family

Father’s Day has come and gone and consensus in the BU household is that the sentiment felt continues to lag what prevails Mother’s Day. We are certain that the socialization which occurs between the ‘sexes’ creates a unique dynamic which was meant to be. A mother’s role embodies the attribute of procreation which is responsible for that maternal instinct which is the glue that has molded our families through the ages and by extension Barbados. Despite the ingenuity of man this is a reality which cannot be created on demand. The father has historically assumed the role as head of the family unit, regrettably for many the role in recent times has been reduced to being titular.

The rise of the woman to take a partnership role in the family unit has been overdue. Unfortunately the trade-off has been to create a learning curve as modern society wrestles with the harmonizing of the new roles ‘sexes’ must play. The ‘commodization’ of relationships has seen the dumbing down of the role of family in modern society. It is ironic that our message of lament concerning the fall of the family coincides with the recent ruling in the California Court which has allowed same sex marriages. If the ruling is overturned in November 2008 is left to be seen.

They are many who plot the moral slide in Barbados with the decreasing influence of the Church. We are not sure if our friend Peter Wickham has any quantitative studies which can support this position. Many will offer a rebuttal by highlighting the Catholic Church which has been responsible for suppressing information concerning sexual molestation and homosexual behaviour.

We are told the patriarch of the BU household has done a good job. The importance of a father or male substitute is very important in the household. Far too many children have had to grow-up in a single parent household and consequently have not benefited from the richness in upbringing which the traditional family offers. We can only speculate how many single parent (female) children may have had the realization of their potential retarded. For the record we should say that this blog in no way disregards the effort of many single parents who by forced circumstance had to step-up to the plate. We anticipate the old-fashion label being tossed around by some members of the BU family :-).

We have total respect for the roles of the father (male) and mother (female). Same sex marriages will erode the institution of marriage and with it the family unit as we know it. Is this what we want?

157 responses to “Male + Female = Father + Mother”

1. Technician // July 1, 2008 at 12:51 pm

@ Bimbro…….BTW, every dreadlocked person is not a Rasta…

No, Tech, but u do have to be a rasta to be dreadful!!! I have never met a decent one, yet!!!!

My dreads are my statement, how feel, my alternative to the colonial mentality of what we should look like. I wear them with pride.

Poor Tech, how u get so confuse!!!! How do u think your ‘poor’ ancestors managed before Bob Marley or were they all psychologically, crippled!!!! Poor ting!! And just what, do u think you actually, LOOK like – a credit to the human race?!!!!

2. Pat, how many africans u **rew and u have the audacity, to come here and admit it!!!! Were u resident in africa at the time!

As ur having such a wonderful time please expostulate your statement that ‘this is hell, here on earth’!!!!

3. Instead of removing his sweatty, woolen-hat, he placed the hard-hat, on top of the woolen-hat!!!! His head must have reached 100 degrees!!!!

I had tuh burse out laughing!!!! Is that the sort of thing which u do, please, Technician?!!! Before I cry hay today!!!!
    ———————————–>
    Not an unsual thing here among rastas
    they even use them with motorcycle albums

4. Instead of removing his sweatty, woolen-hat, he placed the hard-hat, on top of the woolen-hat!!!! His head must have reached 100 degrees!!!!

I had tuh burse out laughing!!!! Is that the sort of thing which u do, please, Technician?!!! Before I cry hay today!!!!
    ———————————–>
    Not an unsual thing here among rastas
    they even use them with motorcycle helmets

5. Bimbro, NONE of your business.
    I have nothing to hide.
    I am not a two faced hypocrite.
    Do you know who I am talking about?

6. This thread is still going
    Thought that I spoke the last word on the matter

The world seems to be topsy turvy

7. Not an unsual thing here among rastas
    they even use them with motorcycle albums.

Thanks ROBOT. I’ll stick to good, old christianity and COMMON SENSE!!!!

