We have watched the video (thanks to BU family member); we have taken a very deep breath after doing so, and we have to ask the big question. Do Americans understand that Sarah Palin could be President of the United States of America? We have tried very hard to be objective in our assessment of Sarah Palin. We understand from a political strategy perspective why she was selected but is it worth the risk?

Here is another question: Is it too late for John McClain to replace Palin as running mate?

Previous BU Sara Palin blogs

81 responses to “Sarah Palin Could Be President Of The United States Of America!!!”

1. The financial crisis has Americans confused. Many genuinely believe that they are voting for Palin and not John.

2. That was the most pathetic interview I have ever seen for a dignitary of any country. She won a beauty show? She wasn’t interviewed? Had she been in any of the Miss BarbadosWorld or Universe Show in little Barbados,in the question and answer section she wouldn’t ever be place last, she would have been disqualified. Is shows the quality of the person who chose her. Birds of a feather flock together. That woman is DUMB.

3. I first read the article yesterday, on Yahoo I think it was, about her comments on Alaska-Russia. I really had a little giggle while at the same time disgusted. But now that I seen this video clip it wasn’t even funny. This from a future president. Hell no! Americans wake up!

P.S. She actually only left USA once (and i think it was recent and short – correct me if I’m wrong). I’d say she knows nothing of the outside world.

4. Sarah Alien?

5. Concerning the question – Is it too late for John McClain to replace Palin as running mate?

My answer is better late than never. However, If he does that I’m sure it’ll be the death of his campaign. It may fear better though if she resigns. Either way, Obama/Biden will have a field day.

She’s only had 3 interviews and since announced been shielded by the Republicans from the press so much so that yesterday (or was it day before) CNN’s Brown called it sexist and was really upset about it.

See video here http://cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/up/player/popup/index.php?cl=9885183

6. P.S. She actually only left USA once (and i think it was recent and short – correct me if I’m wrong). I’d say she knows nothing of the outside world.
    Citizen, you are correct. Actually they say she only recently got the passport. A few weeks ago was the first time that she left the USA. That clip was as sad as it can get. Is that the best that they could find. If hilary clinton was running with Obama she would have her for breakfast.

7. This really sad…she is really quite lost on these basic questions. I think Tina fey on saturday night life was ven better than this.

8. me // September 26, 2008 at 4:04 am

This really sad…she is really quite lost on these basic questions. I think Tina fey on saturday night life was ven better than this.
    ===========================

ha ha ha ha Me if only she had a girl friend instead of a husband. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha I voting for Sarah, wait i can’t vote for Sarah cause she is only the VP pick. ha ha ha ha

9. Sarah Palin has more executive experience than Barack Obama. Sarah Palin is not running for President.

….Sarah Palin needs to understand that it is ok to travel to all interviews and speaking engagements with a TELEPROMPTER.

Rather than John McCain change Sarah Palin the internet rumour blogs have been going crazy with talk about Barack changing Biden. That after his first debate he will resign because of health reason. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Poor Biden tought television was invented in 1929. The DNC has dismiss the rumour. ha ha ha ha ha

10. Joe Biden agrees with all of us.
    —————–
    Sensing a possibility for embarrassment, Mr. Biden quickly moved in. “Make no mistake about this,” he told the questioner. “Hillary Clinton is as qualified or more qualified than I am to be vice president of the United States of America. Let’s get that straight. She’s a truly close personal friend, she is qualified to be president of the United States of America, she’s easily qualified to be vice president of the United States of America, and quite frankly, it might have been a better pick than me. But she’s first rate, I mean that sincerely, she’s first rate, so let’s get that straight.”

————————

ha ha ha ha ha

11. Adrian Hinds
    I think everyone has the right to support the party of choice but in this case I think McCain has insulted the intelligence of the Republican party and the American people on the whole. Anyone who thinks that what he has done is good for the country is just as dumb as he and that goes for you too.

12. The scout // September 26, 2008 at 8:27 am

Adrian Hinds
    I think everyone has the right to support the party of choice but in this case I think McCain has insulted the intelligence of the Republican party and the American people on the whole. Anyone who thinks that what he has done is good for the country is just as dumb as he and that goes for you too.
    ==========================

I have never taken issue with anyone for their support of a particular party neither have personally espouse support for one, but never the less i understand why i am as dumb as John McCain. 🙂 really i do!
    ……But fill me in as i have come to realize that you are always up on the latest misinformation. 🙂 wuh um iz that John McCain do?

