The biggest paradox, Barbados voters returned a government three times with 30-0 victories in a climate where the homicide rate continues to climb.
Understanding Barbados’ 30-0 election wins amid rising homicides

40 responses to “Understanding Barbados’ 30-0 election wins amid rising homicides”
-
Ok?
What are the relationships between these two variables?
Certainly, if such a claim should be taken seriously, if even an academic question is to be answered or postulated, there certainly have to be correlations, contrasts. Centrally, between the numbers of murders which took place under this Mottley regime and those which happened before.
For in circumstances where the writer has not even tried to tease out any relationships between the two principal variables the underlying question cannot be claimed to have been approached.
Indeed, when the writer himself gives an average number of murders annually as 30, at some point. And where, in some years, we’ve had as many as around 50, together, do not add to greater public understanding about either the routine 30-loves of this BLP regime or the perceived increases in violence, murders, in the country.
-
As the Pachamamaman inferred the title “Understanding Barbados’ 30-0 election wins amid rising homicides” and brief stub thread do not lead to any understanding about the murderation in the nation nor correlation between the election.
I understand anti-Government media and blogs will churn out attack opinion pieces masquerading as news articles, but shit stirring does not solve issues.
Understanding Gangs Violins Violence can be got from watching TV, understanding generational cultural changes, knowing the communities families and individuals.
Although people blame dancehall music and the instrumental dub versions, truth is the sound systems are dropping the education to the youths. TV explains gang code, being drawn to a sense of empowerment, individuals putting themselves before community etc. Corruption in politics and leaders can also be in story lines. -
@Pachamama
If I may clarify, the headline on BU for this post is not mine. My post just looks at the homicide data over the period of time. Nothing on correlations, policy, et cetera. I leave that for others to discuss, debate, evaluate, et cetera.
Kind regards,
Amit Uttamchandanihttp://www.barbadoscrimeblog.com
data.barbadoscrimeblog.com
http://www.caribbeansignal.com -
Police hunting truants ?
https://barbadostoday.bb/2026/03/04/education-officials-police-in-patrols-to-tackle-student-truancy/
-
Amit
Well, you’ve left us with only a single option. A meek withdrawal of those portions which might have been negatively aimed at you.
Apologies!
-
The murder rate, which is far too high compared to Singapore, is indeed cause for concern!
I therefore advocate extended emergency powers for the government and the judiciary to finally get this scourge under control.
Initial measures could include: restricting the rights of defence lawyers, fast-track trials within one day, reactivating the old prison to double prison capacity, compulsory labour for prisoners in road construction and – following Singapore’s example – the reintroduction of corporal punishment.
We must not orient ourselves towards Jamaica, but should look upwards, towards Singapore. What is lawful in Singapore must also be lawful here. Our government therefore has my support for all conceivable measures.
Tron
just a concerned citizen -
” What is lawful in Singapore must also be lawful here.”
~~~~~~
Bushie HOPEs that you know how many of your political heroes could be subjected to Dodds …or worse, if this was true…
With RADICAL emphasis on ‘HOPE’.Dem boys don’t mek dat kinda sport.
murduh!! -
@ Tron
You or I will never live to see this govermment adopt a stand like Singapore on crime. You forgetting that the boss down there does not depend on winning an election. The other uncomfortable topic we need to discuss is has crime reached a point in Barbados where it now represents a significant part of our economy?
Look at the cartels in Mexico for an example of what happens when crime is allowed to become an economic giant in a country. They are at the point where cartels generate employment for thousands both directly and indirectly. What percentage of the GDP do you think drugs generate in the Mexican economy?
-
“How are we to hold anyone accountable if we engage in academic arguments? The buck must stop some where.”
Are you suggesting ‘the buck must stop’ with the government?
If so, then aren’t you ‘giving a pass’ to parents and ignoring the roles they should play in their children’s upbringing?
How about parents encouraging anti-gang violence environments in their homes, for example?
I’ve heard PRIMARY and secondary school children being very disrespectful to their peers and elder folks, while using abusive language.
-
>Amit
>Well, you’ve left us with only a single option. A meek withdrawal of those portions >which might have been negatively aimed at you.
>Apologies!
@Pachamama
All good, no worries. I think by now everyone should know that I stick to the numbers and analysis of the numbers. I try to stay neutral/objective/quantitative with my posts and data. However, I can’t control what people do with my numbers, nor can I control the discussion around them.
