family

Father’s Day has come and gone and consensus in the BU household is that the sentiment felt continues to lag what prevails Mother’s Day. We are certain that the socialization which occurs between the ‘sexes’ creates a unique dynamic which was meant to be. A mother’s role embodies the attribute of procreation which is responsible for that maternal instinct which is the glue that has molded our families through the ages and by extension Barbados. Despite the ingenuity of man this is a reality which cannot be created on demand. The father has historically assumed the role as head of the family unit, regrettably for many the role in recent times has been reduced to being titular.

The rise of the woman to take a partnership role in the family unit has been overdue. Unfortunately the trade-off has been to create a learning curve as modern society wrestles with the harmonizing of the new roles ‘sexes’ must play. The ‘commodization’ of relationships has seen the dumbing down of the role of family in modern society. It is ironic that our message of lament concerning the fall of the family coincides with the recent ruling in the California Court which has allowed same sex marriages. If the ruling is overturned in November 2008 is left to be seen.

They are many who plot the moral slide in Barbados with the decreasing influence of the Church. We are not sure if our friend Peter Wickham has any quantitative studies which can support this position. Many will offer a rebuttal by highlighting the Catholic Church which has been responsible for suppressing information concerning sexual molestation and homosexual behaviour.

We are told the patriarch of the BU household has done a good job. The importance of a father or male substitute is very important in the household. Far too many children have had to grow-up in a single parent household and consequently have not benefited from the richness in upbringing which the traditional family offers. We can only speculate how many single parent (female) children may have had the realization of their potential retarded. For the record we should say that this blog in no way disregards the effort of many single parents who by forced circumstance had to step-up to the plate. We anticipate the old-fashion label being tossed around by some members of the BU family :-).

We have total respect for the roles of the father (male) and mother (female). Same sex marriages will erode the institution of marriage and with it the family unit as we know it. Is this what we want?

157 responses to “Male + Female = Father + Mother”

1. LOl

Anon … I was thinking the same thing. He has diarhhea of the computer keyboard!

How is THE TRUTH absolute? Who’s truth? My TRUTH says that you just wrote a whole lot of hogwash Carlos.

So Christianity wins the religion reality competition ..is that what you are trying to say? Good . Wonderful …I guess everlasting life is better than 12 virgins as the reward??

So where does that leave us nonchristians, non believers and more importantly DO WE CARE?

2. Me
    I am still waiting for Carlos’ view on Deuteronomy 22:21-24. Please have a look. If he is consistent, he should be calling for the death penalty for adultry.

3. The only thing consistent about Carlos would be his narrow mindedness. Is it not ironic that the more “christian” a person becomes the less tolerant and more bigoted they become?

4. Perhaps I should have said “religious” rather than “christian”. It’s true about all faiths.

5. “Anonymous” Are you being factitious, or just plain silly, or both?

Deuteronomy, was under the Old Testament Law, the Mosaic ‘Covenant’ made specifically the chosen nation of Israel, after the Exodus and at Mt. Sinai. It was made by God, through the mediation of ‘Moses’ to be a ‘schoolmaster’ to bring Israel to Christ Jesus, the Saviour of the world.

What did The Lord Jesus Christ, Incarnate deity, God of very God, say to the women caught in adultry? Did ‘He’ allow her to be stoned to death, as required by the Old Testament Law? Certainly not! Because all of her accusers would have been guilty as well, of the same, or some other violation of the same OT Law.

When Jesus asked them, “He who is without SIN among you, let him throw a stone at her first” (John. 8: 7:b). What was their response? “Then those who heard it, being convicted by their conscience, went out one by one….” (v.9). Then, “….He said to her, ‘Woman, where are those accusers of yours? Has no one condemned you? She said, ‘No one Lord,’ and Jesus said to her, ‘Neither do I condemn you: GO AND SIN NO MORE.’ (vv.10b-11). emphasis added.

What is the lesson here? First, that mercy, forgiveness, and the gift of eternal, in the New Covenant was in the Person of Jesus Christ.

