Submitted by Nathan Green Jnr. 

Who in the Unity Labour Party in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines is in charge of Murder Incorporated? How many people know the structure of the killing tree organization? Is it a police squad? is it members of the Prime Ministers protection squad? Are outside killers employed from other island jurisdictions?  Is it one person or a team?

Is the murder unit under the umbrella of a ministry? A minister? Or an individual? Or is there a committee or membership to such an organization? 

There are people who know, and who can blow the whistle and give evidence. To encourage them to do so, from the outset of this expose piece I am offering 1 million East Caribbean dollars [$1,000,000] for information and evidence that brings about a conviction of the culprit or culprits of these extrajudicial killings and disappearances.

Lets take a quick look at who has been killed, who has been attacked, who has disappeared., and is assumed dead. From the outset we should keep in mind the words of George Bernard Shaw on the subject of assassination.

Assassination is the extreme form of censorship.

George Bernard Shaw.

What has happened in SVG over the last 25 years is a politically designed decline of the lower class of the population of Saint Vincent into a peasant class has taken place. The currently ruling politicians know that a peasant class of person wants less, needs less, and is easy for political and social manipulation. They are happy once every five years to take goodies offered them to encourage them to continue voting to keep a Marxist political party in office. In Saint Vincent they are giving all sorts of things cloaked as aid and assistance. But they are only given those things for a few weeks every five years prior to an election. Now and for last few weeks, with a general election approaching, they have been given building materials, refrigerators, day old chick, farming fertilizer, children’s school laptops. Almost anything in fact if you are willing to pledge your vote to the Unity Labour Party [ULP]. So that is the back ground. But anyone who opposes the ULP or its leadership, or seen by them as opposition supporting are in great danger of being killed or disappeared, Even the local police are under the control of the ULP government. They cannot think or act without the control of a government minister who makes most of the operational decisions for them. The police are even used for political purposes and enforcement. 

There are disappeared and assassinated people in SVG. You just have to look at the records and news reports.

Glen Jackson

When PM Gonsalves press secretary and personal aid Glen Jackson was found dead in his vehicle, Gonsalves was away visiting Malaysia . When Gonsalves was informed of the death, he said it was a political assassination.

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2013/08/04/the-assasination-of-glenn-jackson-and-his-relationship-with-us-agents/comment-page-1/

He came to that opinion before there was any evidence of such. Many asked how he knew that, how he came to that opinion?

“Glenn Jackson was a divisive figure in St. Vincent, leading to speculation that his murder may not have been a random crime.”

“Glenn Jackson established himself as one of PM Gonsalves’s most trusted associates and was given the official title Personal Aide in addition to Press Secretary.”

https://www.wikileaks.org/plusd/cables/06BRIDGETOWN554_a.html

According to Wikileaks Glen Jackson had been informing the US ambassador in Barbados for years of everything Ralph Gonsalves did and was a major US informant.

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2013/08/04/the-assasination-of-glenn-jackson-and-his-relationship-with-us-agents/

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2011/09/06/pms-personal-aide-was-us-officials-main-man/

http://searchlight.vc/wikileaks-glenn-jackson-was-most-important-contact-p34659-82.htm

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/headline-Letter%3A-Top-US-contact-in-St-Vincent-17107.html

http://vincystyle.blogspot.com/2009/10/is-ralph-gonsalves-and-his-ulp.html

Edgar Cruikshank

When PM Gonsalves comrade and key supporter Edgar Cruikshank, (many close to him say he was the PMs ex key supporter, and at the time of his death Gonsalves and Francis’s greatest critic) was mown down and killed by a vehicle at an NDP political rally at Clare Valley, Gonsalves was away visiting Cuba. When Gonsalves was informed of the death he said it was an accident. Did he come to that opinion before there was any evidence of such? Many asked how he knew that, how he came to that opinion.

The unelected some say unelectable cousin of PM Gonsalves, Senator Julian Francis said about the Clare Valley Killing. “The death of former Unity Labour Party (ULP) South Leeward councilor, Edgar Cruickshank at a New Democratic Party (NDP) political meeting in Clare Valley on Saturday was the result of a “freak” accident that had nothing to do with the ULP”.

