Is it a genuine attempt to regulate the tourist industry, or is it a money grab. Many of the players affected, who are small to medium size operators, believe the latter.

The government is currently introducing the Tourist Accommodation Bill, 2025, and it has provoked a hailstorm of public commentary. The blogmaster suspects that Minister of Tourism Ian Gooding-Edgehill may now regret appearing on Brasstacks last Friday with veteran moderator David Ellis. The calls that came in, many from those directly affected by the proposed legislation, did not hold back. Glaring gaps were exposed. One is left to wonder: is this yet another piece of legislation the government will have to wheel and come again?

The blogmaster has long mused on a troubling pattern. Successive governments seem to find urgency when pushing through legislation that disproportionately affects small players, especially those without the benefit of deep pockets or political connections. Meanwhile, laws that promise transparency and accountability, Freedom of Information, Integrity in Public Office, and other long-promised reform at Licensing Authority and Barbados Revenue Authority for example, remain stuck in draft form, buried in committee or implementation deficit malaise. Why the selective urgency? Who the horse like it licks and kicks those it dislikes.

Why is there no rush to pass legislation that would hold the Barbados Bar Association and the Disciplinary Committee accountable to long suffering clients? What about meaningful support for the Police Complaints Authority? Over a year ago, Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce promised Barbadians an investigation into a slapping incident that occurred on Kadooment Day 2024. A promise some say, is comfort for a fool – see the video.

The blogmaster also recalls the fate of small Black businessmen who pioneered the reconditioned vehicle industry in the 80s. They were forced out of business when government sided with big dealerships and overregulated the sector. The result? Barbadians at the lower end of the economic scale – those who relied on affordable transportation – were the ones left to pay the price.

This is the Barbados we know. A country where legislation is often wielded not as a tool of justice, but as a weapon to exclude. Where the small man is asked to comply, while the big man is allowed to maneuver to hearts content. Until we level the playing field between the Meades and Persians, the cycle will continue.

Here is the Brasstacks podcast to listen to the Minister of Tourism.

127 responses to “Wheel and Come Again Mr. Minister?”

1. Wheel and come AGAIN!

Back to drawing board

Govt pauses Tourist Accommodation Bill in response to concerns from operators

by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

THE CONTROVERSIAL Tourist Accommodation Bill, 2025, will be put on pause to allow for further consultations with stakeholders.

Minister of Tourism and International Transport Ian Gooding-Edghill made the decision yesterday in response to a request by some operators in the short-term rentals sector for the bill to be suspended before it reached the Senate, and for urgent consultation with Government.

They lamented that the regulations contained in the legislation, which was passed in the House of Assembly last Tuesday, could kill the small accommodations industry.

“The request from the vacation rental property owners and operators for further dialogue is reasonable, and as a responsive and responsible Government, we are prepared to pause the bill to have further meaningful consultations,” Gooding-Edghill stated in a release.

Public session

“The Ministry of Tourism and International Transport will convene another public session to clarify any misunderstandings and to answer any questions, and to provide further explanations regarding the bill. We will announce a date, time and the location of the meeting and, like we have done in the past, we will advertise the town hall meeting to ensure that those owners or owners’ representatives who were not present at the last town hall meeting have an opportunity to do so. The officers from the Ministry’s Licensing and Compliance Unit will also be present to provide any technical support and advice.”

However, while he has acceded to the request for further discussions, Gooding-Edghill reminded that consultation had taken place almost a decade ago.

“As indicated on the floor of Parliament two Tuesdays ago, we have held consultations with the Barbados Entrepreneurial Tourism Association (BETA), Intimate Hotels of Barbados (IHB), the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) and the advertised public town hall meeting held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.

“In addition, half-day focus groups were held from the inception with tourism stakeholders, regulatory agencies and visitors to the island. Individual interviews were also conducted with various tourism stakeholders and regulatory agencies,” he said.

Meetings

Giving a detailed timeline, he noted that the bill came after a series of meetings and consultations dating back to 2016. He said additional stakeholder meetings were held on September 26, October 27, October 30 and October 31 in 2023; and January 19 and November 15 last year with the BHTA, IHB and BETA at the Ministry.

Gooding-Edghill reiterated that the measure, which seeks to regulate the accommodations sector, was about protecting the Barbados brand.

“It is in no way designed to dampen demand for tourist accommodation in the vacation rental programme. I repeat what I said on the floor of Parliament – we need the vacation rental properties as part of our accommodation offering because as we increase airlift and bring more visitors to Barbados, as we have done last year and during the winter season, that increased business will benefit the vacation rental properties as it has done based on the reported $300 million of income from that sector. I am heartened by the size of the reported earnings from the vacation rental properties.”

He encouraged the owners and owners’ representatives of the vacation rental properties to submit their areas of concern ahead of the planned

PRINT. COPY . SCAN . FAX

meeting in writing via email, adding the email address for the questions and concerns will also be provided in the advertisements. This, he said, will also help the discussion and provide an opportunity to hear from the vacation rental owners and operators.

