2,322 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. Great exposure for road tennis.

2. One word only to describe gayles invigorating performance. Spectacular!

3. Dwayne Smith on fire. 84 not out.

4. Barbados beat up Trinidad (thanks Tino) and then beat them.
    Well done barbados.

5. today is the annual running of the Sandy lane Gold cup however except for rain clouds there is not much that seem to stop the event from going on. so far the usual line except for mingun Temple is in the running for some reason that horse was scratched without further explanation .
    The old favourites like Apostle and Show me The Money seems to be expected to do well. Anyhow i have my doubts about Apostle it would be an interesting race to watch but i think the newer line up might be one of the winners.

6. Tino is back.

BARBADOS fast bowler Tino Best is back in the West Indies squad.

7. I watched real Test cricket today. West Indies batsmen made a concerted effort to forget 20/20 and “stand up and bat”.

Well done Kraigg. You can become a solid dependable Test opening batsman.

8. kinda defensive but o.k. see what happen tommorow

9. @Hants

It is clear that under Gibson there is a model and a strategy to ensure improvement to current team performance. This is a #8 side playing against a top 3 team. It is obvious the mantra here is to value wickets and occupy the crease. A draw for the WI is as good as a win. They did well and it was obvious the Aussies were frustrated.

10. Chanderpaul yet another century . while wEstindies stays the course over four hundred runs.

11. Two days of real test cricket for a change.

Let us hope it continues.

West Indians also doing well in IPL. Bravo,Samuels and Cooper has been exciting to watch.
    Hope Gayle is in form for his next match.

12. Cricket, cash and country

by Hilary Beckles , page 13 in The Adocate

13. Bajan-Canadians.

IPL cricket on Rogers. sportsnet channel 99. Free

14. @Hants

Gayle will have to fire today to get that massive 196.

15. Also note Barbados is a a nail biting fight to take first innings points from champs Jamaica – 26 runs needed with 4 wickets in hand.

On 15 April 2012 12:09, David wrote:

> @Hants > > Gayle will have to fire today to get that massive 196. > >

16. David we need to discuss Hilary beckles article and the Advocate Editorial.

They have omitted to tell us how much Australians are paid to be available to play for “country” and what the employment opportunities are for these cricketers if they get dropped after a couple years.

What would Narine have been paid to play for West Indies that would cause him to turn down $700,000 US to play in IPL?,

I have been watching IPL and was good to see the intensity of the games so far.

As you said David, the ICC has to schedule Test cricket series so they avoid conflicting with IPL and the “New” t20 tournaments.
    That is the solution.

17. @Hants

Beckles and others like him continue to allow sentimentality to overwhelm their thinking and ignore the business considerations in the process. To think think these guys are the architects of our future.

Deal with challenges facing WI cricket

4/16/2012

SOONER or later, someone was bound to comment about a worrying trend where some of our best cricketers are going off to play IPL cricket thereby narrowing the options for the selectors looking to choose the best squad for the home series. That Sir Hilary Beckles, the Principal of the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, took up the issue, suggests that there are those among us who believe that something should be done about it.

In a commentary titled “Cricket Cash and Country”, which appeared in yesterday’s Barbados Advocate, Sir Hilary dealt with the several aspects of this matter whereby some of our best cricketers are away on contract with the IPL, while the regional side struggles against better equipped opponents.

In other words, with some of our best players unavailable, West Indies cannot be competitive.

West Indies cricket is a great institution which is perhaps one of two things that have united Caribbean people, the other being the University of the West Indies. When our team is doing well, there is nothing that can get in our way in terms of celebrating. Many of us in the Caribbean and for that matter, those Caribbean people residing in the North Atlantic countries, have come to view cricket as more than just a game. It is what keeps us going and what excites our passions. While we make noises about who should be selected on the team and who should not, at the end of the day, support for the team is paramount.

It has been said in some circles that the IPL league, while rewarding to the players, can also be a distraction from what we are seeking to do, and that is, to rebuild a team similar to that of the 1980s and early 1990s.

At the pinnacle of West Indies dominance, every effort was made to eat away at that dominance and in particular at our fast bowlers whose pace and overall effectiveness were too much for opposing teams. Rules were crafted by the International Cricket Conference (ICC) which insisted that there were to be no more than two bouncers an over and that 90 overs had to be bowled in a day.

Enter IPL and there’s another challenge as we look to rebuild a team.

Sir Hilary said, “West Indians are the only Test cricketers in the world who are able to successfully reject their national duty in preference for a bigger personal purse. Were it to happen in Australia, it would be considered ‘a rejection of citizenship; an abandonment of the nation.’”

He went on to say that the same political circumstances no doubt apply to England, South Africa, New Zealand and Pakistan.

This is not an attempt to suggest that the WICB prevent players from participating in the IPL. They should be encouraged. However, what ought to be the policy is that when West Indies are involved in either home or away series, the first choice for players eligible for selection to the regional team, should be the Caribbean team. If it is not the case, it should be included in their contracts.

Sir Hilary is close to the cricket administration in the Caribbean and the ideas he discussed yesterday should be a signal to the WICB that it has to act on this matter.