He went on to further say:

“This party had absolutely nothing to do [with it]. Ralph Gonsalves or Julian Francis or anybody else in the leadership of the party; because the two names they are calling is Julian and Ralph”.

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2014/12/11/ulp-not-involved-in-ndp-clare-valley-meeting-incident-francis/

Why would Francis come forward and make such statements when no one had accused or said that either Gonsalves or he Francis had anything to do with such a dastardly matter?

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2014/12/07/update-former-ulp-supporter-dies-after-being-injured-at-ndp-meeting/

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2014/12/11/eustace-speaks-of-edgar-cruickshanks-final-moments-2/

https://vincikallaloo.wordpress.com/category/crime

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/svg.php?news_id=24818&start=40&category_id=15

Peter Dennie

Peter Dennie, an announcer at the pro-NDP privately owned radio station and prime social opposition to the politics of Ralph E. Gonsalves and his ULP government, met his untimely death in a suspicious fire at his residence where he was the only person who died.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstory-Letter%3A-Coincidence-or-a-well-executed-plot%3F-14351.html

Cecil Boatswain

Cecil Boatswain was living in St Vincent and the Grenadines and was having an open affair with the wife of one of the press secretaries to Prime Minister Gonsalves. When Boatswain left St Vincent he was believed to have tragically died at Diamond beach, swept away by the sea. Unfortunately Mr. Boatswain, is now said by one writer to have suffered a gruesome death at the hand of a hired killer on the island of Dominica.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstory-Letter%3A-Coincidence-or-a-well-executed-plot%3F-14351.html

Mr. Emilius Joslyn: ‘The Servant of the Lord’

The servant of the lord, as Emilius Joslyn was popularly called, was a resident of Cain Garden and a popular feature on the New Times interactive radio (call in) program that was hosted by EG lynch and sponsored by the New Democratic Party of SVG. He was a massive embarrassment to the ULP, and hated by them for his day after day barrage of exposures of there nasty activities.

The servant of the lord would call in and highlight negative political, social and other events that were going on in St Vincent and the Grenadines. Mr. Joslyn was very critical of Ralph Gonsalves and the ULP government and he tried to put the matters that he addressed into biblical prospective. Mr Joslyn, a retired man, who made his daily contribution on the New Times program, went missing, without a trace.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/headline-Letter%3A-Coincidence-or-a-well-executed-plot%3F-14351.html

https://kentonxtchance.wordpress.com/tag/servant-of-the-lord/page/3

https://kentonxtchance.wordpress.com/tag/servant-of-the-lord

Ewart “Ells” King

Ells King an NDP supporter and know anti ULP person, was murdered in his bed in the most terrible way, stabbed to death. It was alleged that a man who escaped prison [the street even suggest he was released] “PM Gonsalves, who was overseas when King was killed, spoke of “the fear which comes into one where you are in your home, you are not troubling anybody, people break your house and come in to kill you”. Speaker of the House said “I was driving along the Sharpes Street area and this person was behind me blowing their horn incessantly and I couldn’t understand why he was doing that, only to look back in the rear-view mirror to see the person killing himself with laugh[ter],” Alexander said.

… that was the kind of character Ells was: the kind of guy who you can’t afford to be mad with for any long time.

And I was rather saddened when I got that news about three o’clock in the morning that he was killed. I think it is a really terrible thing and I know the pain and the suffering that family is enduring at this particular time…” Alexander further stated.

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2011/12/15/mps-speak-on-murder-of-dental-technician-ells-king/

The problem is the young man alleged to have murdered Ells was waylayed by police whilst travelling in a bus. He was unarmed and ran to a bush but shot to death by the police. Later a van driver turned in a gun to the police who said it was Ells gun. We have never got to the bottom of this case, but many have doubts.

Edwardo Lynch

Edwardo was perhaps the biggest thorn in the side of the Unity Labour Party. Some say he was hounded to death, some say there was a conspiracy between a local group and a foreign power secret service who somehow caused him damage.