Ok, Pat. Did n’t mean to offend u dear. U have the right to get involved with whomever u want. Hope u had a nice Canada Day, yesterday. Did u do anything really exciting as part of the celebrations? Canada’s a huge country yet, we tend mostly, to hear about Toronto and Ontario – it’s almost as though the remainder of the place does n’t exist!! It almost seems to be a ‘home from home’ for many Barbadians, who seem virtually, as content living there as in Bim, perhaps, even more so than in the States, these days! What’s the mystery of Canada! One of the few, white Canadians with whom I’ve had any dealings was a right, little racist!

Happy day!

8. Dear Tech, do u mean u dress and behave as a rasta, even though ur not really, one in the proximity of ur young daughter?!!!!

Heavens, T, what example are u setting her to aspire to?!!!!

Do u expect her to become a young, Bajan doctor that way, and heaven knows we’re in desperate need of more Bajan doctors, or is n’t she also, more likely, to become a useless, rastafarian!!!!

Think of ur daughter, bro. as well as Bim’s requirements and cut the nonsense!!

Regards!

9. @ Bimbro….It is truly a sad day for you when you can make such stupid ass statements and feel good about yourself.Your minuscule mind will be your undoing and your demise.
    The fact that you have never seen a decent rasta, is not because there isnt but because your mind is so prejudiced and biased against this group that you cannot see past you misconceptions.
    Arthur Holder is a Rastafarian, good father and a well known lawyer. Imagine, we are similar to the British system here and we have quite a few Rasta lawyers hmmm.
    You need to come out of that 2×4 box you call home and see the world . I used to think that all Brits were either mad or gay but after lots of travels, I know this is not the case.
    I am dreadlocked and I am contracted by 5 banks here and run a network cabling company.If my apperance was so repulsive, do you think I could have landed these contracts?
    Get a life……education is the key. Talk what you like Dreadlocked or Rasta…..my papers break down those barriers in a second.

Ps….sorry David and BU for going off thread but sometimes …its hard to ignore the ass!!

10. Maybe David you can start a thread on this topic so that I can deal with this clown without derailing the original thread.

11. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

calm down Technician… every court needs a jester.

12. @Technicians

There is Submissions, you and Pat feel free we are sure some people enjoy the side show.

13. Bimbro …I think you are going a bit too far thinking that we are cool enough for you to speak about my daughter.
    Say what you like about me but please …leave my daughter out of this as you dont know or have the right to do so ok.
    We can trash out any issues you like but I think it is in poor taste to comment on my daughter’s future. Have a little respect as a christian you so claim to be.

14. sometimes …its hard to ignore the ass!!

Tech, asses r very, useful animals. I’ve never made a comparison between them and rastafarians!!!!

Lordddddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

David // July 2, 2008 at 6:39 am

@Technicians

There is Submissions, you and Pat feel free we are sure some people enjoy the side show.

David, behave yuhself!!!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Bimbro …I think you are going a bit too far thinking that we are cool enough for you to speak about my daughter. Have a little respect as a christian you so claim to be.

Agreed, Tech! We’ll leave ur daughter out of this. Hope she’s well!

As of this moment, I love rastas, hearrrrrrrrrrr?

Laaaaaaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Nice day!!

15. So, Tech, as a matte of interest, how many years precisely, or is it decades, which I’d need to be acquainted with u to qualify to mention ur daughter?!!!!

16. NOTHING NATURAL ABOUT HOMOSEXUALITY

wed. july 2 2008
    Nation News
    page 10a

READ IT

17. Hi ROBOT and thanks for the pointer. However, I don’t live in Bim and only have access to their online edition and although I’ve made an exhaustive, search just now, could n’t find the article.

Anyhow, I’ve checked your previous posts and we’re both in total agreement on this subject. Homosexuality is an abomination to mankind and against all god’s laws for his people!