13. If the U.S. presidency were an insurance policy, both John McCain and Barack Obama would be cleared for coverage.

Obama has a history of smoking, and McCain is 72 years old with a history of skin cancer. But neither candidate is a bad bet to live through two terms as president of the United States, according to a statistical analysis performed by an actuarial firm.

The analysis is similar to those used by insurance companies to determine the longevity, health and well-being of the people they insure.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,428168,00.html

14. @Adrian H

You need to address the ridicule which the American media is currently directing at Palin. By any stretch she was a disappointment in her last interview.

15. Obama has a history of smoking, and McCain is 72 years old with a history of skin cancer. But neither candidate is a bad bet to live through two terms as president of the United States, according to a statistical analysis performed by an actuarial firm.

The analysis is similar to those used by insurance companies to determine the longevity, health and well-being of the people they insure

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,428168,00.html

16. David // September 26, 2008 at 9:39 am

@Adrian H

You need to address the ridicule which the American media is currently directing at Palin. By any stretch she was a disappointment in her last interview

Sorry David I do not have to do that. Americans are already of the view that the American Media is politically biased, thats why their viewership and readership numbers are way down. Just goggle ‘Journalist who favor democrats” their lack of objectivity is glaring, not good actors at all.

17. Adrian you are dodging the question. We watched the interview and we are sure you did too. What is your assessment of Palin based on what transpired?

18. David // September 26, 2008 at 10:07 am

Adrian you are dodging the question. We watched the interview and we are sure you did too. What is your assessment of Palin based on what transpired?
    You can call it whatever. The question and the interview has no relevance to how i view Sarah Palin. A view that i might add that is inform by her record of executive experience.
    …..No i did not watch it. quite frankly i rather not have to listen to her voice for too long. 🙂 These debates are entertainment, and have always been meaningless in determine the ability of a person to do the job. Uh mean if a person can use a teleprompter where ever they go just speaks to the uselessness of them all to determine anything worthwhile. The woman has a record of executive experience, and she is not running for President.

….By all accounts she did terrible. Just like all accounts said that Barack did terrible at the Saddle back church (he didn’t have his teleprompter) I did not watch that either. 🙂

19. @ Adrian Hinds

We’re not referring to a debate but to a TV Interview. While it is true she is running for Vice President, make no mistake about it – if the President goes or in his absence she WILL BE President (if Republicans win, of course). Thus, this VP role is not to be taken lightly. She’s the runner up, that means that one day she may be be first – the P.

Second, if you haven’t watch the interview or at least the clip – how can you really honestly make a comment about it? Is that how we people judge? Why even bother to comment on something you haven’t seen at all? The clip/interview is the main reason behind this thread/discussion. If you haven’t seen it – it may be best to stay out of the talk about it. (I feel like what I’m writing is in futility!)

20. Citizen, there was a joke during the Bush 1 presidency that if he ever died in office the secret service was to shoot the VP. 🙂 The same media conjured up and driven fake concern is here with us again. I think she would do a fine job as President, all she has to do as Barack have said and that i am sure you agree with, is to surround herself with wise council. But the comparison has been made between Sarah Palin lack of experience and Barack lack of experience and the Obamanites have not to my mind put a counter argument to this striking similarity that answers the lack of concern of an inexperience President from day one should Barack win and not John McCain. Isn’t this equally of concern to you? or is it but your ideological positions and objections takes precedent? 🙂 🙂

21. Oh my, the woman is a dunce, oh my goodness, what a disgrace, and they picked her for a VP candidate. She is a good moose hunter though and I hear she can well and pluck chickens and slaughter cows, you see she is really a butcher, take off she Sears suit and you have butcher. She would have come in last in the Miss Barbados World, but she would not have made it to the Miss Guyana World, no butchers in that contest, only girly girls, plus Palin batty too flat anyway.