The bill called for the approximately 6 500 properties involved in providing accommodations and which are listed on Airbnb, Vrbo, Homestay and BimBNB to be registered, licensed and inspected. It also imposes a fine of up to $250 000 for those who breach the terms and conditions.

Stakeholders in the industry immediately cried out, charging that the bill imposed significant costs on small operators and could “kill off” the industry. Many had also signed a petition calling for the suspension of the bill.

Yesterday one person told the MIDWEEK NATION: “The ridiculous conditions placed on operators of short-term accommodation is clearly designed to force 6 500 Barbadians out of business.”

He listed some of the concerns as mandatory inspection and unknown licence fees; mandatory fire inspection certificate in order to apply for a licence; mandatory health inspection certificate; the creation of a multi-hazard disaster management plan; mandatory public liability insurance policy of probably $1 million to $2 million; mandatory retrofit of properties; three full-time staff members and 24-hour security.

2. These people seem to think that as SERVANTS of the people, their role is to TALK DOWN, ignore, and bull-rush their way to whatever agendas their POLITICAL CONTRIBUTORS dictate….

But there is a POINT beyond which brass bowls NO LONGER ACCEPT jobby….

3. It is fair comment to make if you ‘subtract’ Mottley from this Cabinet it will compete fiercely with Fruendel Stuart’s.

4. How you mean compete?
    No competition in a race between thoroughbreds and donkeys.

Furthermore, the “wild boys” couldn’t borrow money to buy a brown mint, while it appears the “fly girl” can even borrow money from Scrooge.

5. Barbados in midst of $6B building boom

6. Regulation of Airbnbs still on the agenda, says Bartlett
    Peer-to-peer stays make up 30 per cent of Jamaica’s arrivals

Published:Wednesday | September 24, 2025 | 12:10 AMJanet Silvera/Gleaner Writer

Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett addresses the media during a Jamaica Product Exchange media breakfast at Jewel Grande in Montego Bay, St James, on Tuesday.
    Ashley Anguin/Photographer
    Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett addresses the media during a Jamaica Product Exchange media breakfast at Jewel Grande in Montego Bay, St James, on Tuesday Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett says regulation of peer-to-peer accommodation, such as Airbnbs, remains a priority, with over 30 per cent of last year’s 4.3 million visitors to the island opting for such stays.

Speaking at a JAPEX breakfast event on Tuesday at the Jewel Grand Hotel in Montego Bay, Bartlett clarified that Airbnb itself is a brand and a business model, but the Government is addressing the wider peer-to-peer accommodation sector, which he described as “the fastest-growing accommodation subsector within the tourism space”.

“Last year, over 30 per cent of the visitors who came to Jamaica had Airbnb-type experiences. We use Airbnb colloquially to define the peer-to-peer accommodation,” Bartlett said.

Bartlett further explained that the regulation push is rooted in destination assurance, the pledge that Jamaica offers visitors a safe, secure, and seamless experience.

“It behoves us then to have all of these areas of accommodation on our radar. We need to know where you’re going so that we can respond to whatever your concerns are,” he stressed. “At the end of the day, we have situations where we get media reports of incidents in very remote areas of Jamaica where we have no knowledge of, there’s no registered group to understand that. Yes, this is where you are. This is how things are going there. We have to make sure that we protect the integrity of the destination.”

Bartlett rejected the idea that regulation is meant to undermine peer-to-peer rentals. Instead, he framed it as a way of safeguarding Jamaica’s tourism brand.

“The plan to enable greater accountability in all areas of the accommodation subsector is critical, and it is not intended to destroy. It is intended to enhance and to build,” he said.

Bartlett also reminded the industry that Jamaica has long been a champion of the sharing economy.

“Just for the record, your minister here was the poster child for Airbnb at the beginning. I was chairman of the Executive Council of the UN Tourism when they came before us, and there was a heavy push back to peer-to-peer accommodation by the formal hotels,” he recalled.

“And as chairman, I stood up and said we are democratising the accommodation subsector, we are innovating, and, therefore, business models are going to emerge, and then they are going to fold, and they’re going to emerge again. Peer-to-peer is an innovation. The share economy, we call it, and, therefore, I persuaded them to accept, and that’s how Airbnb became a global phenomenon today. Jamaica was the first country in the Caribbean to have Airbnb presence, and they came here as a result of my initiative.”

He added: “I make that point only to give comfort to all of those who are involved in that element of the accommodation sector, that under no condition will any of our programmes, policies, or direction be geared at hurting but rather to enhance and, most importantly, to protect the integrity of destination Jamaica.”

Despite Bartlett’s assurances, tourism leaders have warned that the unchecked rise of short-term rentals threatens the survival of smaller traditional hotels.