Secondly, that SIN must not be condoned, pardoned yes, but NOT overlooked, hence Jesus’ injunction to the woman, “…GO AND SIN NO MORE.’ (v.11b).

This is why Jesus gave the ‘Great Commission’ to go therefore, and preach the Gospel to everyone, so that those living in ALL kinds of sin, can know that Almighty God, through His only begotton Son, can gladly receive forgiveness, cleansing, and the Gift of Eternal Life, with ‘Him’ in Heaven.

But, let us not forget, that “All (of us) have sinned, and fall short of the glory of God” (Rom. 3:23). Also, “For the wages (penalty) of SIN is death (eternal seperation from God, in conscious torment and misery), BUT, the gift of God is ETERNAL LIFE (conscious bliss and glory with Him) in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Rom. 6:23) emphasis added.

Let those who have ears, hear the Word of God!

6. To ‘Me’ ‘Duppy Lizard’ ‘Anonymous’ and any others of your ilk, keep writing, for all it does it reveal you utter shallowness of intellect, stupidity, and IGNORANCE, which is exceeded only by your foolish arrogance!

7. Who could be more arrogant than yourself Carlos? Peace and love brother – I turn de next cheek.

8. Carlos where do you get that we are arrogant.. because we dont agree with you. I have said repeatedly that I dont agree yet you continue to lambast me with useless quotes and assertions that show that you are incapable of openmindedness.

Are you saying that it is arrogant to NOT be a christian? because if that is what you are saying you should look the word arrogant up.

Why must I see things your way? Arrogance indeed!

9. I dont usually comment but everyone seems to have ‘a justifiction’ for doing ‘WRONG’!

10. define justification and define wrong!

then maybe I will agree with you

11. We see that me has been able to use his usual intellectualizing of the homosexual argument to move the debate from the central plot of what we were trying to say…lol. We must tip our hat to you me. If commenters against the homosexual argument were as articulate and ferocious in debate as you….

The next article we write about the importance of the traditional family unit and the socialization which emanates from such a union and which is important to the health and strength of a socially cohesive society, we will be sure to button a few issues for you.

People like me and others of his elk will never be able to stem the strength of the pro-family (traditional) lobby because despite how same sex marriages try to justify their existence traced to some biological malfunction some of us will always toss that argument in the cesspool. Procreation is symbiotic with family, life and existence. me despite what you have argued to date like you we will stand firm.

12. Carlos,

I ain’t no Bible scholar (in fact according to you I is stupid, shallow, ignorant and arrogant) but anyway in my simplemindeness, Jesus said something about coming to fullfill the law, the word and that he was not repudiating the Old Testament but fullfilling it. Well it says in said Old Testament that adulterers should be put to death and you seem to suggesting (when it suits you) that we should follow the Bible in the matter of same sex marriage (which actually says nothing about it!!!!!).

I only have one question; Tell me which parts of the Bible I should ignore and which parts I should accept (for example Paul’s instruction that women should keep quiet in church/worship meeting yet many churches have female pastors/ministers)?

With no intention to be rude, I really have no intention of prolonging this thread so I will state up front that it is my view that all laws regarding social interaction and institutions should be in accordance with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and common sense not in accordance with any religious book or religious instruction, especially ones which reflects the thinking and practices of some nomadic society two – three thousand years ago.

13. To the three ‘Stooges’ ‘Me’ ‘Duppy Lizard’ and ‘Anonymous’ it is a utter waste of time trying to enlighten the wilfully ‘Ignorant’ as Jesus said:

“Do not give what is holy to dogs; nor cast your pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn again and tear you in pieces” (Matt. 7:6).

“Do not correct a scoffer, lest he hate you. Rebuke a wise man, and he will love you. Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be wiser; Teach a just man, and he will increase in learning” (Prov. 9:7-9). So be it, the choice is yours!

14. and let me add this last word to the argument !

