We have watched the video (thanks to BU family member); we have taken a very deep breath after doing so, and we have to ask the big question. Do Americans understand that Sarah Palin could be President of the United States of America? We have tried very hard to be objective in our assessment of Sarah Palin. We understand from a political strategy perspective why she was selected but is it worth the risk?

Here is another question: Is it too late for John McClain to replace Palin as running mate?

Previous BU Sara Palin blogs

81 responses to “Sarah Palin Could Be President Of The United States Of America!!!”

1. actually we have more than two parties so i may not have to write in a choice other than McCain or Barack.

2. Problem very easily solved Adrian: http://www.southernledger.com/ap/177826/Subpoenaed_Palin_aides_dont_appear_at_abuse_probe

How many rums yuh had yet or is it whiskey, I forget.

3. PiedPiper // September 26, 2008 at 6:04 pm

Can someone please explain to me why the American taxpayers should have to bail out the greedy d#** banks that were the perpetrators of the mortgage scams in the first place??
    ===========================
    This is a rare collusion between greedy corporate owners and our socialist leaning politicos. Congress over the years encourage Banks to loan to risky borrowers under the pretence that it was back by the government (taxpayers) now that house prices have drop and people are defualting, the Banks are saying to government this is your fault and we want our money back otherwise are going to tell on you. So Congress fearing for their selfserving lives and at the same time seeing an opportunity to further GROW GOVERNMENT, decides to scare taxpayers into parting with money yet to be earned. The people wise up to the trick, as portions of the deal leaked out to show that Barney Frank agree to give the first 20 million of any profit made from buying up these bad mortgage should go to a group called ACORN. ACORN fronts as a housing advocacy group for low income earners. Why 700 billion? because more subprime loan will experience a rate change for the next two years.

4. PiedPiper // September 26, 2008 at 7:33 pm

Problem very easily solved Adrian: http://www.southernledger.com/ap/177826/Subpoenaed_Palin_aides_dont_appear_at_abuse_probe

How many rums yuh had yet or is it whiskey, I forget.

ha ha ha ha somebody sent me a free bottle uh rum so de whiskey that i purchase has been put aside. 🙂

…..but de url wunt’ open fuh me, so i guess i aint gine get tuh read um. ha ha ha haha ha not fuh real.

….Isn’t this group headed up by known and admitted Obama supporters? how you know them being objective??? duh right tuh don’t show up. 🙂

5. yall need to check this guy kata on youtube ….he is hella funny and makes some very good poins..man this macain/palin comedy fest is so funny lol anyway check out his vids

http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=KataVideo

6. *points not poins :o)

7. LOL! Thanks for the video. It was hilarious.

8. Adrian
    What is your HONEST opinion on the debate?

9. Who realy realy runs the US and determines federal policy tho’?

10. Ms Palin was nervous fa Chris’ sake.. and I hate US presidentil debates. There are micro-mocky..

11. They

12. The scout // September 26, 2008 at 11:13 pm

Adrian
    What is your HONEST opinion on the debate?
    I honestly did not watch it. 🙂
    but i am sure given the medium in which it was conducted, somebody got gold, the other got silver and the people came last. 🙂

Did you come away with better understanding of what these two men stand for on anything the moderator might have ask them? Was there any glaring difference on anything? and can you see a clear path forward as a result anything either of them said?

13. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL BAFBFP… this is kinda micro-mocky too… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5tZc8oH–o 🙂

MME we see a close similarity in the last Palin interview and this one 🙂

14. America’s Elephant In The Room
    By David Michael Green

The second most astonishing thing about American politics is that John McCain and Sarah Palin have a respectable chance of winning the White House in 2008. (Or, for that matter, that any Republican could have a shot at any office for which the Democratic candidate hasn’t suddenly died on the stump.)

Yeah, yeah, I know. Barack Obama has a funny name. He’s relatively young and inexperienced. Oh, and – have you heard? – he’s also black. But, just the same, I mean, c’mon. A Republican could win the presidency in 2008? You gotta be kidding, right?

All of this is deeply related, in multiple ways, to what is without a doubt absolutely the first most astonishing fact of American politics. And that is that conservatism (I prefer to call them ‘regressives’) isn’t the most repudiated ideology this side of cannibalism. And that regressive practitioners of this hateful disease masquerading as a political philosophy haven’t been tarred-and-feathered, hung, drawn and quartered, then run out of town on an electrified rail. And that any red-blooded American wouldn’t infinitely prefer in this day and age to be called a pedophile, a terrorist or a European – heck, or all of the above combined – rather than a conservative.

