GRAEME HALL NATURE SANCTUARY, INC.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Bridgetown, Barbados

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Contact:                                                Harry Roberts, General Manager

Telephone:                                            (246) 426-3610

Email:                                                   hroberts@graemehall.com

Backup Letters, Art and Archives:          www.graemehall.com/press.htm

Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in Barbados to Close

[Vancouver, Canada] Environmental philanthropist Peter Allard announced that the 35-acre Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in Barbados will close on December 15, 2008.

Saying that “no one individual can stand longer than a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation,” Allard despaired that to preserve the environmental heritage at Graeme Hall for future generations of Barbadians would require “a government-led consciousness.”

“I thank the the citizens of Barbados who came to the Sanctuary to visit, and thank those who signed the petition with the Friends of Graeme Hall for a National Park,” said Allard.   “I believe the Sanctuary would not have been possible without the support of the many eco-visitors, school children and the hard-working employees who put their heart and soul into making the Sanctuary a first class visitor experience.”

Allard went on to say that the Sanctuary would not exist if it had not been for special individuals who helped make it happen  such as Dame Billie Miller and her kind and capable Permanent Secretary, the late Brie St. John, Dr. Lorna Inniss, Dr. Trevor Carmichael, Dr. Karl Watson and many, many others.

Approximately 85 employees and contractors will be negatively affected by the closing.   It is expected that tour companies, taxis and local businesses will lose bookings as well.

In 2007, over 6,000 Barbadians signed a Friends of Graeme Hall petition in favor of preserving the approximately 240 acre green area at Graeme Hall as a National Park.    As the largest green space on the South Coast between the Airport and Bridgetown, the proposed National Park would include the designated 91-acre RAMSAR wetland approved under the international Convention on Wetlands, the 35-acre Sanctuary, and recreational lands.

Saying that that the future of the Sanctuary and the National Park is in the hands of the people of Barbados, Allard believes that the Friends of Graeme Hall and the citizens of Barbados must decide what their priorities are.

“We have great affection and regard for the people of Barbados, and the Sanctuary effort has always been a philanthropic mission.   This has been an incredibly painful and saddening decision, but ultimately it is not for us to initiate or set national goals and long term legacies for the nation.”

More information about the Sanctuary and the proposed Graeme Hall National Park can be found at www.graemehall.com/press.htm and www.graemehallnationalpark.org .

214 responses to “Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary Closing”

1. a very sad day indeed

2. As I stated earlier, this is the only controlled wetland in the island and should be preserved for our future generations. We also have the only forestation in the island located in Turners Hall Woods, St. Andrew which was given to Barbadians by Mr. Turner after his death with the clear understanding that it should not be destroyed. These special environmental treasures must be preserved now without delay. Our governments love to procrastinate, or maybe, just waiting for the debates slip under the carpet before having a change of used.

3. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I have been there numerous times and its beautiful. The government needs to step in and take over this property.

4. Politically Incorrect Avatar
    Politically Incorrect

Who is surprised?

The Government what?

An unwanted caucasian tried to do something positive for the environment of Barbados.

What was he met with constant villification, rejection and disdain.

Keep it up Bim!

5. frances brennan Avatar

This cannot happen! The last greenspace between the airport and Bridgetown, a unique environment. Can nothing be done? Is it too late?

6. Mr Prime Minister and company, what are you waiting for?

DLP Manifesto 2008 states on page 42 “The Democratic Labour Party has a philosophical and almost religious obligation to preserve Barbados in its natural state.” and on page 43 “Give maximum support to all organizations committed to environmental preservation.”

Where is this on Graeme Hall? What is the problem? What are you waiting for? When will you act?

7. Adrian L:

What is your authority’s authorative view on this announcement?

Given the recent politically correct promotion of environmental tourism some strategy must have been formulated.

Delay will equal disaster for Graham Hall, we need a policy statement now.

8. It would be a national shame if Greame Hall is closed. I loked going there and sit on the bench among the manbgrove trees. So relaxing. We bajans can never appreciate the natural beauty this country has

9. Question does the closure mean this green spot will disappear?

To what extent has this matter been override by politics?

How can Allard allegedly be involved in a law suit naming key and prominent people as defendants and not expect a hostile climate to do business?