I have shared my links with David whenever I think it may be of use for debate/discussion on BU. In doing so, he is free to frame my data how he chooses, and of-course, in the discussions, people are free to debate for/against with his framing. Anyone is. My crime blog is public and free, my homicide database is public and freely accessibly.
Cheers,
Amit. -
@ Artax
Yes I agree with you on this. Parents have got to hold a large part of this blame. You hear women referring to their 4 year old son as my little man. Little man hell he is a child. I think alot of parents today want to be “friends” with their children as opposed to their parents. On the other hand I have heard the language some parents use to their children and there is no wonder we have the problems we have. Everyone seems angry and aggressive today, communication today seems to have to occur at high volume without respect by either party.
Yes the state needs to step up their act on crime, but when younget 16 year old children involved in serious crimes that has to fall at the parents feet. Then again seeing that we have children(mentally at least) having children can we expect different ?
-
@John A March 4, 2026 at 6:58 pm
“You forgetting that the boss down there does not depend on winning an election.”
The state and the party are working to overcome this obstacle.
The question is: Do we want to live in a democracy that is unsafe due to crime, where freedom is only an illusion in the face of danger (model of Jamaica)? Or do we want to try something new to create security and stability (model of Singapore)?
The tacit majority of our people definitely want the latter.
Tron
-
@ Tron
I do think the issue on everyone’s mind is crime. Especially the deadly crime that we are seeing right now. However there is also the blatant disrespect for law as exhibited on our roads everyday that needs urgent attention. The thousands of uninsured vehicles for example whose owners break the law daily by bringing them on to our roads needs urgent attention. What I see is that we have no system in place to address these issues and little being done to find one.
-
I don’t know if you’ve seen the video that’s circulating on social media, in which two men, one in white and holding a firearm, are seen pursuing an individual along a lighted street.
The guy with the firearm assumed what appeared to be the ‘hasty kneeling stance/position’ to discharge a number of rounds at the moving target, he got up afterwards, checked and secured the firearm, while walking away.
The video also shows the person being pursued lying in the road on his stomach, and subsequently identified as Tyrese Skinner of Fustic Village, St Lucy, who was shot was fatally shot in Cox Road, Frere Pilgrim, Christ Church.
What is concerning about the tragic events that transpired that morning was, the shooter displayed a level of firearm proficiency that is more so associated with law enforcement or military training, than what would normally occur at any local shooting range.
Trained hitmen?
Some viewers of the video seem to believe the police has a squad of marksmen who are ‘killing de criminals.’
-
@David perhaps the correlation can be found in the scant adherence to the rule of law, ignoring high court rulings by government and zero adherence to the auditor general findings. @pachamama could it be the boys on the blocks have also decided to echo the behaviour of politics and have zero respect for law and order just like politicians. The boys on the blocks and politicians are all bedfellows.
-
Exactly @ Tyrone
Integrity is a top-down attribute.Good law-abiding adults do not normally evolve out of unlawful homes.
It is IMPOSSIBLE to expect honest, lawful citizens in a scenario where the lawmakers and policy makers are all so blatantly crooked.Even worse, when the citizens CHOOSE to vote for such leaders – EITHER by giving them their ’X’ … OR by sitting idly by, and NOT voting AGAINST the wickedness, the situation becomes HOPEless.
So now, as the WHOLE world spirals into total chaos, we must all EXPECT to reap the consequences of our decisions….
What a time of karmic intensity…
-
Something different: In light of the bomb attacks on Israeli and Arab hotels, our honourable government should launch a global advertising campaign for tourism in Barbados: ‘Holidays in Barbados: Safety, stability, tranquillity’ or something similar. I hope we’ll have lots of rich Arabs and Israelis on our beaches! If necessary, we can put up some barbed wire between the two groups on the beach – so they don’t get into a fight.
Anyone who still invests in and lives in a bomb crater like Dubai has only himself/herself to blame!
Tron
-
Tron’s post is almost as idiotic as the Barbados government’s statement calling on Iran to stop bombing the Arab countries which are HOSTING the USA’s military bases that facilitated the UNPROVOKED attack on Iran, and that murdered their leadership.
Barbados fully deserves its ‘BB’ acronym…
What clowns!
What will Tron feed to the lotta tourists and rich Arabs…?
Yardfowls?
Does he have any donkey carts to move them around?
Where will he get electricity and water to supply them? …smut-lamps?SBSH!!
Shaking Bushie’s stinking head…. -
@Bush Tea March 6, 2026 at 9:06 am
From PriceSmart and with an EV? 🙂
-
-
“From PriceSmart and with an EV? 🙂”
LOL @ Tron
Boss, only you can talk more shiite than Bushie…
ha ha haPriceSmart will shortly be empty as shiite, and EVs will be driveway decorations.