Earlier this year, Christopher Jarrett, president of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association, told The Gleaner that some small hotels in the capital have seen a 30 per cent drop in business as entire apartment buildings are converted into Airbnb-style rentals.

Nicola Madden-Greig, past president of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association, has also cautioned that what was once a “small man business” has become large-scale commercial operations.

Jarrett has argued that Jamaica cannot afford to delay regulation any longer.

“We’ve been calling for regulation for several years. Now it is urgent. We’re not against competition, but we want fair competition,” he said.

janet.silvera@gleanerjm.com

Source: Jamaica Gleaner

7. Why would Jamaica be any different to Brassbados?
    The two governments are both poppets of the same IMF/IDB/World Bank /WHO multi-headed beast whose aim is white domination and total economic and political control – especially of uppity black people.
    AND now they have BOTH also invited the Chinese to taste of their goodness.

So we are courting two GLOBAL foes that want to destroy each other, and our house is full of THEIR stuff…. Isn’t there a word for that…?

When you sell your soul to the Devil (bury your national flag / build an ugly satanic monument at the place where the Nation was born etc) you will get some upgrades and big loans, but you had BETTER KNOW how to bend over when called to.

These albino-centrics who have invested MILLIONS into their grand hotels must be shitting bricks to see the GROWING number of visitors who opting to stay in a local house, apartment, or sometimes just a room… INSTEAD of in their sterile, expensive, outdated monstrosities.

Somebody GOTTA bend over boss…. visitors CANNOT be given such options.

Dem people does tek their money seriously yuh.
    Not like brass bowls – where HUNDREDS of millions can dissapear in HOPElessness, STEAL, Four Seasons, BWA, QEH etc
    … and NOT a word on the FINAL destinations
    … as long as YET another year-long fete is planned.

What a place!

8. @ Hants
    “Barbados in midst of $6B building boom”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Probably true!
    3.5 billion – Malmoney’s various companies and operations
    1.5 billion – the OTHER usual local suspects (those who are bjorn busy etc)
    2.22 billion – Absentee owners such as EMERA, MASSY, SAGICOR, PARKLAND etc
    (1.2 billion) – LOSSES BY the Barbados government (taxpayers) vis HOPE, STEAL etc
    0.08 billion – The entire rest of the country

What outstanding growth !!!
    – in political contributions and off-the-record profits most likely…

What a place!!

9. @Bush Tea

Posting the article meant to support a view that Barbados is promoting the Tourism Bill 2025 as part of falling in with a global agenda.

10. “….Barbados is promoting the Tourism Bill 2025 as part of falling in with a global agenda.”
    ~~~~~~~~
    EXACTLY!
    Our government leaders are just puppets of the global cabal.

We have been sold down the river … by mostly clueless clowns.

11. The Bill is a pappy show.
    They have them everywhere and they are solely intended to portray that some regulation exists.
    One notes, the onus is generally ALL on the operators. For the regulating body rarely has the budget to enforce. They catch the worst of the worst, and this only happens after multiple complaints. If one books without reading the reviews, then shame on you.
    The license fees are hopefully to ensure the costs to the public purse are net zero, though it rarely happens.
    Naturally fee/tax collecting entities now have a way to easily monitor business activity, though the private operators will tell good guests, contact me directly next time. They prefer direct payment to an offshore account, just like the Hotels?

12. Indeed! Enuff does get mek shame far too often with these pauses, rewrites and reversals. Another outsized fine to be placed on ordinary Bajans! Something is not right with the mindset of our government.

13. Donna

Mek shame? LMAO, maybe if I were a government spokesperson or politician but I am neither. As a government, they have to respond to public opposition, I don’t. I see opposition to the bill as foolishness. It just shows I don’t read from a script as the BU intelligentsia likes to shout. What the government is calling for is standard–inclusive design, hazard management, insurance, registration, inspection etc. The problem is that Bajans waan go heaven but doan waan die, including the resident intelligentsia–many who live in countries where similar requirements apply. Who own most of the Airbnbs in Bim? Do you really think I believe BushTea really cares about poor people? A man that says fixing the roads and bridges in the Scotland District is a waste of money? Don’t poor, Airbnb owning people live in the Scotland District?🤣🤣 Like I asked in my previous post, who is responsible for a customer staying in a tourist accommodation whether Sandals or Auntie Pam? Lack of foresight is ting eh.

14. LOL
    Is Enuff losing it ..or wuh!?
    What a rambling roll of jobby…

But then, if Bushie was as CONSISTENTLY wrong, arrogant, misguided and secretive as Enuff has been…
    Shiite !!
    The Bushman would be shame as shiite too!!!

BTW…
    Enuff is RIGHT about Bushie NOT liking poor people….

Unlike Auntie Mia and her Mafia clan, Bushie FIGHTS – whenever given a chance,
    to CONVERT such ‘poor’ into self reliant, proud, and independent CITIZENS.