10. Red Lake Lassie Avatar

Allard isn’t “doing business”. He offered to give the wetlands to Barbados if the government would only declare a National Park. He kknows if he up and give it the government will sell it for condos.

He wanted nothing in return. The offer was made in writing and Owen Arthur didn’t answer. What a shame. What a lesson for others who think they can up and give something to Barbados without greasing some palms.

11. When you think that Mr. Allard has already incurred the major expense of making Graeme Hall Sanctuary what it is today and now it is just a matter of operating costs and maintenance, one would think that the Barbados Government would welcome the opportunity to have this as a focal point of tourism. However, I do think that Mr. Allard has made the only decision he could by cutting his losses and putting the ball squarely in government’s court to either continue on by finding the funding to maintain Graeme Hall Sanctuary or sell out like previous administrations to those who would put up more condos or gated communities.
    It is a sad day indeed when someone who has devoted so much of his time and money to preserve what little is left of a natural Barbados.

12. I wonder what will happen to those beautiful birds in the sanctuary

13. If it’s Canada he come from, he should go back there and fight de Canadian government to give back de Indians de land dat de white people tief.
    Shupes!
    This sounds like a poor attempt to twist de government’s arms by appealing to emotions.
    Whatever!
    No wonder Owen aint tek he on!
    There’s no free lunch.
    Philanthropist my ass. He getting tax write offs, the US and Canadian economies nosediving and he looking for other loopholes.
    Stop being gullible!

14. De swamp aint goin no where. It was there since de Arawaks…
    Shupes!

15. “No Free Lunch”? It would seem to me that Barbados got the free lunch, in fact, the lunch and dinner buffet with drinks.

16. I think that Anonymous is giving some excellent advice to any foreign investors or charities.

Excellent, excellent advice.

If I were a foreign charity, I would stay clear of Barbados because people like anonymous are obviously in the majority at least in government.

Excellent advice, anonymous.

17. We are always ready to applaud de Great White Savior who comes to the rescue.
    Negroman, weigh in on dis doo!

De white people is who destroyed de blasted environment, wrecked de island, deforested de place and plant sugar cane, kill out de frigging arawaks; now coming back to save Graeme Hall swamp.
    Shupes

Ravish South Africa! Duh went in dere and made blacks second class citizens under an apartheid system. Turn round and abolish de same apartheid and everybody feel dem is heroes.

So de perpetrator has a change in heart and all of a sudden he’s a hero?

400 years of slavery den a handful o so-called abolitionists in de likes o Wiberforce decide one morning, “we aint doing dis no mo, leh we abolish dis and set de negroes free.” And we turn round and call de perpetrators heroes.

WTF!

Tell Peter Allard to go and fight de destruction of de West Coast and all de swamps down dey dat disappearing!
    Shupes.

Or just get a blasted plane and go back where de hell he come from. Or better yet, dont get on a plane because that leaves a big enviro-footprint.

WALK BACK TO CANADA!
    Philanthropist my ass!

Shupes!

18. @ Red Lake Lassie

“If I were a foreign charity, I would stay clear of Barbados”

We could do wid out wunna friggin charities and tied foreign direct investment.

Who de hell is Peter Allard to come bout hey telling de government wha to do?
    You sick!
    Nobody aint want wunna friggin charity!
    You drunk or wha!

And wha foreign investment you talking bout?
    Dem nasty vulgar nouveau riche dat ravishing de West Coast and hiring black bajans as maids and gardeners?
    Well you and all like you could keep dah kinda foreign investment and stuff it where de monkey stuff de nuts.

Tell Peter Allard go and give he money to Greenpeace and stop killing whales and leff de blasted place.

He and his advice are not welcome!
    Keep yuh damn charity!

19. RLL, you are correct about anonymous. Any foreign investors, philanthropists or white tourists would do well to stay away from a welcome like anonymous gives.

Yes, anonymous gives excellent advice indeed, but it is the former and current governments who gave actions to the words of anonymous.

20. Contrary to the impression that is being given by a poster above that these already stumbling and falling DLP leaderships might have had the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in their minds when they stated on pg 42, of their 2008 Election Manifesto, this: ” On a larger canvas, the land use policies of the DLP, and the need to save agriculture, are part of the commitment to preserve the natural environment. The Democratic Labour Party has a philosophical and almost religious obligation to preserve Barbados in its natural state”. And, on pg 43, this bit: “That a DLP Government will ……give maximum support to all organizations committed to environmental preservation”; we in PDC somehow outrightly fail still to see how these fimbling fumbling leaderships had been thinking about this Sanctuary and the swamp.

