GRAEME HALL NATURE SANCTUARY, INC.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Bridgetown, Barbados

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Contact:                                                Harry Roberts, General Manager

Telephone:                                            (246) 426-3610

Email:                                                   hroberts@graemehall.com

Backup Letters, Art and Archives:          www.graemehall.com/press.htm

Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in Barbados to Close

[Vancouver, Canada] Environmental philanthropist Peter Allard announced that the 35-acre Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in Barbados will close on December 15, 2008.

Saying that “no one individual can stand longer than a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation,” Allard despaired that to preserve the environmental heritage at Graeme Hall for future generations of Barbadians would require “a government-led consciousness.”

“I thank the the citizens of Barbados who came to the Sanctuary to visit, and thank those who signed the petition with the Friends of Graeme Hall for a National Park,” said Allard.   “I believe the Sanctuary would not have been possible without the support of the many eco-visitors, school children and the hard-working employees who put their heart and soul into making the Sanctuary a first class visitor experience.”

Allard went on to say that the Sanctuary would not exist if it had not been for special individuals who helped make it happen  such as Dame Billie Miller and her kind and capable Permanent Secretary, the late Brie St. John, Dr. Lorna Inniss, Dr. Trevor Carmichael, Dr. Karl Watson and many, many others.

Approximately 85 employees and contractors will be negatively affected by the closing.   It is expected that tour companies, taxis and local businesses will lose bookings as well.

In 2007, over 6,000 Barbadians signed a Friends of Graeme Hall petition in favor of preserving the approximately 240 acre green area at Graeme Hall as a National Park.    As the largest green space on the South Coast between the Airport and Bridgetown, the proposed National Park would include the designated 91-acre RAMSAR wetland approved under the international Convention on Wetlands, the 35-acre Sanctuary, and recreational lands.

Saying that that the future of the Sanctuary and the National Park is in the hands of the people of Barbados, Allard believes that the Friends of Graeme Hall and the citizens of Barbados must decide what their priorities are.

“We have great affection and regard for the people of Barbados, and the Sanctuary effort has always been a philanthropic mission.   This has been an incredibly painful and saddening decision, but ultimately it is not for us to initiate or set national goals and long term legacies for the nation.”

More information about the Sanctuary and the proposed Graeme Hall National Park can be found at www.graemehall.com/press.htm and www.graemehallnationalpark.org .

214 responses to “Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary Closing”

1. @ Chris forgot to take his mad pills

De long and short is that we dont trust you and we are not obliged to like you.
    FULL STOP.

2. I’m not here to be liked… In fact, I’ve found that *not* being liked often motivates others more.

To be quite frank, I’m here to (try to) change how things are done here…

However, I do find it interesting that very few seem to be willing (able?) to debate me.

I bring nothing to the table but my (entirely self-taught) mind, and a position of thought based on years of thinking. *Anyone* can do what I do.

So, the questions I’ll leave you with is: why don’t you? Or is that too much to ask from those with (quoting NM) “stronger & superrior[sic] genes?”

3. Chris Halsall…
    “To be quite frank …..” Man you just added insult to injury. You come with the same stinking attitude as your “SUPERIOR” foreparents who believed that they had a mandate from on high to change/upset the order of Mother Nature. You just want to rule and dominate every species on planet earth and beyond, hence people like the above subject think that they still have that mandate to take control of birds, animals, plants and humans. Can’t you see that you have disrupted the natural order? Can’t you see how much havoc you have reigned down on this planet? Isn’t that enough for you? Or you need total extinction with exception of your kind? You bring your lies, deception, bombs, drugs, “education,” religion, entertainment, diet, disease……. Is planet earth any better off with all your entrapments and delusions? When are you gonna stop man?

4. @Hopi…

I come from a position of nothing but scientific, mathematical and logical fundamentals.

The human mind is an amazing thing…

But, does it scale? That is the fundamental question before us…

5. Chris Halsall
    I am no expert at the English Language,however I tried to put over the point that Africa gave the world its civilization.Africans are the parent race and that human existence came from Africa.You could try to ridicule my grammar and use of the English Language,but I want you or anyone to challenge the points I make on these blogs.You nor no one have brought a counter position to my arguments and have in no way disprove my position.
    Chris Halsall with your “superior” education and wisdom I am begging you please come and disprove my points I made on these blogs.I said the Caucasian race is a disease ridden,parasitical,destructive race that has wreck havoc on this earth.I want you to challenge me on that and prove my analysis of the despicable stinking Europeans is wrong.
    Chris Halsall,please respond the points that Hopi mentioned also.

