rihanna_pictmz_274449605

The recent incident which has attracted international coverage between international performing artistes Rihanna and Chris Brown has given a prominent face to the scourge of domestic violence (DV). While we agree that DV is endemic in all countries and carves across race, colour, creed and even sex, sometimes it helps when famous people fall victim because of the attention it attracts.

Reports we have read suggest that both Rihanna and Chris Brown were members of households where they witnessed domestic violence. Psychiatrists often share the view that DV begets DV and it requires a strong will and sometimes professional help for victims to break the cycle. Rumours have been rife since last year that this is not the first time Rihanna and Brown would have resorted to embarrassing displays of behaviour in public when attempting to reconcile disagreements.

Yesterday’s press has reported that Rihanna will be making a public statement soon. There was a hint in the report that Rihanna will be speaking directly to the issue of DV. If she does BU believes that this is a big positive that would have come out of the sordid episode. Rihanna as a poster girl or should we say spokesperson for DV would go a long way towards raising the awareness level to this malady which afflicts all communities.

To paint a picture of the current level of DV in Barbados we thought we would post statistics, unfortunately we have not been able to find an authoritative source on the Internet. Even so the recurring comment about DV in Barbados is that known statistics are grossly understated. Many women it seems endure DV in silence. Mr. Ralph Boyce who heads up the MESA (forum to highlight the concerns of men) suggests that we have men who endure in silence as well. There is agreement though that women carry the burden of DV.

Of note is the knowledge that many of our social and support services are ill-equipped to adequately deal with DV. The police especially often treats DV reports as nuisance calls or alternatively with a heavy hand. The parties caught up in the cycle of DV require professional help.

As people who are not perfect, we expect that as communities we will have to battle with our imperfections until the end of time. Until that time comes we have to continue to educate our people about the implications of DV to sustaining a wholesome society.

To BU family members, when ever you suspect DV is present please ACT!

1. Patently, a Combermere education did a lot for her, did n’t it?!! I don’t think!!

2. Did they forget to teach her self respect?!!

3. Dave, what’s this I hear about 2 women being assaulted on a beach in Bim?!! We need to discuss this!! I and my family need to know what we’ll be letting ourselves in for when we return to Bim, please, Mr David!!

4. Apparently, it taught her grammar but not, common sense!! What do u think of Combermere, now?!!

5. There is something fishy going down with Rihanna, neither her mother nor her father can contact her. Her cell phone number has been changed. To add to this, the LAPD ignored the request by Rihanna’s attorney that Brown be allowed to be with Rihanna. Chris has been given some strict directives and if violated, he faces imprisonment. There is something that’s happening that isn’t coming to the fore. My guess is that Rihanna, right now is a hostage to her handlers and she is forced to do what is expected of her. Today, they are being labelled the Prince and Princess of R&B. their handlers are looking at using them like pawns on a chess board and make as much money as possible off them before Chris beat her again and finish her career. The LAPD investigations reveal that Chris has beaten her on numerous occasions but this was the worst. That is why they are not dropping the case and Rihanna will have to testify when called to the witness stand. She better say what she told them before or she can find herself in hot water. So much for our Youth Ambassador.

6. I just wonder who’s
    in charge of keeping Rihanna safe
    while in the USA?
    They’ve failed that task horribly!

Something is very suspicious about
    this whole situation!
    Even if out in La. with
    Chris Brown – Why were there
    No bodyguards around for
    either of them that particular evening?
    There were no bodyguards around to
    pull Chris Brown off of Rihanna while
    He beat her bloody, black blue !
    They are both high profile
    entertainment personalities,
    Anything could have happened with their unruly fans that night !
    Did Chris Brown send their bodyguards
    all home? Was the beating planned?
    Someone saw or KNEW something,
    that night & I hope the Machines Management Teams behind them do not buy off their testimony
    before it is heard in court.

Why was Chris Brown’s mother
    lurking around near SeanCombs
    Mansion in Fla. during their reunion, Why was Rihanna’s Family strangely absent?
    Chris Brown’s Mother,
    This is the same complacent Woman who predisposed Her Son Chris to watching grown Women, like herself
    get abused by Men for Years! Her Loyalties are to to her
    wealthy Sonwho writes the checks.
    What is She teaching Rihanna?
    To Sit there, shut up & take it?