I mean, seriously, people. Now that Wall Street has imploded, potentially taking down with it the entire global economy in a fun reprise of the 1930s, what more could possibly be necessary to repudiate a set of ideas for which a good day is when thousands of people don’t die (again) as a result of anyone, let alone the world’s sole superpower, subscribing to something so astonishingly stupid? Really, is there anything that the regressive agenda has touched so far that hasn’t completely turned into a pillar of salt? Not only do these nice pious Christians show every evidence of actually being the antichrist, they’ve also managed to be the anti-Midas as well.

SNIP

But I digress. What is conservatism, and how should it be regarded? Like any ideology, it has lots of flavors and sub-cults, many of which don’t necessarily get along with each other, and certainly don’t agree on which conservative projects should be given priority at any given time. All the same, I think we can boil the ideology down to a few key concepts – indeed, ones that even our regressive friends would agree accurately represent the ideological program.

Traditionally, well… tradition has been key, as a matter of fact. One key tenet of conservatism is to avoid change. Reactionaries go even further, preferring the (typically heavily mythologized) world that grandpa inhabited. Economically, conservatism is all about low taxes, low government spending (except when it comes to cops and bombs), balanced budgets, low regulation of the private sector and privatization of any service which might otherwise be provided by the government.

This is why conservatives love to describe themselves as the ideology which maximizes freedom, but this turns out – shockingly, I know – to be a lie. Indeed, it first turns out to be a lie because in practice supposedly conservative governments break most of their own economic rules catalogued above. Saint Ronald The Reagan quadrupled the national debt by irresponsibly slashing tax revenue (especially for the rich) and massively increasing spending. Before he sold out the country for his own career aspirations, George H. W. Bush described that formula as “voodoo economics”. He ought to know. His voodoo spawn was not to be outdone by any White House predecessor. Or even all of them. Lil’ Bush has followed an irradiated version of the same formula as Uncle Ron and has now doubled all the national debt which was incurred by his 42 predecessors. Combined. Very ‘conservative’, eh?

SNIP

But here’s the part that they won’t admit to, despite the fact that it is inescapably true. Indeed, precisely because it is true, and because of where it leads. And that’s this: This is an ideology that has been tested. Nobody can say that George W. Bush, or his cronies in Congress or his enablers on the Supreme Court have pulled any punches these last eight miserable years. But the truth is, it runs a lot deeper than even that. With the exception of Bill Clinton’s moderately and sporadically progressive social policies, it’s actually been a solid thirty years of conservative politics in America, including Clinton’s economic policies, which were indistinguishable from anything you’d get out of Wall Street or off the GOP convention platform of any given year. Ever since Reagan, and in some ways even back to Carter, Washington has been all about implementing a conservative agenda of tax cuts, deregulation and privatization, unraveling feminism, gay rights, civil rights and the Constitution, along with interventions abroad and mass incarcerations at home. In short, it would take an obscene distortion of truth – of which regressives have so often shown themselves singularly capable – to argue other than that we’ve had a very thorough and robust test of the ideology these last decades, and especially under George W. Bush.

SNIP

What a great economic record, eh? Since the 1970s, when the right side came to bat, polarization of wealth in America has increased to banana republic proportions. The rich now account for half of the income in this country – up from one-third during the liberal period of the 1930s through the 1960s – and the middle class has actually lost ground, despite an economy that has been fairly steadily growing over the last decades. It ain’t rocket science, folks. Cut the legs off of unions, apply pressure to workers to keep them too frightened to organize, globalize jobs abroad and reward their export with tax incentives, change the structure of the tax system to favor the rich – guess what’s going to happen? Guess what has happened? Of course, it hasn’t hurt to also throw in a few scary foreign boogeyman monsters, racism, homophobia and some other nifty tricks to keep voters distracted long enough to loot their wallets.

Full article here:
    http://www.smirkingchimp.com/thread/17476

15. McInsane was doing what he did best at the debate last night “not answer questions” all he did was name drop i am for Obama all the way Obama/Biden can u all imagine that crazy woman answering a “3am” morning call geeezussssssss

16. Dont know how many of you love Bill Maher as i do…but check out him talking bout “Free Levi” Palin’s daughter Bristol’s “Fiance” :o) lol Bill is too funny

http://www.hbo.com/billmaher/new_rules/

17. After listening to the US presidential debate last night I thought “Damn, I going to have learn Chinese or Arabic or Russian sooner than I thought!”

18. I watched the debate, and I thought Senator McPalin looked like a jumbie that had just come back from entombment in a grave. He was so pathetic in some of his rantings, like how he loves the veterans of the foreign war and will do everything to ensure these men are taken care of. He was almost in tears or so it seemed to me when he spoke of the veterans, and his voice quivered, which might have been done dileberately to appeal to the American people. I thought Senator Obama was dignitfed and polite and did answer the questions put before him. I loved when Senator Obama made reference to his Dad coming form Kenya, hence his name Obama and having the opportuinity to get an education. I also like his reference of how he will seek to make America the shining city on the hill, and bring back the respectabliby and greatness of America to the world.