That sounds a bit far fetched, I have no way of knowing if either of these scenarios are true.

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2014/07/09/former-new-times-host-eg-lynch-is-dead/

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2014/07/21/pm-gonsalves-lynched-in-church/

http://mail.caribbeannewsnow.com/headline-Letter%3A-Hand-held-microwave-weapons-22028.html

William H Harriss

William Harriss is an English business man and respected gentleman. He is also Vincentian by naturaliszation. Harriss in his retirement had been studying and writing a manuscript about the Atlantic Slave Trade. Having spent about ten years researching the subject he had written a volume about a Portuguese sea captain Antonio Gonsalves who supposedly took the first 10 Africans from a beach in Southwest Africa in 1441 which was the very seeded beginning of the Atlantic Slave Trade. Harriss was convinced that Antonio Gonsalves was an ancestor of Ralph E Gonsalves Saint Vincent’s prime minister. Someone in Harriss’s family circle told Ralph Gonsalves body guards and betrayed his research and writing. The result was the police raided Harriss’s house with a search warrant gotten by ill means and the submission to the magistrate by the police of falsities, saying he had guns, ammunition and drugs at his house. Of course that was totally untrue and what they wanted to search for was the manuscript with Antonio Gonsalves chapter. So they raided his house by great truckloads of police, Special Branch, Gonsalves body guards, Black Squad and those in army uniforms. They searched to house and took away Harriss’s laptop, phone, camera, printer, all his personal papers. In doing so they refused to give him a copy of the Warrant and refused to give him a copy of the property list of everything they had seized. But they found nothing, no guns, no ammunition, no drugs, no incriminating papers, nothing, and certainly no manuscript. After two weeks three of them returned to Harriss’s house to kill him. He escaped but during his escape he suffered a broken back in two place. All that happened seven years ago, and since then Harriss has asked for his property back many many times, but they ignore him, refuse to acknowledge his requests and the Police Complaints Department refuse to take his complaint or acknowledge him. Harriss is living abroad and is frightened to return to SVG as long as Ralph Gonsalves remains in power with the ULP as government. Harriss considers himself lucky that he did not suffer the same fate as Glen Jackson.   https://www.ieyenews.com/i-am-william-h-harris/     https://barbadosunderground.net/2023/12/15/atrocity-svg-again/comment-page-1/

Everything written here has been written about and published in several other medias, some of which I have not listed. This is all old news for reconsideration because nothing has been resolved.

31 responses to “$1,000,000 reward”

1. It would take more that these constant suggestions to persuade this reader that a prime minister anywhere, least of all a beloved SV&G, his government or party could have been involved in this scale of industrial murder incorporated.

They say that extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence. As bad as things maybe in SV&G weee highly doubt that for decades such an industry could have escaped notice by the legal authorities.

Continuing at a time when a PM of SV&G is entering another election, after being in government for decades, an election where margins are expected to be slim, possess the stench of the dark arts of partisan politics.

Maybe editorial responsibility could have determined that these suggestions are a bridge toooo far. These are the expected results when a popular book of unproven assertions continue to be given credence here.

2. Continues …….

Separately

The murder rate in Barbados has begun climbing again

Maybe this government will be so accused as well.

What nonsense!

3. The author admits in his submission that he doesn’t know killed or is responsible for MIAs and offers a reward for information. This is standard political rhetoric, as government after all is responsible for managing the country’s affairs.

4. The author it seems clear identified individuals who are known political persons.

5. Well, wee purposefully ignored the talk about a reward. For to us that was merely a canard, a way to lend a false legitamacy to otherwise specious claims.

In such cases readers should at least be able to rely on the good offices of the blog to be assured that that “reward” too is not in and of itself a tissue of lies.

Certainly, if people are willing to go to these lengths to fabricate, a bank statement must be required to support bonafides and thusly submitted to the editor alone.

The blog should also note that last night at a political campaign event, live on YouTube, Gonzales said again, like he’s oft repeated at such events, that the Leader of the Opposition is backed by certain international monied interests.