Wunna like poor people SO MUCH – that wunna even converting the damn MIDDLE CLASS into more ‘lovable’ poor BBs – who must then look forward to wunna occasional handouts…

But not stinking Bushie….

15. Bushie
    Secretive? Rambling to you because you simply do not understand. I keep telling you that you know everything about nothing. Ask the Expat Cohort from the BU intelligentsia what’s required in their neck of the woods. I ask again, who is responsible for a guests at any hotel, villa, Airbnb etc? By the way, how many bills the government have withdrawn or changed significantly after “protest”?

16. @ enough

there is a bu agenda and you are either with them or against them and it goes a little something like this..

Mia is flawed and Ralph is really spectacular and is the only choice for the survival of Barbados even if loyal DLP supporters like AC aren’t feeling the vibe.

17. ‘Secretive’ – in that you have access to SO much useful info bout the lotta political shiite, … but will only TEASE us with PR tit-bits and simplistic analyses.

What has the expat cohort got to do with it? In those countries, they have FREEDOM OF INFORMATION, Integrity Laws, and audited government reports.
    Also their busses, trains, and hospitals actually WORK.
    That is an altogether DIFFERENT world.

Who is responsible for an adult guest who decided to stay in Barbados?
    Steupsss!!
    Bushie knows who is responsible for educating our damn children – and that is a SHAMBLES…
    Bushie knows who is responsible for the damn roads, transport system, sewerage, water, crime, ZR discipline, agriculture, housing, judiciary, the damn HOSPITAL, clinics, etc etc
    … and the bushman don’t see wunna RUSHING to bring order to THAT lotta chaos…

BUT wunna RUSHING HEADLONG to ‘assist’ the impressively SUCCESSFUL holiday rental SMALL BUSINESS sector.
    You tink we is idyuts?!

Why not ask Bushie the MUCH EASIER questions of;
    – How many bills the government have NOT had to withdraw or changed significantly after “protest”;
    – How many have NEVER been proclaimed after passing both houses
    – How many passed the LOWER house – but are yet to overtake the Senate
    – How many were passed AND proclaimed – BUT ARE COMPLETED IGNORED BY ALL AND SUNDRY, because they are ill-conceived???

Steupsss!
    Our government seeking to set standards for airbnb, is like Ninja Man offering to manage protocol in the House of Assembly – just because he now owns Barrow’s independence waistcoat

18. Enuff

PLEASE! You defend practically every bill as though you are part of the cabinet. Any criticism at all is met with sneers and snorts of condescension from you.

And, a few moments later, bill pon pause, under review, scrapped or at least changes made, all representing acknowledgement from the PM of problems with the bill.

If you doan get mek shame it could only be because you are shameless.

19. Not three months!

Munro-Knight gives guarantee of shorter timeframe for CARIFESTA payments

By Maria Bradshaw

mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

Where is the money?

That is the question a number of persons who worked during the ten-day CARIFESTA XV cultural event are asking as they told the Weekend Nation that this was a month since the festival ended, yet they have not received any correspondence from the National Cultural Foundation (NCF), regarding when they would be paid.

Among the disgruntled contract workers are a number of taxi drivers who were responsible for chauffeuring high-level overseas delegates to and from the many events.

“We were on call 24/7,” an upset driver stated, adding that they were contracted for $750 a day for those who had cars and SUVs while those who operated coaches received between $1 100 and $1 200. They said they were hearing that it would take as long as three months for them to receive the money.

“When the NCF signed us on they said we would receive our money after the event. We did not expect that it would take so long,” one contractor lamented.

The Weekend Nation understands that several other categories of workers have not yet been paid, including volunteers, liaison scheme officers and co-ordinators.

The ten-day cultural event took place between August 22 and 31.

When contacted about the concerns made, Akil Franklyn, corporate communications specialist at the NCF, stated that chief executive officer Carol Roberts-Reifer indicated that she would not be commenting on the matter.

Shantal Munro-Knight, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office, however, told this newspaper that they were working diligently to issue the payments.

“We are working through payments as fast as we can. There is a need to validate work and we have been working through this as quickly as we can.

“It will absolutely not take three months for payments. We can provide some guarantee on this. We are cognizant that many of those that need to be paid are small service providers,” she added.

The upset contract workers revealed that they were told that some of the major contractors had already received their money.

‘Got cheques’

“I was told that the big-ups got their cheques already. And I know people who were recently contracted to take down the structures and they have been paid. So why is it that we can’t receive our money when it was already a set amount and we worked every day?” a taxi operator asked.

In addition, the operator lamented that while they were able to reach the official from the NCF who was responsible for their deployment during the festival, they have not been able to contact him since it ended.

“We have been calling him to find out about our money and he is not answering the phone.”

Another pointed out that at the end of the festival they were all issued with receipts.

