GRAEME HALL NATURE SANCTUARY, INC.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Bridgetown, Barbados

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Contact:                                                Harry Roberts, General Manager

Telephone:                                            (246) 426-3610

Email:                                                   hroberts@graemehall.com

Backup Letters, Art and Archives:          www.graemehall.com/press.htm

Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in Barbados to Close

[Vancouver, Canada] Environmental philanthropist Peter Allard announced that the 35-acre Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in Barbados will close on December 15, 2008.

Saying that “no one individual can stand longer than a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation,” Allard despaired that to preserve the environmental heritage at Graeme Hall for future generations of Barbadians would require “a government-led consciousness.”

“I thank the the citizens of Barbados who came to the Sanctuary to visit, and thank those who signed the petition with the Friends of Graeme Hall for a National Park,” said Allard.   “I believe the Sanctuary would not have been possible without the support of the many eco-visitors, school children and the hard-working employees who put their heart and soul into making the Sanctuary a first class visitor experience.”

Allard went on to say that the Sanctuary would not exist if it had not been for special individuals who helped make it happen  such as Dame Billie Miller and her kind and capable Permanent Secretary, the late Brie St. John, Dr. Lorna Inniss, Dr. Trevor Carmichael, Dr. Karl Watson and many, many others.

Approximately 85 employees and contractors will be negatively affected by the closing.   It is expected that tour companies, taxis and local businesses will lose bookings as well.

In 2007, over 6,000 Barbadians signed a Friends of Graeme Hall petition in favor of preserving the approximately 240 acre green area at Graeme Hall as a National Park.    As the largest green space on the South Coast between the Airport and Bridgetown, the proposed National Park would include the designated 91-acre RAMSAR wetland approved under the international Convention on Wetlands, the 35-acre Sanctuary, and recreational lands.

Saying that that the future of the Sanctuary and the National Park is in the hands of the people of Barbados, Allard believes that the Friends of Graeme Hall and the citizens of Barbados must decide what their priorities are.

“We have great affection and regard for the people of Barbados, and the Sanctuary effort has always been a philanthropic mission.   This has been an incredibly painful and saddening decision, but ultimately it is not for us to initiate or set national goals and long term legacies for the nation.”

More information about the Sanctuary and the proposed Graeme Hall National Park can be found at www.graemehall.com/press.htm and www.graemehallnationalpark.org .

214 responses to “Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary Closing”

1. WTF….. In these interesting times that we are living, environementalism is just another code word for culling the “human” population. Right now its cool to “go green,” to save the planet, to protect the environment, but if you were to assess the orinetation of this new “hip thing” you would see that its the evil hand of a few who want to totally dominate and control, hence the need to save the environment and cull the population. Like I mentioned before, Allard said that the world is increasingly over-populated and that’s a damn LIE. If he sees over-population as a problem he can really make a fundamental change by taking himself out first and hopefully many more who espouse his beliefs would follow his lead. Envionnmentalists, eugenicists and nazis are all the same bunch. That might surprise you! Do these philanthropists ever think about helping “humans?” The Almighty has already created a perfectly, harmonius environment. These folk just like to put the Almighty’ creation into some sanctuary whether it is a jail, prison, hospital, school, church just name it, they just have to control and dominate. Will the wildlife die if the sanctuary closes?

2. Hopi… What are you smoking?

Or do you have “upside” on the Sanctuary being developed?

3. I do not agree that there was an attempt here to go off thread. We have just seen a display of exactly what continues to hold Barbados back – small-mindedness, indifference, complacency and racism.

We are comparing a generous gift for future generations with the sacrifice some of our own people are willing to make for our country.

Some of us put our energy into blowing hot air – not buying/wearing poppies, paying our good, hard-earned tax money to turn a statue to face another way and then wanting to spend more money to throw it in the Wharf. Fussing about who did what to whom and blaming living people for what dead people did to our dead ancestors long time ago.

I am proud of my slave family and glad that they survived the horrific passage from Africa. I have a better life because of their sacrifice. I am not an African, I have never been to Africa and I still like who I am. I have never seen a single person who I can blame for ill-treating my ancestors. Those who traded my family are long dead and so are my family members who were traded.

Today people are still trying to do the same thing to us and our living family. This is why we should continue fight for our freedom wherever we are and no matter what colour we are, even when we fight alone or our numbers are few. It is a hard fight but one worth fighting.