There is absolutely NO WAY, NO WAY AT ALL that these people had meant the beautiful and exhilarating Graeme Hall Sanctuary – which some of our members had the occasion to visit some time in 2007, and at the same time to have signed the petition supporting the preservation of the Graeme Hall Swamp as a natural heritage site, and supporting the idea of the siting of a national park in the surrounding areas.

But, knowing full well about the fairly successful bid of many residents and groups in the Graeme Hall Park and surrounding areas to protect and preserve these wetlands, the animal habitats therein, and the immediate environs from the potential destructive behaviour of foreign investors who wanted some time ago to build a water park in Graeme Hall, and the big national debate in 2006 that involved that failed controversial water park plan, this NOT- so-environmentally conscious DLP REFUSED STILL to put in its 2008 Election Manifesto,( 1), a position that would have clearly outlined its unqualified support for the preservation of the Graeme Hall Swamp, and for the establishment of a national park for the relevant areas, and, (2), a position, though, that would have clearly clearly indicated its total opposition to the building by any person or group of persons of hotels, condos, villas, and of residential and leisure facilities that would degradate and despoil that natural wonderful idyllic part of Barbados. For these leaderships silence in that regard might have been truly golden!!

However, though, it would be a tradegy of exceedingly great national proportions (esp for thousands of Barbadian nature lovers and eco-tourists alike) if Mr. Peter Allard were to indeed close the Graeme Hall Sanctuary (the business) in December 2008, having substantially invested in the upgrading and redevelopment of the land and water scapes and redefining them into a perfect example of how humankind and nature can co-exist harmoniously, and then later for it to be seen that it and/or the Swamp and the environs would have had to be sold, or even leased for that matter, to some person or persons most unworthy and unfit to preserve esp. the swamp and the natural habitats in the state that generations of people in Barbados would have properly come to know them as.

Pure shame on the former BLP Government and this present DLP Government for doing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to help make esp. these wetlands and habitats – among the last remaining regions of truly amazing ecological biodiversity and richness in Barbados – an undoubted set of Barbadian natural heritage sites!! Shame on top of shame for these present and former governmental pretenders!!

21. @ PDC

I know that the DLP manifesto statements on p42&43 does not imply in any way anything to do with Graeme Hall. I merely, posted it to show readers how silly “philosophical and almost religious obligation” sounds in relation to environmental matters including Graeme Hall and the promise to work with “organizations committed to environmental preservation” as not being fulfilled in this context and their performance thus far.

In my opinion, their pages on the environment were greatly lacking in any plan and there was no specific commitments. Even so, in general they did try to sound like they cared. That is what I wanted to expose. I am extremely disappointed so far with their efforts in this area inclusive of Graeme Hall. I want to know what they are waiting for to be really serious.

22. What a backward thinking hateful post from anonymous.
    Surprised anyone wants to come here at all with the attitude this shows,what a pity that Graham Hall was not donated and advocated by Tiger Woods but them he’s really into golf clubs isn’t he and they are nice green spaces where the public can go and enjoy nature too……….
    And Barbados ain’t that exclusive that it can afford to lose a definite tourist draw like Grahame Hall.
    Even tourists can pale of beaches and eating over priced mediocre food served by surly waiters.
    The birds at least are all color blind.

23. Anonymous, I agree. Peter Allard only espoused Graeme Hall as a way of creating a perceived debt so he could do what the hell he wanted in Barbados. Creating a nature reserve gave him a very potent power base. When government told him to go to hell over his other projects (or intended projects like Kingsland) he used the Graeme Hall Nature Reserve as blackmail and a devisive element to focus negative international censure on Barbados. He FAILED!!! We did not cave in to his outreageous demands. We made it clear that we did not ask for his philanthropy and in any case philanthropy does not have a price tag, particuarly the annexation of a country and its laws to further someone’s economic ends.

So, if a few indigeneous turtles and a lot of imported flamingos are the sacrifice we must make to ensure that the sacrifice our forefathers made for our freedom and advancement are preserved, then, with regret, goodbye turtles, flamingoes and everything else that stands in the way of the well-being of our people. And a few foreign nature reserve activists who see the nature reserve being more important than our basic freedoms can go to hell.