22. Below is a transcript of that part of the interview:

In the interview with CBS News anchor Katie Couric on Thursday, Sarah Palin was asked “You sighted Alaska’s proximity to Russia as part of your foreign policy experience. What did you mean by that?”

Palin responded: “That Alaska has a very narrow maritime border between a foreign country Russia and on our other side the land ah boundary that we have with ah Canada. It, It’s funny that a comment like that was, ah kind of made to am chara ah I don know, you know? Reporters.”

Couric: “Mock?”

Palin: “Yah, mocked, I guess that’s the word, yah, am”

Couric: Well explain to me why that enhances your foreign policy credentials?

Palin: Well, it certainly does because our our next-door neighbors are foreign countries. They’re in the state that I am the executive of and – there in Russia.

Couric: Have you ever been involved with any negotiations, for example, with the Russians.

Palin: “We have trade missions back and forth, we we do. It’s very important when when you consider even national security issues with Russia as Putin rears his head and and ah comes into the air space of the United States of America, where, where do they go? It, It’s Alaska. It’s just right over the border. It is from Alaska that we send those out to make sure that an eye is being kept on this very powerful nation, Russia, because they are right there. They are right next to am to our state.”

Those were the words, but watch the video and see her facial expressions and body language and you’ll clearly see it’s worst that just mere words.

For more background see article at http://cbs3.com/politics/Sarah.Palin.experience.2.825731.html

23. Adrian,

…man you scraping the logic barrel bottom here.
    Ya gwine let the Scout mash yuh up??

…as a ex-holders hill man, i would like to offer some support, but you like you on a kamikaze mission yuh.

you can’t help Palin…..

However I would offer that I think that she is the best suited candidate for president. …after Bush, she seems the next logical choice….

24. @Bt

You got that right! GWB has lowered the bar to an unprecedented low.

25. Zauditu // September 26, 2008 at 11:32 am

Oh my, the woman is a dunce, oh my goodness, what a disgrace, and they picked her for a VP candidate. She is a good moose hunter though and I hear she can well and pluck chickens and slaughter cows, you see she is really a butcher, take off she Sears suit and you have butcher. She would have come in last in the Miss Barbados World, but she would not have made it to the Miss Guyana World, no butchers in that contest, only girly girls, plus Palin batty too flat anyway.
    Are you truly comparing a 44 year old mother of 5 with young Beauty contestants in Barbados? why? would it not have been better to say that she could not enter the beauty contest, rather than enter and place last? 🙂

26. Bush tea // September 26, 2008 at 12:43 pm

Adrian,

…man you scraping the logic barrel bottom here.
    Ya gwine let the Scout mash yuh up??

…as a ex-holders hill man, i would like to offer some support, but you like you on a kamikaze mission yuh.

you can’t help Palin…..

However I would offer that I think that she is the best suited candidate for president. …after Bush, she seems the next logical choice….
    am Bust Tea i fight alone, I don’t play to the gallery, and would not count on any support from another Bajan. My experience tells me such would be a risky endevour. 🙂 Your interpretation of logic and Scout’s prowess at presenting cogent arguments that i can buy into differs greatly, and that is all that matters to me. 🙂

27. Adrian Hinds
    Richard Stoute once sang a song “Pity the fool”, while I don’t think that was dedicated to you, it seems the foolish side of you has been manifested because of the contagious association with the dumb McCain

28. I have never been a TV person, to poor to have own one when growing up and got our first one when is in my teenage years and looking for girls. So i never had a real habit of watching TV even now. Love reading and still do, and several years ago came to clearly understand why my love of the written word superceed that of video frames displayed on a screen. Some people do both well and that maybe my handicap and so it shall remain. 🙂

One of the most prominent books on my modest bookshelve is “Amusing ourselves to death (1985) by Neil Postman.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amusing_Ourselves_to_Death

29. What Sarah Palin hasn’t said is better than what she has said.

I listened to the 3 interviews she has given so far… 1. Charles Gibson; 2. Sean Hannity; 3. Katie Couric. I concluded that the more the monkey climbs the more he shows his tail; whether it’s a good or bad thing is left to be seen.