We are left to wonder whether this socalled reward and the claims of Gonzales may be linked, at least rectorically.

6. Steupsss
    ANY national leader, who after decades in ‘power’ …cannot clearly DEMONSTRATE the progress made by the collective society, …AND who insists on continuing in office, MUST be suspected of ulterior MOTIVES….and indeed, of questionable methods.

Where is the progress for ordinary Vincentians?
    What has Gonsalves’ leadership achieved for Vincie citizens?

Why does he so strongly wish to extend such an UNPRODUCTIVE tenure? – unless there is some unknown motivation to do so…
    …and more importantly, given the lack of significant societal development under his stewardship, are you saying that the Vincies are such BBs as to DELIBERATELY want to continue is such a status? … (unless extraordinary methods have been applied?)
    Wuh yuh think dem is Brassbajans?

And do we dismiss all these ‘incidents’ as random chance?
    Why did Gonsalves not have an independent official review and conclusion by international experts, to fully resolve these?

Pacha is unusually quick off the mark here…
    If not at a DECISIVE election time…
    WHEN then, would have been a better time to raise such questions…???

What a thing!!

7. A reality lecture…

8. Bushie

A better question about such a PM is why he or she continues to be elected. Weee seem to recall that Gonzales has been in for 31 years.

Yours is the same old and central question we ask here about governance all the time – term limits etc. However, you have failed to make direct contact with the writer’s central point as to whether the governmental set-up could have been involved in many murders. And where is the analog of such a culture in the political history of the region.

And you’ve so failed because you are far more sentient than he who so purports. Good on you!

Moreover, we’ve long thought that this writer has had a jaundice view and therefore is in no position to be impartial on this matter. Maybe, you should ask yourself what is his skin in this game. We highly doubt that it would be the one million dollars so offered.

9. St Vincent seems to be a safer place when Ralphie is at home. If I was in the opposition there, when he leaves I would also leave.

10. William H Harriss Avatar
    William H Harriss

Hello, I am William Harriss, who is also featured in this article. Thank you, Nathan. Gonsalves is kept in power by ULP vote rigging and bribery. Everyone in SVG knows, it is an open secret. The situation there is far worse than portrayed here, and many people have had their businesses and social lives destroyed because they are supporters of the opposition. Take a look at your search engine for “Bigger Bigs of SVG” as an example. His multi-million-dollar business was destroyed, and he has won court cases against the ULP government, but they have not compensated him despite a court order to do so. They are the law and control the police and judiciary; there is no separate law and order in SVG. They are the only law, and they are the only order. It’s all very well you people making excuses for this dirty Marxist government. I suspect everyone who does so is an asset of Gonsalves to supply false and opposing opinions on what is happening there. What I bring you is not opinion; it is factual knowledge. None of your negative opinions can override the fact. Yes, I see in Barbados some danger that you may start to go in the same direction due to the influence of Cuba and Venezuela, but that is an opinion.

11. “A better question about such a PM is why he or she continues to be elected…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Give us a break Pacha!!… You serious???!!!

Who else will the BBs elect …if all opposition are eliminated?
    Stinking Bushie?!

And any write’s biases aside, …would you not think it PRUDENT for the ruling party beneficiaries of such ‘incidents’ to ensure FULL AND TOTAL transparency in any ensuing investigations – or even accusations?

The writer may have JUSTIFIABLE reasons to be biased…
    Thankfully, BU and social media exists to facilitate such NEEDED transparency.

Bushie’s BS-meter works boss…

12. TRINIDAD & TOBAGO PM HAS THE NATION ON HIGH ALERT!!! IS WAR WITH VENEZUELA IMMINENT??? WILL TT BE INVOLVED IN CARACAS AS GROUND TROOPS??? IS THE CARIBBEAN READY FOR A CATEGORY 10 TECTONIC TSUNAMI INVOLVING WARSHIP, MISSILES & EGREGIOUS DESTRUCTION???

