2,324 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. @Hants

Agreed!

Here is what was posted on BU’s FB status a moment ago.

“The Feel good story this morning is Tino La Bertram Best who scored 95 as a #11 batsman in a Test match. All kinds of records broken. It goes to show what desire can accomplish.”

2. nice David.

I have been a Tino fan because he always gives 100% and I admire the fact that he has stayed fit and believed he would be recalled to the Test side.

I hope the WICB “recalls” Dr.Webster to help the team with the psychological side of the game.

3. Great day watching sports.

First Tino was Best and now Hamilton win Montreal Grand Prix.

4. @Hants

Hamilton deserves to win after his team screwed him in Spain 🙂

5. Another great 3rd place ride by Patrick Husbands in Canada’s biggest race the Queens Plate at woodbine.

In the Jockeys introductions on TV he said ” I am Patrick Husbands from Bridgetown Barbados.”

1 minute of free advertising for Barbados from a champion Bajan.

6. watching some nice cricket NZ needing to get 177 to win but so far the WI bowling has been impressive with 6 for six. WI got this one

7. 4 in a row. West Indies win another.

Life is good.

And Serena win another. sweeeeeet!

8. What has this world come to? West Indies winning and wunna Bajans can’t stop to congratulate the team fuh beating the crap outta de kiwis.

Gayle and Samuels centuries were glorious to watch.

Elections must be coming soon.lol.

9. @Hants

NZ is on par with the WIN at the bottom of the pile, many Barbadians don’t feel like the WI has proved anything. But you are correct a win is a win.

10. David “many Barbadians don’t feel like the WI has proved anything.”

They proved that there is no substitute for talent ability and form.

With only 1 or 2 Bajans playing I am not surprised by the lack of interest.

11. West Indies beat New Zealand to win the ODI series and no congratulations on BU.

Big up Tino Best for taking 4 wickets.

12. Keep on pushing Suki Avatar
    Keep on pushing Suki

13. a standing ovation for gayle and powell ! a job well done!

14. WI close to beating New Zealand 52 to win!

15. David didn’t even go fishing today. I stayed home and watched the race . Give Lewis a reliable car and good work in the pits and he will be competitive and even brilliant.

Now more happiness. Kemar Roach 5 fer today was awesome.
    West Indies should win today.

Honorable mention. Bradley Ally. It is easy to forget how good his achievement is considering he comes from a small country.

16. Great to see West Indies playing well.

17. West Indies Win.

18. A WINIS A WIN

first time since 1996 the WI have won a test match against new Zealand.
    A well derived win gayle contribution of 200 hundred must have sparked the confidence level that has been missing , i suspect it would be carried over in the next series, i hope the board management and selectors would take a cue. Congratulations!

19. @ac it is not only Gayle.

Powell also scored a 100 in the first innings and Narine and Roach were great.

20. @hants !

Not one to ignore their contribution but i was focused on the confidence that might have been garnered by having gayle rejoined the team and might have inspired others to do equally as well. overall it was a team effort and as i said a well deserved win,

21. Roach 17.5 2 70 4 3.92 (4nb)
    TL Best 16 1 40 2 2.50 (1w)

Bajan speedsters did well today.

Tino the tenacious has learned some serious control and is getting results.

22. West Indies win…. Sweeeeeeet!!!

23. confidence ! hopefully it will catch on. Cheers to WI

24. A respected sports journalist wrote this “bring back home Obadele Thompson, the 2000 Sydney Olympics 100-metre bronze medallist, along with his wife Marion Jones to be in charge of the national athletics programme.

What qualifications and experience do they have running a national athletics programme ? just inquiring?

25. F1 2013 will be exciting.

Hamilton replaces Schumacher at Mercedes; Perez goes to McLaren.

26. yes they did us PROUD once again ! Congrats to the TEAMHope they keep the SPIRIT alive.

27. come on board all you bandwagoners . WEST INDIES WINNERS AGAIN

28. The contoversy and allegations surrounding Lance Armstrong and his implications in doping came to an end on Monday when he was totally banned from the sporting world and stripped of all medal. What a Shame!