Those of us who read the PM’s budget will have seen that he stresses that the country will be glad of the help of philanthropists. We cannot expect our Government to do everything for us while we make little or no sacrifice. Those days are over. But we do need to know that our Government is not wasting our money on nonsense or, worse still, politicians stealing it to feather their own nests and oppressing minorities in the process.

When we are offered help we need to decide if it is for the good of our country and our future. We then need to ensure, through a transparent process, that the help gets to where it can give all of us the greatest benefit.

Does it really matter if help comes from someone who is not the same colour as we are. We all came from the same place.

4. What a load of rubbish from NO Name.
    I agree with you on some of what you say but how can you honestly make this comment..’Fussing about who did what to whom and blaming living people for what dead people did to our dead ancestors long time ago.’
    Then go on to say something as ridiculous as ….’I have a better life because of their sacrifice.’
    Do you have any idea what it means to sacrifice??
    In the context of slavery, what was their sacrifice? They had no choice in the matter. What make this life you have better if you dont even know how, (by your own admission) theirs were.
    It is great that you are the type of person you are today and I commend you for it but please never try to deny the facts that the horrors of slavery and racism have descended through generations and are still perpetrated by the same descendants in these times.

5. ChrisH……
    I’m smoking an “anthropomorphic” hashish. Want some? It may help correct the imbalance in your amazing mind!

6. Can't find BTA newsletter Avatar
    Can’t find BTA newsletter

visitbarbados.org is the official site of the BTA.

Nothing on that site for Graeme Hall.

So stupid we have to beg for the report. Where is this mythical newsletter Adrian?

7. @ no name

“I am proud of my slave family and glad that they survived the horrific passage from Africa. I have a better life because of their sacrifice. I am not an African, I have never been to Africa and I still like who I am. I have never seen a single person who I can blame for ill-treating my ancestors. Those who traded my family are long dead and so are my family members who were traded.”

I dont know you but these are some of the things I hear coming from the mouths of my young students at university.

All jokes aside.

I’d like you to try a simple mental exercise.

Try constructing a family tree.
    You mother and your father. Then their parents and see how far it takes you.
    By the time you get to four branches back in history you will have stumbled upon African slaves.

Now imagine that you are a result, spiritual, physical, emotional, cultural (you name it) of all these African people who have produced you.

Now try another exercise.

Imagine that there’d be no you without them. In other words, they are you and are they. You are connected.

Now look in the mirror. Look at your father and look at your mother and you will see similar physical traits.

Now imagine that when they look at their parents, your grandparents; they see similar physical traits which were passed onto you.

Now take this to it’s logical conclusion and you will figure out somehow that we are Africans.

We may not be sure exactly where we came from but the traits are there.

It’s more than sacrifice. It’s a continuum.

When you’ve done this little mental exercise, I’d like you to go deeper and start asking yourself one simple question – why am I?

Then close your eyes and try to imagine that you (remembering that you are a residual of all those ancestors) are on a ship, deep in the hole, next to hundreds more, chained, naked, defecating and urinating on each other.
    Imagine the heat, the stench, the darkness and the sheer fear, dread and horror.
    Now imagine that you are there against your own will and that you had a family before (brothers, sisters, aunts, mother, father, grandfather) and you will never see them again.

You want to jump off that ship and take your life but you survived the horror of the crossing.
    Then for the next 30 to 40 short years of your expected life, you are forced to work in the sun, cutting canes and doing all kinds of manual labor with no pay at the end – but yet you survive.

Yet you survive.

Now ask yourself if it isnt a little arrogant to say that this was mere sacrifice and that you are not an African because you’ve never been there.

JUST THINK ABOUT THAT HONESTLY FOR A FEW MOMENTS.

I trust that you will arise a little more enlightened from your slumber.

8. Anon anyone who know me knows that I am an emotional basket I cried when I read what you said cause I remind my friends daily on the block why I will never forget where I have come from I would have been one who would have either jumped from the boat or perhaps swung from a tree because I cannot bow t no man. We want to forget what has made us into a strong people.

Thanks for reminding me (Although I didnt need any reminding) However, this morning I will remind my son and my dauhgter and my frineds that we are proud africans incase they need to remember THANKS!

9. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Can’t find BTA newletter,

Call or email chayd@visitbarabdos.org

and I am sure he will email it to you.

At the same suggest that the Weekly UPDATE is posted on the website.

I have by the way emailed it to BU and BFP twice.

10. Thanks Anonymous,

I fully appreciate what you are saying, perhaps more fully than you know. I have done your exercise.

We all have African blood. So if that makes us African then okay we are all African. African does not mean black/white.

