2,324 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. @Hants

Did you read that former Australian player Gilchrist commented that players should always aspire to play for their country first because it is the country who made them.

2. David a person should aspire to make a decent living.
    What is good for Hants is good for anybody else.

Gilchrist is a privileged person living in a first world country.

Barbados made me but wey I is now?

3. Are you saying your were a multi-millionaire before you left Barbados Hantsie?

Gayle was a millionaire several times over before he went IPL.

4. No David. I was just a poor fella.

Gayle is a multi millionaire in Jamaican or Guyana dollars.

I am sure he is not worth $100million Bds yet.
    He is still a pauper compared to his fellow countryman Michael Lee-Chin.

5. Bajan representin!

Patrick Husbands has ridden 4 winners at Woodbine today.

6. Gayle scores another 100 in IPL.
    Awesome hitting.

7. Gayle scores another 100 in IPL while wibc has war of words with Chanderpaul and the President of Guyana.

8. Chris Gayle carries Bangalore to final.
    Royal Challengers Bangalore 185 for 4 (Gayle 89).

9. I love cricket.

I used to watch West Indies even when the matches were in Australia thanks to modern day technology and the Internet.

I will continue to watch cricket but until the West Indies select the best available players,
    I will not “Pay per view” on Rogers cable and will only use my Canadian cell phone or a land lime when in Barbados.

I hope others will follow my lead.

The West Indies cricket team is no.2 in the world. All the other teams are tied at No. 1.

The administrators should be replaced.

10. right now i prefer to watch the Heat and dallas go at it.. More interesting and fun altough i mad as hell at the Heat stupseeee1

11. Hi!

Can anyone tell me where we are in soccer at present?? after playing the game and having an organized body as far back as 1925?…..What are we doing wrong and what did we do wrong? and why are we still so low in the rankings of FIFA????….this when you really think of it, and know the history….Hurts…It is time to wake up Barbados!….and take some drastic action ok!

12. @LARRY

Soccer/football like many of the sports associations is riddled with politics at the expense of the sport.

13. Larry Small on the ball.. Avatar
    Larry Small on the ball..

Hi all!!

How’s youth football going in Bim at the moment!? and what ever happen with returning to the Garrison for the youth competition?..what direction is the youth going in, as far as youth football is concern? are the parents involve? and i would like to hear that people like Keith Griffith,Dean Alleyne, Mike Foster, Jeffrey Howell [Police] Horace ‘Tobacca’Beckels, and some other experience guys get back involve in the developement of our youth football,,,,Barbados need these guys, and it is time we stand up and say something, and get some of these guys back into football, i know they still got plenty to offer in helping our youth, some names i may not remember now! but all these guys ! under they watch! youth soccer was really big and going in the right direction!….Now i am not too sure!….I remember when the garrison was like a picnic style occasion every saturday morning! with some 51 teams in competition— age range from 12 to 18 and plenty parents were also involve. I know what i am talking about! bacause i was the then Chairman of the youth committee, But i hope and pray to be back soon…… I still have a contribution to make for the youth whom i care about so much………Please help them and guide them in the right direction!..”Drugs cause pain,stop, think, and use your brain”……….

14. Not to take away anything from Bolt he did what was expected. However let me be the first on this blog to congratulate Kirani James of Grenada for his 400 metres win, a truly magnificent performance.

15. @Sarge

Indeed, he looks a raw talent at 18.

Back to Bolt, he had a slow start!

16. Good video David. I would have missed it. What about the 100 4X4 race. Do you have it.

17. @Lemuel

Don’t see the 4×100 video.

18. To David:
    Sorry that shall run tommorow.

19. Looks like Bolt has a legit challenger in his rear view mirror.

Sarge would want to view this performance.

20. Bajan atheletes are among region’s best at junior Carifta level then they fade and disapear e.g. sprinters Dario Alleyne, Shakeim Greaves there was an outstanding quarter miler Wilan Louis who vainshed after dominating Carifta. We know the AAA and BOA are among the worst sports administrators anywhere but what are other reasons Bajan atheletes dont make transition to senior glory like the Jamaicans or Bahamians.