If that B.I.T.C.H CALLED MELISSA* WAS NOT A WAKE UP CALL – THEN WHAT ELSE HAS 2 HAPPEN FOR THOSE DRUNKEN, CARIBBEAN BASTERDS TO BE STARTLED OUT OF THEIR LETHARGY???

IS THIS WHY THE MOTTLEY-CREW GOV ET AL HAVE OPTED 4 OPEN BORDERS FOR CARIBBEAN NATIONALS BECAUSE THEY WERE BRIEFED AS TO WHAT IS COMING DOWN THE RAILROAD TRACKS???

Is anyone really “PRAYING” about this potential “MADNESS”???

War in the West Indies will NOT* be a joke!!!

#StayTuned

13. @ Terence
    A more likely scenario is that WHEN Trump chickens out – as is his wont, and hightail it back to safe harbor in the USA, Venezuela – backed by its enhanced military will seek to put some lashes in Kamla’s donkey…
    Any bets on whether Trump will come back to T&T’s aid?

The woman is an idiot…
    Everyone knows that it is dangerous to be America’s enemy,
    but it is FATAL to be their friend… (Ukraine, Panama, NATO, etc)

14. US ASSETS BUILD UP IN CARIBBEAN AS THE LARGEST CONGLOMERATION OF MILITARY WEAPONRY & PERSONNEL IN LIVING MEMORY – WITH RUSSIA APPARENTLY BACKING DOWN!!!

What in the world will West Indians & Venezuela be facing on the back of “UTTER DEVASTATION” in Jamaica from a “DEMONIC HURRICANE???

How many more will have 2 die because a “COMPLETELY FOREIGN spirit” has taken over the world ???

A systematic study of history portends that the ramifications of this type of “GLOBAL VOLATILITY” leads to “ONLY” one ultimate outcome: #WW3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As I have constantly argued – “IS EVERYTHING GOIN’ 2 HELL IN A PAN-CART”???

#YouDecide

15. The Yogge Farrell story resonates deeply with the blogmaster. Those here who believe the blogmaster to be ignorant and enlightened please go ahead.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/01/29/the-yugge-farrell-story-and-the-rh-abuse-of-political-power-and-the-asylum/

16. Bushie

Your slip shows. The government has only a one or two seat advsntage in parliament currently.

This does not suggest to us that it is a strong government which would result from your opinions. And if memory serves well, slim majorities have long been characteristic of Vincie politics.

If there has been for years justificable reasons for bias, readers should be so alerted. Not left to labour under the presumption that what was written all these years were fair assumptions, correct. Obviously, a political decisión was made to propagandize.

You cannot be serious! Social media is now to promote transparentcy? You are clearly not a net citizen. Why do you think sites like TikTok, X, Facebook and the rest are controlled by Big Brother. And the internet more generally by governments aal over.

17. WOMEN ARE DOING WHAT “other” HUMANS WITH BALLS aka GONADS REFUSE 2 DO – WHEN WILL THOSE WITH FAILING TESTOSTERONE “man-up” AND DO THE RIGHT THING

On this 1st day of November, I am gonna’ make another bold prediction that I have long been alluding to: “WE EITHER TAKE VIGILANTE JUSTICE AS THE NEXT incoming THREAT OR WE ARE GONNA’ WITNESS THE FRENCH REVOLUTION ALL OVER AGAIN – ON STEROIDS”!!!

18. “More information on Jackson’s communications with U.S. officials might come to light when WikiLeaks releases the remaining 108,000 of 251,287 cables.

“The tragic murder in March of Press Secretary Glenn Jackson has deprived the Government of a key figure who counselled the PM on a variety of issues and was [the embassy’s] best contact in St. Vincent,” the 2006 cable said.

The leaked document said that Jackson’s death left Gonsalves’ Unity Labour Party (ULP) “bereft of one of its leading figures”.

The cable noted that Jackson, a trained journalist who pioneered today’s version of talk radio in SVG, “was among Gonsalves’s closest confidants, attending all Cabinet meetings and weighing in on important policy issues”.