Just waiting now for a much anticipated, reply from my dear friend and fellow, Barbadian brother, Tech!!!! 🙂

18. DAVID:

Dont tempt me, Just dont tempt me…

BIMBO the article is actually a letter to the editor and is in the letters column.

19. PAT:

I really do understand your ‘mind-set’ world-view, in relation to ‘God’ heaven and hell, and your flippancy towards such things.

Regarding your question, have I ever seen, or spoken to ‘Satan’ himself, or have I blindly taken what I’ve read from others?

To answer your question directly, no, I’ve not seen or spoken to Satan himself; however, I’ve had many years in the study of such matters, the ‘Occult’ which is very real, plus the antithesis of this, Biblical and theological studies, the testimonies of many ‘former’ occultists, who have been set free from this terrible ‘bondage’ and deception by and through The Lord Jesus Christ, and yes, also my own personal experiences, in helping others, in serious ‘deliverance’ from ‘Demonic’ oppression and infestation, where the manifestations were real, vivid, and at times frightening, all confirming exactly the type of ‘ugly’ behaviour these ‘spirit’ entities put up, when confronted through the ‘power’ and Name of JESUS CHRIST.

Its imperative to remember, that ‘Satan’ the father of all lies, never wants, and immensely dislikes anyone, to believe that ‘He’ exist or is a real ‘spirit’ being, his trump-card, is in effect to convince people that he does not exist, and in so doing, dismiss his reality, thereby falling for all of his diabolical deceptions that he fosters daily on multitudes.

Also, apart from out right Satanists, who have met, seen and spoken to him, he otherwise, presents himself as and ‘Angel’ of light, very beautiful, for the express purpose of deception.

His ‘demonic’ host, do his bidding for him, this I know personally, confirmed by much I’ve read, plus first hand clinical experience, in deliverance of others.

Now, you don’t have to believe this, its your choice to remain in deception, but, the least you can do is to weigh the evidence, logically, however skeptical you maybe, for ‘Truth’ is absolute, that is, two competing ‘truth’ claims CANNOT be both right at the same time and place, they can be both wrong, BUT, they can’t be both right, its simply not logical, so we must weigh the ‘evidence’ facts and all, in order to arrive at, reasonable, logical conclusions.

20. Pat // July 2, 2008 at 5:06 pm

DAVID:

Dont tempt me, Just dont tempt me…

BIMBO the article is actually a letter to the editor and is in the letters column.

Thank u Pat, I’ll have a look there, sometime today!

Where’s my fellow, countryman, Tech? Ur being sorely, missed!!!! 🙂

21. Dear ‘Bajans’, you’ve achieved so much during your so far, eventful, life that I wonder if there’re any ambitions outstanding which you’d yet, like to achieve? Are there any?

22. Thank u ROBOT and Bajans: I have now read the particular, article and respond to it as follows:

Quote: No one can deny that homosexuals must be accepted with respect, compassion and sensitivity. Nonetheless, homosexual acts must be considered wrong and intrinsically disordered.

I disagree with this basic tenet: why should they necessarily, be “accepted with respect, compassion and sensitivity”. I’m aware of a number of instances where homosexuals have NOT accepted NORMAL PEOPLE in that manner but instead, have harassed and made their lives a misery, thus why should we necessarily, pay them this courtesy! Plus, who else is automatically, “accepted with respect, compassion and sensitivity”. Many of our own people are NOT so accepted and for no other reason than being black, or west indian, and they’re NORMAL, so why should HOMOSEXUALS be accorded PREFERENTIAL treatment?!!!!

In my experience, homosexuals are a scheming, conniving, iniquitious bunch who deserve to be ostracised and barely, regarded to exist!

Link:
    http://www.nationnews.com/editorial/357035329273359.php

Nice day!! 🙂

23. Yes, there is a vast difference between ‘respecting’ a persons right to express their opinion, and ‘respecting’ that opinion, two entirely different matters altogether!