29. http://espn.go.com/horse-racing/story/_/id/8588902/tapizar-overpows-breeders-cup-dirt-mile

Patrick Husbands rode Delegation to a third place finish.

He rode 3 winners at Woodbine today.

30. Tino gets a five fer and West Indies win.

Well done Tino (never give up) Best.

31. David you watching the cricket or you don’t rate Bangladesh.lol

32. @Hants

You are correct Bangladesh is second rate, a team we are expected to win easily against. Isn’t their record 70+ Test and 3 wins, something close anyway.

Having acknowledge it is a poorakey team we are competing against it is good to win and to do it without any major contributions from Gayle, Samuels and Narine shows the team has some dept and character 🙂

33. Tino Best bowled 8 overs with a grade two hamstring tear! Took 3 wickets.

That is dedication to the cause.

Well done Tino.

34. The Best of the best.Tino takes 6 wickets. should be Mos.

Never say never. Well done Tino

35. Two wins in two matches. And world 20/20 Champions what a year for our hard working son of the soil Otis Gibson congrats to his hardworking team West Indian cricketers

36. yes the guys having been doing their best to big up W I cricket again. hoping that they will be gven the necessary support due

37. Otis Gibson still has to create a bowling attack that reflects his achievement as England bowling coach.

Tino must be commended for working hard and never giving up.

38. @Hants

Young Jason Holder has been called up to replace Tino. A probably Garner in the making.

39. Well done Patrick Husbands.

Home / 2012 Woodbine Jockey Standings
    2012 Woodbine Jockey Standings

After racing on December 13, 2012.
    Rank Jockey Starts Wins 2nds 3rds Win %
    1 Luis Contreras 996 191 159 149 19%
    2 Patrick Husbands 746 165 136 104 22%

40. Some Barbadians will have reason to watch the Super Bowl tonight. An American sport but given the reality that many Barbadians went to school there, have family, have a high penetration of US cable TV and or regularly visit, there is high interest in things American.
    Who cares about the West Indies struggling down under!

From Barbados to the Super Bowl
    January 31, 2013 | 4:49 pm | Print  By the Caribbean Journal staff
    After a Caribbean-filled Super Bowl XLXVI last year, this year’s contest between the San Francisco 49ers and the Baltimore Ravens returns the region to the global sporting stage.
    Ramon Harewood, an offensive lineman for the Ravens, will be the first player from Barbados to ever play in a Super Bowl when he steps on the field Sunday.
    Harewood wa born in St Michael and was an all-american at Morehouse College in Georgia.
    “It is with extreme pride that I step onto the field for Super Bowl XLVII representing God, my family, the Baltimore Ravens and my native country of Barbados,” Harewood said in a statement.  “The strong academic foundation and diverse athletic training I received growing up in Barbados has enabled me to achieve success on many levels as an adult.
    The lineman was taken in the sixth round of the 2010 NFL draft, winning the starting nod at the beginning of this season for Baltimore. The 6-foot-6-1/2, 341-pound player has been playing football for just seven years.
    This spring, Harewood, along with teammates Michael Oher, Ray Rice, Torrey Smith, Anquan Boldin and Ladarius Webb will head to Barbados to conduct a football training camp for young Bajans, sponsored by the Barbados Tourism Authority.
    “It is very important for me to be seen as a positive role model for all Bajan youth and I am thrilled for the opportunity to host my first annual football camp on the island I call home,” he said.
    Campbell Rudder, vice president of USA marketing for the BTA, said the country was thrilled that Harewood would be representing the island in the Super Bowl in New Orleans.
    “Ramon’s success and achievements coupled with his proud heritage continue to inspire Barbadians nationwide,” he said. “We wish him and the Baltimore Ravens the best of luck in taking home the championship title on Sunday.”

41. Baltimore Ravens win……Bajan Ramon Harewood will get a Superbowl ring.

42. Tragic news in the world of sports and unfortunate and untimely incident which put focus on one of worlds leading “special olympic runners the blade runner Oscar Pistorius now charged with the murder of his girlfriend.

43. Jamaica gets some free advertising. Usain Bolt the dunker.

44. David…..19 days and 10 hours. Australia……F1

45. @Hants

Let us see what Hamilton can do with the old Merk.