When Prime Minister Mia Mottley unveiled her new Cabinet on February 16, 2026, the headlines were not about the size of the Cabinet or portfolios assigned. They were about the return of Chris Sinckler, once the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) Minister of Finance, now sworn in as Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade; and Michael Lashley, another former DLP senior minister, now elevated to the Mottley team. A reasonable question being asked by sensible Barbadians is – “how she cud do dah?”

The DLP administration, in which both men served, was decisively rejected by voters in 2018 after years of poor economic performance that ushered in what has come to be known as the “Lost Decade. Sinckler, in particular, was the man at the forefront of austerity budgets, runaway debt, credit rating downgrades that resulted in loss of confidence by Barbadians. Lashley, as a senior minister, was part of a DLP Cabinet widely criticised for being inept. To observe them being called back to Cabinet under the banner of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) raises uncomfortable questions about the integrity of our governance setup. Sinckler and Lashley were key members of a political party that was soundly beaten by the BLP, what sensible explanation can justify coopting them in a BLP Cabinet?

I little slow so help me understand this. The man that crippled the NISSS fund and holds the award for being the worst minister of finance under the DLP, has now reincarnated under the BLP as a minster, having not contested the elections?

Are you saying political appointments have nothing to do with competence but only the political whims and schemes of the Maximalist Leader?

Hopefully the card carrying political hacks on both sides will start to see that the joke is on them.

Barbados is not a real place!

BU Commenter: Dullard

Mottley defended her decision as being strategic by emphasising the need to add experience to the Cabinet in order to deliver for Barbadians. To quote her – We must draw on the best talent available to us, regardless of past political affiliation. Barbados’ challenges require competence and experience, and my responsibility is to ensure that the government reflects that.”

Although all agree that Barbados must confront some daunting challenges in an uber-competitive global space – the inclusion of figures associated with a “disgraced” administration risks eroding the very trust Mottley has worked hard to build. In fact, the move to include Sinckler especially, should remind political pundits of the move when the late Owen Arthur invited Clyde Mascoll in the party to compete with Mottley after he was rejected as leader of the DLP. Barbadians believed they were voting for a clean break from bad DLP governance. Mottley’s decision suggests that Barbados’ political class is a fraternity. What a sight it was to observe BLP actors holding noses at the swearing in ceremony as Sinckler sat amongst them.

If Sinckler and Lashley perform well by delivering tangible results in foreign affairs and law & order ministries, Mottley will be hailed as the greatest political leader in our history. Especially if the BLP wins a fourth term, with or without her at the helm.

67 responses to “How PM Mottley created a ‘WTH’ moment”

1. Hi one and all, hope all is well. Just a short, sweet visit.

To answer your burning question.

“Sinckler and Lashley were key members of a political party that was soundly beaten by the BLP, what sensible explanation can justify coopting them in a BLP Cabinet?”

Easy answer, both were instrumental in “soundly beaten” the DLP “by the BLP.”

Am sure yall can take it from there.

Empress Wuraola Oya

2. Terence Blackett Avatar

IS THIS A GELASSENHEIT MOMENT OR A STRATEGIC CHESSBOARD PLAY THAT WOULD MAKE ZBIGNIEW BRZEZINSKI ROLL IN HIS GRAVE & RETHINK THE CONCEPT OF CHECKMATE

#Gelassenheit is a German term meaning “RELEASMENT”, “LETTING GO”, and/or “SERENITY”, often describing a “STATE OF INNER CALM”, “SURRENDER”, & “OPENNESS” to the present moment one faces as they “GRAPPLE” with life’s challenges!!!

The concept originated from the “MEDIEVAL CHRISTIAN MYSTIC” #MeisterEckhart, who used it to express the “ACT OF SELF-ABANDONMENT” to “GOD’S WILL”, involving “DETACHMENT FROM PERSONAL DESIRES OR EGO” – emphasizing “RELEASEMENT FROM WILLFULNESS” & was central to #EckhartMysticalTheology -where “TRUE FREEDOM” comes from “EMPTYING ONESELF” to be filled by “DIVINE GRACE”…

THAT IS THE RELIGIOUS EPISTEMOLOGICAL CONSTRUCT

In the “PHILOSOPHY” of #MartinHeidegger, “GELASSENHEIT” becomes a “FOUNDATIONAL ATTUNEMENT”, what he calls a #FundamentalAttunement (Grundstimmung), which allows for “AUTHENTIC” human existence…

For #Heidegger, this represents a “SHIFT” from the modern “WILL TO WILL” and/or “WILL TO POWER” toward a “RECEPTIVE, NON-WILLING OPENNESS” to “BEING” itself…

#Heidegger viewed #Gelassenheit not as “PASSIVITY” but as a “DYNAMIC MODE OF BEING” that allows things to be as they are, “FOSTERING A DEEPER CONNECTION WITH REALITY”!!!