19. So Barack won gold last night? ha ha ha ha ha which flag and what anthem was flown and played when he accepted his medal. The Olympics of debates have begun.

20. Debate Evades Dark Realities

By Robert Parry
    September 27, 2008

Perhaps it’s unrealistic to expect a U.S. presidential debate to deal substantively – and honestly – with wrongful actions by the American government, even at the end of George W. Bush’s eight-year reign as one of the planet’s preeminent rogue operatives.
    Share this article

The acceptable political parameters may allow some tactical disagreements (Barack Obama saying the Iraq War “took our eye off the ball”) or even some implied moral criticism (John McCain saying he opposed Bush “on torture of prisoners”).

But there’s no place for a serious discussion of wholesale U.S. war crimes, such as Bush’s decision to launch an aggressive war under false pretenses, the sort of offense that the Nuremberg Tribunal after World War II called the “supreme” international crime.

In a healthy democracy, moderator Jim Lehrer might have been expected to ask Obama and McCain whether President Bush should be shipped off to The Hague for a trial as a war criminal or whether he should be put before American courts to face serious criminal charges, such as violation of anti-torture statutes.

There might be a question, too, about hypocrisy: how can Obama and McCain so righteously condemn Russia for its alleged aggression against Georgia (after Georgia attacked the pro-Russian province of South Ossetia) when the United States has asserted its right not only to invade Iraq (under Bush) but to attack Yugoslavia when it was throttling a separatist movement in Kosovo (as Bill Clinton did)?

Granted, endless double standards have become part of the American political landscape. Many journalists and politicians have avoided criticizing the illegality or immorality of U.S. foreign interventions since 1984 when U.N. Ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick famously chastised anyone who would “blame America first.”

Since then, questions about American misconduct had to be muted for fear that any criticism would be labeled unpatriotic or disloyal. Mainstream journalists and politicians learned to couch their concerns about U.S. foreign policy as questions about tactics or effectiveness.

Arguably, however, that timidity has contributed to the frequency, brutality and criminality of U.S. military actions. It is hard to explain the Iraq War, for instance, without observing that Bush and his neoconservative advisers were confident they could roll both Congress and the Washington press corps.

Continued here:
    http://www.consortiumnews.com/2008/092708.html

21. I take it this guy won’t be voting for the McCain/Palin ticket but thinks there are lots of other Americans who will.

Mad Dog Palin

By Matt Taibbi, RollingStone.com. Posted September 27, 2008.

I’m standing outside the XCEL ENERGY CENTER in St. Paul Minnesota Sarah Palin has just finished her speech to the Republican National Convention, accepting the party’s nomination for vice president. If I hadn’t quit my two-packs-a-day habit earlier this year, I’d be chain-smoking now. So the only thing left is to stand mute against the fit-for-a-cheap-dog-kennel crowd-control fencing you see everywhere at these idiotic conventions and gnaw on weird new feelings of shock and anarchist rage as one would a rawhide chew toy.

SNIP

The defining moment for me came shortly after Palin and her family stepped down from the stage to uproarious applause, looking happy enough to throw a whole library full of books into a sewer. In the crush to exit the stadium, a middle-aged woman wearing a cowboy hat, a red-white-and-blue shirt and an obvious eye job gushed to a male colleague they were both wearing badges identifying them as members of the Colorado delegation at the Xcel gates.

“She totally reminds me of my cousin!” the delegate screeched. “She’s a real woman! The real thing!”

I stared at her open-mouthed. In that moment, the rank cynicism of the whole sorry deal was laid bare. Here’s the thing about Americans. You can send their kids off by the thousands to get their balls blown off in foreign lands for no reason at all, saddle them with billions in debt year after congressional year while they spend their winters cheerfully watching game shows and football, pull the rug out from under their mortgages, and leave them living off their credit cards and their Wal-Mart salaries while you move their jobs to China and Bangalore.

And none of it matters, so long as you remember a few months before Election Day to offer them a two-bit caricature culled from some cutting-room-floor episode of Roseanne as part of your presidential ticket. And if she’s a good enough likeness of a loudmouthed middle-American archetype, as Sarah Palin is, John Q. Public will drop his giant-size bag of Doritos in gratitude, wipe the Sizzlin’ Picante dust from his lips and rush to the booth to vote for her. Not because it makes sense, or because it has a chance of improving his life or anyone else’s, but simply because it appeals to the low-humming narcissism that substitutes for his personality, because the image on TV reminds him of the mean, brainless slob he sees in the mirror every morning.