“Now we are hearing that it is going to take as long as three months to pay us because people that worked during Crop Over are now getting paid. This is not fair because we were on call 24/7. We had to take the delegates and the prime ministers wherever they wanted to go. I am working for myself so I put everything else to the side to concentrate on this job and I expect to be paid because even though CARIFESTA finish I still have my bills to pay.”

Earlier this month, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said the breakdown of the cost for Barbados to organise the multimillion-dollar event would be released only after all vendors have been paid.

She stated: “There will be a proper accounting for the expenditure of CARIFESTA, but to rush and give anybody the figures when they are still processing and paying vendors would be an act of recklessness and irresponsibility.”

20. @Enuff

When the government is critiqued about being a talkback government it does not only refer to Bills. Surely you are aware.

21. Is it courage or is it madness?

Defending flawed policies over and over again and refusing to admit that the legislation is flawed.
    What makes it difficult to understand is his easy dismissal and derision of comments from others; his insistence that he has inside information that paints a picture that is not visible to others and what another has accurately described as “sneers and snorts of condescension”

How can he be wrong so often and still claim to be right every time? Arrogance? Ignorance? Idiocy? Courage or just plain mad? There was a time when he was a puzzle, but now he is just predictable ….. and usually wrong.

22. Donna

I am seldom on BU but yes I support Cybercrime, Intercept and tourism accommodation legislation. Should tourism accommodation remain unregulated? Are the fines, fees too high? One does not have to be in a Cabinet, a politician, party member etc to be supportive of progressive legislation. By your logic BU is full of shadow cabinet members! I repeat who is responsible for your guests at yuh property?

23. @Enuff

You can ‘talk chalk’ it is obvious to independents that there was not meaningful collaboration with stakeholders especially smaller operators. It is why the Minister had to walk back on the Bill. Who is arguing against regulation? Hell we need it to regulate individuals serving in public office like transparency laws and that is not even being progressive.

24. By the way @enuff what are you hearing about when audited financials will be available for the NItrippleS? Also you have been reserve with your opinion on Clearwater Bay. Have we missed anything that was posted in traditional media you are in a position to share?

25. Governments biggest fear is Airbnb will kill off their tourism business model of several Hotels in prime locations such as beach fronts and may cause Hotel Industry to go bankrupt.

Standard scripted spin against Airbnbs will be trotted out:
    — Reduction of Housing Stock available for Rentals and Home Ownership
    — Detrimental Impact to local communities
    — Wild Parties with massive messes created by irresponsible tenants
    — Big Business Operations taking over
    — Money Laundering by Crime Syndicates

26. Becoming Minimalist

WEALTH AND FREEDOM ARE FREE

“… freedom isn’t secured by filling up on your hearts desire but by removing you’re desire.”
    — EPICTETUS, Discouses, 4.1.175

There are two ways to be wealthy—to get everything you want or to want everything you have.”
    — Ryan Holiday

There are two ways to be rich: One is by acquiring much, and the other is by desiring little.
    — Jackie French Koller

https://www.becomingminimalist.com/minimalism-quotes/

Cheap Hotel

27. Bushie

“What has the expat cohort got to do with it? In those countries, they have FREEDOM OF INFORMATION, Integrity Laws, and audited government reports.
    Also their busses, trains, and hospitals actually WORK. That is an altogether DIFFERENT world.”

Recent data from Ontario Health indicates an average wait time of 20-22 hours from arrival to being admitted to a hospital bed as of mid-2024, and data from April 2025 shows this has reduced to an average of 20 hours. In England, the national standard is for 95% of patients to be seen within four hours. However, in April 2025, just 61% of patients were seen within four hours in major A&E departments across England with 44,881 patients across England waiting over 12 hours after a decision was made to admit them.

“Who is responsible for an adult guest who decided to stay in Barbados? Steupsss!!”

If you understood, you’d get the necessity/benefit of certain measures. But you’re a master at being reductive. Have you ever been to an Airbnb? When last have you been to a modern hotel? Have you even read the bill?

I am not surprise though, since repairing roads and bridges in the Scotland District is a waste of money in your books. But if guests can’t get to these small Airbnb owners how will they survive, especially when all the big players and fancy Airbnb villas are serviced by better roads?

Look at the Maria Bradshaw story above, only two weeks ago this same BU argued that government should immediately tell the country how much was spent on Carifesta!!! 🤣

I gone from bout BU do, let the echo chamber echoooooooooooo.

28. Yuh gone…???!!
    Well Well!!!
    Another one gone – with tail between the legs…
    BTW
    Have you found any other countries where the installation of critical cancer-treatment equipment has been stalled for months – after the contract was ‘awarded’ to one of the ruling party candidates – who obviously ain’t got a clue…?