21. The two fastest sprints of the year in the 100m and 200m by Usain Bolt and Yohan Blake

22. Those who watched ManU and Chelsea game this will be the talk for a while to come:

http://www.uploads.gaming-resources.com/files/1802_e31mb/MUvCHE_TorresFail.gif

23. @ David
    What do you make of the two diametrically opposite positions of two senior Sports Administrators in the Nation recently on why our athletes are not performing at the international level?
    The Sports Council director thinks that the athletes are not committed enough, and the manager of the team to the Commonwealth Youth Games thinks that the athletes are committed, but need more support.

What do you think?

24. @bushTea
    They are both right.

25. Find out what the Jamaicans are doing to produce athletes like Bolt and Blake.

26. @ ac
    OK. So how should we address the problem?

27. Guys like Bolt and Blake are a rare breed and genetically speaking might have been blessed to be able to give masterful performances . having said that that does excluded their attitude and a willing and desired to execute their very best in their chosen field which makes their coaches and others job working around with them a little easier.

28. @ Hants
    Find out what the Jamaicans are doing to produce athletes like Bolt and Blake.
    Like what….?
    Stop providing so many easy opportunities in education, welfare, health, NIS etc to young Bajans -so that when opportunities in sports present themselves they would of necessity WORK HARD for success????

We pass that stage Hants.
    We have to find ways to manage the whole program in order to produce the kind of results required – while ALSO developing the alternative opportunities.

29. @Bush Tea

Is there a strategic plan to manage sports in Barbados?

Wasn’t there a plan to use a combination of lottery money and government financing to make it happen when Ryan Brathwaite won gold at the World Championships?

What is the status?

Part of the problem is that our strategic position is weak.

30. @Hants

Bush Tea Is correct, Jamaicans see sports as a way out from the poverty many find themselves.

There is a hunger which drives a national program of excellence.

31. @Bush Tea
    These pronlems have been addressed over and over again by other administration and they are no easy answer to understanding the human mind and what make it ticked . I will subnit to you that most atheletes take on the challenge with a willingness to do their best except to find out that task that lies ahead of them is much bigger than them and therfore their quit. in midfield allowing their egos to undermine the challenges and becoming selfcentred and in the longrun having a defeatist attitude. It is all about “Mind over matter”

32. BU understands a strategic plan was drawn up for football a few years back and has never seen the light of day.

33. @ David
    You know that there is really only ONE problem.
    It is the same as all the other areas of weakness…..
    No leadership
    No vision
    No strategic focus

What else can we expect?

There IS probably a strategic plan for sport in Bim…..” get into a position to reap some sweets and do what it takes to keep that position.”
    Do you ever hear of any shortage of officials? or of free trips?
    Do you ever hear of anything they actually accomplish?

Have to agree that ac is right (just this once LOL) that both the administrators may be right.
    1 – More needs to be done to develop the really talented youth who have the needed potential;
    2 – and meanwhile the wrong ‘athletes’ (who are not motivated enough) are being selected in the absence of a clear national plan.

The talk about the swimmer and hurdler declining to go to the Pan American games is a complete joke. There must be more to this story….

34. @Bush Tea

Sports is something that can soak up so many of our youth given the opportunities which abound and we continue to play the ass with it.

35. Things that make you steups Avatar
    Things that make you steups

Unfit Ashley Nurse replaced by a St. Lucian plyer.
    How do get called up by West Indies enter training camp and emerge unfit?
    Thousands in possible revenue up in smoke for Nurse to add insult he is replaced by a player from a island with no cricket history nor pedigree.
    Sir Gary and Sir Everton must be rolling their eyes indisbelief.

36. All the slaves that gave trouble to chase down and catch were left on the ship and transported to Jamaica. The Bajan planters could not deal with the quick ones, nor for that matter the intelligent ones … !

37. West Indies beat England in the second 20/20, chasing WI 113 were skedaddled for 88.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/england-v-west-indies-2011/engine/match/525817.html

38. City 3 United 1

39. 6-1, remove the Sir from Ferguson 🙂

40. City 6 United 1

41. RIP Smoking Joe

42. Ditto Sarge we all remember Ali bit without Joe there would have no epic battles like the thriller in manilla as an example.

43. Tiger is back. 3rd in Australia

Hamilton wins in Abu Dabhi.