24. Carlos, r u one????

25. Calling Mr Technician,

Calling Mr Technician,

R u there, Mr Technician!!

Your tariff has expired Mr Technician!!

Report to to the principal’s office to be informed of ur punishment, Mr Technician!!!!

Forthwith, please, Mr Technician!!!!

Put down ur cables for two minutes!!!!

26. Bimbro! What kind of question is that? One of what? I’m entirely with you on your anti-homosexual stance!

27. Carlos // July 3, 2008 at 12:51 pm

Bimbro! What kind of question is that? One of what? I’m entirely with you on your anti-homosexual stance!

Thank you, Carlos for clarifying that for us. I was n’t entirely, certain of the meaning of your last post. Meanwhile, Tech seems to be upset, again, and has abandoned us, much to my chagrin. I was keen to observe his justification for rastafarianism and its adornments, given our success at managing, perfectly, well without it for the past nearly, 500 years – at least since Barbados was first settled, and beyond and no other nation’s interest in it, except one (Jamaica)and that not generally, shared – but, alas, he’s taken umbrage and ‘fled the sceen’!!!!

I suspect that he, like the majority of us, are perfectly well aware that there’s no justifiable place for rastafarianism or its practices or quasi-practices and adornments in a developed, civilised country like Barbados or any other and practice their silliness, merely in order to seek attention. It must be product of some, psychological flaw in their makeup that they, as the homosexuals, are unable to accept and practice the normal mores or a decent society.

I trust they might find peace and tranquility in their otherwise, disturbed psyches, and soon, because those degeneracies are not required in Barbados.

Have a nice, day, everyone, including Mr Tech! Punishment waiting for u at the front desk, Sir!!!!

28. Ah Bimbro….there is something called work here in Bim you know…it is a paradise but the bills must be paid. We are not all lazy and ignorant ok (contrary to popular belief). The fact that I wear locks also means that I have to be on top of my game when dealing with the few ignorant,colonial minded ones who would like to destroy me because of a hairstyle and my mentality.
    Have no fear though…life is great …just landed a big contract…nothing like education to break down barriers..(Bob Marley,Marcus Garvey et al were so right).
    ——————————————————————————–
    Bimbro says……I suspect that he, like the majority of us, are perfectly well aware that there’s no justifiable place for rastafarianism or its practices or quasi-practices and adornments in a developed, civilised country like Barbados or any other and practice their silliness, merely in order to seek attention. It must be product of some, psychological flaw in their makeup that they, as the homosexuals, are unable to accept and practice the normal mores or a decent society.
    ——————————————————————-
    I have said before…I am Not a Rasta.That is a recognised religion whether you like it or not, which means I would have to be religious..which I am not.
    The constitution makes sure that one does not have to justify ones religion to be accepted just like you dont have to justify your existence to live.
    Have you ever had a conversation with a true Rasta?
    Do you know what Rastafari is even about?
    As a so called christian…why do you have to judge everyone and try to vilify them when there beliefs or customs are different from yours.You would crucify a guy for wearing a hat in the summer….here we have guys in 3 piece suits all year in an average temperature of 30 degrees…go figure.
    One of mankind’s greatest problems is to hate what they don’t understand…this way of thinking has started wars.

29. Arayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!

Technican reply!!!!

Reply soon, bro!! And take off that hat, please!!!! 🙂

30. The above anon post is mine.

31. The problem, Tech, is, why do you have such a huge problem with conforming! Do u think the world was made for u to undermine or does it make u more attractive to the girls, in YOUR opinion!!!!

Vanity’s destroying our people and making them look like weirdos!!

More soon!!!!

32. Tech, what example r u setting the young people and Barbadians, generally! Ur not a rasta, yet, adopt the apperance and perhaps, the mannerisms of one? How does this improve the image of Barbados and Barbadians both nationally, and internationally i.e. when visitors to the island happen to c u, looking that way!!!!!

