along?!!

Am I right?!! Not to mention a jump-up?!! 🙂