7. Everything’s going to be alright, Chris is going to talk to the animals!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/usa/article2302812.ece

8. Unleash the music babe and set all our minds at rest!! An doan mind Technician!!

9. He hiding, at the moment!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

10. Dave, can we ‘get the party started’, PLEASE!!

11. I think everyone is getting very emotional over allegations!

Has anyone and I mean family members or anyone reputable say for a fact that they saw pics of the bruised and beaten Rhianna? And I am not talking about those suspect pics making the rounds on the internet!

As women we are often mistrustful of our men and we search they cell phones, however we do it in private and secrecy and use the info WHEN NECESSARY. She is insecure and uncertain in that relationship which usually happens at that age.

To you men drivers out there and us ladies: can you see a man driving a car with one hand and beating you like that with the other and you just taking the blows instead of making sure he crashes that car? These stories are full of allegations and allegators

To us parents, we need to stop looking for role models in other people for our children, we should be the best role models they have!

Storm in a teacup.

12. chris brown’s
    PR team is still on the case
    Yesterday? He is
    still pandering to the
    public to repair his image and imploring children & his
    young fans from his web page-
    “Hey fans, Vote for Chris on the Kids Choice Awards 2009 !”

http://www.usmagazine.com/news/chris-brown-blogs-for-kids-choice-awards-votes-200953

13. M,
    If it were possible, I’d give you a big, slurpy, dribbly, KISS. You’re so right.

To the rest of you:
    Stupse, stupse and more stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

14. I plan to nominate Rihanna for the award of Dame of the Order of St.Andrew. I think she is an inspiration to our womenfolk. What character, such perseverance in the face of adversity! She is no whimpering cry baby just a steely resolve – I can hear her sing “I am woman, hear me roar …”

15. Sing a song
    Strange enough, I can hear her sing, “Stand by your man’.
    Ya wicked. I luv um.

16. Devil's Advocate Avatar
    Devil’s Advocate

@ 199 or 99 or what ever… I never said those who were signed are as Big as Rihanna. Stupse. I merely said Barbadian artiste have lots of potential and you can never say that no one will ever be as big as her. Please…Astiste last for a time…All have their experiry date just like that carton of milk sitting in the fridge.

For all a wunna on de blog talk like if wunna got de facts down pat, I could only but laugh. You you as much as they write on TMZ, OK, US weekly and MTO. None are purely factual. Maybe she has stopped speaking to Daddy because he keeps blabbing to the press after he has been instructed not to comment. How hard is it to say “No comment”. I hardly believe that her family can not reach her.

17. Devil's Advocate Avatar
    Devil’s Advocate

@ Bonny Peppa

Your comments always annoy me for some reason.
    How yuh like mu? I DON’T
    @ M
    Suspect pics? You mean the ones currently causing a stir @ the LAPD where a cop is about to be diciplined . The ones TMZ paid top dollar for?

18. Devil’s Advocate, u mek me laugh!! Expiry date or not, if u think that Bim will ever be luck enough to produce a star of Rihanna’s success and fame again, u must be kidding, mate!! Ull be waiting a million years fuh dat one and I doubt it’ll ever, ever happen! Count your blessings to be alive now while her miracle, is happening!!

Fire the music, Rihanna darling, as only you can!!

19. Thanks Bonny!

@Devil’s Advocate: So you aint find it strange that only ONE website was able to obtain a photo, which the LAPD said was of an incident that took place Feb 8, do you think that was the only incident to take place that day?

To me and I sticking to this that pic looks someone that is dead, there was also another pic making the rounds that looked better than that and I am sure in this day of somputer enhancements/identity theft we should be more careful of believing what is posted on the internet!

Now in today’s Nation even her father is saying that he only knows what he reads in the papers, so wunna better stop getting high blood pressure over something that nobody knows anything about!

20. Rihanna Doesn’t Get It
    by Dr. Keith Ablow

http://health.blogs.foxnews.com/2009/03/02/what-rhianna-doesnt-understand/

R & B star Rihanna is reportedly back together with singer Chris Brown, risking her life for “love,” after he allegedly beat her so badly, anyone who saw her bruised face cringed.

Like many battered women, Rihanna doesn’t seem to see the danger in dancing with a violent man who has proven he can’t control his destructive impulses. That’s because her vision is clouded by passion or naivete or whatever dark chapter of her own life she may be replaying now by “playing with fire.”