6. Negroman, you starting to sound more and more like Adolph Hitler everyday. Let’s not forget how his “masterplan” turned out. You gine organize all the brothers to do the goosestep around Kensington Oval?

7. CrisH…..
    You said you’re looking for someone to debate (pay attention to) you, why don’t you answer my questions?

NegroMan….. You don’t have to form your speech according to the Queen’s english. Remember it is this same queen and her language that enslaved our forparents and as a result we don’t even know our own language. English is the language of the treacherous, marauding, criminals. Never mind how much they try to redicule you, you’re doing a fine job of UNMASKING THE CHARLATANS.

8. Pied piper I am not like negro man I wont take it that far but I am not an ass I will not allow my children to wear poppies or celebrate ANYTHING that undermines black people that is not to say that I wont teach them to respect people but I will NEVER ALLOW a boy to disrespect them I will never let my children think that they are inferior to no one. There is a difference. Negroman is just proving his point in his way I dont think that he or anon would get that radical I think they are tired of people trying to undermine their intelligence when we all know that blak people ARE NOT STUPID just humble!

9. JC: Not for one minute would I think or have ever thought that black people are stupid nor would I advocate humility. Humility, in the context of black history, just has the wrong connotation.
    There is nothing wrong with being a proud black person as long as one does not denigrate others in order to feel that pride.

10. “I come from a position of nothing but scientific, mathematical and logical fundamentals.”

That the problem with that race and their insipid culture.
    They believe that everything can be based on reason on logic.

Well we got news fuh wunna.
    Yuh lie!

Now go and tek yuh mad tablets.

11. JC
    I am so proud of you as a strong,positive black mother,sister & daughter who is prepare to stand up for what you believe in.We need more sisters like you.JC, you are correct about the purchase of poppies.I also do not buy poppies and I also advise my fellow black brothers & sisters do not buy poppies.The 2 world war was a European war with Europeans killing Europeans.They should have killed out each other.That war had nothing to do with the liberation of black people and it was in no way any help for us.In that war the blacks people were the ancillary staff.That is they were not involved in the actual fighting because the Europeans did not want a black man to kill another European.The blacks had to cook the food,clean the toilets,clean the soldiers boots & all that sort of demeaning work.
    We black people must not continue to be fool by history and continue to support activities we do not even know why we are supporting them and in many cases those events were not in the interest of black people.
    The 2 world war and Christianity are 2 case in point.
    Anonymous,Hopi,JC & rest thanks for the support.I think we need more fearless,strong black people like us to come out,stand up & challenge all the falsehoods that the despicable,killing,disease,immoral,nasty Europeans inflicted on this earth.

I will encourage everyone to read Professor Alvin Thompson article on slavery in today;s Sunday Sun.It makes very interest reading.

12. @ Negroman:

De madman from Jenkins, Chris Halsall, believes himself to be intellectually superior.

When I told him that we dont trust “you” and that “we are not obliged to like you”, he in his great wisdom took it as 2nd person singular and not 2nd person plural referencing the white race and their culture.

There you go.

The guy is a madman from Jenkins or wherever he lives.
    Put him on ignore too.

On another thread he had some stupid argument that he’s not to blame for his foreparents wrongs. When asked if he is to share in the wealth they created and stored off the backs of others but not share the blame, he went silent.
    Then started talking nonsense bout logic.

It’s all that logic and their smart cunts that got the environment in a mess right now.

13. @ Negroman

I too stopped buying poppies years ago when I learnt what they had black soldiers doing during those wars.

I dont call anyone Sir, Dame or Lady.

There maybe other vestiges that we cant get away from but we certainly to can make the effort to change things.

Let’s see if this government will have the guts to remove Nelson.