It further highlighted his involvement in helping the ULP defeat the New Democratic Party (NDP) in 2001 and 2005.

While the U.S. officials said Jackson was their most important contact, they also described him as “a divisive figure in St. Vincent, leading to speculation that his murder may not have been a random crime”.

The cable noted his rise to prominence in the 1990s as host of the country’s first talk radio programme.

Jackson used his programme to rally hundred of Vincentians in several causes, including against the U.S. government “for its support of ending preferential trade quotas for Caribbean bananas”, telecommunications giant and Wireless – now LIME, and former prime minister Sir James Mitchell and the NDP.

“In Government, Glenn Jackson established himself as one of PM Gonsalves’ most trusted associates and was given the official title Personal Aide in addition to Press Secretary,” the cable said.

“Jackson was among a handful of people that were … close to Gonsalves in a Government full of political appointees and bureaucrats of questionable ability,” the document further stated.

The previously “confidential” communiqué said that governments “full of political appointees and bureaucrats of questionable ability” are a common quality of governments in the Eastern Caribbean.

This make already small governing institutions even smaller, “so that decision-making and access to information are often concentrated in a small clique close to the prime minister”.

“In St. Vincent, PM Gonsalves has taken this tendency to an extreme and nearly all Government initiatives are run directly from his office. As the PM’s top aide, Glenn Jackson was, therefore, exceptionally knowledgeable. Post was particularly fortunate to identify Jackson’s value and cultivate a relationship that made him our most important contact,” the cable said.”

19. “Jackson was among a handful of people that were … close to Gonsalves in a Government full of political appointees and bureaucrats of questionable ability,” the document further stated.

The previously “confidential” communiqué said that governments “full of political appointees and bureaucrats of questionable ability” are a common quality of governments in the Eastern Caribbean.

This make already small governing institutions even smaller, “so that decision-making and access to information are often concentrated in a small clique close to the prime minister”.

“In St. Vincent, PM Gonsalves has taken this tendency to an extreme and nearly all Government initiatives are run directly from his office. As the PM’s top aide, Glenn Jackson was, therefore, exceptionally knowledgeable. Post was particularly fortunate to identify Jackson’s value and cultivate a relationship that made him our most important contact,” the cable said.

20. I see in Barbados some danger that you may start to go in the same direction due to the influence of Cuba and Venezuela.
    Better check the BS-ometer.
    Who, other than David C, might find fault with the opinion given.

21. God will not allow NDP to win this election’ – Gonsalves

2 Nov 2025 23:26 AST
    https://cdn.iwnsvg.com/uploads/2025/11/Ralph-Gonsalves-251102.png

Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves addressing the Unity Labour Party’s Youth Convention in Diamond on Sunday, Nov. 2, 2025.

Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves on Sunday likened himself to the Bible prophet Jeremiah and suggested that he, too, was destined to lead.

“… before I was in my mother’s womb, the good Lord knew me, and he blessed me, and he sanctified me, and he set me apart, and through you, his proclamation of me as a prophet to this nation has been fulfilled,” Gonsalves said.

The 79-year-old leader, who has been prime minister since March 2001, said that God has decided that the opposition New Democratic Party (NDP) will not take the reins of power in the Nov. 27 general election.

“NDP can’t win this election,” Gonsalves told his Unity Labour Party’s (ULP) youth convention in Diamond.

“This matter, God will not allow NDP to win this election, but God acts through human beings,” he said.

“I am claiming God on our side because our side is the side of goodness and nobility and righteousness for the people, especially the young people, as we set about to own the future.”

Pundits have said that the NDP is mounting its strongest challenge to the ULP’s hold on power since the NDP was booted out of office in March 2001. The outcome of the polls, analysts said, could determine the future of both of the nation’s political parties.

Gonsalves urged young ULP supporters to reflect on all that he told them in his 36-minute speech.

“… and those who have dissatisfactions, remember your satisfactions, remember your blessings, and count your blessings one by one,” he said.

Gonsalves told young Labourites that the campaign is about them. “Because while Labour is working for all of us, this campaign, fundamentally, is about owning the future, and the future is yours. I am going to help you in owning that future,” he said, echoing the ULP’s campaign theme.