Enlightenment comes through experience and most Bajans hear stories about the people who are struggling today but are not moved to act. Few of us have a drop of activist blood in our veins. I am afraid most of us are too comfortable.

No slumber here. Just cannot afford to spend time blaming others when there is a struggle at hand now.

What you have said is exactly the point I am making. My family refuses to be oppressed today the way we have been for generations. We overcame that and are not going back.

I see that you (and I) believe that the traits of our ancestors play a significant role in who we are today. Do you believe that most Bajans inherited the peaceful traits hence there complacency?

Have you given any serious thought to what the influx of immigrants may mean for Barbados’ future as far as inherited character traits goes? This might be a good exercise for your young students.

I am not convinced that we should chase away foreign philanthropists because we do not like their colour or because they are not brown nosers. Although we do have to look very closely at what we are being offered and how it will affect future generations.

I just cannot see how the Nature Sanctuary and a reserve in the area could have a negative effect on future generations. I have been there and it is magnificant.

11. However, this morning I will remind my son and my dauhgter and my frineds that we are proud africans incase they need to remember THANKS!
    ————————————————
    Just remember that Africans sold other Africans as slaves and Africa is the only continent in the world where slavery is still practised.

12. ru4real // November 4, 2008 at 9:08 am

However, this morning I will remind my son and my dauhgter and my frineds that we are proud africans incase they need to remember THANKS!
    ————————————————
    Just remember that Africans sold other Africans as slaves and Africa is the only continent in the world where slavery is still practised.
    —————————————————————-
    @Ru4real……
    You just cant help can you?
    Slavery is still very much alive in Europe also albeit by another name.
    You are the kind who just cant accept that slavery was wrong. People like you would say anything to justify your ignorance.

13. @ no name

I’m impressed by your passion and I too believe that Graeme Hall swamp should be protected at all cost but I challenge you to read the Press Release between the lines.
    Do some background research into this philanthropist and you will understand the vitriol being spewed.
    Bajans are not as complacent as many would have us believe. We use other peaceful methods of resistance that have worked for us for centuries.

We are a very intelligent and pragmatic people.

Just remember that we were sold for glass beads and other trinkets.

Today those beads and trinkets are still used. The only difference is that they have now morphed into the biggest illusion of all, MONEY.
    Many times the trinkets will come in the form of philanthropy and what the philanthropist will do is to take one of us to be the mouthpiece for the project and play the emotional card.

I urge you to visit the website of Graeme Hall swamp, study the language, watch the video and listen very very carefully to what is being said.

You are very intelligent.

Just do like they do and take your emotion out of it for a minute and see what happens when you analyze it coldly.

14. Technician well said.Slavery is alive & real in my many Eastern European countries.The nonsense that was fed to us through the misinterpretation of slavery is so deep in the thinking of ru4real that nothing could be said to convince an idiot like you otherwise.
    ru4real would you accept the fact that slavery is being practise in many Eastern European States such as Romania,Poland,The Maldives,Russia & some it break away states among others.Eastern Europeans men,women & children are being traded for labour & sexual practises.If this is not so please come and denied it you ru4real & others.While at it come here and list the African countries where slavery is still being practise.
    Africans did not sold Africans into slavery.That is the biggest lie ever told on the African people.Africa did not conceptualise slavery and NEVER NEVER invited the stinking,smelly,detestable,disease Europeans to come to Africa & captured Africans.That is a blatant lie.Bring proof.That is a ploy & an excuse for the white stinking European bastards to justify slavery and to escape the issue of paying reparations.They want us to accept that we played a role in the slave trade.We did not.But uninform human waste like you will like to believe we did. ru4real you are 1 of the biggest asses on this blog who does not have independent thought.You are swallowing the shit that the poisonous,semi retareded,half make,disease ridden,non-human Europeans want us to believe.

15. Oh Please wake up Avatar
    Oh Please wake up

Anonymous,
    I would gladly send you back to where you belong… I’ll pay for your ticket even… cause well… “De White Man” is how you get to live on this wonderful island now…
    “De White Man” is how you got to type on a computer now… Oh but wait… people in Africa are still killing each other…
    We dont do that on this wonderful island… hmmm… possibly cause we are a civilzed nation…
    Well, at least the rest of us are civilzed Anonymous.
    I extend my invitation again… one way ticket to your homeland… wherever it maybe… and then the rest of us can think about what we can do to protect something that is not only a part of our island, but also part of our industry (as our main income is tourism)
    Wake up and smell the coffee beans…

16. Watch it Negroman.

Those “stinking,smelly,detestable,disease Europeans” of whom you speak live on the same land mass as Africa. We do not.