To aid your comprehension, what Bushie questioned was the need to bring Chinese novices here to ‘fix’ roads in the Scotland district, when the best expertise in this special area ALREADY resides in Barbados.
    Of course the answer is that wunna HAVE NO CHOICE – since wunna can only beg, borrow and de-construct….
    When it comes to PRODUCTIVITY, CREATIVITY and RE-construction wunna like Tweedledee and Tweedledum.
    Steupsss…
    You could as well go long, cause you have NOT been helpful to the blog…
    Yuh sound just like the Empress – lotta rambling shiite talk without ANY substance …

29. @Bush Tea

That is the MO of political operatives over the years, scared of entering the underground. Time longer than twine as some say. He cherrypicks the issues he feels he can defend if inadequately.

30. He supports regulation and so, I imagine, do most of us. But the devil, as always, is in the details. Some of us have issues with that devil. Not Enuff! He and the devil seem to be forever friends.

But he is right about those problems overseas. I have highlighted them often enough. Whitemanland does not work as well as some like to pretend. Listen to LBC and you hear the complaints coming as hard as on Brasstacks. Watch enough investigative reports from the USA and you will hear complaints worse thsn on Brasstacks.

But, let me not digress! The requirements under this bill are too onerous for the ordinary person, who, as somebody already pointed out, took the advice of the Owen Arthur administration and borrowed money to provide accommodations “fuh cup” and beyond. Now this BLP administration under Mia Mottley, who was a prominent member of the last administration, seeks to make matters more difficult than they need to be for these same people who helped them out with accommodations when they were needed.

There seems to be a pattern of regulating budding black business people out of business to the benefit of established businesses and business people foreign and local of lighter hues.

Just saying!

31. Maybe the government wants to tax/fine/regulate the hell out of the peer to peer tourism sector?

But why?

32. How many BU contributors actually read the Tourist Accommodation Bill?

To operate PSVs, namely mini-buses, taxis, maxi-taxis, route taxis, limousines, or hired cars, vehicles must be APPROPRIATELY REGISTERED and LICENSED, as REQUIRED by the laws of Barbados.
    Bear in mind, it is ILLEGAL for anyone to operate ‘pirate vehicles’ to transport passengers, or offer privately registered vehicles for hire.
    Insurance companies are adamant that passengers who are INJURED or SUFFER LOSS in an accident while travelling in unregistered pirate or hired vehicles, would NOT be COMPENSATED.

Additionally, people who ‘rent out’ their houses have to REGISTER with the BRA and DECLARE income from rental property, by submitting an income & expense statement, when filing their income tax returns.

Airbnb (ABNB), for example, is simply an online marketplace or brokerage whereby hosts list their rental properties.
    For a small fee, the company provides the owners with co-hosts who create platforms to list or advertise the properties, a description of the accommodations, associated amenities, and manage the property’s availability and rates.

It is interesting to note that in several countries, there are GOVERNMENTAL REGULATIONS REQUIRING hosts to REGISTER their rental properties, secure permits, or obtain the appropriate licenses…… or ABNB collaborates with governments to establish short-term rentals regulations.

Paying to use the public platform of a legally registered company to promote the short-term rental of properties, from which income is generated and expenses incurred to realise a profit, is essentially a business operation.

Enuff asked an important question, “who is responsible for a guest at any hotel, villa, Airbnb etc.?”

In ALL FAIRNESS, if, to LEGALLY operate my $3,000, 2005 Toyota Corolla as a taxi, I have to……

……ABIDE by the appropriate government regulations
    …… file income tax returns to declare my income & expenses
    …… apply for a tax clearance
    …… VEHICLE INSPECTION at ‘MTW,’ to determine whether or not it’s ROAD WORTHY to transport passengers
    …… present a VALID INSURANCE CERTIFICATE

BEFORE I’m allowed to PAY my permit renewal fee……

…… why shouldn’t the owner of a $500,000 property, registered on Airbnb, not be SUBJECTED to SIMILAR government regulations as well?

33. And about that maximum fine of $250,000 what is that for? Simply to scare people into compliance?.

What other civil or even criminal “offense” in Barbados attracts a $250,000 fine?

Are drug traffickers and gun runners ever fined $250,000, and if they are so fined, does government ever get to collect?

And tell the truth now, how many small operators have $250,000 put down in order to pay such a monstrous fine?

Air BNB originally meant AirBednBreakfast. Does anybody in government ever slept on an air bed, even when they were children at cub scout or brownie guide camp? This sector was never intended to be super fancy. It was conceived as a place to throw down an air bed for the night and a spot of breakfast in the morning, maybe a tea/coffee and a salt bread and a piece of cheese, or a bread and two,

This sector is not seeking to compete with the big budget, high priced, super fancy places.

And if a simpleton like me know this, government must know this too.

34. Everyone with a modicum of discernment knows it is a money grab.

35. Artax if a person owns a house worth $500,000 [very likely mortgaged] how on earth can they pay a fine of $250,000 and still remain in “business” and still keep a roof over their own heads?

36. My issue with short term rentals is that such rentals can remove reasonably priced places out of the hands of people who earn low to moderate incomes.