If Mr Allard had simply come to us in the TRUE philanthropic spirit that gives and expects no monetary return (which is what he purported to do) I would now truly regret his departure. As he has stamped his petulant little foot, tried to subvert our laws and hold us up to international ridicule through his two blogs, Keltruth and BFP, I say GOOD RIDDANCE!!!

Personally, I think Almighty Allard is not so omnipotent and omniscient as he thought and it is my view (for which I do have some reason) that his overseas investments have backfired on him in this time of credit crunch. But of course, phoney that he is, instead of admitting this and with it his own error, he will seek to place it at the feet of the government and people of Barbados.

Look at this self-serving rubbish statement: “No one individual can stand longer than a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation,” Allard despaired that to preserve the environmental heritage at Graeme Hall for future generations of Barbadians would require “a government-led consciousness.”

Nonsense. If you are a philanthropist, you do no see such a project in finite terms after which government will take over. If you want government to take over, you sign a prior agreement with it. But Allard didn’t do any such thing. He invested in the hopes of annexing the entire country – for a mere US$12 million.

Barbados and its elected government can now decide what it wants to do respecting Graeme Hall. Some of us will be satisfied, and some will not. But in the end, it will be our decision made by our elected government for the good of the majority, not a very minute minority that falls into two categories: (a) those left without their accustomed Allard finances and (b) those who see turtles and imported flamingoes as more important than the Bajan people and their welfare.

24. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

I recall reading that the Sanctuary was put up for sale by Mr. Allard in mid-2007. Is it still for sale?

If he doesn’t want to own and maintain the property because it is costing him too much money to do so, then it is his prerogative to sell it. If he wants to donate it to Government, that is also his prerogative. I am not sure that the short time he has owned the property constitutes “a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation” as he put it, and find his general approach on this matter to be condescending and paternalistic. Personally, I think the purest expression of philanthropy is anonymous giving… Corollary: the purest form of journalism is anonymous blogging 🙂

25. @ BWWR

You are obviously a very decent and erudite person. I agree with you totally but I cant put it in dem fancy words.

All I can say is that Mr. Allard is very transparent and one nasty individual and some of us are too blind to see.

Dem some idiot above trying to make a link to tourism.

I dont understand why for the likes o me people dont understand dat tourism is a frigging product dat we selling. De chinese does sell hairpins and we does sell sand. FULL STOP.

It aint got one shite to do wid liking white people! Shupes.

Why white people feel dat black people should like dem? Now pray tell me! Somebody please explain to me why dem would be so arrogant to feel that we have to like dem!
    Shupes!

26. Adrian Loveridge submitted his position on the prospect of the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary closing. This whole affair reeks of political shenanigans but will we ever know?

Minister of Tourism

The Hon. Richard L. Sealy, M.P.

I believe it would be an absolute tragedy if we allow Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary to close with the loss of a quoted 85 jobs.

I also believe that we are in a defining moment in our tourism development.

We have witnessed the West Coast being turned into a seamless ribbon of concrete condominiums with only rare glimpses of our pristine coastline and sea.

The loss of 29 hotels over the last 15 years has already and will continue to have a profound detrimental effect and consequence

on employment in the sector, and its long term sustainability.

As the going gets tougher (and it will) in a global financial meltdown,

we as a largely tourism dependent country have to fiercely safeguard the areas of destination attractiveness that are less likely to suffer in a highly price sensitive marketplace.

Eco tourism is one of those niche areas, where cost is not the paramount decision making factor in choosing (or returning) to a destination.

Once popular walks and hikes along the east coast have now become also impossible due to lack of any planned maintenance or

frequent de-bushing.

Even the bridge over Joe’s River close to the Edgewater Hotel has been left un-repaired for months.

Barbados has demonstrated that it can compete globally in eco-tourism, becoming the second most popular destination for the world’s largest walking specialist tour operator, with only New Zealand attracting more clients.

I appeal to our new Government, to sit down with the founder of the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary and find some solution that will allow

the facility to remain open.

Not just for the sake of overseas visitors, but for the generations of young Barbadians to come that Graeme Hall will inspire to adopt more a sustainable tourism development policy.