17. @ Oh Please wake up

Hahahahahahahaha. They did a wonderful job on you!

What a successful experiment!

Cuddear!

18. Oh Please wake up,

We all belong right where we are and we do still have a choice.

You do not need to be sarcastic here. Read carefully what Anonymous is saying before you take this discussion down.

19. No argument here, Anonymous.

My people sold my family for “glass beads and other trinkets”.

As far as I am concerned we both realize that this is exactly what our people are doing to us right now but I am not convinced that greed is any other colour than green and that our people are any other colour than the rainbow.

The issue is money NOT skin colour. Skin colour is the big ploy that continues to keep us back. High time we realize this and move forward.

Check Obama. (Incidentally, my family looks very much like him. Perhaps he is a cousin).

20. @ no name

Please read the late Prof Walter Rodney’s seminal thesis “How Europe Underdeveloped Africa.”

It’s still in print. It’s on reading lists of many european universities.

Start your reading there!

21. Oh Please wake up Avatar
    Oh Please wake up

My Sarcasm is a bliss compared to the ignorance being portrade… anyhow, this thread is about Graeme Hall Sanctuary… not Africa… so here is a suggestion, why dont you start a different thread about it… as I am not disputing what has been said, and that is a strong topic… This thread is about The Sanctuary…

So, moving on… what Barbados needs to think about is what we as citizens can do to stand up for the swamp, at the end of the day it serves as a refuge but also a source for education… UWI students have used the swamps for years for surveys. It is a part of an eco-system that is very fragile also because of the new developments (e.g. the loss of the beach for the water outlet) without people to go into the area and assist the nature (as confusing as that sounds) the swamp can actualy suffacate itself… so even if it is just left alone, it will still not survive well… And what happens next can be a number of things…

22. Who would have thought that the closing of one of our last nature sites…a heritage for all Barbadians…Black and White…would be the springboard for a racist to rant his retoric. How sad that in the 21st century we still have ignorance on this level in our country. Anonymous you should be ashamed of yourself. We can only be thankful that you seem to be in the minority and that most Barbadians are not so like minded.

23. black in my body Avatar

As a proud white bajan with obvious black roots at some point in my being I have to state from the unsaid “whitemans point of view” Anon, shame on you you say so clearly time and time again that this is” your” island the bajans island the black mans island and you want to race people off of it…It is not yours truthfully its not even the whitemans in fact the race it belongs to is all but completely anialated and not even by the “English…Whiteman” but by the Spanish,Portugese settlers.So please when you are running people outta this beautiful island keep running yourself.we will leave if you will tooo.Now honestly as it was taught to me, as it has been taught to anyone else with parents who wanted their children to go up with level heads ,we are for the most part barbadians you were not born of africa ….your parents were not either. therfore you are Barbadian…have pride in your place of birth this beautiful island. do not seek to corrupt it further with ideas of slavery. you have won. there is no secret agenda no plantocracy we are a free independent nation.any ties to england are only there by either the fact that they benifit us or we are too lazy a people to change them.stop thinking race this island is 95% black 2% white how could we few people still leave such a big chip on your shoulder when you yourself never even felt the hardship. For the record I have traced my ancestry and my forefathers did arrive on a whitemans ship from england as his slave .a stablehand who was allowed to sleep in the half a stable they had .I bear no malace to them.the same forefather married a black woman should I as a bajan be shamed for that too??? again not about race Anon.We cannot change the past we can only hope to not repeat the mistakes in the future.be yourself a better hope for our future and understand that regardless of who owns it, Gramme hall is part of Barbados and we should be pleased to have it cleaned up and given back to our island for future generations of barbadians to enjoy.

24. Oh Please wake up Avatar
    Oh Please wake up

Well said black in my body… we are so fortuate that we are getting Graeme Hall back so beautiful… it was horrible and dying before Allard and company come… Im not sure if anyone remembers how bad it smelt… and how much mosquitoes were in that area…

25. As others have said, this is a thread about the future of one of our natural resources.
    How racism has managed to raise it’s head in here is really beyond me. I have read comments by Technician, Hopi, Negroman and I do think that some of their comments regarding racism are valid.
    However, I fail to see why this is even being discussed.
    I think it was WTF that said (and I paraphrase) “I don’t give a hoot whether Allard continues to be involved, or not. I don’t give a wuk up whether the government get it as a donation or buy it back at a discount price.”
    The only thing that I see as being relevant to this discussion is what we as a people (black, white, brown, indian, chinese ect) can do to make sure that OUR heritage, is not further destroyed by greedy developers,as has happened on the west coast.