ON THE OTHER HAND, THE CHESSBOARD OF LIFE IS ABOUT DOMINANCE

The “GLOBAL CHESSBOARD” references a “METAPHORICAL FRAMEWORK” (ibid #Blogmaster), is used to describe the “COMPLEX & DYNAMIC LANDSCAPE” of #InternationalRelations (IR), where the major powers (#GlobalNorth V #GlobalSouth) are strategically maneuvering to advance their interests, influence, & security!!!

This concept is most prominently associated with #ZbigniewBrzezinski, fm. U.S. National Security Advisor, in his 1997 book “THE GRAND CHESSBOARD”: AMERICAN PRIMACY & ITS GEOSTRATEGIC IMPERATIVES”!!!

#Brzezinski argued that “EURASIA” is the world’s largest continent, & home to most of the global population, natural resources, & economic activity, & will be the central “ARENA FOR GLOBAL POWER COMPETTITION”!!!

He asserted that “U.S. GLOBAL SUPREMACY” depends on preventing “ANY” single power from “DOMINATING EURASIA”, as such dominance would threaten American interests & global stability!!!

In contemporary geopolitics, the #GlobalChessboard reflects the intensifying rivalry between the US & China, with significant strategic contests unfolding in East Asia (e.g., South China Sea), Europe (e.g., Ukraine war), South Asia (e.g., Indio-Pakistan tensions), & the Middle East (e.g., Israel/Palestinian conflict)!!!

The emergence of multiple power centers, such as the EU, India, & the Global South, has further diversified the strategic landscape, challenging the “UNIPOLAR ORDER” of the post-Cold War era!!!

THIS IS THE LOCAL & GLOBAL CHALLENGE FOR EVERY NATION TO TAKE A SIDE

As geopolitical theorists, are “NOW” mentioning in 2026, the “ROLE” that “AFRIKA” is going to play as these global dynamics “UNFOLD”!!!

Afrika with its “VAST WEALTH & RESOURCES” in people can “RULE”, but it will call for a “SPECIAL BREED” of “HUMANS”!!!

This VT* is “PROOF-POSITIVE” that BLACK AFRIKAN* NATIONS ARE “DONE STAYING AT THE BACK OF THE BUS”!!!

#StayTuned

3. Barbados’ debt to the world – Jamaica Observer https://share.google/rL38TFq1ePA7AGqVe

4. I have renewed my loyalty to the Supreme Leader. Eureka!

What a brilliant move to bring in Lashley and Big Sinck. Now the most ardent DLP supporters can vote for the BLP if they want their favourite candidates.

The noble Lord Drax of Draxhall couldn’t care less who rules under his thumb.

Tron
    Court Jester

5. BAJANS HAVE AN AGEOLD MANTRA (WHICH TO SOME CARRIES TO SOME DEGREE A SEXUAL CONNOTATION) – “POSITION IS THE ART OF GUNNNERY”!!! WHATEVER YOUR SLANT ON THE ISSUE – HISTORY CONTINUES TO SHOW THAT THE GLOBAL ELITES KEEP USING BLACK NATIONS AS THEIR TEST CASES & GUINEA PIGS FOR ALL MANNER OF WICKED AGENDAS

Former friends & neighbours who now live in the outer regions of northern Scotland have not seen “SUNSHINE” in almost [50] dayz!!!

The “CONSENSUS” is that we “BLAME” the vagaries of #ClimateChange – whatever in “HELL” that implies!!!

Few will accept that “CLIMATE & ECOLOGICAL MODIFICATION” is @the “HEART” of these “ISSUES”!!!