Sarah Palin is a symbol of everything that is wrong with the modern United States. As a representative of our political system, she’s a new low in reptilian villainy, the ultimate cynical masterwork of puppeteers like Karl Rove. But more than that, she is a horrifying symbol of how little we ask for in return for the total surrender of our political power.

SNIP

Sarah Palin is that new, new thing, and in the end it won’t matter that she’s got an unmarried teenage kid with a bun in the oven. Of course, if the daughter of a black candidate like Barack Obama showed up at his convention with a five-month bump and some sideways-capwearing, junior-grade Curtis Jackson holding her hand, the defenders of Traditional Morality would be up in arms. But the thing about being in the realitymaking business is that you don’t need to worry much about vetting; there are no facts in your candidate’s bio that cannot be ignored or overcome.

http://www.alternet.org/election08/100551/mad_dog_palin_/

22. But the thing about being in the realitymaking business is that you don’t need to worry much about vetting; there are no facts in your candidate’s bio that cannot be ignored or overcome.

For those who might not be up to speed on the neoconservative philosophy that now infests the Republican party, the “realitymaking” reference in the quote above from the “Mad Dog Palin” article posted earlier is a not-too-subtle dig at this:

“Doublethink” And The Neocon Mindset/

The Neocon mindset is a strange and shocking thing to behold. I have encountered it many times in my discussions on Web forums and Usenet. Surprisingly, this mindset still survives in a hardcore ~29% of Americans, and in a smaller minority of Internet users — the ones who still indignantly recite Republican talking points spoon fed to them by right wing pundits on cable “news” programs and talk radio. For the uninitiated this mindset can be simultaneously infuriating, nonsensical, and terrifying. The most crystalline example I have ever read of this bizarre mindset came from an article in the New York Times by Ron Suskind.

“In the summer of 2002, after I had written an article in Esquire that the White House didn’t like about Bush’s former communications director, Karen Hughes, I had a meeting with a senior adviser to Bush. He expressed the White House’s displeasure, and then he told me something that at the time I didn’t fully comprehend — but which I now believe gets to the very heart of the Bush presidency.

The aide said that guys like me were ‘in what we call the reality- based community,’ which he defined as people who ‘believe that solutions emerge from your judicious study of discernible reality.’ I nodded and murmured something about enlightenment principles and empiricism. He cut me off. ‘That’s not the way the world really works anymore,’ he continued. ‘We’re an empire now, and when we act, we create our own reality. And while you’re studying that reality — judiciously, as you will — we’ll act again, creating other new realities, which you can study too, and that’s how things will sort out. We’re history’s actors . . . and you, all of you, will be left to just study what we do.’”

Continued at:
    http://dystopianusa.blogspot.com/2007/08/doublethink-and-neocon-mindset.html

23. What could be worse…Obama could become president!!

What has he done that makes him qualified for that position. I’ll take Sarah any day!

24. Senator Obama went to Harvard University, and has helped less fortunate Americans to achieve the American dream in Chicago. He is a Senator from a state with a huge popualtion. Sarah Palin went to a fourth rated Unversity in Washington State and Idaho, she was the mayor of town that has 5000 people, well one block in New York City has 5000 people, and she just became the governor of Alaska. She has never left the USA, and she is lacking in geography, history and culture, her 17 year old daughter is expecting her second child and is not married, she kills exotic animals for food and she is just a low class person whom they have dressed up in nice JC Penney Store suit. She is inacapable of the postion and if America thinks it has problems now, just let them wait and see when she get in.

25. Deidre u are clearly have no clue

26. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Lawrd come fuh yuh world. Why is it that the opinions of us Island people are always filled with prophecy? I should say attempts at prophecy? LOL! I gine start believing um when one of us correctly predicts the next major rumbling from Kick’m jenny.

27. I just heard Sarah Palin has begun a crash course on foreign affairs, economy and geography in preparation for the Frday debates with Senator Biden. They said she can talk a talk about sports, maybe they should throw in a few questions about 20/20 cricket into the debates. Poor thing I feel sorry for she. I hope they trip she up bad on Friday because she is a dunce.

28. Well, so much for th e”booming” U.S. econmomy Adrian (your words not mine). More like it has imploded today with the Dow sinking 778 points, the lowest ever since 9/11.

29. […] Sarah Palin Could Be President Of The United States Of America!!! […]

30. hell make her president and vice president. the faster america self destructs the safer it will be for humanity

31. Hi Propaganda, I agree, she is such a dunce bamsee that she meking de PPP ministers look like geniuses, erudite is the word. I tell you, I am with you.