The Iraqis tore down statues of Saddam, the Russians tore down statues of Stalin, the Germans brokedown the Berlin Wall and we are still afraid we might offend a handful o white tourists from England and another handful o Bajan whites if we tek down Nelson.

To add insult to injury, de last govt feel dat dem did something when dem put up Errol Barrow statue and mek it bigger dan Nelson. That’s supposed to be appeasement.

We will not be happy until Nelson is taken to f@@k down!

14. Anonymous
    I fully agreed with you.Nelson should be thrown into wharf.A one hand,one eye thiefin,murderous mercenary.We have a bunch of of “educated”,”uneducated” black idiots arguing for the retention of that white thief to remain there.He did nothing for black people or Barbados.
    This country is lucky that I am a law abiding citizen
    Anonymous glad to know you do not buy poppies anymore.We must start the process

15. @ David

Please edit the last line of the above post by “anonymous”

“We will not be happy until Nelson is taken to f…. down!”

16. Sorry if I misundersttod you Pied piper! Sometimes I just think that we love to say cud dear too quick I know we are the parent race fah real!

Any one read Kenyata recently or back then? I found his readings to be too too real and tooo scary! I wonder if Chris Halsall great grand father was one of them persons that come with the bibles and teach us to read it with our eyes closed ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha (just joking dont take offence respect!)

17. Well, I bought a poppy last week from a proud, black Barbadian gentleman who served in the war. A member of the Legion. In fact, it was the second poppy I bought. This gentleman was such an inspiration.

Some people need to get out more.

18. BTW Errol Barrow was a pilot in the war.

Why waste time on small talk about the past when there are big things happening now which need our attention?

19. No Name…..
    The past is always present! Its the past that brought us the present. The big things that need our attention now are called WARS or the decimation of humanity. There has never been a war in which the black man should have been proud to serve. War has never done us “Blacks” any good. War is a racket and only a few profit. Where the hell do you think those poppies come from? Right in the fields of Afghanistan where the marauders are raping and pillaging everyday, so I don’t understand how a black man from some legion could be proud of any such thing. “He was such an inspiration” Poor fellow! Keep buying poppies and sanction the whole scale murder of those people and tell me if you’re proud of that!

20. Poppies – cocaine

Poppies – war

Poppies – blah blah

good for you no name if that is where you want to spend your money that is your perogative hip hip hooray for no name!

21. Wars made us come back from cambodia all messed up and addicted war made us come back from england and other parts of Europe madder than blasted well hatters and you mean to tell me that I am supppoe to tell my children to buy poppies and la te dah de dah and the cow jump over the moon and bah ba black sheep have you any wool and lord wash me and I shall be whiter than snow ha ha ha you are so FUNNY I FORGOT TO LAUGH SHUPES (LOL) NO OFFENCE RESPECT!

22. Wow!

Hopi and JC,

So please tell us what you are doing about it so that we can join. What meaningful contribution are you making?

Sorry, I forgot, what you are doing about it is not buying poppies. Great! Hoorah!

BTW you do not need to go to Cambodia to get addicted. Perhaps this will give you a clue as to where you can do something “meaningful” to help.

23. I was reading in amusement at the issue of poppies.
    I refuse to wear a poppy but I have no problem donating to help those who fought in the wars.Personally , I think that it is a shame that these men live in such squander and poverty after giving their service.We can knight some of the most corrupt people in the country but can’t give a decent pension to these men.What hurts the most is to see them at the parade every year (if alive) and after all the pomp and pageantry, go back to their dilapidated homes to live out another year in abject poverty. That to me is a damn shame. To me the poppy is a symbol of hypocrisy, that is why I would never wear one.

24. Technician..
    Henry Kissinger, one of the biggest blood-letting war criminals of our time once said that soldiers are dumb, stupid animals to be used as pawns in foreign policy. This is coming from a man who orchestrates wars. So you see why war is nothing but a racket! Nuff respect for your empathy and do continue to support these poor old men who have been misled. Don’t wear one stinking poppy let queen elizardbeth wear all.

25. @ Hopi…
    Anyone who understands history can see that the wars the USA got involved in had very little or nothing at all to do with them.
    Strangely enough, every time there is a recession in the US,there is a war to fight and with so many brainwashed pawns at their disposal….well, just look at Iraq.
    On the poppy issue though, I will tell anyone to donate but never wear the symbol.