Adrian Loveridge

Written in my capacity as a private, concerned citizen!

27. I dont understand why for the likes o me people dont understand dat tourism is a frigging product dat we selling. De chinese does sell hairpins and we does sell sand. FULL STOP.

—————————————-
    Great put this out and you will have no further worries about tourism.
    Tourists will take their money to a place that at least makes a pretense of not hating them.
    They will say keep your coconuts and overcrowded little sand spots and your rip off restaurants.
    Cuba here we come.

28. *

ru4real // October 30, 2008 at 6:57 am

I dont understand why for the likes o me people dont understand dat tourism is a frigging product dat we selling. De chinese does sell hairpins and we does sell sand. FULL STOP.

—————————————-
    Great put this out and you will have no further worries about tourism.
    Tourists will take their money to a place that at least makes a pretense of not hating them.
    They will say keep your coconuts and overcrowded little sand spots and your rip off restaurants.
    Cuba here we come.
    ———————————————————————
    Wow…..ru4real???
    If this is what they will say…then perhaps this is what they are already thinking…..therefore if they want to go to a pretensive alternative…then good for them!!
    At least we KNOW they pretend to like us!!
    Go on Anon…continue to say what a lot are truly thinking but dont have the balls to say it.

Website

29. Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 6:43 am

Correct you are. 99.9% of the tourists who grace our shores couldn’t give a damn bout Graeme Hall. 99.9% of the off-shore investment sector couldn’t give a damn bout Graeme Hall. 99.9% of the Bajans in Barbados couldn’t give a damn bout Graeme Hall. They all have more pressing concerns like feeding, educating and bettering the lot in life of their children and grandchildren and those they love. That does not include prejudicing the education, food and well-being of those people on the very slight off chance that .0009% of them may think that a turtle is more important.

Truth be told, the supporters of Graeme Hall do NOT have their backs to the wall – they can afford to be soft-hearted about turtles. But they must NOT be allowed to do this at the expense of the well-being and futures of our people and of our country. If it is to the benefit of our country and people, then drain the damned swamp and all the “swampies” can go to Florida and buy a nice swamp from the real estate crooks that have been selling them there for generations – they will welcome you as it will probably be the first time they will not have to resort to misrepresentation and fraud to make a sale.

Anonymous, you are an intellegent person. And I do not believe that anyone who cuts to the heart of a matter like you have is not just as capable and educated – and articulate – as I am.

I do want to say to you and some of us, black though we are undoubtedly are, do have some white blood and have loved and been loved by our white forebears. Therefore, we must not be disrespectful to them – that would be to disrespect ourselves. I think (but you need to confirm this for me) that you are talking about Bajans (of whatever hue) as opposed to white visitors from overseas who come into Barbados to take over our land. That is different.

Many years ago, I went to see a movie starring a man whom I might almost have left my late husband for. Sidney Poitier. It was called ‘Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner’. It re-defined my view of myself as a black woman. Mr Poitier, speaking to his screen father, said (words to the effect that) “The problem with you, Dad, is thast you see yourself as a black man. I see myself as a man.” Well, I see myself as a woman who just happens to be black and my blackness has never been allowed to hold me back anywhere, regardless of any stereotypical preconceptions people may have had about me upon first meeting. They soon discovered their error and I (with my prejudices and preconceptions) also had to revise my opinions of them.

This does not detract from your point that there are many people who come to Barbados and feel superior to us and act superior to us. This is indicative of massive insecurity on their part. They see an opportunity to become something they cannot be in their own countries, poor souls. They are to be pitied, not allowed to invest us with a similar complex.

You raise a point about our land being sold to foreigners. You are correct and it is worrying for those of us with children and grandchildren and more. I have looked at every alternative I can think of, but have failed to find a single one that would not have a substantially more detrimental effect on our country. So, what to do? Regrettably, I think we have to just sit tight and wait and see. This world-wide recession I think will show us a way forward. It is going to shake a lot of things up. What are your views on this, Anonymous.

Micro Mock Engineer // October 30, 2008 at 6:00 am. I cannot believe that I am actually (f0r once) 100% in agreement with you. Just goes to show you that wonders will never cease. Thank God.