30. The scout // September 26, 2008 at 2:09 pm

Adrian Hinds
    Richard Stoute once sang a song “Pity the fool”, while I don’t think that was dedicated to you, it seems the foolish side of you has been manifested because of the contagious association with the dumb McCain
    @Bush Tea

ha ha ha h a Scout is mashing me up real bad. Yesterday I had Hopi offering the lyrics of Bob Marley to counter my positions now we have Richard Stoute as offered by Scout. I fully expect to hear “Shut up and drive” or some variant thereof by Ri Ri. ha ha ha ha ha nuff licks indeed.

31. Oh i think I missed one. Citizen i responded to your post earlier but it hasn’t showed up so hear goes.
    ——————————
    @citizen:
    Citizen // September 26, 2008 at 11:01 am

Second, if you haven’t watch the interview or at least the clip – how can you really honestly make a comment about it? Is that how we people judge? Why even bother to comment on something you haven’t seen at all? The clip/interview is the main reason behind this thread/discussion. If you haven’t seen it – it may be best to stay out of the talk about it. (I feel like what I’m writing is in futility!)

You maybe writing in futilty because your arguments can be applied to the otherside and you absolutely refuse to do so.

——————–
    I have never been a TV person, to poor to have own one when growing up and got our first one when is in my teenage years and looking for girls. So i never had a real habit of watching TV even now. Love reading and still do, and several years ago came to clearly understand why my love of the written word superceed that of video frames displayed on a screen. Some people do both well and that maybe my handicap and so it shall remain. 🙂

One of the most prominent books on my modest bookshelve is “Amusing ourselves to death (1985) by Neil Postman.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amusing_Ourselves_to_Death

32. I have never been a TV person, to poor to have own one when growing up and got our first one when is in my teenage years and looking for girls. So i never had a real habit of watching TV even now. Love reading and still do, and several years ago came to clearly understand why my love of the written word superceed that of video frames displayed on a screen. Some people do both well and that maybe my handicap and so it shall remain. 🙂

From Wikipedia:
    “Amusing Ourselves to Death: Public Discourse in the Age of Show Business (1985), is a book by Neil Postman in which he argues that media of communication inherently influence the conversations carried out over them. Postman posits that television is the primary means of communication for our culture and it has the property of converting a culture’s conversations with itself into entertainment, so much so that public discourse on important issues has disappeared. Since the treatment of serious issues as entertainment inherently prevents them from being treated as serious issues and indeed since serious issues have been treated as entertainment for so many decades now, the public is no longer aware of these issues in their original sense, but only as entertainment.

The book originated with Postman’s delivering a talk to the Frankfurt Booksellers Convention in 1984. He was participating in a panel on Orwell’s 1984 and the contemporary world.

It has been translated into eight languages and sold some 2,000,000 copies worldwide. In 2005, Postman’s son Andrew reissued the book in a 20th anniversary edition. It is regarded as one of the most important texts of the Media Ecology school of criticism. [1]”

Taken from Wikipedia worpress would not let me post the link.

33. Adrian Hinds
    On a lighter side and without really changing the topic, my favorite authors are Jeffrey Archer and John Grisham. For T.V it’s documentories and news. I love surfacing the net especially now during the US elections

34. Good for your Scout.

But looka dis thing do nuh. John McCain went to Washington, stole the spotlight from Barack, and to my mind came away looking stupid. We still do not know what his opinion is, and i would bet this is so because his opinion is no different from that of the Democrats who wants to tax us into becoming wards of the government so that they can Lord over us as their dependents. schuuuupppssee Look like he aint gine get my vote nuh more.

35. People listen (radio) the Nixon/Kennedy debate thought that Nixon had won. Those who watched it (television) had a different view.

36. McCain went to Washington, supposedly suspending his campaign, in order to be the maverick who would break the deadlock between the GOP and the Bushcons.

By all accounts he said nothing.. nada..zilch in the whole confrontation.

Boernhe laid it on the line to the administration, this scam will not pass Congress … McCain kept schtum, and his legs were taken away.

If he ever was a dupe for the PTB he surely showed his impotency at that meeting.

He had, and has, nothing to offer to the biggest crisis ever facing corporate America.

The people have finally sussed out the fleecing, and the elite might have to pay for their obscene excesses, because the taxpayers have had enough … and they are mad as hell.