I’m not allowed to mention a certain relative of yours, but what must the young people also, think?!!! They’re not old enough to discern the wise from the foolish, so their minds are in a malleable state of being influenced. Do u wish to influence their immature minds in such a way?!!!!

33. Poor old Bimbro……the world has changed and moved on since you were a boy.
    Let me try to answer you bit by bit.

…….why do you have such a huge problem with conforming!
    —————————————————————————–
    conforming to who…what. To an appearance that was designed for us to look like our colonial masters.

……Do u think the world was made for u to undermine or does it make u more attractive to the girls,
    ——————————————————————————–
    It was your colonial masters who first undermined the world…was it theirs to do then?
    Yes…it is soooo attractive to the girls, especially the over 35s..dont know why.
    Then there are the white tourists who come here with the ‘mandingo syndrome’….locks are like a beacon in the night to them. So yes …it is attractive to the girls.

……what example r u setting the young people and Barbadians,
    ———————————————————————————-
    Simple…that an education, hard work and determination, can get you anywhere you choose in life. It should not be about your beliefs, looks, religion etc but more about what you can add to life as an individual in a positive way.
    Not being Rastafari by religion does not stop one from living by some or most of the teachings of Rastafari. I am sure there are people who live their lives close to the Bible’s teachings but are not Christians. Your statement about mannerisms is filled and overflowing with contempt so it is hard to explain it to you.
    As for the image of Barbados…what the hell is that? What image can we have, other that the reflection of the rest of the world. Our landscape is soon to be a concrete jungle, our politicians are as corrupt as any despot in the world. Thanks to these blogs now, the whole world knows now that we are just as bad as them …only smaller.
    So you see Bimbro ..you should never be afraid to express yourself, show your identity as a proud black man who went against the status quo and hacked it out through tribulations one after the next. I am living proof that being born into poverty does not mean you will die poor.Not as long as we utilize this wonderful education system we have.
    I employ most of the so called boys on the block as laborers, they are paid $100.00 a day.When they see what I have accomplished at a young age, it motivates them to study. I have 4 of them now at the SJPP doing courses. So that is the example I am setting for them and that is MY image of what Barbados should be……Brothers helping each other and living in harmony. So if I am influencing their imature minds in this way the more power to me….I know I am doing my part….Now…can you say the same about yourself…..honestly.

Anyway….it is friday….time to let down the locks , bust out a hennessy broad shoulder, 2 guinness and roll a ………

34. ……oh and one more thing Bimbro. A true Rasta knows no vanity!!

35. Tech, congratulations and very impressive and self-aggrandizing!!! But what assessment r people who don’t know u well, and other similarly, deported Barbadians, supposed to think of u all, or does n’t image, matter to u, because it should do!!! Image is even more important than form, if u had n’t realised because not many people will receive the opportunity to get to know the wonderful person who u think u are, but very many more people will actually, SEE you!!!!

Given the right image, almost anything is achievable! If you’ve learnt one thing today Tech, u can say u learnt that from Mr Bimbro!!!!

As to my own achievements, u would be surprised!!!! But u especially, will be aware of the foolhardiness of MY especially, revealing any further details of my life on here, and precisley, why! i.e. I don’t plan to deliberatly, give u any further opportunities to crow, “We owe u, big time”!!!!

Nice day!!!!

P.S. I don’t know how we managed, at all, before Bob Marley and the discovery of rastafarianism in the ’70s! We must have been suffering terribly – not that I noticed and look at the state of ‘that very, HOME, of rastafari, Jamaica itself! Positively, unmentionable! I prefer not to follow that example, thank u very much!!

36. Technician // July 4, 2008 at 3:50 pm

……oh and one more thing Bimbro. A true Rasta knows no vanity!!

Except when the girls and the ‘over-35s’ admire u, eh Tech!!!!