Rihanna’s father has apparently blessed his daughter’s decision,saying he’s “behind her,” whatever she decides.

That’s not loving your child; it’s letting her walk into the abyss, and it may be the best window on why Rihanna can’t stand up for herself. Maybe no one ever did—even her dad.

If the allegations about Brown are true, the likelihood that he was“caught” the very first time he abused a woman is remote.

More likely, there have been other episodes of uncontrolled rage in his life and that there will be more. Men who abuse women aren’t usually one-time offenders. They lack the internal restraint necessary to control their impulses, or they harbor deep resentment toward females (often rooted in experiences and emotions from when they were much younger) or their behavior and judgment is impaired by alcohol or illicit drugs.

Very frequently, they have personality disorders, whether narcissistic or paranoid or antisocial. They are entirely focused ON THEIR OWN NEEDS and become enraged when they aren’t met.

Rihanna proves that she doesn’t understand any of this by returning to her relationship with Brown so quickly.

There’s NO possibility that he completed any anger management course or detoxed from any drug he might be on or delved deeply enough into his psyche to exorcise any demons that might have led him to turn his self-hatred into a clenched fist and the terror and tears of woman just 21 years old.

He needs help, and a lot of it. So does she.
    What Rihanna is teaching her lover is that her self-esteem is so low, or her need to fix a man so great, that she is willing to risk everything to be by his side.
    For a man like him, it unconsciously gives him license to strike out at her again. And it actually deprives him of learning that his disorder can cost him things he cares about(if he actually does care about Rihanna at all).

Rihanna’s decision is a terrible example for young women in America and around the world—as bad as anything we ever saw from Britney Spearsor Lindsay Lohan.

As a forensic psychiatrist, I’ve testified in murder cases that started out just like this one. Let’s hope it doesn’t end as badly!

21. It is alleged that Rihanna is pregnant for thar thug and neither her father nor mother knew about it or the marriage. Apparently, Chris’ mother did all the preparations for the wedding. Barbados has lost Rihanna, Please don’t let them disgrace our Youth Abassador too. Strip her NOW. To those american, she is nothing but a small island girl

22. We are sowing our own seeds of discord, shame, embarrassment, stigma; you name it. We are so eager to pull down the successful among us. We judge them according to a white sheet and forget that they are human beings existing within a particular historical and cultural circumstances; we allow ourselves to be divided.

Rather than reaching out to this couple, we prefer to let the negative prevail. Without any support at all and knowing that the international arena is more treacherous waters, we appoint a young 19 year old and expect her to automatically behave like a stateswoman.

Negative can be positive in disguise. As a matter of fact Rihanna has the right suggestion; a campaign against domestic violence.

This thing started in public, let it heal in public. Give the young lady the support. Let the Ministry of Foreign Affairs assign an Officer to Rihanna, That would have made more sense than giving her land and car, because I am sure she does not need the land and I hear the car lick-up (even if it is not).

If it was the Americans and she meant so much to them, she would have had a government agent alongside her from day 1 of her appointment. Nothing would have been left to chance and that agent would have been able to deal with the abuse before it got to where it is at now.

When will we start loving our own? Strip? Scout, are you a sexual pervert; what strip what?

23. Wrong Scout, she’s a “small island” STAR!! and they don’t come any bigger than her!!

Bonny earlier stated a distant relationship with her and described her as a “spoilt brat”! It’d be interesting to know Bonny’s reasons for describing her thus?!!

24. Devils Advocate,
    You expect ta like everyting or evrybody at BU? Because my comments usually annoy you, wah ya want ma fa do now? Curl up an play dead?
    Um too near ta Good Friday ta sin my soul, hear.
    All you got ta do is when you see my comments, skip pass or overlook, dah is all um tek. I gun read yours doe. De only ones I doan read is de long drawn out ones.
    I does get ma guts full a laffs pun BU.
    Stan day and mek yaself miserable worryin ’bout wah I write. Ya clown.

25. The BBC reports that if called Rihanna will testify against Brown. Hold tight people maybe Rihanna ain’t lost she marbles. Maybe as Trinis say “she playing dead to catch cobo!”