It is the END of the era of bling…
Karma has a lotta work to do. -
Rising Homicides and GoB (Government of Barbados)
The BLP (Barbados Labour Party / Government) should be charged Murder One for the Killing of the DLP (Democratic Labour Party).
The GP (General Public) who voted with a X should be charged as accomplices for being X-Terminators.
Them dress up in a jacket and they dress up in a tie, BLP are murderers
Dem Dead
Bury Dem -
Wha gine on at de airport?
https://nationnews.com/2026/03/07/temporary-airspace-closure-at-grantley-adams/
-
THE PICTURE IS A BLEAK HOUSE TRILOGY WHERE THE CRUMBS WILL BEGIN TO FALL FROM THE DEVIL’S TABLE & YOU LOT WITH BULGING STOMACHS WILL HAVE TO HANDLE WHAT LITTLE WILL BE COMING DOWN YOUR ALIMENTARY CANAL
The world is “SCREWED” & the “CARGO OF VASELINE” is stuck in cargo logistics @THE STRAIT OF HORMUZ!!!
#WorseIsYet2Come
-
VERY SOON GLOBAL CONDITIONS WILL RESEMBLE TRAFFICK BOTTLENECKED ON THE ABC HIGHWAY – WHERE NOTHING IS MOVING IN ANY DIRECTION
QUESTION
Which GOV* in the #GlobalNorthOrSouth, is prepared & ready for a sudden expansion of the Middle East “CRISIS” that could sends oil to US$300 – $400 a barrel – causing gas prices to go through the roof???
Would this not represent an unprecedented energy shock, one likely to plunge the entire world into a severe & immediate economic crisis???
Based on current events & expert analysis, the picture is now beyond “BLEAK” – it’s “STARK”!!!
Welcome to a world of “RUNAWAY INFLATION”, a “PROLONGED DEEP RECESSION”, & a “POSSIBLE DEPRESSION” that would make the 1920s & 30s look like a Sunday cook-out, “MASS LAYAOFFs” & “FOOD-LINES” everywhere, & most of all, (“LET US NOT DISCUSS THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM” – *METASTATIC CRIME*), all these shards of “FLYING DEBRIS” aimed at a system on the brink, would substantially pose fundamental, existential challenges to the way (ALL) nations & peoples currently live on the earth – with no recourse but to the “LAW OF THE JUNGLE”!!!
HAS YOUR GOV* STEPPED UP TO TELL YOU LOT HOW THEY INTEND TO HEDGE AGAINST ALL POSSIBLE VARIABLES & VAGARIES???
#NoAnswerRequired
-
BLACK IRANIANS AT THE MERCY OF ISRAHELL* & AMERIKKKAN* INDISCRIMINATE, GENOCIDAL BOMBING
-
BOMB BLAST IN OLSO, NORWAY WITH SOME SUSPECTING MOSSAD FALSE FLAG ATTACK TO DRAG EUROPE INTO A WAR OF ATTRITION WHERE THE EPSTEIN CLASS OF PREDATORY DEMONS THAT HAVE FOMENTED A WAR THEY WILL LOSE LOOKS TO DRAG THE WHOLE WORLD DOWN INTO A HELLISH WAR THEY CANNOT WIN
#WhatAWorld
-
@ Tron
You sure you can keep them safe her though?
-
@ John A
I don’t think our prospective Israeli and Arab guests will be at war with each other. After all, they now have a common enemy.
Besides, our Supreme Leader can walk on water. If Iran fires a missile at us, our troops at their secret base at the airport will activate their 1 billion watt laser cannon. It is disguised as a rusty remnant of the HARP Gun Project. The energy comes directly from the Earth’s core through a secret borehole. That’s why we have so many potholes on the island – they are the product of seismic shifts caused by charging the laser cannon with energy from the Earth’s core.
Tron
Heading towards the clouds -
Curious
Anyone else thinking about a 4th 30-0?
Whilst the crime seem to be a concern of the BU intelligentsia, crime does not appear to be an issue for the majority of the voting public. -
-
@TheOG March 9, 2026 at 10:02 am
The path to heaven and hell passes through seven gates. We must win 7 x 30:0 to find out whether we will end up with the risen or the fallen. The path to heaven and hell passes through seven gates. We must win 7 x 30:0 to find out whether we will end up with the risen or the fallen.