#Satan2Point0 in the “FORM” of #BillGatesOfHELL* has been working assiduously to move the world towards his next “PLANDEMIC SUBTERFUGE” with use of a “GLOBAL DIGITAL ID SYSTEM” – where he suggest that “CLIMATE CHANGE & DIGITAL IDs” are somehow interspersed, interconnected & interoperable!!!

WHAT A CROQ***

Yet, #Afrikan & #Caribbean leaders have “FALLEN” for the “PIG SHYTE” & because of the “VAST SUM OF LOLLY” involved – most are waiting “CAP IN HAND” to get their serving of the “HOG SLOP”!!!

SEE: https://thepeoplesvoice.tv/bill-gates-appointed-major-stakeholder-of-global-digital-id-system/

In the Caribbean, “CLIMATE CHANGE” is the “100 billion dollar BOGEYMAN” in the room – “GOD FORBID” from the southern nexus of the islands to across the “BASIN” were a “MONSTER HURRICANE” to leave a “TRAIL” of “PLANDEMIC DESTRUCTION”, these archipelago of “ISLANDS IN THE STREAM” would resemble the “VOLCANICALLY AFFECTED” side of Montserrat that is now “UNLIVABLE”!!!

When men like “GATES OF HELL” are radically “PURSUING” a particular cause, it is more than just “MONIES” involved – “IT IS SOCIAL, GEOPOLIETICAL & WHOLESALE CONTROL & CONTAINMENT”!!!

The “COVID-19 PLANDEMIC” is one such point of reference!!!

If your GOV* is in bed with these “BILLIONAIRE ELITES” – then your “ARSE” is “GRASS” (#AskTheFarmers), because this is “DEEPER*, WIDER* & HIGHER*” than you could “EVER” possibly imagine!!!

#IWillLeaveThisRightHere

6. @ David

I think you mean a WTF moment. I could not imagine this could ever of happen to Sinks after his sterling achievements under the Ds.

I guarantee you not even the B voters would of seen this coming.

7. MADURO TAKEN OUT – WHO’S NEXT? #CUBA??? AN OPEN LETTER TO THE WORLD: FROM CUBA, AN ORDINARY WOMAN DENOUNCES THE CRIME THEY REFUSE TO SEE

An “Open Letter” from one of millions of Cuban women of “Homeland or Death”

To all of humanity, to the mothers of the world, to Doctors Without Borders, to journalists with dignity, to the governments that still believe in justice:

My name is like millions of others. I don’t have a well-known surname or hold an important position. I am an ordinary Cuban woman. A daughter, a sister, a patriot. And I write this with a broken heart and trembling hands, because what my people are experiencing today is not a crisis. It is a slow, calculated, coldly executed murder, orchestrated from Washington.

And the world looks the other way.

👵 I DENOUNCE THE STORY OF MY GRANDPARENTS:

I denounce the fact that in Cuba, elderly people are dying prematurely because the blockade prevents the arrival of medications for heart conditions, high blood pressure, and diabetes. This isn’t a lack of resources. It’s a deliberate prohibition. Companies that want to sell to Cuba are fined, persecuted, and threatened. Their governments remain silent. And meanwhile, a Cuban grandparent clutches their chest and waits. Death doesn’t give warning. The blockade does.

👶 I DENOUNCE THE STORY OF MY CHILDREN:

I denounce the fact that incubators in Cuba have had to be shut down due to a lack of fuel. That newborns are fighting for their lives while the United States government decides which countries can sell us oil and which cannot. That Cuban mothers have seen their children’s lives endangered because an order signed in a Washington office is worth more than the cry of a baby 90 miles from their shores.

Where is the international community? Where are the organizations that so vehemently defend children? Or do Cuban children not deserve to live?

🍽️ DENOUNCEMENT OF INTENTIONAL HUNGER:

I denounce the blockade as programmed hunger. It’s not that there’s a lack of food for no reason. It’s that we’re prevented from buying it. It’s that ships carrying food are harassed. It’s that bank transactions are blocked. It’s that companies that sell us grains, chicken, and milk are sanctioned.

Hunger in Cuba is not an accident. It’s a state policy of the United States government, refined over 60 years, updated by each administration, intensified by Donald Trump, and viciously implemented by Marco Rubio.

They call this “economic pressure.” I call it terrorism through hunger.