26. 199,
    Because I am a little closer to her family, I can assure you that she is a spoilt brat. And since reaching stardom, Lord look down.
    You too infatuated wid dis Rihanna doe. I gun see if I cud arrange fa she ta meet you. Settle down now. Heart attack is very prevelant at dis age. Cool it ol’ boy.
    All my man Scout dwelling pun, is ‘tek way she ambassadorism.(dah is a word?) Scout, tekking it way, won’t hurt a lil, tiny hair pun she lil, tiny head. Trust me.I know de gal.
    Plus she in love wid Chris, so um in a ting dat nabody cud say or do ta sway dah love boy. She an only she cud stop dah love and um doan look like um gun happen na time soon. Pregnant or unpregnant.
    Tek um easy Scout.

27. Hi Bonny, I was n’t disagreeing with u my dahling just wondering whether u could give us one or two instances of her being a ‘spoilt-brat’!! Anyhow, I know these things r difficult to comment on so I leave it at that! Sorry to hear it though!! Bonny, if I met her it would only be to thank her for her wonderful singing. I in inrested in she in any udder way boa!! I got my favourite chicks hay in Hinglan an they’re enough fuh me!!

However, I still think she’s fantastic and, such a lucky girl!! to have both the looks and the voice! A very fortunate girl indeed!!

28. Bonny!! R u a church-girl?!! i.e. go to church regularly? Is that your thing?!!!

29. 199
    I too admired Rihanna for “bigging up” Barbados, her private life is her business but when you accept to be Youth Ambassador, what you are saying, “I am setting an example for the youth to follow.” Is this any good example she is setting for the Barbadian young people? Futhermore, it is not me, her father and mother has lost contact with the young girl and as far as reports go, Chris’ mother is running the show. Chris get the girl pregnant and she can’t even tell her parents? They got to hear it on the news? She get beat-up and her parents not allowed to see her? Strip her. NOW.

30. Bonny peppa
    It was only a few days ago that I heard from people who know, the bahaviour of Rihanna and Chris when they were down here for the big bash. They mash up Sandy Lane and then wreck the B’dos Hilton. Both hoterls told them don’t come back. Hilton said they would consider her returning but without Chris. THIS SOUNDS LIKE A SPOILT BRAT. Her music is not my era so I don’t really pay much interest in her songs, I just liked her popularity and the exposure she was giving to Barbados. Once that exposure was positive but from the time she changed it negative, she gone off my charts.

31. Rihanna is no Shontelle.

Shontelle has a much, much better voice.

She is much better looking.

She can write.

She can speak.

She can think.

32. I am trying to think of Rihanna being my mummy, and Chris Browne being my daddy.

And I so scared I can’t fall asleep.

33. Scout wrote “They mash up Sandy Lane and then wreck the B’dos Hilton. ”

If this is true ae those 2 on drugs?

Is this why Chris Brown waited 24 hours before he reported to the police?

I have stayed at plenty, plenty hotels in my time and I’ve never managed to mash-up anything.

How does one mash-up a hotel room?

It can’t be by accident.

Do people in their right minds mash-up hotel rooms?

34. Oprah who as we know has a tremendous audience, when she speaks people listen.

She tossed out some advice for Rihanna.

If he hit you once he will do it again!

We have written before that this beat up of Rihanna and the spotlight it has brought to the subject of domestic abuse should help.

35. Scout, I’m entirely with you on the Ambassador question. Your remark really needs to be addressed to Mr Thompy! I can only assume the govt’s giving this young lady more time to sort herself out, before taking the inevitable decision!! Like you, I’m perplexed by her behaviour and suspect Bonny’s description of her may be correct but, ultimately, I’m mainly interested in her singing and dancing, etc!! Like so many of us, I guess she will see sense, eventually. I think it’s an amazing relationship when, and if, she disconnects herself, completely, from her parents and family and she would, most certainly, BE MOST UNWISE, to listen solely, to the advice of Chris’s mother!!

Scout, her music “is n’t your era” because you have n’t listened to it!! Try listening to ‘Please Don’t Stop The Music’!! and then, I promise you, it WILL be ‘your era’!!

Lord!!

J, who is Shontelle?!! And therein lies the difference, my friend!! Please don’t even, ever begin to think of anybody else and Rihanna, in the same breath – it’s sacrilege!!

Did n’t they use the cane at Combermere, then?!!

36. David, yuh see wha I tell yuh?? Now, BFP are claiming dat dere de ONLY Bajan news outlet to report de case of de assaulted tourists!!