26. @ black in my body

Strange you should define yourself as white!

Poor fella!

Cuddear!

Therein lies the problem. You prove the point!

27. black in my body Avatar
    black in my body

To Anon should you pass me on the street I am a complete white man. the only black on my body is the growing flesh from cuts and scrapes and the ultimate knowledge that barbados is a complete melting pot.they are only two peoples that growing flesh are common in . that is African and Italian and I a damn sure none of my forefathers came from italy after all we live in Barbados not New York.It is sad for you to assume however that because I choose to say that I am white with a hint of black that I should be a black man who does not know himself.It is Kinda like you being A barbadian who refuses to know himself.

28. I am an African my friend. Make no bones about it.

29. black in my body Avatar
    black in my body

Then as an African, you are a guest in Barbados as you cannot be both an African and a Barbadian .I suggest you try and seek to return to your homeland.Although truth be told I know of Few Africans who would like to go back to their homeland ,feel free though.

30. Oh Please wake up Avatar
    Oh Please wake up

Yes you are.. we have established this.. And the way you portray yourself helps me, and the rest of us I’m sure, understand why there is so much termiol in Africa…
    Now can we talk about what the thread is about you Highness??? or start another thread and leave you here…

31. It’s unfortunate you dont see the linkages.

Cuddear!

32. Black In My Body
    You said you have white in your body and consider yourself a whiteman with European heritage.But blacks in Barbados should not consider themselves black with African heritage.
    Barbadian is only a nationality but our ethnic origin is African.Like it or not we blacks are the descendants of African slaves and that is an undeniable fact.
    In Barbados we have an ethnic group that we call Indians.We have a few thousand Indians borned in Barbados who have Barbadian nationality,but we Barbadians refer to them as Indians.We never mentioned them as only Barbadians.We specify Indian.
    The reasons are:
    (1) Those Barbadian Indians look like Indians from the Indian Continent
    (2)Those Indians maintain the same dress code as the Indians from the continent.
    (3) Those Barbadian Indians practise the same religion,have the same culture and the same norms & values as those from the Continent.
    Eventhough those borned Barbadian Indians have Barbadian nationality they have not forgotten who they are,where they come from,and where they heritage is .On the other hand we black Barbadisns with African heritage must abandon everthing African,forget we have African in us and believe we are only Barbadian and for us that should only matter.
    I will admit I have little regard,little love if any at all for Indians.However,I have respect for the way the Indians preseved their heritage in every region of the earth that they go.
    We blacks can learn a lot from the Indians in Barbados .
    Unfortunately for us blacks the legacy of slavery has practically destroyed our heritage and it will take a period of time before we can reclaim what is our and recognise the true Afriac.It will take time but the rebuilding process is under way.

33. By the way, I’m not quite sure what you mean by “termiol in Africa.”

Please help me to understand that.

34. Thanks Negroman

PLease educate them on how the Motherland was carved up at a table in Europe and how ethnic groups were divided – the root cause of today’s strife.

PLease show them the parallels in the former Yugoslavia, Georgia and the list goes on.

Please educate them on the artificiality of the nation-state in Africa (another white man construct) and show them the root causes of today’s strife.

Negroman, educate ya brothers and sisters doo.

Please explain to them that true philanthropists dont meddle in governmental or national affairs. They donate their money and keep quiet unless they have another agenda.

Please show them the linkages between the so-called Graeme Hall project and the rape of the West Coast.

Please, please, please!

35. This thread really needs locking down, as nothing relating to the topic is being discussed any longer.

36. black in my body Avatar
    black in my body

I have never and will never be upset over my heritage white or black however you are a barbadian you loyalty lies with the country of your birth and your parents birth not some continent that you have possibly never even visited. unlike you I do not call myself african or english even tho I might have hertiage on both sides I am a Barbadian.and if we do not all act in the best interests of our island it will not grow.so Grow up as a Barbadian,Proud and erect not as some half baked Moron bent on driving the dreams of barbadians on the whole down the perverbial tubes.As for the Indian culture here in the island you are correct in all but one area the Indian population also stays firmly away from trying to discredit any race or group in the island and stay out of all politics as well.