I have a place which I have though of renting to short termers, but I am a socialist, not a capitalist by nature, and I believe that in order to have a decent society young couples, families with young children, beginning civil servants, service workers, also need clean, decent, convenient places to live, so I rent it on the local market for less than $1,000 per month, because the tenant, a security official keeping us safe while we sleep in our beds at night also deserves decent housing. Decades ago it was rented to a member of the current Cabinet who was just starting out family life and was not a member of Cabinet at the time.

Young families need clean, decent, convenient places to live even more so that tourists need place to stay for a week or two.

37. A relative has a short term rental. It is one apartment in a building of 6 apartments. The other 5 rented to local people as described above, civil servants, service workers etc. whose leases require them to keep their homes, because their apartments are their rented homes, clean and tidy. Inspections are carried out annually. The other apartment to tourists. For years i did the housekeeping, and if I say so myself I am a pretty good housekeeper. No complaints ever from any tourist, except once a fan noisily failed and a good friend went in the middle of the night to fix it.The tax returns are filed each year and the taxes paid. The short term unit and the yard/gardens are kept “Government House style”

I doubt that any government inspector, any government official could find fault, but still the threat of $250,000 is big and scary.

38. Lol
    “Recent data from Ontario Health indicates an average wait time of 20-22 hours from arrival to being admitted to a hospital bed as of mid-2024, and data from April 2025 shows this has reduced to an average of 20 hours. In England, the national standard is for 95% of patients to be seen within four hours. However, in April 2025, just 61% of patients were seen within four hours in major A&E departments across England with 44,881 patients across England waiting over 12 hours after a decision was made to admit them”

I was waiting for the comparative numbers issued by Barbadian authorities? You could choose a parish or the country as done above, admission times via ER, ER times to be treated, by 4hrs or 8hrs or 12 hrs.

And let’s forget those who wanted Carifesta numbers before the bills were paid, BUT, surely we could be told the approved Budgeted cost? Performance is the measure of Actual costs to forecasted and budgeted costs?

And since we’re in a comparative mood here is the Canada Pension Plan Report for 2025

https://www.cppinvestments.com/wp-content/uploads/attachments/CPP-Investments-F2025-Annual-Report-English.pdf

Care to share similar for Barbados?

39. “Everyone with a modicum of discernment knows it is a money grab.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Money grab from whom Boss?
    Even drug dealers face smaller fines…and we hardly EVER hear of payments made.

You really think that fine is intended to raise money?
    …or is it designed to scare the jobby out of any poor folks who had found a way to raise some good foreign cash out of tourism?

Nor does Bushie suspect that this is an original BLP / government initiative, but an agenda being pushed by those who have invested heavily in the lotta outdated hotels and guest houses that dominated, back in the days when poor international communications limited options available to potential visitors.

Now a visitor has UNLIMITED options at their fingertips.

Would you choose to stay at some impersonal, sterile, hotel room at $250 per PERSON per night …when you have multiple options of homes, apartments, villas etc – WITHIN REAL COMMUNITIES, with real families, eating local foods – and for as little as $50 per night PER GROUP?

The paradigm has been shifted by quantum improvements in COMMUNICATIONS. Once OTHER potential visitor READ the feedback from previous holiday rental guests, contact the hosts, (AT NO COST) and satisfy themselves that the reviews are genuine, the old HOTELS ARE UP THE CREEK.

When Bushie traveled in the past, hotels were chosen as a ’safe option’ – due to not having info on any alternatives.
    If guest-reviewed alternatives were available – at a fraction of the cost back then, the shiite hotels would have gone the way of the dodo bird years ago…

Bushie is betting that those SUPER INVESTORS who have driven the ill-conceived growth of traditional hotel all over the damned place, are NOW beginning to see the oncoming train, and have instructed their ‘agents’ in government to dampen competition by clamping down on the growing cutting edge community product, thus forcing the tourists to have NO OPTION but the expensive outdated hotels –
    -OR TO GO TO ANOTHER DESTINATION that offers what THEY want.

It is yet another case of killing the goose – at the behest of an outdated business model, in trying to protect their ill-advised investments in obsolete schemes.

Let the dead bury their dead.
    If they were visionary, far from attacking it, Government should provide research, development and quality-improvement funding to encourage and support this NEW tourism model.

But then where would politicians get their campaign funds… and access to private jets???!!!

What a place!

40. Doan mind Enuff. He/She [but I suspect a he] would defend anything that this government does. Enuff=the ultimate yard fowl.

41. Cuhdear Bajan,

Indeed, I have also considered the issue of locals being shut out of accommodation. But we cannot tell people what to do with their property, can we? What government needs to do is make it less difficult for landlords to deal with delinquent tenants. Short-term rentals may be chargeable at higher rates, but the income is not as reliable, I think, as long-term local rentals if the renter is honest, or if there is a mechanism for eviction that is balanced.