18. The Business of cricket expands to Toronto.

http://www.rogerscentre.com/events/article.jsp?content=20111130_133909_15456

The glitz and glam of All-Star T20 Cricket comes to Toronto Rogers Centre on May 12th. Watch Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuryia, and Sunil Joshi lead Asia XI against Brian Lara, Mark Boucher, Rizwan Cheema and the International XI.

19. Bajans doing well at woodbine today. Patrick just hand rode Roxy gap to victory.

20. Just watched Dwayne Smith hit a six and two fours of the last 3 balls of the last over to win the match for Mumbai in the IPL.

He earned his fee in three balls. Awesome. Love to see Bajans in the spotlight.

“Mumbai Indians player mob Smith , they are all out there, even the coaching staff. Hilfenhaus looks stunned. He’s been hit by a hurricane. He had 14 to defend off the last three balls, and he missed the yorker three times. Clever batting from Smith, though, sitting back in his crease to alter the length.”

And Hilary Beckles continues to write shiite bout West Indies cricket and praise the WICB

21. @Hants

Thanks for the update, it maybe posted to youtube later.

It boggles the mind how BCA/WIBC have handled him in the las 2-3 years. He appears to be one of our more gifted players.

22. The number of players mis managed by the WICB keeps increasing.

I guess you have heard that West Indies have 11 players in England and 2 in Jamaica waiting for visas.

23. @Hants

Yes and manager Richardon, 50 years old may have to be 12th man for the warm up.

The only thing we have not changed is the makeup/structure of the Board.

When will we learn?

24. @Hants

Not to forget the asinine statement by Sammy as quoted in the press that the players not yet in England are not missing anything.

Conceivably we my field a team in the first test with key players not having an iota of preparation.

25. The WICB needs to have an urgent meeting with the ICC about scheduling or more good West Indies players will go to the IPL.

IPL is no “bat and ball” cricket. The matches are more intensely contested because the teams have included better bowlers.
    The fielding is spectacular.

My first love in Cricket is Test matches but I am enjoying the the T20 format.

The IPL is free on Rogers channel 99 in Toronto and is sponsored by CIBC.

Canadian banks are even sponsoring local league cricket in Toronto.

26. David, West Indies cricket is in serious trouble.

We have Sammy talking about their new “hardworking environment” but they in England with 11 men while 2 at a hotel in Jamaica.

Sad and pathetic.

27. Hants …. you and David in hey talking bout yuh first love and sports. It safer here to talk nuh? RFLMAO RUN Forrest RUN!

28. Test match starting tomorrow. Hilary Beckles and Hilaire’s team playing.

I will continue watching IPL.

29. @Hants

Why do you insist on depressing us with news about the WI?

Geoff Boycott was heard to say today the rain will have to fall for two days to save this lot…lol.

30. Breaking news David. England bowled out for less than 400.

Hope springs eternal.lol

31. @Hants

Which IPL team are you backing to win?

32. I don’t have a favourite team to win. I just enjoying my favourite west Indian players performing at their best.

Gayle has been awesome.Starting his innings slowly like a “test match opener” and then accelerating his scoring.

Narine has also been bowling very well and should be in the West Indies test team.

Also of note is the very impressive performance of Sarwan in county cricket.

It is sad that the best 6 west indian cricketers are not in the West Indies team all because of the plague of caribbean insularity,arrogance and elitism.

33. Future Prime Minister (FPM) Avatar
    Future Prime Minister (FPM)

England has been coached lto play like West Indians
    and West Indies coached to play like Englishmen–jucking and scrubbing and getting bowl down and embarrassingly run out.

Look and see that none of the Windies batsmen attack the bowling not even the one rated as No 1 but that is only a trick to emassculate the most experienced player in the team and it is working. So you need some good old swipers in the mode of the Great West Indians who I have sen on video swiping an licking way balls. Bring Pollard, Russell and Gayle out of the IPL and insert them in the test Team. West Indies need hitters, masters blasters, Soberssss, Larasssssss, Vivian Richardssssssss, Clive Lloydssssssss , Learie Constnatinesssssssss, George Headleysssssss , Fofie Williamsssssss,

34. Game on.

West Indies 243 & 345

England 398 & 10/2 (4.0 ov)

England require another 181 runs with 8 wickets remaining

I predict that West Indies will play very well tomorrow.

35. @Hants

The WI will lose.

36. Famous quote “cricket is a game of glorious uncertainties.”

The two Bajans might be devastating tomorrow.

Bowling O M R W Econ
    FH Edwards 2 0 3 0 1.50 (1nb)
    KAJ Roach 2 1 7 2 3.50 (2nb

37. @ David,

The WI lost as per your prediction.

I am sure Hilary Beckles is pleased with the man he says is a modern Frank Worrell.
    Sammy is a gracious loser.

38. David I just read a “rumor” that Tino Best has been called to England.

I hope it is true.

Saw him bowl in the T20 in Toronto couple weeks ago and he was still very fast even though he had to run up on 3 different surfaces.

39. @David,

Tino is the Best…….No.11 batsman in the world today.

70 and still batting.

40. Tino 84 not out

41. wunna watching cricket ? Tino on 90 and going strong.

42. @Hants

Yes we were watching, unfortunately he did not get the 3-figures.

43. @David 95 for a no 11 is great.

Tino has a winning attitude and would have been great if Dr.Rudy Webster was around to help him with the mental aspects of the game.

I had to delay my fishing trip and it is worth it.

Hope he settles down and bowls well.