“I have been working hard to help you to own the future,” said Gonsalves, 79, who said he works 19 hours a day.

“I am not doing what I am doing because I have anything else to prove in my life. The good Lord has blessed me, and through you, you have elevated me to the office of prime minister for 25 years. This election is helping you to own your future,” Gonsalves said.

‘a first world nation’ in 15 years

He gave his perspective on judging which political party can best help the nation’s youth to own their future.

“First of all, like in all life and living, you judge persons about what they can do for you in the future, what they have done in the past and in the present,” he said.

Gonsalves noted that most of the youth at the convention do not know what life in St. Vincent and the Grenadines was like before the ULP came to office in March 2001.

“You have come and I have put certain things in place for you, and some people take it for granted, but all what we have done in the past and what we are doing currently, while it is a guide as to what will be done in the future, it is not all,” the prime minister said.

“… we have laid the platform in every material particular to put St. Vincent and the Grenadines in the next 15 years, to put this country as a first world nation. … to make this country, put it on a par with London, Paris, New York and Toronto; to lift further our standards of life and living.

“When you go to those places, you must say, whatever is there is here, maybe on a smaller scale, but whatever is there is here,” Gonsalves said.

“Already, you are beginning to see that. And important in that regard is your facility with technology, your education and your training. These are things which are going to help us to own the future optimally than ever before.”

Gonsalves told convention delegates that he was the youngest lecturer with a doctorate at the University of the West Indies when he was employed there in 1974.

“This man was the first person in his family to go to university,” the prime minister said, adding that there was no pipe-borne water or electricity at his house until he was 14 years old — in 1960.

“This man, when he was a child, slept on bedding in the hall with a two-room house –all and chamber.

He said that when he became a teenager and started to go to the Grammar School, there was no space for him in the house.

“I sleep on a bunk in the storeroom of my mother’s shop. Is not where you’re born, is not where you come from, is where you’re going,” he told the youth delegates.

The prime minister said he went to primary school barefoot from age 5 to 12.

“The first time I had a hard shoe is when I was pre-selected — only boy from Colonarie school — to go write the Grammar School exam,” he said, adding that 250 to 270 students wrote the exam.

“In those days, they took in 30. If I didn’t come in the first 30, … if I didn’t get a chance, I would have gone work land with my father, and you would have seen me when you pass Colonarie. I would have fruits and vegetables selling to you as you pass by to buy something from this old man,” Gonsalves said.

In the speech, he highlighted the opportunities in education that his government has provided through universal access to secondary education, of its aim of having one university graduate per household on average by 2030.

Source:IWN

22. Unable to vote in St Vincent but Ralphie would have lost my vote from the time he start rambling on about God.
    I suspect he had the BTs in the crowd jumping for joy.

23. All this time I thought the man was an atheist! Two Rasshole Ralphies relying on religious rhetoric! In 2025! Not good.

24. Yes, it’s sad to see these people who once knew better, to make a dash for the cool aid. It’s a cop out!

Even as it is the case, with one of them, that the region could have been better served if he knew now what he did then.

Served, in bringing all the systems to the table. Especially when his, once known, has achieved a stunning victory over the other long thought to be invisible.

25. Gonsalves is doing what politicians do, spout rhetoric that resonates with the masses.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

A good reminder to political donors how political parties actually spend their money.
    For now we’ll hope, the taxpayers of Barbados aren’t directly footing this expense.

27. Following the musings surrounding the upcoming general election in St. Vincent, the issues seem familiar somehow.

The price of governing in the dark
    21 Nov 2025 05:10 AST

By Kenrick Quashie

St. Vincent and the Grenadines continues to be governed without the most basic safeguards against corruption. No Integrity in Public Life Act. No Freedom of Information Act. No meaningful accountability mechanism for those who hold power.

This is a deliberate failure by our leaders. And it tells us everything we need to know about how the current administration views power, transparency, and the Vincentian people.