37. Oh Please wake up Avatar
    Oh Please wake up

As someone had said earlier that Allard should go back to Canada… If you read the beginning of the article you will see that the article was sent from Canada… So the man has been sending funds to this as a charity already… and is ready to give it away… It’s so typical that we dont open our minds to possibilities, it could easily be a public park, it would be much more fascinating than Barclays…

38. Oh Please wake up Avatar
    Oh Please wake up

Termiol… Africa… your own people kill each other… tribal wars still exist…
    What… you dont know… CUHDEAR.. get educated… watch the news…use the net… now back to the thread thats on GRAEME HALL…

39. Oh Please wake up Avatar
    Oh Please wake up

p.s. your book… its an opinion of one man… go take a history course… then come talk to us…

40. @Adrian Loveridge: “I have by the way emailed it to BU and BFP twice.”

So, are you ,AL, submitting to the readers that BU and BFP have the information their commentators are asking for, but have not brought the same forward?

Humm… Are the BB blogs nothing but the traditional forth estate (in different clothing)?

I do hope *someone* will speak to this…

Could someone (anyone) advise?

41. Anonymous,
    I wid you all de way man. These people really think that what you say could sway tourist from coming hay? (stupse)
    I would like to see the swamp before it dry up cause people getting on like dat is what will happen. Who gun cah me?
    (Just a lil humor fa de bloggers.)
    How ya like ma?
    How ya like ma.

42. what a useless thread. this could have been an intelligent one except we ended up with whole load of crap as to who got what in who blood…

43. @Chris H

You are not prepared to give is the benefit of the doubt?

Please note that Adrian L sent us a link from within his inbox which prompts for a login/password to his email account. Adrian we wondered if you could cut and paste the information.

44. u4real // November 4, 2008 at 9:08 am

However, this morning I will remind my son and my dauhgter and my frineds that we are proud africans incase they need to remember THANKS!
    ————————————————
    —————————————————————-
    @Ru4real……
    You just cant help can you?
    Slavery is still very much alive in Europe also albeit by another name.
    You are the kind who just cant accept that slavery was wrong. People like you would say anything to justify your ignorance.
    ———————————————
    Its very much alive in Africa under the same name slavery!
    Shut your eyes and dream of the Africa that you have never even been too.
    Africans sold Africans and today Africans kill Africans so be happy that you are Bajan and no nothing of the reality of Africa where life is cheap – that is why Africans risk their lives to get out of the place every single day.

Ignorant?
    Read the news lately?
    Hundreds of thousands fleeing from other Africans in the Congo,
    13 year old girl stoned to death after being raped in Somalia.
    Slavery was a terrible thing but the decendents of slaves are far better off living in Barbados than the majority living in Africa.

45. If all humanity originated from the Olduvai Gorge, and that in reality is the cradle of civilisation, how come Anon fell out that cradle, bumped his head, eschewed civility, and earned a teaching position at UWI.

46. @ru4real….

You still dodging the fact that your Europeans are also involved in everyday slavery as much as the Africans but lets leave that for another day, you really pinch a nerve when you tell me to read the news.
    Hundreds fleeing Congo……….give the true reasons not the one dictated by CNN or FOX.

13 year old girl stoned to death after being raped in Somalia……..there you go again.All the journalists who were invited to the debacle said to them she looked 23. This is in agreement to what the officials say. Under Sharia Law, it is illegal if the girl is 13.
    I am in no way condoning this killing as I think it is Barbaric but please dont come here with your arrogance,telling people to read news, when it is clear that the only ‘news’ you read is what you see on CNN or FOX.

any how, done with you, another place …another time……peace.

47. What’s the true reasons in Rwanda, Techie.

Are blacks really hacking blacks to death in the cradle of civilisation?

Tell me no.

48. 13 year old girl stoned to death after being raped in Somalia……..there you go again.All the journalists who were invited to the debacle said to them she looked 23. This is in agreement to what the officials say. Under Sharia Law, it is illegal if the girl is 13.
    ——————————————-
    O sorry thats alright then she LOOKED 23 so it ok that she gets raped by three men and THEN gets stoned to death.

Do go back to Africa you will fit in jus fine.

49. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David/Chris,

My apologies, apparently the BTA News Update is only available to a limited number of ‘stakeholders’.

I cannot even imagine what is the ‘management’ logic behind this decision.

And I thought we were trying to get the general public to better understand the vagaries of the tourism industry!

50. @ ru4real……

Show me where I ever said it is ok.
    All I tried to show, is that the media also plays a part in its coverage with deception, which in turn creates emotional public responses for their own agendas.
    Keep on twisting my words …..you have been taught well.
    No need to go to Africa….Barbados is slowly becoming like it,