30. @ David

Pls correct the spelling of “shenanigan”

31. Let us examine Mr Adrian Loveridge’s letter.

Mr Loveridge has an agenda. I would think it is financial. With Peter Allard no long a neighbour of his at Chancery Lane and without Peter Allard’s “interest” in the local flora and fauna of Long Beach and Mr Loveridge’s surfing guests, finances may not be so good for Peach and Quiet.

In a short space of time, Mr Loveridge, from humble beginnings of the indeterminate English variety from which he was never likely to arise in England, has achieved the pinacle of his life, the Barbados Tourism Authority. He therefore periodically allows us Bajans to know that he will present our views to the Minister when next they meet, oblivious to the fact that some of us may have changed that minister’s diapers and need only pick up the telephone to be connected to the minister. But you see Mr Loveridge is in the big time with a minister, something he could never boast of home in England. Poor fellow. Actually, no. Pompous, jumped-up jackass is more like it.

Eco tourism. Nice phrase and most people couldn’t give a damn. They come to Barbados for sand, sea and the other word starting with S and to get drunk on good Barbados rum and Banks Beer.

So, if Mr Loveridge is so interested in advancing Barbados’ share of the tourist market, why is he so silent on the other areas of interest f his friend Peter Allard, like the pink pound/rainbow dollar? This is a FAR larger and more lucrative market than eco-tourism.

I agree completely that Barbados must acquire Graeme Hall. However, there seems to me a very good chance that it may be able to do so by way of legal costs orders issued against Peter Allard and Nelson Barbados. So why should we pay Almighty Allard for what we can have by court order in satisfaction of our expenses over Allard/Knox/Nelson’s case in Canada? Please!!!!!

32. Eco tourism. Nice phrase and most people couldn’t give a damn. They come to Barbados for sand, sea and the other word starting with S and to get drunk on good Barbados rum and Banks Beer.
    ———————————————–
    And they go to many other places for that ,that are nearer/cheaper and less resentful.

33. thank God that nasty place is closing

34. @ ru4real

Please name dese places that are less resentful?
    And state less resentful to whom?
    Name dem!

35. We heard Adrian Loveridge taking the fight on behalf of GHNS. Based on feedback there seems to be public support for government to get involved.

36. Anonymous black people especially those from Barbados believe that white people are the saviors of the world and we must depend on those bastards for our economic & finacial survival.Anonymous you are right those white bastards contaminated,destroyed,wreck havoc and are still wrecking havoc where ever they go believe they are making a contribution to us by visiting here as tourist,buying up our lands and making some idiots like many of our politicians believe that they have our interest at heart.
    I agreed that those scums come to these island and in little time are our masters and have controlling power in these lands.Peter Allard,Adrian Loveridge & the rat catcher & mango seller from Pakistan are cases in point.We do not need your investments for our nation to prosper.Neither do we need to continue to wait for the crumbs to drop from massa’s table from North America,Canada,or Europe. to survive.
    Our visionless leaders in the Caribbean from Bustamante in Jamaica Errol Barrow in Barbados,Eric Williams in Trinidad,Forbes Burnham in Guyana to our present day jokers never really had or have any real developmental plans for us a a region that is predominately black.Our leaders are of the view that the world only consist of North America,Canada & Europe all practically barren lands with little natural resources who depend on the exploitation of the other regions of the world for their survival.That is why we will have white tourist with their racist attitude,white business people like Adrian Loveridge,Peter Allard & the rest to feel and behave like kings in these regions and to give our leaders & our people thr impression that we cannot survive with out them when it is the other way around.The white race which is a parasitical race has this whole world in turmoil.The havoc unleashed on this world is being felt in all regions of the world.
    I hope this government will not put our hard earned black people money in bailing out Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary.Let the place close or the government could take it over and give it to the people of Barbados as a national park.
    Do not put Negroman taxes into bailing out any stinking white man business.
    David Thompson do not repeat what that clown our last Prime Minister Owen Drunking Arthur did with our money.That is refurbihed white people hotels in the Gem Project and then returned those hotels to them.

37. Negroman and Anon wannah is something else fah trut though!

38. MichiganTourist Avatar

Thank you to anonymous and the other truth speakers about how Barbados people feel about white tourists.

Thank you very much. Nice to see some honesty and here’s some for you.

I will honestly take my family to another vacation destination.

39. @ Michigan Tourist

You dont even have to leave the states.
    You should take your family to Jena, Louisiana or New Orleans or South Central LA.
    Hey, why not visit Brooklyn.
    Or go to the US Virgin Islands.