BULLING IS STINK AND NASTY-(PERIOD)

SPERM INTO SHIT——is against NATURE

THE LOGICAL CONCLUSION TO HOMOSEXUALITY -IS EXTINCTION OF THE SPECIES——–the logical conclusion

15. Carlos

for all your religious quotes (do you have an original idea?), you seem to be an unhappy even angry person. Please get some counselling.

16. Carlos …ther you go again selectively using he Bible to arrogantly dismiss those that dont agree with you. I am sure tha you can find justification in that book to hush us up!

17. Could n’t conceivably, disagree with the title of this article but I still, strongly, maintain that many children need protecting from their own parents! And this time, I am most certainly, NOT jesting, folks!!

18. ‘Ignorance, when voluntary, is criminal’ (Samuel Johnson).

“There is no more terrible sight than ignorance in action” (Goethe).

“Ignorance has something to be said for it. It gives rise to about nine-tenths of the world’s conversational output” (Mark Twain).

The three ‘stooges’ are past masters, at making sure that ‘Ignorance’ continues to survive, and is alive, resolutely unable to make any valuable, meaninful contribution, to a serious discussion.

To those who believe, no explanation is necessary; to those who (obviously) have choosen not to believe, NO explanation is possible.

“The FOOL has said in his heart, ‘There is no God.’ They are corrupt, They have done abominable works, There is none who does good.” (Psa. 14:1).

19. Keep writing ‘Stooges’ lets see if there is any further ‘depth’ to your inerudite, inescapable, inexperienced, inexpiable, ineffectual, inept, ‘IGNORANCE.’

20. cuh dear not enough converts to get you into heaven???

21. No, Me-Me, one cannot ‘work’ for or ‘earn’ their salvation, its a ‘Gift’ purchased and paid for by Almighty God, through His Son’s sacrifical death, on our behalf, we owed a debt we could NOT pay, ‘He’ Jesus paid a debt He did not owe, for us! This is why:

“For by grace (unmerited favour) you have been saved (redeemed) through faith (Trust & commitment to Christ) and that not of yourselves: (why not? because) it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast” (Eph. 2:8-9) emphasis added.

In other words, one does not get to Heaven, by winning converts, but soley by ‘Grace’ through ‘Faith’ not blind faith, but reasonable faith, in the most epochal event in human history, confirmed by evidence, historical varacity of the hard, irrefutable ‘facts’ of the life, death and resurrection of JESUS CHRIST.

A number of die-hard Atheist, having carefully and honestly investigated the mass of evidence, have concluded that what is stated in the Bible is true.

One such former Atheist, Josh McDowell, who set about to prove the non-existence of God, simply could NOT refute the evidence, and therefore gave his heart and life to the Lordship of Jesus Christ. Today, and over the last 30 years, he is one of the most ardent apologist for Christ, and has written a masterpiece of research, entitled, “EVIDENCE that Demands a Verdict, Historical Evidence For The Christian Faith, Volume 1”

Scholars from a variety of disciplines, historians, legal experts, etc,etc, have contributed to this volume of work; and any one with a ‘willing’ mind, will allow the ‘evidence’ to lead them to the Truth on this matter.

McDowell, has debated numerous ‘Atheist’ around the world, and NOT one of them could ‘refute’ the awesome evidence, some believed, others, chose NOT to believe, PRIDE, is a killer, it prevents many men, from admitting what they know in their heart, to be true.

Don’t let this happen to you!

22. My definition me is PROLIFERATION LOL!

23. My goodness, how can anyone be enlightened, educated, intelligent, well read and still live their lives by following and believing in a book of Jewish myths and legends? Its an oxymoron guys. Who cares what Paul said?

Look around the world today and see the mess caused by religion, especially the Christian religion.

24. Miss Pat, please enlighten us to ‘the mess caused by especially the christian religion’, as stated by you. All I can see is the evil of NOT observing the CHRISTIAN religion!!

And what would u recommend in its place, anyway!