For 25 years, Dr. Gonsalves and the ULP have enjoyed an unbroken streak in government. Gonsalves’ political dominance has brought opacity, fear, and impunity.

The absence of integrity legislation means that ministers and senior officials are not legally required to declare their assets and liabilities. The absence of a Freedom of Information Act means that citizens, journalists, and civil society cannot access government contracts, procurement records, or decisions made with public funds. Instead, the people’s business has become the government’s secret.

Advertisement 271
    It is virtually impossible to govern transparently under such conditions. Power that goes unchecked for so long inevitably breeds corruption, whether through the direct abuse of office, the manipulation of contracts, or the quiet favouritism that rewards friends and punishes critics.

It’s worth remembering that Gonsalves and the ULP promised both pieces of legislation: Integrity in Public Life and Freedom of Information. Two decades later, those promises remain unfulfilled.

As a matter of fact, a draft of the Integrity legislation was published when the ULP was in opposition. The Integrity Legislation was supposed to be implemented in the first 100 days of the ULP’s first term back in 2001.

Subscribe to the iWitness News WhatsApp Channel
    Meanwhile, the Freedom of Information Act was taken to Parliament, debated and passed but was never sent to the governor general’s desk to be signed. Gonsalves has refused for over two decades to instruct the governor general to sign the law into effect. This is a deliberate act by Gonsalves to avoid oversight. This is no delay; it is design. A government that fears scrutiny will always find reasons to stall.

After 25 years of governance and unchecked powers by Gonsalves and the ULP, it is clear that their secrecy is a survival strategy. Change of government in SVG is a necessity. No nation can develop sustainably when it normalises secrecy.

The NDP government must prioritise transparency legislation within its first year when it wins the upcoming general elections. It must not do so as a symbolic gesture, but as a foundation for rebuilding trust. Every Vincentian, regardless of political colour, should demand this!

Accountability is not partisan. It is patriotic. Integrity in public office should not depend on who holds power; it should be built into the system itself.

After 25 years of Gonsalves’ grip on power, we must ask ourselves:

Why does a government so long in office still resist transparency?
    What are they afraid the people might find out?
    And how much longer can we afford to look away?
    This type of power without accountability corrupts the national conscience. For the sake of our children and the integrity of our beloved SVG, this must end in 2025. Let us elect leadership that is not afraid of the light. Let us demand integrity, transparency, and truth.

Source: IWN

28. David
    Note, in the comments section, of the article you posted earlier, the first one begins “well if Barbados is involved in SVG elections”. Not, if one political party in Barbados is helping a political party in SVG. It is natural for SVG residents to conclude such.
    I could dagga, if in my dementia ridden old age, I gave the Cdn NDP a few million (they brek) and sent a plane load of orange shirt wearing NDP members to assist the DLP, along with a few million for big fetes and parties, in addition to “getting the vote out”, Bajans would see this as a foreign country interfering in their election?
    That Gonsalves would ask his fellow Caricom leaders for help is no surprise. That he would receive it in such an open fashion, is mildly surprising. That external political participants may “lend help” in a quiet manner is not.

29. @NO

Note that Gonsalves was also in St. Lucia to support Pierre. Therefore, the question is whether this behavior is acceptable. As Kamala stated, does the emerging behavior of entrenched political leaders to become involved in neighboring countries’ political affairs have the potential to negatively impact the workings of CARICOM?

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

What I read was
    “Gonsalves has said that he will travel to Castries after the vote in SVG to campaign for Pierre and his St. Lucia Labour Party”
    I interpreted political speak to mean, IF he Gonsalves WINS then he will. His “value” is less, even potentially negative, if he loses. But never speak of a potential loss prior to an election? Unless you are Trump, where a loss would have to mean the election was rigged.
    Recall the recent open border announcement included 3 of those involved here, Bdos, SVG & Dominica.
    Yet the difference, Gonsalves, Pierre, Charles & Skerrit are all individuals. The contributor from Bdos was the BLP. Not Mottley. One may say I’m splitting hairs, all and the same thing. The citizens are footing the bill regardless.