⚕️ I DENOUNCE THE SITUATION ON BEHALF OF MY DOCTORS:

I denounce the fact that our doctors, the same ones who saved lives during the pandemic while the entire world collapsed, now lack syringes, anesthesia, and X-ray equipment. Not because we don’t know how to produce them. Not because we lack talent. But because the blockade prevents us from accessing supplies, spare parts, and technology.

Our scientists created five vaccines against COVID-19. Five. Without any help. Against all odds. Against the blockade and lies. And yet, the empire punishes us for having achieved this.

🌍 TO THE WORLD I SAY:

Cuba is not asking for handouts.

Cuba is not asking for soldiers.

Cuba is not asking for your love.

Cuba is asking for justice. Nothing more. Nothing less.

I ask you to stop normalizing the suffering of my people.

I ask you to call the blockade by its name: A CRIME AGAINST HUMANITY.

I ask you not to be deceived by the tale of “dialogue” and “democracy” while they tighten the noose around our necks.

We don’t want charity. We want to be LEFT TO LIVE.

To the complicit governments that remain silent: History will hold you accountable.

To the media that lies: The truth always finds cracks.

To the executioners who sign sanctions: The Cuban people do not forget and do not forgive.

To those who still have humanity in their hearts: Look at Cuba. Look at what they are doing to it. And ask yourselves: Which side of history do I want to be on?

From this small island, with a giant people, an ordinary Cuban woman who refuses to surrender.

IF THIS TEXT MOVED YOU, SHARE IT.

I don’t care if you have 10 friends or 10,000 followers.

I don’t care if your wall is public or private.

I don’t care if you never share anything.

But this is different.

This isn’t a sunset photo.

This isn’t celebrity gossip.

This isn’t just another opinion.

This is a SHOUT. And shouts aren’t kept to themselves. They are HEARD. They are REPEATED. They BECOME A CROWD.

Today I’m not asking for a “like.”

I’m asking you to use your thumbs for something bigger than scrolling.

SHARE.

So the world knows that there isn’t a crisis in Cuba.

There is a CRIME.

So mothers in other countries know that here there are babies struggling in incubators turned off by the blockade.

So grandparents in other lands know that here there are elderly people dying waiting for medicine that Washington won’t let in.

So that complicit governments feel shame.

So that lying media outlets have no escape.

So that the executioners know that WE WILL NOT BE SILENCED.

One person sharing this doesn’t change the world. Thousands, millions, DO.

Don’t keep this text to yourself.

Don’t be complicit in the silence.

MAKE SURE THIS DENUNCIATION REACHES

8. Terence Blackett Avatar

EVERYONE THAT’S ANYONE KNOWS MY UTTER REPUGNANT DISDAIN FOR **EVIL** IN ANY & EVERY FORM – WELL, HERE IS BLACK JAMAICAN UBER-RICHE SUPER-DUPER MODEL – “NAOMI CAMPBELL” IN THE HELLISH GRIP OF SATANIC EXPOSURE

“It’s a “BIG CLUB” & you’re NOT* in it…” (cf. George Carlin)

#DamnStraightGC*

THE “HUMANOID SCUM” OF THE EARTH (RED, YELLOW, BLACK & LITE*)

#WhatAStinkingWorld

9. @ David

This thread simply REINFORCES my mantra that there aren’t any significant political, ideological or political differences between the BLP and DLP……

…… evidenced by the fact how easily a BLP member can ‘cross the floor’ to join the DLP, VICE VERSA, and be immediately embraced and accepted by the particular political party’s hierarchy and membership.

While we continue to ‘cuss one-nedduh’ about the BEES and DEES, members of the ‘duopoly’ are ‘proficient in the art’ of FORGIVING each other.

After Thorne cussed the DLP about the ‘loss decade,’ did he not ‘cross the floor’ to join DEM?
    Not only did they immediately embraced and accepted him, they also subsequently voted for him as their President as well.

Similar could be said about Michael Lashley, another ‘loss decade’ member.
    Here is an individual who was among those DLP candidates who lambasted Mia Mottley during a meeting to launch their 2018 general election campaign. It’s entertainment…… ‘all part of the show.’

The fact that he was nominated ‘to run’ for the City by the constituency branch members, and was able to secure 2,647 votes (an estimated 4.5% INCREASE in support for the BLP, in an election with a 37% voter turnout) …… clearly indicates he was OVERWHELMINGLY ACCEPTED by the BEES.