25. LOL…everytime christianity is criticised someone say that people who call themselves christian are not practising correctly or are somehow should not reperesnet christianity. So which ones are practising correctly and if why are they not managing the misdeedsof the wayward christians…. and most importantly who determines who is more christian tahn another??/

26. That the carnal mind cannot discern spiritual things is reflective in the above comments by Pat.

Only if we would adhere to the guidlines issued in the Bible, life would be much better. The two great commandments: love God and love your neighbour as yourself are basic, fundamental and the keys to everything.

Homosexuality involves an act that is stink and nasty and injurious to the human spirit and to the human being. The anus is designed for one directional passage -out of the rectum.—not a penis to be inserted. Is this so difficult to accept

27. Remember : Male + Female =Father +Mother

28. Bimbro……do you live in a cave?

29. This is why I love the internet…..@ Me…
    http://users.iems.northwestern.edu/~hazen/McDowellRebuttal.html

30. Technician // June 30, 2008 at 9:33 am

Bimbro……do you live in a cave?

Some cave-dwellings are very desirable, not to mention expensive residences. However, I would n’t expect u to know that! Otherwise, I fail to c the relevance!!!!

I merely, request the price of a ham-cutter these days!! Is that too, much to request!!!!

BTW, Britain’s catching up with BIM!! We’re getting polyclinics!!!!

Laaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!!

I jealous!!!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!!

31. Robot, believe what you want.

I believe what I believe.
    I am not religious, but am very spiritual.
    I have the ability to foresee things.
    I dont believe in heaven nor hell.
    Yet I can see the dead spirits.
    So, why are they not in H or H?
    But here roaming the earth?

In my opinion, the God some of you believe in
    is the God of the Jewish people.

My mind is free to roam, question and discard as I please. I have no religious hindrances. Live by no religious rules. I believe in karma. What you do comes back to you.

32. Bimbro – Do you perchance live on one of the Channel Islands? Just curious….

33. Pat, I have no doubt what you see or experience regarding what you ‘think’ is the departed ‘spirits’ of the physically dead, roaming the earth, as you say, leading you to conclude that they are in neither ‘Heaven’ nor ‘Hell.’!

Seriously, this is a terrible deception, one of Satan’s materful tricks, in presenting some of his myriad of ‘Demons’ masquerading as the ‘spirits’ of departed friends, relatives, etc., for the express purpose of ‘deceiving’ many, who then conclude, as you have done, that there is no Heaven or hell!

What the spirit being (Demon) does, is appear just like someone you knew, looking and speaking just like you remember them, its called an “ectoplasmic’ apparition, a ‘lie’ from the pit of Hell.

In recent decades, Almighty God has been confirming, the absolute reality of ‘Hell’ and ‘Heaven’ as described in His Word, the Bible, by giving numerous people from all over the world, out-of-body experiences of both Heaven and Hell, these people are from a variety of cultures, religious faiths, and so on, and there is a striking simililarity, in all of their experiences before the ‘Lord’ put them back in their bodies, to go and tell ‘unbelievers’ that Hell and Heaven is real.

This is no joking matter, and I would glady recommend, you get copies of Mary Baxters books, on her literal trips to Hell and Heaven, and others who did not believe just like you.

Basters’ books are ‘Divine Revelation of Hell’ and ‘Divine Revelation of Heaven.’ Give them a read!

34. Oh Gosh

This topic too serious for I

I want to talk about too mush fat on the road
    and resulting health threatening consequences

35. Carlos, have you met this Satan? Have you had dealing with him, or was your head filled with this knowledge by someone else? When you see, meet and speak with this Satan, I would be interested in hearing the dialogue.

For your information, we are now existing in hell, here on earth. Heaven is what you make of your life. So enjoy it now, dont wait to do it in an unknown, unseen unrecorded place.

I have enjoyed some heaven here on earth in the experience of the Northern Lights in the Yukon, a sunset in Trinidad, four simultaneous rainbows in Hawaii and Seventh Heaven in the arms of, and riding a Zambian man (a la Sparrow’s, “she on top, he underneath on a bag”).

Dont give me any of that religious, christian claptrap. It will only hit the side of my head and fall on the floor.