26. An inspirational movie worth watching is called “Freedom Writers” based on a true story of what is being discussed here.

27. @nno name // November 2, 2008 at 6:59 pm
    ————————————————
    What meaningful contribution I am giving is that if I see anyone that I can help whom I think personally desrves a few dollars that I can spare I give them.

All of ‘us’ are strugglers and live pay check to pay check or at least I am and I will be damed if I will give my hard earned money to persons who think that they helped black people in a European war when they live in the stables and yet their houses are in the worse conditions here in Barbados what bullsh**are you telling me!

That only you have an opinion and I dont!

I refuse to give them a cent of mine when I past that lady by the treasury wen I get pay who is there with her wheel chair I give her my money! When someone in the newspapers child needs an operation I give them my ‘nasty’ 20 dollar or if I see someone in the supermarket who is just like me who has nothing but wants a donation to help them with lupus or cancer I squeeze something out of my supermarket bill without thought so dotn tell me no crap cause you give some soldiers who help the white people to win their war you think that you are holier than thou! I believe in my own for a change instead of others shupes!

I dont have a lot, further more I realise that I dont need a lot to make a change!

28. As far as I know the funds raised from selling poppies are supporting the same old black soliders you are speaking of not Eurpeans. So continue to cut off your nose to spoil ya face, Idoits.

29. No body aint send them to fight no whit mans war who the hell you calling an idiot cause we have different opinions to yours we are idiots you smart person well chee thanks you smart and opinionated fellow!

30. Negroman // November 2, 2008 at 3:13 pm

Anonymous
    I fully agreed with you.Nelson should be thrown into wharf.A one hand,one eye thiefin,murderous mercenary.We have a bunch of of “educated”,”uneducated” black idiots arguing for the retention of that white thief to remain there.He did nothing for black people or Barbados.

++++++++++++++++++

Go and actually read some history and you will find that not only did Nelson’s victory at the Nile in 1798 save Africa from French invasion, but that he also played a deciding hand in Haitian Independence in 1804.

… and the Louisiana Purchase by America is also directly attributable to the impact he had on French aspirations outside of Europe.

… and how do you think we are able to read the hieroglyphics which opened the world’s eyes to the wonders of early Egyptian civilizations? (Rosetta Stone)

Nelson’s impact on world history is far larger that Trafalgar. That was bare icing!! His place was secure long before he died.

I just went on the ancestry.com website to look at some of the slaves called after Nelson in 1834.

Here are some examples:

Beck Ann Nelson
    Ben Nelson
    Betty Easter Nelson
    Betty Nelson
    Black Nelson
    Bob Nelson
    Bob Nelson
    Bob Nelson
    Casar Nelson
    Daniel Nelson
    Debby Nelson
    Edward Nelson
    Frances Louisa Nelson
    George Nelson
    Hesther Nelson
    Horatia Nelson
    Horatio Nelson
    Ino Ewd Nelson
    James E Nelson
    James Nelson
    Jim Nelson
    Joe Nelson
    Joe Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson

John Nelson
    John Nelson
    John Nelson
    Joseph Nelson
    Kitty Nelson
    Lord Nelson
    M Nelson
    Mary Nelson

Why do you think the Horatio Cooke Auditorium in Belmont Road has in the name Horatio?

Wonder how the deejay Admiral Nelson got his name!!

It is a simple fact that Horatio and Nelson were used as christian names from 1798 onward all over the world. Some families actually used those two names over several generations!!

This is not a phenomena limited only to one race or country. It is found throughout the world.

Go to familysearch.org and choose a surname and put in horatio as a christian name. Chances are you will get several hits from around the world.

People make the mistake of thinking that Nelson is simply Trafalgar and actually believe that the statue only commemorates the Battle of Trafalgar.

The statue is a memorial to a remarkable man and every Bajan living at the time had a hand in its erection.

Go and actually read what it says on the statue and stop listening to people who do not read!!

Read, and start thinking for yourself.

When you do, think for a moment about why August 1st could have been chosen as emancipation day!!

You will find a compelling reason on the statue!!

