USA First Family, The Obamas
Barbados First Family, The thompsons
Barbados First Family, The Thompsons

Mothers Day went in May with its usual fanfare. Fathers Day followed yesterday with more fanfare than has been in the past. It seems there is a concerted effort to highlight Fathers Day more than ever. Could it be that the objective is to rival the enormous buzz which is now synonymous with celebrating Mothers Day?

The BU household is fortunate to have its matriarch still firmly entrenched in the role, and for that the BU household is stronger because of it. The emerging position which seems to be enveloping modern societies appears to have created a contest between the roles of Mother and Father. In our view the motive is noble but the outcome will contribute to a further polarization of what we believe is the most important societal organ, the family.

We live in a period where it is fashionable to shape important family decisions to fit our personal lifestyles.  There was a time when the mother and or father would endure sacrifice to protect the well-being of the family unit. Nowadays it is not uncommon for many within the growing female professional population to forestall child rearing, sometimes permanently!  There is also a growing group of males and females who prefer to engage in same sex unions not because of hormone imbalance but the held view that “we have the right to do what the hell we please” attitude. Yes, and our definition of a family is what is referred to as the traditional meaning. It seems strange that we feel obligated to provide a broad definition of what we think family means.

The images above this blog which features two first families gives us a sense of hope. Leaving politics aside whether viewed in an international or local context, it is edifying to be able to have the opportunity to point to what the vast majority of world citizens view as the traditional family. The family hybrids popping up in modern societies nowadays which are being routinely validated is symptomatic of the struggle the traditionalist and conservatives will have to fight against.

Why do we feel the need to hype Fathers Day? Why not push the fact that a family unit can ideally function to its optimum when there is a father and mother performing well in the roles?

1. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

199 // June 26, 2009 at 3:02 am

The white man is owed his dues also.

Massa is a part of us and i thank him for bringing us to paradise.

RD, as u know, many blacks, like PBG, would find that a highly controversial statement condemning the white man for slavery, while still loving living in the caribbean! They’re somewhat confused and doan know what to do with themselves!! I’m still puzzled by why, being rougly the same size, our population so be so much greater than the IOW’s!!
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    I am not much confused, and who else is?

“Massa is a part of us” is about right since most caribbeans have some planters blood in them.
    Not many pure africans or blacks here…

The sad thing about Barbados, is that it can`t hold all the people there.
    Its absolutely limitations of how many people a paradise can host before it becomes a hell…

2. The population of Barbados in 2003 was estimated by the United Nations at 270,000, which placed it as number 170 in population among the 193 nations of the world.

That don’t sound to bad, what you think is the limit that Barbados should look to maintain?

3. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Hello,hello,hello………

Info. from UN 1994;
    4. Barbados is one of THE MOST densely populated islands in the world with a population of 264,379 persons and a population density of 1,592.7 per square mile (1994, mid­year estimate). For administrative purposes the island is divided into 11 parishes with the capital, Bridgetown, situated in the parish of St. Michael. The parishes of St. Michael and Christ Church are the more significantly developed and populated areas in the island representing 41.6 per cent of the population (1990 population census).
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    With high density and civil conflicts firing up, it can get hot.
    Are you with me?

I think Barbados can`t hold much more people,to be honest.
    And i think of social structure, the environment and in case of disasters, political conflicts etc.
    There is nowhere to hide in Barbados really, and the limestone suffers erocion already……

4. Thanks for those statistics, PBG!! Still, I bet that some ‘smart-Alec’ will now say, “but look at Singapore or Hong Kong, etc. where the population is 10 million and it’s roughly the same size as Bim!!

Lord!! Yuh jus caan win!!

5. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

But 199, remember:
    Singapore is a highly cosmpolitan country with a long tradition of different people living together.
    A melting pot.
    Out of late discussions on f.ex. BU, it looks like Barbados has more inner problems when it comes to different people living and sharing the island together.
    Barbados population has none of the inner stability and disipline yet, to host so many people as Singapore do.
    By the way, if Barbados become as built out as Singapore, it wouldnt be Barbados anymore.
    What do we want?

6. What do we want?

U ask dum, PB!! I doan know!!

7. If any thing catastrophic happen in Singapore them could swim to main-land, in fact i bet a good fraction of people working in Singapore commute there from the main land.

For Barbados however, Vinci is a good pull.

8. RD, u being trivial now!!

Laaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!