36. Technician, I do appreciate why you’d be influenced and swayed by Gordon Hazen’s rebuttal of Josh McDowell’s “Evidence That Demands a Verdict.”

But, it still does not invalidate, the preponderence of ‘evidence’ plus the world-wide reality, that vast numbers of people from every country in the world, Russia, China, the Middle East, Africa, you name it, millions from other religious faiths, are finding, true ‘Salvation’ in one person, The Lord Jesus Christ, with the reality of ‘peace, ‘joy’ and purpose for this earthly existence, with the assurance of Eternal Life, hereafter.

Don’t let Hazen’s rebuttal dismiss the truth, for the facts are overwhelming, no matter who seeks to tear them apart. This is nothing more than a clever work of the arch enemy, Satan himself, to discredit and malign God’s Word, as he has been seeking to do from the Garden of Eden, when asked Eve, “Hath God said….” He is the Father of all lies, and continues to deceive multitudes, who simply don’t know the truth!

37. Duppy Lizard // June 30, 2008 at 3:51 pm

Bimbro – Do you perchance live on one of the Channel Islands? Just curious….

Thank you for your interest, DL, but no, I do not. May I enquire your reason for asking?

I’m purely, interested in ascertainin the current price of a ham-cutter, which, apparently, is too much troulble for Tech to inform me! Perhaps, he has n’t eaten one, recently! I prefer conkees, myself. I simply wish not to be embarassed by finding myself short of foreign currency on my next visit to Bim! Is that an unreasonable precaution to take?

38. and Seventh Heaven in the arms of, and riding a Zambian man (a la Sparrow’s, “she on top, he underneath on a bag”).

What do u know…. there may be hope for her yet!!!!

At least it was n’t a woman she was riding but, given time, yuh never know!!!!

Sorry, about ur CURRENT, squeeze!!!!

39. @ Carlos….actually, I am not influenced by either sides of the discussion. What amuses me, is that for every point made, there is always rebuttal by another.
    I am not religious, I was brought up, however, in the church for 14 years. As any Bajan with an ‘old school’ mum would tell you…it was mandatory.

@ Bimbro……It would be hard for me to quote the price of a ham cutter these days as it is not on my list of things to eat…you see ..being a dread and all…I don’t eat meat (actually, it is more for health reasons). However, I doubt it would cost more than $3.5o Bds.

40. Hey Bimbro, thanks for your reply. I have a friend who lives in the Channel Islands. Just the way you expressed yourself in one of your posts reminded me of him and I wondered if just maybe…

41. Pat

your view is so off

it is unbelievable

sorry part is that ther are more like you thinking along similar lines. there is definite need for education on your part.

42. Pat and Black Woman Who Reads are the same person and a man at that.

43. Hoorayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! A reply from Technician at last!!!!

You’re a rasta?!!! I did n’t know they allowed those in Bim!!!! Tech, I guess u felt lost did u and needed to search for an alternative. Poor soul, can’t be satisfied with the old time religion!! It’s done well for me, and nearly all other Barbadians, so what was the matter with u?!!!!

Thanks for the price of the hamcutter. I’m now in a posn. to ensure I’ve enough foreign currency!!!!

Laaaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

Duppy Lizard // July 1, 2008 at 8:36 am

Hey Bimbro, thanks for your reply. I have a friend who lives in the Channel Islands. Just the way you expressed yourself in one of your posts reminded me of him and I wondered if just maybe…

Well, DL, u never know!!!! We Brits do tend to be somewhat superior!!!! 🙂

ROBOT // July 1, 2008 at 9:09 am

Pat

your view is so off

it is unbelievable

sorry part is that ther are more like you thinking along similar lines. there is definite need for education on your part.

Robot, how mistaken u r. Did n’t u know that ‘P’!!!! knows everything!!!! She’s been trying to persuade us of this, for years now!!!! Nonetheless, I still think she’s a nutter!!!!

Pat, please confirm to us, was that the same african who beat u up and u had to have expelled from Canada?!!!!

Sounds to me that, inspite of your riding, or perhaps, because of it, he was n’t very satisfy!!!!

Laaaaaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

Puzzled // July 1, 2008 at 11:19 am

Pat and Black Woman Who Reads are the same person and a man at that.

Woiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!!! Do u think so Puzzled!!!! U never know!!!! Woiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!!!

44. DL, did n’t think there were any blacks in the Channel Islands – there’re miles from anywhere! What’s he doing there?!!!!

45. Hello David and family!!!!

46. Tech, on the subject of being a Rastafarian – I’m sure ud be impressed if I spelt it with a capital ‘R’, would n’t u?!!! See how nice I am?!!!!

That apart, on the subject of Rastas and Rastafarianism (I hope I spelt that correctly!!!!) not far from my home some development is in progress and one of the workers is a Jamaican. The weather’s very hot here, at the moment, however, not to compare with Bim’s temperatures, boa!!!! 🙂

Anyhow, this Jamaican is wearing a woolen-hat in this heat!!!! I had to laugh!!!! Then, unfortunately for him, the foreman insisted he wore a regulation, hard-hat, as such environments are dangerous places. As per the norm for Jamaicans, he argued, but the foreman insisted!!!! So, guess what the Jamaican did!!!!

Instead of removing his sweatty, woolen-hat, he placed the hard-hat, on top of the woolen-hat!!!! His head must have reached 100 degrees!!!!

I had tuh burse out laughing!!!! Is that the sort of thing which u do, please, Technician?!!! Before I cry hay today!!!!

Laaaaaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

47. Puzzled // July 1, 2008 at 11:19 am

Pat and Black Woman Who Reads are the same person and a man at that.

No Puzzled, I am not BWWR, but thanks for the compliment. I am in good company! Bimbro will tell you that I am indeed a woman and live in Canada.

Bimbro: No, that was another African. He was a Nyamwesi from Tabora in Tanzania. Please dont ask me about the Malawian. Poor chap was posted back home and killed himself. In a vehicle accident.

By the way, I have never had any interest in women in that way. However, three or four have expressed an interest in me. I could not understand it and confided in a male friend who explained that I was extremely sensual. Whatever that means.

48. @ Bimbro …this post is really against my better judgement but…
    I am not a Rasta. That would mean I am religious.
    I am, however, a conscious person. Conscious of the people around me, who I have to live with every day. That, with a big dose of Black pride, respect and humility is how I live my life…..sorry to disappoint.

49. @ Bimbro…….BTW, every dreadlocked person is not a Rasta…like wise ….you dont have to be dread to be Rasta (Morgan Heritage).
    My dreads are my statement, how feel, my alternative to the colonial mentality of what we should look like. I wear them with pride.
    As to that guys experience, ignorance is no excuse. Don’t mind the heat though…at least he doesn’t have to worry in the winter.

50. Bimbro said:

Robot, how mistaken u r. Did n’t u know that ‘P’!!!! knows everything!!!! She’s been trying to persuade us of this, for years now!!!! Nonetheless, I still think she’s a nutter!!!!

Bimbro, it is not that I know everything. No one can. It is just that I happen to know a little about many things. I have very good recall as I dont fill up my head with things not important to me. When I read the Book (I do read it. Where else can one find sex, incest, adultery, covetousness, thievery, infanticide, murder, betrayal, hallucinations, etc., between the same two covers?), it is the same as reading a novel or going to a movie. I forget it as soon as I am finished.

Yuh no wuh? I am a very happy “nutter”. You are not the first to tell me that. Some of my friends call me crazy because I am outspoken and speak my mind. Others say they appreciate me because I am truthful. Still others say I tell the world ‘be damned’ and go my way. It suits me. I am a wallking enigma.

Fact is, I worry about nothing. I enjoy life to the fullest. At 61 years who knows what is in store for me today, tomorrow, next week or next month? I live every day as though it is my last.

The Dr. told me my bad cholesterol is 1.2, so I am celebrating with a good bottle of Canadian red. Baco Noir from Pelee Island. Resaonably priced but excellent! I will raise a glass for you.