Did you know also that there is a “Nelson” Island off the coast of Africa in Aboukir Bay, and why do you think we have a Trafalgar Street, … and a Nile street!!

This guy was a superstar in his day!!

Only someone who does not read would miss the significance of his life and achievements on world history.

31. @John….

After all this, I am yet to see what this means for Barbados or Bajans to an extent.
    What you fail to put in your reasoning is that even though all these accolades are there, it depends on which side of the fence you are sitting.
    Anyone can read for themselves yes but there are also some horror stories about the same Nelson to contradict all that you have said.
    To try and use the names of people to show the significance of his name is a crafty move by you,seeing that they took away our original names,religion and way of life and forced theirs on us.
    You see, I always have a problem reading HIStory of these so called heroes. I was taught as a boy, that Christopher Columbus discovered the world too.

32. @ John

Your argument is piss poor.

33. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Well! Mr Allard,

On the 7.30am and 8.30am editions of todays StarCom Nwetwork news our Minister of Tourism has stated

‘the lines of communicatons with Government are open’

Please just call the Hon. Richard Sealy on (246) 430 7504

34. @ John..
    I just went on the ancestry.com website to look at some of the slaves called after Nelson in 1834.

Here are some examples: ( add your list here)
    ————————————————————————
    Tell me John, did these people name their kids after Nelson because of his fame and popularity (like how we have all these Aisha, Kobe, Ronaldo etc) or was the name given to them by their masters (like Kunta Kinte became Toby)?
    ————————————————————
    The statue is a memorial to a remarkable man and every Bajan living at the time had a hand in its erection.

Please explain ‘every Bajan had a hand’ in its erection.
    Do you perchance mean the labourers who brought the stones?
    Or do you mean the rich upper class ‘Bajans ‘ living here at the time?
    It is cool to tell people to read but what they actually read and believe could be just as destructive as not reading at all.

As the saying goes….to each his own …I guess.

35. Never ceases to amaze me how some people always manage to take these threads and turn them into racism topics.
    Instead of being concerned as to whether there may (or may not) be a natural resource (Graeme Hall Swamp) for our children and grand children to experience, they are more concerned at creating hate and strife at home, and now abroad.

36. @WTF!

Until the issue of racism is totally discussed on a notional level and brought to some form of acceptance by all parties, then every topic and every thread on this blog and others will eventually lead back to it.
    That is the reality of it!!
    Now …..back to the original thread…..

37. John….
    You’re saying that black folk should celebrate this blood-letting marauder nelson? Let’s see between him, Napoleon and the Greeks they robbed, ransacked, and pillaged Egypt. You said he helped the world to read hieroglyphics and understand the wonders of Egypt. At least you’re admitting that there was a wonderful non-white world out there before the white man’s “civilization.” Ever wonder how you got european kings and queens? They stole these ideas right out of Egypt. Why was england and france constantly at war? Why can’t the white man ever live in peace? Blood!blood!blood! Nelson actually saved African from the french. Oh sweet Jesus! We should be ever so thankful. Oh you ungrateful descendants of Ham! What the hell is the difference between the British and the French? They are from the same womb.
    Let’s see Beck, Betty, Ben and don’t forget Bozo, what a beautiful surname!

38. John
    You are incredible.What comic reliefYour argument is foolish,nonsensical & laughable.I as a descendant of a black African slave do not gave a damn of any battles that racist,thiefin,one eye,one hand bandit fought.Do not come to insult my intelligence with the foolishness that Nelson save us from the French.The French,the Spanish,the English,the Dutch,& the Portugese were slave owners.All of them murdered & enslaved black people.I do not care if I was speaking french,dutch,latin,english or whatever langauge.The slaves were in bondage by all the stinking European mercenaries.The slaves were not given any different or better treatment from any of the slave owners.
    That 1 hand,1 eye wretch of a human did nothing for black people.He is no hero of mine.His statue should be thrown into wharf along with any person who wants to support that thief.

39. @WTF

The off thread discussion is deliberate with the objective of turning bloggers off and not contributing.

40. WTF & Waterboy….
    There’s no offthread discussion here. This is all inextricably linked. You cannot separate it. Environmental preservation is a code phrase. While the “superior” practise racism some of us point it out. That’s all. We are not practising it. We are above that. It takes an inferior mind to to be racist. We’re just unmasking it since it comes in many different forms.

41. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Everybody, please see the BTA’s weekly newsletter with special thanks to Minister Sealy, Friends at Graeme Hall and all of you that have campaigned to keep this wonderful facility open.

42. @Adrian Loveridge: “Everybody, please see the BTA’s weekly newsletter…”

Care to provide a URL?

Or does “everyone” know where to find this?

43. You seem to have to sign up to receive it.

Adrian, can you cut, paste and post the relevant section?

44. @Negroman: “I am no expert at the English Language…”

What language would you like to debate in then?

@NM: “However I tried to put over the point that Africa gave the world its civilization.”

This point can be debated. Africa did not necessarily give the world its civilization so much as its genes.

@NM: “Africans are the parent race and that human existence came from Africa.”

A point I do not dispute.

@NM: “You could try to ridicule my grammar and use of the English Language,but I want you or anyone to challenge the points I make on these blogs.You nor no one have brought a counter position to my arguments and have in no way disprove my position.”

I’m not ridiculing your grammar nor your use of language. I’m questioning (and am willing to argue) your reasoning and arguments. (Human languages (such as English and Latin are but metaphors for the fundamental language of mathematics.)

And, above, I have proven that your arguments fail simple deductive reasoning (using methods derived from fundamentals by *we* *humans* many hundreds of years ago.

@NM: “…with your “superior” education and wisdom I am begging you please come and disprove my points I made on these blogs.”

I’m trying. But my logical arguments seem to not be understood. (And, again, I’ll present that I have *no* education beyond reading a lot.)

And, interestingly, I’m finding that I’m being attacked for being a “whiteman” for trying…

(Gods forbid a “whiteman” dare challenge someone to debate. They must be racist!!!)

@NM: I said the Caucasian race is a disease ridden,parasitical,destructive race that has wreck havoc on this earth.”

You may have said this. But it holds no logical support. It is language rendered with nothing but emotional energy.

@NM: “I want you to challenge me on that and prove my analysis of the despicable stinking Europeans is wrong.”

You sound like a woman who’s been cheated on by their partner… (And we all know where that ends…)

45. Facts have an uncanny way of dispersing arguments based on hearsay and TV.

Deal with the simple facts with Graeme Hall.

I could not help putting in these simple historical facts to show up the standard mumbo jumbo for what it is.

Back to the thread!!

46. Chris H… Mr Goody-two-Shoes, seems like Anonymous’ advice worked for a sec, but now it has worn off, you’re back to bless us with that amazingly, scientific, mathematical, logical, fudamentally, imbalanced mind.

John…. Back to the thread. In Allard’s 3rd para he said the the earth is increasingly over-populated. This is such a blatant lie.

47. Yeah right John…..
    You could not help my ass!!
    You just thought you were dealing with a bunch of ignorant people that’s all.
    You knew exactly what you were doing and saying….you just didn’t expect the replies…..typical.

48. LOL….some real comedians on here.
    Racism and saving a national natural resource are inextricably linked.
    Gotta love it….only in Barbados.
    Saw this quote on another forum..think it interesting.
    “We may see a couple of new things in the coming years, a black president of the US, and a Black Formula One Champion

When the former has happened, will everyone realise that it is possible that really this whole “nasty white folk” thing has had its day, that what is holding blacks back is not white but a whole lot closer to home! ”

things that make you go hmmm.

I think we should all agree that we need to put aside our differences, whether they be skin colour, economic bracket, class, religeon ect, and come together to save this wetland, mangrove swamp, natural jungle, from becoming a concrete jungle.

Personaly i don’t give a hoot whether Mr. Allard continues to own it, or be involved in it. I don’t give a wuk up if the government takes it as a gift, or buys it at a discount price.
    I do care whether it gets destroyed by developers in the name of progress.

I don’t see the difficulty in government saying “we declare Graeme Hall Swamp and it’s immidiate environs are a National Park,”
    Case done.

49. SO DAVID THOMPSON IS A GUYANESE AFTERALL

50. @Adrian Loveridge: “Everybody, please see the BTA’s weekly newsletter…”

Where do we find it?