Elites may revel in their own incestuous perception of importance, but the real power comes from the masses, and when they are pushed beyond the limit of fairness and realise their ultimate strength, the real USA comes from the ordinary people.

The Bush administration is revolting… but so are the masses.

37. ha ha ha ha Don’t be surprise that Barack wins the presidency and give the republicans congress and the senate. I hate when one party has control of all all three, as was the case with last congress and this current whitehouse. I maybe somewhat conservative and tend to look favourably towards Republicans but my pocket has no friends, and is partial, partisan and loyal to my family ONLY. McCain is a liberal at heart, and like Barack, the Democrats, and this Whitehouse, he wants to put this fleecing on us. It is time to rain in this congress and senate of lifers.

38. Adrian H,

Respects at last for your analysis of the true state of your adopted country’s political system.

39. Straight talk // September 26, 2008 at 5:33 pm

Adrian H,

Respects at last for your analysis of the true state of your adopted country’s political system.
    Have always been my position. People in this country spend an undue amount of time and energy focusing on the presidential elections, and the people in place where laws are made, where decision that impact us the most occurs are allowed to serve themselves until they die in office.

….no change can occur in the whitehouse it needs to be in the congress and senate.

40. Then why the promotion of McCain?

You sound like a Ron Paul man.

41. POOP !!!!

42. Whassup Doc?

You got wind? ….of change.

43. Can someone please explain to me why the American taxpayers should have to bail out the greedy d#** banks that were the perpetrators of the mortgage scams in the first place??

44. Pied Piper:

That is exactly the question 300 million americans are asking the Fed.

Why us?

Why not the crims who brought it on theirselves?

Fear for their investments and pensions have usually been enough for the ordinary man to keep quiet.

But this is one step too far.

The bankers are desperate, they have creamed off all the the surpluses in obscene bonusses and salaries and are left with the carcase of US domestic home buying.

It is very slim pickings.

Someone has to pay next year’s salaries.

The Fed and Treasury say it must be the taxpayer, as there is no value left in Credit swaps to fund Wall Street.

I see Washington Mutual gone, I hope and predict that the next private bank. The Federal Reserve, will disappear this year and we can all get back to sound economic standards with confidence.

45. Here is just another tidbit that shows the kind of person Sarah Palin is:
    http://www.thestar.com/News/World/article/507275

46. Wait a second Adrian, In the first post of this section, Scout says, she (Mrs. Sarah Palin) would have placed last or disqualified had she been a contestant in the Miss Barbados World Contest because of her mediochre answer about foreign affairs. I saw Scout’s answer, and replied, she would not have made it to the Miss Guyana World constest as our contestants do not hunt animals, muchless slaughter them. Scout is right though, for if at 45 years she cannot answer the question about foreign affairs that was put before her, and she is a Governor to boot, how at 21 years, the age of the typical bauty contestant could she have answered any question, Scout is right on the button. Now the chances of somebody like her being in the Miss Barbados Contest is much greater than somebody like her being in the Miss Guyana Contest, you have 28,000 to 30,000 poeple like her there, Guyana has 1,600 that is sixteen hundred like her. Anyway, I still think she is a dunce.

47. Straight talk // September 26, 2008 at 5:45 pm

Then why the promotion of McCain?

You sound like a Ron Paul man
    I am not anymore for McCain than i am and will always be against Barack. You see we have a two party system and i will never forsake my privilage to vote, and so i will as long as i am alive and able to do. Two Party system not withstanding and Barack not being an option for me i will write a person of my choice if i have to. 😀 🙂 🙂 I am not a man for a politician, but Ron Paul did come across as a politician for the people.

48. PiedPiper // September 26, 2008 at 6:25 pm

Here is just another tidbit that shows the kind of person Sarah Palin is:
    http://www.thestar.com/News/World/article/507275

Sorry i don’t read US happenings in Canadian News papers. 🙂 :O lol!

49. Zauditu // September 26, 2008 at 6:35 pm

Wait a second Adrian, ===========================
    I did and then i move on. :O lol!

50. WaMu CEO: 3 weeks work, $18M
    Alan Fishman could be eligible for a multi-million paycheck after only three weeks on the job … if he decides to keep it.

If he takes it we should find him and take it away from him. :0 LOL!