We selling you a product we are not obliged to love you!

You really think because you buy Japanese cars dat they forgot de horrors of Hiroshima?

Maybe you should take your family on vacation to Japan and ask an honest Japanese what they’re saying about you when they bow their heads.

Wunna does mek me real sick. Always playing victim!

Shupes!
    Better, yet, take your family to Iraq. That another 400 years of hatred wunna just created.

Get a life and stay in Michigan let the cold air off de lakes freeze your sick ass!

40. @ Negroman

Michigan Tourist would have us believe that when dem get on a plane and visit de islands dat dem does leff duh prejudices behind or leff dem packed in de suitcase.

There are 1000 of horror stories that black employees in the Caribbean have to endure from dese racists. Dont talk bout Mustique! Oh lord!

So to Michigan tourist, you and your family can go where you are welcome. Barbados is making 10 cents out of every dollar anyways. To hell wid you and yuh ten cents.
    Between de white owned airline and de white owned hotels mekking de most o de money.
    Who de hell needs your 10 cents. We could eat flying fish, plant breadfruit and vegetables in de backyard and live for 100 years.

Keep your pathetic way of life and your racist culture at home!

41. Pot and Kettle

42. @Micro Mock Engimeer

The release does not say that Allard owned the property for a generation but that“no one individual can stand longer than a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation,”

What happens when he dies? Will the heirs to his estate be interested in the Sanctuary? If the people and government of Barbados do not care what happens to the wetland, which is approximately owned half by Allard and half by Government, why should his heirs?

Donate it to Government? Go and take a look at the garbage and lack of any management on the government side? According to recent press reports the sluice gate has not worked for 3 years? Is that what is in store for the Sanctuary if it was “given” to Government?

43. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Monsieur de Gassonet, mon vieil ami… si seulement vous pourriez voir le présent, aussi bien que vous voyez le futur 🙂

44. God Help Barbados Avatar
    God Help Barbados

I wonder if some of you realize what an incredible disservice you have done to Barbados? This is the internet, where anyone interested in Barbados has access and that includes international travel agencies, travel blogs, TripAdvisor and also ordinary citizens who may be planning a vacation. Also, let us not forget those who may have been interested in investing in the Barbados business sector. Anyone reading some of the appalling racist rants on this blog would certainly consider taking their business elsewhere.
    Barbados has no natural resources, no boxite, no iron, no copper, no gold, no forests to harvest lumber from and no diamonds. The sugar cane industry in Barbados is dying if not dead. Barbados Agriculture and manufacturing does not sustain the population and hence Barbados relies heavily on imports.
    What natural resources does Barbados have? Sun, sea, beaches, palm trees and the tourists that come to enjoy them, are your natural resources. At one time, I would have included the good will, helpful nature and friendliness of Bajans as a natural resource but I think we can strike that off the list now. Anonymous suggests Barbados can do very well without the tourists and that Bajans can just go back to their little vegetable patch, catch flying fish and plant more breadfruit but I wonder how you will sustain that very comfortable lifestyle that most of you have obtained over the past few decades? Who will make the payments on your multi-car households, who will pay the phone, satellite TV and L.&P. bills, who will pay for those trips to Miami or Puerto Rico to buy those nice designer clothes and all the bling you can find a place on your body for? Where will you find the money to build or buy one of those nice wall houses? I don’t care what your station in life is or whether you are black or white or don’t give a shite but you should never bite the hand that feeds you.

45. We will sell de cars and walk like our forefathers and remain slim and healthy.
    We would ride bicycles and stay fit.
    We would stop wasting money on brands owned by white people dat dont give a shite bout we.
    We would live in board houses dat dont got hot-house-syndrome. Houses dat designed to suit de environment.
    We would go back to planting kitchen gardens and do all the things we did before a single tourist ever visit.

You stupid or what?
    You really think de white tourists like we or feel dat we like dem?
    It’s business – pure and simple.

Get dat in ya tough skull.
    Bite hand dat feed ya what?
    Wha de white planters do to de environment over de last 300 years, de white tourists coming and finishing off.

We could do widdout de lousy 10 cents.
    If tourists dont come you really tink we gonna crawl up and dead?
    Shupes.