Sinckler’s SUPPORTERS would PROBABLY ARGUE that, despite being one of the main architects of the ‘loss decade,’……
    …… in 2022, he was appointed World Bank Group Alternate Executive Director, for Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, St. Lucia, St. Kitts & Nevis and St. Vincent & the Grenadines.

A position that, according to the World Bank, attracted a salary of US$236,150 per annum at that time.

And, not only was he Executive Director of the Barbados-based Caribbean Policy Development Centre (CPDC), but also Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and International Business, in the late David Thompson led, 2008 DLP administration.

His supporters would also argue Sinckler has the appropriate skills and competencies needed to achieve the objectives of that PARTICULAR PORTFOLIO, and is therefore qualified for a similar role in the current Mottley administration.

10. @Artax

Agreed.

Do you agree with the ‘do not cross the floor’ legislation being proposed by Mottley?

11. Dullard wrote “how cud she do dat doh” or something similar.

She do dat because she could.

That’s all.

12. That said, I like Big Mike, although a close relative who long worked with him does not.

In fact if I was not nearly 80 I mighta ax he a question.

But alas…

13. That also said, I also change my vote every few years, because I do NOT love any party and I am NOT LOYAL to any party. I am loyal to God, country and self. I have NEVER asked for nor accepted, nor expected, nor received, nor expect any favor from any politician or any political party.

So my vote is mine, and mine only, ALWAYS.

14. I don’t like the thing being suggested about politicos prevented from crossing.

My feeling [not thinking] is that is like people prevented from divorcing when they are in a lousy marriage.

Or being prevented from leaving a job that they have come to hate.

Or prevented from leaving their parental home once they turn 18.

15. The law is not preventing anybody from joining another party, what is being suggested is that it should trigger a by election.

16. “I think you mean a WTF moment. I could not imagine this could ever of happen to Sinks after his sterling achievements under the Ds.”

@ John A

Surely you jest. 🤣🤣

There isn’t anything the ‘duopoly’ does that surprises me.

17. Members of parliament are not elected under any party’s banner.

They are elected only in their own person, as legal entity.

That candidates may organize themselves as the options present, any such options were never within the history of Christendom intended to tell members how they may later decide to organize the sitting arrangements.

There are no differences between saying members of parliament cannot cross the floor and demanding how they should vote in the house.

These nihilistic renderings by the Mottley criminal regime in Bridgetown will eventually end in the violence, now rampant in the streets, at the very centre of government.

Gallop on Mottley! For you have long crossed a higher rubicon. Sooner or later blood shall be shed on the very floor of parliament. By then you would have long embraced the grave you now seek, after a sentinel contribution to the worst human expression so suborn.

18. @ Artax

My friend I will now have to join your camp too and say there is nothing a politican can do going forward that will surprise me either.

19. The black masses must finally realise that politics in Barbados is just a game for their entertainment and pacification.

The important decisions are still made by Lord Drax at Drax Hall and his ilk. The black masses cannot vote him out. He has always been there and will always be there.

There is no escape from the plantation called Barbados.

20. WHATEVER HAPPENED TO IF ELECTED MALONEY AND DLP MINISTERS WOULD BE PROSECUTED?

EMPTY PROMISES AND BETRAYAL TO THE VOTERS WHO BELIEVED.

TAKING THEM FOR FOOLS OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

WORDS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND ARE LIKE HONEY TOO SWEET.

21. Fishing can be dangerous.

22. Not sure about the local gossip about these various actors, but observing the miniature details may distract from seeing the bigger picture anyway.
    It is common practice to recruit ‘talent’ from other parties for ‘their experience.’
    Politics is a business and a career for the political class and not for nice people.
    I would say the duopoly game is dead and there is only one game in town now.
    Ralph torpedoed ‘his Party’ with a scorched earth policy.
    But, the battle continues on the Underground. The existential fight against Government is a life long mission and a never ending journey up big hills where you may never even reach the destination you are hoping for. Government and the Opposition and Public Services and Businesses (or Private Sector) ain’t shit. Money Problems and Worries in the Dance. No future for you and me. The punks rastas hippies students drop outs and intellectuals were right all along.

23. It is common practice to recruit ‘talent’ from other parties for ‘their experience.’

XXXXXXXXXX

YOU MEAN “TALENT” AND EXPERTISE STEALING MILLIONS OF TAX PAYERS DOLLARS COMMONALITY.