You letting dum trump you, man!!

37. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

So says Oprah;

http://www.accesshollywood.com/video_1055321

I agree!

38. Rihanna’s father needs to shut to fack up. He is displaying his ignorance. Is he back on crack or getting paid by tabloids to talk boo?

39. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

About rolemodels and careers,and how this affects many things;
    http://www.usatoday.com/life/music/news/2009-03-08-brown-rihanna-careers_N.htm
    But as I say; give her some time,this will NOT gonna last when the shockwaves fades from her mind.

40. Aunt Jemima needs to shut the ph..k up. So much pillaging, murder and human depravity going on this planet why don’t she put that on her damn platform. The zionists marauders are burning the life out of Palestinians daily, but she ain’t got the balls to make her show a platform for the suffering of the Haitians or Palestinians. Everyday women and men get the shit kick out of them and who gives a damn.
    You take a rat out of town, put some fancy clothes and make-up on it, put it in the big city and wha do you get – a ‘well-made-up, dressed-up town rat in a big city.’ One who has no etiquette and doesn’t know how to conduct itself. For every action there’s a reaction and you only attract the same energy that you put out there.

Long Live The Occult!

41. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

You have a point there Hopi!;-)

But think about it;
    “Sister are maybe doing it for themselves??”

I think you have a problem with the real issue here; domestic violence, in black community.
    Why is it so hard so approach?

42. Partly Ba……In order to call ‘violence’ domestic, don’t you have to be domesticated? This just sounds like ass-wupping to me! And no sisters ain’t doing shit for themselves because at the end of the day we are all still pawns in this game of chess that the killuminati is playing against us.

43. The Donald weighs in
    “Donald Trump: Rihanna is ‘a loser’ to take Chris Brown back”

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/thedishrag/2009/03/donald-trump-ri.html

44. Hopi
    You refer to Oprah as “Aunt Jemima ”

Ha Ha, if dah don’ tek de cake..Ha HA

45. I can’ belive that Rihanna, forged in Barbados’ rough and tough co-ed environment, could let somebody pelt some many blows and don’ throw back something in return. Nah… you people sure that Rihanna di’nt go school at kolij? See seem very sofy sofy.

46. 199,
    You are a real teaser. Not me an you. One a dem Hinglanders soon put sum licks pun you too. Ga long, ya teasa.

Anonymous,
    Lord mek peace. A crying. You is de best.’Rihanna’s father needs to shut to fack up’. Lord a dying. You too comical but I wid you all de way. Ya sweet.

Hopi,
    A fallin offa ma chair. YOu real funny too. Lord hah mercy.

Amused,
    Who de f&^k care ’bout Donald Trump or Donald Duck fa dat matter. Lord knows how much women he piss pun. Stupseeeeeeeee.

J
    One more accolade you may add to Shontelle’s list maybe, I don’t know.
    She can think………therefore she’s single. ( giggle giggle).

For real live comedy, read dese blogs. Betta dan any ‘Laff it off’ or SNL.

47. Quote Hopi;” And no sisters ain’t doing shit for themselves because at the end of the day we are all still pawns in this game of chess that the killuminati is playing against us.”

I hope you meant Illuminati? ;-))

48. Bonny, no I don’t go to church, at the moment, but I’m considering returning after all these years and wondering which one to join. Can you recommend a denomination? Baptists, Methodists, Anglicans, etc??

Please don’t mention Rastafari!!, or perhaps, Scout, is the person I should address this to. He seems to be the true christian on here!!

J, it must be wonderful being able to ‘think’ when nabody doan know who yuh is when yuh life’s ambition is to be a pop-star, and, I assume, not only in Bim, so her ability to ‘think’, in your estimation, has got Shonelle far then, has n’t it!!

Lord!!

Maybe yuh betta-off NOT being able to ‘tink’!!

49. J, u jes lef my Rihanna alone, please!!

50. Partly bajan girl; Avatar
    Partly bajan girl;

Sorry Hopi,it was me writing the answer over, without signing.
    But I DO think that getting angry and try to avoid reflecting over the fact that blacks DO live in a too violent society,will not help us at all!
    We feed the suppressors wishes by reacting angrily and defensive and look upon ourselves as marionettes and pawns.
    We just have to change attitude and start with ourselves.
    Best obeah in the world!