No problem, bro, at least it means ur normal and as vain, if not more so, than most of us!!!!

37. P.S. I don’t know how we managed, at all, before Bob Marley and the discovery of rastafarianism in the ’70s!
    ===================

please check your facts

38. Tech, vis. Asiba, confirmation that the subversion is spreading! Hope ur happy!!!!

39. Poor Bimbro…..to show you anything new is a lesson in futility. Your hatred of things you dont have a clue to is so plain to see, it is sickening.
    You have the internet…do some research.
    You challenged me personally and I responded….yet you claim I am self-aggrandizing.
    What more do you want?
    I am who I am….a poor boy from a cane cutter/labourer who worked hard to instill in me, manners, pride and determination.
    I am proud of my life and will always be.
    My advice to you Bimbro is to try (if at all possible) to see people as people first,then , maybe then you can remove the colonial shackles from you mind and realise that the world you live in has changed over the years.Try helping your brotherman instead of crying him down because he looks different. As Richie Spice says………There is a whole barrage of righteous human in town….and we aint giving up , no way.
    Study ya head.

40. Straight Anonymous!

41. Bimbro ??

what ???

what was that response all about bro

42. You have the internet…do some research.

Tech, I’m extremely, discriminating as to what I’m prepared to research and rastafarianism is n’t one of the subjects!! I caan waise my precious, time!!!! (how’s my Bajan!!!!)

Lord!!!

Dear Tech, all change is n’t necessarily, beneficial and that’s one which is n’t – the existence of *****farianism!!!! Look, I can’t even bring myself to utter the word!!!!

For the ‘worthy’ benefits of ***********ism one need look no further than ***ica!! Is n’t that proof enough for u, no hypothetical theory just the plain, hard facts of a destroyed, country!! Is that what u desire for Bim!!!!

Pat will confirm my prediction ‘they’d turn London into Kingston’, which is now harsh reality. She, however, has n’t been able to persuade herself to agree, probably because it’s not her son(s) who she has to fear she’ll never see alive again, every time he steps out of the door, or indeed, she herself, coupled with the fact of her latest, announced boyfriend being a Jamaican! Heed my words before it’s too late!!

Latest affliction!!!! Welcome to YOUR future, if u wont’ listen!!!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article1385097.ece

43. The third post above was me again…..sorry.

44. Hey you know what Bimbro….this is what life is all about…change!!

Your Bajan sucks btw…..ya need to chill on a block sometimes.

Some more free advice from a conscious yute…..Get busy living or get busy dying.

Study ya head guy.

We have no idea Tech.

45. As to your article Bimbro…..was he killed by a Rastaman?
    You just cant deal with the issues at hand can you?
    You are going to blame Rastafarians on this murder?
    Next time you are on the island ..we’ll go to Temple Yard and chill one Saturday morning…have some ital (not what the Prime Minister promised) food, some good grade and just sit and reason with the elders.
    Holla back if ya game.

46. I found out David…I cant log on to BU from the current settings on my pc , so I go through anonymouse, there the handle does not automatically appear….my bad.

47. David , It just occurred to me …this blog is just an extension of the many discussions we have on the block, at the bar, after work limes etc.
    Maybe one of these days we could have a BU lime, imagine a live discussion with myself,Scout, Negroman, Asiba, Pat and Bimbro over a couple drinks…….Wow!!

48. As to your article Bimbro…..was he killed by a Rastaman?

I was suggesting he has almost, certainly been murdered by your insane, Jamaican friends!! Rastas or not, they’re all Jamaican and degenerate!!!!

49. BIMBRO, what achievements what?!

What owe you bigtime what?!

What Jamaican boyfriend you rambling on bout now?!

Man, I think you does sit at yuh pc and day dream these things. Just pluck dem down from the sky!

50. Technician
    A BU lime would be perfect. Then we would see who hiding behind a name. This is where we can start to put things in motion for a better b’dos. I READY