THEY ARE FRIENDS AMONG THIEVES ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

THAT IS WHY THEY CAN EASILY BLEND IN FROM PARTY TO PARTY INCLUDING THIS LATEST FIASCO.

THE ONLY PERSON MISSING IS DONVILLE INNISS CONVICTED AND IMPRISONED IN THE USA PRIOR. HE WOULD FIT RIGHT IN WITH THIS BUNCH.

I WONDERED WHAT HAPPENED WITH THE LOST DECADE MUST HAVE BEEN FOUND

24. Enter the political opportunists

THE RECENTLY EARNED third consecutive 30-0 electoral victory by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has now created a genuine existential crisis for the main opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP). One consequence of this sustained period of one-party dominance is the creation of a context in which political opportunism will be the dominant feature.

Since 2018, the DLP has experienced a continuous process of leadership denudation. Each leadership-contest defeat has resulted in withdrawal and self-exile of key personalities. Each BLP clean sweep has meant that there is no door, window or foothold for DLP personalities to ascend to national leadership.

Over time, the DLP has had to choose from its “second eleven” for its leaders, candidates and other key functionaries.

Each defeat has lowered the quality of available leadership, which in turn has weakened the capacity of the DLP to present itself as viable alternative.

Indeed, the BLP back bench has, in recent times, been one of the most fertile “recruiting grounds” of potential DLP leaders. Even this door, however, is likely to be closed, given the announced intention by the BLP to push legislation prohibiting “floor crossing”.

Viable vehicle

The main consequence is that the DLP is no longer a viable vehicle for fulfilling the ambitions of political aspirants. It is likely that the political actions of previous DLP personalities will be guided by their awareness of this fact. This has created the perfect environment for political opportunism. Why opportunism? Because re-building a broken party and developing and advancing an alternative perspective in the face of tremendous odds, is arduous work.

It is a task only for the genuinely committed, and for those who believe uncompromisingly in the correctness of their alternative viewpoint. Bob Marley, writing of “opportunism” in the context of African independence sang, “soon we’ll find out who is the real revolutionary, cause I don’t want my people to be tricked by mercenaries”.

Real revolutionary

In this context, the opportunist is the anti-thesis of the “real revolutionary”.

He is the one who cannot sustain the fight. He is the one who makes short-term calculations.

He is the one who cannot make personal sacrifices.

He does not believe that a future victory is possible.

It is fully expected that my label of “opportunism” will be resisted. Some will say that working with the ruling government, after years of opposition, is merely to contribute to “national development”, and is an indication of “inclusivity”.

I can only respond with Rosa Luxembourg’s reminder that opportunism is ultimately a political trait which can manifest itself anywhere. There is no safeguard against it. What I am contending here is that in the context of one-party dominance, the actions of many of the erstwhile political enemies of the BLP will now be determined, less by principle and more by opportunism.

Tennyson Joseph is Associate Professor of Political Science at North Carolina Central University. Email tjoe2008@live. com

25. Observing this from abroad it is quite clear that there is no difference in the two main political parties. It simply matters who can convince large countries to give loans that are then never repaid, much of which ends up in the pockets of said politicians.
    The most important factor now is that independent senators and the press hold the government’s feet to the fire and ensure that all the hot air expended in the run up to the election actually comes to pass.

26. The DLP has been enveloped in a crisis of leadership since Barrow that has triggered political spiral. The BLP has benefited as a result.

27. DLP selects two nominees for Senate; swearing-in set for today

written by Barbados Today  Updated by Shanna Moore 19/02/2026 

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has selected two nominees for appointment to the Senate and is expected to formally submit their names to President Jeffrey Bostic today.

General Secretary Pedro Shepherd confirmed that the party’s governing council met on Wednesday night and agreed on two recommendations.

Source: Barbados Today

28. Enough votes to be Senators.

Walters’s 1 441,

Ralph Thorne 1 877 votes

29. If we are using the number of votes to determine who should be appointed as DLP Senators, then consideration must be given to:

David Estwick – 2,187
    Ian Griffith – 2,026
    Simon Clarke – 1,672

30. Thorne is joining the Senate to continue destroying the DLP from within on behalf of our Supreme Leader.

Thank you, Thorne!