And why in you little silly brain you only equate tourist wid white? Only white people does travel?
    Shupes!
    Allard and all de phoney philanthropist like he could cah de white ass where duh come from.
    WE DONT WANT YOUR CHARITY.
    De swamp was dey before Allard and it gonna be dey long after ALLARD.
    Cah he ass!

46. To anyone reading this article: the above post of Negroman, BWWR, Anon are to be ignored. They are nothing more than a trio of Jackasses that have crawled out from under a rock with a big chip on their shoulders. More than likely are failures at whatever they try to achieve and are looking for someone to blame, Cuddear!

47. We are three jackasses who got to guts to say how we really feel.
    Failure at what?
    In a world with materialistic standards set dese white bastards?
    Go and come again.
    We calling a spade a spade.

Read between de lines and see Allard for who he really is.
    Cuddear to you!

48. Hmmm……interesting.

Anon has stirred up a hornets nest with his /her postings.
    Most are ready to tar and feather Anon.
    Could he/she be right??
    Has anything said, any different from things Hoadie says?….just less eloquently?
    I must admit……….it really makes me think…..hard!!

49. Crossroads you are the jackass.You like many other stupid ass black people refused to accept this is a racist world.The Chinese are on an expansionist programme.They are recolonizing and carving up Africa to their advantage.The few Chinese this part of the world are not in this region by chance but by design.The Chinese are looking for land for their people and see Africa,South & Central America & the Caribbean as prime areas for their expansion.Asiatic people are doing likewise and the European are restructuring the world to allow them to maintain they dominance.The only race that does not have a programme for its preservation and sustainabilty is the African black race.
    Our brainwashed education many of us received and are receiving have us in this predicament.In addition the stupid ass christian religion that was used to enslaved us we have now claimed as our own and feel proud to call ourselves christians.The same religion the stinking, disease white man and his Klu Klux Klan group worshipped when many black slaves were killed and their property burned and destroyed.Churches in Barbados had certain front seats rows reserved for whites only and many churches especially the Anglican & Roman Catholic churches had signs indicating no n—-rs allowed and these churches with their racist doctrines told black people that God cursed us that is why we have that colour skin,that nose and we were meant to be subservient to the white man and we are inferior to the white man.Presently many of our people are and especially our so call leaders and people of influence are now claiming high positions in those churches.We have a lot of black asses feeling proud that they are Reverends,Priests,Pastors & leaders in those churches.What a disservice to our ancestors who died as a result of slavery.No right thinking black man should ever be claiming and feeling proud to be call a christian.
    Christianity is the number 1 reason why we as blacks are in this state.Until we get our African Spirituality going again and reclaim our spirituality & culture we will continue to be dominated and will continue to produce black idiots like you Crossroad,Reluctant Non-Believer & the other fools who want to live a white life.

50. Come on, folks. Keep your eye on the ball and don’t get sidetracked by outdated racial issues. We as a nation are far bigger and better than that. Leave that to the Americans. We have a black Governor-General and a black government and those (and us) are internationally respected. Let us not go and throw away that respect by holding to long-out-dated rhetoric – like 42 years out of date tomorrow.

The issue is Peter Allard and the closing of the Graeme Hall Swamp. The fact is that Peter Allard bought the swamp and turned it into an unsuccessful (financially) tourist enterprise. In addition to losing money on the swamp, he also was not able to use it, as he had hoped, as a club to batter Barbados into submitting to his other agendas. If you or I start a business in Barbados and it fails, do you think we have the right to expect government to take it over? And we are Bajans. So why in hell should government go and pull this Canadian’s nuts out of the fire? Just because a lot of eco-minded people who would see a child starving on the street and do nothing if it meant that they had to give up on one eco-related project. Well, I do not think so. The eco-project would have to go and I don’t give a damn how many people from Canada or the Excited States see this and object. If it was them and their families whose well-being was at risk, I can assure you they would take a different view.

As for the racial nonsense, as my grandson says, “Stick it”, to which I add “Stop living in the past and wake up and smell the coffee. This is our country – regardless of race or creed.” Anyone who wants to live the life of a black person rather than that of a PERSON is welcome to do so, but don’t come round me. I am a black woman who is as good as anyone else in the world. I know it – AND SO DO THEY! If you want to be black and inferior, go ahead and do it, but count me the hell out.