Artax,

I have read some of the bill, not all of it. It seems to me that government needs to work with small operators to bring them up to scratch gradually, not just drop these costly measures on them under the threat of a $250,000 fine. Has an urgent problem been identified that needed to be addressed?

42. @Bush Tea

The Bill contains more than the 250k fine. There are inspection and other unspecified and license fees, which stakeholders have expressed concern over as well.

43. “Artax if a person owns a house worth $500,000 [very likely mortgaged] how on earth can they pay a fine of $250,000 and still remain in “business” and still keep a roof over their own heads?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

@ Cuhdear Bajan

Your above question is so extremely ludicrous, that ‘it harrowed me with much fear and wonder.’

However, I simply provided the forum with a hypothetical example.
    But, if you’re a bit more comfortable using as an example, a property worth $90,000…… or even cheaper, then so be it.

Mortgage or not, only idiots would not comply with a regulation that could eventually cost them $250,000 fines they cannot afford to pay.
    People usually establish business ventures to earn a profit, not to incur silly, unnecessary or unavoidable expenses.

What surprises me is, hotels, guest houses, apartments, private homes, ‘rent houses’ have regulations.

Yet, we’re complaining about regulating short-term rentals that fall into the same category, perhaps because it adds the criticisms of a government that’s its unpopularity is rapidly increasing.

44. The blogmaster did a search of the quantum of fines applied to AIRBNB operators across the globe and $250,000 seems excessive; at the top end of the price bar. Why?

45. @Donna September 27, 2025 at 2:29 am Cuhdear Bajan, But we cannot tell people what to do with their property, can we?”

True.

In my case so far decent tenant. A relative had a tenant whose kid used a cigarette lighter to set fire to the cushions, said fire reached the ceiling and burned some of the panels. Tenant did not of course report the fire to the landlord until it was seen during the annual inspection.

So there is that, which is why insurance even though expensive is a must have. Tenant is now somebody else’s tenant.

46. “It seems to me that government needs to work with small operators to bring them up to scratch gradually, not just drop these costly measures on them under the threat of a $250,000 fine.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Donna

I agree wholeheartedly with your above comment. You’ve essentially brought a much needed level of rationality to the discussion.

The MAXIMUM penalty: fines UP TO $250,000, (which is EXTREMELY EXCESSIVE).

“UP TO” suggests there would be a RANGE of fines…… and does not necessarily mean noncompliance with a regulation would IMMEDIATELY INCUR the maximum fine.

But, what is the underlying MOTIVE behind the fines?

Isn’t it to FORCE people INTO compliance, rather than a ‘money grab,’ as is being suggested?

Let’s examine two (2) provisions of the Bill are:

(1) All operators of tourist accommodation, including Airbnb-style rentals, must be licensed, registered, and inspected.

(2) Advertising or operating unlicensed short-term rentals will be an offence.

A taxi operator, for example, is required to have the appropriate driver’s LICENSE, the vehicle must be REGISTERED and undergo yearly INSPECTION at ‘MTW,’ file income tax returns, apply for tax and NIS clearances, before he/she is allowed to pay his/her permit renewal fee.

Advertising or operating an unlicensed or privately registered vehicle as a taxi is similarly an offence.

I believe we’re being ‘hypocritically selective’ in our comments. Why should an individual with a short-term rental business be allowed to operate UNREGULATED, under the popular refrain that a ‘poor man only trying to mek a dollar?’

47. @Artax

The blogmaster will stay with the accusation that this is mainly a money grab which is not to say the industry does not need a level of regulation. This accusation is informed by our well placed contacts at BRA.

Carry on.

48. @Artax September 27, 2025 at 6:36 am “…only idiots would not comply with a regulation that could eventually cost them $250,000 fines they cannot afford to pay.”

Not only idiots.

Relative’s apartment has stairs, too steep for a ramp. Will require a stair lift. I did a quick search and a stair lift cost $3,000 USD, plus freight, plus whatever custom’s duties government chooses to impose, plus cost of technicians to install and periodically service. So a major renovation. If relative cannot comply, and cannot gain the Minister’s approval for a renovation then will very likely will exit the industry.

Why is it not ok to say on the various sites that the apartment is not wheelchair accessible? It is not as though we hate people in wheelchairs, but that the building was constructed several years ago, where we admit regrettably such things were not thought of nor required.

Do you have a stair lift in your home? If not what will you do when you have your first stroke or amputation? What will the Minister or other MP’s do when they have their first stroke or amputation?

49. CORRECTION: If relative cannot comply, and cannot gain the Minister’s approval for a renovation then will very likely will exit the industry.

If relative cannot comply, and cannot gain the Minister’s approval for AN EXCEPTION then will very likely will have to exit the industry.

50. The ‘Why?’ of 6:45 a.m. speaks volumes.

I do not believe in approaching these incidents as if it is just a simple discussion of prices and amounts of the fines. Words such as reason, objectives, motives, who benefits, who loses, final outcome …should always be a part of the discussion.