31. @ David

I twice posted an answer to your question re February 18, 1:34 pm. Haven’t seen it as yet.

32. @ David

Not seeing my response to your question at February 18, 1:34 pm, after posting twice.

33. Barbados’ debt to the world????? We are over ninety percent the descendants of the VICTIMS of the slave codes! What utter nonsense! We owe nothing to anybody for slave codes we never wrote!

34. Cuhdear Bajan,

“Big Mike is too full of himself, amongst other things. Be glad that you are nearly eighty, and therefore ineligible!

Aren’t elders supposed to be more discerning?????

35. @Artax

Are you suggesting we must look beyond the numbers?

36. Ralph Thorne’s teeth look like they would cut Jackie’s lip! If he won’t fix his teeth I would not trust him to fix anything at all. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

37. @Artax

Nothing at this end.

38. @ David

No, David.

Immediately after the 2022 elections, I heard if the DLP was offered seats in the Senate, Senators should be chosen based on the number of votes they received.

They refused at that time.

That discussion resurfaced after the February 11, 2026 elections. I’m surprised they accepted on this occasion.

At 10:48 am, Hants mentioned Thorne and Walters had enough votes.

I simply listed other DEMS who received MORE votes.

39. @ David

In a Westminster system, ‘crossing the floor’ simply refers to a Member of Parliament (MP) leaving his/her political party to join another or become an independent member. It’s a normal feature of parliamentary democracies.

I’ve mentioned in this forum on several occasions, my DISAGREEMENT with the ease politicians are allowed to ‘cross the floor,’ after winning their seats under a particular political party, thereby leaving the constituents in ‘limbo.’

Information I’ve read suggests floor crossing is an inherent right of any and all members of Parliament.

Crossing the floor essentially amounts to a dis-empowerment of those constituents who voted for a particular candidate based on how he/she identified during an election campaign, and the political party he/she chose to campaign under, becomes a fundament part of that identity.

The Barbados Constitution recognises individual MPs and not political parties. They are essentially elected to represent their constituencies……NOT themselves or a political party.

Among those persons who vote for MPs are the ‘die hard’ supporters, people who believe

Therefore, one can argue parliamentarians should not be allowed to make any unilateral decision to change their parties without returning to the electorate.

If a MP dies, retires or resigns from elective politics, a by-election is held in the affected constituency to choose a replacement.
    For example, the death of David Thompson, and Edmund Hinkson’s announcement in 2024 he wouldn’t be contesting the next general election, paved the way for by-elections in St. John and St. James North respectively.

I recall Hammie Lah FIRST consulted with his St. Michael South East constituents before ‘crossing the floor’ to join the BLP, and subsequently repeating this action to sit as an independent member before rejoining the DLP.

In the case of Thorne, there wasn’t an Opposition in Parliament. As such, the only ‘crossing’ he could’ve done was to sit as an independent member.
    He resigned from the BLP and took the Christ Church South seat with him when he joined the DEMS, ultimately ‘rebranding’ it as a ‘DLP seat,’ while embracing that party’s policies.

He subsequently ABANDONED the people who voted for him ‘to run’ for St. John.

A by-election would’ve offered the electorate an opportunity to fill that seat with a candidate of their choice.

However, despite my personal opinions, I believe discussions on the topic should be rational, rather than being based on emotion.

40. I’m wondering what became of Carson C. Cadogan and A.C.

🤐

41. From news reports the selection of two DLP senators is yet again subject to controversy?

42. @Enuff

I have heard that some high-ranking officials and judges who are members of the DLP are boycotting today’s ceremony. I therefore ask you to have all visitors to today’s celebration sign an attendance list.

We need to know who is loyal to the leader and the party in this utmost crisis situation for democracy.

Tron

43. @Tron

Were that to b correct would the public care?

44. The public has a right to know who supports the democratically elected government and who does not.

This loyalty is independent of one’s own voting behavior. It is owed solely to our supreme leader on the basis of the oath of allegiance to the state and the constitution.

45. @David how could you allow Barbadians to accept such blatant disrespect. Barbados has now become the laughing stock of the Caribbean. Former BLP minister is President of Barbados and former BLP politician and speaker of the house appointed as independent Speaker Of the House.

46. @Donald

There is a recent BU blog suggesting that we have some fault lines in our governance system to address. Unfortunately the majority of citizens are disengaged.